Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Westin Roco Ki Beach & Golf Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2014

The Puntacana Hotel

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa

4.1 based on 33 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2014

Riu Naiboa

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

IFA Ocean Bavaro Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Occidental Grand Punta Cana  

Calle Friusa Arena Verde 125, 1809 Bavaro, Punta Cana. República Dominicana

"It is not a 5 stars resort"
Posted by: Jose Carlos on Jul 30, 2014
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#4
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 63 reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Information


A magnificent four-star superior resort located right on the famous Playa Bávaro in Punta Cana, with sparkling white sand, turquoise water and swaying palm trees.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 63 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  33
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (36)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (2)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
1 - 10 of 63

"This was not an enjoyable holiday."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stephanie  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Dec, 2008
232 people found this review helpful

Arrival and Flight:
Arrived 7th of December 2008. Flew with ArkeFly. With a stop over in Puerto Plata.

Room 1: Building 11 Room 234, was not renovated, air-conditioning was noisy and the walls were dirty with mold.

Room 2: Building 12 Room 124, was renovated, water with no pressure in the room and in front of the laundry (not very quite place).

Restaurants: We tried the Italian, which was nothing special! We tried the Mexican that was just "so-so". Ate all our breakfasts and most dinners at the main buffet and after a while my boyfriend and other 10 people went to the hospital due to supposed poison food. (high fever, vomit, abdominal pain and diarrhea.)The tablecloths were not clean and also the chairs and sofas were dirty. Not very hygienic.

Bars: Barman loves to serve alcohol.

Beach and Pools: The beach was always kept clean and guarded. We never spent time at the pool.

Grounds: Beautiful gardens.

Departure and Check Out: No friendly employees at the reception.

Conclusion: We were at this resort in December 2008 and unfortunately we are not happy because of the supposed poison food. We, therefore, decided to do not return.

Medical service in the hotel: A consult cost $95,00 and they will always send u to the private clinic.

Hospiten Bavaro: This is the only private clinic in the area, good structure, clean but the personnel of the hospital is not qualified. They are happy to keep you longer in order to gain more money from your insurance. Doctors do not speak English and are not so willing to explain to you the situation of the ill person.

In conclusion, this was not an enjoyable holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A good holiday."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian from Winnipeg  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
247 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 29, 2008 to January 5, 2009
Left Winnipeg on Decemeber 29, at 7:00. AirTransat/ SkyService. I believe the temperature at the time was -20. Arrival into Punta around 2:00. Two hour difference in time. So it was just over a 5 hour flight from Winnipeg. It must of been about 25- 30 Celcius when we arrived in Punta Cana. No issues at the airport. Just a hazzle trying to find what the numberof the Bus was which takes you to the resort. We were the only couple going to the Occidental. Others on our bus were headed to the Ocean Blue. It took us about 30 - 45 minutes to arrive to our hotel.

Rooms:
We were in the Preference Club part of AirTransat. No problem with the check in. Problem was when we went to our room it was still occupied. We were in Bldg. No 23, 3rd floor, so they quickly found another room for us on the same floor. Room No. 23-307. Prefernce Club really is nothing extra special. Free Bottle of Rum was only 350 ml. Fruit tray, looked like it was left over night. only the turn over service where we got a new beach towel every day. There were minor issues with the room. It was clean, the remote didnt work. We weren't there to watch Tv so it wasnt a concern. The Balcony light was broken, complained but it was never fixed. The showerhad no pressure. Wefoundout from a couple we met on our last day. That there is a ring on the spout that you pull down, which enable you to have a shower. Duh! How are we to know if you aren't told. Lesson for next time.

Restaurants and Bars:
All restaurants are in the same area. 4 A la Cartes. Brazil/Mexican/Asias/Italin. Along with the Buffet, Beach Bar, HomeRum(Preference Club was Breakfast.) Met some people who got sick from the Asian, we went anyways. Big mistake got sick as well. 2 1/2 days to recover. Lots of time spent in the Bathroom. Pizzeria hand tossed little greasy but fresh. Buffet decent for the food selection. Service was very good in all Restaurants. spent New years there. All Al a cartes / buffet offered the same menu. Lobster and Steak. Was very good, best meal we had all week. Beach Bar had great french fries. As for the bars, service a little slow, flavored drinks really sweet. Domestic alcohol. International drinks were charged around $5Us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Prefence Club had there own section. Not much there, just closed off at the end of the Resort,on the Beach. Lots of Beach Chairs, butthey are scooped up qiute early. always managed to find a few. Lots of vendors on the beach trying to sell you something. Beach was well kept, water was rough everyday we were there. Grounds were in great shape well maintained. Its easy to find your way around the complex. There were 3 pools one with a bar around. Not a lot of people at any of the pools. More so on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
They had shows on every evening we were there. Nothing spectacular. New years they went all out. Had Isay it was similar to a Circus High Wire Act. Very Good, well done. Offered Hats and Party Favors to all in attendance. |Didnt see much of the Animation group so cant comment on that. Went to Sanoa Island saved $30US instead of going thru Transat went thru Caribe tours. Only problem was 95 % spoke another language we were the onlyones to speak english.

Other Comments::
Last day we checking out to leave Bus was suppose to pick us up at 12:20 nothing turns out there is flight delay. Pushed back to 7:20. Transat tells us to go the Beach enjoy a few extra hours here. Shower at the spa again( which isnt whats it all cracked up to be) Okay we are all set to go again. Oh Sorry another delay pushed back to 10:55. Unreal, end up leaving Punta Cana at 2:30in the morning. There's more. While we there for our last day the water was out. Itturnsout they were taking water from the pool and using itin the Restaurant. I dont know about you, but that's pretty disgustuing. Turns my stomach, maybe thats Ive been feeling under the weather. So what turned out to be a good holiday, makes me wonder about going back there. feel free to email me

smithbri@mts.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is the strong point of this hotel."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Shane from Manitoba  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
240 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 4th to January 11th 2009
arrived at the airport in Punta Cana about 3:00 and got to the resort about 4:00 as some idiots on our bus wanted to stop and buy beer at a little store which turned out to be about five minutes from the resort

Rooms:
rooms are clean but are very out dated mainly the bathroom which is the worst we have ever seen showers hardly had any pressure, tubs are very small and old and just really YUK!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
we ate at the Italian which was good the services was fast and the food was hot , the Japanese which was very bad food was bad service was very slow it took over an hour to get it and we ate at the mexican it was alright but definately not 4 star quaity the buffetts are OK but go for the food that is cooked right in front of you like omletes and the pastas otherwise most of the food was luke warm at best all of the bars are good maybe even the best we have seen as the drinks are definately not watered down but not much of a selection.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach is the strong point of this hotel as it is a hundred times nicer then any we have stayed at in Mexico the pools are nice and grounds are very well kept down side of the beach is the guys trying to sell their junk all day long everything from cigars to statues and jewerly the pools downside by the swimup bar is the music which starts as soon as the bar opens

Other Comments:
would propably not go back but enjoyed it while there this hotel should definatily be down graded from a 4.5 Star to maybe a 2 star if it is not upgraded soon as the lobby and the rooms are really starting to show lots of wear and tear

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff and the service were impeccable"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Veni from Montreal  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2009
235 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
November 3, 2008 Well...It's a bit complicated. I did not book this trip with a Tour Operator, I instead used the "build your own trip" option with Expedia. I spent an hour on the phone with the Customer Service at Expedia going through EVERY detail. I received my confirmation via e-mail and all was perfect. This was my second trip to the D.R. so I knew what to expect at the airport and how to find the transportation to the resort. The flight was good, no delays. The bus ride to the resort was fun. Check in was ABSOLUT HELL. I payed for a 13 day stay in the "premium class" room, they had me booked for 5 days and the Hotel was sooo full that they could not extend my stay. Try to imagine a person sitting in a lobby in full winter gear, sweating, while everyone else are in they're bathing suits, yelling a a Customer Service Rep. at Expedia (on my cell because those "pay phones" in the lobby will drain your credit card). 2 hours, an appology and refund for 8 days from Expedia later, I decided to stay the 5 days and make the best of it and spend the rest of my vacation in the city with my Dominican friends. All through out my 2 hours sitting in the lobby, the staff were extremly nice towards me, they served me drinks and chit-chatted with me while I was on hold on the phone. The staff at the Reception area were the best.

Rooms:
I was in building 24, ground floor. The room was nice and spacious but the washroom could use a slight updating...the tub was a bit small and the shower head was installed too close to the wall. You are practically kissing the tiles when you are washing your hair! The locks on the door and balcony work well but you have to pay if you want to use the safe. The room fridge was replenished daily and you have all the fixings included with the coffee maker. There was an iron, ironing board, hangers even an umbrella available in the closet.

Restaurants and Bars:
All the restaurants (buffet and à la carte) were good, no complaints. The bars closed fairly early.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEAUTIFUL! Occidental is a good size resort so the beach seems almost endless and pools every where! The grounds are very well maintained too. Take advantage of the schuttle service, trust me! Unless you are actually strolling, you'll find the route long from the bar or restaurant to your room.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The "Mangu" is a dance club situated in the entrance of the hotel. Guests of the hotel don't have to stand in line to get in but the visitors do. Fantastic club with 2 dance floors. I don't know if guests of the hotel pays for the drinks, but if it's not too late, there's no need 'cause there's a bar in the main lobby, anyway. There's an outdoor stage also, try to see a show, it's fun.

Other Comments:
There's not much more I can say about Occidental because my stay there was cut short, I felt like I had to rush about just to able to take advantage of anything. For all it's worth, the staff and the service were impeccable but I'd rather visit another resort the next time I go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan from Nova Scotia  on Feb 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
257 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 7 - 14
Got there early in the day after leaving Halifax at 6:30 am. Arrived at the hotel where it had been raining off and on all day.

Rooms
We stayed in building 12 which was a good location. Close to the beach and close to everything else. Rooms were immaculate and very nicely appointed. The king size bed was actually that, not two twins shoved together. The pillows were great too. Lots of hot water and water pressure.

Restaurants and Bars
So many to choose from. I especially liked the beach bar which was convenient and you didn't have to walk a mile to get a drink. The food was superior in the buffet and the a la cartes. Great drinks and they were generous with the liquor.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was 5+ star and the grounds were very well maintained. The pools were clean clean clean, just not warm enough. That might have had something to do with the fact that it rained for our first 4 days.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We didn't do any tours this time because we have done them all over the years. Just went for some R & R

Other Comments
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A truly great experience."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doug from Goderich  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
266 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 24th to Jan 31st
We arrived a bit tipsy, but check in was a breeze. We were taken to our room right away via a comfortable golf cart and a friendly driver who loaded and unloaded our luggage.

Rooms:
We stayed in building 13 (room 118 ground floor). The room was clean and spacious. We never had a problem with hot water, it was plenty hot and available all the time. We had one mishap with the shower head, but maintenance fixed it that day. AC was cold all week, and we never had any issues with power outages.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Buffet: I thought the buffet was quite good, they have fresh fruit, omletes, fried and poached eggs, pancakes, pastries, crepes, what more do you want for breakfast? I cant really comment on the lunch in the buffet as we never went there for lunch. Since we are beach people, we ate at the Beach Club which is a mini buffet aat the beach's edge. Burgers, fries, fruit, pasta, salad etc. We went to the ala cartes every night except for 2. Those 2 nights at the buffet were also good, with lots of choices. Don't forget, your in the Dominican, not Toronto. Don't get picky over the food.

The Italian Rest - never made our reseservation, too many mammajuana shots that day..ugghhh. We heard it was good though.

The Mexican Rest - Awesome, we had the quesadilla and the burrito and both were good. They also have cheesy nacho's which my fiancé loved and became addicted too.

Home Run Rest - This is the restaurant that's above the swim up bar. Its available for breakfast in the morning to Air Transat guests only. It opens at 11am for the rest of us and stays open ˜til 6pm. Typical sports bar food which is yummy burgers,hot dogs, fries etc.

The Oriental Rest - This was our favourite!! Very good sushi and great dinner plates. We had the Chow Mien plate and the Scallops and Prownes plate. Super good. If you like asian food, book this place twice. Las Riesa (steakhouse) We had this the last night we were there and it was also good. A word of advice tho, if your hungry, order the rib-eye, as I ordered the steak and Potatoes an the steak could fit in the palm of my hand. The Rib-eye was much bigger. Don't get me wrong though, the steak was very good but gone in three bites.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The Beach was awesome. I'm a bit biased here because I tend to like beaches a little quieter than this one, ie cuba. The sand was soft and there was an abundance of chairs. I laughed one morning, as I saw a couple come down at about noon, to find that their towels we gone that they put there most likely by 7am. I hate people who do this. They got what they deserved. The beach bar was awesome and J. Carlos was a great bartender until he kept feeding us those mammajuanna shots (refer to Ittalian nite).The pool was nice, but we are mostly beach people so we didn't visit there much.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My fiancé and I ventured out to Steve's Bar on Wed to meet up with other TA members and had a blast. Make sure you go on the Wed of your visit there.

As far as tours go, we did one excursion to the Marinarium which was awesome being able to swim with the sharks and rays. A truly great experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved it."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jean from New Brunswick  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
249 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Feb 16 2009 early afternoon No problem at check in every thing went smoothly

Rooms: Building 24 Rm 101
Our room was beautiful super clean bath robes and slippers comfortable bed beach towels daily in our room turn down service and treats in the evening bottle of rum and fruit basket on arrival

Restaurants and Bars
all restaurant were excelent the pizza was amazing Buffet had a great selection with very friendly staff

Beach/Pools/Grounds
W spent our time on the beach well maintained and beautiful people selling things all day cheapy cheapy

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
we did no tour this time relaxed on the beach

Other Comments
This was our 5th time to DR The best yet We would go back to this resort We loved it. we had a delay on check out but we were well looked after until we could leave for the airport 3 hours later we had regular updates on weather conditions and made the best of the extra hours

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5 star but still a wonderful resort."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Deb from Saskatchewan  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
224 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 20 - 27
Arrival was great. Quick bus ride to the hotel. Very quick stop for a cervecza on the way there. The bus "assistant" took our orders right after pick up and we pulled over and were handed a bag of beer. Took about 10 seconds!! $5 US per beer. We booked through Transat so had a very quick check-in at the Transat only check-in. The other check-in counter was not busy either tho. Friendly staff brought our bags right up to our room and all was good.

Rooms
Our room was on the third floor which I would reccomend. The other couple we travelled with got a second floor and had some leaky areas and musty smell in their room. Third floor had great raised ceilings. Room was nice. Nice little balcony overlooking the pool. Great place to have a cervecza in the evening before heading down for supper. And I also enjoyed reading my book and having a coffee out there first thing in the morning, in the hotel supplied robe. Bed was comfortable. Shower was fine once I figured out how to turn on the shower head! Leaked onto the floor every time we showered (perhaps causing the leaky ceiling on second floor??) A/C was working great. Comfy room. Wear your slippers (supplied in room for transat guests)while walking around in room. I stepped on a piece of glass getting out of bed one night with bare feet and cut my heel quite badly. Was a small piece of bottle glass hiding in the tile grout. Easy to miss but not fun when you find it in your heel.

Restaurants and Bars
Bars are all great. No shortage on drinks... and certainly never watered down!! Cesar at the sports bar is great and various others around the resort. Lots of fun! Restaurants were good. The buffet by the beach is great, don't have to leave the beach for too long to get a good hot meal or a snack. Great service from the waiters and waitresses too. Never a shortage on drinks. The main buffet was good, didn't eat there much. The A La Cartes were very good. Mexican was least fave, loved the Oriental (order extra sushi.. mmm good)and the Steak house had great steak and mashed potatoes. Ribs were good too. Italian had the best desserts. The Mahi Mahi with veg. lasagna was mucho delicious! Sports bar was good for snacks and good quick breakfast for the Transat guests.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was amazing, sand was white, water was blue, all gorgeous. Can walk for miles up and down the beach in front of the resorts. Many vendors down the one end if you want to do some bargaining. Lots of vendors walking up and down with the "cheapy, cheapy, almost free" they didn't bother you if you said no gracias and they were alot of fun to spend some time bartering with if you like to do that. Pool was beautiful winding through the whole resort. Grounds were also gorgeous, and always being tended too. Millions of photo ops!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Went on the Tropical Storm Sunset Lobster tour. We had a great time. It was a bit breezy and cool that day with some rain so it was a little cold on the boat but we just danced and moved around and thouroughly enjoyed ourselves. The lobster supper at the JellyFish to end the evening was a highlight. Cost was about $129 US I think. Enough, but it was worth it. We went parasailing on our beach and that too was great fun. Lots of different vendors on the beach ready to sell you a parasail ride at any time of the day.

Other Comments
We had a great holiday. Not a 5 star but still a wonderful resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The entertainment at night was hilarious."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Heather from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
227 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 14 to Feb 21 We arrived at 11am , were checked in right away , it went very smooth , the ppl were all very nice and helpful

Rooms
We had a jr suite , it was spacious and clean . The bathroom was clean and nice , and it had a beautiful balcony

Restaurants and Bars
There were several restaurants , we went to the Mexican one and it was very nice . The buffets were great and there was always something there that you liked . The waiter and waitresses were all very helpful

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool was awesome !! as was the beach , lots of chairs and shade area . The beach bars were great , go look for Migel he makes the best drinks

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
the entertainment at night was hilarious and they really encouraged the audience to get involved . Right next door to the resort , on the property there is a diso called the mangu diso .. it's the best , the drinks are prices so do your drinking for free at the resort . The music is great there .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you get a good deal, come here."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer from Chester Basin, Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
251 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 1 - 8
LATE,LATE,LATE, and with no remorse or sympathy from Air Transat. We sat a the airport in Halifax for over 3 hours all because they only have one plane capable of taking off from Halifax(apparently, anyway) Once we finally arrived in Punta Cana everything went smoothly and quickly. We boarded our nice air conditioned bus and hit the road. It takes about half an hour to get to the resort. Passes quickly. Check-in went smoothly, rooms were ready for us

Rooms
the rooms were supposed to be recently renovated. I still don't see how. I guess time really is different in the Dominican. Looked about 10 years old anyway. The bathtub allowed water to flow out on to the floor everytime you showered, so be careful when you get out. Ceramic tile floor is very slippery.Ample hot water in the early morning, not so much left by late afternoon. Maid service was attentive, room was clean.
Restaurants and Bars
Food was okay. I'm not going to jump up and down and gush about how fabulous it was, but no one starved to death! The steakhouse was great, just not a lot of food. The Italian was really good. The Mexican was only okay. The Oriental was good, just not great. The Buffet was great at Breakfast, and okay the rest of the time. Roast Chicken and roast port were great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Pools were nice, not heated so when the sun wasn't out all day they got chilly. They also close the pools down at 7pm!! I didn't know we were suppossed to be in bed by 9 on vacation. Jeez! The grounds were nice, kept very clean and neat.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went horse back riding on the beach. It was fun, although the horses are pretty skinny and I am a bigger girl, so I felt bad for them. It was worth the $30 dollars we paid for 1.5hours

Other Comments
I had a good time here, the weather wasn't the greatest(not the fault of the resort, I know)I don't know that it really should be 4.5 stars though. More like 3.5. If you get a good deal, come here. Don't pay a really big price and you will be satisfied.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube