Grand Paradise Samaná Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Las Galeras > Las Galeras Hotel Index > Grand Paradise Samaná reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Las Galeras Hotels with Similar Ranking

Villa Serena

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 23, 2014

Grand Paradise Samaná  

Samana. Dominican Republic

"Strong 3 star - value for your dollar"
Posted by: Lynne  on Feb 21, 2016
see all reviews

Grand Paradise Samaná Reviews
Grand Paradise Samaná Pictures and Information
Grand Paradise Samaná Las Galeras Dominican Republic

#1
of 10 Hotels in Las Galeras

User rating 3.2

Based on 26 reviews

Grand Paradise Samaná Information


Situated on the coast of Playa Las Galeras, Grand Paradise Samaná welcomes visitors to a tropical Resort where comfort is a priority and the natural beauty of the environment is everywhere.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Paradise Samaná Reviews

Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 3.2 of 5 26 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  6
Average
  8
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (20)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (6)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
21 - 26 of 26

"Could Easily Be 4 Star But ..."

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Feb 16, 2016  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | Family and Kids
831 people found this review helpful

This is a shortened review (to make text fit Debbie’s review submission fields)

Photo Set: https://www.flickr.com/photos/12759824@N02/sets/72157663908200750/

Video Slide Show with Sound: http://www.bobfromcanada.com

Full Review at: http://www.bobfromcanada.com or ‘the other guys’.

The property is rated at 3 to 3.5 stars and that’s about right. It could easily be 4 stars. There are a LOT of things to like about this resort and some things that are not to like. Over-all, we were pretty happy and think we got great value for our money. With a little tweaking, it could be a whole lot better.

They were constantly running out of things. They would frequently run out of plates, or glasses. It took a ‘few’ minutes before replacements would appear. At least they did appear; it just took a while.

They also seemed to have supply issues. For example, one afternoon, they ran out of beer, rum and vodka (resort wide, all bars). This was for an extended period. I felt sorry for the bar tenders because they were taking the heat and it wasn’t their fault. They ran out of beer briefly on three other occasions during the two weeks we were there. People tend to remember things like that and it’s not the kind of thing the resort wants you to remember. Enough said.

As for the buffet, here’s where I’m coming from. I don’t expect a whole lot of service. It’s a buffet; pretty much a do-it-yourself operation. You get your own food. But, what I do expect is to have my table properly bused. What happens seems to depend on the server you get. Some were really good, others weren’t. Sometimes the table is bused, sometimes not. Once seated, we usually waited for a few minutes. If the table got bused within that time, then we were away. Otherwise we did it ourselves. No big deal! Other times someone was right there, bused the table, filled your water glass, and asked if you wanted coffee, beer or wine. Guess who got the tips ….

Fortunately the positives far out-weighed the negatives and we had a great vacation. That leads to the question “Would we return?” The answer to that is YES.

The property is not exceptionally large, but it is very pretty and natural. It’s a pretty quiet resort. There’s lots of trees, grass and shrubs and it’s very scenic. The groundskeepers do a good job of keeping it nicely maintained. There’s only about 400 rooms. It seemed to be pretty easy to meet, socialize and make friends here.

The age mix is tilted towards the early 50s. There weren’t many younger people there, but there were enough for them to have a good time. Good thing too. The disco is pretty small. A large crowd would overload it. Speaking of the disco, they either need a bigger amplifier and speakers or turn it down a notch. The sound system was maxed out to the point that the speaker cones were rattling against the enclosure. Loud I can live with, distortion no

Room Number:
1139

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
After a longish but scenic bus ride we arrived at the hotel. We wanted to get beer at the airport before we departed, but the driver/guide suggested we stop en route because it would be cheaper ($5 for a Grande versus $8 at the airport). The bus did stop for beer just after we left the airport (twice actually - the beer wasn’t cold enough at the first stop) but there were no bathroom breaks en route, even though we stopped at two other hotels to drop off passengers. The ride was about two hours including the stop-offs. To be fair, when one was in dire need, I suspect you could get off the bus to use the washroom in those hotel lobbies. That option was offered on the return trip to the airport while we were waiting for passengers.

When we arrived, check-in was pretty efficient and painless. We got a welcome drink while doing the paper work. I’d requested a second key, and had been told I could get one despite the fact that it wasn’t their normal policy, but it wasn’t there and they told me to come back tomorrow. I did get it then with no issues.

Interestingly, on the second day the reservations manager (Noris Silverio) phoned the room as a follow up to my request and to make sure I had received it. Kudos to her. Nice lady; we stopped by her office to say thanks personally. I’d also requested a second floor room, but got assigned a first floor room. It turns out I liked it better and I would request the exact same room on my next trip. And there will be one. Right after check-in we were whisked off to our room. It seems that the bellhop misread our room number (upside down on the paper he was trying to read) and initially took us to the wrong building. That was quickly rectified and we found our room.

Rooms:
We requested and paid for a deluxe oceanview room. We think it was worth the slight additional cost. The room we got seemed recently renovated and in pretty good repair aside from some very minor issues which I didn’t bother reporting. It had two double beds (weird dimensions 54 inches wide x 85 inches long), one bedside table between them, a set of drawers, closet, safe ($15US per week), flat screen TV (the remote was already in the room), refrigerator and a pretty nice bathroom with the usual amenities. It should be noted that they ask you not to put toilet paper down the toilet but in the waste receptacle instead. Dominican plumbing is somewhat on the anemic side. This is a minor inconvenience compared to an overflowing toilet. We heard of some people that didn’t heed the sign and paid the price. There were washcloths when we arrived but they weren’t always replaced, so we hid the ones we had. The shower head was one of those rainfall ones and it looked like the fixture and associated plumbing had been recently installed. I didn’t think I’d like the rainfall head but it turned out to be pretty nice. There was good water pressure and we always had hot water when we wanted it. The patio outside the room had a tremendous view. My wife thinks this one is the best rooms we’ve had in the last 10 trips.

The only issues we had with the room were that you had to jiggle the toilet handle sometimes to stop it running and the bed side table was mounted to the wall on the headboard which had a slight warp. So, it had a small angle down and the drawer kept opening by itself. Not a big issue but just annoying. It wasn’t about to fall off or anything like that. It was just off level.

We also lost the programming on the room key a ‘few’ times and had to make trips to reception to get them reprogrammed. Reception was always courteous and friendly.

It should be noted that the dim room lighting is as reported in previous reviews. The bedside light is not only dim, but located such that even with a bright bulb, reading in bed would be difficult. And kudos to them for putting an energy efficient LED fixture in the bathroom. It was quite bright, but it was clearly the wrong fixture for the job. It had bare LEDs rather than a frosted tube and cast horrible shadows around the room. That one has got to go.

We were offered the VIP/Select package. I feel the deluxe oceanview was worth the extra cost, but not so the VIP package. We did see a few that went for it.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was far better than we expected. No complaints here. It was plain but there was plenty of variety and they had a different theme each night (Mexican, American, International, Seafood, Dominican, BBQ, Italian, France, Asian, Chef’s for example). Each night there was an excellent carving station. We got served baked chicken, some very nice roast beef (surprise, it was even tender), carved whole turkey, roast piglet, several varieties of fish, BBQ chicken. There were also a lot of interesting offerings in the chafing dishes as well. Sauces, where present, tasted like a light citrus base with a hint of cinnamon. I liked it.

The vegetables were consistently served slightly al dente and had a nice firm texture. Sure, sometimes they were slightly on the cool side but I’d rather have that than hot, overcooked and mushy. We got potatoes, carrots, corn on the cob, green beans, cauliflower, broccoli, pumpkin, and several varieties of beans.

The breads and buns were excellent, as were the sweet rolls. They also baked a killer banana bread. The French stick was excellent too. Yum.

Each night there was a good selection of salad fixings (two types of lettuce, shredded red cabbage, shredded cabbage, carrots, and two or three types of prepared salads). None had any dressing on them so you could pick your own dressings and amounts from a selection of three or four types. The lettuce was consistently crisp, but a few times some of it was frozen to the bottom of the chafing dish.

There was a good selection of desserts and several nights they served ice cream. And it was good ice cream.

There was pretty good variety in the buffet at lunch as well. The beach club was rather limited in choices but acceptable. It was pretty well sandwiches, burgers, fries, and something on the grill. We ate most of our lunches in the buffet because there was a much better selection.

Breakfast had a pretty good selection that didn’t vary much from day to day. But bacon was a rare event. We got bacon once in the two week period. The omelette station was a pretty busy place. You could pick from ham, cheese, onion and tomato fixings, but there was nothing stopping you from chopping up other stuff (like potato or a different meat) from the chafing dishes. Surprisingly, we saw few bananas on the fruit tray but there was lots of pineapple, melon and mangoes. My wife loves mangoes.

The restaurant supervisor (Victor) seemed to be there for every meal. I heard that the guy started at 5:00 am every morning and was there until after 9:00 pm. I believe it from what I saw. That’s pretty dedicated. He was always jovial and friendly and without exception greeted us with a smile and a handshake (at least after we introduced ourselves to him).

We didn’t try the a la carte restaurants but it was reported that they weren’t worth the effort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is quite nice, but a little strange. There’s a thin strip of sand (pretty thin at high tide and slightly wider other times) with a larger bordering grassy area. Most of the loungers were situated on the grassy area. A little strange, but you got used to it quickly.

The water was blue, but a little murky most days. The sand on the bottom seemed to be slightly finer than the sand on the beach (coarser) and stayed in suspension for a while after being stirred up. Overall, the bottom was sandy with a few coral patches and a few flat topped seaweed patches. There was a little, but not a lot of seaweed. The seaweed looked a lot like crabgrass leaves so it wasn’t terribly nasty. Once washed ashore, they were pretty good about cleaning it up and hauling it away.

The hotel was about full up. Loungers seemed to be at a premium around midday. Unfortunately the towel game was in full play. We were never around midday anyway. Getting loungers early morning or late afternoon didn’t seem to be an issue.

The better (newer) loungers were in the pool area. The ones on the beach were older and getting near the end of their service life. The sun is slowly doing them in.

There are 3 pools. None of them are large, but otherwise they are pretty nice. Two are located in the same general area and the third is out by building 5. It seemed almost like a private pool leading one to wonder if there were two separate properties at one time. They seemed well cared for and the water had a nice blue colour.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They had the standard beach volleyball net, bocce ball, shuffleboard, archery, a hobie cat and sea kayaks. They also had a mini-golf course (sort of), but no golf equipment (???). There’s a booth on the beach selling snorkeling tours to what they refer to as a natural aquarium, a roped off enclosed area a bit off-shore. You’re not likely to wander in by accident, but they get pretty vocal if you do.

We didn’t associate with the activities staff much but it appeared that they were working their butts off to keep people happy. They seemed to be enjoying themselves. We also noticed that on many occasions the activities staff joined guests for meals.

We only went to one or two shows. The best one was the fire and water one staged in the pool. The rest were pretty standard fare that we’d seen before and we decided we’d rather socialize at the beach bar. Our loss (maybe).

Off resort, it’s an easy and safe walk along the beach into town (Las Galeras). The walk along the beach path is an easy 5-10 minutes at a Dominican pace. It’s pretty scenic. Take your camera. Oh, if you use the road instead of the path it’s a lot longer walk and not very scenic.

I was a little disappointed. The so called supermercado (we found two) had limited booze offerings on the shelf and the prices were not marked. I suspect the price varies depending on the colour of your skin. There’s probably more supermercados but we didn’t find them.

Oh, and in town and along the path there’s a few watering holes where you can get a large Presidente (called a Grande) for about 150 pesos (and free wifi). Along the way, the first guy you’ll meet is Juan (who sells tours). He’s pretty personable. The next guy is Joseph, who has a small bar and the first free wifi off the resort. He seemed pretty nice too. I chatted both of them up a few times.

Going the other way along the beach, there’s a few blow holes where the ocean waves surge through an underground passage and surge up through a hole in the ground. That’s a pretty easy 15 minute walk too. The road is pretty rocky so you might want sturdy sandals instead of flip-flops.

If you go a little further along a narrow path, beyond the blow holes, you can see a cliff face that looks like a dragon’s jaw, that appears to open/close as you walk along the path. There’s also a set of small caves in there. It’s worth the walk in my opinion.

Special Thanks:
I don’t normally do this, but several staff made our vacation memorable.
I know I’m going to miss some and misspell others. Some names were heard verbally and others were read off name tags with pretty tiny lettering. Those I do leave out, my apologies. You know who you are, but here goes.

Noris Silverio - Reservations Manager (great follow-up service, before and after our trip)
Joelissa - Waitress (breakfast/lunch buffet, great service)
Benito - Bar Tender (pool bar, excellent)
Evylyn - Bar Tender (beach club evenings, super, great gal)
Fausto - Waiter (buffet dining room evenings, attentive and good service)
Maribell - Our Maid (kept our room clean and supplied. Always a friendly smile, even across the resort)
Caesar - Bar Tender (sports bar evenings)
Victor - Restaurant Supervisor (man, this guy seemed to be around, smiling, every meal, I’m impressed)

Pros and Cons:
PROS:
Nice location / nice property
Great food, lots of variety
No one got sick except for self-inflicted (at least in the group we hung with)
View from oceanview room is very nice, gardenview rooms seemed good too
No time share / vacation club
Nice beach

CONS
They seem to have supply issues
Service could be better (with exceptions as noted)

Comments (part 1):
There are lots of little spots to sit out, socialize and have a drink. Very convenient.

There was live entertainment (OK, one guy with a band-box) outside the dining room two or three times a week. He was pretty good. By the way, that was at one of the little spots.

I advise taking an extension cord with multiple outlets. The wiring in the rooms was designed and installed long before the need to charge our modern electronics. In our room there were three ac outlets. None of them were conveniently located. One was fully used up for the refrigerator and the TV. The second was inconveniently located under the bedside table and the bedside lamp was connected. Note that that one was switched on/off by a switch at the door, so you could control the bedside lamp. The third outlet was in the bathroom and one outlet was dedicated to the hair dryer. I ended up using the bathroom ac outlet because it was the least inconvenient. Note that the ac outlets were North American style type B sockets but I seriously doubt that the ground is connected and the wiring is polarized. I wouldn’t depend on any appliance that requires a ground.

You need your room key to keep the ac power powered up. That includes the air conditioning.

They request that you not put toilet paper in the toilet but in the waste basket beside it. This, at worst, is a minor inconvenience. Dominican plumbing is a bit anemic and paper tends to plug up the system. If and when that happens, it’s more than a minor inconvenience.

The room fridges are stocked with water, Coke and Sprite. Interestingly, the hotel also has diet Coke, but wouldn’t stock the refrigerators with it. Diet Coke is only available in the bars.

What appears to be the main entrance to the buffet dining room is blocked off. It appears they want you to enter via the covered archway from the lobby/reception area. I’m not sure why.

At dinner, if you spot a nice chocolaty dessert, best grab it because that selection will likely be gone by the time you finish dinner and are ready for the sweet stuff. The chocolate items disappeared quickly.

The better entries at dinner also disappeared within the first hour or two. The dinner period is about four hours, but the better selections got snapped up quickly. Hint: Be early.

I can’t believe how many people treat the buffet like a cafeteria. Man, they’d go stock up their plates with hot food, and THEN start looking for a table (really awkward when the table hasn’t been set). It’s pretty easy: Get your table, all set up with utensils and condiments, and then go get your food. No doubt these are the same people that complain that the food is cold. And it is surprising how fast the food cools down. I’ve found serving spoons that are quite hot to handle, but found the food on the cool side when I got to the table (quickly I might add).

Comments (part 2):
We met a lot of nice people from all over the world. Actually, before we even arrived, I matched up with a couple that we had met years ago at another resort. Then, lightning struck twice. I met another couple that recognized me from another resort, also years ago. What are the odds?

They seem to have the bug situation under control. We didn’t see many at all. My wife reacts to insect bites and she reported getting only a few. Normally she goes home with a lot more welts. There were a few centipedes on our patio, but they were all a lot smaller than my sandals. I don’t know if they bite or not. They never got close enough.

If you do decide to walk into town, and your return will be after dark, take a flashlight. The path is pitch black at night, but appears to be safe enough. We talked to several people that did it with no issues. One guy did it with the flashlight app on his cell phone. Oh, and there’s a nice pizza place with a wood fired oven that serves up great pizza. There were a lot of other nice looking restaurants as well. I heard they were pretty good.

It seems to be one of the places that actually follows the sign about leaving your towels in the tub if you want them replaced and hanging them on the rack if you don’t. No issue there. I don’t need new towels every day. If you dirty the towel drying off from your shower, you likely didn’t shower properly. To be fair, once our maid got to know us, she replaced the towels daily, regardless of where they were left.

The red wine at dinner is not great, but potable. The white wine is not. I made the mistake of trying it and instantly regretted it. I think I may have killed an aloa vera plant in the nearby planter.

I pointed out that bacon was a rare event at breakfast. So much so that the day they did serve it, just about everyone commented on it. Interesting at lunch; the sandwich bar lists a club sandwich and the ingredients that included bacon (natch), but there was no bacon there. Sorry, but you can’t make a club sandwich without bacon.

The coffee station in the buffet is very awkward, unless you are 4 ft. tall. It’s very low and you have to bend down to fill your cup. I know why though. You fill your cup from the bottom of the urn; they have to fill it from the top. And it’s a big urn.

For what it’s worth, the air conditioning in our room was quieter than the bathroom fan.

We had a number of 5-10 second power bumps the first week. There were none that I noticed in week two.

Watch the paths at night. The lighting is somewhat lacking in spots and the path edge is uneven. Some of the interlocking stone / flagstones are also uneven in spots. Just be aware.

Comments (part 3):
Beware of the edges on the patio areas in the restaurants and bars. Some have pretty sharp drop-offs at the edge and it’s pretty easy to back up your chair just a little too far if you’re not paying attention. I saw one go over (fortunately the gentleman wasn’t injured) and warned two or three others that were within ½” of doing the same. Language barrier or not, they got the message when I pointed to the chair leg.

We had to have our room keys recoded several times. That seems to be a common problem. Other people were at the front desk with the same issue. My best guess is that their key writer recording heads are clogged up from writing a gazillion keys and need cleaning.

The beach is quite accessible at night. This is very pleasant for watching the moon and the surf.

There seems to be a wide variety of room types. Some have minor issues like fiddly plumbing controls, doors that are hard to lock, late or no towel delivery, TV not working (or missing), refrigerator that’s kaput or ….

On site wifi is expensive and I hear it doesn’t work all that well. I went without internet (gasp) for the whole two weeks and lived to tell about it.

The resort is very European. Surprisingly there was very little topless. When it was there, no one paid any particular attention. But I did hear reports about people changing into and out of their bathing suits on the beach. Come on! There’s a washroom only a few steps away.

The guests seemed pretty good at queuing at the bars. Things seemed to go in spurts. Things would move along at a good pace and then suddenly there would be a log jam. This seemed to happen a lot in all the bars and even at the food stations in the buffet.

There is a natural aquarium (extra cost) just outside the beach area. I don’t see how you would wander into it by accident, but if you did enter without paying, the proprietor got quite vocal about it. I heard him once from my spot, beachfront and he was quite some distance away. Actually, I don’t understand how he can legally do this. The ‘aquarium’ is out in the ocean, off the public beach. But there he is ….

Don’t miss the walk to the blow hole / caves. It’s very pretty walk and you may encounter a horse, a bull or other livestock along the way. At the beach, facing the water, you go to the right and take the two left forks in the horse path. Going to town is the other way. Head off to your left and follow your nose. You can’t miss it.

There seems to be a lot of repeaters at this resort. That speaks volumes. I think we’ll be joining them.

Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/12759824@N02/sets/72157663908200750/

Videos: http://www.bobfromcanada.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great trip."

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  James from Calgary  on Jun 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2009
688 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 2009
The package was through Air Canada Vacations. Had a good flight in, processing through the airport was quick. The bus ride was about 90 minutes and very bumpy. Scenery was great.

Rooms:
Rooms were great, clean and well looked after, Air Conditioning worked great though a second key card is recommended in order to keep the AC running while away from the room. Maids were awesome.

Restaurants and Bars:
The choice at the main buffet was lacking. The beach BBQ on the day of arrival was the best. The seafood restarant was lacking as well. We didn't go for the food so we were not disappointed

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort was well laid out and looked after. The beach was awesome. Nice white sand and very warm water.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Took and ATV tour to Playa Rincon beach which is another spectacular beach. The tour was through a tour company we found in Las Galeras, Augusto Tours. They were located on the main drag in town. They were a pleasant surprise.

Other Comments:
Overall this was a great trip. Would go back.

jimdrolfe@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah  on Apr 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
1326 people found this review helpful

I have to say when i arrived on this resort i was a little disapointed.. very different from other resorts ive been on.. my friend and i made our own fun and it was the best vacation ever.. as long as you meet people and the staff are generally pretty good.. Juan at the sports bar is the best to go to for drinks or you wont get anything good.. the entertainment guys are also great people.. I would recommend this resort to anybody, the people are very friendly.. Best trip ever.

Room Number:
3103

Restaurants and Bars:
The food isnt the greatest

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
well maintained

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dream vacation"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Silvana  on Feb 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
769 people found this review helpful

I stayed in the Grand paradise, Samana. It included my flight, buses, food, table wine, juices stocked in room fridge. There was also free scuba diving, etc. I am 64 and went on my own. The hotel complex was so safe and a wonderful place. you have entertainment every night, a disco, all inclusive. Like a small holiday camp with 2 pools. Everyone there went out of thier way to please you. I loved my two weeks and want to return.

Your Arrival:
middle two weeks in march'09

Rooms:
a ground floor room, a guy bringing me a fresh coconut every day

Restaurants and Bars:
i think 4 bars plus restaurant bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
a couple times a week they set out tables by the beach for you to eat, a wonderful expierience.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
tennis, mini golf, many more

Other Comments:
I highly recomend this, specially to families and older people

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!! The whole Family is going next year!!"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tabatha and Patrick  on Mar 18, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1629 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from this resort a few days ago and even before we left to come home, we were making plans to visit again next year! We fully intend to take all of our children and our grand child as well.
This is an amazingly friendly, family of all ages, oriented resort. The young people who run this beautiful place are so caring, and eager to please and talented. The resort itself is beyond words beautiful! The service providers are more than helpful. everything worked in our room without any problems. We had ocean view, which was simply breath taking! The beach was beyond words as well. Never any problems getting loungers. Towels were fresh every day. everything was so very clean.
These people work so very hard and such long hours. The daily activities were such fun and getting to know the friendly staff was a treat. The nightly shows were epic! The talent these young people have is amazing and trust me you wont want to miss a single one!

Room Number:
1137

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
We arrived around 2pm on Thursday afternoon. The front desk staff were so cheerful and helpful, you couldn't help but feel their good spirits rub off. We were greeted with cold drinks of juice and escorted to the restaurant for lunch which was very much appreciated after travelling nearly 7 hours.Then, so there was no confusion, a young bell hop escorted and carried our luggage to our room for us and showed us around a bit. He answered any questions we had and was so pleasant.

Rooms:
The rooms were impressively clean and views were to die for! Even had a little Gecko living in the tree behind our patio LOL

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were equally friendly and very knowledgeable of their positions. They made drinks of all kinds and let me recommend the beer, if you aren't a rum drinker, this is really good beer. The restaurants were all very nice and the staff were on top of things at all times. Always with a smile as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This beach is so beautiful! Pictures just do not do this place any justice. We took full advantage of the activities offered and the water sports. Also did a bit of snorkelling in the local aquarium, My husband even bought an underwater camera at the little gift shop right on sight! How can you beat that?

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We walked to the local village on our 3rd day there for a couple of hours and it was quite an experience. The culture shock will humble you and the people earning their living in this little village were also more than friendly and helpful. There is an on site photography booth which take random pictures during the day. You'll need to check this out. My husband and I had a sunset sitting and the pictures were gorgeous! A perfect piece of remembrance for us for many years to come.

Other Comments:
I believe my time is equally as valuable as anyone else's, that's why I took the time to write this review. I truly want people to realize how great and beautiful this resort is. From the natural beauty of the land to the inner beauty of the people who make your stay memorable :O) We truly cannot wait to take ourselves and our entire family back next year!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"2 for 2!"

Grand Paradise Samaná
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Samaná Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tabatha and Patrick  on Aug 28, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
1138 people found this review helpful

During February 28-March 7,2013, my family and some friends had the pleasure of enjoying this resort for the second time. My husband and I went there in 2012 and loved it so much that we took four more people with us this year! It's relaxed, friendly atmosphere is comparable to none!
Greeted by familiar faces upon arrival, We also had complimentary gifts in our rooms waiting for us all, even though the other four had never been there before, they were treated as VIP also. Benito at the pool bar is so kind and went out of his way to make sure we were happy and taken care of every time he saw us, Thank you Benito!

Room Block:
500's

Arrival:
Upon arrival and during our entire stay, Alvero (I think it's spelled right) went out of his way everyday to seek us out and make sure we were being taken care of. Even on his day off, we saw him shopping in the little village and he chatted us up an was helpful with directions as we were looking for an old friend we had made the year before. Thank you for being so kind and patient with us Alvero! He has a sincerity that cannot be faked.

Rooms:
Rooms are clean and towels stocked daily so no issues there.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is very good and you will certainly not go hungry.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Louis Martinez Is your towel guy! He'll make sure you have fresh towels every day and is also so very kind and pleasant!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We made use of all the equipment daily plus enjoyed the activities and stayed involved with the entertainment, It was always fun.

Other Comments:
We fully intend to visit again in 2014 with even more family and friends next time! Our group will probably be about 10 or more next year, see you all in the spring!!! And thanks again for the excellent treatment and beautiful resort!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube