Grand Paradise Samaná Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Las Galeras > Las Galeras Hotel Index > Grand Paradise Samaná reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Las Galeras Hotels with Similar Ranking

Villa Serena

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 23, 2014

Grand Paradise Samaná  

Samana. Dominican Republic

"2 for 2!"
Posted by: Tabatha and Patrick  on Aug 28, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Paradise Samaná Reviews
Grand Paradise Samaná Pictures and Information
Grand Paradise Samaná Las Galeras Dominican Republic

#1
of 10 Hotels in Las Galeras

User rating 3.2

Based on 24 reviews

Grand Paradise Samaná Information


Situated on the coast of Playa Las Galeras, Grand Paradise Samaná welcomes visitors to a tropical Resort where comfort is a priority and the natural beauty of the environment is everywhere.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Paradise Samaná Reviews

Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 3.2 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  5
Average
  7
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (18)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (6)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"2 for 2!"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tabatha and Patrick  on Aug 28, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
189 people found this review helpful

During February 28-March 7,2013, my family and some friends had the pleasure of enjoying this resort for the second time. My husband and I went there in 2012 and loved it so much that we took four more people with us this year! It's relaxed, friendly atmosphere is comparable to none!
Greeted by familiar faces upon arrival, We also had complimentary gifts in our rooms waiting for us all, even though the other four had never been there before, they were treated as VIP also. Benito at the pool bar is so kind and went out of his way to make sure we were happy and taken care of every time he saw us, Thank you Benito!

Room Block:
500's

Arrival:
Upon arrival and during our entire stay, Alvero (I think it's spelled right) went out of his way everyday to seek us out and make sure we were being taken care of. Even on his day off, we saw him shopping in the little village and he chatted us up an was helpful with directions as we were looking for an old friend we had made the year before. Thank you for being so kind and patient with us Alvero! He has a sincerity that cannot be faked.

Rooms:
Rooms are clean and towels stocked daily so no issues there.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is very good and you will certainly not go hungry.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Louis Martinez Is your towel guy! He'll make sure you have fresh towels every day and is also so very kind and pleasant!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We made use of all the equipment daily plus enjoyed the activities and stayed involved with the entertainment, It was always fun.

Other Comments:
We fully intend to visit again in 2014 with even more family and friends next time! Our group will probably be about 10 or more next year, see you all in the spring!!! And thanks again for the excellent treatment and beautiful resort!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most terrible resort I ever went too"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anna  on Sep 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
415 people found this review helpful

This is a choke rating this hotel a 4 star. The food is terrible. The beach What beach ? 2 feet of sand, full of sea weeds. Bugs in the room, water dripping (Bring ear plugs). Food was horrible. You will never see me again. No Wi Fi need to pay for it and when you use it you are in a dark area not your room. Entertainment was OK but not the greatest.

Arrival:
September 9, 2012

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach sucks
Pools are OK
Grounds poor

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No activities on resort. Shows at night.

Other Comments:
If it wasn't for Frank A. who entertained us the week it would of dragged on. He was so friendly and very helpful. He made sure we were comfortable.He steals the show every night. He was very funny and he is a great guy to meet. Well done Frank

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!! The whole Family is going next year!!"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tabatha and Patrick  on Mar 18, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
608 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from this resort a few days ago and even before we left to come home, we were making plans to visit again next year! We fully intend to take all of our children and our grand child as well.
This is an amazingly friendly, family of all ages, oriented resort. The young people who run this beautiful place are so caring, and eager to please and talented. The resort itself is beyond words beautiful! The service providers are more than helpful. everything worked in our room without any problems. We had ocean view, which was simply breath taking! The beach was beyond words as well. Never any problems getting loungers. Towels were fresh every day. everything was so very clean.
These people work so very hard and such long hours. The daily activities were such fun and getting to know the friendly staff was a treat. The nightly shows were epic! The talent these young people have is amazing and trust me you wont want to miss a single one!

Room Number:
1137

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
We arrived around 2pm on Thursday afternoon. The front desk staff were so cheerful and helpful, you couldn't help but feel their good spirits rub off. We were greeted with cold drinks of juice and escorted to the restaurant for lunch which was very much appreciated after travelling nearly 7 hours.Then, so there was no confusion, a young bell hop escorted and carried our luggage to our room for us and showed us around a bit. He answered any questions we had and was so pleasant.

Rooms:
The rooms were impressively clean and views were to die for! Even had a little Gecko living in the tree behind our patio LOL

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were equally friendly and very knowledgeable of their positions. They made drinks of all kinds and let me recommend the beer, if you aren't a rum drinker, this is really good beer. The restaurants were all very nice and the staff were on top of things at all times. Always with a smile as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This beach is so beautiful! Pictures just do not do this place any justice. We took full advantage of the activities offered and the water sports. Also did a bit of snorkelling in the local aquarium, My husband even bought an underwater camera at the little gift shop right on sight! How can you beat that?

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We walked to the local village on our 3rd day there for a couple of hours and it was quite an experience. The culture shock will humble you and the people earning their living in this little village were also more than friendly and helpful. There is an on site photography booth which take random pictures during the day. You'll need to check this out. My husband and I had a sunset sitting and the pictures were gorgeous! A perfect piece of remembrance for us for many years to come.

Other Comments:
I believe my time is equally as valuable as anyone else's, that's why I took the time to write this review. I truly want people to realize how great and beautiful this resort is. From the natural beauty of the land to the inner beauty of the people who make your stay memorable :O) We truly cannot wait to take ourselves and our entire family back next year!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Four star? what a joke."

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tanyss  on Mar 8, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
580 people found this review helpful

The grounds,buildings and room were very nice, but the food, service was the worst. My husband and I have well over 20 all inclusives around the world under our belts and this is one that I would never visit again.

Room Number:
3032

Arrival:
arrived around 10.00 p.m. and other than having trouble finding our bungalow the check in went smoothly

Rooms:
The rooms were nice and spacious, but we had ants and it took the cleaning staff almost all day to clean. One person came in the morning to remove the used towels and then returned sometime later in the day. Then someone else came in and cleaned the bathroom and made the bed, Then someone else came in when ever and washed the floors. It seemed that someone was in your room all day. We could not get our safe to work and were not given a refund.

Restaurants and Bars:
TThe food was over cooked, the meat was tough, the vegetables were over cooked and cold. They ran out of wine two night and the staff were not very helpful.
The bars were not too bad except most of the staff made you feel like they were doing you a favour, Most of the staff could not give you the time of day until they saw the colour of your money.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were small but clean. We had real trouble getting beach towels. Unless you went to the towel stand very early in the morning you were always showen a sign that said that the towels were in the laundry. We had to share our towel with another couple.
The grounds were well maintained and clean.
The beach was alright. Nothing to write home about.
The entire place seemed to have a shortage of lounge chairs both on the beach and around the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities once again were nothing to write home about except the ATV ride off the resort was very nice and interesting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Off my List"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tanyss  on Mar 2, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
595 people found this review helpful

I will never go back. I find the staff not to be very honest.

Room Number:
3231

Arrival:
Went very smoothly

Rooms:
Bungalows were very roomy and clean. All staff wanted to see the colour of your money before they granted you almost anything

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was tasteless, meat dry, tough, vegetables were over cooked and cold.
Restaurants ran out of wine a few time at the dinner hour. Ran out of coffee one morning.
Drinks flowed nicely, but staff made you feel like the were doing you a favour.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
These area's were nicely kept, well groomed and clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nice places to visit and enough activities on the resort to keep one occupied

Other Comments:
Beach towel were hard to get, they seemed to be in the wash all the time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor santition and food safety"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  aaron  on Dec 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
597 people found this review helpful

Stayed at this resort December 5-19th, 2011 and was appalled that this is sold as a 4 star resort. This hotel is located in a very rural area of the DR. The local employees have very little training and understanding of customer service. Guile, arrogance and aggressiveness were the norm.

Poor food handling, many guests reported diarrhea with one guest evacuated for IV drip. Very disappointing. We ate all our meals in the village for the second week, which was expensive, although we felt much better within a day of doing so.

Poor food selection with a ten-item buffet plus salad for 1000 people. The same food every day, cooked very poorly, sometimes burnt black, always overcooked, never tasty and sometimes spoiled. Green lunch meat, rotting fish, canned sauces, decomposing salad, etc.

Poor sanitation with guests expected to use wastebaskets for used toilet paper. Poor housekeeping with no cleaning unless supervised. Poor sanitary conditions for laundry, etc. with poop-stained towels left in bathroom as "clean". Restaurant and bar dishes are washed by hand in tap water (which you cannot drink) which means they sometimes have food on them or they are greasy.

Misc. stuff: Asked front desk to change rooms because ours was too near restaurant and show stage. We were told that we have a room and the hotel doesn't change rooms for guests (even though the resort was 50% occupied). Maid banged on door in the morning until someone opened it and then reprimanded us for not using the DND sign. Boys at front desk are arrogant and aggressive; we were told that wearing the ID bracelet on our watches was not allowed and WE WERE TOLD TO CHECK OUT IMMEDIATELY but then they changed their minds when we said OK. lol

Sunwing.ca rep offered us another hotel in Puerto Plata for an additional $500 for travel or to leave the island would cost $700 pp.

I have stayed at other all-inclusive resorts in the DR and they were okay. This one has serious problems. I was just looking for a quiet 4 star resort so I could rest quietly for two weeks, not to have problems with a sub-standard resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What an amazing vacation...."

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anita  on May 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
896 people found this review helpful

Everyone needs to get a visitor pass including the baby form your flight attendant. If not it will cost you US$10 for it at the air port when you arrive. We were not given one for our baby and did not asked for it; we did not now the baby needed one so we end up having to pay for it at the air port. I was not too happy with that.

We loved how everyone always greeted you with a smile and ‘Hula!’
The staff were all wonderful.... $1 US goes a long way. The trick is to tip….

Room Number:
1136

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
Other than that, it was fast getting out and onto the bus. The ride was an hour and 20 minis to the resort. Don’t worry the bus have AC. Be prepared to have a long day. When we arrived we got throw reception fast and were in time for the buffet, which we were defiantly in need of.

Rooms:
Our room was on the 1st floor room 1136. Great location close to the buffet, bar, reception, pool and beach… Very quiet and cool. The AC was ok. It was comfortable. No mosquitoes or bugs. We found the room very good. It was very clean and spacious. They mop and clean the rooms daily. The only concern we had with the room was the mini bar, they did not full it daily...Only 2 pop and a big bottle of water is in there… Everything else was perfect.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was good.....they had a small variety but it was tasty.... I quite enjoyed the food at lunch and dinner, we never went hungry. The breakfast was just about the same every morning. You must try the hot chocolate milk; it is out of this world delish… There is NO 24hr snack, only a 1hr midnight sandwich that ends at 1am.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and pool was fabulous we thoroughly enjoyed both every day. The water was warm and the sand soft and wonderful. There were plenty of lounge chairs to go around and lots of shady spot. We especially loved the closeness of the beach to the hotel...it was a very short walk to the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The night entertainment show was great. We truly enjoyed it. A must see….
Lots of stuff to do but we did not take part in....

Other Comments:
We went out to the towns, once to the little one near the hotel. You can take a cab for US$12 both ways as we did or walk along the beach, it is about a 5 or 10 minute walk. I would not recommend to go to this little town it is not worth it, but if you do you should go to the little supermarket there to buy your alcohols and cigars you will get the best prices and they won’t over charge you. You don’t have to barging. But if you shop at any of the other stores you MUST barging with them. We also went to the main town of Samana. It cost US$60 both ways. It is expansive, so what we did is split the cost with 2 other families and payee US$20 for each family. The cab was a mini bus that seats 12 persons. So we were all comfee… It is worth it, we were all happy we went to the town of Samana the prices are better and it was a wonderful experience. If you go you must buy your rum there it is less than 1/2 of the price. You will pay a lot more at the gift shop and air port. You must go to the town of Samana, just split the cost with others. Ask around in no time you will get a bus full. On our trip to Samana we bought mangoes US$1 for about 6 mangoes and fresh coconut water with jelly for only US$1 each. Never buy coconut off the beach it is not good. The gift shop at the hotel price is ok but you must be a wear that some of the prices are wrong and it is twice the amount when it is time to pay. It is best to bring US$ with you. You get a better rate when you exchange it. Take along a lot of US$1 with.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Boring, boring, and no bacon"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Larry  on Apr 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
782 people found this review helpful

We have at least 35 all inclusive vacations under our belt so we know what to expect. This hotel is one of the most beautiful we have seen. But everything stops there. The food was average at best and we never seen bacon once. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff are great. The nearby town was so small that we seen everything in less than 30 minutes and the grocery store that we bought our rum at stunk so bad I thought I was going to vomit. There were at least 2 tourists robbed at knife point on the path that goes to the town so if you plan to us this path go in large groups. A young man we met was robbed at knife point right in front of reception at 4 am. There is not much to do at this resort and we found it very boring. The young people there told us that the disco was a joke and they too found the resort boring. We have stayed at the Paridise in Puerto Plata at least 9 times and it was great so we thought this hotel owned by the same company would be the same but we were wrong. Never again !!!!

Room Number:
7108

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
April 7/11 at 1:35 pm

Rooms:
nice and clean

Restaurants and Bars:
below average

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the most beautful we have ever seen

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
average or below

Other Comments:
Not a resort for young people. More like a retirement home.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah  on Apr 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
786 people found this review helpful

I have to say when i arrived on this resort i was a little disapointed.. very different from other resorts ive been on.. my friend and i made our own fun and it was the best vacation ever.. as long as you meet people and the staff are generally pretty good.. Juan at the sports bar is the best to go to for drinks or you wont get anything good.. the entertainment guys are also great people.. I would recommend this resort to anybody, the people are very friendly.. Best trip ever.

Room Number:
3103

Restaurants and Bars:
The food isnt the greatest

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
well maintained

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Pros and Cons of Grand Paradise"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jessica  on Apr 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
807 people found this review helpful

Pros:
Very Nice Weather
Majority of Staff were very friendly
Spacious Rooms
Good Food

Cons:
Lady at the photo booth was very rude and she tried to ruin our vacation.
We had sand fleas in our room and nothing was really done about it.
More of a quiet resort for seniors.

Room Number:
7214

Rooms:
Spacious, but had sand fleas

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good. Dont expect fancy drinks and no swim up bars

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
3 Pools very clean but not to large in size

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I heard very many good things about the water fall, horse back riding and atving.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube