Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

3.9 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.7 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2017

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts  

PLaya Arena Gorda, Bavaro. Punta Cana

"Terrible, fu##kin, terrible!!!!!"
Posted by: Bev on May 3, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Pictures and Information
Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#2
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.1

Based on 69 reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Information


The all inclusive Grand Paradise Bavaro four-stars Resort, located in Bavaro Beach Punta Cana has an unique white sands and crystal clear waters of its beach, tall coconut trees and colorful landscapes, all make this resort a real jewel of the Caribbean.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Reviews

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.1 of 5 69 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  26
Average
  14
Poor
  13
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Leisure (47)
Party (2)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
With friend (6)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
21 - 30 of 69

"Terrible, fu##kin, terrible!!!!!"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bev  on May 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
1451 people found this review helpful

- Rooms did not have what was listed on magazine/Sunwing website ie. irons, ironing boards, coffee maker, no TV remote, working fridge, etc. We requested these items numerous times; however, received some of these amenities at certain times, but nothing up to par - Replaced TV remote, but did not actually work, fridge was replaced after 5 days even though there was a daily request put in. Eventually received coffee maker, but no coffee or cream, but lots of damm sugar!!!!

- Buffett at lower end of resort closed couple of days after arrival, except for breakfast and that wasn't anything to "write home about". Bacon was obviously deep-fried and in old lard or something akin to that.

- Number of bars were closed throughout the whole resort.

- Choice of drinks very limited and ran out of many liquors/mixes for the whole week we stayed.

- Trolleys were not always running, even though it was stated on many signs throughout the resort - 24 hour service for trolleys.

- The resort was opened to native Dominicans during weekend (Saturday to Monday) for $80. Very inexpensive for them as compared to cost for regular tourists - the influx of these people put a great strain on service, especially at the one and only buffett/bars that remained open. At that time, service went down hill drastically, less variety and food was "the pits". The natives, at most times, were rude and pushy and not willing to line up for service. Staff appeared more interested in tending to their own people.

- Service was awful at beach bar - we were completely ignored at times.

- We booked this resort and were not aware it was closing - booked online through Sunwing website and nowhere did it say/state that this resort was closing - had we known this, we would've booked at another resort.

Room Number:
3378 & 3380

Arrival:
Monday, April 22/13 to April 29/13 on Sunwing Flight #454 out of St. John's, NL

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Two thumbs down."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.50 of 5

Posted by:  S.J. from PEI  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
660 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 21-28
check-in was fine w/ no major issues...the front desk attendant told us he would "take care of us" and upgrade our room, for no apparent reason.
i'm sure he tells everyone this.

Rooms:
our room was adequate...third floor in the 9000 section but not overlooking the resort. it was clean, roomy and there was no sign of bugs...great start! this was our room until the fourth night...i sprained my ankle and requested a room on the ground floor b/c i could not go up the stairs. the quality of the rooms desperately went down hill from there. first room they gave us on first floor was disgustingly FILTHY and i immediately asked for another room. the next room "looked" cleaner but had a very strong musty, stenchy odor...had lots of bugs (which i understand is common on a ground floor room), but there was actually mold/mildew on the bed spread, curtains & drapes and must have had water damage b/c the bottom of the wooden closet door was actually "curling" up and some rather large bugs were living in there. the room was disgusting and i wished we had asked to be moved again but at this point, i felt like we would have been pushing our luck. (we are first time travelers)

Restaurants and Bars:
food was horrible (w/ the exception of the bread)...we were severly disappointed (and surprised) at the poor quality of what they called "fresh fruit"...no fresh juice, either. pasta and bread were fine but we soon tired of only being able to eat these foods. we tried different things but for example, the rice looked and tasted like it had been made the previous day (or week) and was simply reheated for every meal after. i have some dietary needs and i did not stray too far from the foods we thought to be "safe" for me. my partner has a stronger stomach but did not have much luck finding anything either.
there seemed to be some confusion around the amount of a la carte's we were entitled to...this was very disappointing. we ate at the italian restaurant once...service was very slow and we did not get what we ordered but were too hungry to send it back to the kitchen. again, it was pasta...edible but at that point in the week, we were certainly growing tired of pasta! the staff at the restaurants was excellent. everytime we went to the buffets, it was busy but they were always smiling and seemed to love to serve people from canada!

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
we surprised ourselves by spending most of our days by the pool. we thought they were great and a bit less crowded (and warmer) than the beach. it seemed to be a bit more windy than usual the week we were there so we only walked on the beach a few times but did our suntanning by the pools.
the grounds were nice and we were amazed at the care-taking of them. we always saw workers either cutting grass, raking, picking up garbage or some such thing. it was clean and very well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
did not do any activites; we were supposed to go on a catamaran tour on friday but b/c i sprained my ankle, we were unable to go and completely and utterly disappointed! luckily, we did get a refund, which we were surprised at but grateful for.
we did not partake in any activities on the resort...we went to relax and unwind. we were surprised and disappointed at the lack of "quiet spots" to go. most of the time there was loud music playing by the pools. i understand wanting to have vacationers up doing exercices or activities to keep patrons entertained but i think there should be at least one pool that is w/out this loud music. i talked to other people who felt the same way. some people just want a bit of peace and quiet.

Other Comments:
this was our first trip to the carribean and we were really disappointed, mostly w/ the food. i realize that noone can control the weather and although we did have a lot of rain, we were quite prepared to make the best of whatever weather we got. we are not drinkers (at all) and our expectations for the food weren't very high but the food was so bad...poor quality, worse than anything we could have imagined.
i would not go back to this resort and i'll be lucky if i can ever convince my partner to go to an all-inclusive again. we definitely did not even come close to getting our money's worth!
two thumbs down.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would never go back there."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 2.50 of 5

Posted by:  Jim  on Jun 1, 2009  >  12 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2009
619 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 19th - April 26th
Arrival and transaportation was good.

Rooms:
Were very nice excpet getting towels and that was like pulling teeth.

Restaurants and Bars:
They were good except for the staff members there constantly hitting on girls plus my girlfriend.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean and well maintained and the tram was good excpet all of things broken on it examples poles that were broken at the top but not at the top very dangerous driver just about running over my gf as we were trying to load up our luggage in the this golf cart back end of the golf cart was run over good thing the staff memeber grabbed my gf otherwise she would have been run over

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ya we did they were excellent except fot the one by nexus tours "monster truck"

Other Comments:
All the staff members were very rude don't even say hi drinks there were terrible all booze and not slushy they were all liquid ask for a mojito and they don't even know how to make that staff members constantly hittingup girls flirting with my gf behind my back go to the disco bar staff memebers hanging out there just to pick up girls and preteding to have sex with them overall i don't recommend this place to anyone it's terrible i would never go back there, however I would go back to the dominican just stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I may not return to Punta Cana next year."

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mary & Richard  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
578 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 20 - Mar 6
We arrived at the Selection Section of the Grand Paradise at approximately 10:45 p.m. The gentleman the desk insisted that we needed a hotel voucher which was not supplied to us. We had a confirmation number and our names were in the computer. He gave us grief but finally gave us a room and stated that we needed our Sunquest representative to supply a hotel voucher.

Rooms
When we booked our trip, we specifically requested the top floor. We were accomodated the next day after a lengthy discussion.

Restaurants and Bars
The best restaurant was the Asian which you have to pay $10 each. We had no problems being served at this restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beautiful pools and the beach is the reason we have been going to Punta Cana for the past 6 years.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We have done all the tours possible. We booked a lunch at Las Palmas on the beach. It was OK but costly ($65 US per person).

Other Comments:
My husband and I have been travelling to the D.R. for the past 12 years. We absolutely love the country and its people. It is with sadness that I have to state that our trip was not like prior years. At the Sunquest Select building #9 it offers a bar fridge stocked with a large bottle of water and 4 soft drinks which clients are permitted to consume. Our Sunquest representative warned everyone not to take anything from the fridge as the prices are ridiculous e.g. a small container of planters peanuts costs $11.00 US. Well after 5 days we were left a paper stating that we had consumed a juice. The next day we went to the desk and advised the young lady that we did not consume a juice. She advised us that we were to pay for a beer ($6.35 U.S. and a juice at $5.00 U.S.). I again nicely told her that we did not consume anything. She laughed in our face and told us we would have to pay. I said no and left the desk and went to our tour representative Deller. He advised to return the next day at 9:00 a.m. which we did. Boris sat with us and said there are dishonest people who claim they don't consume anything when in fact they do. I countered that I was not a child and I didn't want to be wasting my vacation time sorting out such problems. We were told to return to the desk and ask for the Manager Juan. Again we did as instructed the desk clerk filled out a paper which I signed that stated we did not consume anything. I asked for a copy which I was refused and nothing was altered on the computer. Check-out time we always go early and again the desk wanted us to pay for a beer and juice. I advised that the problem was resolved 5 days prior and I was not leaving the desk until the situation was remedied. I apologized to other clients waiting to check out. I have a strong feeling that the resort is trying to make extra money from clients who are rushing to checkout. This is dishonest and I think it is time Sunquest has the junk removed from the fridges.

It is with sadness that I say I may not return to Punta Cana next year. If I do my husband and I will perhaps return to the Occidental Flamenco or the Punta Cana Princess.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"pick another resort,unless you speak french,spanish,rated 4 1/2 only a 3"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  irene  on Jan 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
618 people found this review helpful

GRAND PARADISE BAVARO- we went for our 30th anniversary
-the pools,view and rooms were fine; no facecloths available though
-the food ; the "hot" items were rarely warm at the buffet, most
everyone got sick even with the tv travelers fix-ducarol still one day
out, my spouse lost 1/2 of the week we were there,the bar tenders didn't
always understand the drinks you requested, our sunquest agent didn't
fulfill the job description, the checkin was messed up, on the bus most
everyone, except 4 of us (2 couples not traveling or booking trip together)
were handed precheck in envelopes to speed up checkin, which we 4 did not
receive, the agent didn't even know which lobby (2 of, at this resort) to
drop up off at for our room location, checkin; so we needed to be shuttled
wasting another 30min, disorganized. The sunquest agent also didn't fill
us in on the resort features and times of activities and there was no info
in the room. ON the shopping trip THE SUNQUEST FILLIN TALKED ON THE CELLPHONE
ALL THE WAY HOME,rude,interrupting the passengers. Too bad it was disappointing, felt like you were avoided by the servers at the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Beach and good food if you dont get the TOURISTA !!!!"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  lachach  on Jul 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Party | With Group
656 people found this review helpful

This is a nice place if you dont get the tourista and expect to get some rest.

The food is good,so is the beach and pool,but not much of a nightlife if you are a nigh owl like myself.

Its pretty much a self service place,dont expect much service there,you always have to get your won stuff if you want something,get your own forks,towels,toilet paper,juice etc...

The workers dont seem very happy to work there,not like the other resorts i have been to .

There is some activities and stuff to do on the resort but everything closes pretty early,lacking in the women department if you ask me,everyone is either there with their husband or boyfriend.

I wish the pools were open after 6 pm and we didnt all get sick with tourista (all 4 of us ) 5 days out of 7 . (we did put alot of mileage on those toilets lol )

Your Arrival:
That was pretty good,we got our laugage pretty fast,the plane ride was very hectic,lots of turbulance and high drops.We got in the bus pretty quick, the A/C was working great,took about 30 minutes to get to the hotel and 10 minutes to get our room.Nothing to complain there.

Rooms:
Very ordinary room for a 4 stars,it was clean but nothing special.The A/C wasnt working,took almost a miracle to get a new room.they said they were gonna send the tech.he came like 1 and half hour later but didnt fix much.After calling many times and showing up at the front desk,talking to the manager who only spoke spanish,we finally got a new room with working A/C after elevating my tone and not leaving the counter for nearly an hour.

The TV didnt work in the new room,they finally fixed it 3 days later.The room was decent and clean but not luxurious at all.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was really good,lacking A/C tough,if you work for a ventilation company,you will make millions replacing all the units there lol.

Great food,lots of variety,not much of the expensive stuff tough,you wont find filet mignon,fib steak,ribs or shrimps there.

Great fresh fruits,lots of fish,they mostly serve pork or chicken,some stuff i have never ate before,great breakfast,why are all the juices so sugary and the coke,7 up so flat?

Have the Paela when they make it,its awesome.Great desserts,they really know how to make sweet stuff.

The sports bar was awesome,free pool and soccer table with TV.Great way to start the night before going to the discotheque.

Discotheque was nice,not very big but decent,but only opened on the weekend and not very crowded.The dominicans come in on the weekends,so thats the best nights.Most,or should i say 99% of the women are accompanied with their husband or boyfriend and why do they allow people under age? Why do they also allow prostitutes and salesmans on the resort?

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was great,spent my whole vacation in the water when i wasnt in the can lol (tourista).Nothing like the beautiful turquoise ocean to rejuvenate you ! Always sunny and hot and a little brease near the water.

The pools were also very nice, but why go to the pool when you got the beach near by ?

Lots of free chairs on the beach to lay on.They do have parasailing,banana boat,kind of pricy tough.

Kayak is included for free,so is body board,snorkling mask etc...

Not enough women tough.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is ping pong tables outisde near the beach,beach volleyball,badminton,darts,water basketball,tennis courts.

There is also a show every night, not very long but the weekend shows are very good,lots of dancing.

The weekend is good but its very quiet during the week.

Other Comments:
Good luck trying to change your canadian dollars into US . Why are they asking for US dollars ,when their currency is pesos ????

Dont get a craving for doritos, a medium bag is 8$ US !

Lots of extra charges for this and that,and this is not included ...

No bottled beers,only draft presidente,no brugal rhum either.I wasnt too impressed with the drinks in those small plastic cups,even the pino colada didnt seem right.

If you are looking for peace,beach,sun,good food,you will like this place.

If you want action at night,hot chicks in bikinis,lots of partying ,you will be dissapointed.

I did have a good vacation,but the damn tourista kind of ruined it for everyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Irritated Person--"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Feb 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
589 people found this review helpful

This hotel is part of a chain that are timesharing. We were stopped 4 - 5 times a day to go to the VIP session. We were not interested and said so. Once should be enough. I am a VERY IRRITATED PERSON. At first we were polite but by the last day I was far from a "You are Canadian - you are polite" person. When we said no, the displeasure showed on their faces. If I was basing this trip on annoyance factor only it would be a 1 but there were some good things about it as well. WOW the weather was fantastic!! We saw some rain but nothing to complain about.

Your Arrival:
We specifacly e-mailed the hotel directly to ask for a King bed. We got something totally different. The front desk personnel have no concept of serve the next person in line. They serve who they want to even if you and everyone else waiting in line were waiting patiently. If your flying in from Ottawa make shure your info package is in english if needed. They assume eveyone is french and there is no getting an english one if you got a french one afterwards. We had to go stand in another line because the person we were dealing with could not take the money for the safe.

Rooms:
We were in the Select section. The room had 2 beds. The pillows were very uncomfortable because there was hardly any filling. I put both together to get one. The room was very large with a room for changing. On our arrival there were at least 15 centapedes that we had to take care of. Being on the ground floor this was a constant problem. The room had a flat screen tv. The maids were very nice but the service was so-so. I asked for new drinking glasses and was told NO. All week they were not changed. I washed them. Even cheap motels gives a new glass. It may be plastic but at least it is clean. We went and got the hand towel changed after she put the wet one back on the sink. We had to call the front desk after asking the maid supervisor twice to get us the towels and hand towel that were taken 6 hours eariler. The fridge was hardly working. The bathtub had a piece of wood around the edge instead of silicone.

Restaurants and Bars:
The roasted meat products are the BEST tasting that I have had on all our South trips. Even compared to the 5 stars that we stayed in.
La Cana: Very good food. Very good service. The steak superb. We went there the night we flew in and were hungry. This is the only place open in the late evening. The fried chicken was great.
Michaelangilos- atmosphere- very good. Food; ok the pasta was dry The service good not great.
The Buffets- the beach buffet is air conditioned so it is nicer. The food seems a bit better to. The food selection is average.
The service is structured chaos. They need someone in there that can manage and teach them to strickly do the jobs and do it well. I asked for a tea after my husband was served coffee and was told to get it myself. The waiter pushed in front of me to get hot water when I did go get my tea.
The bars have no serve the next person in line poloies.
The Bar and Co.-- The entertainment was great. The drawback is they only serve beer and rum & coke at no charge. They wanted to charge for my soft drink way before 11 pm. I went to my room and got one out of the fridge and asked for ice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
If people would stop reserving the pool chairs and not using them there would be some for others. I saw some people go to the pool and take a chair and then go to the beach for the day. That is just plain rude and inconsiderate of other travelers.
Beach-- Beautiful.
Pools-- all 4 are nice. The water is clear. Our room was right at pool side. The french pool was quiet. The Select pool is the party pool and the busiest.
The grounds are very clean. They are constly cleaning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are many things to do but if it rains there is very liitle to do that is indoors.

Other Comments:
This is certainly not 4 star. Many improvements need to be done with the service to bring it up to a 4 star. The staff needs to be taught that if they want a tip it has to be earned. You can't give bad or no service and expect to be given compensation for it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good trip nice people bad service"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  peter  on Mar 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
859 people found this review helpful

My Wife and i just arrived back from a stay at the Grand Paradise Bavaro we had a good time however i feel it is important to inform other travelers what to expect from there stay here.

1) food you had to be selective the breakfast was good have the omletts stay away from the hambugers you will loose one day from re used grease if you know what i mean. The drinks were good and could be gotten anyware stay away from anything but bottled water and ice cudes.

2) rooms and room service my wife and i like to show when going to these places that we appreciate the maids hard work so we leave the maids gifts
we stopped doing this after the bed didn't get maid there was no soft drinks
or water in the fridge no towels we asked the front desk and skywing rep to get those items in the room which they did the next day. The rooms were trashed ie tv jack sticking out of wall tv was picking up radio signals from staff. The shower was cold water only.

Skywing reciption and check in i must say both these areas droped the ball
the reciption desk didn't give us our towel cards we had to go back to get them. Skywing rep didn't inform us on trips and what to expect.Skywing gave us restrant vouchers 3 come with the all inclusive package when we tried to reserve we were told they were booked and the only opening was when we were leaving no help to us.

travel trips my wife and i went on a buggy trip it was actually a quad runner
it was fun except you need a bandana on your face for dust the carts were in rough shape by the end of the trip we had replaced the cart 3 times 1) electricial would not start 2) flat tire 3) stalled would not start.
I would have liked to have been told that along the trip there are a lot of small children begging for money some as young as 3 years we would like to have given them something from canada we have so much and don't appreciate it.

Visitors to the resort we planed our vacation not to fall not on march brake
but this resort was packed with drunken children with lots of money from mom and dad this resort is a 20 something resort that is used to having rooms trashed and yelling intoxicated children as guests so expect to have someone knocking on your door at 3:00 am as they can't find there room.

Over all this resort is a 3 star only the beach was great resort people nice but overwelmed room was good as a place to drop stuff of and leave to go to the beach or pool.

The walkers

Room Number:
2663

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
Feb 27th

Rooms:
1 room 2663

Restaurants and Bars:
beware and selective

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good see above

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
buggy ride

Other Comments:
see above

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overwhelming"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Suzanne  on Jan 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
604 people found this review helpful

...

Your Arrival:
Arrived with Air Canada. Quick in and out. Downside with Air Canada is you have to pay for your snacks or meals. Upside was tv with kids/movies/music on every seat backing so that you are not stuck watching the same boring movie with everyone.
Quick through resort check in. Bell boy waiting to bring luggage to our room

Rooms:
Dark, hallway lights all burn't, shower pull button broken, toilet not flushing, no face clothes (please bring your own), patio doors very hard to open (was great for us as we didn't want our two year old to sneak out at night)tv small and hard to find channels, beds uncomfortable and old.
Otherwise rooms are big, balcony nice.
My parents section, (middle newer section)rooms nice but a bit smaller, no face cloth, no sink stopper, dark stairwells, no tv remote. They had a clock radio and big screen tv.

Restaurants and Bars:
All four of us got sick included several that stayed the same week us at.
We all think it's in the "purified" water bottles. And or not washing their vegetables. Staff very unpleasent they did not look happy especially the staff by the grill bar. The buffet staff are nice WHEN THEY WERE THEIR! The buffet at the old section is way overcrowded you can hardly find a place to sit. This is when the hostess takes charge but they seem to dissapear when the restaurant is full and so we are stuck to fight for a seat on our own. I went to the other buffet in the newer section and the food was ten times better and less people. EVERYBODY tends to stay in the old section all day and return to their own section at night. If you don't know this yet this resort has three sections. You have access to all three via trolly/train.
We went to one a la carte and it was Michelogelo's. Not bad but someone needs to teach them how to cook a chicken parmisian. Staff also were eager to push you out of their.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I give the beach an A++. Go super and I mean super early for a lounge chair or you will not find one. I left my t shirt and or sandals on the lounges and they were still there at night. Noyone touches your stuff.
Pool dirty on our end by the ocean. But that is from the sand blowing in. The pool was big and the kiddie pool was awful. Very dirty, stick to the middle and far section they have the way nicer kiddie pools.I spent all my time in the middle section pool where the pool bar is. Very nice! Again put towels down in the morning or you will not find a chair.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
AS you notice my title was overwhelming. For three days it rain and it was very windy so you couldn't stay by the beach. THIS RESORT IS NOT ORGANISED FOR RAINY DAYS. NOWHERES TO SIT AND RELAX ONLY CERTAIN AMOUNT OF TABLES FOR A RESORT THAT HAS OVER 600+ PEOPLE.
If you can't speak any other languages but english you might be in trouble as everything is in french or spanish.

Other Comments:
This resort is more for a young age group, couples, singles or families with teenagers.
It states great family resort but nothing was organised. I had to complain that the kids club was closed to my parents rep and immediately they were "open" again. They are hard to find, not the playhouse but the organisers. The sign says closed when they were in fact open as I ran into her at the beach and ask since I was hauling my child all over the place back and forth if they can take her now since we found them and she said no.
I was pretty frustrated as you will know the playhouse mini club is located in the middle resort and so you have to take the trolly.
When I first got their I asked them where the mini club was and the front desk pointed the complete opposite direction. Staff were not helpful and so that's why this place got only three stars and the stars were because of the beach.
I must state Holes on the grass which my toddler fell through. Open man holes. Remember this is a four star hotel. I understand if I were staying at a two star.
PARENTS BEWARE When I did finally see a staff for the mini club by the pool, she left a young child unnattended to bring the other child to the washroom. Did like that idea much as they were sitting by the pool anything could of happened. That turn me off right away from bringing my child their.

I WOULD NEVER EVER GO BACK TO THIS RESORT AGAIN! TOO BIG, TOO UNORGANISED, STAFF , NOT ALL STAFF, MAIDS WERE NICE, STAFF WALKING BY NICE, BUT FRONT DESK, POOL, MINI CLUB STAFF UNPLEASANT. AS SOON AS YOU WANTED SOMETHING THEY WERE UNPLEASANT. NOT A GREAT ATMOSPHERE.
Only way you might enjoy this resort is if you stayed in that one area your entire duration. We couldn't as our parents were staying in the middle section. Waiting for the trolly, going back and forth was a royal pain in the ass!
NOT TODDLER FRIENDLY RESORT.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Grand Paradise of Hell"

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts
User Rating:  Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tom  on Mar 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
861 people found this review helpful

Were to begin i was thinking of writing a book about this trip it would make a good movie for sure it started when me and my wife steped off the shuttle bus and went to check in we arrived at 10:30 am to find out we could not check in untill 3:30 pm so we left our luggage in the lobby and decided to walk around the resort to see what it looked like not 2 minutes in to our walk we were already hounded by timeshare people askinf us if we would like a free lobster dinner i right told the Dominican guy that nothing is free in the Dominican he kept hounding us would not take no fro an answer to bad we walked away from him and basicaly had to avoid him all week because everytime he seen us he would walk towards us so you can see how our vacation was.
So as the check in time came around we waited 1hour in line before checking in thats Dominican time is what they always used 1 hr Dominican time is 20 mins canadian time it was a joke to them so we finally checked in got our safe key and asked for our room key was told it is in our package we recieved to only get to our room to find out there was only the towel cards not impressed so we go back to the front desk and wait in line again to be told that our key was given to us and that they did not issue another key unless you paid for it thats when the Dominican guy got the real taste of a canadian guys mouth i let him have it finally got my key
Everything we read about the reviews from others is true the hotel room had a broken handle on the bathroon dooor so if you closed it you were stuck inside we told the front desk Saturday and on wednesday it still was not fixed the toilet seat was broken.To get any clean towels for the first three days we had to run after the room service ladies or you were not getting clean ones on our third day there we finally had maid service for the first time if you are looking for a relaxing place dont stay here it is what it is you want cheap your getting it next time we are spending a little more money and staying in a better resort also you better no Spanish because 90percent of the staff could not speak english.
To top it all of i was bitten by bed bugs my legs were full of bites and i was sick for the last 4 days could not eat a thing it passed right through me and if your travelling with sunwing all i will say is good luck getting any help from the Reps at the resort there out to lunch dont have a clue whats going on

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube