Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

3.9 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.7 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2017

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts  

PLaya Arena Gorda, Bavaro. Punta Cana

"Terrible, fu##kin, terrible!!!!!"
Posted by: Bev on May 3, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Pictures and Information
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#2
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.1

Based on 69 reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Information


The all inclusive Grand Paradise Bavaro four-stars Resort, located in Bavaro Beach Punta Cana has an unique white sands and crystal clear waters of its beach, tall coconut trees and colorful landscapes, all make this resort a real jewel of the Caribbean.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.1 of 5 69 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  26
Average
  14
Poor
  13
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Leisure (47)
Party (2)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
With friend (6)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
1 - 10 of 69

"Highly recommended"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Amanda from Montreal, Quebec, Canada  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
531 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
While waiting in line to check in, a friendly staff member handed out drinks (fruit punch). Staff at desk was very friendly. We paid the $20 for the safe, which was well worth it.

Rooms:
Our rooms had 2 double beds, a small TV (with some decent channels), a small fridge stocked with soda (Coke and Sprite) and water. We left a $3 tip every day (we were three in the room), and always had fresh flowers around the sink, and throughout the room. The only complaint - no clock!

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was great, every night was a different theme (French, Caribbean, Mexican, International, etc.) but there were "staples" (ie: rice, potatoes, pasta, etc.) for those that were not feeling adventurous. The service was top notch, we never needed to ask for anything. Very friendly staff.

The bars were good, quick service, and friendly staff. For the discotheque, do not go right after the show ends - there was no one there for almost an hour!! Go closer to midnight or 12:30.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful! In order to get one of those chairs (and under an umbrella), I recommend going down early and leaving your towels on the chair. Don't worry, no one will take them - we left them all day, going into the water, going for a walk, or going to eat, and they were never touched. There is a "towel hut" on the beach, easy to find.

The pools were wonderful, but a little disappointed that there wasn't a swim-up bar. Did not try the jacuzzi.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not go on any tours, but we participated in some of the activities they "recruited" us for on the beach. They were fun, and only took 15-30 minutes each. Was also fun to have the animals on the beach to take pictures with - parrots, boa, iguana, monkey. Your photo is taken professionally, so if you want a souvenir, you have to pay ($15 US per print, or different priced photo CDs).

Other Comments:
I thought this was a great hotel, I would definitely stay here again! Never had any problems with the staff, enjoyed the food, and had a lot of fun!

Bring some extra cash for tips, souvenirs, the casino, internet and the vendors that set up twice a week. You can bargain with them, because they try charging an arm and a leg!

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Arlene  on Jan 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
762 people found this review helpful

We were at this resort in April 2009 and again in March 2010.We are going to the same resort this year.We both absolutely love everything about this place.We stayed in the club section both times,furthest away from the beach.We enjoy the pools more than the ocean.

Restaurants and Bars:
The steakhouse is our favorite restaurant.Thats the grill down near the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very clean,lots of beach chairs.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Thank you Grand Paradise Bavaro"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bruce from Oakville  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
512 people found this review helpful

This was the first time that my wife and I have visited the Dominican Republic. We have been to a wide variety of all inclusive resorts in Cuba, on both the East and West coasts of Mexico, Antigua and Granada. Before booking our trip to the Dominican Republic, we read many reviews and talked to several travel agents. We wanted to be at a nice beach resort over Christmas.
I have written reviews for most of the resorts we have stayed at and try to portray a realistic picture of the resort being visited. Before writing this review, I would like to mention how accurately the resort was presented in a review dated Nov. 23/09 by a couple from Barrie, ON. It's this type of review that makes travelling much more enjoyable as you know what’s in store for you when you arrive.

ARRIVAL and CHECK IN:
We travelled with Air Transat out of Toronto. By doing so in our packaged deal they paid both the entry and departure taxes, as well as giving us 3 a la carte meal vouchers. Another travel group with Nolitours had the taxes paid, but only got 2 a la carte vouchers for the resort.
Be sure when you book your trip, you know which airport you are landing at. Initially we were flying into La Romana airport which would have meant a 1.5 hour bus ride to the resort. We changed trips and booked a flight flying into Punta Cana (Higuey) and saved over an hour on the bus and the overall package was cheaper.
There was a half hour delay at the airport getting people into their correct buses and then a 20 minute ride to the resort.
The front desk at the Grand Paradise is very slow and receptionists lose their focus very easily. At the same time, travelers tend to be tired and quite irritable. This was, for us, the most stressful experience of the trip. We paid the extra $20 for a room safe, largely due to what we had read in other reviews.

ROOMS:
Security was an issue, as both of our patio doors in our room couldn't be locked . We were on the second floor but this wouldn't have stopped anyone from getting into our room. Don't even think about changing rooms over the busiest 2 weeks of the year. We talked to the travel rep and the front desk about the problem, but we knew nothing could or would be done to remedy the situation.
The rooms were quite spacious and clean. Maid service was great. Electricity is both 120V and 220V so converters weren't necessary. One comment that I should make is that ear plugs are recommended if you are a light sleeper. This is not to say that the room or the surrounding areas are noisy. It all depends on where you end up on the resort. The only problem we noticed with our room was that out TV remote didn't work, even though we never watched it while our room.
I would suggest that if you are a beach person, book your room in the beach section and not in the middle select section or in the farthest from the beach section called the club section. The discos and casinos are in these two areas away from the beach. We stayed in the #2 building next to La Cana Bar and Grill (on the beach) which was an ideal location.

RESTAURANTS and BARS:
The Laguna buffet was great. Service, food selection and quality were all very good. Meals included roast turkey on Christmas Eve along with evening presentations of roast beef, leg of lamb, rabbit, goat, and a variety of chicken and seafood dishes. Fresh fruit was scarce at times, but once the post Xmas crowds arrived, service and fresh produce seemed to be much more available. Freshly squeezed fruit juices seemed to suddenly appear. We never lacked for anything to eat.
We took in 3 a la carte restaurants, Michaelangelo's (Italian), Manglor (International) and the Taino (Dominican). All were excellent. Each course was presented beautifully and in a timely fashion. It was cooked to our specifications and tasted great. If given the opportunity, you must try these a la cartes to experience foods not found at the buffets. The only a la carte restaurant in the beach section that had a surcharge was the Asian restaurant right beside the Laguna buffet. On the best night there may have been 4 or 5 couples willing to pay the $15 per person surcharge. I really do think that the sole function of this fee is to reduce the number of patrons using this restaurant.
Be prepared to drink a lot of rum fruit drinks at the beach bar. Presidente beer is not too bad, daiquiris are OK, but that's where it ends. Margueritas were different every time you ordered one. You had to specify rum if you wanted it in your drink and amounts of alcohol seemed to vary drastically for each drink poured. Most people didn't care. Beer is beer and any drink with rum and a lot of colored fruit juice hits the spot when you're lying on a sun drenched beach.

BEACH, POOL AND GROUNDS:
All were very well maintained. The grounds were manicured but some wear and tear is evident on the walkways and buildings. It truly is a beautiful beach resort minus the grandeur of a Riu Palace or a Bahia Principe.
There were sections of Bavaro Beach around the resort that had small bits of seaweed floating in as they were scraped off the bottom by the continuous wave action. Most were quickly raked up and removed.
Swimming areas were clearly marked and roped off all along Bavaro Beach, not just in front of the Grand Paradise resort. People swimming outside these zones were taking their life into their own hands as water taxis and other motorized watercraft were constantly running by. Outside these marked areas, swimming was perilous right off the beach due to rip currents, sloping beaches with little shallow safe areas and rogue waves. My wife lost her prescription sunglasses and her camera when hit by one wave while wading waist deep in the shallow surf. The wave was several feet over her head when it struck her. Another person injured her leg when struck by a large wave at a neighboring resort. On the other side of the coin, most people loved playing in the waves inside the swimming areas. Boogie boards were quite popular as many kids and adults rode the waves up onto the beach. Snorkeling was impossible due to water turbulence and weed debris within the designated are as.
The beach is relatively narrow and on good days the sun worshippers clog the beach with hundreds of lounge chairs. You haven't lived until you've seen the lounge chair cities in front of some of the larger resorts (Riu Palace) .
If you are a pool person, then none of the above is important to you. The pools were great. There were all kinds of organized activities and sports that you could take part in: badminton, volleyball, bocia ball, shuffleboard, yoga and pool aerobics, just to mention a few.

ACTIVITIES and EXCURSIONS:
We did not do any off-site land excursions. We did however try parasailing and went on a 4 hour fishing trip organized by the Watersports team at the resort. Avoid signing up for any excursions offered by locals on the beach as there are many stories of people losing their money. Commissioned vendors, carrying binders with Watersports Activities written on it, are working on behalf of the resort. This is the safest way to go or book directly at the Watersports booth.
Parasailing was amazing. Ten minute ride for $50 per person or $85 for 2 people. We actually saw a grandfather take his two young granddaughters for a ride all at the same time. I am afraid of heights, but my wife talked me into it. Initially, I thought she was going after my life insurance, but really, I did enjoy the ride. The ocean was a little rough for our 4 hour fishing trip and yes a few people did feel a little sick but we had a lot of fun. We caught 8 Mahi Mahi and 2 Barracuda. There were 8 of us on the boat but only 5 were fishing. The cost was $95 per person to fish or $50 per person just to go for the ride and with the waves it truly was a thrill seekers delight to get on the other side of the offshore reef.
On a nice day, you can walk 3 to 4 miles along the beach to the beach flea market. An extra half mile gets you to the little village where the fishing boats are anchored. Here you will find a variety of shops and beachfront restaurants serving fresh fish, jumbo shrimps and a variety of Dominican specialties. It's a great spot to spend an afternoon. You can arrange to have a watertaxi take you back to the resort for $10-$15 if you don't want to walk back.
Personally, I would stay away from the flea market by the front gate of the hotel. The vendors aggressiveness is relentless. It is definitely, not worth the trinkets that they are trying to sell to you. You will have a much better selection at the resort. For several evenings, vendors will be showing their wares just outside the lobby area. This will include such things as cigars, rum, local herbal remedies, artworks and jewelry.

COMMENTS:
Sure, some people got sick (diarrhea). A few got hurt by the waves. There were some incidences of theft (3 rooms cleaned out at the Barcelo Premium next door). It is no different than we have experienced at any of the other resorts we have stayed at.
Just be careful, be cautious and be prepared for anything that might happen during your stay.
Overall this was an excellent trip, good value, good service and we came home fully relaxed and with a great tan. Thank you Grand Paradise Bavaro.
Bruce Berry (bruberry52@yahoo.com)
Oakville, ON

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is one of the best resorts I have stayed"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Meredith from Oakville  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
548 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 29 to April 5
We booked with itravel 2000...Sunwing was the carrier. No issues...first flight out of Toronto on the Sunday, landed in Punta Cana at 10:30am. No line ups at customs, baggage was ready to go and no issues finding Sunwing Rep. and bus. Check in was no issue at the resort. We had to wait for our room as we were upgraded from the Club section to the Beach section.

Rooms
The Beach section needs some renovations, but we were only in the room to sleep. Our maid Isabelle was fantastic. New towels everyday and face clothes. No issues with water pressure...hot water was hit and miss...although, it wasn't a problem if you were showering during non peak hours.

Restaurants and Bars
Buffet breakfast as great...lots of selection. Staff was wonderful. Beach buffet for lunch was good...really busy, but again not a problem if you go during non peak hours. Only ate at the a la carte restaurants...the Dominican and Asian were our favourites. Food and service both outstanding. Seafood restaurant was nice as they have a patio overlooking the beach...very romantic. The steak house was good. The Italian restaurant was okay...very busy...food was okay and service wasn't the greatest. We had no issues with any of the food all week. Have travelled alot and would rate the food at this resort as one of the best. Service was great at the beach bar. We really enjoyed Bar Co in the evening...the live entertainment is great!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is beautiful...pool at the beach is great...grounds lovely. We spent most of our time around the pool at the beach. Didn't have any issue getting a spot with an umbrella everyday.

Other Comments
Overall, this is one of the best resorts I have stayed at for the food and service. Ruth in guest services was amazing! This is probably one of the smaller resorts I have stayed at in Punta Cana and definately one the best! Will absolutely return!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Definately would recommend this resort"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rosemary and Paul from Ottawa, ON  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
512 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 3 to 10
We booked a wild card through Go Travel Direct and only found out where we were staying upon arrival. The Go Travel Rep was at her booth and told us which bus board. This was a bit confusing as the bus was parked further into the parking lot than we thought (it was also night time by the time we arrived and could not see the buses). It seemed like just about everyone on our flight was heading to the same hotel. So there were about 110 people all checking in at the same time. The check in process was just lining up in one of the lobbies of the hotel and being given our braclets and room/towel keys. There we so many people that you couldn't really ask for much information so we decided to just head to our room, grab something to eat before the buffet closed and sort the rest out in the morning.

Rooms
We stayed in bulding 6, in the Club secton on the 3rd floor furthest from the beach. The resort is large and is divided into 3 sections. There are no elevators in the buildings so if you have mobility concerns you might want to get a 1st floor room. The Beach, the Select (in the middle) and the Club). There is a trolley that runs from one end of the resort to the other about every 10-15 minutes. We walked most of the time. The Club section happens to be very French (mainly from France). The French have their own animation staff and small theater. So they must have some deal with French travel agencies. This didn't bother us at all as we both speak French and English. The room was fine and kept very clean. No issues - basic but comfortable. King bed, two chairs, TV, desk, small table, bar fridge (which was stocked with a big jug of water, 2 cokes and 2 sprite). We just used the empty pop bottles to tranport our water/juice rather than the big jug of water. The bathroom was fine - shower worked well, no problems with hot water or pressure. It was only stocked with shampoo, conditioner and soap. If you're expecting lotions bring your own (I travel with all my personal care items so this wasn't an issue) If you like using face cloths, bring your own as they don't provide any. We were two in the room and had two bath towels, hand towel and bath mat. The hair dryer worked but it wouldn't stay on - nothing that a emery board (nail file)pushed on the side of the "on" button couldn't fix. There was an adjoining room with a somewhat less than secure lock but never had any problems. There is no chain or dead bolt on the room door but again it was secure enough and had no problems. We had a balcony with two plastic chairs and small table. It was fine but we only used them to hang wet swim suits/towels on them. A lock/key for the room safe is available for $20US. It's worth it. We always left tips for the maid.

Restaurants and Bars:
We had dinner at three a la cartes (Italian, International and the Cana with is the restaurant by the beach). There are three others (the Asian which you needed to pay $10US per person to eat there, the seafood and Dominican). All meals were fine. Service at the a la cartes was good. We prefered the Italian. You need to make your reservations for the week at one time or you might not get the one and the time you want. When we made ours my boyfriend just happened to mention to the women taking the bookings that it was nice to be able to eat at an a la carte for his birthday. We didn't make anything more of it. We were both surprised that at dessert time, the servers came out and sang happy birthday to him in spanish and put a candle on his cake. The staff individually gave him his best wishes. We guessed that the women taking the bookings must have made note of his comment. It was a nice touch. There are 3 buffets, one at the Club section which we found to be the best for breakfast and dinner. Lots of choices for food and it's airy and not crowded (we got hooked on crepes with whipped cream and fruit) and if you see the white chocolate covered mini cream puffs - they are awesome. The main buffet is crowded and not as opened so it was stuffy. As it's smaller, the food choices are similar but not as varied. The Cana buffet by the beach was excellent for lunch. The burgers were great - they were not processed patties but the real thing. They had salad, pizza, fries, usually a pasta dish, chicken and another dish that changes every day. The service at all buffets was not very good. You often had to go and get your own drinks and they were very quick to take your plates away. So hang on to your cutlery if you want seconds (once gone it was hard to get another set. Service at bars was ok - there are lots of them. There is a "boat bar" where only the beer, rum and cokes and soft drinks are free. Everything else you pay for. We never had a drink there. They play live music there as well. The beach bar was very busy as was the one at the buffet by the beach and usually they didn't have enough staff on hand. Many tourists don't know how to wait their turns. Bring a thermal mug. The glasses they provide are small. They don't mind filling your big mugs up. We left tips at the a la cartes and sometimes at the bars and buffets depending on service. We didn't get sick at all. We just ate too much.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was amazing. Fine white sand - it was hard to fine any kind of shells. The beach is very long and wide. The water is crystal clear. You can snorkel around the rope area and see lots of fish. There are also rock or coral areas closer in and also with lots of fish. If you throw bread in the water (just off the beach at about waist deep) usually in the early after noon, you'll see needle fish and something like a white angel fish having a feeding frenzy. You might also see small barracuda but they are qiuck. One problem. Finding a chair in the shade. There isn't a lot of shade so it's at a premium. It was very hot when we went and you needed to be in the shade just about all day. You need to stake your spot in the shade by 7am or you won't find any. It's the same at the pools (which there were three; one for each section). They could use more umbrellas and beds at the pools. We didn't use the pools much. We spend most of the time at the beach. The ground were nice - kept clean and tidy. We probably saw 2 or 3 bugs while we were there. One night we saw the grounds of the hotel next door being fogged. There are lots of fish in the ponds around the grounds and a few cranes and ducks, drangon flies, frogs etc. All good to help keep the mosqitoes away. It took us a while to figure out where to get beach towels but there's a hut right on the beach and they have lots.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't particapte in any of the activities by the pools or the beach. Did't take in the shows. Didn't do any of the tours. We just relaxed. There are internet machines in two locations - one in the sports bar underneath the main lobby and another set in a bulding where the shops are behind the "boat bar". It's $5US per half hour. It was confusing where to get tickets but we found them and use the terminals for emails rather than calling home.

Other Comments:
Definately would recommend this resort. It was good value for the price we paid. It's a little tired in some spots but clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would definitely go here again and would recommend it to people"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Wanda & Leroy from Nova Scotia, Canada  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
641 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 29-April 4, 2008
As this was our first trip anywhere, we were anxious and excited. Our flight with Transat was delayed 3 hours due to the snow and ice. Arrival at the Punta Cana airport was at about 1pm. We left from home in 0 celcius and arrived at 31 celcius. The trip to the resort took about 45 minutes in an airconditioned mini bus/van. Arrival at the main desk at resort was kind of slow however. Our room was not yet ready so we had to wait. We took a little stroll around the area to "check things out". We got into our room at about 3:30pm.

Rooms:
We stayed in the Sunquest Select section in building #9 with a view of the tennis courts and gardens. Could have been a better view but hey, I live in the country and I had palm trees outside my room - I was happy! The room was clean, no bugs to be seen. ( I think out of the whole week we only saw one bug near our room. Something like a cockraoch.) We had two double beds instead of the King we requested but it was no big deal. Nice flat screen tv in the room but some channels had poor reception - we weren't there to watch tv anyway. We seemed to have been missing either a cieling fan or overhead light as there was an unfinished fixture. The A/C worked fine but you need the room key to keep the electricity on in the room. We got a lock for the safe which was about $20. USE IT it's worth it! If you tipped the maid, she put fresh flowers and tidied up the room. Amazing what difference a dollar or two can make. For God's sake don't drink the small bottled water in the fridge, it will cost you about $8. We didn't have any gallon water in the fridge on the first day as was stated on the reservation. Other than that the room was great and we left a thank you note for our maid Uarize with some leftover stuff we had.

Restaurants and Bars:
We mostly ate at the buffett restaurants which were great. We did have bacon every morning but believe me, it wan't Maple Leaf! The meat wasn't the best but we did eat a lot of pasta. I ate a ton of watermelon. Someone commented on the poor quality of the fruit, but I LOVED it! A couple of days into our stay we found La Cana Beach Grill. WOW!!! It was the BEST! Great chicken, fresh fruit and we found fries! PS: Don't eat the burgers - not good. We ate at the Chinese restaurant for our A La Carte which was good and also La Cana (but I didn't enjoy the steak). The best food of all was at the restaurant during our Monster Truck Tour - best steak that tasted like cow!

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The pools were fabulous! Very clean and not overly crowded. Mind you, you had to get there early to have a chair with shade. The beach was about a 10 minute walk from our room or a quick ride on the shuttle. It was quite windy the whole week so we didn't get to enjoy the beach other than a couple of walks. There is a shipwreck down the beach if you want to walk down. The grounds were very nice and well kept. There is always someone cleaning up.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a couple of tours off the resort. We went to an Animal Park which at the moment can't remember the name of. It was fun and about $80 for both of us. We saw lots of animals including a sea lion show and a parrot show and had pics taken with the animals. We also did the Monster Truck Safari tour which was AWESOME! For about $190 for both of us, it was an amazing wake up call to make us realize how much we have to be thankful for. Our tour guide Milton was super. He spoke perfect english and we learned a lot. It was a whole day excursion which included a all you drink beer and rum and coke (Joel, you ROCK!), lunch buffet, shopping, and a visit with local farmers, an elementary school, and sugar cane fields. We even got to see the witch doctor. Lots of Haitian refugees there which was kind of heartbreaking to see. They ask you for everything - jewelry, hats, glasses, etc. We didn't do much on the resort itself. We took in one nightly show whick was ok - kind of like high school kareoke. On the Friday night before we left there were locals singing, dancing and playing music at the buffet. The bartender was pouring 151 proof rum on bar top and lighting it on fire. Totally Cool!

Other Comments:
Overall, we had a great week there. We went there knowing we were going to a poor country and didn't expect VIP class service. The food was great, my husband loved the coffee, and the whiskey. The bartender (Abraham) at the swimi up bar was hilarious. PUNTA CANADA!!! Lots of scary drivers in the DR though. We saw some poor guys run off the road and hit into the barbed wire fences. Scary! There is a market right outside the Resort and there are tables set up almost every night right on the restort grounds. Haggle for prices, but remember that this is how these people make a living so be fair. We bought mostly towels and clothing as souveniers and also a beautiful painting. Be warned, stay away from the people in the white t shirts that say "vacation" on them, they'll waste your time trying to sell you vacation time.

All in all, I would definitely go here again and would recommend it to people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort provided us with a fabulous vacation."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Dawn from Ontario  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
513 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Sept 29 - Oct 6 2009
Arrival was great. We flew Sunwing and would definetly fly again with them. We were the last resort to be dropped off, so with that being said...our drive to the resort was over an hour. Check in was fast. We landed at 8:30pm and were in our rooms around 1030pm. Note to late check-ins....the Beach Bar has a restaurant that serves food starting at 11pm. At the end of the 2nd Block. ...we had to call for maintence to come to deal with our smoke detector at 2am as the battery was dying and they were there at our door within 5minutes of the call. We did have no power one night for about 6 hours due to a storm. But really did we care? We were all sleeping.

Rooms:
Our rooom was great. No complaints. We requested a King and that is what we got. It was a Big room, the biggest we have stayed in. The bathroom was in great shape...and always had hot water. The water pressure was good too. We never had to complain about the lack of things in our room. The A/C worked well...(note...get a second card for you room and leave in the electricity control box..) Some people have said just use your airmiles card. We had clean towels daily...they would leave us 4 bath towels and 2 hand towels and then the 2 on the bed for the Swans..We had a coffee maker, to which the maid left us 3-4 packs of coffee a day. More then enough. The fridge was stocked daily with the jug of water and 2 Coke and 2 Sprite. And honestly the room was Clean. Absolutley NO complaints on that. Just remember to have the card for the electricity box...

Restaurants and Bars:
Because we were off season, the swim up bar was closed. The pool was running and was perfect to be in as most times you would be the only ones there. Just remember bring drinks. The bar there will reopen starting November 15. The buffet had a wide selection of food. Even the picky eaters will find something. We did have some upset belly days, but I honestly think it was from the Sun. The main bar we were at was the Beach Bar. They were amazing to us. All our drinks were made fresh and even with fresh fruit. They would even know when we would be coming or if they saw us coming they would chill our glasses for us. We did the Seafood Restaurant and the Asian. Both were good. The Asian you pay 10.00 us and well worth the money. It was alot of fun...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very pleased with the value we received for the money."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Beverly and Hanson from Vermilion, Ohio  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2009
632 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan. 9-Jan.16 2009
We arrived in the resort at 11:30 am so we were unable to get into our room until after 3pm. We had brought swim suits in our carry on,so it was not a problem to change and have a nice lunch. We were met at the reception desk with a cold drink, nice touch. The lobby was open, airy with fresh flowers.

Rooms:
We had requested a king size bed and of course we got a room with double beds. We had specifically requested the king bed but Apple had not put this request to the resort. We went back to the front desk to request a change of room but we were told absolutely nothing else was availabe, we even requested to pay for an upgrade. The next morning we spoke with Ruth in customer service and we were given a new room immediately. The room was very clean and spacious. It was in building 3 looking across at another building. It was quiet and we were pleased with the accomodations. The maid always cleaned the room early and left fresh flowers. There was always plenty of water and pop in the mini frig. They work very hard and a two or three dollar tip per night is appreciated. We stayed in the old section we were close to the beach pools and the restaurants. I did not think I liked the new section as well, you had to take a tram to the beach and to most of the restaurants.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffets were always busy but the service was good. The staff always were smiling and tried to give the best service they could. The food was a little different for an American's palet. There are many Europeans in the resort so the food is not always familiar. Live a little and experiment, after all that's what vacations are all about. I frequently saw the managers checking food temperature and the appearance of food on the buffet. I had read many of the reviews that discussed the poor quality of the food, I thought the food was on a par with most all inclusives we have stayed at. The bartenders were a hard working crew, unlike many of the resorts we have stayed at in the past every guest seemed to be treated well. The drinks were like most in other resorts, not made with top shelf liquor but they tasted good, I especially liked the tequila sunrise. We ate at the steak house , I had the filet and my husband had the chicken fajita, the food was very good and you were eating right on the beach. We also ate in the French restaurant, we did not care for this, enjoyed the Italian restaurant more.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The beach was wonderful. It was probably one of the nicest we have been to. It was pretty crowded, you needed to get there early if you wanted a place with shade. The surf was a true caribbean blue with clear water and sandy beach. There did not seem to be any rocks in the swim area. There were four pools, the pools by the beach were usually busy with most chairs taken by mid morning, there were two pools over in the new section one with a swim up bar. We could find chairs over there later in the day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My husband and I did not choose to go on any tours. They are usually an all day affair, leaving at 6am and returning late in the day. People who went on the tours did seem to enjoy them. There were plenty of activities around the pool area, we did't participate, it was just to tempting to just sit on the beach and enjoy the sunshine.

Other Comments:
This was our first trip to the Grand Paradise, I had read previous reviews and we were a little concerned about the quality of the resort. We booked a last minute Apple supersaver. I can honestly say we were very pleased with the value we received for the money. This was our fourth trip to the Dominican we have stayed at Ocean Blue, Catalonia, Sunscsape the Beach (now called Dreams) we have also stayed in all inclusive resorts in Mexico and in other Caribbean islands. We felt that the staff was very attentive to our needs, the food was good, some food we liked, some we could do without. This resort is definitley deserving of a four star, we are planning to spend two or three weeks at this resort next January. If you can, try to time your vacation so that you can enjoy the beautiful full moon, there is nothing as beautiful as a moonlight stroll.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The entire holiday was a success."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda from Toronto  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
572 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Upon our arrival at the hotel, the staff was very efficient and friendly.

Rooms
Our room was clean and very simply decorated. The toilet was leaking water on the floor and they fixed it the day that we told them about it. The linens on the beds were disgusting. Most days they were very old and were about a 12 inches to short for the length of the bed.

Restaurants and Bars
The restaurants that we went to were clean, the food was mostly very tasty. Some foods were foreign to me, so I pretty well stuck to the ones that I knew. The staff were amazing and friendly and happy to be able to help.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The grounds were well kept and clean.

Other Comments
I would go back to the Dominican Republic, Punta Cana but wanting to try a smaller hotel. Otherwise, the entire holiday was a success.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great value."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne from Ohio  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2009
617 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan. 2009
The check-in went very well and our bags were in our room in less than 10 minutes. All of the reception staff were effecient and courteous.

Rooms:
Our room was very clean and on par with a typical motel along US interstates. The mini frige was stocked with water and soft drinks each day. Do not expect luxury but it is a functional, comfortable room. The maids did an adequate job and any issues (extra towels, etc.) were quickly addressed.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were all outstanding; quick service, well mixed drinks, etc. The buffet was always good but the reservation restaurants were just okay. The best was the Michalengo. Take your own mug for beer.......the little glasses are just a start.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All were excellent. One of the best beaches in the area with plentiful seating and shady areas. You can walk the beach for a long distance. The pools were great and the grounds were well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nightly shows were okay and the dancers worked hard throughout the show. Beach and poolside activities were frequent and varied. The introductory Spanish lessons were appreciated. The disco was good most nights even for us older folks. Don't do the Santo Domingo trip.........too long a ride and you waste an entire day. The shark/sting ray snorkel trip is a must do.

Other Comments:
This location is a great value. Watch for discounts through various agencies. The flight is effecient and fairly comfortable but don't buy the boxed meal. The management staff invited us to a reception to inquire about our visit; they want you pleased enough to return. Guests are from everywhere in Europe and the many Canadian guests refered to the location as Punta Canada; is anyone left in Toronto? Security is fine; just don't be stupid leaving valuables around and going off the grounds at all hours. Rent the safe....$20 for a week. We are planning on returning next year if the price is the same.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube