Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts  

PLaya Arena Gorda, Bavaro. Punta Cana

"Terrible, fu##kin, terrible!!!!!"
Posted by: Bev on May 3, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Pictures and Information
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#2
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.1

Based on 69 reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Information


The all inclusive Grand Paradise Bavaro four-stars Resort, located in Bavaro Beach Punta Cana has an unique white sands and crystal clear waters of its beach, tall coconut trees and colorful landscapes, all make this resort a real jewel of the Caribbean.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.1 of 5 69 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  26
Average
  14
Poor
  13
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Leisure (47)
Party (2)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
With friend (6)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
21 - 30 of 69

"Grand Paradise of Hell"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tom  on Mar 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
419 people found this review helpful

Were to begin i was thinking of writing a book about this trip it would make a good movie for sure it started when me and my wife steped off the shuttle bus and went to check in we arrived at 10:30 am to find out we could not check in untill 3:30 pm so we left our luggage in the lobby and decided to walk around the resort to see what it looked like not 2 minutes in to our walk we were already hounded by timeshare people askinf us if we would like a free lobster dinner i right told the Dominican guy that nothing is free in the Dominican he kept hounding us would not take no fro an answer to bad we walked away from him and basicaly had to avoid him all week because everytime he seen us he would walk towards us so you can see how our vacation was.
So as the check in time came around we waited 1hour in line before checking in thats Dominican time is what they always used 1 hr Dominican time is 20 mins canadian time it was a joke to them so we finally checked in got our safe key and asked for our room key was told it is in our package we recieved to only get to our room to find out there was only the towel cards not impressed so we go back to the front desk and wait in line again to be told that our key was given to us and that they did not issue another key unless you paid for it thats when the Dominican guy got the real taste of a canadian guys mouth i let him have it finally got my key
Everything we read about the reviews from others is true the hotel room had a broken handle on the bathroon dooor so if you closed it you were stuck inside we told the front desk Saturday and on wednesday it still was not fixed the toilet seat was broken.To get any clean towels for the first three days we had to run after the room service ladies or you were not getting clean ones on our third day there we finally had maid service for the first time if you are looking for a relaxing place dont stay here it is what it is you want cheap your getting it next time we are spending a little more money and staying in a better resort also you better no Spanish because 90percent of the staff could not speak english.
To top it all of i was bitten by bed bugs my legs were full of bites and i was sick for the last 4 days could not eat a thing it passed right through me and if your travelling with sunwing all i will say is good luck getting any help from the Reps at the resort there out to lunch dont have a clue whats going on

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First time traveller"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  E  on Mar 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
431 people found this review helpful

We booked with Sunwing. The lady we booked with was extremely helpful in letting us know the details, as neither myself or my boyfriend had been on a trip like this before. Two of his friends also came along, and booked seperately.
I was impressed with how smoothly everything went; the flight there, the flight back, and the travel rep, who was so friendly and booked our excursions. (He was also so thrilled when I knew a little spanish), which means a lot to them. We did horseback riding, dune buggies (I was under the impression we would ride quads, as that's what we asked to do. Apparently, you can quad there, but when we booked it got set up as dune buggy. We probably could have switched., and golf. Everything went smoothly. Horseback riding took awhile, as we stopped at other hotels to pick up/drop of people.

We stayed at Grand Paradise Bavarro. Beautiful. We were at the part of the resort that is on the beach. Lots of pool room, good food at the buffet and especially the A' La Carte. We ate at the Grill and SeaScape.

Rooms were clean, and the room was fumigated the day before we left. We had to ask for more Cokes a few times. It seemed there was a shortage. We left tips for the maids, as well as gifts.

We did parasailing, which was my favorite part. Played tennis, where the man working the tennis desk even brought us cups of water during our game.

The workers seemed friendly. We took in a show at the amphitheatre, which had amazing dancers and costumes.

I had been worried because some of the reviews, but I was pleasantly suprised, and had a great time. Very clean place. The only downside is it took awhile to get used to the noise at night, as we pretty much stayed inside at night, and you could hear people being noisy, which is to be expected. But we kept the tv on, which helped, and eventually we got used to it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patty  on Mar 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
412 people found this review helpful

I'm sorry to say ......but this place has gone down hill big time. As vaction club members of this resort, this was our 5th time to GP Bavaro. We took our daughter & husband, along with our yearly traveling companions and their daughter & husband. We bragged this place up to them on how nice it was,good food and great staff......what a difference since our last trip of 2008. Rude staff members at reception, bed bugs in one of the double beds, grounds unkept,unhappy staff members, really rude waiter and waitress at the Manglar Restaurant. Unable to get in many estaurants and some people were not able to get in any. The only good thing about this place was the weather and thank god that didn't have anything to do with that.

SECURITY is nonexsist. This is the same resort where a young Canadian was killed and I can now see how as we had a issue at the resort with one of the people in our group. He was attacked by some young girl who was high on something and was hitting him and security just stood by and watched. Long story made short was they hotel staff are not going to look after you and this is now the place that all the spring break kids are going wild so if you want a place that has bad food,bad service loud noise all night long and concerns for your saftey (oh yea...we always had to double,triple check to make sure our door would lock,which it did not always do) this is the place for you.

As for myself....we will never go back to this resort or would I reccommend it!!

Room Number:
3rd floor

Room Block:
Building 2

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good trip nice people bad service"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  peter  on Mar 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
405 people found this review helpful

My Wife and i just arrived back from a stay at the Grand Paradise Bavaro we had a good time however i feel it is important to inform other travelers what to expect from there stay here.

1) food you had to be selective the breakfast was good have the omletts stay away from the hambugers you will loose one day from re used grease if you know what i mean. The drinks were good and could be gotten anyware stay away from anything but bottled water and ice cudes.

2) rooms and room service my wife and i like to show when going to these places that we appreciate the maids hard work so we leave the maids gifts
we stopped doing this after the bed didn't get maid there was no soft drinks
or water in the fridge no towels we asked the front desk and skywing rep to get those items in the room which they did the next day. The rooms were trashed ie tv jack sticking out of wall tv was picking up radio signals from staff. The shower was cold water only.

Skywing reciption and check in i must say both these areas droped the ball
the reciption desk didn't give us our towel cards we had to go back to get them. Skywing rep didn't inform us on trips and what to expect.Skywing gave us restrant vouchers 3 come with the all inclusive package when we tried to reserve we were told they were booked and the only opening was when we were leaving no help to us.

travel trips my wife and i went on a buggy trip it was actually a quad runner
it was fun except you need a bandana on your face for dust the carts were in rough shape by the end of the trip we had replaced the cart 3 times 1) electricial would not start 2) flat tire 3) stalled would not start.
I would have liked to have been told that along the trip there are a lot of small children begging for money some as young as 3 years we would like to have given them something from canada we have so much and don't appreciate it.

Visitors to the resort we planed our vacation not to fall not on march brake
but this resort was packed with drunken children with lots of money from mom and dad this resort is a 20 something resort that is used to having rooms trashed and yelling intoxicated children as guests so expect to have someone knocking on your door at 3:00 am as they can't find there room.

Over all this resort is a 3 star only the beach was great resort people nice but overwelmed room was good as a place to drop stuff of and leave to go to the beach or pool.

The walkers

Room Number:
2663

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
Feb 27th

Rooms:
1 room 2663

Restaurants and Bars:
beware and selective

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good see above

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
buggy ride

Other Comments:
see above

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Renee  on Mar 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
445 people found this review helpful

We were a little leery because of all the bad reviews (and I can't believe all the bad reviews about this place), but we went being very optimistic. The Sunwing flight was awesome...lots of freebies. Going through the airport was a breeze, but waiting to get our room at the resort was a 3 hour wait (buy hey, who cares....we went and ate lunch, took the train around to look at the resort, and had a drink at the bar). Got our room (beautiful and kept very clean every day) in the 5,000 section, which had a jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower, separate toilet and vanity area, mini fridge with pop and water, a big screen tv, and a safe (which was $20.00 american per week. And to pay for your safe is quite normal at all resorts! No problem). Now we have heard that certain sections of rooms in the resort are not the greatest, but we lucked out. The resort itself was beautiful and very well manicured. There were 3 buffets to choose from, and the food was delicious (something there for everyone). The a-la-cartes were absolutely delicious as well ( we ate at the International and the Steakhouse). The Dominican people were awesome and would bend over backwards to please you (we made a lot of friends there), and quite a few of them could speak English, whereas some of the reviews said that no one could speak it. The pools were great, and yea ok sometimes you would have to wait a few minutes for a drink, but who cares, you're on holidays, and these bartenders work very hard (sometimes only 1 guy trying to take care of everybody) to try to get everyone their drinks. The beaches were beautiful (can't complain about the beaches in Punta Cana), and yes, we saw a couple of vendors here and there, but nothing that would ever disrupt your day! They had a train shuttle that went from one end of the resort to the other coming by about every 5 minutes or so ( but the resort was also very walkable from one end to the other, about 10 minutes, which we did quite often). The nightlife was your typical Dominican dancing (and the dancing is absolutely amazing!), but come nighttime after a long day, we were very tired. All in all when it comes right down to it....we were not disappointed at all. You have to remember where you are! The Dominican is relaxed and slow-paced. The people work for very little down there, but will do anything to please you. Yes, there's a crack in the tile here and there, or a missing lampshade in the room, or sometimes you have to wait a few minutes for your silverware at the buffet, but so what... just enjoy and go with it. If you go with high expectations and expect to be waited on hand and foot, you will be very disappointed!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had an excellent time!"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anita  on Feb 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
412 people found this review helpful

we had an great time at this resort. the food was good, the room was clean and the entertainment was good. the only thing was that you had 5 a la carte restaurants but only to eat at two. had to make reservations but was hard to get in on the date you wanted.

Rooms:
room was clean and had lots of hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
food at the buffet was good and lots of it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was great. had a hard time finding a hut. if you weren't there early to get one, you were out of luck. lots of chairs. towels were far and few but once you get one keep it for as long as you can. pools were good with a swim up bar. there were 3 large pools again lots of chairs and really not problem getting one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Arlene  on Jan 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
338 people found this review helpful

We were at this resort in April 2009 and again in March 2010.We are going to the same resort this year.We both absolutely love everything about this place.We stayed in the club section both times,furthest away from the beach.We enjoy the pools more than the ocean.

Restaurants and Bars:
The steakhouse is our favorite restaurant.Thats the grill down near the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very clean,lots of beach chairs.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dump of a hotel never again!!!!!!"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bonita  on Jan 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
354 people found this review helpful

We found the buffet breakfast the next day after inquiring where it was and then spent 2.5 hours of the day (Sunday) attempting to speak with Joseph to rectify the room issues. He told us that he was going to lunch and wouldnít be available until after 3pm. I had told him the issues regarding the room and the fact that we were charged 31 dollars American for a lock and key for the safe. He blew us off and said after 3pm. After 3pm he was a no show, and we finally approached the main desk the next day and spoke with an assistant manager and complained to him. His name may have been Juan? We had met a fellow Canadian who also had been staying in an ocean front deluxe room and he told us that the same room as his, which is what we paid for, had been empty next to him for over a week. When Juan hesitated I informed him of this fact and we changed rooms. We alone had to pack our belongings and truck them there ourselves. We never had hot water on this trip and had to take freezing cold showers with no towels other than the beach towels, there were bugs crawling in the sink (which they sent out a letter to our hotel complex that they were fumigating all rooms for on Tuesday or Wednesday) the coffee machine didnít work, and lamps didnít work. The toilets were clogged and overflowing not just in our room but everywhere within this complex. Most importantly the lock on our room never worked unless you slammed it repeatedly and even then you had to check it. More than 3 times the maid left our room open to all and we had money missing from the safe on more than 1 occasion. The main corridor lighting didnít work and you had to feel along the way to your room. The maid was in our room 5-8 times daily for what we donít know because she wasnít there to leave towels or soft drinks because I had to go the beach bar to get coca cola twice. She even came in when we were being intimate and another time when we were sound asleep naked. The pool was so cold and full of bugs, straws and plastic cups and cigarette butts no one got in it. There were ducks swimming in the pool and defecating in the water of the pool. The electrical boxes in clumps of trees in the pool were exposed which also obviously was a deterrent from swimming at risk of electrocution. I would assume the ducks were in the pool eating the bugs however they could have been there to cool off as the water was so cold.

Arrival:
To Travel our way/Sun quest/Thomas Cook airline:

I am writing you regarding a trip to the Grand Paradise Bavaro in Punta Cana on December 31, 2010 to January 7. 2011. This trip was a nightmare from beginning to end starting with the horrendous treatment from the flight crew on flight 3520. There was a four hour plus delay due to the original pilot being too drunk to work and a mad scramble to assemble a crew to negotiate our way to the Dominican Republic. This was discussed among the motley crew on the aircraft during our flight. These stewards and stewardesses were openly hostile to each other and definitely to the passengers. They didnít know where anything was, they ran out of food, no duty free, no bar cart, the pilot was constantly calling the flight attendants away from their duties, no movies, no headsets, wouldnít give you a pillow or blanket, I asked for water 5 times and never received it, another passenger had his call button on the entire flight without any response. This is after waiting 4 hours plus for this flight and everyone was hungry and tired. When it came time to land, the pilot dropped the plane so fast, our ears popped so bad that we were dizzy and disoriented after disembarking off the plane. One of the flight attendants was so openly pissed off that in my opinion, she, as well as the other attendants should be fired. After the fact, we found out that they may have come from Jazz Airline and we would never fly with Thomas Cook or Jazz ever again in our lifetimes.

Rooms:
Now letís get to the advertised INCLUDED extras. There was no separate check in or out, no beach towels in the room or on the beach half the time, no free internet or internet card given to us, no reserved beach area, no welcome gift, and the $20 dollar coupon for the casino had to be matched with $20 American and played on one hand at a table game (black jack with 5 decks of cards) never was there a scuba lesson in the filthy pool and no one ever showed up for these lessons, no 10 bars, and definitely no 24 hour drinks and snacks.

Restaurants and Bars:
Now, letís get to the Grand Paradise Bavaro ordeal. After being herded onto a bus from the airport to the hotel complex, we were all told to disembark in the lobby. Unbeknownst to us, there were 3 hotel complexes included on the Bavaro property. Ours of course was the farthest away, 20 minutes approximately. It was now 3:30 am Saturday morning. We had been at the Halifax airport since 2pm Friday, with no meals, no drinks and no service which ended up being the theme of our trip. We were finally checked into the proper hotel complex after 3 hours and driven at neck breaking speed in the pitch black of night, holding on to the cart for dear life while our luggage was precariously balanced on some young Frenchman who also was clinging to the cart for dear life. We arrived in the reception area for the beach front hotel where we waited for service and after bribing the front desk guy whose name was Foster with a 10 dollar American bill, my boyfriend and some bellhop and I started for the room when I was called back by Foster and told I needed to pay an additional 31 dollars American for the safe lock and key. I did this because the luggage and my boyfriend were already well ahead of me and I needed to catch up in order to find the room. Upon entering the room approximately at 6 Ė 6:30 am, we dropped on the bed and fell asleep and were awakened at 7am by the front desk asking if we were getting a safe key and lock. Huh!!!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We were told to attend a meeting with Joseph (the biggest) Sun quest representative at 9:30am for a briefing. Exhausted from the ordeal, we dragged ourselves there in order to hear what he had to tell us. This guy began his orientation with complaining that he was the only worker for Sun quest and he would much rather be on the beach with his arms around not one but two women. Again HUH!!!!! Then we were told if we had any questions to consult a binder for Sun quest at the Sun quest station located in the upper lobby. We werenít given any information or coupons for ala carte meals, internet, spa, and casino, not anything...... We went back to our room which had no ocean view and fell asleep and awoke around 9pm that evening and we couldnít even get a bite to eat because there was no 24 hour service available as advertised. Our room which was to be ocean front deluxe was not deluxe or ocean front.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
However there were time share vultures that drove you insane and wouldnít leave you alone for 5 minutes. They were everywhere, reception, pool areas, beach, EVERYWHERE. The fumigation of our room caused us both respiratory difficulties and the highlight of the trip was coming home with TOURISTA. This is day 4 being home and we have been eating Imodium every day since Friday. This resort was not a 4 star resort more like a 2 star with no standards what so ever and it has sufficiently sickened us so badly we would never return to the Dominican Republic ever again. Also the bartender at the BARCO boat called me a PUTA (C*& %) when we complained about being charged $8 for a mixed drink on an all inclusive resort. To think that this was supposed to be a dream trip for my boyfriend and me to be alone and have a romantic vacation was anything but. It caused a lot of stress and argument between us and I am just sickened by this vacation and I would strongly recommend that no one in their right mind further fund a dump like the Grand Paradise Bavaro or Thomas Cook airline. I have traveled all over the south Caribbean and I have never experienced such a horrible vacation.

Yours truly,

Bonita Mundo & Robert Webster

Other Comments:
Excellent beach, but approx 25% of the lounge chairs were broken. We went out at 7:30 each day to get seats by the beach, and it wasn't always easy (even at that time). This is because the other 2 hotel complexes also came over to the beach area and the breakfast buffet. We found that many of the people who reserve at the pool also reserve at the beach, and just come back and forth. This was frustrating, as it was hard to find chairs, and often times you sitting on the ground while reserved chairs were beside us unoccupied for 95% of the day. The guys who collected the dirty glasses did so with a 5 gallon bucket, took them to the bartender, rinsed them off with local tap water and then used them to serve drinks to the clientele. When we inquired how much it was to buy our own travel mug (dollar store plastic) we were told it was 22 American dollars. I mean really isnít the DR a third world country?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"won't return"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  stuart  on Jan 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
311 people found this review helpful

arrived 12312010 5.5 hours to check in.Room where ok we where in building 6 maid service not so good i have been to DR before and always leave tips left the maid 5 dollars every day had to go find her to leave us towels and to restock the mini bar which only got done once.Food great if you don't mind everything cold.Staff for the most part where great. The pools where ice cold.Beach is wonderful.The spa by the main lobby was the best part of the trip in short we will not be returning to this resort again and not real sure that we will return to the punta cana area next time its back to puerto plata for us.as well probley won't fly with thomas cook either

Room Number:
6224

Room Block:
6

Arrival:
slow check in 5.5 hours

Rooms:
clean but needs updating

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great experience at Grand Paradise Bavaro"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Earl  on Jan 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
291 people found this review helpful

We had decided to spend Xmas this year down south with our children ages 15 and 17 what a great time we had at this resort the beach, the amenities, food were all excellent. Our rooms were Ocean View and were quite comfortable this is the older portion of the resort and some things need refreshing but still met our expectations. Resort staff were helpful and maid service is great (be sure to leave some money on the pillow daily and if you have clothes or hats that you would like to give to the maids be sure to write a note identifing the items and the maids name or they may think she is stealing)
We are planning for next year and maybe even a return visit here

Arrival:
We arrived at 1:30 but had to wait till 3 for our room to be ready, no problem, just went for a walk and had a drink

Restaurants and Bars:
Make sure to make your reservations as soon as possible in the morning

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube