Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Westin Roco Ki Beach & Golf Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2014

The Puntacana Hotel

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa

4.1 based on 33 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2014

Riu Naiboa

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

IFA Ocean Bavaro Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Occidental Grand Punta Cana  

Calle Friusa Arena Verde 125, 1809 Bavaro, Punta Cana. República Dominicana

"Not worth the money"
Posted by: Rodrigue  on Jan 5, 2013
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#4
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 62 reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Information


A magnificent four-star superior resort located right on the famous Playa Bávaro in Punta Cana, with sparkling white sand, turquoise water and swaying palm trees.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 62 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  33
Average
  10
Poor
  5
Terrible
  10
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (35)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (14)
With friend (2)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
61 - 63 of 62

"A good holiday."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian from Winnipeg  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
247 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 29, 2008 to January 5, 2009
Left Winnipeg on Decemeber 29, at 7:00. AirTransat/ SkyService. I believe the temperature at the time was -20. Arrival into Punta around 2:00. Two hour difference in time. So it was just over a 5 hour flight from Winnipeg. It must of been about 25- 30 Celcius when we arrived in Punta Cana. No issues at the airport. Just a hazzle trying to find what the numberof the Bus was which takes you to the resort. We were the only couple going to the Occidental. Others on our bus were headed to the Ocean Blue. It took us about 30 - 45 minutes to arrive to our hotel.

Rooms:
We were in the Preference Club part of AirTransat. No problem with the check in. Problem was when we went to our room it was still occupied. We were in Bldg. No 23, 3rd floor, so they quickly found another room for us on the same floor. Room No. 23-307. Prefernce Club really is nothing extra special. Free Bottle of Rum was only 350 ml. Fruit tray, looked like it was left over night. only the turn over service where we got a new beach towel every day. There were minor issues with the room. It was clean, the remote didnt work. We weren't there to watch Tv so it wasnt a concern. The Balcony light was broken, complained but it was never fixed. The showerhad no pressure. Wefoundout from a couple we met on our last day. That there is a ring on the spout that you pull down, which enable you to have a shower. Duh! How are we to know if you aren't told. Lesson for next time.

Restaurants and Bars:
All restaurants are in the same area. 4 A la Cartes. Brazil/Mexican/Asias/Italin. Along with the Buffet, Beach Bar, HomeRum(Preference Club was Breakfast.) Met some people who got sick from the Asian, we went anyways. Big mistake got sick as well. 2 1/2 days to recover. Lots of time spent in the Bathroom. Pizzeria hand tossed little greasy but fresh. Buffet decent for the food selection. Service was very good in all Restaurants. spent New years there. All Al a cartes / buffet offered the same menu. Lobster and Steak. Was very good, best meal we had all week. Beach Bar had great french fries. As for the bars, service a little slow, flavored drinks really sweet. Domestic alcohol. International drinks were charged around $5Us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Prefence Club had there own section. Not much there, just closed off at the end of the Resort,on the Beach. Lots of Beach Chairs, butthey are scooped up qiute early. always managed to find a few. Lots of vendors on the beach trying to sell you something. Beach was well kept, water was rough everyday we were there. Grounds were in great shape well maintained. Its easy to find your way around the complex. There were 3 pools one with a bar around. Not a lot of people at any of the pools. More so on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
They had shows on every evening we were there. Nothing spectacular. New years they went all out. Had Isay it was similar to a Circus High Wire Act. Very Good, well done. Offered Hats and Party Favors to all in attendance. |Didnt see much of the Animation group so cant comment on that. Went to Sanoa Island saved $30US instead of going thru Transat went thru Caribe tours. Only problem was 95 % spoke another language we were the onlyones to speak english.

Other Comments::
Last day we checking out to leave Bus was suppose to pick us up at 12:20 nothing turns out there is flight delay. Pushed back to 7:20. Transat tells us to go the Beach enjoy a few extra hours here. Shower at the spa again( which isnt whats it all cracked up to be) Okay we are all set to go again. Oh Sorry another delay pushed back to 10:55. Unreal, end up leaving Punta Cana at 2:30in the morning. There's more. While we there for our last day the water was out. Itturnsout they were taking water from the pool and using itin the Restaurant. I dont know about you, but that's pretty disgustuing. Turns my stomach, maybe thats Ive been feeling under the weather. So what turned out to be a good holiday, makes me wonder about going back there. feel free to email me

smithbri@mts.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is the strong point of this hotel."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Shane from Manitoba  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
240 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 4th to January 11th 2009
arrived at the airport in Punta Cana about 3:00 and got to the resort about 4:00 as some idiots on our bus wanted to stop and buy beer at a little store which turned out to be about five minutes from the resort

Rooms:
rooms are clean but are very out dated mainly the bathroom which is the worst we have ever seen showers hardly had any pressure, tubs are very small and old and just really YUK!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
we ate at the Italian which was good the services was fast and the food was hot , the Japanese which was very bad food was bad service was very slow it took over an hour to get it and we ate at the mexican it was alright but definately not 4 star quaity the buffetts are OK but go for the food that is cooked right in front of you like omletes and the pastas otherwise most of the food was luke warm at best all of the bars are good maybe even the best we have seen as the drinks are definately not watered down but not much of a selection.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach is the strong point of this hotel as it is a hundred times nicer then any we have stayed at in Mexico the pools are nice and grounds are very well kept down side of the beach is the guys trying to sell their junk all day long everything from cigars to statues and jewerly the pools downside by the swimup bar is the music which starts as soon as the bar opens

Other Comments:
would propably not go back but enjoyed it while there this hotel should definatily be down graded from a 4.5 Star to maybe a 2 star if it is not upgraded soon as the lobby and the rooms are really starting to show lots of wear and tear

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was not an enjoyable holiday."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stephanie  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Dec, 2008
232 people found this review helpful

Arrival and Flight:
Arrived 7th of December 2008. Flew with ArkeFly. With a stop over in Puerto Plata.

Room 1: Building 11 Room 234, was not renovated, air-conditioning was noisy and the walls were dirty with mold.

Room 2: Building 12 Room 124, was renovated, water with no pressure in the room and in front of the laundry (not very quite place).

Restaurants: We tried the Italian, which was nothing special! We tried the Mexican that was just "so-so". Ate all our breakfasts and most dinners at the main buffet and after a while my boyfriend and other 10 people went to the hospital due to supposed poison food. (high fever, vomit, abdominal pain and diarrhea.)The tablecloths were not clean and also the chairs and sofas were dirty. Not very hygienic.

Bars: Barman loves to serve alcohol.

Beach and Pools: The beach was always kept clean and guarded. We never spent time at the pool.

Grounds: Beautiful gardens.

Departure and Check Out: No friendly employees at the reception.

Conclusion: We were at this resort in December 2008 and unfortunately we are not happy because of the supposed poison food. We, therefore, decided to do not return.

Medical service in the hotel: A consult cost $95,00 and they will always send u to the private clinic.

Hospiten Bavaro: This is the only private clinic in the area, good structure, clean but the personnel of the hospital is not qualified. They are happy to keep you longer in order to gain more money from your insurance. Doctors do not speak English and are not so willing to explain to you the situation of the ill person.

In conclusion, this was not an enjoyable holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube