Be Live Grand Marien Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Marien reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 5, 2013

Be Live Grand Marien  

Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata.

"large hotel"
Posted by: gideon on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Marien Reviews
Be Live Grand Marien Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Marien Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#5
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 4.0

Based on 26 reviews

Be Live Grand Marien Information


Just outside the seaside gingerbread town of Puerto Plata, Be Live Grand Marien extends along the beautiful Costa Dorada Beach and provides easy access to/from the international airport of Puerto Plata.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Marien Reviews

Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5 26 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  14
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 26

"large hotel"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  gideon  on Jul 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
25 people found this review helpful

The rooms at this hotel are very large although in my opinion, I think it needs to be upgraded to a more modernized decoration but its simple and okay. The rooms are clean and well equipped with everything you will need; the bathrooms are big and clean with hot water. The buffet here was great and other foods at the other restaurants are also okay. It is my first time visiting DR and I got to say that I had a nice time and maybe next time, I will have a more fun filled holiday. The drinks here are great as there was a mix of both good beer and local spirits so it wasn’t such a good list. I loved the beach more, it was beautiful and lounge chairs were present, you will always find people there. It is a very nice resort with good management and the grounds were clean. I visited here in May 2014 and stayed for 5 days before moving along to my next destination in DR. The staff was great, polite and so nice to me, they saw that t was my first time visiting and made sure I enjoyed my stay and even advised me on places to visit. I love food a lot so I loved the fact that they had a 24hour snack bar that is open for in between meals and those who usually have cravings. One advice though, asks for rooms with ocean or pool view so you will have a nice time here.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My stay was great"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy  on Sep 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
361 people found this review helpful

The Hotel was very clean friendly staff great food drinks i had a blast so much i will be returning asap

Room Number:
3104

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
was great frindly

Rooms:
clean very cold just what i like

Restaurants and Bars:
food was nice drinks were geat

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean & beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Other Comments:
recomended to everyone great hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Better Than Average Stay....."

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mathew  on Mar 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
579 people found this review helpful

I have been to many hotels in Puerto Plata; Costa Dorado and Play Dorado. I have to say that the rooms were clean, beds comfortable, water pressure and hot water were fine every day of our stay. It appears that during our stay, there were several black outs and everytime regular power was restored, it would trigger the fire alarm. This happened five times during our stay and the alarm sounded for approximately 15 minutes each time. It happened various times of the day, once at night. During the night alarm, my family and I left the room and stayed outside awaiting instructions. None were received! It is good that they have a loud fire alarm, however, they lacked communication to their guests!!!! The room keys had to be exchanged four times during our stay. They worked to power the room, not to gain entry....frustrating. The staff were friendly and entertainment at night was wonderful. Chilren's club a definite plus, my daughter had a wonderful time with the "teachers" there. Becareful with your towels left on the chairs. People swipe towels and the hotel charges $15 for replacement. The coffee machines and water were easily accessible. I dont drink so I cant comment on the bars. However, I had an issue regarding the food. Continental breakfast (premium) is served "early" in the morning. After a certain time, you get the "common" food items. I will not wake up "early" while on vacation. The lunch and dinner meals were average. It seems that the left over beef that was prepared on the grill for dinner, became the next day's lunch, and that night's beef soup, etc. The T-bone steak looked delicious, however, took forever to chew!

Room Number:
8115

Room Block:
8

Arrival:
When I checked in, they had the information incorrect. They had me down for one adult and one child when I showed them confirmation from their own website showing two adults and one child.

Rooms:
Clean, no "dew" smell. Definitely the best room I have every stayed at in any hotel in Puerto Plata!

Restaurants and Bars:
Could not eat at the Brazilian and Mexican restaurants. They do not allow children under twelve. You can hire a baby sitter to watch your child but did not want to go through that. They should remove this rule.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
For the most part they were clean. Wished the pools can be open longer (close at 8pm). Towards mid-day I found myself in the pool with bird crap. They need to get rid of the birds flying above and crapping in the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
During the day, you had your basic pool side activities. The nightly entertainment was the best.

Other Comments:
This hotel had the best clean, smell free room I have ever stayed in. Hot water and water pressure impressed me. However, it was probably the worst hotel I stayed at regarding the food. I would stay there again only if the menu changes and they stop "recycling" their food, as well as keeping the continental breakfast open till breakfast is over!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful experience for our first all inclusive"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deborah  on Jan 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
563 people found this review helpful

I travelled with my son, who has Down Syndrome. I can't say enough about the resort staff. They were very accommodating and went out of their way to include my son.

I loved the size of this resort. It was no more than a five minute walk to any point in the resort. Because it was relatively small, the staff got to know you and we got to know the rest of the other vacationers. Met some wonderful people on this vacation.

Room Number:
4121

Room Block:
Building 4

Arrival:
Arrival at Puerto Plata airport was easy (make sure you fill in the requisite forms on your flight). The tour company should give you the $10 US tourist card - if not, you can buy one when you land. The customs agents are friendly and wanting to get you on your way.

It is a short 20 minute bus ride to the resort. Check-in was painless. Note - if you want to use the safe deposit box in the room (which I would recommend), it is $3 a day, and you need to pay it up front.

Most of the rooms require that you insert your room key just inside the door, in order to power the lights and air conditioning.

Rooms:
Our room was spacious - with two 3/4 beds. Room is basic but very clean. TV gets lots of channels - and all the basic US channels in English.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was very good. Lots of variety. The grill at the back always had two options on the go. The breakfast buffet features a fresh omelette bar as well as pancakes daily. Staff always has a smile and a quick "Hola" for you! TIP - if you are looking for something, just ask. Sometimes I found the refills on water, wine, coffee...a little slow. But there was never an issue once I asked.

Snack bar - great place to hang out. Food was great (typical bar stuff - hamburgers, hot dogs, fries - along with some daily 'specials'. Had a 'real bar' to go along with it.

Pool bar - easily accessible. Just drinks - no food.

A la carte restaurants were all very good. Although they advertise 'unlimited' a la carte, the reality is that they have enough accommodation for each room to have reservations at each of the a la cartes once during a week's stay (which is fine).

Mexican - You need to be a little choosy, if you aren't adventurous. The quesadillas were wonderful as an appetizer. We had the tortilla soup as well. I would recommend the fajitas as the main course.
Brazillian - WOW - I'm glad someone explained how the restaurant worked before we went. The salad/adornment bar is for you to choose everything but the meat entree. The meat entrees come on large bbq skewers ( I mean large - ie. 4 feet or so). The waiter brings it to the table and then carves however much you would like. PS - take it slow. The night we were there, we had eight different meats - sausage, chicken, turkey, filet, pepper steak, ham, pork, sirloin.
Gourmet - Folks, you would pay at least $120 for two for this dinner in Toronto. I had a shrimp appetizer to start and my son had the Caesar Salad. We skipped the soup course. The main course was Chauteaubriand for Two - cooked to perfection! Dessert was a coconut dish (hard to describe). Wine with dinner. Coffee and amaretto to finish. EXQUISITE EVENING.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach area is gorgeous. Soft sand, lots of loungers, and places for shade. The surf is fairly strong, but they post a flag every day to let you now if it is safe to swim.

We didn't spend a lot of time on the beach, as my son was wary of the waves.

One note of caution: Even in the limited time we spent down there, we got bitten a few times - I'm assuming by sand fleas.

It is one big pool at this resort. It is sectioned into three pieces:

- One piece is centred around the activity centre and also has a larger shallow end to accommodate children. This is where we spent our time.
- Second section is around the pool bar.
- Third section is for the folks looking for 'quiet' - no bar, no pool activities.

Pool is nicely maintained and I found it a refreshing temperature ( not the 'bath' that many of the Florida hotels have)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities within the resort. The staff are great at including whomever wants to be a part of it. We didn't venture off the property.

Other Comments:
Would definitely go back to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Welcome home...to the Be-Live Grand Marien"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Anne  on May 12, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
719 people found this review helpful

It was our 2nd visit to the Grand Marien,and we loved every minute of it waking or sleeping. we were treated so well & greeted with a lovely fruit basket.
upon Reception we were greeted with "Welcome HOME" - we stayed for 7 days, in block 8 which DID NOT SMELL at all
3 rd floor MASTER SUITE, 2 balconies, lovely view of gardens & ocean close to pool, and lobby & pool bar, and to the buffet. and gourmet rest.
we had 3 a la carts, but gained + 1 since some one had cancelled we enjoyed the food, and serve was tip top. we are grateful to have met good staff, and every day I had flowers & towel in our room,
the pool was clean, room spotless, and service at meals excellent'
we enjoyed the pool arobics , and games at poolside, as well as spending time in the shade & frequent dips into the pool or ocean
I had forgotten how beautiful the beach was . we had great weather rained 1 1/2 days just in little spurts... the rest of the time it was hot hot hot

Room Number:
8329/8330

Room Block:
8101- 8330

Arrival:
we arrived at 10:30 am after spending our 1st week at the Be-live Ambar
we had a difficult time with all the stairs & hills, its a lovely place, but way to much waking for us, with knee & back issues
we were welcomed with WELCOME HOME, a fruit basket & a choice of 2 rooms, our pick, we were upgraded at no extra charge, and blessed beyond our dreams!
exceedingly above, all we could have ever asked for or dreamed of.

Rooms:
Large, clean, nicely decorated, fresh palm leaves, and flowers every day

great room service,
clean
comfortable

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet is the BEST I HAVE had and selection is wonderful, pleasing to all palettes
large area to be served in and good seating, with adequate servers.

thanks to Ronald ( our favorite waiter) - he is so friendly and makes you feel like family, and goes above and beyond to please and serve you

Mexican - fun interesting menu...
Brazilian - Rodizio- loved it..
Gourmet - the Filet Minion was excellent'

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool always clean, as were the grounds
lovely flowers, and fountains
beach clean. groomed, and not bothered by too many vendors..
a great spot to relax and read a book under the shade of palms

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
beach and poolside games - lots of fun -- eddy makes your day great, and he includes everyone.
we went to the cable car, go carts, and freestyle catamaran this year
all very enjoyable...
we had the best time

Other Comments:
This resort is wonderful and reasonably priced

Photos: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150239000845799.365440.561890798&l=ffcf58e8c4 http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150241395355799.365607.561890798&l=18ffba87a0

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgvLxaICb48

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 times to this resort & Very Disappointed with Be Live. 2 weeks from hell"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on May 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
756 people found this review helpful

Had stayed at the Be Live Grand Marien April 25- May 9, 2011. with Transat holidays out of Halifax. We had stayed here 3 times before when it was the Coral Marien by Hilton. We are seasoned travellers all over the Dominican Republic and have a good idea what to expect we are not picky, but have some high standards for certain things. I did choose this hotel due to the stellar service in the past and had high expectations this time. We are very disappointed and cannot recommend this hotel. I do have an allergy to cigarette smoke and asthma, I don't want to offend any considerate smokers in my review because I really appreciate them. I am writing this review because I own a hotel and I realize the importance of guest sensitivities, so I hope this helps someone else.

Room Number:
3317 / 8323

Room Block:
3 / 8

Arrival:
Check in very smooth. Alot of smoking in the lobby. Would be nice if the area around reception could be kept nonsmoking since you really can't avoid this area.

Rooms:
We had upgraded to the oceanview room. We were in block 3. Third floor. great view. everything working. walls were thin and very noisy. There is no non smoking rooms. my biggest issue was that people in the adjoining room were heavy smokers, my room stunk.. the smoke was coming in under the door.. which had an inch or more gap from the floor, we even tried placing towels around the door. I took a severe asthma attack, tried to get down the stairs and fell due to lack of oxygen. I had alot of crazy looks over the 2 weeks, but if you cant breathe nothing else matters. Thank god for the maid .. she was the only one that stopped and asked me if I was ok. We moved to the new section block 8 in a suite after I told reception I couldnt stay in that room... but I had to pay to upgrade $40 per night. The suite was nice but very mouldy/musty smelling. BUT it was far better than the smoke I was dealing with.

Restaurants and Bars:
This is my biggest disappointment. They allow smoking in all the restaurants except for the gourmet. There is no organized smoking section, you ask for nonsmoking and they put you next to smokers. I really can't enjoy a meal smelling second had smoke. The staff don't care. I even seen a guy going through the lineup with a cigarette hanging out of his mouth...how DISGUSTING and UNSANITARY. We had much better service when it was Coral. it was much more organized. Many complaints were made to guest services.. but they didnt care...all I was told was to stay in my room and order room service for an extra $$. The food was very good at the gourmet and the Mexican. The Brazilian I couldnt stay due to the next table lighting up and took another severe asthma attack.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and pool is great the high points of the hotel. We didnt go to the pool bar as smokers stood at the bar... really didnt think that was considerate especially for the bartenders. We don't do that anymore back here at home so why there.
The grounds are well manicured. kept very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We toured Puerto Plata and did the cable car. We hooked up with friends and went into Puerto Plata city a few nights.
Entertainment was good.. friendly staff.
The theatre went nonsmoking when we were there. the disco off the lobby is also nonsmoking...thanks so much for that.
Coppa disco and Casino is open til 5 am. But I only went once and didnt stay due to the smoking inside. drinks are extra $$ there.

Other Comments:
Would have had a great time if the smoking issues were better. need more organized nonsmoking areas.. they should learn from the Dreams resort chain and the Grand Bahia Principe chain and the Grand Paradise chain... so much better in that respect. Even when it was Coral it was much much better than now.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Resort"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jodi  on Apr 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
730 people found this review helpful

The resort itself is gorgeous, pool is huge biggest we've ever seen. Beach is beautiful and you can walk for miles. Our room in building 8 was clean but very musty smelling, the view was excellent of the gardens and pool area. Food was a little disappointing. The buffet was very small and not alot of variety, lunch was better than dinner. The snack bar at the beach was a step up from the buffet. The staff was very poor...cleaning the tables took forever, you also would die of thirst if you waited for them to bring you water. Not the friendliest either. The maids were the friendliest of all. There were long lineups at the bars, and they were not the friendliest either,usally just had 1 bartender for all the people. Weather was fantastic 7 days of sunshine and heat. All in all very nice place but they just need to work on their staff and food.

Room Number:
8224

Room Block:
8

Arrival:
March 30-April 6 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be Live Grand Marien is a perfectly manicured, picturesque, clean, and spacious resort."

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jim,Jean,Don,Kay  on Apr 12, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
757 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Marien and would return again no question. This was our 12th time to the Dominican and our first time to the Marien. We were very fortunate to have 7 days of sun - fantastic. There were some minor things that could be improved on but nothing that would make you not want to come back.

Room Number:
7209

Room Block:
7000 building

Arrival:
We flew from Toronto. We arrived with a large number of people. Check in was handled well and quite fast. All your a-la-carte reservations a prebooked for you - what a great idea - you can make changes if you want as well.

Rooms:
The room was large. Lots of drawers and closet space. House keeping was excellent and always had the room spotless. No funny odours either. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was nice - large vanity - always lots of hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet area is very large. There does seem to be a problem with organization and staff. Tables are often not completely set, clearing of dishes sometimes takes a while and often you wait a while for coffee, water or wine. Best to remember you are on vacation chillax and take it all in stride. The staff for the most part is friendly and will converse in English - try a little Spanish - they will help you... To me the breakfast buffet was the most lacking and unappealing - compared to many other resorts that we have been to in the Dominican, but, again there was always something to enjoy - remember one's tastes are not everyone's tastes. Noon and evening buffets were good and had some really great food - fresh carve turkey,beef, pork and the grilled food was excellent. The a-la-cartes were excellent - especially the Brazillian - amazing food. The service in the a-la-cartes was exceptional. The snack area at the beach also had good food.
Not a lot bar wise - one at the snack, one at the pool and one at the show area at night. The sports bar was under renovations - it would have been nice. Bar service is a weak point - often long lines - bar tenders that are not all that friendly - even if you tip - and they did run out of some things from time to time. The best is that they do have BRUGAL - the very best rum...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the best in the area. We have stayed at resorts in the Playa Dorado - which is just a short distance away - and the beach at the Marien is the best. It is possible to walk the beach from the Costa Dorado to the Playa Dorado and check them all out... The pool was clean, warm and incredibly big - even though it is a large resort it was never crowded in or around the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities in the area - we spent the week relaxing - we have done some of the tours on other visits.

Other Comments:
Would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a good solid 4 to 4.5 star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent all the Way , this Resort exceeded our expectations, we had a marvelous time"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barrie  on May 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
825 people found this review helpful

The Resort was not only clean, and grounds well kept it was beautiful beyond description. Behind the resort is Mt Issobel Torres, which overlooks Puerto Plata. The days temperatures were around 30- 40 degrees incl. humidity sunny days for teh most part of our stay- we had a few rain showers, and one evening of "torrential" downpour" unlike anything I had ever experienced, the staff took it all in stride, and provided umbrella's , and an extra glass of wine & beer while we waited for the rains to cease.
The view is breath taking, and the lay out of the resort is very walkalbe, and makes the most of all its ammenities. We always had fine service, and great food at all the resteruants. The staff was very gracious, and polite, alwasy keeping things in order. They were friendly & plesant, our room was well maintained, and each day we where graced with towel art, swans& hearts with flwoers. We left a ti0p and gifts for our maid each day ( fellow travelers had told us to bring small perfumes, and lipstick, and pantyhose, childrens vitamins, toothpaste, soaps, things that she might not be able to afford on her her meager wages.) Our miad was delighted to recieve the gifts we had brough _ i was also prpared with gits for children, toys & blow up balls... with smilie faces, and little girls jewllery, and things for their hair,.. Next time we will bring more school supplies, and ask the airline about bringing items down to give as gifts & to help families there

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was smooth- we noticed jsut how small the airport was, it can recieve only one plane at a time, however the staff are helpful, and going through customs was noneventful, we all boarded small buses to take us to our hotels (quaint, small, bumpy little buses, with some airconditioning) and a very friendly & welcoming guide- takes you to your hotel. We enjoyed his descriptive tguided tour to our hotel which was only 20 minutes away.

Upon arrival at our hotel, the porters greeted us & helped us with our bags, which nede to stay in a secure area until our offical check in time. WE had about 5 hours to enjoy the the resort, before our rooms were ready for occupancy. We learned alter from others to give a tip $10-$20 US and presto you WILL have a room... ( so we will keep that in mind for next time)
the POOL was lovely as was the beach, clean and free from litter.
WE were also greeted by a young gentleman in WHITE- we learned alter on that these "folks" are hired to bring you to the VIP area, where you are given the opportunity to sign and pay into a resort vacation program, and get better room rates & deals.
Our friendly "pal" met us almost daily.... and called us his borhter & sista from a differnt mother - how cute!... he made us feel warmly welcomed, and he wanted us to have a plesant stay.

Rooms:
The Room was spacious, and overlooked teh ocean, which was lovely, we could here the birds in the mornings, and thought the open air concept of the hallways was quite unique.
The furniture was all wood & spanish with the Oasis, palms with the theme.
clean rooms, with orange/ rust coloured cermanic tiled floors, bright yellow walls, and nice linens, and curtains.
We also appreciated teh safe provided, (you have to pay extra to get the lock & key)- but peace of mind is worth it- to keep vauables safe.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are 4 a la cartes & 1 buffet which helps to keep variety the spice of life
THe display of choices is beautiful, and a wonderful and tastey selection greeets you each day.
Sunday there is a GALA Buffet dinner, all other reseraunts are closed,
one night a week tehre is also a BBQ and Beach Party for all to enjoy.
( Unfortunately we missed that- as we were so tired from a days excursion we went to bed very early; but heard this LLUD party.. for hours...
the next day I found out just who was making that racket outside OUR bedroom balcony
it was the entire resort, all guests partied on the beach...
oh well we still had a good nights rest, next time we will join them!



Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean and lovely, very nice layout. always kept, each day grounds men were working, mowing lawns, weeding,.. keeping things beautiful.
Beach sand was a light golden brown, soft, and free from stones, or cutting shells. it was nice to walk on. the ocean was also clean & warm nice to swim in.
We enjoyed the pool, after our excursion days, to cool off & get refreshed. We also joined in some of those 4:00 O'clock pool side games.. was fun, the staff really get you to join and feel a part of a fun holiday comminity,..sometimes they dress up like caats, sharks, palm trees... and otehr tribal get ups... supperman also plays volleyball!
was fun, youthfull, and refreshing.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were only there 7 days. and we had 5 day trips
1) OUTBACK SAFARI - was most excellent, intersting, informative & fun- our guide KENNY ( ask for Him) was a fountain of knowledge- and also great fun.
we toured sugard cane feilds, saw farms, visited a small school (where we took school supplies) & tasted fresh ground and brewed domincan coffee, we also visited the rural community that this OUTBACK supports, 1/2 of your fare goes to the school !
we had a great lunch at the outback headquateres, and then off to do some BOGGIE Boarding, body surfing on a very secluded beach; we also went to a mountain stream, and found a fresh water pool to swim in. that was perfect to get off the salt water. drinsk flowed freely all day & they took great care to see we were all happy & having a good time..... 5 stars!!!!!! ya
ps- your travel group wont give you this partifular tour option...
I booked all mine here online... from HOME and saved $$ and loved the freedom to choose OUR OWN TOURS
2) FREE STYLE Catamaran - what a glorious Day of Sailing and SNorkleing in Sosua Bay.. it cost us about $84 US each but well worth it for the experince of seeing thsoe incredible coloured fish.. amd corals. under the sea.again... go to the REAL DR online and book this EXCURSION. ( link provided below) you will NOT regret it
3) Puerto Plata Tours with HOLA - WE had GERMAN for our guide- excellent very knowledgeable about the history and area..... what an excellent value $37US each, the tour included:
Brugal Rum Facotry, Jewllery Factory & Store ( Bring money), then a Cigar Factory & Store; next stop Fort San Filpe, then AMber Museum, then off to the Cable Car & UP Mt Isbobel Torres. to see a great view of Puerto Plata.
there was cloud up there when we arrived at the top 300 feet up, but it did clear & I got some fabulous photos.

http://www.therealdr.com/store/puerto-plata-excursions-80/

4) DEEP Sea FSIHING --- STAY AWAY FROM **GONE FISHING** NOT a good value & no fish or service....
5) We made our own Tour on Sunday- as we hired a taxi & went to church, and sight seeing.

Photos: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=212411&id=561890798&l=0c71382866

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Exceedingly Abundantly above ALL I could ever have Hoped for... AWESOME- WOW - FABULOUS"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Anne  on May 16, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
821 people found this review helpful

This resort was More than I could dreamed it would be even after seeing photos on line, it was Beyond... our dreams... all the way,.,,,,, 4+ star

Your Arrival:
we arrived early in the morning around 10:30 am, such a warm wlecome & very efficient, our bags were kept secure by the front lobby watchman, and we could used the hotels resteraunts& bars, and pool while we waited for our rooms to be fully ready.
WE were greated with pineapple & Coconut drinks, and BIG WARM friendly smiles
and HOLA's....

Rooms:
WE were surprized when we got an OCEAN VIEW ROOM, in Bldg 3
Kingsize bed... and warobe with lots of rooom to put away clohes, larege closet, and safe, bathroom was also a good size & the maids kept our rooom clean & adorned with fresh flowers & towel art each day; we made sure to tip here veryday & Ileft gifts for her ( perfume, soaps, candies, etc.)

Restaurants and Bars:
WE loved the SANTA Fe- (mexican bar& grill) - had the Chicken Fahita's and the portions were large, enjoyed also the 3 mix plate with shrimp and steak and chicken breast. this was our favoritw resteraurt a la carte; next ws the BUFFET, always good & more than plentiful, with fruits, and salads, and choice from the grill. such as porkloin, chicken breasts, fish, shrimp, pork roast, salmon, huge beef roasts, the display & garnishses were amazing... the staff -excellent & polite & always wanting to serve you more
lots of servers, friendly warm, and obliging
There is a Great resteraunt overlooking the, and it is air conditioned- serves Italian cusine, dress is nice shirts, shorts, but ladies take a sweater, or shawl... it teends to be tooo cool up there.
we had pork tenderloin, and beef tenderloin... was very good, as was the desserts....we were WOW'd again

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
lovey, soft light gold/ beige sand... easy to walk on, and CLEAN beach
water was warm & lovely, lots of places to sun & also hide in the shade... mango trees all around provided a wonderful canopy over us on a day we so needed to rest & enjoy the breezes

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is always something to see & do, the Pool games were lots of fun for us for an afternoon laugh... dancing lessons everyday at 5 pm, spanish also is taught pool side.
there is a nice pool bar & a resteraunt above it is airconditioned Italian cusine

Other Comments:
I'd HIGHLY reccomend this resort , I cant say anything bad about it at all

the only thing we found hard to deal with was the number of peddlers, selling their wares, and they hound you on the beach, or while on tour/ excursion in Puerto Plata, the people there need to make a living & so many are selling art, jewllery, carved wooden boxes, or in town square, a lilttle boy came and gave me a yellow flower
tip tip tip - they ask if you dont...
that was the only part of hte trip which made us feel like they could ruin a lovely time.
yet knwoing they need so much.. be careful, and go with your gutt instink when you talk with them... I bouight some nice jewllery from a boy at the beach, and he was very easy to talk with... no pressure; then there are some who will tell you $250 US... for items we canget here at home at dollar store.. and pay a total of $10
they insist you wear this or that & they fill a bowl with things they want you to buy,... i certainly learned much and how to say NO.. and walk away.. strong & OK with not being taken.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube