Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Westin Roco Ki Beach & Golf Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2014

The Puntacana Hotel

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa

4.1 based on 33 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2014

Riu Naiboa

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

IFA Ocean Bavaro Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Occidental Grand Punta Cana  

Calle Friusa Arena Verde 125, 1809 Bavaro, Punta Cana. República Dominicana

"It is not a 5 stars resort"
Posted by: Jose Carlos on Jul 30, 2014
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#4
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 63 reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Information


A magnificent four-star superior resort located right on the famous Playa Bávaro in Punta Cana, with sparkling white sand, turquoise water and swaying palm trees.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 63 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  33
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (36)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (2)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
21 - 30 of 63

"Relaxing"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne  on Apr 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
408 people found this review helpful

My husband and I recently returned from our first trip to DR. I was very disturbed by the negative comments on this resort prior to leaving, however was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the resort is tired, but we found it very clean, the food was good, and the staff friendly & helpfull. The only complaint we had, had nothing to do with the resort but with the rude guests who put a towel on a pool or beach lounge @ 7am then go shopping and don't even use them until 4-5 in the afternoon. There are plenty of lounge chairs to go around, it's unfortunate that security has to be called to break up an arguement over a chair. This is the mentallity of some people and these are probably the same people who write negative reviews. Relax and enjoy your holiday, I know we did.

J&J Hamilton

Room Number:
24130

Room Block:
24

Arrival:
March 28th, 2011

Restaurants and Bars:
All a la cartes where very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
busy but clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Golf was expensive but worth it!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will never go back to this Resort"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Denise  on Apr 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
254 people found this review helpful

The books and pictures says it all about this Resort, but what it does not tell you is what is hidden behind the scenes. I have been to Punta Cana 5 times and stayed at numerous resorts , I am a Canadian and know about a 5 star resort in the Dominican is a mere 2 star here in Ontario.The grounds were besutiful, but LADIES, if you can handle going to the Bathroom where no toilets flush then by all means go for it ! Myself, I had a real issue it didn't matter what washroom I went in whether it be the Lobby, Pool, or beach washroom none of them flushed, I am very big on hygene and this was beyond discuss as you can probaly imagine. I did not pay big bucks to see what every woman had done in the toilets !
I am not a complainer by any means but woman need to be made aware of this.
It's all about hygene !

Room Number:
can't remember

Room Block:
D

Arrival:
The arrival ..... we were suppose to receive a bottle of Rum ,a fruit basket, robes and slippers we never rec'd them until 3 days before we left.We were there from Sat March 5th to March 12th 2011

Rooms:
The room was nice.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was good but as the week went on the food went downhill.
The bars were good and people were friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Pool was amazing ! The Beach was great, if you like to jump the waves this is the area you want to be, we jumped the waves every morning ! The grounds were well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Half of the time we did not know when the activities were happening, they don't announce it them very well, the animation team was not very good ! The only shows we stayed for was to watch all the kids on stage doing their dances.

Other Comments:
If you can handle the smell and disgust in the Public bathrooms, then go ahead and pay the big bucks to have your vacation ruined by this ! I was shocked as to what was going on , I have never encountered this before.
I will never go back or recommend this resort to anyone, when you go on Vacation you want the best for your buck, trust me people this is not the place to go ! If they gave me a free week to stay there, I still would not go back !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor Service, Poor Food, Poor Housekeeping, and an Old Resort."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paddy  on Mar 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
366 people found this review helpful

Where to start. Not being met at the airport by the hotel representative and getting our hotel vouchers was the first indication. When we got to our room we found that the wires for the lamps were jury rigged. When i plugged in my laptop i got a huge electrical shock. Then the problems really started.

The line ups at the bar were long and slow. The staff seemed to be more interested in slowing down service than speeing it up. Their pace could seem to be speeded up only by presenting the 1 dollar bill.

The buffet was a crowded place with substandard food. Instead of having nice long straight lines the buffet would take short sharp turns and people would bottleneck at the corners so your food would be cold by the time you made it to your table. At the crepe, BBQ pit, or omelette's stand the cooks would take their sweet time getting prepared for the next person in line so the lines here moved incredibly slow. Is this so the resort can minimize the food costs associated with this area by having frustrated patrons to simply avoid the long lines?

The staff for the most part seemed to be unfriendly and unsmiling. The body language of the servers seemed to ooze contempt. With the exception a special few that seemed to be newer to the resort.

My family and I travel 2 times a year on holidays. Our previous visit to the DR was awesome when we stayed at the Princess All Suites.

I would recommend that Canadian's help this resort to come to its final end and a newer resort will spring up in its place. The owners have milked its patrons of their hard earned dollars for far too long without providing the services promised. Avoid this resort. You would have a more pleasant holiday by spending a few hundred dollars more elsewhere.

Room Block:
26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great time!"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jules  on Feb 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
336 people found this review helpful

Really enjoyable vacation for our family of 4.

Room Number:
25-209

Room Block:
25

Arrival:
Arrivsl was painless. We were travelling with my mother, and were very concerned that she wouldn't be able to get around a big resort well - this was not a concern - the resort had golf carts to take her just where she needed to go - this was great durin arrival and throughout our visit

Rooms:
we had a main floor corner room - it was huge!! When we got there (a little earlier than check in time) the room was not quite ready, but they were quick to get it set up for us with one king and two twin beds....with plenty of room to spare!! my parents room was not as large, but still plenty big and very nice.

Restaurants and Bars:
Skip the ala carte - they are fine but the buffet is fab and they change their menu al the time - so it is just as nice as going to the other restaurants without the waiting. The beach buffet is terrific too - good food, fantastic location and dining in your bathing suit :)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Swim up bar pool is louder and seems to have entertainment - not our style, but others in our group loved it. Other two pools are great - we loved the one closest to beach, nice size, right near our room and a bar to get drinks.

Beach is FANTASTIC!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a day trip through Airtransat and Bavaro Runners - toured the countryside, saw a church, school, farm, cigar factory and had lunch on a river cruise. It wasn't cheap $500 for the 4 of us - but it was good to get off the resort and experience the country a little, good educational experience for the kids!! (WARNING, not for the faint of heart of weak of back - the roads are VERY bumpy!!)

We paid $50 for two person parasailing - many dealers walking up and down beach - very fun!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We Had an Amazing Time."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy  on Dec 6, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
371 people found this review helpful

I arrived home today from our annual trip to the DR and once again fell in love with this country and its people. I travelled with my husband our 2 sons, a friend of the family and her 2 children (Childrens ages 10,9,7&6) We have been in the Punta Cana area 4 times now, and although this resort was a little older than some of the others that we have stayed in, it was well maintained and made the perfect backdrop to a wonderful time. We were in the Transat Prestige section of the resort and it was wonderful

Arrival:
We arrived at the resort at approx. 10pm and were greeted with cold drinks and our private check in. Within 15 minutes of arriving at the resort, all 7 of us were checked in and whisked away to our rooms by the bellboys on a golfcart, we were not left to wander the resort in hopes of locating our rooms. We were also told that the buffet restaurant was closed for the night, but were given directions on how to find the all night pizza place so that we could get something to eat.

Rooms:
Yes the rooms at this resort are a little dated, but they are kept in good working order. They are cleaned and their was no musty smell in the room. The rooms were quite large with a big balcony. (3rd floor rooms have a thatched roof) Mini fridge was stocked daily. One day there was no hot water. My husband mentioned this to the concierge and we did not have another problem for the rest of the week.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food at the resort was average. I have had better and worse at different resorts, everyone in our group always found something that they liked no matter what restaurant we were at. My personal favourite was the Mexican, where my husband loved the steakhouse. My personal thought was that the food kept 4 picky kids happy all week...therefore I was happy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful....we were lucky enough to get a week of perfect sunny weather and we spent much of it at the beach. The waves were perfect for the kids to go bodysurfing (as long as an adult was there to watch them) It was kept very clean, Yes there was seaweed....but that is part of the deal when playing in the ocean.

The pools were great, the main activity pool was great when you wanted music and entertainment, the childrens pool was actually the quietest one of them all, and was perfect for relaxing, and the pool near the ocean was great for having a little entertainment without all the noise of the main activity pool. Overall it was a great setup

Other Comments:
The kids club staff was amazing, though our kids only wanted to go to the kids club when there was an activity that they were interested in (Soccer, tennis, ping pong) The staff always made a point of letting our kids know what was going on when, and encouraged even our shyest little guy to join in, by the middle of the week they had him dancing on stage and taking part in the nightly kids show. Esperanza we love you.

Overall for the price that we paid for this vacation, our expectations were pretty low. We ended up blown away by the amazing staff and location.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Perfect Family Getaway"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erin  on Oct 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
338 people found this review helpful

Absolutely stunning resort. I don't know where all the bad reviews were coming from. I traveled there in April 2010, with a group of 13 family members. We were delighted with the entire trip and would return!

Arrival:
The flight was a little discouraging at first. Our flight was delayed by just over an hour, but we were all still excited. When we were about mid-flight, the pilot announced that we would have to take the long way (adding an extra 2 hours to the flight) to bypass a storm. Upon arrival to the airport, we were greeted by many people ready to help us. We got a cool, air conditioned bus to our resort. At the front desk at the resort, the staff were very organized and had our keys and room numbers waiting for us, it took only a matter of minutes to get up to our rooms and get settled away.

Rooms:
Very clean!!!!!! Huge, comfortable beds, nice view, hot showers, and great air conditioning. The only complaint I had about the room was the service. The cleaners would sometimes not be by until after 5pm, which made it difficult to get showered and ready to go out to eat. But hey, you're in Dominican to relax!! So we didn't let that bother us too much. Talked to a staff member, and the problem was fixed.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants were DELICIOUS. I am still raving about the food on this resort. Something there for everyone to eat, and the cooking areas seemed very clean. I can't recall how many bars there were, but no matter which part of the resort you were on, you were close to one! The swim up bar was a huge hit. The a la cartes were very nice, but the buffet was excellent too.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean, clean clean!!!!! Everything was great.

Other Comments:
A great time had by all!! Choose this resort and you won't be sorry!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Trip to Punta Cana at the Occidental"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on May 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
369 people found this review helpful

Don’t know about the bad reviews we read about this hotel, but the place was very nice.

Your Arrival:
We flew with Air Transat out of Toronto with our Air Transat Preference club booking. If you can book the Preference club, I would highly recommend it as you have no waits anywhere. We landed at the airport, were quickly taken to our bus by a baggage handler and were soon at the hotel after about a 20 minute bus ride. Upon arrival, there is a separate check-in for Air Transat travelers. It was a breeze and we were in our rooms within 15 mins. By booking with Air Transat preference club, you are in their buildings, we were in building 24, rooms 308 & 309.

Rooms:
Being on the 3rd floor, you get very high ceilings, about a 15 foot cathedral ceiling sort of. The room A/C was great. Yes, the bathroom did look like something from the 1980’s, but so what. Everything worked and how much time do you spend in the bathrooms anyway. The one thing we did find strange is the way the shower has to be turned on. Took about 15 mins to figure that out. Who would design a shower that has to be turned on by pulling down on the facet where the water runs into the tub. There was hot water anytime of the day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was ok. Nothing special. You had the main buffet that had breakfast and dinners. You won’t go hungry as there is something for everyone. At the Home Run Restaurant that's above the swim up bar which is open from 7-10 AM to Air Transat guests only, you can order your breakfast. Then at 11:00 it re-opens for everyone else. Good food there also, burgers, fries, nacho’s, hot dogs etc.
During the day, we usually ate lunch at the buffet down by the beach..little more selection, and its right beside the beach and the preference club huts which also has its own little bar right on the beach.
In the evenings, be sure to enjoy a pizza. These were great as everyone else has posted. Cooked for you in a stone oven. Be sure to tip Eliomar and Ruth, those 2 were great and kept the beers coming allday & night. Eliomar was very nice and he’ll pass you some really good MamaJuana shots which were awesome.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Simply awesume !
Prefence Club had there own section. Not really much there. We had no problem getting beach chairs no matter what time of day we ended up at the beach. The beach is very clean. Always saw someone cleaning constantly. The grounds were in great shape very well maintained. Aside from the beach, there are 3 pools. The main pool has the swim up bar located right under the Home Run restaurant.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Seen a few of the shows. I'd rate them as average entertainment to our evenings.

Other Comments:
For our 1st trip to DR, it was a pleasant trip right from the start. I’d highly recommend using Air Transat and getting the preference club package.
We traveled May 7th through May 14th. so it was not the usual crowds at this time of year compared to traveling during March break. It was more of couples and families traveling at this time.


For pictures of the resort, feel free to send request @ davegh_77@yahoo.com

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewwvZPnlPFA

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had an unforgettable trip! Need help from past guests”"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Corey  on May 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
349 people found this review helpful

I will just write a short blurb about our trip to occidental since this is more about finding out about drink ingredients :)

This was my wife and I's second trip to the Dominican, but first to Punta Cana. We had a group of 20 friends (all between 22-35) going down for a once in a lifetime trip. Reading the negatives on this place (in trip advisor)had me trying to scramble with the travel agent to find other accomodations, but we went here. Let me tell you, if you are planning a trip to the Dominican and you have already selected your resort, stay away from the negative reviews. It is nothing more than stress and probably is 90% false. No one will ever be happy with everything.

Our biggest repsonsibility all week was do we drink at the pool, the beach, do we go on an excursion, do we eat, take a nap etc. It was exactly what we wanted! The week was great, the staff was great (tried very hard), the weather was awesome, the beach was amazing!

I will post more but my main reason for this post is to get some help from previous travellers. I am looking for the ingredients that go into 3 drinks that I fell in love with while I was there and forgot to ask.

I was at the Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana from April 25th to May 2nd this year. I really enjoyed my stay and the resort, its staff, grounds, entertainment, food were excellent. During my stay I fell in love with 3 particular drinks there called the Flamenco Especial, Matai, and Tiki Tiki

I am wrtiing this email looking for some help in identifying the ingredients that were in these drinks so that I can make them myself at my home to enjoy.

In the FLAMENCO ESPECIAL I know there was Ron Barcelo rum, (which I bought 2 gold and 2 white down there) but beyond that I am uncertain. It had a banana flavour as well as coconut. I dont know if that taste came from the juice or other liquors.

My guess

Ron Barcelo white rum
Banana Liquer
either coconut cream or coconut rum or the juice was a coconut flavour (It was somewhat pink in color and the mix was a juice turned into slush (no prob just blend with ice here)


In the MAITAI I am pretty sure I know all the ingredients but to make sure:

My guess

Ron Barcelo White
Amaretto almond liqueur
grenadine syrop
Orange Juice


In the TIKI TIKI I have no idea other than the juice was some type of mango.


If you could help me out by listing what types of liquors were in these drinks as well as what type of juice was used (for the FLAMENCO the juice was frozen into slush) that would be extremely appreciated.

I have been craving a Flamenco Especial for 3 weeks now and would love to be able to make them at home.

Thanks and I hope to hear from someone

Your Arrival:
We were all from Moncton NB we travelled Air transat preference club (do this if its an option for you, great upgrade!)
We Got their early (10am) out of our group about 4 of the 9 rooms were already ready, so we lugged our stuff to their rooms and went to the pool bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The best excursion you can go on while you are there is the Tropical Storm party catamaran. Drinks, music, sunken ship, snorkelling, natural pool laggon in ocean, drinking games, huge inflatable slide, dancing etc. Ask for Sam he is from Autsria and the best guide.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I saw a rat and roaches by the food!!"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bev  on May 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
373 people found this review helpful

This hotel was very misleading according to the website. My family and I was sitting in the ounge area and as were sitting down conversing a HUGE rat runs in the bathroom of the hotel lobby. Everyone jumps up on chairs, screaming and yelling. The staff goes in the bathroom and kills it. It wasn't a mouse it was a RAT!! The size of my cat.

Your Arrival:
My arrival was actually nice, it wasn't until I got to my room and then came out to eat that it all went down hill

Rooms:
When my family and I checked in they gave us a mildew smelled room, ant infested in the bathroom, the toilet ran all night and oh how could I forget a television remote that looked as if had blood stains on it. The televesion was fuzzy on every channel. We were told that we would have two queen size beds at the time of us booking the trip...not at all. We had two twin sizes beds pushed together.
Now listen to this because you really won't believe this and I dont think anyone will this is why I took pictures...The shower head was not attached to the wall (it was laying next to bath tub) COMPLETELY DISCONNECTED from the wall. The wall where the shower head was suppose to be connected was so rusted that they must have just not bothered to put a new shower head there. The bath tub had rust in certain spots of the tub. It was awful!! I called the front desk to compplain and they gave e a new room 2 days later, that was no better.

Restaurants and Bars:
I saw two roaches near the food. I pointed it out to one of the workers and she tried to get rid of the two raoches as they were still alive and ran away. Oh and by the way that rat I ran pass earlier, he almost ran in the main food hall...YUCK!
The bars serve the usually water down resort drinks (but if u give a good tip) they will hook your drink up. The guys at the bar are wonderful. Please tip these guys they are really good guys and they work very hard. Although I had a horrible room I dare not take it out on these guys at the bar, they deserve the tip $$ as they work long hrs. You will see them morning, noon and night. Sheesh...
If you are into the night club scene , check out the Mangu, it's nice. Just a little on the younger side, but it's ok to go to for one night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were kept up nicely

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The best time my family and I had was when we left the resort. The excursions were reasonably priced, but well worth the $$.
The nightly entertainment on this resort was the same entertainment every night, after being there a week you get tired of hearing the same kind of entertainment.

Other Comments:
I would never go back to this hotel or recommend this hotel to anyone. The week that I went there were people in the hotel complaining about the same issues I was complaining about. And I told the front deask about my complaints they told me I was the only one. little did they know that I spoke to several other guest. This hotel sucks!

Oh yes and they try to suck you in your ENTIRE VACATION to do the time share thing, and when you tell them your not interested, you are no longer acknowledged. This worker I ran into every morning was my best friend and after 3 or 4 days when he realized I wouldn't go to the time share info session he wouldn't even speak anymore. Bad cust serv

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Resort - Great Staff"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian & Bev  on Apr 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
350 people found this review helpful

Demographics: We were a party of 6 people between the ages of 46 and 53. We went to Punta Cana to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday.
We flew out of Halifax on April 8th with Air Transat. The flight was comfortable and left on time. Our flight to Punta Cana was diverted to La Romana due to the runway lights being out at the Punta Cana airport. We were delayed 2 hours on the ground and not allowed to deplane. The Air Transat crew keep everyone up to date with announcements on the progression of repairs to the Punta Cana aiport. My only complaint was that there was zero staff presence in the cabin during the lay over. Passengers were not offered as much as a drink of water.
On the other hand, during the return flight to Halifax, one of the Air Transat crew was proactive in assisting my wife and I. She, without prompting anticipated a problem that we were having and provided a solution to us. Well done!
Special Thanks to Jean at Maritime Travel, Amherst for all the assistance she provided to us during the planning stages of our trip. Customer Service at its "BEST"

Your Arrival:
Arrival at the hotel was your standard fare. Smooth check in and quickly whisked away to your room. Four members of our group were given temporary upgrades to the Royal Suites due to an over booking situation at the resort.

Rooms:
The rooms were clean and sufficient for our needs. Other than a place to sleep at night we spent very little time in the room.
In the rooms there was a bottle of rum and a fruit platter when we arrived.

Restaurants and Bars:
We all enjoyed the food at the Occidental Grand. Even the most fussiest of our group (my wife) was able to find plenty to eat. Consensus from the group that the food rated 4 star.
We tried the Steak (my favorite), Italian and Mexican Restaurant. We enjoyed the food and service at each one. Two members of our group tried the Lobster dinner and enjoyed it immensely.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There is not too much we can say about the beach that has not already been said. This is the main reason we return to Punta Cana. Of course it was necessary to get up early to play the towel/palapa game.
The pools were clean and well maintained. The vegetation on the grounds is mature and well manicured.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We participated in the "Stretchie-Stretchie" (yoga), Water Aerobics, Meringue Lessons and had a great time interacting with the staff and other guests.
The one major issue that we had with the evening shows is that the volume of the host's microphone is TOO LOUD! The volume level of the music (instruments) was great, but the vocal levels were unbearable and it was impossible to distinguish what was being said.

Other Comments:
We found that the guest at this resort were perhaps some of the most courteous that we have met in the Dominican. Guests ranged from Russia, Germany, Brazil, US and of course Canada.
My favorite part of the trip is meeting the Dominican people. They are truly the Dominican's greatest resource. They are friendly and hard working. They greet everyone with a big smile and such warmth. Special thanks to Ramona and her two "ninos" and Jess our local beach maintenance and weather man.
Group consensus is that we would return to the Occidental Grand. We received great value for the money. Given the opportunity we would definitely return.


Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube