Be Live Canoa Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bayahibe > Bayahibe Hotel Index > Be Live Canoa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bayahibe Hotels with Similar Ranking

Catalonia Gran Dominicus

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

Be Live Canoa  

Carretera a Bayahibe, Playa Dominicus, Bayahibe

"Good overall, but could be better"
Posted by: andre on Jan 3, 2013
see all reviews

Be Live Canoa Reviews
Be Live Canoa Pictures and Information
Be Live Canoa Bayahibe Dominican Republic

#2
of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe

User rating 4.4

Based on 10 reviews

Be Live Canoa Information


The Be Live Canoa hotel is surrounded by magnificent tropical vegetation and close to the "Parque Nacional del Este", located at the beautiful beach of Bayahibe.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Canoa Reviews

Be Live Canoa Review: 4.4 of 5 10 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  5
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 10

"Good overall, but could be better"

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  andre  on Jan 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
307 people found this review helpful

Clean and relatively well looked after. Management encourages smoking everywhere though. So if you have children and or yourself don't appreciate the habit - you can have hard time staying there.

Restaurants and Bars:
smoking

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
smoking

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
smoking

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing"

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy  on Dec 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
320 people found this review helpful

I stayed at Blive resort
the people that work on the resort
are the best ever.
I so wish i was still there.
A week wasn't long enough.
I will be back
real soon and for two weeks this time.

Arrival:
Dec 1/2012

Rooms:
two feet from the pool.

Restaurants and Bars:
Loved both all you can eat restaurants

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I lived at the pool all day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
did nothing

Other Comments:
just loved it
can't wait 2get back there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A true vacational dream made real!!!"

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  JOAQUIN  on Aug 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
686 people found this review helpful

When we started planing our vacation,my oldest daughter, got on the internet searching for a nice and convenient resort for six members of our family,we finally chose "BE LIVE CANOA"IN BAYAHIBE,LA ROMANA!! and it was the right place to go for a real nice time with my family!! the food was great,the room and bathroom very clean!the employees very nice and kind the entertainment with the MICHAEL JACKSON SHOW,was spectacular!!! you can eat at anytime!! the swiming pool very nice and safe for the kids and the beach was very good! Mrs, rosa rodriguez from one of the restaurant treated us very nice! Everyone was excellent!! A dreamed vacation made real !!We will go back to be live canoa!! In bayahibe la romana in dominican republic!!!Thanks so much!! 'keep up the work please!!!!!

Room Number:
800 and 801

Arrival:
The trip to the resort was beautifull, The front desk or the reception were very courteous1

Rooms:
the rooms was very clean and the bathrooms

Restaurants and Bars:
the restaurants were excellents and the bars were very friendly barstenders!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach and the pools were very nice!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the bingo and others game around the resort were very entertainent for everyone!!

Other Comments:
WE WIILL GO BACK TO BE LIVE CANOA IN FACT WE ARE PLANNING A FAMILY GET TOGETHER THERE!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was my second vacation at the La Romana resort and it was just as wonderful as the first time."

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vivienne  on Mar 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
753 people found this review helpful

The whole experience was wonderful. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful. The staff are so friendly and talented making our stay even better. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. We were welcomed back like old friends and I sincerely hope to return.

Room Number:
138

Room Block:
Block 1

Arrival:
We arrived late at night and were happy to be back in a familiar resort and comfortable surroundings.

Rooms:
The rooms were very clean and we had everything in there that we could ask for. My only criticism (and it isn't a problem) is that the resort could use some new towels.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food and service in all of the restaurants was first class. The staff were all friendly and welcoming.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was improved over last year and we could walk every day in clean sand. We didn't use the pools but they were very clean and inviting. The grounds are wonderful with beautiful gardens which were groomed every day. The flowers and birds were a sight for sore eyes when we had so much snow at home.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment staff work so hard all day to provide entertainment and activities for those who wished to take part. For those of use who just wished to relax with a book and a cervesa - they spent time each day for a conversation and a smile. We enjoyed a tour this year of Santo Domingo and thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Other Comments:
We feel this is a wonderful resort for a moderate price and something to brighten a late winter/early spring.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A relaxing vacation at a beautiful resort."

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeffrey  on Aug 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
833 people found this review helpful

Prior to our trip I was concerned about Oasis Canoa because of negative reviews I read. Maybe my expectations were less than those who wrote negative reviews or perhaps they are people who expect too much.

For the price we paid for 8 nights, roughly $900 for two people, I feel we more than obtained our money's worth.

Arrival:
Check in/out staff: Checked us in quickly and directed us to our room. Our luggage was delivered to our room within 20 minutes.

Rooms:
Room: Clean and spacious. My wife would have liked a dresser to put clothes in but this was not a big inconvenience. I missed not having a clock in our room so I didn't need to find my watch to tell the time and to set for wake up rather than using a wake up call service, which did work very well.

Restaurants and Bars:
Drinks: We enjoy the forzen drinks and that is one area that was a problem. I suppose it is due to the tropical heat and perhaps the turn over rate of these drinks, but the frozen drinks never seemed to have time to get frozen. Rather than using ice and a blender the resort usese machines that keep turning and I suppose should have been freezing the mixture. Many of our pina colada's were nothing more than syrup, rum, and water. Beer and wine, the few times that I had any, were good.

Food:
Breakfast- Great buffet selection of typical western breakfast foods and foods not so typical of western breakfasts. Good made to order omlets and eggs. Wide variety of juice and pastries.

Lunch- Main buffet had a good daily selection that varied each day. The snack bar, with the exception of a few items, had the same offering daily, hamburges, hotdogs, french fries, salad, and either chicken or fish.

Dinner- The main buffet has a theme each evening which included, Mexican, Oriental, and Caribbean. As with breakfast and lunch there was a great variety of items to choose from.

Japanese Restaurant- I was hoping this was like a true Japanese restaurant that offer traditional Japanese food. It was more like a westernized chop and dice place in which you sit around the cooking surface and watch the chef prepair the food, entertaining yes, but the food was nothing more than grilled chicken, steak, fish, and shrimp. The miso soup and mock sushi were OK.

Italian Restaurant (VeraClub)- The night we made a reservation was Mexican night. I was hoping for a wide variety of Italian food but saw little more than a few pasta offerings. The Mexican food offered was very good it just wasn't what I was anticipating from an Italian restaurant.

Food Service: The bussing service was typcially very prompt and dirty plates didn't stay on the table long. Beverage service was a little less than ideal. We often had to flag someone down to obtain beverages or refills. I found this to be annoying.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds: Well maintained and kept in immaculate condition. What you might expect of a tropical paradise.

Pool: Large with ample room for guests. Cleaned every morning. Good supply of lounge chairs. Could use more cabanas to escape the sun and ocassional rain.

Beach: Nice, kept clean by staff. Again an ample supply of lounge chairs. More cabanas would have been nice but there were numerous palm trees that shade could be found in.


Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't attend many of the activities but there were numerous available.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Relaxing - Beautiful"

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Miranda  on Mar 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
818 people found this review helpful

Relaxing - Beautiful

Your Arrival:
Flew Skyservice when checking in baggage was said to be way over weight however in bringing more stuff back it was way underweight. In the future if this happened I would request my bags weighed at another station as I believe the Toronto Airport did not get the correct reading on our luggage. Landed in Punta Cana rather than La Romana airport. Could be anywhere from 1.5-3 hour bus ride which is nice to see the surrounding area and towns. Check in was smooth, had to wait for our room but were able to enjoy the facilities while we waited. Bell boy holds your luggage while you tour the resort. Bring swimsuit/light clothing in carry on so you can enjoy the resort while you wait.

Rooms:
Room was beautiful...Bed was soft and had a slope, bathroom needed improvements(faucet was off the shower wall a bit) There was an iron board/iron, fridge, television, hairdryer and large make up mirror. The fridge is stocked daily with 2 pop and 2 beer and 2 water. Safe lock fee is 4 dollars a day. Maid service was phenomenal. There were sand flies on the furniture but was to be expected. We stayed in block 12 which was right by the ocean and pool. Excellent view very clean and quite.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet served breakfast, lunch, dinner and all night snacks. Dinner buffet was the only one that I didnt really care to attend. Lunch and Breakfast were good. Snack bar by pool and ocean served excellent burgers, chicken wings, pizza and french fries. This snack bar alternates the seafood and Mexican dinners. Mexican was tradition and good (but I made the mistake and had the shrimp brochette and it was not good at all) We did not attend the Seafood but I heard the steak there was excellent. No crab or lobster. The Japanese did require reservations and you had to be at the guest service booth by 830 am to get a reservation. Surely worth it! Sushi starter, chicken, steak, shrimp and fish accompanied by grilled veggies and rice. Lastly the Italian restaurant was AMAZING!! Excellent apps and antipasto bar. The entrees were very traditional and delicious.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful long white sandy beach with turquoise water. Tons of beach chairs not many teaky tents for shade. The ocean is roped off, alonf the rope is a man made reef, snorkling is FANTASTIC along this reef. A MUST SEE! Pool is huge and pool bar is beautiful. Again not many teaky huts but lots of chairs. Grounds were well kept as well. Very serene.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Many activities excellent animation group to keep everyone participating. Off resort tours can be purchased at the beach for a much lower cost than from the tour companies. Saona Island was beautiful but for a full day trip only about three hours allotted for exploring. I would recommend Catalina if you are interested in snorkeling.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is seriously the best trip I ever had."

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Valerie  on Feb 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
931 people found this review helpful

Arrival
When we arrived the staff was great. We arrived before check-in so we had to wait before we got our room so we went and toured the place.

Rooms
The room was quite nice. Everything worked the only problem was that they only cleaned our room at around 4 o'clock so when we got back from the beach either our room wasn't cleaned our they were cleaning it.

Restaurants and Bars
The buffet and the snack bar was great it was the best food I ever ate since I've been going on vacation. The dessert bar is the best! I tried the italain and didn't enjoy it. My mother at at the japanese and says it was really good she was ready to go for a second time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was beautiful the only problem is the there was rocks in the water but the second day there we found out that if you go in the water near the veraclub there wasn't any rocks. The pool was a little cold but I mostly stayed at the beach. The grounds was really nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We did the activity where you go and visit a italian village in La Romana and then you go visit La Romana and a cigar manufacture and we had a lot of fun. Near the hotel there is a little village named Dominicus its the street infront of the casino (which was closed for renovations) it's a village where you can go shopping and that is where I bought most of my presents. There was a lot of activities at the hotel we never got bored.

Other Comments This was one of the best trips that I ever had. The animation staff where really fun we would laugh with them everyday they really know how to do there jobs and you can see that they enjoy there job. We attended every show that they showed at the theatre and it was worth it. It is seriously the best trip I ever had.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Beach and Restaurant are much nicer in Punta Cana,"

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy from Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
887 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 7 - 14
We are a family of there and my daughter is six, we went with another family and there daughter the same age. We flied to Punta Cana via Sunwing, then took the 2 hour bus ride to the hotel, I got a bit motion sickness but everybody else on the bus was fine. Check in was easy and we got welcome drink.

Rooms
The room has everything I needed, clean, only one day we didn't get refill bath gel, I didn't mind because I use my own stuff anyway.

Restaurants and Bars
The buffet was OK, not as good as the Oasis in Punta Cana.

Beach Bar has very limited food but my six year old was happy with Hot dog and fries, we only ate there once and other days we went through the trouble to cover up and went to Buffet.

The Japanese restaurant was open when we were there and needs reservation. The setting was beautiful, elegant and romantic. They gave you a couple of sushi and did Teriyaki in front of you, it's very good to watch but I was not crazy about the food(Our local Sushi Buffet has much better food).

We went once to the Mexico Restaurant, I ordered Seafood marinade appetizer and Fajita, the raw seafood didn't smell very fresh, Fajita was OK. We ended up going back to the Buffet.

We decided not to go to the Italian after the Japanese and Mexico experience.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The Beach is beautiful with some Palm trees. The sand above the water was soft but not as soft as in Punta Cana. The shallow water and soft sand only stretch about two meters toward the sea and then there is a big drop in sea level and water became quiet deep for my daughter(above her shoulder), and the ground became quiet rocky, I need water shoes. MY daughter has a little life jacket on so she did't reach the bottom and she had tons of fun riding the wave. But her little friend only had the arm inflation on and was scared and never pass the big drop. So I think this beach is not very good for little kids who cannot swim.

The pool were not as warm as the ocean, the kids pool is the coldest. I wish the big pool had a slope that would be good for the kids.

The Hotel ground was OK, the girls had fun feeding the fish and the turtle.

The best part of the beach is the fake reef. They put lots of big jars (tall as a person) along the line defining the swimming area, there were tons of fish over there, we went snorkeling everyday, I like those Dori fish very much. My husband tried to catch the lobsters but only got some spines in his fingers, ouch, ouch.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There is always something to do, aerobic, aqua gym, this and that.

My daughter had lots of the fun in Mini Disco, she wanted to win at the game after but never did.

We went on the Catalina excursion booked with Sunwing Rep, $98 quiet expensive. IT was raining when we got to Altos de Chavon, then stopped later, the little village is very beautiful, then they took us to shopping in La Romana, only bought a toy, then we took the speeding boat to the Island. The beach was very nice, the reef looks beautiful and very close to shore. The day we went was windy and some of the reef are pretty close to the surface, the snorkeling was nice but I was so scared the reef might scratch me. We had lobster lunch and spend 3.5 hours on the island, we were supposed to ride the alligator boat in the river but they cancelled it because there was too much water in the river, we tried to get some refund but failed.

We also took a 1.5 hour snorkel excursion with the dive shop at the beach, &20, they took us to Bayahibe where it is close to Dream La Romana, the snorkeling is so good, better than Catalina, I love the blue fish with shining diamond over its body. We wanted to go the next day but there wasn't enough people they didn't take us, so we had to snorkel in the fake reef again, which is not bad either.

Other Comments
This is our third time to Dominic Republic, we went to Punta Cana twice before, this time we chose La Romana for offshore snorkeling and we got what we wanted. Overall the Beach and Restaurant are much nicer in Punta Cana, but we still had great time in Bayahibe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The price was good, but like they say " You get what you pay for:"!"

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Marie from NY  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2009
873 people found this review helpful

Arrival: November 28 - Dec 3
Very very long...... Did not get the room we booked, ( a double adjoining room) none left per the staff. Not welcoming at all.

Rooms:
OK, nothing to rave about. Nothing like the advertisement pics.

Restaurants and Bars:
What restaurants???? There was 1 open and it was terrible. One buffet we ate at almost every night. 1 Bar, average.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach-beautiful, pools-beautiful, (hours they were open were not accomodating. Grounds were ok but too much construction going on.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went snorkeling, activities on the grounds were minimal. The staff did attempt to engage guests with what entertainment they could offer. After dinner, there was nothing to do. One sports bar with one tv, and a small kids ping pong area. Very lame.

Other Comments:
The price was good, but like they say " You get what you pay for:"!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If we had paid much more, we would have been disappointed."

Be Live Canoa
User Rating:  Be Live Canoa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alyson from New Hampshire  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2009
920 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 11/24/08 to 12/01/08
We flew into the Santo Domingo airport. The ride from there to the hotel took 90 minutes and was not bad at all. Check in was easy and quick and we were given nice fruit drinks to drink.

Rooms:
We were given recently renovated rooms. They are just standard and nothing special, but were clean and everything worked ie the air conditioning, tv, fridge, shower.

Restaurants and Bars:
Only one restaurant, the Italian and the main buffet were open each night. The Italian was nice inside, but the food was just so-so. The buffet was more casual, but good most nights. Our favorite meal by far was breakfast at the main buffet. The freshly made eggs, fresh fruits and croissants were wonderful! The juice and coffee is also great! We hated the beach bar for lunch. The food was lousey!
There was a beach bar, pool bar and a sports bar. They were just okay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:v The beach is beautiful! Especially if you walk up towards the National park area. Very private. The pool is pretty and clean, but the water is on the cold side about 70 to 75 degrees.
The hotel grounds are very pretty with lots of flowers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activies on the beach and pool area. They have pool volleyball, beach scoocer, horsehoes. You can parasail ($90 for 2 people)banana boat ride ($35.00 for 3 people) snorkle and they also offer horse backriding, and diving lessons.
There is also a kids club and mini golf (only good for kids).
We took a tour to Altos De chavon. $50.00 per person for about 4 hours. It was fun and the site is beautiful!

Other Comments:
We were a family of six with 3 teenagers. for the money we paid $800.00 each for the 8 days it was a great fun family vacation.
If we had paid much more, we would have been disappointed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube