Casa Marina Beach Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Sosua > Sosua Hotel Index > Casa Marina Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sosua Hotels with Similar Ranking

New Garden Hotel

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 7, 2011

Sosua by the Sea

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2010

Caribe Campo Club

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Villa Almonte

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 27, 2014

Sol De Plata Beach Resort

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 10, 2014

Club Tropicana

2.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 18, 2014

Casa Marina Beach  

Sosua, Puerto Plata

"the beach is great"
Posted by: caminus on Jul 27, 2014
see all reviews

Casa Marina Beach Reviews
Casa Marina Beach Pictures and Information
Casa Marina Beach Sosua Dominican Republic

#2
of 26 Hotels in Sosua

User rating 2.8

Based on 14 reviews

Casa Marina Beach Information


Casa Marina Beach all inclusive 3-star Resort Attractively built on a private reef transformed into a natural sun deck.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Casa Marina Beach Reviews

Casa Marina Beach Review: 2.8 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  3
Average
  2
Poor
  4
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (7)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 14

"the beach is great"

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  caminus  on Jul 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
18 people found this review helpful

I went on a 5 days vacation with my wife to this wonderful hotel and we had an amazing time here. So as usual, we checked for reviews on tripadvisor and saw that the place was worth visiting. The price is on the expensive side I have to say but all the services were worth it and we decided to make the most of it. When we arrived, they were waiting for us already so heck in didn’t take so much time and we were already in our room. By the way, just like most hotels, we were given cold drink to calm down after such trip to Sosua. Our bags were immediately taken to our room followed by beach towels and that was when I concluded that it was going to be an awesome holiday for us. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was clean and the rooms had clean towels and other necessary equipment's. The a la carte hotels were all nice and the staff that attended to us there were very friendly. Since we are on the topic of staff members, all the staff members we met were exceedingly nice to us, we felt very comfortable around them. The beach is great, never crowded and very clean so we usually visit there for a little swim and also for some tan. The entire property is clean and well maintained; I would say that I and my wife had the most amazing holiday here and plan on coming back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Acceptable hotel"

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Benoit DESFOSSES  on Oct 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
510 people found this review helpful

Hello, we have stayed for only 1(one) weeks from oct.8th to oct.15th my father and i.

First, that you book with Casa Marina Beach or Casa Marina Reef, you will arrive at the same front desk/reception, the linked both of them to the same entrance.

Even though it's a low season, i believe there should be a better/wider variety of buffet or "a la carte". There was only one restaurant open for the buffet breakfast, lunch, dinner plus another one for the "snack" which was a basic burger/hot-dog salad bar. Unfortunately, i was expecting some more Dominican Fresh Fruit such as Passion Fruit, Guabana... but weren't available.
Food is of good quality though, but the choice at the buffet stay little.
You wont have any food between 4pm and 6:30pm, and bars close by 11pm except the one by the night club which i believe was 1am(not sure).

What was not mentioned to us was that the "a la carte" option of mexican/italien/sea food was free and we could go there 2-3 times in the week compare to what it says in the "flyer"(1 per week). The "a la carte" is free unless you chose some specific item such as lobsters.

If you want to go out of the resort in the little town bars and restaurants, feel free, it's safe enough, drinks are decently cheap, if a Dominican person eat somewhere, it's a good sign that it's safe! Never drink tap water, bottles are cheap anyway.

If you look forward to buy some souvenirs at the kiosque by the restaurant at night, make sure to deal properly, even if they ask 1500dop, you will mostly get it between 300-500dop. Also, make sure to look at the boutique first, they surprised me, their price are very cheap.


The rooms were nice and clean, except the washroom that feels like it was last renovated about 15-20 years ago. The seiling was made of cheap plastic, no real ventilation, stained bathtub, bad shower-head that doesn't poor properly, 2nd day, the water in the shower could not be turned off entirely, had to close the main valve in the wall but they fixed it the same day.

The staff was really nice and polite, some speak basic english but do understand, and many do speak excellent english or even french, a little spanish is realy good to know for yourself, especially if you want to interact with the kitchen staff or go out of the resort.

Beach was kept clean daily, did 2 dives with the scuba-diving team, was awesome. The gardens are nice and clean as well.

If you do not book via an all-inclusive or get a package deal and have to deal with your own transportation, don't be fooled by the Taxi drivers, my father booked a Taxi to leave the hotel for the airport, the driver told him 950dop but you should not pay more then 600-650dop(+-18$cdn) which i paid for(it's 10$less). If you travel light, with a back pack, take the guagua

Room Block:
9

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Casa Marina is no longer the place to be"

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Theo  on Aug 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
773 people found this review helpful

Again a lot of palm-treas where gone from the beach at Casa Marina Beach. On that beach there is nearly no entertainment more. The little bar on the beach is closed, just as the restaurant in Reef and the reception of Beach. They say that the last 2 are closed for reservation, but in those 4 weeks there where nothing happening there.
I already heart many times that the food is not as it was before. Its a pity, but many times it was bad. The French fries where mostly dark brown ant not to eat. In the snack restaurant the fries had always the good color and good. The meat was sometimes difficult to eat. The hamburgers in the snack restaurant where @##%$%#$$@@$.
I have been there for 13 times, but I think it was my last time.
I hope they chance a lot in the hotel to be better.

Room Block:
K

Arrival:
Reception good.

Rooms:
Good

Restaurants and Bars:
Food bad, sometimes very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good and clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Totaly animation was bad. Guys have only eyes for the foreign single girls.
Shows are not so good anymore than it was before.

Other Comments:
Years ago it was for many people a 4 star hotel. Now 2 stars.
Many people, who where there before many times, they all say: I am not coming back to Casa Marina.
Price/quality is good, but prices are lower than other years, but the quality too.

Photos: http://www.thelatinworld.nl/casamarina.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Resort was as it was meant to be"

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  don  on Jun 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
745 people found this review helpful

Hotel is very must situtiated where the action is in a little town called sosua ..very lively and beatuiful.u have all the services u need out side of resort.bars/restuarants/very good location for people that like action in their lives.like i do!..great people /never did i have problems on street.great public beach just a block away...also u also have your own at the resort if u want...but u will be lured out to where the people of the dominican ..are,,garented.lol/

Room Number:
925

Room Block:
cant remember

Arrival:
was very quick ..with west jet

Rooms:
clean./as usual//this time around had new tv,s..new beds.very nice. upgraded from preiose travells.

Restaurants and Bars:
bars ..are same ..but the service is exceptional...go visit my friend ..Clara ..she works hard for her money on the reef side..tell her donny sent you..from canada! she will be amazed and will be very happy!u will be served 2x much..

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach is good both of them ref /beach side ...been ther done that.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots to do off resort at nights...do go to the new mens club along the strip..its a bonus for the one looking for adventures...

Other Comments:
i would and will go back there ...not because of the advntures i had ...but the friends that i get to have there every year ...that i go back there for ..i have been there now prob about 10 yrs now ..and every time i go back ..it wants me to go back even for more...go there once ..u will go back again./again...............hola.....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Comfortable Resort"

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on May 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
761 people found this review helpful

We were there with a group of 23. I would consider that you get what you pay for. This was a 2 star resort. I enjoyed my stay overall. I love the weather and the beaches. There were lots of loungers and umbrellas for people most of the time. You could rent an umbrella on the adjacent beach for $3 US for the day. Well worth it. The water was clean and beautiful sandy beaches. The resort was fairly quiet at first. We were spread out throughout the resort. I was in Room 827 and it was a perfect location. So easy to get to all the rooms without going by everyone. The pools were well maintained and spread throughout the resort. Staff were friendly and the rooms were kept very clean.
Food- Seafood & Mexican Al La Carte Restaurant were excellent. Buffet was OK. Lots of variety.
One concern was how beds were made in that they had only flat sheets and short sheeted. They were impossible to sleep in. Daily everything would have to be remade.
Timeshare sales staff (yellow shirts) were given access to resort and were mildly annoying. They popped up everywhere and it took a bit to get rid of them.
The ONLY complaint I had was the fact, due to late season for international guests; this resort allows local people to come for week ends. They started checking in early Friday and left late on Monday (local holiday). I wouldn’t mind other than there were 600-1000 extra people. The service is slower normally so it became nonexistent. There were large groups always hanging out on grounds around bars, intimidating some people. The lobby was jammed packed and you would not get near the 4 computers for internet. They opened another huge restaurant that we were told was under renovations. It didn't help. The buffets would run out of plates and food. Locals had piles of uneaten food on their tables. Long line ups were everywhere. The people were not friendly. One of our group had drinking glasses thrown on him as he walked under the balcony in the evening. You couldn’t get near a swimming pool and there were several.
We were forced to go to our rooms early, go off resort to find food and liquor. This was not acceptable in my opinion. Especially, when our vacation was Tues-Tues.

They advise not to travel off resort after 8 PM. Very true. One guest had gold jewellery ripped off neck while out on rented bike alone. Was asked to provide reward for police to guarantee return. People should use common sense and remember where they are..

The strong points: Beaches/Pools Staff tried to accommodate guests at all times
The weak points: provision to allow locals in very large numbers attend resort for 3-4 days at a time. There were sections of this report closed. maybe one section could have been allocated to locals.

easy going couple
BRANTFORD, ON

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had great time."

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  gordon  on Feb 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
783 people found this review helpful

I have gone here at least 10 times. If you want 5 star don"t come here. The rooms have no dressers which is not good but they have brand nre beds and TVs. Bring water container and fill up at meal times if you want water in room, they give you 2 bottles a week. also bring a wash cloth as none in rooms. they change towels every day, and clean thoroughly. Casa beach registering was closed but is open now after renovations. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It has two giant pools and one one small one with casa reef included. There is show at reef everynight. They have lots tours on sight or you can go to mels tours outside compound and bargain. Do not cash in for pesos here or in resort just go to money exchange outside youll get 3 to 4 pesos more. was 32 at resort we got 36 outside. beach has nice beach but reef has enormous one but you have go down wooden steps. if you dont like your room just ask desk they will move you or ask travel agent or web agency that you want first or second floor by pool etc they may even give you a fridge if you ask.

Room Number:
724

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
Was dropped off at reef because of renovations usually dropped off at beach.

Restaurants and Bars:
excellent food. you can book italian seascape or mexican restaurants from 900 to 1100 at reception every morn. each resort has buffet restaurant, mexican doubles as brunch one 12 - 4 every day

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
reef has 3 jaguzzis massage is 30 american onsight 500 pesos off. dad said 500 one was excellent. thats per hour. activities all day at both resorts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
different show 945 every night. babysitting available during day for free. i brought a snorkle and went uptown to main beach where mile of shops are along main beach and rented lifejacket and flippers for 200 pesos and swam to coral reef. was very nice. you can go on glass bottom boat and do same for 20 american. when i went was only me and fishees, they smile good when you bring bread and bananas from resort.

Other Comments:
west jet should have direct flights from western canada. many many people would go to north coasts resorts. this is very nice resort if you not spoiled, drinks are free from 10 am to 1100 pm when disco opens but you pay. it is very safe to go uptown. lots of bars restaurnts open to all hours. drink only water you get at meals and bottled water in room. westjet has no duty free on it buy at airport.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Casa marina was a beautiful holiday choice"

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Feb 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
766 people found this review helpful

The holiday started off slow as Sunwing had a four hour delay for us in Toronto even though the online confirmation said we were on time. We were very nervous as so many reviews were poor but we had already booked before we read these.We arrived at the airport at 12:30am dominican time, lots of paperwork at the airport and so many people trying to take your luggage.The Sunwing rep was right outside the airport and got us right on the bus and within 20 mins we were at our resort check-in desk.Check-in was fast and we were on our way to our room.There are no elevators so three flights up(but since I am female mine got carried up by the resort staff who I tipped for their effort.The room was basic but clean and the air conditioning got turned on for us and boy did it work well but we could not adjust the temperature it was on or off so we usually left it off overnight and we spent very little time during the day in it other than changing our cloths.We left $10.00 U.S. tip for Maria our maid and she was exceptional for the week and she starts @ 5:30am till 5:00pm six days a week for crappy pay and she is always very polite and happy.When we got up we had the most beautiful view from our balcony we had a superior garden room and we overlooked the pool on the beach side and could see the ocean in the backgroun over the roof of the buffet building.

Room Number:
935

Room Block:
beachside

Rooms:
on our ammenities sheet it stated there were hairdryers but there were not any in the room.The second day I asked Maria(our maid) for a hair blower and it was in the room when I came back from the beach to shower for supper.I had just finished drying my hair when a knock came to the door and it was the head of housekeeping who did not speak much english and she wanted the blowdryer back and said I could get it again the next day a 9:30am but it never showed and for three days after that I asked the front desk and the head of housekeeping and our sunwing rep and still no hairdryer so I then dropped it and went with the flat just been swimming look no big deal and certainly not enough to spoil a great holiday!No dresser so we lived out of suitcases and closets no problem, easier to pack for the return trip home.Patio door latch would not close for us so we let the desk know and the guy came to repair it before we had a chance to get changed into our swimsuits and then it was great.the safe key must be rented from the front desk for a cost of $15.00 U.S. We had warm water for showers in the evening and really hot water in the mornings.It was a new thing to put all toilet paper in a waste bucket instead of flushing but its the lifestlye there.

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet was good with a very nice selection breakfast and luch have many repetative items evry day but most buffets do. Supper buffet had a different theme night for food selections every night and was well done. There is a snack bar in the italian restaurant during the day and it serves fries and burgers and dogs and pizza and salads so even the piciest eater should be able to find something(I know this as I am the pickiest of the picky)the a la cartes were fine but we had reserved them when we got up the first morning but next time I would not really mind if we did not use them and only had buffet as yor time is more flexible if you want to do something the buffet timing is flexible to your schedule.
Bars were all great most drinks were well made and staff was always dancing and singingand happy to serve.
In some reviews people complained about staff not serving you drinks in the buffet but the premise of the buffet is to serve yourself and there is a manned bar in every dining room and al carts you are waited on and the is a cash a la carte menu and a all inclusive menu and the are marked at the top of the sections as to inclusive and the cash ones have prices marked on them

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and sand are amazing pools are clean and a little on the cool side but very refreshing. there are three cool water jacuzzis built into the reef overlooking the ocean and plenty of lounging area with lounge chairs there are several lounge chairs on the beach and in the jacuzzi area that have the bars for height adjustment broke off the chairs. We found that the chairs around the pool were in good shape so I guess the keep the best ones for the pool areas.The grounds were gorgeous and well kept the scenery is beautiful and there are several kodak moment spots in this resort.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
there are several activities on the resort and there are boards posted with these activities from dance lessons to water aerobics and spanish lessons beach parties and water balloon contests on the beach and drinking games etc... nobody should have a dull time unless they choose to.
we did two tours off the resort both were through Mel tours in the beachway plaza booked through Linda who can be reached on her website to pre-book tours but if you speak with her or contact her please note she is not in the office right outside the hotel she is in the beachway plaza office about a six minute walk from the hotel.The mels reps are on a 10% commission so if you barter a price with them it is the rep who takes the loss of commission not mel himself.
The paradise island tour was really nice and the other tour was a puerto plata tour interesting but the phrase time for shopping means in the gift shops at the sights you are toured through.The town of Sosua is right outside the hotel front door and really worth a wander but not for the faint of heart you will be hounded to buy from the vendors in every shop but they are polite and do barter and start lowball.there are some interesting bars The Jolly Rogers is owned by a Canadian named Mick and he is fun to chat with a a great story teller.Rum is dirt cheap(less than 10.00U.S.)a bottle and vanilla is also cheap for you bakers and can be bought in the local supermarket in a big bottle for about a buck.

Other Comments:
We enjoyed this vacation and will possibly return to this resort next year with our children. There are time share guys wandering by the buffet restaurant and the will be very persistant but we even got to have fun with that and treated it like a game how many time share guys can we duck by before we get busted.we could not get a late check out on our last day but they had an area to store our luggage and a room to let us shower in at no charge. all in all agreat holiday lots of sun fun great temperatures

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not What It Was!!!! An Update"

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cec  on Feb 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
863 people found this review helpful

Having been to the Casa Marina 3 years ago, we decided to return again.
What a rude awakening!!! First we arrived at 12:30 pm and were told our room was not ready....We asked for a courtesy room to change into Beach wear and were told none was available....also to come back after 3 pm as this was checkin time!the saga conytinues!!!

Your Arrival:
arrived at 12:30 local time were told room not ready until after 3 pm...no courtesy room available to store luggage or to change into beach wear..Staff were indifferent to our inquiry as to our accomadation request as confirmed by our tour operater Sunwing..........

Rooms:
After a series of delays led by the reception staff who kept telling us that our room was being cleaned and not ready we finally were escorted to a 4th floor room that was to say the least very tired !Water stained bathroom tile, tired bedding,musty smelling and not what we had paid for!!! It was to be an oceanview room on the 2nd floor.Reception said that this was all they had left!!!Another room would not be available until the next day.what choice did we have? after a less than restful night ,we returned to reception and we again were told no rooms available..Other people also were complaing of wrong accomadations and were promptly moved...We pleaded our case or tried to with the Sunwing rep but were told to come to see him tomorrow ar 11:30 to sort out the problem. WE were there promptly at 11:30 the next day but our "rep" was too busy with selling tours to be bothered with our problem!!!!!
Again we approached the reception staff and were told we would have to wait until tomorrow for a decent room! Three days of lousy accomadation ,indiferent staff and sunwing rep made our stay less than satisfactory!!! We shall not return here again!!! Also any one else we know will hear of our misadventure!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
We were supposed to have 3 ala carte dinners but when we tried to book them were told only Friday and Saturday were still available . Another person had theirs cancelled!Buffet food was ordinary and somewhat bland ,Desserts being the exception. Our ala carte dinner at the Italian restaurant was the only bright spot in our visit!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
staff kept the grounds neat and tidy...Pools were kept clean but the loungers were dirty and most of them needed replacement as the backrests were broken or missing!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not much beside pool volleyball or beach aerobics ,if you wanted more activities you would need to try tours or venture into town or cab it to Sosoua or puerto Plata

Other Comments:
On wednesday night the Disco Started Booming at 9:30 and continued until 11:30 pm .It was so loud that even closing Patio doors and curtains could not subdue the noise so we might enjoy some movie or news viewing! We could barely hear the dialogue!! So much for young children trying to sleep!

Reception:
Not very helpful and indifferent to request regarding accomadation and room changes .If you don't get your proper room and approach them you are told to wait as they have to contact the "manager"...Delays after delays follow and when you ask for information you do not get the same"manager" as they seem to disappear When there is a concern!!!The Sunwing Rep was no help atall!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Nightmare in the Dominican."

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Renee  on Jan 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
943 people found this review helpful

The hotel is lacking in a whole bunch of areas. The noise level is horrible. I think in 7 nights we may have got one night without being awoke by screaming guests.

The rooms are dirty, they have no fridge, blowdriers, water isn't provided and it isn't easy to find after hours. They don't have toilet paper roll holders in the bathrooms so if yours falls on the floor and gets wet good luck trying to get another. In the 2 rooms we were in cause the first had mold, both has gaps in the doors. Our first room had black mold on the ceiling and a 1 inch gap on the top and bottom of the patio door. Our second room had sliding doors and one of them had an inch gap. If you have kids we were told that you have to stay on ground level. My kids are 10 & 11. One family that we were with was worried thier daughter would go out the patio door in the middle of the night and go swimming in the pool that was less than 20 feet from the door.

They do not have a gym. Or If it is raining they do not have a place to go with the exception of a spot about 200 - 300 feet big. We were not able to stay in the dining room when it was raining. So you had 2 choices your room or the other space. We had to spend 3 days there.

I would skip this hotel and try to find another.

Your Arrival:
Our Arrival was wonderful. We were treated very well. Every one was very nice to us.

Rooms:
Dirty, moldy, lacking in fridge, blowdriers, drinking water, hot water some days.

Restaurants and Bars:
There is one bar that holds 98 (about) people and is very very small. It closes at 1am and there is no where to go after that. The restaurants are not the greatest. The food choice is non existant. and the food is not very good. The dessarts were on the most part awesome. They allow smoking in all the restaurants and for non smokers it can be very gross.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Were OK. They had 3 pools and 2 seperate beaches.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not much happening. we didn't see the anamators till 3 days into our stay. They could be rude and mean. But were usually frendly enough especially if you were a single female. The city of Sosua was right outside the resort. They are pushy but frendly. The shows were not all family friendly in fact we had to leave one show because of the sexual content.

Other Comments:
I would not go to this resort again. This was my 5th trip to Dominican and by far the worst I do not think this resort is a 3.5* I would give it a 2 maybe a 2.5* at best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All i can say about this resort is that it has to be updated soon"

Casa Marina Beach
User Rating:  Casa Marina Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don & Barb  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
786 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 2 to April 16
Arrived Puerto Plata airport at aprox 3 PM with Westjet airlines ..very good flight direct from Tbay to Toronto to Puerto Plata.the only thing we noticed this time was completing a customs form to enter which was confusing.and of course the porters were at your luggage as soon as u let it go .we did not get fooled this time around .lol.but they have to make a living too.arrived at resort was quick and smooth we stayed at the beach part..our porter was good we have known him from prevoius trips there .he even recognized us, as soon as we got there.his name is Alberto very effiecient.

Rooms:
Rooms were as we have expected would be .since we have stayed at this and othere side the reef a few times .but the resort should have a face lift for the rooms .new beds ...etc. they are getting bad and worn out.the maid was very good .Carmella she had every thing done every day.and we left a little of something for her every day .may it be pesos/or a gift such as candy or red lip sticks.we did have an issue with the air conditioning one day .it was just blowing warm air .we called down and had maintenance come to check it out .to verify our complaint.they inspected it and said the condenser was blown.so he arranged a better room for us to change too.that was very good of them.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants were good ,the sea scape was alright .you get to pick your own lobster to eat.other places to eat was just for luches and snacks were also good .but the meals for the buffet every night was getting kindda same at both restaurants.so we usually went out in town to eat where the action is.bars at the beaches are getting very same stuff in and out.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools are nice especially the reef side.grounds are clean .beach side beach is 75% gone since last years visit but still is good with nice rough waves and the reef side beach is much calmer for the weak at heart.and is much larger now.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Took a fishing charter out but didn't catch anything which was disappointing.the ocean was very calm this time around .also we took a day out to Bacardi island which was very good with white sand beaches and even saw a couple dolphins while on route back.went on the cable car with our dominican family friends for a day which they loved .afterwards we went to the super market to buy some chicken they invited us back for supper to their place .chicken cooked dominican style was very .very tasty .

Other Comments:
All i can say about this resort is that it has to be updated soon,and there are too many kids in the resort .if you want to relax without hearing kids cry or yelling.i think we will probably find somewheres else to stay next time around maybe all adult resort.that is close by to our friends.our trip was a blast 14 days of sun shine and 30c every day only a few times at night just to cool of the sand.and best time without the cluster of tourist like in Jan/Feb months.very nice trip again to the DR.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube