Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts  

PLaya Arena Gorda, Bavaro. Punta Cana

"Terrible, fu##kin, terrible!!!!!"
Posted by: Bev on May 3, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Pictures and Information
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#2
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.1

Based on 69 reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Information


The all inclusive Grand Paradise Bavaro four-stars Resort, located in Bavaro Beach Punta Cana has an unique white sands and crystal clear waters of its beach, tall coconut trees and colorful landscapes, all make this resort a real jewel of the Caribbean.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.1 of 5 69 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  26
Average
  14
Poor
  13
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Leisure (47)
Party (2)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
With friend (6)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
1 - 10 of 69

"Terrible, fu##kin, terrible!!!!!"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bev  on May 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
273 people found this review helpful

- Rooms did not have what was listed on magazine/Sunwing website ie. irons, ironing boards, coffee maker, no TV remote, working fridge, etc. We requested these items numerous times; however, received some of these amenities at certain times, but nothing up to par - Replaced TV remote, but did not actually work, fridge was replaced after 5 days even though there was a daily request put in. Eventually received coffee maker, but no coffee or cream, but lots of damm sugar!!!!

- Buffett at lower end of resort closed couple of days after arrival, except for breakfast and that wasn't anything to "write home about". Bacon was obviously deep-fried and in old lard or something akin to that.

- Number of bars were closed throughout the whole resort.

- Choice of drinks very limited and ran out of many liquors/mixes for the whole week we stayed.

- Trolleys were not always running, even though it was stated on many signs throughout the resort - 24 hour service for trolleys.

- The resort was opened to native Dominicans during weekend (Saturday to Monday) for $80. Very inexpensive for them as compared to cost for regular tourists - the influx of these people put a great strain on service, especially at the one and only buffett/bars that remained open. At that time, service went down hill drastically, less variety and food was "the pits". The natives, at most times, were rude and pushy and not willing to line up for service. Staff appeared more interested in tending to their own people.

- Service was awful at beach bar - we were completely ignored at times.

- We booked this resort and were not aware it was closing - booked online through Sunwing website and nowhere did it say/state that this resort was closing - had we known this, we would've booked at another resort.

Room Number:
3378 & 3380

Arrival:
Monday, April 22/13 to April 29/13 on Sunwing Flight #454 out of St. John's, NL

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"See you next year"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Feb 5, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
304 people found this review helpful

Very cool place. Sun Wing just bought the place & its going to be even better next year. No major complaints.

Room Number:
5119

Arrival:
We aravied Jan 22 2013. 7:00pm. Check in was pretty quick, and sparkling wine while you waited.

Rooms:
Were clean. pop and water in mini bar. Think they ration on T. P. & coffee supplies. Maids really like the chocolate we brought for tips.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets were o.k. Liked the one buy the main lobby better. A la cartes are good. All bars are good. Try the mama Juana.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lots of clean pools. Best beach front in Punt a Cana. Nice. Lots to look at this huge resort.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of stuff to keep busy. Cool excursions.
.

Other Comments:
Big thanks to Luis, Luis, Carlos, and expesially to jose.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to be, I would go back"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  eddy  on Jan 11, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Party | Family and Kids
328 people found this review helpful

There is a lot to say about this resort good and bad,knowing that sung wing will take over and turn the place even a better place from 4* to i would definitely go back.we had the greatest time of our life's with our kids 14 and 11 of age,the food was very good the beach was wowwwwww the staff was amazing very clean rooms and pools,safe to leave the kids around,can't complied,i had a great service,always had some to do,the night shows was the best!!! i would recommend this places for all ages,u can eat and swim every day in different restaurants and pools,the only concern we had was the room,i had the superior room but i wanted the best and so i did!!! I can say it needs some renovations around but this will be done soon,we were told that they are closing for 6 months starting in April and opening in December and the name will be 5* pus,i would love to see once they do the grand opening........hope my review helps,if u are a picky person and want the best u should go to a 5 plus resort but this resort $$$ was great for what i had,I'm very happy i had done this trip and choose this resort,grand parasise bavaro,punta cana is a place to be :):):)

Room Number:
9304

Arrival:
jan,3rd,2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time!"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anita  on Oct 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
383 people found this review helpful

The hotel service was not great due to them not supplying wash clothes without asking but the employees were extremely friendly and made you feel welcome. One employee in particular is Carlos Gomez. He was friendly, funny, helpful and fun to be around. He would be one of the main reasons i would return to that resort!

Room Number:
2105

Arrival:
Driver and representative were great. The drive was safe and the representative was a good tour guide with pointing out places we passed.

Rooms:
The rooms were okay.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful. The pools could have been cleaner but plenty of them to accommodate everyone.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were fun and enough to keep you busy throughout the day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Entertainment"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Oct 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
370 people found this review helpful

My review is on Entertainment. I'd like to give Kudos to Carlos Gomez for his skill of Entertainment. Carlos has alot of talent. Carlos befriended us our entire trip. I would Love to come back to this resort because of his friendliness. His interaction with us overlooked some of the negative things that we experienced.

Room Number:
1233

Arrival:
October 12, 2012

Other Comments:
I would like to return to this resort renovations are done. We had an okay experience but I would be willing to give this resort another visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Entertainment in the Theater."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Autumn  on Apr 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
608 people found this review helpful

I thought that the level of performance professionalism far surpassed the quality of the resort in General. I was very enterained.. The Dance troupe that are employed there are top notch. I was massively impressed with the talent and perfection of the acts they performed. One male Dancer just stood out to me so much due to his smaller stature, because despite this, he held his own so much so that his presence and excellence dominated the stage for me at least! I was in awe of the Young Man's skill and dedication to excellence. Bravo! His Name tag said his name was Eliezer.. He had braces and was a very gracious and respectful man when I spoke to him and gave him a small cash tip. (I only wish it could have been more). My memories of his performances will be the ones I remember and cherish as some of my favorites memories of the whole trip.

Room Number:
4209

Room Block:
building 2

Arrival:
Our arrival was confusing...

Rooms:
The rooms were ok.. very adequate.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants were good... the food was good.. varied.. interesting. But I missed my regular fair..

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They were well maintained... secure. I felt safe.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I thought that the level of performance professionalism far surpassed the quality of the resort in General. I was very enterained.. The Dance troupe that are employed there are top notch. I was massively impressed with the talent and perfection of the acts they performed. One male Dancer just stood out to me so much due to his smaller stature, because despite this, he held his own so much so that his presence and excellence dominated the stage for me at least! I was in awe of the Young Man's skill and dedication to excellence. Bravo! His Name tag said his name was Eliezer.. He had braces and was a very gracious and respectful man when I spoke to him and gave him a small cash tip. (I only wish it could have been more). My memories of his performances will be the ones I remember and cherish as some of my favorites memories of the whole trip.

Other Comments:
I wasn't prepared for having to spend so much money to do excursions away from the resort... and I think 2 weeks was long enough to be stuck there. But that's just my opinion.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not 4 star"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  ronald  on Mar 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
588 people found this review helpful

Well we had a wonderfull time at the grand paradise bavaro,..only 2 things we didn`t like first there was these people working for the resort trying to get you to go in a meeting to sell you a timeshare,..we`ve been hassled before but never like this...then there was the food it was good but they didn`t have any Bacon for breakfast the whole 2 weeks we were there,..and the food was the same everyday for 2 weeks,..beside that it was awesome,..if I would go again hummmm not sure because I love my Bacon in the morning lol,..as for the people bugging me I know how to tell them to go away lol

Room Number:
can`t remember

Room Block:
?

Arrival:
we arrived early so we had to wait for our room,..but after that we were well served by the staff

Rooms:
the rooms were clean ,..the maid always served us great,.we had a great view and everything worked well,..just a few times we heard some noise in the hallway early in the morning,..but thats because they had a 24 hour bar on the resort and lots of younger people were there that week,...

Restaurants and Bars:
bars were awesome we were well served and the staff were nice to us all 2 weeks we were there,....restaurants were good but they had no Bacon for the 2 weeks we were there,..and the food was the same for 2 weeks we were there as well

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach/pools/Grounds were clean and all was great

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of activities on the resort,....if you like to do lots of sports and exercise,..they had arobic clases in the morning,...volleyball,...pool games for everyone,..etc...

Other Comments:
the only other comment was those people working for the resort bugging you to go to that timeshare meeting ,..that shouln`t be allowed at all we pay to go on a vacation to relax leave us alone,...no means no

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sickly, so many people were sick from this place."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  robert  on Feb 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
675 people found this review helpful

Very disappointed, it was suppose to be a 4 star but clearly it was a 2-3 star.
No body spoke English so therefore they just turned and walked away from you.
If you didn't flash money at the Bars, you waited a long time to be served. The room service was only half done unless you left cash. The food was bland, no orange juice in the morning. I personally got very sick the last night there and on the plane home. We had several people sick on our flight from the same resort. I missed the next week of work and now am on anti-biotics from this place. Dirty or no cutlery when we were sent to our table, then we would go for our meals and come back and someone else was at our table.
We were told to reserve for the special dinner's at night but were always booked so couldn't get in, but if you went to the restaurant in the evening and slipped the hostess a fews bucks, they found a table for you.
So much for an all-inclusive.
I've been to Mexico 4 times and never come across thing as bad as this, even at 2 or 3 star resorts.

Room Number:
9114

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
When we got close to the Airport, we had to circle for 45 minutes as the airport was too busy. Then when we landed it was wall to wall people trying to get through. No direction as to where your Bus was to catch to the resort.

Rooms:
I was told by other guest that teir rooms were terrible. Our's wasn't too bad. We did request, ocean veiw & king size bed, didn't happen, no explanation.
Only one key card per room which is redictulous, if your there with a friend and one person stays in the room for whatever, the other person can't get back in the room without disturbing the other person. Their excuse was they didn't want the air-conditioning on all day, well how are you supose to keep the room cool so you can sleep at night? (the key cards activate the air-conditioning & lights)

Restaurants and Bars:
Not very good service unless you showed cash.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not too bad.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
???

Other Comments:
Public washrooms were dicusting, full of crap, wouldn't flush, same as urnels.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware of this Resort !!!"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nick  on Feb 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
650 people found this review helpful

Normally, I let my wife write the reviews, but I feel it is extremely important to warn folks as this place is not safe for any human being due to contamination, infestations, and horrific building codes and potentially for loss of life.

I will skip the all the warnings about the food and restaurants, as most people are aware of what to eat and what not to eat. The only thing I would be extremely concerned about is what you are eating off of. On many occasions, I found cutlery, dishes, cups etc completely filthy and were not clean at all. In fact, I watched with my own eyes at a bar on the beach the way the cups are collected and subsequently cleaned, and they are not sanitized properly. They are merely rinsed in a bucket and given back for other customers.

The bathrooms are deplorable throughout the hotel, with toilets overflowing constantly full of feces and urine. There are no towels or soap or disinfectants in the bathrooms whatsoever, which is a huge breeding ground for e-coli and other diseases. I refused to use the washrooms in this hotel as they were never clean.

As for the pools, there was a constant scum on the surface, full of debris, and one day, I watched a family of ducks swim all over the pool, which would suggest that there is not enough chlorine in the pool to ward them off....In addition, the pool is full of sand and light fixtures are hanging within the pool...(I have pictures if required).

As for the buildings and rooms themselves. This place reminded me of WWII barracks somewhere in Europe. The rooms were full of bugs, as we were asked on a couple of occasions to leave the room so they could fumigate, as well as there was mold growing on the ceilings. We also experienced the constant flow of water out of our ceiling as there was a leak somewhere on the floor above us. The water flowed freely in the light fixtures and around electrical outlets....As well, I found several fire extinguishers throughout the hotel that were empty and expired. There was wires sticking out of the ground with no protection from water and the light fixtures were merely wired together with tape.

The grounds are full of debris and garbage and the walkways are cracked, uneven, nonpainted and make the place look horrible.

As mentioned earlier, many people from Sunquest Roulette on this trip were told it was a 4 star hotel...this is not true....this may be a 2-3 star at best and there is no way that people (approximately 80% of the plane) should be sick. I can understand diarrhea, but these people were violently ill, including myself upon return. I am now on antibiotics and have been sick for 3 days....The illnesses described are more in keeping with e-coli or food poisoning.

We are going to be contacting Sunquest and Itravel 2000 as we feel we were lead astray on the roulette and that we were falsely represented on our vacation. We will keep you informed of any prog

Room Number:
5214

Room Block:
5

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Avoid unless you want to be sick"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  susan  on Feb 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
702 people found this review helpful

Stayed Feb 6-13, 2012. Of 6 of us, 4 were sick with diaherra and throwing up and were in bed for 24 hrs. The food at the buffet was the same every day. Since returning, 2 people had to get medical treatment - 1 is on antibiotics for ecoli infection and the other is on IV in hospital for chronic diaherra. Can only assume it was the food. Beach was wonderful, rooms were ok. 4th trip to DR but not best visit. Avoid this resort unless you want to waste a day in bed. Will never go back and would not recommend.

Arrival:
In pouring rain after midnight. Check in was fast but could only provide 1 key to room and had to go back next day for safe key, cost $20.

Rooms:
Not bad, seemed pretty clean. Never any hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
avoid buffet restaurant. Same food every day. No variety. Omelets were good. Never any bacon or orange juice. Steak a la carte was delicious.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was amazing but get your lounge chair early or you will do without.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube