Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Westin Roco Ki Beach & Golf Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2014

The Puntacana Hotel

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa

4.1 based on 33 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2014

Riu Naiboa

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

IFA Ocean Bavaro Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Occidental Grand Punta Cana  

Calle Friusa Arena Verde 125, 1809 Bavaro, Punta Cana. Repķblica Dominicana

"very affordable place"
Posted by: effron on Sep 11, 2014
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#4
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 65 reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Information


A magnificent four-star superior resort located right on the famous Playa BŠvaro in Punta Cana, with sparkling white sand, turquoise water and swaying palm trees.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 65 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  34
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  11
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (38)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
With friend (2)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
1 - 9 of 65

"very affordable place"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  effron  on Sep 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
20 people found this review helpful

I and my girlfriend stayed here for about 5 days and we had a great time. It was amazing how affordable the resort is and I was surprised because they provide such high standard service here. The resort has nice layouts and beautiful plants that give it an extra beauty push. I have been to the Occidental Caribbean village, I donít know if it is related to this very resort but it was a great experience for me that was why we decided to try this one out and we werenít disappointed. It is an all inclusive hotel with nice rooms; the rooms are great with good bathrooms and a nice shower. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and cleaning team cleaned daily. The small fridge was restocked daily with soda and water. The resort is a multicultural one, there were people from different parts of the world speaking different languages, we met customers who have been here a couple of times telling why they keep coming back and how amazing their stay turns out every time they revisit. If you want to go on a nice family vacation or solo mission or even a romantic getaway, this is the place for you. The only problem that basically annoyed me was the fact that vendors were allowed on the property some times, which disturbed our peace. The WIFI was kind of expensive but we didnít really need it since we were here in vacation not business.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An abombination.."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  sandy  on Sep 3, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
48 people found this review helpful

Woeful. Wretched. At the Occidental, safety does not seem to be a priority. If you want fire hoses attached to their spigots, then don't go here. If you want to shield your children from open adult sexuality, then this place is not for you. If you would like your food cooked thoroughly, look elsewhere. If you want a modern, clean room with no dirt and dust, then again, this hotel is not for you. If you insist the pool bottom have either tiles (or at least a vinyl liner) or modern chlorination, then know, at the Occidental, you will be swimming in a large concrete bird bath containing neither. This hotel is old- old and worn. The website pictures are obsolete and not representative of the hotel as it exists today. Know that the nice new highway from the airport to the hotel zone also extends all the way to Santo Domingo, the largest urban area in the Caribbean. With the new highway, the commute from Santo Domingo is now down to two hours, fifteen minutes. Need I say more- the older hotels in the Punta Cana area are now local destinations and should not be marketed to the international traveller. Be warned, that once registered at the Occidental, like the Hotel California, you find it difficult to leave. An initial penalty fee of $250 grew to $1500 in hours as the Occidental tried to extract as much as possible. If not for the intervention of our tour operator, the Occidental would have gotten away with such an unscrupulous, unethical practice. It would be interesting to know the Canadian only reviews of this hotel. We would rate this hotel as a Caribbean two star at best- a two star with an open bar, an overwhelmingly local client base with local behavioral norms and in a dilapidated condition. Sound like a stress-free vacation to you- move on and chose a better hotel.

Room Block:
10

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is not a 5 stars resort"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jose Carlos  on Jul 30, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
51 people found this review helpful

This is not a 5 starts resort as they say. The people who attend is not kind. We had to wait for our rooms more than an hour when we arrive because they were not ready. And we had to carry our belongings and wait until somebody took care of our luggage. The bed was broken literally and I had to wait 2 hours after reporting it. After that I had to call reception again because they had forgotten!!!!! We had to wait 30 minutes more and 20 even more because eventually the bed had to be changed. The people in charge of the buffet restaurant are useless They do not attend you and you have to keep pushing on them just for sugar and water. I had to wait 30 minutes for a coffee. The second time I finally exploded and get angry because after requesting 4 times (yes. four times!!!) to the same guy for some sugar substitute I had to go by my self to take them. only at that time the stupid guy wanted to attend me. I got angry and even worse the stupid guy was upset to!!!!!!. One night, there was a local market for handcrafts, souvenirs and tobacco. I wonder how the management permit or do not review the kind of people who bring into the hotel. They try to rip off all tourists.
My wife wanted to buy 4 magnets and when we were going to pay the guy wanted 40 dollars!!!!! for 4 plastics little cheap made in china magnets!!!!!!! The cigar kiosk was the same. they were selling fake little "Coiba" cigars for 40 usd
There are also some permanent shops outside the receptions and they are the same do not trust on them.
The only good thing is the beach and the pools for kids. the buffet is not bad but nothing special either.
The customer service is very slow and you have to wait in a row just for asking the basics.
I do not recommend this hotel. The Internet is a shame. It is slow and you have to pay for it!!!! and it only works in one device. The guy that sells the internet service was the most rude and negative person I have dealt with. There is also a Russian guy in customer service that treat you different depending if you are European or Latino, I noticed while waiting in the long line waiting to be attended.

Room Number:
202

Room Block:
15

Restaurants and Bars:
Not too shavy

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not good

Other Comments:
Attitude is one of the basics when taking about service and even more in a place for tourist. This hotel had a lot to improve on this. the people who provide service is not willing to help the guess. In general I notice that they do not want to be dealing with tourist!!!! Of course there are exceptiosn like the guy who clean the room and the other guy that prepare the cocos. Also one of the guys that attend in the customer service (NOT THE RUSIAN) but most of the staff has to be trained on client service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not worth the money"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rodrigue  on Jan 5, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
322 people found this review helpful

I went with my wife, daughter and grandson (age 10) for our first time in the Dominican Republic. I tried to weigh the previous reviews thinking that it couldn't be that bad and that every resort would have its' critics.

Room Number:
311 and 312

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
We were assigned adjoing rooms in Block 26, rooms 311 and 312 in one of the Air Transat Preference Club blocks.

Rooms:
Initially, As expected, on arrival, the rooms were not ready but within an hour, one room was ready so my daughter and grandson were able to hit the beach. The cleanliness of the room was definately borderline. Luckily, I had brought some Clorox wipes and proceeded to wipe the dust and dirt from the coffee area (I decided against using the coffee maker as I was too grossed out). At least I could use the area for pouring drinks. Looking at the inside of the Fridge, it was disgusting and glad that everything in there was properly sealed. The fridge was properly stocked each day but as to the maid service, it was often 5 o'clock or so before the rooms were made up. Sometime it was just when we were returning from our day in the sun and wanted to wash up so had to sit on the balcony while the cleaning that he had all day to do got done.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food at the buffet was ok but I must admit that I found the food at the 3 resorts in Cuba more appealing. In the 7 years that I have been going south, this is the first time that I did not have fresh squeezed orange juice. All juices were from syrup. Food was inconsistent. Some mornings there was bacon and some not. There were a lot of Russians in the resort so maybe a lot of menu items were to cater to them.

Trying to get bookings at the a la carte restaurants was difficult as they were full on many evenings but once we were seated, I noticed a lot of empty tables. Why not fill these restaurants to capacity? While we were entitled to 5 nights of a la carte, and 2 reservations were made for us before we arrived, we were only able to secure another 2. We had 2 nights of Mexican, which were excellent, 1 night of Italian which was ok and 1 night at the steak house which was awful. The service at the steak house was terrible. We were seated a half hour and still did not have something to drink. The folks at the table beside us went out of the restaurant to get their drinks from the bar and brought them to their table. The party of five on the other side of us did not receive their orders as listed in the menu and when they complained, they received a shrug. They all got up and walked out leaving their meals almost totally untouched.

As mentionned on many previous reports, the drinks were inconsistent depending on which bar was making them. When I asked for a Mojito, I was told that it could not be made! The barmen, particularly Alexander was excellent and always smiling; whether or not people tipped or not.

The menu for the New Year's Eve gala was the same for everyone with no consideration for children or people who don't like seafood. Smoked Salmon entree, which neither my grandson or I ate, Scampi, which my grandson did not eat and I managed to get a quarter of it down with the help of a lot of lime juice. Like the family at the table beside us, we headed directly to the pizza bar after in order to feel satisfied. If this resort presents itself as a family resort then it should consider various tastes at such events.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Air Transat section of the beach is ok if your purpose is to drink yourself silly however as this area is in front of a boating area and not the swimming area, it was not practicle for watching my grandson in the water so we never used it.

Beach chairs, both on the beach and beside the pools were in very short supply. Although I staked my chairs before 7 each morning, on 2 occasions, I had my chairs stolen from me. Luckily with the Air Transat bracelet, towels were not an issue.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My wife and daughter took the Dr Fish spa excursion while my grandson and I took the swimming with the shark and sting ray excursion. Both excursions were fabulous however they both returned late. If my wife and daughter had not ordered for us at the Italian restaurant that night, we would have been out of luck as we were 45 minutes late.

Other Comments:
I took this vacation to relax and to shed the stress of a busy job. The constant hustling on the resort for Vacation Club membership, and buying trinkets caused more stress than I was escaping from. My wife has difficulty saying no so I was constantly "rescuing" her from some agressive sales person. It is like the purpose of everyone on this resort is to fleece each tourist of every available dollar.

I am not sure if I will ever visit the Dominican Republic again but I can say that I will never return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not worth the money"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  arthur  on Dec 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
329 people found this review helpful

Service is bad unless you tip lots, rooms leak water, your money would be spent better at a different resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's a nice get-away...., but no need to go back"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Esther  on Sep 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
420 people found this review helpful

With having traveled every year for the past 2 decades, I know what to expect, what to deal with, and what to look for when picking a vacation spot. This resort is nice, but thought I would share my experiences and call it like I see it, so that others can make up their own mind when traveling. The Dominican will always be one of the first choices for travelers looking for a lower budget-all inclusive get-away from your hectic life at home....and that's exactly what you get. What you make of your get-away is totally up to you. The Occidental Grand, (formerly Flamenco), is a well rounded resort with it's problems just like any other resort. People who share their horror stories, or their wow factor moments, made their vacation that way......NOT the resort. Once you realize that other countries standards and way of life is much different than ours, you melt into their way and enjoy a different culture, a different way of life, a different experience. Lets face it....that is what you want the vacation for anyway. To delve into a different life and forget your own. A little piece of paradise, and some relaxation. Please read on to find out the particulars on what the Occidental Grand is really all about.

Room Number:
117

Room Block:
25

Arrival:
My husband and I, were in the preferred club. This is offered through Air Transat/Nolitours bookings. Once we arrived at the Punta Cana airport, and got on our bus to transfer us to the hotel, we were booked into the hotel in the bus. The tour representative put our bracelets on us, and gave us our room keys, and our room number. All we had to do when we arrived at the resort, was take our luggage and go to our room. We didn't even have to approach the front desk...unless we wanted a safe key.
The in-room safes are older...taking a heavy key and lock. This costs you $25 non-refundable, and if the key is lost, it will cost $75. It is a smaller key, and if I knew ahead of time, I would have brought a key chain of sorts to put it on. I would recommend this.
The buildings all look the same and the building numbers are hidden on a marble tablet on the ground near the entrances, making finding your building tricky.
Because we were in the preferred club, our beach towels were already in the room, so no need to take your card and hunt out the towel guy. Although, you can find him easily as he is located by the pool in front of the beach grill, right out front building #25

Rooms:
The room was a nice size with a sitting area consisting of 2 chairs, table, and t.v. unit. We had a king size bed, and the bathroom is nice and large with a tub, shower, and medium size counter. Hair dryer fixed to the wall, and a magnifying mirror on hinges. The shower is a handheld shower head which is great for rinsing off sand.
The mini-bar fridge and coffee maker is inside a closet with a light. The mini-bar was cold, and they stock it with 2 sprite, 2 pepsi, 2 beer, and 2 bottles of 1.5 litre water daily. My suggestion is that if you drink half of a bottle...don't put it back in the fridge...they count that as 1 bottle and only leave 1. We brought Tim Horton coffee, sugar, and whitener along with small coffee filters in order to have lots of coffee. This is highly recommended if you are a coffee lover, as they only leave a few packets of sugar and 1 pouch of coffee a day which makes 2 cups.
The room was clean with a nice double sliding door to a large patio with a table and 2 chairs. The t.v. gets 91 stations and is clear satellite reception. The air conditioning worked extremely well. The pillows were kinda lumpy and thick, and the bed a bit hard...but comfy after a long hot day of drinking.

Restaurants and Bars:
One downfall of this resort is there was no consistency with their drink making abilities. Each bar, whether it was the lobby bar, pool bar, beach bar, grill bar.....no one was consistent in how to make a drink. I must have tried 18 different variations of a coco-loco.
They also had non bartenders making the drinks if they were busy. Many times, after ordering a drink...the person had no clue what went into the drink and had to ask another person what to do. I also saw the other travelers trying to explain the contents of a drink to the so called bartenders on many occasions. And I'm sorry...If you have a special "Dominican Flag" drink...you should know how to make it.
This resort does not believe in straws. They say the owner does not believe in buying things to throw away.....therefore no straws. Bummer. Especially when trying to drink a slushy Banana Mama from a tall skinny glass. I highly recommend bring your own straws.....you will thank me for it. I always carry straws on me.... (long story), so I had 2 straws, which I had to guard with my life and wash daily to last me the whole week. And they did!!!!!
The food is very good. We did not book any a la carte dinners because we like to do things on our on time...so the buffet was it. The beach buffet is o.k. It is open for lunch 12 to 4. Not a wide variety, and no pride into the quality....but it was food. The snack bar above the swim-up bar is good for a quick burger/fries/fruit. They call it a sports bar...but that's only because the televisions have football or soccer playing.
The dinner main buffet in the lobby has "specialty" nights, but pay no attention....there is such a wide variety that you can not tell what "special" night it is anyway. The seafood night....had 2 seafood dishes. So don't worry, and the food is great. Just don't expect a good dessert...countries like this don't do desserts like us...just have the rice pudding or the ice cream and call it a night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not much to say about the beach, because that is what everyone already knows about anyway. Yes there is sand and water. When we went down, the waves were large and hard to swim...but it made it fun jumping over the waves. Watch out when you go to check if the beach is flagged...green is a go...yellow is big waves, undertow, red is don't go in if you want to come out. There was lots of chairs and a moderate amount of palapas. The pictures you see, is exactly what it looks like, so enjoy.
The pools are clean and large with lots of chairs. The swim-up bar pool only goes about 5 feet deep and is the center of activity with loud music, volley ball and drinking. The other pool that runs through the building area is at deepest point 3 feet deep. Great for just sitting in and chilling, or for kids. It always seemed quiet with no one around it. A nice book reading spot and tanning area. No bar there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The resort is close to a local market area, if you walk straight out of the complex, you enter barter city. A 10 minute walk, if that. It is safe for tourists, however they see you coming and they are ready, so have your game face on. You can get lots of bargains, but know what you want and what you are willing to pay. The resort itself has a few gift stores...but the prices are higher and not a good selection.
If you walk down the beach 30 minutes...there is another market, and a good hair braiding spot. My hair is down to my mid back, I got my full head braided..and it was 80$.
The resort has vendors come in twice a week and they are pushy. If you look interested in cigars...you will 100% be asked if you need any marajuana or cocaine so beware. The jewellery is not always real, so know what you want.
Your tour operator offers a wide selection of excursions and there is also people on the beach offering parasailing/speedboat etc...watch who you book with.
If you gamble, there is a small casino on site in the lobby. Not a lot of winnings....but fun none the less.

Other Comments:
All in all, the resort serves its purpose. It is clean, you can eat, the food is good, the alcohol is free, there is a beach, you have air conditioning, the t.v. works, and there are places to shop.
Sure the bathtubs are outdated, and the water is not always hot. The drinks are not consistent with no straws in sight, but we had a blast.
Word to the wise.....there is no welcome gift. No there is not anything for free. There are people on the resort trying to sell you time shares into the vacation club, and lour you with the thought of free things...no don't book dinners at the a la carte restaurants with them...you will get to the restaurant and they don't know what your talking about.
They call themselves "concierge". They wear beige. Beware of the beige. Smile and walk by..or catch yourself in a full day tour/meetings...all for a "free hat"????.....
Just know what you want from your vacation and stick by your guns, enjoy your time away, and take the good with the bad. Don't try to compare.....just try to relax. Everywhere offers something different, and even if you visited the same resort 5 times....each time your experience will be different.
The Occidental Grand is no different. A good resort...awaiting your arrival.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Decent - but don't need to go back"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lolly  on Mar 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
618 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort for a wedding. I have mixed thoughts on the place. The Royal Club was pretty much worth the upgrade for the extra amenities - not the room though.

[+ The service] - pretty good in Royal Club. The Royal Club has its own little check in area with concierge. They were pretty helpful in getting a taxi to the airport. They picked us up in a golf cart so we didn't have to carry our luggage.

[+ Internet] - we got a voucher for 10 free hours of internet. I'm not sure if that is just for Royal Club members or not. There were also two computers in the Royal Club concierge building - so if you just need to check your e-mail a couple times, no need to bring a laptop.

Room Block:
19

Arrival:
Service was pretty good in Royal Club. The Royal Club has its own little check in area with concierge. They were pretty helpful in getting a taxi to the airport. They picked us up in a golf cart so we didn't have to carry our luggage.

They did freak me out a bit at check in because I made reservations online - they kept asking me for some sort of voucher. I had no idea - but it turned out to be ok though.

Warning - this is a hot spot for Canadian spring breakers the third week of March. We caught the tail end of it. Hoards of drunk unsupervised teens wander around at all hours of the day and night - it was sooo loud at night. It was loud most other nights, too (we were near the beach and they had a beach disco til like 2 a.m.) but especially loud those nights. They would sit on the balconies and cat call. So annoying and made it seem like I was in Daytona circa 1998 - not relaxing at all. This was when we really appreciated being in the Royal Club - the lines at the buffet was insane during that time period.

Rooms:
We stayed in the Royal Club area.

Ours was sadly in need of a major renovation. The furniture was quite old and very worn - lots of dings, scratches, drawers wouldn't open, etc. The lighting in the bathroom made putting on make up very difficult.

We had to keep the air conditioning off the entire time because it smelled like mold - the family of some friends were in the same building (19) and had the same complaint. I have severe allergies and asthma, so this made me very uncomfortable. There was also mold in the shower and mold completely lining the back of the blackout curtain. We asked to be moved, but there was no where to move us to. They offered to spray something to mask the smell... but that wouldn't have prevented breathing in mold spores.

We had friends in rooms that weren't Royal Club so much nicer than ours. However, the bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. Sadly, we were on the ground floor and faced the First Club's (I think it was called) private bar and also a large pool. We could never had our blinds open because people were always sitting right outside our room, essentially staring in. It was awkard and loud.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Royal Club restaurant was much preferable to the crowded buffets. The service was always good, though the menu was redunant. They served the same thing every night while we were there - I was especially limited as as vegetarian. The restaurant is quite lovely and intimate, with a nice little patio in the back and an ocean view from the windows. Breakfast was very good. It was never crowded when we were there.

We never ate at the a la carte restaurants, just the main buffet and the beach buffet. Both were like cattle calls. At the main buffet we spent the entire meal without water. If I'd had to eat there all the time I would have been annoyed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Royal Club has a somewhat "exclusive" beach area (though I definitely saw people who weren't Royal Club members in it). It's a combination of umbrellas, nice rattan chairs and beds with cushions, and cheapy recliners. There are only a handful of the nice chairs. People arrive at 6 a.m. to claim the chairs with towels/books. Sometimes these people never show up, and the chairs are wasted all day - which is annoying because there are not enough chairs/umbrellas for everyone. I once gambled and moved someone's towels around noon after checking with some people nearby who had been there since 9:00 am if they had seen anyone. I later had a very angry man confront me about it, saying "If you want a chair, you get here at 6 a.m. like me." I'm of the opinion that the people actually at the beach should take preference over some towels, personally. The beach bar was nice - I recommend bringing your own to-go cold cup because the plastic ones they give you are tiny.

The Royal Club private pool was never too busy (they call it a Jacuzzi - not to be confused with a hot tub). Unfortunately, there are no hot tubs at this resort, which would have been nice during the somewhat cool evenings as I am always cold

We didn't go to the main beach/main pools - all seemed pretty crowded. Grounds were pretty well kept and kind of pretty.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The wedding - LOVELY! It was on the beach and very pretty. They did a good job clearing the ocean behind the wedding for pictures and also kept people off the beach behind the wedding. The bride and groom were very happy with the photos and their price. The reception was awesome - they converted the beach buffet area into a reception hall. It was decorated gorgeously and the food was pretty good. One thing - they didn't close the area off or put up signs about a private event - so we did get random confused people wandering in and trying to eat the food.

Banana boat - we paid $12 a person - it was a lot of fun!

ATVs - a lot of the boys went on this trip and enjoyed it. But said it was long and dirty.

Horseback riding - some of the girls paid $50 a piece for this. They were told it was on the beach, but that was an exaggeration. They said it was mostly dirty trash lined roads and they walked to the edge of some water. They said the animals were untrained and malnourished. It was supposed to be 2 hours, they left at 2:30, and for some reason they didn't get back til past 6:00. One of the girls had left her baby with a babysitter and had no way of getting in touch. Two of the girls missed their dinner reservations. They were very angry and mad at wasting a whole day for such an awful experience.

Other Comments:
Harrassment - There are these people that are like vultures - they try to lure you in to these stupid meetings for a free $5 gift and try to get you to join the Vacation Club. They hound you constantly. Just ignore them, because if you strike up a conversation they will remember you and never leave you alone. But the last thing on vacation I want to be doing is worrying about being hit up for money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very very pleasant experience"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marjorie  on Mar 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
653 people found this review helpful

This is our fifth time back to Occidental Grand, Punta Cana. We have stayed in Bldg. # 25 second floor 4 times and upgraded to Royal Twice. Our maid service was excellent. Always had hot water if by using common sense we showered before 6 p.m. Service at main reception desk was excellent.The staff friendly and most accommandating.My husband and I are seniors and have travelled to the Caribbean to many island and many resorts. The grounds at this hotel are well maintained. Beach superb. We recieved respect at all levels.The only problem is that the entertainment for adults starts very late especially when you get up early to reserve a chair on the beach. The large influx of groups of students is very annoying. Overall the experience was very pleasant and with no problems for a 1 month stay we were most thankful. Will plan on another visit next year again in Feb/March.

Room Number:
204

Room Block:
25

Arrival:
Feb.11/12

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"February 25-March 3, 2012"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nicole  on Mar 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
697 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the Occidental Grand Punta Cana from February 25-March 3, 2012.

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
Our flight was delayed so we didn't arrive at the Punta Cana airport until 3:35am. Our bus was waiting there for us. The 2 staff were very friendly and welcoming. The bus was airconditioned and super clean!

The staff at the hotel were welcoming. They watched our luggage while we checked in and loaded our luggage onto a cart and drove us to our room and also carried our luggage to our 3 floor room.

Rooms:
Our room did require some upgrading, however it was ready when we arrived and was super clean. Our room was cleaned on-time every day. They also came in each evening and left a snack and also changed the garbage again, etc.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went to 4 restaurants. We also ate at the restaurant above the pool bar and at the pizza place. The main buffet and pizza place were probably our favorite places to eat dinner. No complaints about the food or bar. Our food was hot and everything was perfectly clean.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, pools and grounds were kept perfectly clean! Staff were constantly tidying up and cleaning. The only thing that surprised us was that at 6:00pm everyone must come out of the ocean and pools. This was our first time away without any children so it didn't really make any difference to us. However, if our children would have been there this probably would have been an issue as they would have wanted to swim in the evenings as they swam in the pools in the evenings when we took them away to another resort 2 years ago.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They have nightly entertainment and also a Disco out back that is open to everyone (even outside of the resort). They also had DJ night in the lobby while we were there (with lots of dancing). They have a beach party on Saturday nights (which would have been fun), but we missed it due to our flights.

Other Comments:
As you can see from my comments, I am not a complainer at all - but, I would NOT go back to this resort. Our hotel consierge harrassed us every day to the point that we used the back entrance most of the time to avoid him. Some units were worse than others. They first approach you and tell you that they would like to meet with you so that they can give you a free gift. The free gift ends up being given after you attend at least a 1.5 hour meeting. During this meeting they try to talk you into putting money down so that you can be a part of their "vacation club". Lucky, we were tipped off about this and didn't go to the meeting. Joining the vacation club is not cheap and the people that we knew that went to the meeting did not feel good about it after they came from it. We told our consierge that we were not interested in this at all, but he just didn't want to take "no" for an answer every day. He even wanted to go to breakfast with us one day. There are sales people approaching us constantly from excursions while relaxing on the beach to just walking from your room to the buffet/lobby, etc. and they are not always honest. We decided to book a photoshoot and were told it was $10.00/picture. When we went to pick them up, they had packages as high as $925.00 (US dollars). The salesperson that approached us didn't tell us that you had to buy a minimum of 15 pictures. After a lot of arguing - we did end up buying 10. Friends that we met there also booked an excursion (from the beach) and were told that the bus drive was 1.5 hours. It was a 3 hour bus drive each way. We just found that when were were told something, it wasn't always what you got!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gosia  on Feb 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
638 people found this review helpful

I'm from NYC and have ben going to D.R Punta Cana every year. I must say that this was one of the worst hotel i stayed at.
We waited 4 hr for a room.We paid for deluxe room and end up in old room so old that the furniture was falling a part. Air-codition wouldn't work for 2 days. If you don't give the manager some $$$ forget it about it. We have change the room 3 times..so my vacation was ruin..for 7 day stay.Like some other comments the staff was terrible not friendly at all. You do wait to get in to the buffet in long line. You have to get your own coffee the waiter never came. The food was cold,old and not so good. Not enough beach chairs-everyone will reserve their beach chair at 6 am if you want to have a chair. The night shows was more for kids-ok i saw 1 good show that's all. Don't buy anything at the hotel market they know you have money and will sell you stuff for much more $ telling you that just for you you getting a good buy-bullshit-sorry...we walk to market outside and was sooo much cheaper!! Painting for $20-hotel $150. This was the first time i booked with Expedia and will never again do that. They didn't had our names at the airport so we had to take a taxi. At the hotel you can't get anyone to help you-going back tp airport same problem...no Expedia person. I will never ever return to this hotel. Please read the reviews before you book a trip. People don't lie. Good luck if you going there to rest.

Room Number:
304

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
jan.24-jan 31-2012

Rooms:
Old-nothing like the pictures!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Terrible-cold-meat hard

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not enough chairs. big waves!! and cold

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube