Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Westin Roco Ki Beach & Golf Resort

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2014

The Puntacana Hotel

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Punta Cana Princess All-Suites & Spa

4.1 based on 33 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2014

Riu Naiboa

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 26, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

IFA Ocean Bavaro Resort & Spa

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Occidental Grand Punta Cana  

Calle Friusa Arena Verde 125, 1809 Bavaro, Punta Cana. República Dominicana

"very affordable place"
Posted by: effron on Sep 11, 2014
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#4
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 65 reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Information


A magnificent four-star superior resort located right on the famous Playa Bávaro in Punta Cana, with sparkling white sand, turquoise water and swaying palm trees.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 65 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  34
Average
  10
Poor
  6
Terrible
  11
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (38)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
With friend (2)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
61 - 66 of 65

"I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan from Nova Scotia  on Feb 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
264 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 7 - 14
Got there early in the day after leaving Halifax at 6:30 am. Arrived at the hotel where it had been raining off and on all day.

Rooms
We stayed in building 12 which was a good location. Close to the beach and close to everything else. Rooms were immaculate and very nicely appointed. The king size bed was actually that, not two twins shoved together. The pillows were great too. Lots of hot water and water pressure.

Restaurants and Bars
So many to choose from. I especially liked the beach bar which was convenient and you didn't have to walk a mile to get a drink. The food was superior in the buffet and the a la cartes. Great drinks and they were generous with the liquor.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was 5+ star and the grounds were very well maintained. The pools were clean clean clean, just not warm enough. That might have had something to do with the fact that it rained for our first 4 days.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We didn't do any tours this time because we have done them all over the years. Just went for some R & R

Other Comments
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A truly great experience."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doug from Goderich  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
274 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 24th to Jan 31st
We arrived a bit tipsy, but check in was a breeze. We were taken to our room right away via a comfortable golf cart and a friendly driver who loaded and unloaded our luggage.

Rooms:
We stayed in building 13 (room 118 ground floor). The room was clean and spacious. We never had a problem with hot water, it was plenty hot and available all the time. We had one mishap with the shower head, but maintenance fixed it that day. AC was cold all week, and we never had any issues with power outages.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Buffet: I thought the buffet was quite good, they have fresh fruit, omletes, fried and poached eggs, pancakes, pastries, crepes, what more do you want for breakfast? I cant really comment on the lunch in the buffet as we never went there for lunch. Since we are beach people, we ate at the Beach Club which is a mini buffet aat the beach's edge. Burgers, fries, fruit, pasta, salad etc. We went to the ala cartes every night except for 2. Those 2 nights at the buffet were also good, with lots of choices. Don't forget, your in the Dominican, not Toronto. Don't get picky over the food.

The Italian Rest - never made our reseservation, too many mammajuana shots that day..ugghhh. We heard it was good though.

The Mexican Rest - Awesome, we had the quesadilla and the burrito and both were good. They also have cheesy nacho's which my fiancé loved and became addicted too.

Home Run Rest - This is the restaurant that's above the swim up bar. Its available for breakfast in the morning to Air Transat guests only. It opens at 11am for the rest of us and stays open ˜til 6pm. Typical sports bar food which is yummy burgers,hot dogs, fries etc.

The Oriental Rest - This was our favourite!! Very good sushi and great dinner plates. We had the Chow Mien plate and the Scallops and Prownes plate. Super good. If you like asian food, book this place twice. Las Riesa (steakhouse) We had this the last night we were there and it was also good. A word of advice tho, if your hungry, order the rib-eye, as I ordered the steak and Potatoes an the steak could fit in the palm of my hand. The Rib-eye was much bigger. Don't get me wrong though, the steak was very good but gone in three bites.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The Beach was awesome. I'm a bit biased here because I tend to like beaches a little quieter than this one, ie cuba. The sand was soft and there was an abundance of chairs. I laughed one morning, as I saw a couple come down at about noon, to find that their towels we gone that they put there most likely by 7am. I hate people who do this. They got what they deserved. The beach bar was awesome and J. Carlos was a great bartender until he kept feeding us those mammajuanna shots (refer to Ittalian nite).The pool was nice, but we are mostly beach people so we didn't visit there much.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My fiancé and I ventured out to Steve's Bar on Wed to meet up with other TA members and had a blast. Make sure you go on the Wed of your visit there.

As far as tours go, we did one excursion to the Marinarium which was awesome being able to swim with the sharks and rays. A truly great experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A good holiday."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian from Winnipeg  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
253 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 29, 2008 to January 5, 2009
Left Winnipeg on Decemeber 29, at 7:00. AirTransat/ SkyService. I believe the temperature at the time was -20. Arrival into Punta around 2:00. Two hour difference in time. So it was just over a 5 hour flight from Winnipeg. It must of been about 25- 30 Celcius when we arrived in Punta Cana. No issues at the airport. Just a hazzle trying to find what the numberof the Bus was which takes you to the resort. We were the only couple going to the Occidental. Others on our bus were headed to the Ocean Blue. It took us about 30 - 45 minutes to arrive to our hotel.

Rooms:
We were in the Preference Club part of AirTransat. No problem with the check in. Problem was when we went to our room it was still occupied. We were in Bldg. No 23, 3rd floor, so they quickly found another room for us on the same floor. Room No. 23-307. Prefernce Club really is nothing extra special. Free Bottle of Rum was only 350 ml. Fruit tray, looked like it was left over night. only the turn over service where we got a new beach towel every day. There were minor issues with the room. It was clean, the remote didnt work. We weren't there to watch Tv so it wasnt a concern. The Balcony light was broken, complained but it was never fixed. The showerhad no pressure. Wefoundout from a couple we met on our last day. That there is a ring on the spout that you pull down, which enable you to have a shower. Duh! How are we to know if you aren't told. Lesson for next time.

Restaurants and Bars:
All restaurants are in the same area. 4 A la Cartes. Brazil/Mexican/Asias/Italin. Along with the Buffet, Beach Bar, HomeRum(Preference Club was Breakfast.) Met some people who got sick from the Asian, we went anyways. Big mistake got sick as well. 2 1/2 days to recover. Lots of time spent in the Bathroom. Pizzeria hand tossed little greasy but fresh. Buffet decent for the food selection. Service was very good in all Restaurants. spent New years there. All Al a cartes / buffet offered the same menu. Lobster and Steak. Was very good, best meal we had all week. Beach Bar had great french fries. As for the bars, service a little slow, flavored drinks really sweet. Domestic alcohol. International drinks were charged around $5Us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Prefence Club had there own section. Not much there, just closed off at the end of the Resort,on the Beach. Lots of Beach Chairs, butthey are scooped up qiute early. always managed to find a few. Lots of vendors on the beach trying to sell you something. Beach was well kept, water was rough everyday we were there. Grounds were in great shape well maintained. Its easy to find your way around the complex. There were 3 pools one with a bar around. Not a lot of people at any of the pools. More so on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
They had shows on every evening we were there. Nothing spectacular. New years they went all out. Had Isay it was similar to a Circus High Wire Act. Very Good, well done. Offered Hats and Party Favors to all in attendance. |Didnt see much of the Animation group so cant comment on that. Went to Sanoa Island saved $30US instead of going thru Transat went thru Caribe tours. Only problem was 95 % spoke another language we were the onlyones to speak english.

Other Comments::
Last day we checking out to leave Bus was suppose to pick us up at 12:20 nothing turns out there is flight delay. Pushed back to 7:20. Transat tells us to go the Beach enjoy a few extra hours here. Shower at the spa again( which isnt whats it all cracked up to be) Okay we are all set to go again. Oh Sorry another delay pushed back to 10:55. Unreal, end up leaving Punta Cana at 2:30in the morning. There's more. While we there for our last day the water was out. Itturnsout they were taking water from the pool and using itin the Restaurant. I dont know about you, but that's pretty disgustuing. Turns my stomach, maybe thats Ive been feeling under the weather. So what turned out to be a good holiday, makes me wonder about going back there. feel free to email me

smithbri@mts.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is the strong point of this hotel."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Shane from Manitoba  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
247 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 4th to January 11th 2009
arrived at the airport in Punta Cana about 3:00 and got to the resort about 4:00 as some idiots on our bus wanted to stop and buy beer at a little store which turned out to be about five minutes from the resort

Rooms:
rooms are clean but are very out dated mainly the bathroom which is the worst we have ever seen showers hardly had any pressure, tubs are very small and old and just really YUK!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
we ate at the Italian which was good the services was fast and the food was hot , the Japanese which was very bad food was bad service was very slow it took over an hour to get it and we ate at the mexican it was alright but definately not 4 star quaity the buffetts are OK but go for the food that is cooked right in front of you like omletes and the pastas otherwise most of the food was luke warm at best all of the bars are good maybe even the best we have seen as the drinks are definately not watered down but not much of a selection.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach is the strong point of this hotel as it is a hundred times nicer then any we have stayed at in Mexico the pools are nice and grounds are very well kept down side of the beach is the guys trying to sell their junk all day long everything from cigars to statues and jewerly the pools downside by the swimup bar is the music which starts as soon as the bar opens

Other Comments:
would propably not go back but enjoyed it while there this hotel should definatily be down graded from a 4.5 Star to maybe a 2 star if it is not upgraded soon as the lobby and the rooms are really starting to show lots of wear and tear

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff and the service were impeccable"

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Veni from Montreal  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2009
242 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
November 3, 2008 Well...It's a bit complicated. I did not book this trip with a Tour Operator, I instead used the "build your own trip" option with Expedia. I spent an hour on the phone with the Customer Service at Expedia going through EVERY detail. I received my confirmation via e-mail and all was perfect. This was my second trip to the D.R. so I knew what to expect at the airport and how to find the transportation to the resort. The flight was good, no delays. The bus ride to the resort was fun. Check in was ABSOLUT HELL. I payed for a 13 day stay in the "premium class" room, they had me booked for 5 days and the Hotel was sooo full that they could not extend my stay. Try to imagine a person sitting in a lobby in full winter gear, sweating, while everyone else are in they're bathing suits, yelling a a Customer Service Rep. at Expedia (on my cell because those "pay phones" in the lobby will drain your credit card). 2 hours, an appology and refund for 8 days from Expedia later, I decided to stay the 5 days and make the best of it and spend the rest of my vacation in the city with my Dominican friends. All through out my 2 hours sitting in the lobby, the staff were extremly nice towards me, they served me drinks and chit-chatted with me while I was on hold on the phone. The staff at the Reception area were the best.

Rooms:
I was in building 24, ground floor. The room was nice and spacious but the washroom could use a slight updating...the tub was a bit small and the shower head was installed too close to the wall. You are practically kissing the tiles when you are washing your hair! The locks on the door and balcony work well but you have to pay if you want to use the safe. The room fridge was replenished daily and you have all the fixings included with the coffee maker. There was an iron, ironing board, hangers even an umbrella available in the closet.

Restaurants and Bars:
All the restaurants (buffet and à la carte) were good, no complaints. The bars closed fairly early.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEAUTIFUL! Occidental is a good size resort so the beach seems almost endless and pools every where! The grounds are very well maintained too. Take advantage of the schuttle service, trust me! Unless you are actually strolling, you'll find the route long from the bar or restaurant to your room.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The "Mangu" is a dance club situated in the entrance of the hotel. Guests of the hotel don't have to stand in line to get in but the visitors do. Fantastic club with 2 dance floors. I don't know if guests of the hotel pays for the drinks, but if it's not too late, there's no need 'cause there's a bar in the main lobby, anyway. There's an outdoor stage also, try to see a show, it's fun.

Other Comments:
There's not much more I can say about Occidental because my stay there was cut short, I felt like I had to rush about just to able to take advantage of anything. For all it's worth, the staff and the service were impeccable but I'd rather visit another resort the next time I go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was not an enjoyable holiday."

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stephanie  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Dec, 2008
237 people found this review helpful

Arrival and Flight:
Arrived 7th of December 2008. Flew with ArkeFly. With a stop over in Puerto Plata.

Room 1: Building 11 Room 234, was not renovated, air-conditioning was noisy and the walls were dirty with mold.

Room 2: Building 12 Room 124, was renovated, water with no pressure in the room and in front of the laundry (not very quite place).

Restaurants: We tried the Italian, which was nothing special! We tried the Mexican that was just "so-so". Ate all our breakfasts and most dinners at the main buffet and after a while my boyfriend and other 10 people went to the hospital due to supposed poison food. (high fever, vomit, abdominal pain and diarrhea.)The tablecloths were not clean and also the chairs and sofas were dirty. Not very hygienic.

Bars: Barman loves to serve alcohol.

Beach and Pools: The beach was always kept clean and guarded. We never spent time at the pool.

Grounds: Beautiful gardens.

Departure and Check Out: No friendly employees at the reception.

Conclusion: We were at this resort in December 2008 and unfortunately we are not happy because of the supposed poison food. We, therefore, decided to do not return.

Medical service in the hotel: A consult cost $95,00 and they will always send u to the private clinic.

Hospiten Bavaro: This is the only private clinic in the area, good structure, clean but the personnel of the hospital is not qualified. They are happy to keep you longer in order to gain more money from your insurance. Doctors do not speak English and are not so willing to explain to you the situation of the ill person.

In conclusion, this was not an enjoyable holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube