Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Westin Roco Ki Beach & Golf Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2014

The Puntacana Hotel

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa

4.1 based on 33 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2014

Riu Naiboa

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

IFA Ocean Bavaro Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Occidental Grand Punta Cana  

Calle Friusa Arena Verde 125, 1809 Bavaro, Punta Cana. República Dominicana

"It is not a 5 stars resort"
Posted by: Jose Carlos on Jul 30, 2014
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#4
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 63 reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Information


A magnificent four-star superior resort located right on the famous Playa Bávaro in Punta Cana, with sparkling white sand, turquoise water and swaying palm trees.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 63 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  33
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (36)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (2)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
1 - 10 of 63

"Not worth the money"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  arthur  on Dec 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
285 people found this review helpful

Service is bad unless you tip lots, rooms leak water, your money would be spent better at a different resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I saw a rat and roaches by the food!!"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bev  on May 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
369 people found this review helpful

This hotel was very misleading according to the website. My family and I was sitting in the ounge area and as were sitting down conversing a HUGE rat runs in the bathroom of the hotel lobby. Everyone jumps up on chairs, screaming and yelling. The staff goes in the bathroom and kills it. It wasn't a mouse it was a RAT!! The size of my cat.

Your Arrival:
My arrival was actually nice, it wasn't until I got to my room and then came out to eat that it all went down hill

Rooms:
When my family and I checked in they gave us a mildew smelled room, ant infested in the bathroom, the toilet ran all night and oh how could I forget a television remote that looked as if had blood stains on it. The televesion was fuzzy on every channel. We were told that we would have two queen size beds at the time of us booking the trip...not at all. We had two twin sizes beds pushed together.
Now listen to this because you really won't believe this and I dont think anyone will this is why I took pictures...The shower head was not attached to the wall (it was laying next to bath tub) COMPLETELY DISCONNECTED from the wall. The wall where the shower head was suppose to be connected was so rusted that they must have just not bothered to put a new shower head there. The bath tub had rust in certain spots of the tub. It was awful!! I called the front desk to compplain and they gave e a new room 2 days later, that was no better.

Restaurants and Bars:
I saw two roaches near the food. I pointed it out to one of the workers and she tried to get rid of the two raoches as they were still alive and ran away. Oh and by the way that rat I ran pass earlier, he almost ran in the main food hall...YUCK!
The bars serve the usually water down resort drinks (but if u give a good tip) they will hook your drink up. The guys at the bar are wonderful. Please tip these guys they are really good guys and they work very hard. Although I had a horrible room I dare not take it out on these guys at the bar, they deserve the tip $$ as they work long hrs. You will see them morning, noon and night. Sheesh...
If you are into the night club scene , check out the Mangu, it's nice. Just a little on the younger side, but it's ok to go to for one night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were kept up nicely

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The best time my family and I had was when we left the resort. The excursions were reasonably priced, but well worth the $$.
The nightly entertainment on this resort was the same entertainment every night, after being there a week you get tired of hearing the same kind of entertainment.

Other Comments:
I would never go back to this hotel or recommend this hotel to anyone. The week that I went there were people in the hotel complaining about the same issues I was complaining about. And I told the front deask about my complaints they told me I was the only one. little did they know that I spoke to several other guest. This hotel sucks!

Oh yes and they try to suck you in your ENTIRE VACATION to do the time share thing, and when you tell them your not interested, you are no longer acknowledged. This worker I ran into every morning was my best friend and after 3 or 4 days when he realized I wouldn't go to the time share info session he wouldn't even speak anymore. Bad cust serv

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My experience was disapointing"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  chreryl  on Aug 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
371 people found this review helpful

Some members of the staff where not very friendly. they have staff there that try to sell time share type packages and they are very pushy and when you refuse they become quite rude. they are also not the most honest people that work there they just yes you to death and never do what you what you asked for. I have stayed at much better resorts with much nicer staff. i would not return to place nor would I recommed it.

Restaurants and Bars:
the oriental restaurant was very good. the lunch and diner buffet was always pretty munch the same every day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gosia  on Feb 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
595 people found this review helpful

I'm from NYC and have ben going to D.R Punta Cana every year. I must say that this was one of the worst hotel i stayed at.
We waited 4 hr for a room.We paid for deluxe room and end up in old room so old that the furniture was falling a part. Air-codition wouldn't work for 2 days. If you don't give the manager some $$$ forget it about it. We have change the room 3 times..so my vacation was ruin..for 7 day stay.Like some other comments the staff was terrible not friendly at all. You do wait to get in to the buffet in long line. You have to get your own coffee the waiter never came. The food was cold,old and not so good. Not enough beach chairs-everyone will reserve their beach chair at 6 am if you want to have a chair. The night shows was more for kids-ok i saw 1 good show that's all. Don't buy anything at the hotel market they know you have money and will sell you stuff for much more $ telling you that just for you you getting a good buy-bullshit-sorry...we walk to market outside and was sooo much cheaper!! Painting for $20-hotel $150. This was the first time i booked with Expedia and will never again do that. They didn't had our names at the airport so we had to take a taxi. At the hotel you can't get anyone to help you-going back tp airport same problem...no Expedia person. I will never ever return to this hotel. Please read the reviews before you book a trip. People don't lie. Good luck if you going there to rest.

Room Number:
304

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
jan.24-jan 31-2012

Rooms:
Old-nothing like the pictures!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Terrible-cold-meat hard

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not enough chairs. big waves!! and cold

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst rooms ever"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lawrence  on Aug 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
623 people found this review helpful

Received my room keys @ 4pm and headed to the room. When I got there the room wasn't ready, they were in process of cleaning it and making the beds etc. After a long flight I thought it was extremely annoying that I had to wait outside with two kids so they can finish. Granted we chose to go during hurricane season, but it doesn't change the fact the rooms were in horrible conditions.The first room they gave us had roaches, sliding door to the deck wouldn't lock, no hot water while taking a shower, toilet had a horrible smell after each flush, and the sink knobs were loose and could only turn towards the hot water. Complained to the front desk and they gave me another room on 08/20/11..On sunday 08/21/11 the rain started around 8pm, the bathroom's ceiling had a leak that never stopped leaking..Called the front desk and they said they would send someone over, but no one came, and the next day I woke up with a huge puddle in the bathroom and hallway..We got fed up that no one came so we showed the leak to a cleaning lady and to solve the problem she put a bucket in the bathroom to catch the water. Left the hotel on the 8/24 and the bathroom was still leaking..Good things about the hotel was the entertaiment crew, they were amazing and talented. The waiters and waitresses were terrible not all, but a majority of them. They were playing favoritism towards certain hotel guess and it really upset me consedering I paid the same amount of money as the next person. Last I checked money had no color Barriers.. Think carefully before going to Occidental in Punta Cana, you will regret your decision.....

Room Number:
13211

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awful"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  marva  on May 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
411 people found this review helpful

This is the worse hotel i ever stayed in, i would give it a double zero if i could and i would never go back there. how would such a large resort allow so many huslers in to harass the tourists. the food sucks.

Room Number:
126

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
we arrived on may 8 about 11 am group of 53 checked in was told rooms will be ready by 3 pm some rooms were not ready until after 4pm could not get a clear direction as what to do until rooms were ready no one seems to speak english i could not even get instructions as to what restaurant was open because again no english.

Rooms:
the rooms has a very foul smell i have to request towels 3 days out of 7 they remove the dirty one but do not replace new ones

Restaurants and Bars:
a group of us went to the orential restaurant 2nd night waited for about 30mins before water or menu was given waited another 30mins and was never served many of us left without being served
others left after the food was served because it was cold and teastless same problem in the stakehouse .it seems as if the buffet restaurant recycle the food every day same food lunch time and dinner time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach ground seems ok

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
did not participate in any activity

Other Comments:
i know that this is a spanish speaking country but i believed the people on the front line should speak english because they are catering to a lot of people that speak english this should be a pre requisite for employment.there should also be a designated area for smoking.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worse place on earth"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reggie  on Aug 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
517 people found this review helpful

This has got to be the worse place me and my family have ever been. When we got there the room we where place in had no A/C no lights when you enter not enough towels and on the third floor. I called and waited for someone to resolve this issue for 4 hours then I got a/c but it went out before morning and was told so many different excuses about it that I demanded a new room which they refused then the next day we where requested to come to a meeting and then we where showed several amazing suites that we can have for $14k upgrade to some vacation club what an amazing nerve of them don't waste your time going here they really go out of their way for everyone but americans

Room Number:
321

Room Block:
26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor customer service"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  RUIZ  on Jul 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
378 people found this review helpful

The resort was fine but the customer service was terrible. You would need to go get all your drinks all the time. The resort was under staff. You would have to go to the bar and ask for a drink and it would take like 15 to 20 minutes to wait on this hot weather. There was too many high school students. The night club was to be included in our packaged and they were charging $20.00 dollars to enter the night club. We went to play tennis and was told we did not have the proper cloth and shoes. Also, had an a problem with our apple representator picking us up to take us to the airport so i asked the customer service if they would assist to call the apple representator and said they couldn't assist. So, i asked the front desk and said that customer service desk would be able to assist. I told them they didn't want to assit. She said she was going to talk to them so final after bouncing back and forth. They assisted. We were stressing out because we did not want to miss our flight.

Room Number:
13219, 13217, 13227

Room Block:
13219, 13217, 13227

Arrival:
7/6/11-7/13/11

Rooms:
WE HAD REQUESTED TO DOUBLE OCCUPANCY AND THEY GAVE US A TWIN BED FOR ALL THE 3 ROOMS WE BOOKED. WE COMPLAINT BECAUSE WE DID NOT FIT SO FINELY AFTER A DAY THEY GAVE US A FULL SIZE BED. THE ALARM DID NOT WORKED AND ASKED TO BE CHANGED LIKE THREE TIME. THEY NEVER DID GIVE ME AN ALARM CLOCK.

Restaurants and Bars:
UNDER STAFF SO THEIR WAS NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE BUFFET RESTAURANT CLOSE AND HAD ONLY ONE FOR SUCH A LARGE RESORT. ALSO THEY WOULD TAKE A LONG TIME TO REPLACE THE FOOD. THE FRUIT WOULD LOOK TERRIBLE AND NOT FRESH LOOKING AND SOMETIMES IT HAD A FUN FAVOR. IT WAS SITTING OUT TO LONG. HAD TOO MANY HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOLS CLOSED TO EARLY 7:00PM

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
THIS WAS FINE UNTIL. WE BOUGHT A BANNANA ACTIVITIES AND THE PERSON DID NOT ASSIST US AT ALL ALTHOUGH IT WAS ALL CHILDREND THAT ROAD THE BANNANA. HE MAD ATTENT TO ASSIST THE FRIGHT CHILDREN IN THE WATER.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Leaky Roof"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sarto  on Jan 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
641 people found this review helpful

Rooms were not ready on time (3:00pm). Rooms were not made in a timely manner the entire week (we had to ask for towels, 6:00pm at night still not made).

First two nights leaky roof, requestedto be moved. They said they were moving us to a renovated building. Leaky roof again and a bad smell in one room (we first thought it was cigarete smoke, but it was possibly mold). We met another vacationer as we were leaving and we found out that they had moved out of our second rooms the same day we moved in, because they complained about the roof leaking and the smell of mold.

The hotel moved us from a bad room to room that was worse, hoping that it wouldn't rain and told us it was renovated. Air Transat is complicide in this scam, as they are aware of the problems at this hotel.

4 star my @#%$&

Room Number:
11-217

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most disgusting place ever - avoid building 24 as it is very run down"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on May 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
418 people found this review helpful

I am being generous giving it a 1 rating as I had to put something there. Now where to begin....no tv for 3 nights, hot water maybe twice the whole week. Staff did not understand english (we asked for a hand towel and they never knew wht we were asking for) Asked for Kleenex the first day and got it on day 6. Power outages, gas leak at the beach restaurant, food was terrible and on Sat 1000 Dominican arrived at the resort for 2night stay and took over the place, line ups in the lobby to get into the buffets. Pools are wading pools not swimming pools. Rooms were dirty, dark and dingy. Bars seemed to make one type of drink Miami Vice and unless you asked for it no liquor was included. I have pictures to show of the bathroom and the mini bar (came with 2 beer, and 4 pop which were never replaced) to show people how disgusting the place was! Never again.

Room Number:
25-122, 24-210, 24-208

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube