Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Reviews

Home page > Panama > Panama Hotel Index > Breezes Resort and Spa Panama reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Panama Hotels with Similar Ranking

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort

3.9 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Radisson Decapolis

3.8 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2008

Gamboa Rainforest Resort

3.5 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 11, 2010

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama  

Address. Carretera Interamericana km 108 Provincia de Cocle, Santa Clara, Panama

"Sleepless nights and rude manager"
Posted by: Erot  on Sep 20, 2011
see all reviews

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Reviews
Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Pictures and Information
Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Panama Panama

#3
of 9 Hotels in Panama

User rating 3.4

Based on 5 reviews

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Information


Breezes Resort and Spa Panama is not just the first Super-Inclusive resort in Central America, its also one of the best brand new resort on the grace the shoreline of the Pacific Ocean.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Reviews

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Review: 3.4 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (4)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"Sleepless nights and rude manager"

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama
User Rating:  Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erot  on Sep 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) AFGHANISTAN
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
200 people found this review helpful

I unfortunately trusted the other reviews and decided to book my reservation. While the Panama canal is absolutely incredible to see, staying at this "resort" left much to be desired.

The quality of rooms is poor to adequate at best with no curtains to block light early in the morning and beds that really are not that comfortable. The music is loud at night so it also makes sleeping difficult.

The hotel must have changed its policies since now they charge for any medical consult at the hotel for anything from being stung by jelly fish in the ocean right in front of the hotel to slipping on the wet floor in the rooms after cleaning.

Room Number:
1722

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
The pools looked great, but service was lacking. No assistance with luggage until requesting it. Managers were condescending and acted as if we should be doing that.

Rooms:
As listed above, lack of curtain and an adequate bed give it a low rating.

Restaurants and Bars:
The fatty and repeated food will be perfect for someone who likes eating essentially the same things every day, but if you like variety and some healthier options, forget it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach has not life guard, murky unclean water and jelly fish. Other than that there is a beautiful sunset and soft sand. The pools are nice, but if it starts to rain they will kick you out of the pool and it rains A LOT.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Minimal activities and very restricted. Ask for anything outside their plan and you'll be treated rudely and even threatened by manager's staff. If you don't ever question anything and accept everything you are told, might be the place to spend your money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good; not great. Glad we went; wouldn't go back though."

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama
User Rating:  Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jay & Jenn  on Sep 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
284 people found this review helpful

Panama is a unique place to go right now; you have the relaxed resort to enjoy, the beaches, the Canal to explore, as well as a city that’s been labeled a world heritage site. But it’s also going through a transformation right now, since the Americans left the nation in 1999. The city is being gutted and rebuilt (literally) to bring in more multinational corporations, condos, and tourism; the latter of which is just starting to blossom. Consequently, there are still a lot that needs to be learned with experience in regards to how travelers to resorts expect to be serviced. In addition, because the Panamanians lived quite separate from the Americans when they occupied the Canal Zone, English is only spoken by 14% of the population; which does not make for easy conversations when shopping, or when trying to communicate what you want to some of the resort staff.

In terms of weather, we went in August, which is the rainy season. We’ve gone in August to Mexico and the Dominican in the past, with great weather. Panama is a bit different in that it gets quite a bit of rain, sometimes their wet season lasts 8 months. On our trip, clouds dominated. Usually, they get some mix of sun and cloud in the morning; solid clouds by noon, and rain in the afternoon/evening. During our seven days, only three days of complete sun were enjoyed. The other days, were cloudy, with spotty showers. However, we were lucky to be off the resort on those rainy days, so it’s not like we were sitting around hoping to get tanned. But if you want a vacation with solid sun the majority of the days, I would not travel to Panama in the wet season.

Arrival:
The airport is efficient with no worries. The duty free shops are all over, selling much of the same merchandise, but some had more variety than others. When you arrive, a truck will take your luggage to the resort. We had no issues with that. Remember to set aside $40USD per person for the departure tax. When you check your baggage as you leave Panama, you will have to cough it up. The Hotel itself is quite isolated, in the dry belt of the country. You’ll still get clouds and rain, but nowhere near what the rest of the country gets – in the city it rained every day we were there. But the resort only got rain in the daytime 3 times, and it was brief. It rained through the late night a lot – but few care about rain at 3am.

The hotel is small, with 4 buildings, a slew of pools, and the beach. Building one is the largest, main structure with the lobby. Building two, three and four are on a slight slope heading down to the beach, with 4 being the only one with direct views of the ocean for a lucky few. I’d recommend avoiding anything on the 2nd and 3rd floor of buildings one or two; that faces the pool area of the resort – at night, a lot of loud, latin hip hop music is played from the sports bar (bottom floor, building two) which would disturb many people. Many seem shocked that the hotel wants to copy your passport, but it’s common in Europe for hotels to keep your passport numbers, so it didn’t phase me. The front desk now has a small photocopier out front to expedite this process; but we saved time by bringing copies ourselves

Rooms:
Our room was originally a premium oceanview with a king sized bed and balcony. Unlike many rooms, this wasn’t a Juliet balcony (which are plentiful – and you can’t sit out on them), but large enough for two of us to sit out and chill. But the balcony is shared – it joined with three other rooms, so you won’t be sitting out there alone – no big deal. That room was in building three overlooking the pool area. It wasn’t too noisy, but instead of a king bed, there were two doubles. The front desk was courteous enough and said they could get us what we booked the next day. Outside of this issue, the room was substandard compared to what we were used to. The walls were scuffed, there was dirt along the baseboards, there was no fridge. . . . it just looked a bit dingy, but we figured we’d just roll with it; after all, it’s a different country and tourism is new. The next day, the front desk told us that they couldn’t get us the premium oceanview with a balcony and a king size bed, so they were upgrading us to a suite.

The suites are on a totally different level than the other room we were in. The suites are in building four, and if you go on the Breezes website, under the heading ‘rooms and suites’ pictured here:

http://www.breezes.com/resorts/breezes-panama/rooms/

you will see the suite we stayed in. There’s a standard room with a bed and bathroom, and then you can go into the adjoining room, which is a big sitting area with yet another TV, full bathroom, fridge, and dining table. Go outside, and there’s a huge balcony spanning the two rooms of the suite, with 4 lounge chairs, and an unencumbered view of the ocean. Unlike the premium ocean view with balcony we were in the first night, the suite had granite counters in the bathrooms (which were larger) and was generally in much better condition in terms of cleanliness, with no signs of wear or neglect on the walls.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars all stock top shelf liquor, though the bartenders tended to lack knowledge of common drinks, and had trouble with consistency. I ordered a simple mix of Malibu and passion fruit juice, which was made perfect; but when I asked for another one, the bartender put in grapefruit instead, despite the fact that he had just made the original 5 minutes before. WE found that this kind of experience was common with the exception of a couple bartenders that were excellent – they were always manning the piano bar in the main lobby.

The buffet could use a bit more variety, though it wasn’t awful – just a notch below resorts we’ve been at in Mexico and the DR. Breakfast was always decent, with great service from the guys making omelets. But the people making pasta at night could do with some training – with four burners and lots of pans, it seems they only make one pasta at a time; which means you could wait 15 minutes in line for one of your own. The late night snack table gets rolled out around 11pm; but this consists of sandwiches made from dinner’s leftovers. I couldn’t eat it. Overall, though there were some servers who genuinely made an effort to provide friendly service, most staff at the bars and buffet didn’t seem like they wanted to be there.

The hut down by the pool served some food during the day like burgers, chicken nuggets and fries, but had to have the worst quality out of the whole resort – I don’t know how you mess up chicken nuggets, but they were mushy and tasted so bad I couldn’t swallow them.

As for the al a cartes, you are guaranteed 3 bookings at the specialty restaurants of your choice; which you do at the orientation session (which really could have half its content in paper format). You can try and book more, but they tend to be fully booked every day. The steakhouse was utter crap. The steaks are small, thin, and have little taste. The ribs are a waste of time – they’re boiled so long that they lack any kind of flavor. The chicken was decent, but not worth the booking.

We didn’t do the Italian place as we didn’t hear one good thing about it. But we went to the Japanese place twice – and most people we talked with agreed that this was the best place to eat on the resort. The cooks put on good show for you, but the serving staff really can’t seem to get you out the door fast enough. All I’d recommend in this place is a few more smiles and a lot more courtesy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The hotel was not very busy during the week (perhaps because it was in August), but local Panamanians take their families for a getaway to the resort on the weekend. It got much busier, but not overcrowded to the point of being stressful.

The pools were great, and there’s a waterslide for the kids. The beach is nice to look at, but the water is quite choppy. Very few people went in. Your small children will likely be kicked out of the water by the lifeguards. We went in the ocean the first day and got so pummeled by sandy waves that the rest of the week we kept finding new grains of sand in our ears with every q-tip. If you like the ocean, this is not the place for you.

But outside of swimming, I took out a kayak a couple times, and once past the breakwater, the ocean was fine. However, the guys working the watersports hut have zero personality (except one taller gentleman). Like a lot of the wait staff, they give one word answers and seem to genuinely want you to go away. Perhaps this is a language barrier issue and nothing more. But if I pay a thousand bucks for an all inclusive that rates itself as 5 stars; I don’t need to be treated like a king; but do expect some common courtesy.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Because they built the resort in this area, there is little else right now. There are no vendor stands, or any kind of local market that you can walk to. Down the beach is a small fisher village. Next door is a time share condo; with very few people there. You can walk for a couple hours on the beach and see no one. But, this means that you spend a lot of time on a bus. 2 hours from the airport makes for a longer day of travelling on your way into Panama and on the way out. In addition, most day trips will involve at least 4 hours on a bus round trip. A couple tours have you ona bus for 6 hours. Ask in advance how long you’re on a bus for – we found that the bus really tired us out more than anything, and that ‘s one of the reasons we wouldn’t return to Panama at least for a decade or so when more things start to pop up closer to the resort area.

Other Comments:
Overall, I am glad I went to Panama. It’s amazing to see the Canal, and unbelievable to see how the city is rapidly changing to embrace big business and tourism. But I wish I had gone in their summer; and it’s not a place I’d go to twice.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Breezes Panama Resort - We had a terrific week!"

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama
User Rating:  Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aija & Michael  on Jun 10, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
332 people found this review helpful

This resort opened last fall, so everything is fresh and new, yet comfortable and very appealing. Management and staff try very hard to make your stay there very pleasant.

It is located approximatley 2 hours away from the airport, which is the only negative. Apparently, there is talk of reopening an airport closer to the resorts in this area. This would make it much more appealing revisit. However, we knew this before we went and viewed it as an opportunity to see the countryside on the way.

Your Arrival:
Arrival at Tocumen International Airport in Panama City was efficient and uneventful. Our luggage was taken to the resort in a separate truck and we were offered cold bottles of water on the bus. The transfer to the resort takes almost 2 hours, but we got to see downtown Panama City, crossed the Panama Canal and took in the beautiful countryside.

We were very pleasantly surprised by the appearance, decor, cleanliness and genuinely welcoming feeling when we arrived. Check in was handled efficiently and courteously.

Rooms:
We a beautiful ocean view room on the 8th floor. There was no balcony, but we didn't miss it. The room is tastefully decorated and spacious with a king size bed, fabulous duvet and pillows! There is plenty of shelf, closet and drawer space. The bathroom is very spacious with plenty of toiletries and fresh towels each day.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant, La Taboga, had a great selection for each meal each day. Breakfast offerings include eggs, prepared any way you like, pancakes, waffles, cereals, yogurts, pastries, cheese, sliced meat, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit and juices and more. Lunch and dinner offered a tremendous salad bar, soup, pasta, several meat and fish choices, rice, potatoes and quite a few desserts, including ice cream. The beach grill had a continuous supply of popcorn, nachos, hamburgers, sausage, hot dogs, chicken fingers, salad and fresh fruit.
The a la carte restaurants (Japanese, Italian and Steakhouse) all provide a good selection on their menus and the food is appetizing, fresh, delicious and beautifully presented.

What was most impressive was the service. All the servers work very hard and they are pleasant, courteous and efficient. They endeavour to speak English and do not mind if we speak Spanish and even offered the correct pronunciation if we messed up. I do not have one complaint about the food, its presentation or the service. The Executive Chef, Christian, does a marvellous job of providing a great variety each day and ensuring that it is beautifully displayed and presented.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort and especially the open air lobby bar and buffet restaurant are nicely laid out, spacious, tastefully decorated and very comfortable.

The grounds are tidy, clean and very well kept. Someone is always sweeping sand away. There are several pools to choose from and many loungers are available by the pools and on the beach. In a short year or two, the landscaping will be very lush and outstanding.

The beach is amazing! You can walk for miles in either direction and not see anyone else. The Pacific Ocean is a little more exciting to swim in, due to larger waves and an undertow, but on a calm day, there was no better place to be!

There are several pools - shallow tanning pools and the larger pool with a swim up bar. All of them are clean and well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are several excursions offered to Panama City, Panama Canal and the surrounding countryside. Four of us hired a driver for a day trip into Panama City - great tour of the Amador Causeway, Casco Viejo, many different neighbourhoods, the Miraflores Locks at the Canal and a trip to one of they many huge shopping malls.

Other Comments:
The management staff were all very pleasant, attentive and anxious to please. They were receptive to any comments we had and we truly felt welcome and well looked after. In fact , all of the staff, from the front desk to the servers at the pool bar were friendly, helpful and efficient. Tourism is new to this area of Panama and they are trying very hard to provide the very best service and experience. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. They have been well-trained.

What more could we want in a week's vacation - a beautiful location, a slick, new resort with friendly, helpful and attentive staff, excellent meals that I didn't have to plan, shop for or prepare, a clean room and fresh linens each day and my favourite drinks brought to me poolside!

We would certainly go back to Panama and this resort and we'd love to take in more of the countryside next time. Panama is a beautiful country!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Time"

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama
User Rating:  Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lauraine  on Sep 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
310 people found this review helpful

This trip was our 20th all-inclusive vacation. We got a great deal, $1720.00 taxes incl. for two incl. prem.ocean view balcony room and VIP seating on Sunwing. We've been to nine different cuban destinations, six dom rep. dest., Jamaica, Mexico, El Salvador, Venezuela and now Panama. We've stayed at 3 to 5 star resorts. The Superclub Breezes Panama Spa has been our over all favorite. Even if there is still a few minor things to iron out. The staff and manager do their very best to make everyone happy. They are all open to any suggestions. In past reviews there has been some negative reviews, all I can say if you are hard to please, stay at home. Then you won't spoil other peoples vacation by your complaints. There are just some people that you just cannot please.

Arrival:
Going through customs went smoothly. The Sunwing Rep. gave us an interesting guided tour of our trip from the airport to the resort. You were offered a drink upon boarding the bus and were told that if you needed to make a pit stop they would do so. On the bus we were given packages with our room keys, & excursion pamphlets.

Rooms:
The rooms were clean, modern and spacious. The shower had the best water pressure and always plenty of hot water. The pr. oc. bal. room did not have a fridge, but the manager was so accomodating, that if you needed one for ie: baby formula or medication, I'm sure we would have had one right away. The rooms were made up even when I left a do not disturb sign on the door. If you retire early or are a light sleeper Block 1 (#1502 was our room) was right above the disco and piano bar and was busy til 2 or 3 am., not a problem for us though.

Restaurants and Bars:
All of the a la carte restaurants were excellent!!! The service was wonderful. We are not picky eaters, but most a la cartes at other resorts either serve small fancy portions or the food isn't great. This was the first resort that we've been to that my husband didn't have to go to the buffet afterwards. The buffet had a great variety of choices. If you didn't see it, just ask and they would get it for you.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was clean, and had beautiful marble white & black glistening sand. You could walk a long way in both directions. The red flag was up most of the time. When this happens be careful. My sister-in-law was in the ocean half way up her calf when a wave came along and swept her into deeper water, she needed help to get up. The pools were very clean. The waterslide was fun. The grounds were very well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Being this resort is so new, they could use visitor in put. Suggest different things that could be done to entertain guests from other resorts that you've visited. They are all so open to any suggestions.

Other Comments:
KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK BREEZES PANAMA SPA

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasant and peaceful"

Breezes Resort and Spa Panama
User Rating:  Breezes Resort and Spa Panama Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Henry  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
270 people found this review helpful

Spent six days at Breezes. Totally enjoyed the experience. Being a new resort, everything was neat, in working order, and up to standard. The layout is beautiful, tiered pools, and a pristine quiet beech for miles. There are no adjacent resorts as yet (one being finished next door), so the ocean and beaches are yours alone. The resort isn't crowded, yet you have all the amenities, great restaurants, fabulous buffet, friendly service, very good food and selections. Sports are few as yet, but gym is state of the art. Piano bar nightly, and evening entertainment is quite good for the size of the resort (dancers, guitari player, Panamanian dance troup). We stayed at Playa Blanca for 2 days the week prior, and what a difference Breezes is from that aging, over-crowded, fight-your-way-through resort.

Room Number:
5315

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube