Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Reviews

Home page > Mexico > Puerto Vallarta > Puerto Vallarta Hotel Index > Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Puerto Vallarta Hotels with Similar Ranking

Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 14, 2014

Villa Varadero

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 6, 2013

Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta

4.5 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 14, 2014

Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 23, 2014

Decameron Los Cocos

4.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 3, 2011

Samba Vallarta

4.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 23, 2014

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta  

Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico

"Bed Bugs and Hush Money"
Posted by: Rob on Aug 20, 2014
see all reviews

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Reviews
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Pictures and Information
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Puerto Vallarta Mexico

#3
of 32 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta

User rating 3.5

Based on 6 reviews

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Information


Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta is located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Puerto Vallarta. One can find in its colorful architecture and lush vegetation five swimming pools (one adult only pool).

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Reviews

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Review: 3.5 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  5
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"Bed Bugs and Hush Money"

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Aug 20, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
17 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta from the 9th to the 16th of August 2014. Every morning of our vacation we more blood spots (2-5mm in diameter) on and around my pillowcase – but didn’t think anything of it. On our last morning, I noticed genuine bed bug crawling across the sheets. We pulled the sheets back from the bed and at the end of the bed where the cover sheet was tucked and found 6-10 more live bed bugs. We alerted the customer service manager and he and others quickly found several dozen or so bed bugs from the mattress and bedding within seconds. He asked us to leave the room and relocate to a room upstairs for us to use while they were pulling apart our room. We grabbed our laptops, phone, passports and wallets and left the room, leaving all of our remaining luggage, clothes and belongings. The customer service manager said that the hotel would take care of everything. We were removed to a separate conference room and waited for the general manager to arrive for ~30 minutes. At no point was an apology issued from the hotel and we were given the distinct impression the hotel was trying to intimidate us and also blame us for the infestation in our room. The whole meeting was completely threatening and one-sided but we were told that we would be looked after and compensated. It was now getting close to the time our bus left for the airport. Knowing how contagious bed bugs are and also knowing how badly infested our room was, we were very concerned about bringing bed bugs back into our home in Canada. The hotel offered to launder our clothes for us, which we agreed to, but we were forced to leave any of our belongings that were unable to be laundered and weren’t made of metal/plastic. We conservatively estimate that the replacement value of the belongings that we were forced to leave behind was approximately $2800. We were again shunted up to the "new room upstairs" by two escorts and kept away from talking to other guests.
Only our clothes were returned along with cheap duffel bags. 15 minutes before having to leave on that bus the customer service manager informed us that his company wouldn’t be paying for the replacement of our belongings and that we could either take a week vacation at a Royal Decameron or $1000 USD but we’d have to sign a non-disclosure agreement. Knowing we were already close to $3000 out of pocket for our belongings and felt that taking "hush money" was ethically wrong, we declined the offer. His tune rapidly changed and became aggressive in his tone. We are extremely dissatisfied with the way the Royal Decameron handled us and are left with a $3000 debt from their communicable disease. Not to mention that we both have hundreds of bed bug skin lesions over our bodies.
Here are the youtube links to videos that we took:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tfx9a_OxWJ4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYGpiIiA9sc

Room Number:
3123

Room Block:
3

Rooms:
Bed bug infested!

Other Comments:
Hotel will pay people off if they stay silent about their bed bug infestation. If you do a quick internet search, you will find several accounts of guests reporting bed bugs - these must be the guests who also didn't take the money.

Videos: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYGpiIiA9sc

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Winter Paradise"

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  William  on Mar 16, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
29 people found this review helpful

We stayed March 2014 for one week. The food is plentiful and exceptional. The rooms are modest but very clean and comfortable and we were only in the room to sleep or clean up. Each pool will give something different. Pool 5 is for adults only and is very quiet. The many bars are spread out over the complex and all are fabulous. A great variety of specialty drinks, available in virgin for kids and non drinkers. Pińa coladas multiple varieties of marguerites way too many to list. Bring a good travel mug to reduce trips back to get refills as only small plastic cups are used. We brought 20 ounce bubba mugs and found them perfect for mixed drinks or beer. The Lobby Lounge was perfect for evening drinks before dinner and table service is available. The beach is great and non powered water toys are available free. The number of vendors selling goods on the beach can get tiresome after a while but if you are not interested no gracias will normally suffice in moving them along and they were not as aggressive as the vendors in town. The food is absolutely out of this world. The choices are almost endless. Outstanding breakfast buffets with fresh fruit, cereals, breads, hot foods and an omelette station. Lunch and dinner buffets change daily and are themed, Mexican, Italian, Oriental etc. with one snack area doing burgers dogs and fries. The server in the snack area is fantastic and we had lunch there most days. If you like more elegant fair the ala carte choices are scrumptious. I wish we could have tried them all. Every night they have a stage show that is very professional and entertaining. Our overall experience was absolutely outstanding. We felt safe not only in the resort but when walking into Bucerius or taking the bus into Puerto Vallarta.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Basic Hotel, Great Location"

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ken  on Feb 19, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
106 people found this review helpful


This was our first time to the pacific side of Mexico having gone to Playa del Carmen twice and we weren't disappointed.

We would recommend this place to anyone who's is looking for a clean, basic well located hotel.

7 days is too short if only we could do 10 days....

Room Number:
4225

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
Booked separate airfare (Sunwing) and hotel (Apple)
Arrived quite late after 2:30 due to various delays. Sunwing is as good as any other charter but we upgraded to Elite which meant more leg room, extra bagge and priority boarding. Well worth the extra $.
No time share at airport! Apple provided an individual taxi which was great. From touchdown to hotel 40 minutes. Checkin was quick since we were only ones there but there was refereshments (beer, juice, water) and snacks available in lobby and bellyboy was available to take us to room.

Rooms:
Were in block 4 which is a great central location close to Tropical buffet. The block has a front desk, cashier/safe deposit rental, shop, restaurant booking desk, internet terminals all in the lobby.
Room was basic, very clean with a king bed, desk, tv, a couple of chairs and night stands. There is no fridge or coffee maker but coffee and tea were available in lobby before restaurants opened. A/C worked fine if a little noisy. Balcony had 2 chairs and table and a drying rack which is great for towels and swim suits. We rented the safe 210 pesos for the week. It is big enough to hold tablet or a net book but not a full sized laptop.
Overlooked pool and Tropical restaurant, good location but a bit noisy since the staff is prepping and delivering food early (4ish) in morning.
Bath was basic, large shower, clean towels exchanged daily if you liked. Only soap supplied no shampoo or face cloths. Bed was ok but pillows were kind of flat.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants: We used the 3 buffets (block 1, 4 and 5) and snack bar (block 6)
and one a la carte (Thai block 5). All of the food was basic a bit bland but kept properly hot or cold as required. Booking a la cartes can be done in lobby of 4 or outside Flamingo (block 1) buffet early in the morning day before or day of. Wine at restaurants was better than at bars.
There is a bar in each block and a night time bar with proper tables and couches near front lobby. We never went to the disco. All served no-name liquors and the beer was Dos Equis on tap. Wine at bars was horrible. Too bad there wasn't a bar where you could get premium liquor even for a fee.
Service was always good and if you frequented a specific bar or restaurant the servers remembered your orders etc. We tipped but not excessively 20 pesos seemed to be the going rate.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Everything is very well maintained. We have been to 5 stars that weren't as clean and neat. Flowers, trees and brightly decorated building everywhere. Many garbage cans spread around the grounds that were always emptied.
There are 5 pools but we spent most time at 5 (adult) or 6 mainly due to the proximity or food, drinks and banos. All are slightly different with shallow and deeper areas. The pools were clean and maintained. Getting chairs at the pools was not too bad but the towel game happens here as at any hotel.
We didn't swim at the beach but went walking each morning. You can walk for miles in either direction. North toward Bucerias or south towards Neuvo Vallarta. There are many people walking, fishing, jogging in the mornings.
The sand is not as fine as Riviera Maya but the beach is wide and clean. We saw no sea weed or garbage on the beach. To get a good chair on the beach with a palapa for shade you must be up early (b4 7) and set your towels so we never spent much time there. There is a nice 'break' about 30 feet from the shore if you like to play in the waves or body surf.
On the beach there are approved vendors who weren't too pushy and a building where they also sell crafts, tee shirts etc.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the resort there are many activities, we went to one show at the theatre and watched a couple at pool #1 early in the evening before the theatre.
There is also alot of other activites daily, yoga, pool games etc.
We did a couple massage the 4th day which was great after all of the walking on the cobbles and beaches. there are daily specials so go check it out. We got 1 hour for 900 pesos instead of the over 1200 regular.
On hte beach there are water sports kayaks etc and people renting jet skis. I did hte parasailing which was excellent. Get an amazing veiw of the whole are, could even see the whales spouting in the distance.
The big advantage of this hotel is the proximity to Bucerias. We walked into town 3 or 4 times checking out the shops and restaurants and seeing the sights including a ball hockey game (mainly old Canadian guys) in the town square. It is about a 30 minute walk on cobbled streets but well worth it. You could walk into town via the beach as well. Again even in town everything is clean and neat no garbage.
We also hired a taxi to go into PV for a bit of sight seeing and shopping. $25 or 250 pesos from the stand out front of the hotel.
Did the whale watching, snorkling tour on day. Left from Neuvo Vallarta on a large catamaran, were supplied with food and drinks and entertained by the crew. Saw many whales, sea turles and dolphins and snorkeld and paddled around islands in the bay.
Went to see the drag show on Tuesday but it was sold out so we walked back to hotel stopped at Rosa's Mexican for dinner, quaint outdoor courtyard about 5 minutes from hotel. Had great drinks and food.

Other Comments:
The crowd here is mosly older Canadians from either the west or Montreal alot are returnees every year.
We are late fourties and may have been in the younger half of the guests but there was much for the kiddies if you did bring them. It not really a party place but everyone seemed to be having a good time. If you need some missing toiletries or cash a walk up the road in front of the hotel to highway and there is a bank (Bankomer?) machine and pharmacy. We used brand name bank machines not the ATMs outside of bars it cost depending upon your bank between 22 and 70 pesos per transaction, the exchange rate though was better than the hotel (12.75 vs 11.5).
Stopped by the sports bar outside the front gate. There if you buy a drink you can get free wi-fi which allowed us to check in back home, upload photos and basically gloat to all those back in the snow.
Blocks 5 and 6 are away from the beach but the rooms are slightly newer and larger and quieter than block 4.
Bring an insulated mug we had 20oz bubbas perfect size, the small plastic cups get warm quickly.
We recommend this hotel if you don't expect anything fancy but it is very good basic clean accomodation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasant week of relaxation on a fixed budget"

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Martin  on Dec 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
100 people found this review helpful

Ours was a last minute escape only because November in Southern Ontario is the absolute worst month of the year - gimme sunshine.
And that is what you get, nice, warm and not expensive - all in for under $2000 for the 2 of us including air, parking, resort, wine purchases, taxis and tips - if you go crazy with the tours and vendors it will be more.

Room Number:
3317

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
After going through the time share sellers (Ignore them one and all no matter what they say to you and how legitimate it sounds) you arrive in that warm moist Puerto Vallarta air - great. The buses are waiting for you and the driver will place your bag underneath. Leave a tip of $20 - $40 pesos in his basket on the dashboard (about c$3.00). Bus ride is about 20 min from the airport. The check in procedure at the Royal is a breeze and they will have you to your room in no time.

Rooms:
The room was clean and tidy with linens provided. Do not expect a soft bed like you may have at home but you seem to sleep remarkably well even though its hard. There is a dresser and a closet with a little safe (rent it for the week from the cashier at the money exchange for about $200 pesos)you can leave your passports and valuables in it while at the pool)Tv and A/C work fine - with not too many English channels. The balconies have chairs to sit back and relax on as well as bathing suit and towel dying bars.

Restaurants and Bars:
Staff is always friendly every where. The bars serve all kinds of drinks both sweet and regular. Beer is great - the rum, scotch and gins et al leave something to be desired but after 3 doubles no on cares. The WINE is not good - we have been to the Royal Decameron once before and it was not good the last time either. We took a cab down to the MEGA store and purchased wine for the room for the week. I am told you can bring your own wine to dinner.
The restaurants are pretty good for an all-inclusive you will find something you like at the buffet as there is lots of choice. The bookings for the a-la-carte restaurants is a little strange as you have to get up at 7.30am to get a limited # of tickets and then they will book you a reservation at 8.00am in sequence for you restaurant of choice. Our favorite the Italian Piccolo.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools and grounds are really well maintained as is the beach. The beach has junk vendors and they will come by on on a continuous basis but just say no and they move on BUT they will be back.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are activities for kids and adults with staff trying to keep everyone busy. There are tours available if you like and the walk into Bucerias and the market and vendors is great - they all sell the same junk.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Better than I expected"

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paula  on Jul 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
300 people found this review helpful

reading some reviews before my trip I was not expecting a whole lot from the Royal Decameron Resort, when we got to the hotel I was shocked the service from the staff was GREAT check in took no more than 15 mins the bell boy took the bags right to our room !!!! When we got to our room I was floored AGAIN the room was big, CLEAN and it smelled great !!!! i loved our room
The food was good overall it is the same thing every day so yu get use to it
I suggest that you make reservations to the resturants on the resort ( the Italian resturant in Block 6 ) is the best !!!!! what a chef !!!! the bar tenders were friendly all the time and they made great drinks

The beach is great but you just get harrassed by the sellers on the beach so you can really relax

Watch out in the night time ( crabs are every where so watch where you are stepping ) The crabs come out around 2 or 3 in the morning

The shows were entertaining and fun but get there early
the pools are great and very clean I would recommend this resort to everyone and you know what I think my next trip I am going back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No Disapointments"

Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta
User Rating:  Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Apr 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
294 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Caution timeshare sales people in the airport try to trick you posing as your tour operator. Just say no thank you and keep walking out of the airport till you see a individual carring a sign of your tour operator. Arrived around 10 AM expecting to have to wait around for our room till after checkout time in the afternoon, what a treat our room was ready and waittng for us as we checked in.Resort staff took us and our luggage to our room as he explained the resort layout, restaurants and a la carte reservation process.

Rooms:
They are clean but could use more storage space for clothes and personal items.Only negative was they have no fridge for drinks and refreshments. The bathroom is nice and clean with a large shower only. Which is ok with us we never use a tub anyway. Note bring your own shampoo there is none supplied. Never had any hot water issues during our stay. We stayed in Block 6 which is away from most of the night activites and it was nice and quiet.

Restaurants and Bars:
The only thing I can say about the restaurants, is there are so many options of locations or food, if you cannot find something that you like you must not be hungry. We always left the restaurants having enjoyed the great service and food. There are several bars with great staff just bring your large insulated mug with you for the pool bars they have small plastic cups.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools where nice and warm.Only negative people reserving chairs with towels as early as 7AM and not showing up till noon like most other resort.Resort operators really need to do something about this problem. Beach is nice can walk for hours.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nice walk on the beach or the road to the little town of Bucerius. Lots of vendors,a couple of jewelry stores , local grocery stores and bars.
Easy walk to take the local bus into Puerto Vallerta, only 12 pesos each one way.

Other Comments:
My wife and I really enjoyed this resort it is not a five star resort,but we received lots of value for our money and we would go back in a hearth beat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube