Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)  

Cabeza de Toro (Punta Cana) - La Altagracia. Dominican Republic.

"Wonderful Spot"
Posted by: Debra on Apr 15, 2012
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Reviews
Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#18
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.5

Based on 10 reviews

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Information


The Hotel Be Live Grand Bavaro in the Dominican Republic, located in the heart of the Be Live Grand Punta Cana complex, is an ideal 5-star hotel for families, business trips and large celebrations, like weddings. It has a complete and exclusive Spa, sports facilities and a casino. This select leisure offer is completed with exclusive golf clubs nearby.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Reviews

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.5 of 5 10 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  5
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (10)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 10 of 10

"Relaxing place to stay for a week!"

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynn  on Apr 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
906 people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week long stay (Mar 27 - Apr 3). Arrived around midnight, but checkin was quick and easy (received a free 350ml bottle of rum as a welcome gift!). Resort is on same property as the Grand Oasis Punta Cana, which we had full access to.

Checkout was quick and easy as well - this resort is only 15 minutes from the airport. Our tour guide on the way back to the airport gave quite a spiel about needing money to get back to Haiti to visit his family this month and would appreciate all you could give him. The majority of people on the bus felt this was unauthorized begging and were turned off. We all realize what a catastrophe happened to Haiti and many of us have supported the relief efforts here at home in Canada, but were really turned off with the way this plea for money was conducted and tipped accordingly. Speaking of tips, we spent about $35 in tips for the week (maids, bartenders, waiters, tour guides, etc.) We've found that the Dominicans tend to prefer the little gifts/trinkets, while the Cubans prefer the money.


All in all, we had a great time and I would definitely go back to this resort!

Rooms:
Room was ok - albeit a little musty, but the humidity was extremely high for most of our stay so there wasn't much we could do about it. All 3 of our rooms were on the ground floor of either building 9 or 11 and our patio doors looked out onto one of the pools - very nice for the late afternoon when we would come up from the beach. We had a king size bed (which was very firm - so if you like a soft mattress - you're out of luck), sofa and small flat screen TV, lots of space for setting or storing the luggage and extra footwear. Closet space was ample and the small fridge was re-stocked daily. The beer and pop is free, but if you consume anything else - you will be charged - be aware! Two large bottles of water are provided daily free of charge for drinking, brushing your teeth, etc.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was the best we've had at any of the resorts we've stayed at in Dominican Republic, Cuba and Mexico. Our group of 6 (3 couples) went to 4 a la cartes and enjoyed them all. The Japanese restaurant is an experience - even if you don't enjoy the cuisine. One of the waiters at the Windows Buffet Restaurant stood out - Eldis - he is an absolute gem and will do anything to please - great job!

Bars were plentiful as was the liquor.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is gorgeous and was only 2 minutes from our room. Resort had at least 5 pools - one with a swim-up bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Many excursions are available. Four of our group did the zipline tour - left at 10 a.m. - returned around 4 p.m. 11 zip lines in all - one is almost a kilometre long! All had great fun, but it's not for the faint of heart, nor someone who doesn't like climbing stairs or hiking.

Shopping is available on-site as well as just outside the gates - be prepared to haggle, but the vendors aren't pushy.

Internet is available to purchase $4 US for 15 minutes - one time use....so even if you don't use all your minutes, you must pay again to use it another time.

Other Comments:
The safe is an extra charge - $21 US - but well worth it!

The electricity had some issues a couple of days, but it was only out for a few minutes at a time - nothing to get too concerned about.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Experience"

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Sep 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
881 people found this review helpful

We were booked in the Grand Oasis section via Hotwire 9/7-9/17 and were upgraded to the Bavaro section upon arrival. YEY! First time to the DR.
VACATION CLUB: This is one of the negative parts of our vacation. The Lifestyle Reps are everywhere all the time and they do talk to you and can appear very nice. They have a job to do - you must remember that and it is not their fault they are trying to get you to a presentation. Blame the resort owners. We were nice to the Reps and we did go to their sales pitch because we were curious. We did not buy into the VacationClub. They never bothered us again.
OUTSIDE VENDORS: A couple of times a week the hotel allows vendors to come in to sell their wares such as jewlery, tshirts and nicnacks. THEY WERE IRRITATING! They were even bold enough to approach you when you were sitting down for a drink. JUST SAY NO IF YOU ARE NOT INTERESTED. Ignore them and they will give up.
SHOP VENDORS: They are just as irritating! The resort could really improve their image if they would get the Reps and all the vendors to leave the guests alone. I would never recommend this resort to anyone based on the Reps and the vendors.
FELLOW GUESTS: There was a real diverse population that comes to this resort, 10% USA, 30% Spanish, 20% UK, 10% German, 10% French & 20% Canadians - all very nice. We met some great people during our stay.
OVERALL: The DM people are naturally friendly and are hard workers. We did experience some language issues as we do not speak Spanish. Had a good time

Arrival:
CHECK IN: Easy - no issues. Portor took us and the bags to our room. Received a welcome drink upon arrival. Grounds kept very clean.

Rooms:
ROOM: Clean, newer resort section, room 10106. Ground floor, no bug, no leaks-did smell a bit musty. Room was fine. Beds comfortable. No washrags in the room. Towels and hand towels provided. Safe worked well. Doors locked and felt secure. Good location to the pools and aQua restaurant.

Restaurants and Bars:
FOOD/SERVICES: We tipped. We got great service! BARS: If you give your waitress at the bar $5.00 when you sit down she will make sure your drinks are never empty. U-der-key (this is how it sounds) is a wonderful waitress at the main bar. She is so sweet and so fun. FOOD: We loved tha Tex-Mex, loved the Japanese, did not like the Italian and we love Italian food. The main buffett, Windows, is being renovated so everyone was allowed to go to all restaurants without extra charge. The seafood place was turned into the main buffett. aQua is a first rate restaurant, nice dining experience. You order off the menu and can also go to the buffett, They try very hard to produce fresh great tasting food - something for everyone. Nelson at aQua is the best! He provides exceptional service and is an exceptional person. :) We miss him already. We were suprised at how little seafood was available.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
OCEAN: Beautiful - nice water, clear, nice beach-not rough. Had no problems finding a papaula, beach chair or shade. The beach we used was in back of the Grand Oasis side. The beach in back of Bavaro was a small marina. Rained for about 10-15 minutes everyday. Did rain at night when we were sleeping. It was hot/humid but there always seemed to be a nice breeze most days.
POOLS: We stayed at the ocean in the am and moved after lunch to the pools, mostly the smaller pool. The main pool was always very busy. The smaller pool by aQua was less busy. We also used the small lazy river pool outside our room.

Other Comments:

We talked to those staying in the Grand Oasis section and lets just say they had issues!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was fun, it was sunny."

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Blayne  on Jan 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
822 people found this review helpful

We found that the service staff did their best and were pleasant. The food was decent. However, there appears to be a huge problem with the reception/administration at this hotel. For example, with two issues (getting a security lock and getting change) We were told repeatedly to "come back tomorrow", "come back in 15 minutes", "come back in 10 minutes"...and on it went. It took some of us two days to get a security lock and we never got change. We understand that we were in their country, and we respected that, but there should be somebody at the reception/administration area who can understand and take action. As typical Canadians we were all trying to be understanding and polite, however, after 2 or 3 days we gave up even going to the front desk for any issue.

Room Number:
5118

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
was pleasant and enjoyable..felt welcome. However, within one hour after arriving (we arrived at noon) there was confusion as to room readiness as we were told they were not ready and we would have to wait 3 hours (we arrived...and no one could give us an answer.) We simply went to our rooms after 1/2 hour and walked in and they were ready. The reception/administration area were the people that told us our rooms weren't ready....we, in turn, came back and told them they were ready.

Rooms:
We were in the older section but the rooms were decent.

Restaurants and Bars:
They were all good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't really go out of the hotel area...there to relax. We simply went for walks or stayed around the pool.

Other Comments:
After awhile, one almost becomes 'short' with the people trying to sell you time share condominiums, fishing trips or things from the stores. It does get bothersome and they don't give up.

The entertainment was good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Luck !"

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrea  on Feb 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
862 people found this review helpful

Arriving at the airport in Punta Cana was fine upon arrival to the hotel was great and fast as well. Check in went smooth and were given the keys quickly. We then had our lagguage taken to the room and shown were we would be spending the week. All was well until walking in the room and realized the AC didn't work nor the free bottle of rum was no wheres to be found. Our friends had arrived a couple days before as so they knew the ends and outs with the stocking of the fridge. ( Do not drink the small bottles of water you will be charged $4. As well as the safe is not included $21 ( Advised make sure you get it on arrival) or you will be robbed blind. Cell phone and visa went missing from my suit case which was locked within 24 hrs of being there, Not to mention it was a joining room and their was excess to either room ( door didnt lock.)Within two days room smelled like an outhouse coming from the washroom 24/7.(bring air freshener)Maids did not arrive in rooms till late in the day slack on towels and too many people having access to the room everyday,and it took three days for ac to be fixed, two days for joining door to be nailed closed and one day to recieve the rum. ps this was a suite on the Camelon side. Heard the other rooms were worse.

Room Number:
14314

Room Block:
Camelon

Arrival:
Everything wnet fine with arriving, very friendly and fast, but their was only six of as checking in.

Rooms:
Overall room was nice because it was refinished besides the outhouse smell and the joing door that didn't lock.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were great friendly staff, resturants I would recommend to be the best were windows for breakfast, lunch, supper the japenesse and the brazil. The mexican resturant had mouse in the lobby way.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was not appealing seaweed was washed up steady on the shore, the pool with the swim up bar was awesome the pool by the Camelon was dirty.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Jeep safari was a good time and was an all day trip, Catamerain was awesome, and not many activities on resort, but would recommend the shows they were entertaining and fun to watch.

Other Comments:
The disco didn't open until 11pm and when leaving they weren't as friendly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Vacation! "

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angie  on Mar 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
773 people found this review helpful

Before booking this resort, I had read several reviews... they weren't that great. I talked to my travel agent and she had never heard anything negative from her clients so I booked it. We were not disappointed! I loved this resort.

We had a slight problem with getting our fridge stocked but after speaking to Diego, we received three days worth of drinks. Jose Ortiz and Roberto at the front desk went above and beyond to help with anything that we needed.

We had a Junior Suite in the Chameleon Club section and our room was very nice.

The Nolitours reps, Diego and Adrianna, were great.

We extended our stay on the last day since we weren't leaving until late evening. We were moved to the Punta Cana side. The room there was awful. There was no hot water and the patio door did not open very easily. I am glad we only had to be there for an afternoon. I think our experience would have been much different had we booked the Punta Cana side.

The time share people were a little annoying but we just said, "No thanks." and kept on walking. They left us alone.

We had great weather and a great time!

Room Number:
4114

Room Block:
14

Arrival:
We arrived at midnight so we had no problems checking in at all. Staff was polite and efficient. We were in our room 15 minutes after check-in. We did not receive our free bottle of rum but our beach towels were in our rooms. We could have gone to the Punta Cana lobby to get our rum but we didn't bother. There was plenty to drink without it.

Rooms:
Our room was clean and very nice. We had a king size bed, whirlpool tub and separate walk-in shower. We were on the bottom floor by the lap pool.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was fantastic. We only ate at the buffets and the beach garden bar. We went to Windows a few times but preferred the atmosphere and food at the Aqua.

We went to the Casino everynight after supper to kill some time. Leonardo was great! He took care of us like we were VIPs. Didn't win much but we had fun.

We spent a lot of time at the pools in the Chameleon section. Nicholas at the bar made the best Banana Mamas and was an excellant bartender. We really enjoyed him and our drinks were always full.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There were ample pools to choose from. The Chameleon section had three to choose from. We stayed mostly in this area when not on the beach.

The grounds were nice and the pools were cleaned every day.

The beach had some seaweed but they kept up with the cleaning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I swam with the dolphins at Dolphin Explorer. It was the most amazing experience of my life. They do get you a bit when buying the pictures and DVD, if you want them, but it was something that I was never going to do again so I didn't mind. We did have a mix-up for the pick up and they never showed up on time. They picked up on the Punta Cana side and I was told by my Nolitour rep to be the Bavaro side. With the help of Roberto and Jose at the front desk, I got picked up. I did miss the orientation and my sea lion kiss but all in all it was a great experience.

Other Comments:
I went to this resort with an open mind after reading all the reviews.

Realistically, your vacation is really what you make of it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Third time and keeps getting better"

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Blair  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
817 people found this review helpful

A huge Canadian Hello to JOSE ORTIZ, the offer of exchanging our homes still stands. You come to Canada and I will look after the Front Desk.. Keep it real!! We have been in this Hotel now three times. This third time is again a notch better than the last. All of our rooms have been perfect. Do not expect a room at the Punta Cana side to be the same, Nor non Cameleon prices to be the same, you need the Cameleon Bavaro designation. The Bavaro side is the newer side of the resort and only has the Cameleon tag with it. You get your own a la carte restaurant formerly the Aqua. Their three meal fare is outstanding and all the guests we visited with were as impressed. There have been some changes with the staff and now they are all attentive on the customer. Our Front Desk Man was Jose Ortz, we is the most friendly caring individual we have met their. He took every one of our concerns to heart, ( they were all so minor, like forgeting our door key in room.) He instantly knew us from our check in and knew our room number. He processed our arrival and departure perfectly with no surprises. JOSE ORTIZ... You're the man. Perfect job. Keep it rel.... p.s Be Live Managers, don't lose this guy. As to the staff, all pleasant, kind and caring, to the supervisor of the maids and the rooms, perfect job. This woman is constantly reviewing the room cleaning and organising their maids from sun up to long after sun down, Thank You so much.

Room Number:
12101

Room Block:
12

Arrival:
Feb 26 2011 From Toronto

Rooms:
Spacious and well maintained. Clean to perfection. Great loacations. Terrific supervisors.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars are plentiful and clean. We had Nicholas as our bartender and he always introduced us to something new daily. Great job Nicholas. I still have your picture with the rum bottle on your head.
All restaurants were great. We ate at them all but we spent most of our time at the Chameleom a la carte the old Aqua now called the Brazilian. They have this huge BBQ that hold 24 long skewers that each hold 12 pieces of either steak, chicken sausage, lamb, filet mignon wrapped in bacon or turkey wrapped in bacon. What a feast. They come to your table after you pick up your salad and veggies and let you select off the skewers the meats you would like. They return endlessly until you have had enough and you turn your go coaster over on the table to reveal the stop side. Terrific food and atmosphere.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All the pools maintained well and sparkling blue. The decks and stone are hot so wear water shoes or the like.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were there for walking and relaxing. Met a great couple and hung out all week. Always terrific to meet someone to hang with.

Other Comments:
I hate reading these reviews. We always read them before we go and take nores of the bad review items. We are always happy to find that these fools don't know what is good for them and turn of potential guests. Take the chance and go to this wonderful spot. The only downfall and it is not a huge problem is the Vacation Club guys. Just say no pleasantly, don't give them any information about your home, or the time you arrived. Be blunt and keep walking. They get it after a few times. I tell them my sister is a travel agent and keep going.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely Wonderful"

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jim  on Mar 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
848 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Be Live Grand Bavaro 2/19 thru 2/26/2011. This was our 10th vacation to Punta Cana having stayed at this property 7 times under previous managements along with two other properties. We seem to always return to this property due to the price as we have not found any major positives at other properties to justify paying $300 or more per person for a week of vacation. Our vacation needs are for a beautiful beach, lots of sunshine, and a clean comfortable room to sleep at night. We have never experienced a big difference in the quality of the food, drinks or service between the properties where we have vacationed.
Our check-in was easy, getting to our room within 15 minutes after stepping off the bus.
Our room was room 12202 and was the best room we have occupied in our 10 vacations. The room was always well supplied with adequate beer, sodas and water as well as more than sufficient linens, including wash cloths. The maid service was incredible.
We visited all of the restaurants on the property and found then all to have a good selection,from the buffets to the a la carts.
The entire staff, from the Bartenders, the beach attendants, to the wait staff in the resturants we mostly very attentive. No, they were not all great but where can you go to find everyone at the top of their game. My compliments to Nicholas the bartenter by the pool near building 12. His bananna Mama was outstanding. My compliments also to Ortiz at the front desk for his superior attention.
No we were not robbed blind, nor did the time share and water sports sales people offend us. By the way the seaweed did not offend us at all and we had major seaweed on Wednesday. I'm talking 8 inches high for over 100 yards and they got it cleaned-up.
We will return to this property when the available price again fits our budget.

Room Number:
12202

Room Block:
12000

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad"

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ellen  on Mar 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
781 people found this review helpful

We don't normally do this as we tend to take reviews with a pinch of salt but this time we felt that we had to say something.We are not hard to please and try to make the best of things where ever we are but this time we could not,our room was not ready when we arrived but we went for a walk had a drink and when it was ready we thought it was great we had a lovely view.On closer inspection we noticed that it was not very clean the grout in the bathroom was black and bits kept falling off into the tub as the days went by we had no hot water for four days we told the front desk about this every day and they were always sending someone but it never improved until two days before we left we had to ask for towels every day even though we always left a tip.They put bottles of coke and sprite in the fridge but we had no bottle opener we asked for one but that took thgree days and when it came it was bent and did not work so we just never asked again.The steps on the stairs leading to the lobby were crumbeling chunks of concrete were falling off I was really worried about it giving way as I was going down stairs.On day three we were in "Windows" one of the resturants I pulled the chair in as I was sitting down and the the leg was really loose I pinched my finger which bled a lot the napkin was quiet red with blood my husband called a waiter and asked for a manager someone came over and my husband showed him the chair and what it had done to my finger he went away came back with a band aid mutter "sorry" and took off.It was one thing after another but if you pay your hard earned $$$ for a vacation this is not what you expect so take my advise stay away from this hotel the bad reviews that we read before we went were all true so this time we should have listened.

Room Number:
4222

Room Block:
Not sure

Arrival:
Sat.19th March 2011

Rooms:
Very shabby sheets and pillow cases were grey and the comforters had seen better days none of the drawers would open without a struggle

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were fine no problem with getting drinks but the frozen concoctions were never frozen.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was lovely the grounds were nice but again pot holes everywhere so you needed to watch where yoiu were going especially at night

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The usual.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Vacation"

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Feb 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
612 people found this review helpful

We travelled with one other couple. All 4 of us enjoyed our stay.
We arrived earlier in the day which resulted in the rooms not being ready. We went for lunch and the room was ready for our friends, and we were offered a different room which was ready, but had 2 beds and not 1 like we had requested. But it wasn't a problem, in fact turned out to be in a better location. The room was not set up as good as I usually expect to have and it had a musty smell. The smell did improve throughout the week, especially after being cleaned with bleach.
The restaurants that we did go too were very good. The Italian had a problem in seating us but did eventually set up more tables as we weren't the only ones waiting. The Japanese restaurant was our favorite. The buffet restaurants were also very good.
We did not attend any nightlife as the lady travelling with us had an illness which requires her to retire early. The casino which we did try out really was quite small, and not much action there.
The pool outside our rooms on the 11th block was our favorite, very quiet and no activities were planned there. There were lots of activities at the main pool.
The beach did have seaweed which they did clean up daily.
My only complaint was that I did not find any rye/whiskey at the bars. Not to say they didn't have it, but sometimes it was difficult to be understood when asking for it.
Certainly tips makes service a lot faster in dealing with the maids and the bars. For example the towels were delivered faster and the mini bar restocked regularly.
All in all it was well worth the price paid.

Room Number:
11110

Room Block:
11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Spot"

Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Bavaro (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debra  on Apr 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
526 people found this review helpful

This was my first trip ever to the Caribbean and I was not disappointed.
April 4-11, 2012

We arrived after midnight (April 5)so we checked in on the Punta Cana side as the Bavaro side was not open that late. Check in was fairly quick.
We were in Building 9, Room 9301. Another friend stayed in the same building on the main floor- she had great service. She had a problem with the bathroom ceiling leaking but it was taken care of.

Room Number:
9301

Arrival:
We arrived after midnight so we had to check in on the Punta Cana side as the Bavaro side was not open that late. Check in did not take long and went very smooth.

Rooms:
The room had 2 double beds, small round table and 2 chairs. There was plenty of desk space in the bedroom part. The small hallway had more counter top space with a cupboard which that the fridge. Another cupboard had room to hang clothes, a few drawers and a safe. We were given a key for the safe but in fact it took a code- once this was straightened out all was well.
Beds were fairly comfortable. Patio doors led onto a fair size balcony overlooking a pool. Patio had a small table and 2 chairs.
The bathroom was divided into 2 small rooms, one with the flush, the other with a sink and large shower.
We left a few gifts and $2.00 US every day for the maids.
We had a problem getting towels at first so you may need to keep after them.
Your room can be cleaned but you may not get fresh towels for a few hours after.
Also, the fridge at first wasn't being filled.
Rooms were kept very clean.
It was the Easter weekend so they were short staffed- nothing was a major problem.
Take your own facecloths.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was great. We ate at Windows Buffet which had a large variety of food.
The Gourmet and Brazilian restaurants were good. The best was the Japanese which was absolutely delicious and the food was cooked right in from of you.
The Aqua, which was just steps from Building 9 had great food as well. Breakfast & lunch was served here. At night it became a different setting.
The only negative comment came from a few in the group who had eaten at the Sports bar, which I had not eaten at.
No reservations are needed to eat at the large Windows buffet which is on the Punta Cana side.
Evening reservations for the other restaurants are needed. There are a couple of tables set up outside the Windows restaurant for people to stop and make their reservations for the days ahead. You will be given a ticket with the restaurant name and time which needs to be brought with you to the restaurant. I can't remember the hours they set up to make the reservations- somewhere around 9-2.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There are a number of pools around the resort. They appeared to be very clean. I was only in one of them but did see a man cleaning others.
The main pool with a swim up bar is huge.

The grounds were very clean and well maintained. I found they could have been marked much better but once there, you find your way around and they do have a map.

The beach was absolutely georgeous. It's like you see in all the pictures. There was a storm way out which did send in a lot of seaweed but it was cleaned up every day. The water was quite dark due to what the storm had sent in so the pretty green water was only in spots but it was warm and refreshing. You need to be careful as there were a number of quick drop offs.
You need to get up very early in the morning to get a spot in the shade. Take your towels and pick your spot. If you have towel clips, it seems to deter people from removing the towels.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I didn't see a lot of activites on the beach. They did have some kind of aerobics going on a couple of times. Music is great.
A friend went to the Spa and said it was great. They have a special Spa out in the ocean you can go to- it's suppose to be awesome.
On the Punta Cana side, I believe there are tennis courts and the theatre which hosts a few shows at night but they don't start until quite late.
There is a flea market across the street with lots of little shops. Barter with them all- they will try to charge outrageous prices.

Other Comments:
I would recommend this resort. Although a friend who is a seasoned traveller, rates this 5 star the worst 5 star she has stayed in, I have nothing to compare it to. I was quite concerned about travelling to the Caribbean after seeing so many negatives about different hotels. I was quite surprised.
It was a wonderful first time trip to the Caribbean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube