Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts  

PLaya Arena Gorda, Bavaro. Punta Cana

"Terrible, fu##kin, terrible!!!!!"
Posted by: Bev on May 3, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Pictures and Information
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#2
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.1

Based on 69 reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Information


The all inclusive Grand Paradise Bavaro four-stars Resort, located in Bavaro Beach Punta Cana has an unique white sands and crystal clear waters of its beach, tall coconut trees and colorful landscapes, all make this resort a real jewel of the Caribbean.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.1 of 5 69 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  26
Average
  14
Poor
  13
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Leisure (47)
Party (2)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
With friend (6)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
11 - 20 of 69

"Great Beach - Not bad for the money-"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  M&H  on Feb 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
455 people found this review helpful

We were quite apprehensive about the Grand Paradise Bavaro after reading the reviews and having "drew" the resort in the SunQuest "roulette". Our experience is tempered by 6+ visits to various Punta Cana resorts and lots of other Caribbean destinations over the past 12 years. We have stayed in 5 star resorts as well as much lesser properties so we can judge this resort with clear eyes. Overall I was pleasantly surprised by the resort, had a positive vacation and have few real complaints.

Room Number:
5320

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
We flew SunQuest Vacations via Thomas Cook from Halifax on Feb. 6 arriving in Punta Cana in a tropical rainstorm. The aircraft was the usual "bus" in the sky but we had a reasonable chicken meal and a small complimentary glass of wine on board. The airport arrival was smooth and we were soon referred by the sunquest rep.to our bus transport. The offers from local porters to carry our bags was no worse than usual and a polite "No gracius" was all that was required.

Rooms:
We arrived with a lot of other vacationers hence check in took about 30 minutes. The desk was not organized to Delta/Fairmont standards but they got us checked in and tagged with the resort bracelet. The room safe at this resort is an extra $20 US for the week but that is not unusual at DR resorts. The bell staff had our luggage to our room quickly (it was pouring). A small tip ($2)was appreciated. The room was clean and well equipped and close enough to the beach to see it to the left off the balcony. This was in the older section of the property but the room and location was fine. I can see how some picky travelers might consider the building worn but who spends a lot of time admiring the furniture when at all inclusive resorts? The room had a new flat screen TV, two double beds and a balcony with table and chairs. As we were Sunquest Plus the room had beach towels, a complimentary bottle of rum, fridge stocked with water and soft drinks. The bathroom had the usual face clothes, bath towels, shampoo and soap.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet was OK, the food OK. If you are going for a high cuisine experience forget it and go somewhere else - but there was lots to eat, fresh fruit, tomatoes and cucumbers. Maybe after two weeks you might get a bit tired of the buffet. There were a few frustrations in the buffet: mainly slow and disorganized setting of the tables and water service. At breakfast I noticed that the bus teams were not assigned zones and hence coffee/water table service and clean-up was spotty at best. Perhaps the resort should review its training program. The staff were polite although I saw a few "guests" being rude to them. We enjoyed the beach buffet for our lunches - nothing fancy but again : OK salads, chicken, pizza, burgers etc...
We ate at two a la cartes: The Steakhouse and the Italian. The food was good and service passable. I like to have ice cream for desert - regrettably there was none available.
The bars: Lobby bar OK but slow, The Pool bar was my preference One bar tender, "Juan Carlos", knew how to make a Coco Loco and although he did not smile much his service was super.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds at the GPB were well kept and the flowers and shrubs beautiful. We toured the newer Premier section and found the train transport efficient. It appeared the rooms and pools were newer in this section but we were glad to be closer to the beach. We ate at the buffet one night and had no complaints about the food or service. If newer means something to you this might be the place to be. It seemed that most guests in this area were Francophones.
We enjoyed the SunQuest Plus reserved beach area - One did have to be up early to get a Palapa! You can't just show up at the beach a expect a chair at 10 AM. The beach at Punta Cana/Bavaro is wonderful and the ocean warm with a nice sandy bottom.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We don't stay up very late hence took in only one show and did not go to the casino. The entertainment we did see was basically a Michael Jackson show. The show could be considered a bit amateurish but it was no worse than other resort shows we have seen. We booked a free shuttle through the SunQuest rep to a local mall where cigars ,rum and other souvenirs could be purchased. The resort gift shop had most of the same items but the prices were very very high. Example: a bottle of Barcelo Imperial Rum was $48 -at the off resort mall it was $21.
The resort animation staff ran the typical beach programs, yoga volleyball etc during the day. They were not rude or intrusive.
The resort had a pool side "Dominican Party" one afternoon with dancers and special drinks - It was colorful and lots of fun.

Other Comments:
The bottom line: The resort does not deserve the poor reviews some have given it. If you want a 5 star Hilton/Sheraton/ US style experience go there if you want a basic Dominican all inclusive lay back vacation the GPB will do the job. The Grand Paradise Bavaro may need a few upgrades and benefit from some training of dining room staff but it was a good experience for us and worth the money. In short "The sun shone, there was lots of vitamin R and the beach was exceptional".

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"4th time and no complaints..."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Meredith  on Feb 5, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
415 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
8104

Room Block:
8

Arrival:
We booked with Thomas Cook/Sunquest. No issues with flight, arrival in Punta Cana or bus ride to the resort. We arrived in Punta Cana at midnight with travel time and check in we were in our room by 2am - anyone who complains about checking in after midnight should not have booked that flight. Only issue with check in was they only had one person working and there were at least 40 people checking in. People need to have patience - remember you are on holidays!

Rooms:
This was our 4th visit to this resort and our first time staying in the premier section as we had stayed at the beach the last 3 times. Rooms are rooms...they are clean and the bed is comfortable...what else do you need? When we travel we spend our days out at the pool and on the beach and only use the room for sleeping...it is not the Ritz but if that is what you expect then book somewhere else.

Restaurants and Bars:
One of the main reasons we keep going back to this resort is because of the food. Beach or Premier buffet for breakfast are equally good - lots of selection. For those Canadians they don't have bacon at breakfast regularly but again if that is a make or break for your vacation then go somewhere else. Beach buffets or Premier buffet for lunch are all good, again lots of selection. We have enjoyed all the a la carte restaurants. Our favourites are Taino (traditional Dominican), Malanger (international), Seascape because they offer outside dining and for the $10 extra per person the Japanese is something not to miss. We have never experienced any issues with the food and frankly if you do it probably has more to do with what you washed it down with! and I don't mean the water rather excessive alcohol. We did miss Barco which as the boat bar located by the casino but the lobby bar and beach bar are great. The swim up pool bar located in the Premier section is great never really busy and the staff is friendly. We didn't attempt the disco this year as in past it is full of kids and the activity co-ordinators, smells like stale beer and vomit - not our cup of tea!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
What more can you ask for...the beach is beautiful! Pools are clean.

Other Comments:
All in all another great vacation! We have always found the staff friendly and accomodating. Those who have issues with the staff may want to think about how they spoke and treated the staff. We travel alot and we keep coming back to this resort because of the staff. I am in the hospitality and I believe "you get what you give" therefore if you are rude and unfriendly expect the same in return it really doesn't matter how much you paid.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rate as a 3.5 Star"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Feb 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
394 people found this review helpful

This is our third trip to Dominican, we have been to Santa Domingo and Sousa and this resort was about pa to the other resorts. Found the resort to be too big although there is a shuttle running every 5 minutes

Room Number:
9104/9105

Room Block:
building 9

Arrival:
We stayed at this resort from Jan 21-29, 2012 arrived at 1am on Sun Jan 22. By the time we got our luggage and got to hotel it was close to 2am. Check in was a nightmare, one staff member on duty to check in approx 40 guests, this took 2hrs. Learned upon check-out the staff member that checked us in was a trainee.Kids were starving and nothing open except for sports bar which had a few sandwiches on a tray that had been sitting there for hours covered in flies.

Rooms:
Finally got to our room at about 4am. We had booked two adjoining rooms and we were shocked when we saw the room.....it was beautiful, spotless and very modern and renovated.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was ok, tables were never set and you had to continually ask for cutlery. Most "americanized' food we had ever had in Caribbean, although fruit was limited. We got to pick two a la carte and we chose italian and steak house. The italian restaurant forgot to put our order in and the steak house ran out of steak the night we were there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This resort definitely has to impose a no reserving rule on chaise lounges, unless you were up at 6am and got to pool or beach by 7am you did not get a chair. We watched many a day where reserved chairs were never occupied all day. The beach was really crowded at the resort, but if you looked either way down the beach to the other resorts they had all kinds of chairs and open space. This resort was roped off at the property edge and chaises could not be moved past these ropes. So as a result you had people sitting within 10 inches of your chair. Kind of disappointed at the beach as I had heard they were the nicest in Caribbean. We think the beaches in Cayo Cocoa Cuba are far superior.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not partake in any of the activities on the resort and only booked one trip off the resort to a cigar factory , flea market and shopping centre. This was ok. The shopping centre directly outside the north lobby of the hotel was actually a flea market where every store had the same thing and everything was "cheapie, cheapie, almost free" as the store owners told us, but good for souvenirs.Stay away from the casino, there are about 20 slot machines and a few tables. Played the slots and got 3 cherries in a row and was told it wasn't quite on the line so they weren't going to pay out!!

Other Comments:
Make sure you take sun-tan lotion as it costs $48.00 US in the gift store in the hotel. Also the female staff in the gift store were so unbearably rude. My daughter was looking at a bathing suit when we noticed a stain on it and upon further investigation realized it was a used bathing suit. In fact all the bathing suits on the rack were $50.00US and all were used!!!!! Another rack held bathing suits for $150.00 and these had the manufactures tags still on them. My daughters both had there sandals stolen at the beach and we laughed that they would be for sale in the gift shop the next day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just okay."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori Smith  on Jan 25, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
353 people found this review helpful

I usually take all reviews with a grain of salt and think how bad can it really be, but I have to say this resort was disappointing for me.

Didn't talk to anyone who was happy with the resort and loving their experience.

Room Number:
9344

Room Block:
9000

Arrival:
Bit confusing finding the correct bus and seemed to take a long time to get going.

Arrived at resort ~9 am. Check in took a very long time and of course room wasn't available until later in afternoon. Changed into swimsuits and made the best of everything, but was disappointing to not be able to get towels from the pool that first day.

Rooms:
Clean but very run down. Ceiling was leaking and plaster crumbling from it. Asked for a cot and an extra double bed was brought into the room. Toilet level was a little iffy, my 7 yr old couldn't get it to flush. A big plus was that the water pressure was good and we always had hot water for showering. Started with only 2 towels but afterwards the maid always left us plenty. Door to balcony didn't lock, so was a slight concern.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet wasn't great. Surprised to never see yogurt or icecream, and fruit was limited. Often a struggle to get a cup, bowl, or utensils. Entire family had travellers diarrhea the whole trip, so something wasn't agreeing with us.

Were able to try 3 ala cartes. Had no trouble booking and the food was good in all and a nice break. Really enjoyed our experience at the Asian.

Nothing spectacular about the bars. Usually found the one at the main pool too busy to ever get anything at. Ran out of straws for some reason at one point.

My biggest complaint about the food was the lack of a "snack bar" where something could be grabbed to eat by the pool. Didn't like having to dry off/clean up/put clothes on the kids everytime they wanted some french fries.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach & water and very nice pools. Beach was kept clean. Chairs by middle pool need to be replaced/added to as was near impossible to get a decent one there. Grounds are attractive.

Public washrooms closest to beach were kind of gross, ones at other pools were definitely better. All the bathrooms only had paper towel for about 3 days of the 2 weeks we were there.

Used the train frequently and didn't run into any problems with it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Found activities off resort rather limited for small children. We did Mega Truck tour and enjoyed it. Tried the "Manati Park" - not great, the shuttle bus holds you hostage at it and the vendors are extremely aggressive there. Walked across to the market and again found the pushiness overwhelming. Otherwise all trips involve long bus rides, boats, snorkeling, etc - not great with a 3 year old.

Didn't make use of kids club as 4 was the lower limit and didn't want to separate the kids.

Used some of the gear (boogie boards, snorkels, balls, ping pong etc.) and had no trouble ever with access.

Evening entertainment was well done.

"Ladies" in main lobby gift shop were unbelievably rude. Guys at jewellery store were awesome though.

Other Comments:
Many of the other travellers were unbelievable rude. Our first 4 nights a group of young men took it upon themselves to destroy the resort when they'd return from their boozing. We were woken up every night between 4 & 6 am to the sound of light posts being kicked over and metal banisters being torn off the cement stairwells. Doors always sounded like they were being slammed.

Usually I love a 2 week holiday, but by day 5 was wishing we had only booked one week and was wondering what on earth we were going to do and eat for 9 more days. Seemed a bit better the next week and weather was beautiful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed with the resort"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darsi  on Jan 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
375 people found this review helpful

Choose to do the roulette, so was not sure what hotel we would be staying in. We were given a room that smelled very musty. The key lock to our door did not work, had to get it fixed when we arrived. The ceiling was full of cracks, and the toilet made the loudest noise ever when it was flushed for at least 2minutes. Could only flush it in the morning, too loud to flush at night. The drinks were terrible, could not drink them. Did lots of tipping but did not get any better service, lots of bar tenders were rude and ignore you. Food was average, the beach was beautiful and kept clean. It is a big resort, had to take a train to get to main building and beach. If you stay, be sure to pay the extra and stay in the first unit, closest to the beach. Activities did not change daily, same thing each day. Would not recommend this resort at any price. Toilets on the resort were dirty, and we were never close enough to our room to use the bathroom there. The train did not come every 10 minutes, had to wait over a half hour one night.

Room Number:
7902

Room Block:
Unit 7

Arrival:
We booked with Sunquest and it was extremely confusing at the airport, lots of people trying to drive you to your hotel. Had to find the bus that we were supposed to take. People were very aggressive at the airport, make sure you remain firm and say no to any requests.

Rooms:
We made numerous requests to be moved, our neighbors above and beside us partied till all hours everynight. Called security numerous times but did not seem to stop the noise. The room had a musty smell, very strong. The toilet made the loudest noise ever when it was flushed, said it would be fixed, but never did. Even the maid cringed when it was flushed. There were no ants, or bugs in the room. The room was fumagated while we were there. There was a shortage of towels so kept the same ones for the whole week.

Restaurants and Bars:
Had to book daily for the a la cartes, was not worth the wait in line. Most times there was no room. had to pay to eat at the sushi bar. The buffet was the best place to eat.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Did not use the pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did the outback tour, would not recommend it. The tours are very expensive and if you have done one, they are pretty much all the same. Could not leave the resort, no town close by to walk to. There was an animation team at night that put on good shows. The magician was excellent. There were a few beach parties that were fun. You could walk quite a ways on the beach and it was very safe.

Other Comments:
The resort was very safe, left my personal belongings anywhere and no one touched them, could leave your beach chair for hours and come back and everything still be there. Room key, money, camera, no one bothered with your stuff. The beach is beautiful. I do not need much to make me happy, but I had so many complaints through out the week. The staff was not friendly and did not even acknowledge being tipped. The drinks were awful, and again I can pretty much drink anything, but there was just no attempt to make a nice drink. I would get a strawberry daquari, and not even bother to put the grenadine in it to make it somewhat red. I had read the reviews beforehand and they were awful. Did not believe them to be true, unfortunately got there and they were all true. Did not meet one person there that was positive about the resort. I would definitely NOT recommend this resort, even if you get it at a good price. It is not worth it. I really wanted to go home by the Wednesday of that week.Would not do the roulette again with that hotel in it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay Away..."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sonya  on Jan 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
215 people found this review helpful

I wish I had something good to say about this resort, but I do not.
My family and I stayed for 1 week and could not wait to leave.
The staff was rude and no help at all , we had to change rooms 3 times because the mattresses were infested with bed bugs. The 3rd room was okay but after 3 days a note was slipped under our door saying it had to be fumagated due to roaches!
There were never any towels avaliable, and if you were not at the beach by 6 no way will you find a seat.
The food was not good at all, my whole family had stomach problems for 2 week after we left.
I would never recomend this resort to anyone.
It was dirty and run down.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Leaves a lot to be desired"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  L.  on Dec 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
207 people found this review helpful

I was just there and I must agree with the other bad reviews, the place is a hell hole. Right when you finish the lengthy check-in, you're boarded by one of the numerous sharks that roam the complex trying to get victims for the Royal Holiday scam. Please don't make the mistake to attend to their "presentation", which is nothing but a 5 hour spiel in which they gang up against you in a highly pressurized attempt to extract thousands of dollars out of your credit card. Just search Royal Holiday scam in the internet and see it for yourself. (interesting enough, a search from the hotel will only show the Royal Holiday website) During the time I was there, the place was full of russians, a very rude, arrogant and pushy bunch that will make your stay unforgettable. They drink all day long and treat the hotel employees as if they were slaves, have a perennial dirty look, cut in front of you when making lines for food, towels, ect, ect. Except for a few employees, the service is slow, at times comes with an attitude. I sat at the Asian restaurant for 45 minutes waiting for sushi, even though there is a 10 dollars per person charge to dine there. Most of the employees are friendly, credit when due. The accounts of roaches and bed bugs are true, I had to buy pyretrins spray for our bed and my wife was attacked by a scary looking yellow/red spider in the balcony of the room, she was able to bust it off her with a towel before it was able to reach skin. I went in with a sandal and after smashing it, I was able to see fangs in it. The generic drinks give you a headache, the wine is awful, and the food made us sick, we wound up eating the same, known safe foods until we left. The rooms show wear, with cracks on the floors(my room floor was sagging at the center), unsafe electrical connections, faulty locks and substandard bathrooms. The internet at the room was the least expensive deal at 30 dollars a week, but the keyboard/mouse rig is slow and cumbersome, plus no uploading or downloading anything. You can connect to the internet with your own laptop at the lobby for 3 dollars per 15 minutes of molasses type connection, 5 dollars per hour if you wish. Be ready to pay 20 dollars for your safe box key and don't expect fresh towels every day, unless you can catch your maid. Using the watersports equipment is almost like fighting for it, you're asked for experience, and even for a maritime license!!! We did enjoy the pool, the beach and the weather and most importantly, each other's company, but we would never go back or send anyone to Grand Paradise.

Arrival:
Slow check in, meanwhile, you are watched and cataloged by the sales staff of Royal Holiday. As soon as check in is finished, you're boarded and offered "a 5 star upgrade" (for a 15000 dollar membership), or any other interesting offer to get you to sit for a 5 hour spiel. If you do sit with them, do not commit. Read the internet reviews. There is even a BBC article posted on Youtube about the Royal Holiday scam.

Rooms:
clean overall, but showing wear. Spiders, roaches and bed bugs may be found

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is tasty, but left at unsafe temperatures, it made us sick. Make sure to eat what's still fuming hot, avoid room temperature sauces, fruits and veggies. Stay away from any drink that contains coconut milk, sugar or any other spoilable ingredient, stick to bus + soda type drinks, such as vodka tonic, cuba libre, ect

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
4 stars there, clean, good looking grounds, pool and beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nightly shows can be awesome, karaoke and intl dance are not as good. The activities team works very hard, thumbs up to them.

Other Comments:
Stay clear of Royal Holiday, thumbs down to the hotel management for allowing them to operate within their premises.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The worst vacation of our lives"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Aug 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
338 people found this review helpful

The website says that this hotel is a 4 star hotel, this is a total lie ! It took more than 2 hours to check in our rooms. The rooms were dirty, the light in the shower did not work so we had to shower in the dark and there were ants in our bathroom. There is no security deposit box in your hotel room you have to buy a lock if you want to lock up your belongings. The pools were dirty and filled with dirt and leaves. The train that transfers back and forth from the two grounds of the hotel was constantly breaking down and running out of gas. We were told we had to make reservations to eat at the nice restaurants, so we got dressed up and when we arrived to the restaurant we were told it had been closed down for weeks and the staff had not even told us even after making our reservations. The buffet was the same food everyday that had clearly been sitting out all day. The service was AWFUL, everybody had an attitude and we were ignored most of our trip. To top off this awful vacation the last three day of our trip I was incredibly sick and could not get out of bed. After returning home I went to the doctor and found I had a parasite in my intestine that comes from contaminated food and water when you come in contact with bird feces, which no doubt came from the buffet food that they leave out all day long. It was a truly horrific experience and I beg of you not to put you or your family through staying here. There were lines that wrapped around the hotel for people who were complaining. We were told they were in the process of changing management, which explained why the staff did not care about anything. I will never again return to the Dominican Republic and I strongly suggest you do not stay at Grand Paradise Bavaro.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst resort yet"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  kathy  on May 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
397 people found this review helpful

I have been to several resorts along this stip and this resort was the worse by far, we start off by killing cockroaches when we enter room, and come to find out we needed to buy a key for the safe. They had reps that bugged constantly to promote this resort.......OHHHH I will promote, but to tell everyone not to go to this resort unless you don't want to sleep and have drunk little boys acting like idiots....The rooms next to us were young idiot boys that partied all night in the hall in front of our room and slept all day. We complained only to have the security guard walk away and they would get even worse, and the whole resort was like this....so being asked to be moved could have been even worse....so used earplugs and prayed they didn't party all night, they were the young obnoxious type so if we did say something they seem to be the type to hit a woman....resort very run down and catered to the very young and drunks. I booked this resort by mistake, but a mistake well learned. The food was so overcooked it was barely edible, what little food there was to choose from. No wine at resort, what resort does not have wine........and was asked to pay for a drink that contained Tequila....The resort was very run down, and I will never ever to go a Bavaro again........We seem to get great service, as we were tipping, seemed like no one on the resort did.....So if you like cockroaches, partying all night and drunks everywhere......this is the place for you....if you want to relax not so much.
Of course the beach was perfect..........as always.

Room Number:
1231

Room Block:
1200

Arrival:
May 12/2011

Rooms:
clean but had cockroaches

Restaurants and Bars:
not a wide selection of food and way too overcooked.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice looking but dirty

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"March is spring break heaven at this resort"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on Apr 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
414 people found this review helpful

I had booked this trip at the end of October/10, and with the trip coming up fast I was getting really worried about the reviews on this resort. It was to the point I was going to change my reservations. I decided to email someone who had made a review, and they got back to me immediately. I have to agree, the beach is amazing! My boyfriend would take the 15 minute walk to the beach to save chair around 7:00 a.m. The chairs weren't as bad, as some of the reviews stated. We brought 2 bright towels from home, so we could find our chairs immediately. (great idea). We just ate at the buffets, and they were fine. You would have to be really, really picky if you went hungary. My favorite was breakfast. The staff was all very friendly, and couldn't do enough for you. There were a couple of times were we didn't get towels in our room, but we would either call down, or they would still be in the building for us to get some off the cart. The grounds are beautiful, and kept extremely clean. The one major complaint was it was spring break, and the young adults figured they owned the place. They were rude, noisy and totaling inconsiderate. They took over the middle pool with a big sign saying "Student.City". The pool was packed were they couldn't even move in there. The clothes were coming off, garbage was being thrown in the pool, and the guys were having pissing content as well. I heard that this was the first year the resort opened it to Student City, and agreed to it for 5 years. We stayed right by this pool, and one nite got only 2 hours of sleep. The rooms were newer, and very nice, but the location sucked. Why the resort would put us right in spring break central, I have no idea. The best place to get a room would be closest to the smaller lobby on the far side of the resort. It's the newest part, so your rooms will be nice. There is a very nice quiet pool there with a swim up bar. There is shuttle that comes every 10 minutes.

Room Number:
1993

Room Block:
in the 1900's

Arrival:
March 16/11 - March 23/11

Rooms:
1 bedroom with a king size bed

flat screen tv (remote control didn't work) complained, but never did get a new one

take your ice bucket to the buffet with you, and they will fill it there (if you want cold drinks in your room)

Other Comments:
This resort really needs to control the kids at spring break, or they will destroy the newer rooms they were in, along with the grounds. I must say, didn't really have any major issue's with this resort but don't go there at Spring Break. Our travel agent didn't say anything about this to us at all. Again, why would the resort put us in with all these young party animals were doors slamming and loud music were going on all nite. We had booked with Sunwing, and the only complaint I have is they scam you $17.00 each for your return seat. This is to secure your seat with whom you are travelling with, otherwise you could end up sitting apart. I was right pissed off, especially to find the plane wasn't full, and we had been scammed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube