Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Westin Roco Ki Beach & Golf Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2014

The Puntacana Hotel

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa

4.1 based on 33 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2014

Riu Naiboa

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

IFA Ocean Bavaro Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Occidental Grand Punta Cana  

Calle Friusa Arena Verde 125, 1809 Bavaro, Punta Cana. República Dominicana

"very affordable place"
Posted by: effron on Sep 11, 2014
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#4
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 65 reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Information


A magnificent four-star superior resort located right on the famous Playa Bávaro in Punta Cana, with sparkling white sand, turquoise water and swaying palm trees.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 65 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  34
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  11
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (38)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
With friend (2)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
11 - 20 of 65

"If not for the beach..."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  kim  on Jan 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
624 people found this review helpful

I would not classify this resort as 4 star. Our room was old, and I'm sure there was mold growing in our shower... But then again, we did not come to lay in a room for seven days...the beach and ocean and people were amazing. The private preference club breakfast was fantabulous, our own bartender Franklin superb, and our maid Yoana kept our room very tidy with excellent turn down service. Our 3 excursions had excellent guides, and we got to experience a fantastic little piece of Dominican culture. We will definetely be heading back, probably just not to this resort. You get what you pay for!

Room Number:
25

Room Block:
311

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Leaky Roof"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sarto  on Jan 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
659 people found this review helpful

Rooms were not ready on time (3:00pm). Rooms were not made in a timely manner the entire week (we had to ask for towels, 6:00pm at night still not made).

First two nights leaky roof, requestedto be moved. They said they were moving us to a renovated building. Leaky roof again and a bad smell in one room (we first thought it was cigarete smoke, but it was possibly mold). We met another vacationer as we were leaving and we found out that they had moved out of our second rooms the same day we moved in, because they complained about the roof leaking and the smell of mold.

The hotel moved us from a bad room to room that was worse, hoping that it wouldn't rain and told us it was renovated. Air Transat is complicide in this scam, as they are aware of the problems at this hotel.

4 star my @#%$&

Room Number:
11-217

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not too good at all"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanna  on Dec 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
614 people found this review helpful

I have just returned on 17th of December 2011 from my vacation.
I am not judging this very poorly because I have been traveling every year
to different places and had never had as bad experience as I had in this Hotel.
Service is terrible,you have to help yourself to olmost everything starting from salt to spoon.Asking for coffee or drink at meals time.
Rooms are clean,but there is never worm water to take shower.
Variety of food is great but as always cold.
Good shows at night and kids have a lot of fun also.
The very worst Thing is the Russian people!!!! They think that the resort is only for them,no respect towards others at all,they speak russian to all staff and are expected to be understood !!!! They play ball on the beach and prevent other turists to goin them as that is suppose to be Russian team!!
Hotel staff seems to support that!!! Horrible behavour on their part
For that reason I would never go back there.
Dissaponted Joanna

Room Number:
204

Room Block:
24

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Why I will never come back"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  ALEX  on Aug 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ROMANIA
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
586 people found this review helpful

Attitude
Overly familiar attitude almost disrespectful of the waiters, porters, taxi drivers.We are 53 years old and to be addressed by this youth my friend every time and wherever is not very convenient.
No one greet on arrival with refreshments or hot towel.
Hotel
Hotel with old buildings clean only outside, old furniture.Isolated from any decent supermarket or mall.
Deafening noise of AC
No receipt or a bill example more hours in the room or other services.
Building administrator, approached us in an absolutely unacceptable familiar way and promise that as first time in the hotel
will get some presents as shirts and a bottle of Mamajuana, but he did not mentioned we have to endure one our of marketing presentation of their hotels.
Food
Monotonous food presented negligent, failure and casseroles quickly consumed irreplaceable.
Meat, regardless of who did once thoroughly cooked, hard and very salty.
Beach umbrellas insufficient, needed to handle umbrella every day at 6 AM
Aerobics girl have sold to us a CD damaged copy of the original so-called original Dominican music.

Room Number:
25-307

Arrival:
Give some refreshments at arrival,
After 10-12 ours of flying it will be helpfull

Rooms:
Improve the furniture, do something with the AC noise

Restaurants and Bars:
The meat must must be served cooked not al dente

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not enough umbrelas

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst rooms ever"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lawrence  on Aug 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
630 people found this review helpful

Received my room keys @ 4pm and headed to the room. When I got there the room wasn't ready, they were in process of cleaning it and making the beds etc. After a long flight I thought it was extremely annoying that I had to wait outside with two kids so they can finish. Granted we chose to go during hurricane season, but it doesn't change the fact the rooms were in horrible conditions.The first room they gave us had roaches, sliding door to the deck wouldn't lock, no hot water while taking a shower, toilet had a horrible smell after each flush, and the sink knobs were loose and could only turn towards the hot water. Complained to the front desk and they gave me another room on 08/20/11..On sunday 08/21/11 the rain started around 8pm, the bathroom's ceiling had a leak that never stopped leaking..Called the front desk and they said they would send someone over, but no one came, and the next day I woke up with a huge puddle in the bathroom and hallway..We got fed up that no one came so we showed the leak to a cleaning lady and to solve the problem she put a bucket in the bathroom to catch the water. Left the hotel on the 8/24 and the bathroom was still leaking..Good things about the hotel was the entertaiment crew, they were amazing and talented. The waiters and waitresses were terrible not all, but a majority of them. They were playing favoritism towards certain hotel guess and it really upset me consedering I paid the same amount of money as the next person. Last I checked money had no color Barriers.. Think carefully before going to Occidental in Punta Cana, you will regret your decision.....

Room Number:
13211

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worse place on earth"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reggie  on Aug 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
524 people found this review helpful

This has got to be the worse place me and my family have ever been. When we got there the room we where place in had no A/C no lights when you enter not enough towels and on the third floor. I called and waited for someone to resolve this issue for 4 hours then I got a/c but it went out before morning and was told so many different excuses about it that I demanded a new room which they refused then the next day we where requested to come to a meeting and then we where showed several amazing suites that we can have for $14k upgrade to some vacation club what an amazing nerve of them don't waste your time going here they really go out of their way for everyone but americans

Room Number:
321

Room Block:
26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My experience was disapointing"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  chreryl  on Aug 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
378 people found this review helpful

Some members of the staff where not very friendly. they have staff there that try to sell time share type packages and they are very pushy and when you refuse they become quite rude. they are also not the most honest people that work there they just yes you to death and never do what you what you asked for. I have stayed at much better resorts with much nicer staff. i would not return to place nor would I recommed it.

Restaurants and Bars:
the oriental restaurant was very good. the lunch and diner buffet was always pretty munch the same every day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor customer service"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  RUIZ  on Jul 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
385 people found this review helpful

The resort was fine but the customer service was terrible. You would need to go get all your drinks all the time. The resort was under staff. You would have to go to the bar and ask for a drink and it would take like 15 to 20 minutes to wait on this hot weather. There was too many high school students. The night club was to be included in our packaged and they were charging $20.00 dollars to enter the night club. We went to play tennis and was told we did not have the proper cloth and shoes. Also, had an a problem with our apple representator picking us up to take us to the airport so i asked the customer service if they would assist to call the apple representator and said they couldn't assist. So, i asked the front desk and said that customer service desk would be able to assist. I told them they didn't want to assit. She said she was going to talk to them so final after bouncing back and forth. They assisted. We were stressing out because we did not want to miss our flight.

Room Number:
13219, 13217, 13227

Room Block:
13219, 13217, 13227

Arrival:
7/6/11-7/13/11

Rooms:
WE HAD REQUESTED TO DOUBLE OCCUPANCY AND THEY GAVE US A TWIN BED FOR ALL THE 3 ROOMS WE BOOKED. WE COMPLAINT BECAUSE WE DID NOT FIT SO FINELY AFTER A DAY THEY GAVE US A FULL SIZE BED. THE ALARM DID NOT WORKED AND ASKED TO BE CHANGED LIKE THREE TIME. THEY NEVER DID GIVE ME AN ALARM CLOCK.

Restaurants and Bars:
UNDER STAFF SO THEIR WAS NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE BUFFET RESTAURANT CLOSE AND HAD ONLY ONE FOR SUCH A LARGE RESORT. ALSO THEY WOULD TAKE A LONG TIME TO REPLACE THE FOOD. THE FRUIT WOULD LOOK TERRIBLE AND NOT FRESH LOOKING AND SOMETIMES IT HAD A FUN FAVOR. IT WAS SITTING OUT TO LONG. HAD TOO MANY HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOLS CLOSED TO EARLY 7:00PM

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
THIS WAS FINE UNTIL. WE BOUGHT A BANNANA ACTIVITIES AND THE PERSON DID NOT ASSIST US AT ALL ALTHOUGH IT WAS ALL CHILDREND THAT ROAD THE BANNANA. HE MAD ATTENT TO ASSIST THE FRIGHT CHILDREN IN THE WATER.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awful"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  marva  on May 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
417 people found this review helpful

This is the worse hotel i ever stayed in, i would give it a double zero if i could and i would never go back there. how would such a large resort allow so many huslers in to harass the tourists. the food sucks.

Room Number:
126

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
we arrived on may 8 about 11 am group of 53 checked in was told rooms will be ready by 3 pm some rooms were not ready until after 4pm could not get a clear direction as what to do until rooms were ready no one seems to speak english i could not even get instructions as to what restaurant was open because again no english.

Rooms:
the rooms has a very foul smell i have to request towels 3 days out of 7 they remove the dirty one but do not replace new ones

Restaurants and Bars:
a group of us went to the orential restaurant 2nd night waited for about 30mins before water or menu was given waited another 30mins and was never served many of us left without being served
others left after the food was served because it was cold and teastless same problem in the stakehouse .it seems as if the buffet restaurant recycle the food every day same food lunch time and dinner time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach ground seems ok

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
did not participate in any activity

Other Comments:
i know that this is a spanish speaking country but i believed the people on the front line should speak english because they are catering to a lot of people that speak english this should be a pre requisite for employment.there should also be a designated area for smoking.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most disgusting place ever - avoid building 24 as it is very run down"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on May 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
426 people found this review helpful

I am being generous giving it a 1 rating as I had to put something there. Now where to begin....no tv for 3 nights, hot water maybe twice the whole week. Staff did not understand english (we asked for a hand towel and they never knew wht we were asking for) Asked for Kleenex the first day and got it on day 6. Power outages, gas leak at the beach restaurant, food was terrible and on Sat 1000 Dominican arrived at the resort for 2night stay and took over the place, line ups in the lobby to get into the buffets. Pools are wading pools not swimming pools. Rooms were dirty, dark and dingy. Bars seemed to make one type of drink Miami Vice and unless you asked for it no liquor was included. I have pictures to show of the bathroom and the mini bar (came with 2 beer, and 4 pop which were never replaced) to show people how disgusting the place was! Never again.

Room Number:
25-122, 24-210, 24-208

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube