Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Westin Roco Ki Beach & Golf Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2014

The Puntacana Hotel

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa

4.1 based on 33 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2014

Riu Naiboa

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

IFA Ocean Bavaro Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Occidental Grand Punta Cana  

Calle Friusa Arena Verde 125, 1809 Bavaro, Punta Cana. República Dominicana

"It is not a 5 stars resort"
Posted by: Jose Carlos on Jul 30, 2014
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#4
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 63 reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Information


A magnificent four-star superior resort located right on the famous Playa Bávaro in Punta Cana, with sparkling white sand, turquoise water and swaying palm trees.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 63 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  33
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (36)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (2)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
11 - 20 of 63

"Not too good at all"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanna  on Dec 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
599 people found this review helpful

I have just returned on 17th of December 2011 from my vacation.
I am not judging this very poorly because I have been traveling every year
to different places and had never had as bad experience as I had in this Hotel.
Service is terrible,you have to help yourself to olmost everything starting from salt to spoon.Asking for coffee or drink at meals time.
Rooms are clean,but there is never worm water to take shower.
Variety of food is great but as always cold.
Good shows at night and kids have a lot of fun also.
The very worst Thing is the Russian people!!!! They think that the resort is only for them,no respect towards others at all,they speak russian to all staff and are expected to be understood !!!! They play ball on the beach and prevent other turists to goin them as that is suppose to be Russian team!!
Hotel staff seems to support that!!! Horrible behavour on their part
For that reason I would never go back there.
Dissaponted Joanna

Room Number:
204

Room Block:
24

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Why I will never come back"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  ALEX  on Aug 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ROMANIA
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
578 people found this review helpful

Attitude
Overly familiar attitude almost disrespectful of the waiters, porters, taxi drivers.We are 53 years old and to be addressed by this youth my friend every time and wherever is not very convenient.
No one greet on arrival with refreshments or hot towel.
Hotel
Hotel with old buildings clean only outside, old furniture.Isolated from any decent supermarket or mall.
Deafening noise of AC
No receipt or a bill example more hours in the room or other services.
Building administrator, approached us in an absolutely unacceptable familiar way and promise that as first time in the hotel
will get some presents as shirts and a bottle of Mamajuana, but he did not mentioned we have to endure one our of marketing presentation of their hotels.
Food
Monotonous food presented negligent, failure and casseroles quickly consumed irreplaceable.
Meat, regardless of who did once thoroughly cooked, hard and very salty.
Beach umbrellas insufficient, needed to handle umbrella every day at 6 AM
Aerobics girl have sold to us a CD damaged copy of the original so-called original Dominican music.

Room Number:
25-307

Arrival:
Give some refreshments at arrival,
After 10-12 ours of flying it will be helpfull

Rooms:
Improve the furniture, do something with the AC noise

Restaurants and Bars:
The meat must must be served cooked not al dente

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not enough umbrelas

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst rooms ever"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lawrence  on Aug 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
623 people found this review helpful

Received my room keys @ 4pm and headed to the room. When I got there the room wasn't ready, they were in process of cleaning it and making the beds etc. After a long flight I thought it was extremely annoying that I had to wait outside with two kids so they can finish. Granted we chose to go during hurricane season, but it doesn't change the fact the rooms were in horrible conditions.The first room they gave us had roaches, sliding door to the deck wouldn't lock, no hot water while taking a shower, toilet had a horrible smell after each flush, and the sink knobs were loose and could only turn towards the hot water. Complained to the front desk and they gave me another room on 08/20/11..On sunday 08/21/11 the rain started around 8pm, the bathroom's ceiling had a leak that never stopped leaking..Called the front desk and they said they would send someone over, but no one came, and the next day I woke up with a huge puddle in the bathroom and hallway..We got fed up that no one came so we showed the leak to a cleaning lady and to solve the problem she put a bucket in the bathroom to catch the water. Left the hotel on the 8/24 and the bathroom was still leaking..Good things about the hotel was the entertaiment crew, they were amazing and talented. The waiters and waitresses were terrible not all, but a majority of them. They were playing favoritism towards certain hotel guess and it really upset me consedering I paid the same amount of money as the next person. Last I checked money had no color Barriers.. Think carefully before going to Occidental in Punta Cana, you will regret your decision.....

Room Number:
13211

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worse place on earth"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reggie  on Aug 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
517 people found this review helpful

This has got to be the worse place me and my family have ever been. When we got there the room we where place in had no A/C no lights when you enter not enough towels and on the third floor. I called and waited for someone to resolve this issue for 4 hours then I got a/c but it went out before morning and was told so many different excuses about it that I demanded a new room which they refused then the next day we where requested to come to a meeting and then we where showed several amazing suites that we can have for $14k upgrade to some vacation club what an amazing nerve of them don't waste your time going here they really go out of their way for everyone but americans

Room Number:
321

Room Block:
26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My experience was disapointing"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  chreryl  on Aug 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
371 people found this review helpful

Some members of the staff where not very friendly. they have staff there that try to sell time share type packages and they are very pushy and when you refuse they become quite rude. they are also not the most honest people that work there they just yes you to death and never do what you what you asked for. I have stayed at much better resorts with much nicer staff. i would not return to place nor would I recommed it.

Restaurants and Bars:
the oriental restaurant was very good. the lunch and diner buffet was always pretty munch the same every day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor customer service"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  RUIZ  on Jul 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
378 people found this review helpful

The resort was fine but the customer service was terrible. You would need to go get all your drinks all the time. The resort was under staff. You would have to go to the bar and ask for a drink and it would take like 15 to 20 minutes to wait on this hot weather. There was too many high school students. The night club was to be included in our packaged and they were charging $20.00 dollars to enter the night club. We went to play tennis and was told we did not have the proper cloth and shoes. Also, had an a problem with our apple representator picking us up to take us to the airport so i asked the customer service if they would assist to call the apple representator and said they couldn't assist. So, i asked the front desk and said that customer service desk would be able to assist. I told them they didn't want to assit. She said she was going to talk to them so final after bouncing back and forth. They assisted. We were stressing out because we did not want to miss our flight.

Room Number:
13219, 13217, 13227

Room Block:
13219, 13217, 13227

Arrival:
7/6/11-7/13/11

Rooms:
WE HAD REQUESTED TO DOUBLE OCCUPANCY AND THEY GAVE US A TWIN BED FOR ALL THE 3 ROOMS WE BOOKED. WE COMPLAINT BECAUSE WE DID NOT FIT SO FINELY AFTER A DAY THEY GAVE US A FULL SIZE BED. THE ALARM DID NOT WORKED AND ASKED TO BE CHANGED LIKE THREE TIME. THEY NEVER DID GIVE ME AN ALARM CLOCK.

Restaurants and Bars:
UNDER STAFF SO THEIR WAS NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE BUFFET RESTAURANT CLOSE AND HAD ONLY ONE FOR SUCH A LARGE RESORT. ALSO THEY WOULD TAKE A LONG TIME TO REPLACE THE FOOD. THE FRUIT WOULD LOOK TERRIBLE AND NOT FRESH LOOKING AND SOMETIMES IT HAD A FUN FAVOR. IT WAS SITTING OUT TO LONG. HAD TOO MANY HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOLS CLOSED TO EARLY 7:00PM

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
THIS WAS FINE UNTIL. WE BOUGHT A BANNANA ACTIVITIES AND THE PERSON DID NOT ASSIST US AT ALL ALTHOUGH IT WAS ALL CHILDREND THAT ROAD THE BANNANA. HE MAD ATTENT TO ASSIST THE FRIGHT CHILDREN IN THE WATER.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awful"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  marva  on May 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
411 people found this review helpful

This is the worse hotel i ever stayed in, i would give it a double zero if i could and i would never go back there. how would such a large resort allow so many huslers in to harass the tourists. the food sucks.

Room Number:
126

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
we arrived on may 8 about 11 am group of 53 checked in was told rooms will be ready by 3 pm some rooms were not ready until after 4pm could not get a clear direction as what to do until rooms were ready no one seems to speak english i could not even get instructions as to what restaurant was open because again no english.

Rooms:
the rooms has a very foul smell i have to request towels 3 days out of 7 they remove the dirty one but do not replace new ones

Restaurants and Bars:
a group of us went to the orential restaurant 2nd night waited for about 30mins before water or menu was given waited another 30mins and was never served many of us left without being served
others left after the food was served because it was cold and teastless same problem in the stakehouse .it seems as if the buffet restaurant recycle the food every day same food lunch time and dinner time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach ground seems ok

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
did not participate in any activity

Other Comments:
i know that this is a spanish speaking country but i believed the people on the front line should speak english because they are catering to a lot of people that speak english this should be a pre requisite for employment.there should also be a designated area for smoking.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most disgusting place ever - avoid building 24 as it is very run down"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on May 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
418 people found this review helpful

I am being generous giving it a 1 rating as I had to put something there. Now where to begin....no tv for 3 nights, hot water maybe twice the whole week. Staff did not understand english (we asked for a hand towel and they never knew wht we were asking for) Asked for Kleenex the first day and got it on day 6. Power outages, gas leak at the beach restaurant, food was terrible and on Sat 1000 Dominican arrived at the resort for 2night stay and took over the place, line ups in the lobby to get into the buffets. Pools are wading pools not swimming pools. Rooms were dirty, dark and dingy. Bars seemed to make one type of drink Miami Vice and unless you asked for it no liquor was included. I have pictures to show of the bathroom and the mini bar (came with 2 beer, and 4 pop which were never replaced) to show people how disgusting the place was! Never again.

Room Number:
25-122, 24-210, 24-208

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful .. Can't Wait to go back"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heather  on May 3, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
389 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here in April 20th to the 27th. We travelled with Air Transat and had the Preference Club Package. (This is not the Royal Club and the only difference is you don't get driven around by a golf cart) We thoroughly enjoyed our well cleaned room, service was great from all employees, it was Holy Week and the hotel was booked solid and the employees worked long hours ensuring everyone was comfortable. One must always remember we are guests of our choice in their country and being polite and courteous should come naturally from us to them. Loved the private beach for Air Transat, I did get up early to get our chairs as I mentioned the resort was full and I knew we would be spending a full day after breakfast at the beach so did this for my own comfort and enjoyment ( I might add on the 2 days we were doing excursions I did not save beach chairs as I knew we would not be using them and once again being respectful of others, did see a lot of chairs saved early morning and no one use them all day, be warned Franklin the beach bar tender will remove the towels if they have been there for hours and chairs not being used ... kudos to Franklin, he did such an amazing job!!!) Loved spending time in the comfortable lobby early evening before the shows (which were great), Christian was great to us all week and always had a warm welcome and smile and quick service. Buffet was great, as one would expect in a buffet of this size sometimes by the time you got back to your table your food had cooled (it was always hot when taken from displays), and the desserts, well let's just say I gained 5 lbs. We really enjoyed the outdoor patio at the pizza restaurant (pizza was great) The lagoon pool went past our building and late afternoon was as warm as bathwater and I enjoyed a lot of time just floating in the water. The deeper pool by the swim up bar was also good but I did find the music to be loud and preferred the quietness down by our building. Met many families, a lot had young children and it was always fun to watch their reactions to the sand or waves or their own special nightly shows. Their was a mixture of age groups, and the overall atmosphere was one of laughter and people making friends. Yes there are time share guys, politely say no thanks and carry on, yes the concierge who sits in your building lobby try to sell you excursions as do guys on the beach, politely say no and carry on. The resort itself was immaculate, our room was extremely clean, and yes if you did not take the time to tuck the shower curtain properly at the corner of the tub the water would go onto the floor, if you were home would you seriously let this happen, again just because you are on vacation you do not have to be a slob just because you have a maid coming into your room. This is an excellent resort for either a couples vacation, a family vacation or even going solo. I would defintely recommend it to family & friends.

Room Number:
25 - 317

Room Block:
25

Arrival:
April 20th - 27th. I knew from doing my research that check in was not until 3pm (pretty standard for all resorts in this area) and had our swimsuits packed in a carry on, we were greeted with a nice cool punch drink, our room info and a la carte bookings, and when we came back at 3 (as we had arrived at noon) our room was ready & perfect. (May have been ready before that but we were relaxing on the beach)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unless you are Royal Club, Don't bother to go here."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  bev  on Apr 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
389 people found this review helpful

I just returned from our once in a lifetime family vacation at this resort. When we booked our trip through our travel agent, we were told we were royal club and would have all the little extras that just add the topping to your trip. Well when we arrived we were told we were in fact not royal club and also that the resort was overbooked and even if we were there would not be a room for us there. 7 months in advance we booked our trip, how could there not be a room available for us. Well then we had no choice but stay in the rooms we were given. they were old and dirty, our bathroom was crawling with bugs. Some days the room didn't get made up until 5 or 6. The staff were not very friendly either. My 7 year old son, had a terrible headache one day and we were trying to get him back to the room in the heat, he was very upset and crying. A golf cart was stopped with a driver in it, i asked if we could get a ride to our building which was about 5 or 6 minutes away. I was told no, it was for royal club only, along with the fancier restaurants, the cozy chairs on the beach, the internet, alcohol in your fridge, bathrobes, bigger rooms etc. I would never recommend this resort to anyone. Go for a five star, I would hope it would be well worth it.

Room Number:
10-322 &10-321

Arrival:
April 4, 2011

Rooms:
two junior suites, old and run down. No air conditioning in one of our rooms, fridge didn't work, tv was broke for the first 4 days, bugs in the bathroom, the tub was disgusting, felt dirtier getting out than getting in. Door knob had to be played with in order to get them open. Not enough power outlets or lights. Fan didn't work in one of the rooms. We told the guy looking after our building all of the issues, but he was more interested in selling time shares to us than fixing the problems.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was ok. Got a little boring after a few days, same thing every day. The restaurant on the beach had an interesting activity. My kids fed a mouse that was under the floor boards, you could see him scampering under the boards.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
grounds were really nice, pools clean and well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not a whole lot. No body to help with the included water sports. Unless you are willing to pay big bucks, not much to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube