Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.4 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 18, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel  

Autopista Sur final, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba

"Perfect Hotel"
Posted by: John on Oct 25, 2014
see all reviews

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Reviews
Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Pictures and Information
Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Varadero Cuba

#44
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.3

Based on 7 reviews

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Information


Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel, A little and exclusive island For adults only (guests aged 18 and over)surrounded by a beautiful secluded private beach connected to the Punta Hicacos Peninsula next to the Blau Marina Varadero Resort.

Two hours and a half from the International Havana Airport and 35 min away from the Varadero International airport. In front of the Marina Gaviota which is the most important Sea Point in Cuba and near the Punta Hicacos Ecological Park.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Reviews

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Review: 4.3 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 7 of 7

"5-star potential carelessly drifting to lower standard"

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
User Rating:  Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  alexander  on Mar 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
332 people found this review helpful

I stayed Feb.14 to 21, 2011 in the Cayo Libertad section of the Barcelo Marina Palace resort, the very easternmost resort of the 57 resorts in the Varadero peninsula. I had a great and very relaxed time in this quiet and adult-oriented premium area. However, the bottom line is that what could be a 5-star resort in the Cayo Libertad area and a 4 star resort in the other parts is carelessly drifting toward a lower standard.

I paid $1050 per person, of which $170 was for the upgrade to the Cayo Libertad island, and consider it a real bargain.

Still, lots of little irritations and missed opportunities. Still, it was a great experience and very relaxing, which is what I was after. Cayo Libertad is not a teen party area. The whole resort didn’t seem really youth oriented. But for those who want a pleasant getaway in attractive surroundings, the resort is very pleasant, and the Cayo Libertad area is worth the additional premium. Learn as much as you can before you go, because you may not find much information when you get there.

Room Number:
3504

Arrival:
We landed at the airport before 10 p.m. It took over an hour in a crowded and cramped terminal to locate all the luggage, which was going around on both the conveyor belts simultaneously. The one money exchange I could find was only for the payment of customs duties. Fortunately, there was no confusion on leaving the tiny terminal, as Sunwing representatives were right outside directing people to at least a dozen parked shuttle buses going to different clusters of resorts. Eventually the last passengers on the list for my bus arrived and the bus took off. There was a student giving an introduction to Cuba, over a painful speaker system (tip: bring earplugs, which will also be helpful if you don’t like the poolside music chosen by staff in their 20s, or the chattering guests who befriend fellow tourists and then converse with them over 30 foot distances), and she collected tips in $5 Cdn bills, so in return for about an hour on the bus and an hour travel, she and the bus driver cleared a month’s salary. One of my companions said at 11:59 p.m. “well, it looks like we won’t get there until tomorrow” - it took a full hour to get from the airport to the Barcelo Marina Palace.

Check-in at the Barcelo Marina Palace was the first sign of trouble. The highly-compensated tour guide did not understand me when I asked about checking in to the separate Cayo Libertad reception. She had no clue what I meant when I referred to the promised “private check-in in separate area”. I looked around in the lobby for directions, but no staff were on hand. So I lined up with the other 20 arrivals at main reception, and when I was eventually served, they had no record of me. Fortunately, I mentioned Cayo Libertad, and then they found me in the computer. We were sent outside to wait 20 minutes for a shuttle golf cart to take me to our special reception.

Rooms:
The junior suite was a huge room, with a 20-foot deck with wooden chairs. The bathtub was huge, the walk-in closet had lots of room for hanging things (even if there was no dresser), and the dual sinks were a nice touch. Our room was clean and comfortable. The rest of the resort had lesser rooms, from what I saw and heard.

Our magnetic room entry card worked fine. I only heard of one that didn’t. Once the door is open, put it in the card reader slot on the wall beside the door, or the lights will go off after 15 seconds. Sounds obvious, and I’ve done it in other hotels, but at 2 in the morning in a strange country, it can be a bit confusing.

My room phone didn’t work. This is actually something quite significant in a premium resort a key feature of which is 24-hour room service. When it wasn’t fixed after 4 days and four requests, I went to see the concierge. She asked my room number and dialed the number. She heard the ringing and said “it’s working now”. I pointed out that she might be hearing something at her end, but it wasn’t ringing in my room. So she got creative and said the whole 8-unit cluster was out. Well, I pointed out that my friends in the room next door were busy ordering things by phone several times a day, so her next defence was to offer to move me away from my friends if I wasn’t happy with the phone not working. Tip: make sure the phone works before you unpack everything.

Our balcony door wouldn’t lock, which seems to be a standard feature of Cuban resorts. I wasn’t too worried as we were up a level on a private island area, but eventually I was in the room at the same time as the cleaner and she noted that a metal piece had been removed. Once the handyman came the next day, he had to go and find the piece somewhere else, but once he came back it took about 30 seconds to screw the latchplate in. Hopefully he didn’t just go to an empty suite and unscrew theirs. Hint to management: part of preparing the room for new arrivals includes seeing if the phone works, the balcony door locks, the bottle opener is there, etc.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was servicable but after a week monotonous. Not hot. The a la carte restaurant dress code, described as “formal”, means long pants (at least for men?) and preferably a shirt with collar and short sleeves. I saw no jacket or tie, not once, in any of the restaurants. The special reservation Cuban buffet is just another buffet with one person frying prawns 5 at a time on a 20-prawn grill while people stand in line. The regular buffet has similar food, only more of it, with more servers cutting off chunks of rubber chicken or whatever. We got hungry early and went to the Cuban buffet 45 minutes before our reservation time. Out of 40 tables in the pavilion, 20 were in service with cutlery, and of those only 9 were occupied. The chief witch at the door said they were too busy to fit us in and that it would disrupt the flow of the staff (at a buffet, no less) if we took the tenth table prior to our actual reservation time. We held our ground and she gave in after 5 minutes. We sat down beside a couple who didn’t even have a reservation or our silver bracelet status, and they merrily told us that they had had no trouble getting in 5 minutes earlier because they slipped her a little money. But that was the only time I felt that service depended on tips.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
West of the main building is the water slide pool. People crowd around there and reserve deck chairs early in the morning and so on. That’s great for those with kids, or those who feel lost without a trailer park or motel atmosphere. Noisy and communal. For those stuck in that area who don’t get a deck chair, or don’t like crowding, go to the east side of the main building and find lots of space in one of the other pools in the area between buildings B16 to B23. Same idea on the beach. If the beach chairs under the little thatched poles are busy, just head east 200 feet and there will be room at the next cluster. And so on. But the beach is infested with jellyfish, and there are no warnings, unlike other resorts. My favorite spot in the Cayo Libertad reserved area was the cigar bar. Sometimes someone played the piano at 10 p.m. Nobody knew when or if it would happen. All day the building was essentially deserted, and it was great to sit out on the deck area watching the heron or the pelican fly around. It was beautiful. BUT there is a little beach with several chairs right under it, and a sandy descent into pretty water. Several people actually did swim there the last day, and the barman happily watched the girls in their bikinis. He went on break and another staffer came by about the time someone else went in for a swim. The new staffer called out a warning about the barracuda that can attack swimmers. There were actually lots of them, I just didn’t know what they were. They were swimming around 5 feet from shore by the dozen. No warning signs, no warnings from some of the staff.

The ocean and pool waters are quite cold. And if “Jacuzzi” brings to mind a whirlpool or hot tub, or even water, you may be disappointed. Half the Jacuzzis were empty of water and the other half were unheated.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were booked in very quickly, but provided with absolutely no information. It stayed that way for the whole week. The bulletin board set out the weather forecast for the week before our arrival, but that was never updated with a forecast for my week; when it was 5 days overdue, they finally took the expired forecast down without replacing it. There are sailboats available at the main beach, but I wasn’t keen to take a boat out into shark-infested waters with the gusting winds that other commentators have noted. On the day we left, my companions wandered into the boat shack and found that a staff sailor actually goes out in the boats with the guests to take care of matters, which would have been nice to know. A couple of days into the vacation, I went to the private area concierge and asked what there was to do that Saturday, and the conversation went like this:
“I am looking for something to do. What is available for me to do this coming Saturday?”
“Who is your travel agency?” “Sunwing”. “I don’t have their binder here but if you go to the lobby the book will tell you what time your flight is leaving.” “I’m leaving Monday. What can I do Saturday?” [blank stare, then she started fiddling with the phone and wouldn’t make eye contact]

If you take the excursion into Havana, beware of reading during the two-hour bus ride. Our tour guide, who was otherwise very informative, upbraided my wife no less than three times over the tour bus speakers for daring to read while he was talking! He was hurt and thought she was rude to him by not listening intently. Amazing. He kind of lost perspective about who was paying the 67 CUC each, and the possibility that people enjoy passing their time in different ways. I was so offended by the third time, I almost put my book down and said something. She wasn’t really upset, but thought it only fair to torment him for the rest of the trip by asking endless questions as we paraded around old Havana.

Other Comments:
The business centre has only 3 computers to serve several hundred guests. One of the computers was so slow the staff warned people about it. The other two worked fine as long as one counted to 10 for email messages to load. Coded cards are purchased for 10 CUC for an hour. The card is good for a month (?) from first use, and can be used in increments over the stay. When the staff member goes on a meal break, the room is closed; she is not replaced by another staffer so people can keep typing away. If the card time runs out, the machine shuts off. Since the “remember me” or “keep me logged in” box is ticked as the default option on email and social media sites, the concern will be that the next user might be able to access the expired person’s account. So untick that box first thing. The magic show was worth watching. Again, no information about what is showing when, at least not in the theatre area. I found a listing once but couldn’t find it again. Beside the theatre, there’s a photo of the entertainers and the name of the show, but no information about when it starts. It seems to be 9:30. The 8 p.m. children’s participatory show seems to involve nothing more than music being piped over the speakers, and one or two mothers who were bemused at the lack of activity climbed onto the stage to walk their toddlers around.

A final word of advice about noise. The hotel boasts in name and in website information about being next to the marina. Yes, there are a couple of dozen catamarans and yachts tucked out of sight across the road on the south side. The commercially important part of the bay involves a quay that is being expanded by dump trucks carting rocks to extend the pier, a handful of cranes, and a new resort going up. Large and medium-sized freighters were moving here and there. It’s actually not all that noisy yet, despite all the heavy equipment, and small boys might enjoy watching things come and go, but the pastoral views are all on the north side of the resort. And unless you like thumping bass notes up to 1:30 a.m., avoid staying in buildings B16 and B17 next to the disco (which is also next to the lighthouse and restaurant Faro). And on the ground floor of those two buildings, I suspect that those partygoers headed east at the 1:30 closing will troop right through the buildings and waking up the ground floor guests, although when I was there the disco attendance could be counted on two hands.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Family Vacation"

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
User Rating:  Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marion van den Berg  on Jul 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
304 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Cayo Libertad, which suppossed to be a Premium 5 star Hotel. The Hotel itself and surroundings are nice, nice landscaping and comfortable rooms. Good luck getting shampoo etc. However, the food was horrible....this supposed to be a five star hotel, but is more like a 1 or 2 star according to US Hotels. There was never anything available offered on the menu, and at breakfast, the milk served was rotten. My 11 year old Boy got very sick and had to be treated by the Doctor. I understand the situation in Cuba is hard, my husband is Cuban born and explained quite a bit about the situation. But we paid full price and expected to have a five star treatment. They are charging a five star price, they're not discounting due to lack of food or drinks. We have stayed in many Barcelo, Riu, Melia etc. Hotels around the world. This was definetely the most dissapointing:( So sad, since Cuba is a beautiful country and has one of the most beatiful beaches in the world. Gaviota needs to take some lessons from Barcelo Hotels in other countries such as Cancun or Dominican Republic. If they will, we might be back some day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place, poor food"

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
User Rating:  Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  LAVOIE  on Aug 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

Great place to stay, very clean and good services, poor choice of food in this time of year, chicken or fish, no pork or beef selections, lots of flys and birds arond and in food, otherwise, i would return anytime.

Room Number:
3003

Room Block:
BOTELON

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful resort, 5 stars all the way!!!"

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
User Rating:  Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tremblay  on Feb 19, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
145 people found this review helpful

If you want to live a unique wonderful dreaming experience, this is the place to go. The service is 5 stars, the food is 5 stars, the set up is 5 stars, the staff is 5 stars.... We have stayed in many all inclusive but nothing compares to Cayo Libertad! This place is for adults, the real one I mean; not those that are looking for the most alcool and noise and entertainement... Those of us that want to enjoy days of pampering and enjoying the pleasures of a calm and mature way of living. The resident manager Raul is simply a wonderful boss that proves that with respect and positive reinforcement, you can get the most wonderful and efficient team. Thank you to all of you for the wonderful time.
Johanne + Pascal from Gatineau, Québec, Canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise"

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
User Rating:  Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on May 28, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
33 people found this review helpful

It was my first time visiting this part of Cuba and needed a place to stay, saw good reviews and decided to try it out myself. I’ve got say, we had n amazing time here especially with the locals and the hotel was on point and had everything we needed. The hotel is located on the very end of Varadero making it quiet, private and peaceful, loved that. We got a big suite with an ocean view here and the room was cleaned daily as well. Everything was in order, the fridge was restocked regularly, and the maid service was impeccable as the maid was very nice and professional. I and my wife usually ate at the main resort buffet for meals and it was delicious. The main reason I and my wife loved this place was because of the fact that the beach as secluded and private, it made our holiday even more romantic. The beach area is beautiful and peaceful and I wouldn’t trade that for the part that has so many activities, if you want that, you should go to the main resort area. The food selection was not that great but they serve one of the best meals I have every eaten, this place is not so fancy compared to some other hotels in town but it was great all the same. The hotel has great pool side bars and also lounge chairs which is very thoughtful on their part. We had an amazing time here and will come back if we have the opportunity to again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"peaceful"

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
User Rating:  Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  janet  on Jul 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
27 people found this review helpful

It is a quiet and peaceful area to spend your time out when you are on vacation, if you are planning a trip to this part of the country, you should consider this place. I and my partner stayed here for 9 days and it was all what we expected as the reviews we read online didn’t lie or exaggerate the good service, it was all well in order. We visited during the off season and I am saying off season because people weren’t much in the resort and it was so calm and quiet, there were no kids running around anywhere, it was really a great time we had here. We had small problem with our room but immediately we called the front desk, it was dealt with immediately and our room was changed. The pool was nice, it was clean and not crowded, the swim up bar was also nice and the bartender is lovely. The beach we visited was the Marina one I guess but it was calm and collected, not dirty, less people and there were lounge chairs(if that is what it is called) available for guests. The buffet was really great and the staff there was amazing, everything about food was up to what we wanted so no bad review on that aspect. The entire staff at the hotel was nice to us and related well with every guests I saw them with. The summary of our trip is that we had a nice time and hope to come back soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect Hotel"

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
User Rating:  Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Oct 25, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
6 people found this review helpful

The Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel is one of the best hotels I have been in Cuba. This is a great place where you can relax and spend the best vacation.

This resort has everything that you would need there. So no matter if you are looking for a relaxing vacation or you are going there to party, you will find what you are looking for in the Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel.

Arrival:
When we arrived in the Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel the rooms were ready, we even got some complimentary gifts and that was really nice. What really amazed me is how polite and nice the staff were. They were worth each and every tip we gave them. I can say that they are the reason why people should go there. I just loved them.

Rooms:
The rooms were perfectly clean, the staff was cleaning the rooms all the time, and the thing that my kids liked the most was the towel art, that was left there after they cleaned the room. The rooms were big enough, the air condition was working perfectly and the bathrooms were clean and there was hot water all the time. So, all in all, I was really happy with the rooms in this amazing hotel.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in the restaurants was really good. It was well prepared and it tasted amazing. There was a huge diversity when it comes to different cuisines, so you can find anything that you like to eat. The people that work at the bar are really doing their magic. You can taste the most amazing drinks and cocktails. There even have some one of a kind cocktails that I really liked. A+

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach at the Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel was also amazing. It was cleaned every morning, so you really can't find even one cigarette butt (I had some problems with all garbage that was left on the beaches in some other places in Cuba). The garden paths were also cleaned every day and the garden looked amazing. I don't think that words are needed to explain how amazing the water was. You really have to go there to see and feel it.

Other Comments:
All in all this hotel is great. I recommend it to everyone that wants to go in Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube