Be Live Grand Marien Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Marien reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 5, 2013

Be Live Grand Marien  

Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata.

"large hotel"
Posted by: gideon on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Marien Reviews
Be Live Grand Marien Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Marien Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#5
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 4.0

Based on 26 reviews

Be Live Grand Marien Information


Just outside the seaside gingerbread town of Puerto Plata, Be Live Grand Marien extends along the beautiful Costa Dorada Beach and provides easy access to/from the international airport of Puerto Plata.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Marien Reviews

Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5 26 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  14
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
With Group
11 - 20 of 26

"just as good as the first time."

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sylvie  on Apr 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
794 people found this review helpful

We were a group of 8 visiting Grand Oasis Marien from April 1 to 15, 2010, most of us from Halifax and 2 of us from Quebec. This was our second visit for 5 of us. We were there 2 years ago, during construction of the 3 new buildings. We went back the 2nd time because we couldn't pass up the good deal.

It was obvious that this resort grew as it was hard to find a place to sit around the pool bar in the evening. The one turnoff was the large amount of smokers. Many times it altered our plans on where to go in the evening. It was unbearable to stay at the pool bar, one of our favourite places to be and although the entertainment theatre indicates itís a non smoking area, you still see people smoking during the shows. We found ourselves at the sports bar, it was smoke free.

Rooms:
Hotel & Service: We found the service to be just as amazing as our first visit. We did not do any of the a la carte restaurants as none of us wanted to stand in line to wait for availability. I think itís time this resort puts a reservation system in place. We found the food at the buffet an improvement since our last visit. It was tastier and rarely weíre we bored with the options over our 2 week visit.
Iíve been to 8 other all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean and this by far is one with the friendliest staff., from the bartenders to the wait staff, gardeners and cleaning ladies.
We were in building 8, one of new buildings. Iím not sure why all the complaints about the mini fridge in the rooms. When you check in, you are required to sign a paper indicating that 2 bottles of pop, 2 bottles of beer and 2 bottles of water are free. The free bottles of water are 1litre bottles and usually placed on the counter. We just put them in the fridge to keep them cold. If thatís not enough, thereís self serve water at the pool bar and Mangoís that is perfectly safe to drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool & Beach: Finding a lounger by the pool or beach was never a problem. We would go on 2 to 3 hour walks in the morning and always find a lounger by the pool. The pool is the biggest I've ever seen. It never seems to be crowded. We were able to put our floaty chairs (all 5 of them) and not take over the pool or run into people. I think this is one of the best features of the hotel. If you're a pool person, this is for you.
The beach is one of the nicest on that strip. Itís always clean, much cleaner than the Iberostar Resort next door. Watersocks are not needed to go into the water, itís nice and sandy. Though, snorkelling on this part of the beach is not that great. A trip to Sosua or Paradise Island is your best bet.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Sites to see without spending a lot of money: Thereís a lot to see in Puerto Plata. Take the time to see the city. Itís safe. The only places you get harassed are in the tourist areas. We hired a taxi to take us to Mt. Isabella. For the 8 of us we paid $50 to get us there. He waited for us the 3 hours we took at the top of the mountain. The cost of the cable car up and back is $10. Donít pay your cab until youíre back at the hotel.
We hired the same cab driver to take us on a city tour. Cost us $70 (for 8 of us). What I love is not only is it cheaper than an excursion, you take the time you want to visit the different sites. We had him take us to Tienda Jimenez, the big department store locals shop. No tourists in this area. I had also asked him to take us to Plaza las Americas, a jewellery pawn shop with some amazing pieces.
The Brugal Rum Factory is a 10 minute walk from the resort. From the busy road, turn right, keep walking straight and youíll see it on the right hand side. Thereís a bus stop there too if you choose to jump on one of their local buses (vans). It costs 15 peso (or 50cents). You can walk through the gate, go to the shop and get a free tour (for a small tip to your guide). Itís the best price for rum, from $8 to $13 a bottle. Halfway to the rum factory, thereís a t-shirt shop (right next to the scooter dealership). The cheapest t-shirts can be found there. You pick a color, pick a design, theyíll iron it on for you for about 200 pesos ($5 or $6).
We also walked in the other direction towards Playa Dorada complex. Itís a nice walk, either along the beach or road.
We went on a Puerto Plata Runners excursion. I didnít find it as good as the Outback Safari.
This was our 4th time in Puerto Plata and each time weíve done different things. Be sure to bring something to keep you busy if it rains. Over our 2 week period, it rained 2.5 days, no big deal. The rain is so warm you donít even mind walking in it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nicole  on Apr 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
587 people found this review helpful

What an awesome resort! The rooms are beautiful and clean, the resort itself is fabulous, the staff are fantastic and the food is wonderful. It is the first resort of many (and I've been happy with them all) that I will return to. I recommend this resort to anyone! From the beach to the pool to the people...what more can you ask for. Go with a positive attitude, enjoy your vacation, and you won't be disappointed!

Your Arrival:
Air Transat is GREAT!!! my husband and I both really recommend them. Well done!

Rooms:
We were in building 9 - awesome rooms - well worth the extra little bit of money. However, my brother stayed in building 5 and his room was great, too!

Restaurants and Bars:
LOVED the food. This is the first time that I have not been disappointed in Dominican food and it's the first time my husband has eaten more than fries. The a la cartes are great and who cares if there is a little wait - what else do you have to do? You're on vacation!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Tremendous!! What more can I say... :)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do if you want to join but you can just relax and not be bothered if you would rather lay back and soak up the sun.

Other Comments:
Go!!! You will not be sorry you did!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Vacation Ever!"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patty  on Feb 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
448 people found this review helpful

We love GOM....feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Your Arrival:
We arrived around 11 PM, event free bus ride that was only about 20 minutes. Was raining when we arrived but lots of staff with large umbrellas where happy to help with bags, etc. Check in was smooth, fast, friendly and simple. The 24 hour food and drinks was appreciated as we were both hungry and thirsty.

Rooms:
Room was exactly as requested, king size bed, 2nd floor, smoking. Very nice room with lots of furniture to store your things. Spotlessly clean when we checked in and everyday after. Mini-bar stocked with 2 beer, 2 coke and 2 large water each day (other items are extra but who needs them). Hint: When we didn't consume the 6 items we took them out and put them in the closet so we would get 6 more. Had 3 wake up calls and they worked perfectly.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was very large, lots of variety at all meals. Theme each night. Very nice seating...no lawn furniture. Open air but lots of shade and fans for a bit escape from the wonderful sun.
A la cartes were amazing. Pasta restaurant has A/C so that was refreshing and the food was top notch as well as the service, a meal that would have cost over $100 back home. Seafood restaurant is open air but down by the beach so wonderful views and sounds of the surf. Food there was again excellent although I prefer my fish boneless which is not standard in DR. My husband had steak and it was excellent. Tex-Mex a la carte was so good we ate there twice, try the chicken fajitas..perfect! It was a treat to get dressed up for dinner but don't worry about the dress code for men too much, long pants are not required, just 'dress' shorts (not swim trunks) and some nice sandals or shoes (no flip-flops) and a golf shirt will do. We saw some who did not abide by the dress code and were not turned away.
For lunches we usually grabbed a bite at the 24 hour grill down by the beach..they had lots of salads, ingredients to make your own sub, hamburgers, pizza, hot dogs and the best nachos in the world.
The bars were all great, only complaint I would have is that the same drink is different in each bar. Did not enjoy the sports bar because it was dark, A/C and a bit like an old tavern...not our type of thing on vacation...they did however mix the best drinks in real glasses.
Highly recommend taking your own insulated mug, otherwise drinks are served in small plastic cups and melt very quickly in the heat. We took 20 oz. Bubba Mugs from Canadian Tire.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was nice, lots of loungers and some shade cabanas. Very rough water and depth drops off quickly which I would not recommend for small children, awesome for people like us who enjoy swimming in the surf. A long walk on the beach was difficult due to the many vendors wanting to take you to their shops and once you get further past the resorts there is a large amount of trash on the sand...did it, but only once.
The pool is huge, with water falls, bridges and sports equipment. Lots of loungers and shade spots.
Grounds were spotlessly clean, green and manicured. Lots of nice paths for a moonlight stroll.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities for young and old down by the pool every day.
Went on two excursions, Puerto Plata city tour for shopping, was only $32 each and it was enjoyable and the Paradise Island snorkeling day was only $88 each for the entire day including bus tour, cigar factory, jewelry factory, drinks, lunch, snack on the island and boat transportation. We brought our own gear as we snorkel at home and it was good idea because they only had 1/2 enough so we got alot more time in the water. The boat trip is an adventure in itself, what would be an hour leasure ride is less than 15 minutes in their 'fast boats'. The snorkeling was amazing...don't worry about deep water, you can see all the colorful fish at your fingertips in less 4 feet depth, you can just sit down and take photos. We fed them coconut in tiny bits and took some amazing photos. There was a local who video taped the entire day and it was a wonderful thing to bring home for only $25

Other Comments:
All and all an amazing resort on an amazing island. We've been to Jamaica 3 times and were worried about changing but now have a new favorite island. We're definitely going back next year and probably bringing our 8 year old daughter and anyone else we can convince.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A fabulous vacation for our family"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Feb 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
413 people found this review helpful

Our family of four stayed at the now Grand Oasis Marien. It is not the Coral by Hilton anymore. This was our third time going to the Caribbean with kids. All in all this had to be the best resort we stayed at. Everything from the staff to the food were excellent. You will not go wrong staying at this resort. I highly recommend staying here.

Your Arrival:
Once the plane arrived at the puerto Plata airport, things went very smooth. We had our luggage and were met by our tour guide showing us what bus to get on. For a couple of bucks, the porters were eager to take our bags over to the bus for us. We made about three stops at the other resorts dropping off people before we arrived at our hotel. All in all it took about 30 mins to arrive at our hotel. I was surprised this time how fast things went at the airport. You will be given a green custom form (per person) to complete on the plane for customs. If you have it ready on arrival, you wont have to waste time completing it there. You will also be given another white form (one per family)that is to be filled out while you are waiting for your luggage. While I was watching for the bags, my wife completed the form. Keep a pen handy on the flight and at the airport. Your tour company covers the arrival tax now. Once the bus arrived at the hotel I headed to the front desk to begin check-in, while my wife and kids collected the bags. We were all done and in our room in about 30 mins. Fast pleasant service. Also have 21 USD for the safe key ($3 a day rental). Worth every penny for the peace of mind.

Rooms:
Our room was wonderful and modern. We stayed at the new bulding #8 right beside the pool. There are three new buildings constructed on the resort amongst the original ones. The room had two double beds, jet tub, mini bar, hair dryer, coffee machine, iron board, alarm clock, flat screen tv, etc. Our maid was great. She keep the room very clean and tidy. She made swans out of towels on our beds and even placed fresh flowers on the bed. We left her some small gifts and $1 USD each day for a tip. If you ask the maid she will give you extra bottled water.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was great. We ate at all the a la carte restaurants and the buffet for dinner. The buffet had lots of choices and was well prepared. You will really enjoy the breakfast buffet. It had almost everything you would expect back home. The service and food were excellent at the a la carte restaurants. They took your orders fairly quickly and ensured your wine glass never went empty. There was a Tex/Mex Grill, Italian and Seafood restaurant. The snack bar and buffet seem to be always open so you will never go hungry. The only thing I didn't really like about the a la carte restaurants, is that you can't make prior reservations. You have to get in line at 6:00 to either eat or make reservations for later in the evening. The lines can get long for the initial feeding time. The plus to it being this way is that you can eat at a particular restaurant each night instead of only once. If you like eating at 8:00 you should be able to walk in and eat.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was great. Lots of chairs and shade areas. The sand was a soft brown and the waves were just right. Not to powerful to knock you over. Kid friendly. The only downfall to the beach is the tour reps bugging you to go on excursions and there was a bit of a walk to go to the snack bar for drinks. The pool was very large and never crowded. There are lots of chairs, but you have to get up early in the morning to reserve one in the shade. It does get really hot in sun. You will need it. The pool bar has fast friendly service. The grounds were very nice and kept clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
This area has tons of activities to do off the resort. We did the Outback Safarri and the Tip Top Catermeran. The Outback Safarri was one of the highlights of our vacation. A great way to see the area and learn how the locals live. A real must. Make sure you also take the Brugal rum factory tour. A ten min walk off the resort. There is also a local market (Orange Market) down the beach to the right. It is a ten min walk. Worth a look. Make sure you don't pay more then 50% of there asking price. Barter with them.

Other Comments:
I cannot say enough good things about this resort. You will get your monies worth staying here. Lots to do on and off the resort. The nightly animation team was great. It was the best we have seen from any other resort we stayed at. They work really really hard to put on a great show. Just ensure that you get involved in the animation activities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Family Vacation"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Arto ~ Montreal, Canada  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
320 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 19-26:
Arrived at the hotel at around 6PM with my wife and 2 boys (9 & 12). The hotel is only about 20 minutes from the airport, and is located in the Costa Dorada complex which contains only this hotel and the Iberostar. Since there were more than 50 of us checking in from the same flight, we had to wait a bit to get our room. The front desk clerk filled us in on the mini-bar (which supposedly is operated by a separate company). Only the 2 BOTTLED soft drinks, and 2 beers(don't remember the brand) are included. Everything else is extra, and is quite expensive. There is also a litre of bottled water in the room which is also included. We were given our room keys (cards), and sent on our way. Our luggage arrived at the room a few minutes after us.

Rooms::
We had requested a 2nd floor room in building 8 or 9(2 of the newer ones). We were assigned a second floor room in building 7 (#7201). It's one of the older buildings, and is located just to the left as you leave the lobby. Buildings 6, 8 & 9 are the new ones. Our room was relatively spacious. There were 2 double beds, a night table, a dresser with 4 drawers, a hutch with 3 large drawers, some storage space for suitcases, and which housed the TV. Plenty of channels on the TV(many in English), including the major US networks, and Cartoon Network (for the kids). There was also a small round table & chair in the corner. There was additional space for clothes in the closet on some wire shelves in. Overall, plenty of space to put things away. There was also the mini bar with drinks and snacks. The washroom was a nice size with a single sink in a large counter, the toilet, and bathtub. There is liquid hand soap next to the sink, and combination soap/shampoo/conditioner in a squeeze bottle in the bathtub. A couple of minor maintenance issues in the washroom, but nothing worth reporting. We did loose hot water one evening for about an hour, but no big deal. The room safe worked with a key cylinder, that you have to get from the front desk at a cost of $21 US for the week. Well worth it for the peace of mind. The A/C pumped out plenty of cold air, and the thermostat worked perfectly. There was also a ceiling fan in the middle of the room. Beds seemed fine to us; not too hard or soft. The clock radio in the room wasn't working properly, so we called the front desk, who transfered us to housekeeping. There was a new unit in our room the following afternoon when we goot back from the beach. Houskeeping was, as in most other resorts, a multi-phased task. Dirty towels are removed from the room in the morning, the room is cleaned and made up after that, and some time in the afternoon, fresh towels are brought in. Somewhere in there, someone comes in and checks/restocks the mini-bar. Note that the mini-bar is locked down the day before you leave. The room was clean, and we only saw a couple of small bugs one day after a heavy rainfall. The rooms are sprayed on a regular basis, as we received a notice advising us of spraying to take place one morning. They also left a card you can hang on the door if you do not want your room sprayed. We left 3$ each day for the cleaning lady, who seemed to do a good job. After the first day, she realized that we did not use/want the bed covers, and stopped putting them back on the beds. On the first day, we left a note next to the provided water bottle asking for 2 bottles, and she left us 4. Every day after that, there were 4 bottles of water in the room!

Restaurants and Bars::
The hotel has 4 a-la-carte restaurants (Pasta, seafood, tex-mex, and crepe), the main buffet, as well as Mangos, which serves lunch, and perhaps other food after the restaurants are closed (never stayed up that late). Each of the a-la-carte restaurants was closed one night of the week. As indicated elsewhere, there are no reservations for the restaurants. You simply show up and try your luck. If there is no space, they will take your room number and tell you when to come back. Only the pasta restaurant is indoors, and is small, so it fills up fast... We ate at all of the a-la-cartes, and went to the tex-mex a second time. All were reasonable good. Service was decent but nothing exceptional. We had breakfast every morning at the buffet, had supper there only twice, and lunch only once (the last day). Service at the buffet is a bit lacking. Hard to find someone to refill a coffee or water cup, or to get a soft drink. Plates are not cleared from the table quite quick enough. As for variety, there are 2 rows of hot trays (one on each side), but when they are filled, they contain the same things. In the morning there are always pancakes, and an egg/omelette station, fresh juices, all kinds of breads, etc. Plenty to choose from. For supper, however, we noticed that the variety of options could have been improved a bit. Not a bad buffet, but perhaps just a bit weak at night. We ate lunch at Mangos just about every day. There are 5 or 6 hot items (with french fries every day), as well as hamburgers, hotdogs, pizza, salad, soup, and deserts. They will also cook meats for you at the grill. The meats are located to the left of the grill in a section that is sort of outside the main food area (behind the coffee machine). There were pork chops, lamb chops, steaks, sausages to choose from, depending on the day. There are also tortilla chips a soft cheese dispenser back there. There were 4 bars, one near the beach at Mangos, one by the pool, one next to the show area, that I think only opens at night, and one in the sports bar just outside the lobby. Wait time at the bars was not too bad, but I think that they need to either increase the staff behind the counters, or add another bar near the pool during the day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The beach was quite wide, and there were plenty of loungers. Lots of trees at the back for shade for the times where all of the shade 'structures' (not palapas) were reserved by non existing guests. Water was generally calm, but contained quite a bit of floating sea weed. They raked up what came ashore daily, but there is nothing they can do in the water. For a few days, low tide was near noon, and the kids were able to do some snorkeling near shore at the left end of the beach. Unfortunately there is not all that much to see. The pool is quite large, and divided into 3 walk-in sections. Never felt crowded in the pool, and were always able to find a lounger. Again, though, finding a spot under a hut was almost impossible, since they always seemed to have towels, books, etc. under them, but rarely people. Considering the number of rooms in the resort, the grounds are not that large. They are generaly well maintained, but I was a bit surprised that they didn't clear the excess water from the pathways after a major downpour. Something else I noticed, or rather didn't notice: I never saw anyone cleaning the public washrooms. Not once. The washrooms weren't particularly dirty or anything, but on occasion, there were no paper towels, etc.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
As mentioned, there is a sports bar near the lobby, with a projection TV, a couple of pool tables, and a foosball table. There are also a couple of foosball tables, and a couple of ping pong tables near the pool. There's also a large chess board/game behind the towel exchange place. At the beech, they have horse shoes, and bocce ball, right next to the kids club building. Our kids never went to the kids club, but we did notice a trampoline, and a small swimming pool outside the building. The also took the kids go karting one afternoon (heard this from one of the kids our boys made friends with. All kinds of activities around the pool and at the beach during the day. We went to the nightly show a couple of times. Not bad, but typical resort shows. We've seen much worse...

Other Comments::
Overally, the resort was quite nice, especially considering the price we paid ($2400 CDN for the 4 of us). Would we go back? Possibly, if we got a great price. However, if paying full price, we would probably try somewhere new, or go back the the nearby Gran Ventana, where we have gone for the previous 4 years. The food and service there (as well as the snorkeling) was definitely better. On the other hand, the rooms, and pool at the Grand Oasis Marien were better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My vacation at Grand Oasis Marien"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia ~ Cheshire, UK  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2009
309 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 16 - June 30
We had stayed at this hotel previously when it was owned by Hilton. I had emailed ahead of time to advise them of this. We arrived in the late afternoon and were quickly checked in and taken with our luggage in a golf cart to our room.

Rooms:
We were very pleasantly surprised to be allocated a room right by the beach with a terrific ocean view. The room was slightly shabby but comfortable and kept very clean by the maid.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went to all the a la carte restaurants with the exception of The Creperie which was not open during our entire stay. We enjoyed all the a la cartes and found the food and the service to be excellent. Our particular favourite was the Italian. We had no difficulty getting into the restaurants despite the "no reservation" policy. We just went to the restaurant of our choice at around 7.45pm and if we could not be seated immediately, were given a time to return. The longest we waited was an hour and we just went off to have a pre-dinner drink. However, we found the evening buffet to be very limited in choice and the service poor. It was difficult to get a drink, even of water, and the tables were often missing items. There was no shortage of staff but there was no system or organization. The waiters seemed to run round like headless chickens and achieved very little. We ate lunch at the beach bar. The food was mostly the same each day but more than adequate for a quick snack. We did find the bar staff to be somewhat unfriendly. The same guy served us at the beach bar for practically two whole weeks and despite us being unfailingly polite and always greeting him with a "Hola", he never responded or spoke to us. Surely his day would have gone better if he interacted with the guests. He just did his job. It was not just him. Many of the staff had a similar attitude.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and pool have lots of sun loungers. No need to get up early here. There is plenty of shade on the beach but more limited by the pool. We are beach folk and found it to be kept free of weed and very pleasant. We usually went to sit by the pool in the late afternoon and had no trouble finding a sun bed. The grounds are very nice but since they have erected several new builings, the site is rather cramped. We are used to hotels with a lot more garden and open space. However, what there was is well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We have been many times to this area and done all the excursions on previous trips. The only trip we repeat is the catamaran. We booked through Jose 2 on the beach and paid $70 each. We had a lovely day out. We were picked up on time (yes really!!!) and it was very well organised. The boat was not too full and the other passengers and crew were a lot of fun.

Other Comments::
Our biggest gripe at this hotel is the lack of anywhere to sit in the evening and have a civilised drink. The only place you can have a drink in a glass (apart from the restaurants) is the Sports Bar. This is a dreadful place which we did not wish to spend any time in. We would get a drink in there to have in the lobby but would have to have it in a paper cup!! This seemed ridiculous to us. There were very few seats in the lobby and they were uncomfortable. This hotel could improve overnight if it just installed a comfortable seating area in the lobby and allowed drinks to be in proper glasses. In conclusion, we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We paid £100 less than last year in Punta Cana and felt that we had very good value for money. Would we return? Yes, possibly, if the cost was as good. The good outweighed the bad but we felt that some good management could very easily eliminate the bad very quickly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My Vacation At Grand Oasis Marien"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle ~ Central Scotland  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2009
309 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 16 - May 30
We were delayed for an hour and a half on the plane before taking off but once we got to hotel check in was very quick and porter helped us to our room with our suitcases. We went back and got our safe key after 10mins.

Rooms:
Me & my cousin were in building 7 - think this was an older building but we had no problems at all except for a musty smell from the air con every so often - never spoiled our hol. Maid done a great job and we left her $1 tip every day and got 2 bottles of water instead of one

Restaurants and Bars:
I was very impressed with the food - buffet restaurant changed slightly every night and my fav a la carte had to be the mexican! The Italian was also another favourite and dont be fooled that the seafood restaurant only has fish dishes - we dont like fish but went and you can get a steak or chicken dish - both lovley. Never tried the crepe restaurant

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We spent most of our time at the beach as you could get a nice breeze - the min you went back to the pool the heat hit you! Great pool, beach and grounds - a mini paradise. Lots of workers tidying up seaweed on the beach and cutting the grass at the pool etc etc - they work very hard!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Monster Truck - $90 well spent - real eye opener to real dominican life but people so friendly and nice to see what "real" life is like outwith the resort. Guide Leo was great as was the driver and helpers! Oceanworld was great - i paid $165 for the dolphin swim and sealion encounter - dolphin swim was a once in a lifetime experience - well worth the money to spend 30mins with these amazing animals! Sealion encounter was also great.

Other Comments:
Activities and animation team - what can i say apart from amazing!! They spend 9am-midnight getting you involved in activities and dancing. Def would love to take up merengue dancing! Shoalin was my favourite - shame we didnt manage to swap email addresses like we meant to. Mini Me, Pablo & Sexy Koffee also made us laugh - these guys helped to make my holiday fantastic and i will return asap!!

Smilerchelle@aol.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was my 2nd trip to this resort and I love it"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly ~ Newfoundland, Canada  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
281 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 23 - May 1
We were late getting to the resort due to a delay with the airline. Check in went very quickly. We had to wait one hour to get our key and lock for the safe.

Rooms:
We were given the new building, building 8 which is very nice. The rooms was very clean, no bugs. Our room over looked the pool.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at all the restaurants, I really liked the steak restaurant which is just above the pool bar. The service was very good and quick. The only thing is at the crape restaurant the service was very slow. It took them over half an hour to bring out the drinks. I only ate there once.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach was cleaned every morining of sea weed. We spend most of our time at the pool. You always got a spot to sit and relax. The grounds were kept up and always clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took a taxi in the the city, cost us 45 dollars US for 10 people. We also had a tour guide which he only worked on tips. We were out in the city for 4 hours. Best tour I have been on. Well worth the money. Also went on tour of the rum factory. We walked there because it was only 10 min from the resort. This tour also was just tips only.

Other Comments:
This was my 2nd trip to this resort and I love it. You can't get any better that the people there. When you go find Mine Me and Sexy Coffee I am sure they will make you laugh.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Vacations at Grand Oasis Marien"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra & Del ~ New Brunswick, Canada  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
201 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 23 - 30
Arrived to pouring rain but that didn't dampen our spirits. Easy process at airport and quickly shown to our bus by Transit employees. Not hassled by anyone wanting to take our bags. Quick, fun filled drive to resort. Gentleman at desk was very helpful and accomodating. Asked if we could possibly be close to our friends room and he put us in adjoining rooms. Registration process was very quick and easy. At this point, with the rain, after we went to our rooms, we returned to the lobby to have a drink with friends. Everyone very friendly.

Rooms
Our room was large and very clean. We left a little gift and $1. for the maid every day and had no issues with the cleaning. Large clean bathroom and extra soap, lotion and shampoo left every day. Just one day we didn't have any facecloths but I had brought some from home just in case. We also purchased the safe key for $21. for the week. Well worth the peace of mind for any valuables but again, we had no issues with this matter. Our room faced the pool so the view was spectacular. It was a little close to the pool bar for late night activities but they settled down fairly well. Our only problem is my husband is diabetic and when we asked for diet pop for the fridge it was hard to get. Had some only one day so we just didn't drink the pop. Be sure not to take anything extra out of the fridge other than the 2 beer, 2 pop and bottle of water each day - apparently there is quite a charge for this. We didn't feel the need to take anything.

Restaurants and Bars
We were in two of the a la carte restaurants - Seafood and Sante Fe - the food was very good in both. Service was a little slow but it didn't matter, we were on vacation and in no rush. The buffet restaurant was wonderful. Lots of variety for every meal and the waiters were very friendly and helpful. Again, sometimes you had to wait a bit for your wine or coffee, but not in a rush. The menue changed daily for the supper meal which gave you great variety so you didn't get tired of the same food. No need for anyone to go hungry!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool area was cleaned with javex and water every morning before breakfast. Clean, clear pool was wonderfully refreshing. We spent most days at the beach. There were lots of chairs and shade cover. Beach was really clean and you were not pestered with people trying to sell you anything. Grounds were immaculate and the maintenance people were always working at cleanup. We took shirts and hats for the men in the maintenance dept. as they tended to get forgotten whenever you tipped the staff. They were very appreciative of anything you gave them. You do have to sign a paper to say that you gave them was a gift so it wouldn't seem like they were stealing anything.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My husband went on a tour of the Rum Factory (10 minute walk from the resort) and was very impressed with the cleanliness of the factory. Rum was good too! We didn't go on any other tours as we were there to rest and relax but we did walk up the beach to the "Orange Market" where you could barter for trinkets and beach clothes. Lots of fun and just a little jaunt up the beach. My friend went into Sasoua and bought my vanilla there for half the price it was at the market...what a bargain at $1.50 a bottle!

My husband joined in a horseshoe tournament and had a blast - won a bag of coffee. The only complaint we had was the nightly entertainment needed to be improved a bit. The dancers were really working it but seemed to be the same thing over and over. But you didn't have to go to the show so you would find other entertainment elsewhere. Didn't go to the casino.

Other Comments:
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this resort and both said we wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone and hoped to return again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved this resort and would definitely recommend it"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy ~ New Brunswick  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
230 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 30th to Apr 6th
We arrived at the resort around Midnight our first night. Check in went fairly quickly and we were driven on one of the small trucks to our room, our bags were even carried up for us.

Rooms
We were really pleased with our room. We had originally booked a gardenview room but we got an Ocean view room in building 9 which was one of the new buildings and it was really nice, marble everywhere. The only thing we didnt really like was you had different people coming in at different times during the day. A lady came in early to pick up towels but didnt leave clean ones so if you didnt have any saved from the night before, you had no towels to dry with that morning so we knew to save some. The maid didnt come in til around 3 or so each day either with new ones, and i guess someone came in each day to check the minibar.

Restaurants and Bars
We really loved the Sante Fe Grill, infact we ate there on 4 nights through out our stay. We ate at the Italien place one night which was also yummy but of all the restaurants had the longest lines which mean you had to line up around 5:30-5:45. For the Sante Fe we would line up around 6 and get in. If there is a waiting list you can leave your name and come in later that night which we did on one night when getting back from an excursion late. We did eat at the Seafood place but didnt really care for it, i thought i loved seafood but apparently not, so after picking at our food we went to the buffet which was okay most nights. We didnt really have any complaints with breakfast, we enjoyed the egg/pancake station.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pool area was amazing. It had a really big pool laid out in different sections. The beach was also really nice where we chose to hang out most of the time. If you wanted a hut or shade though you had to leave your towel. Although discouraged everyone did it anyways.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We thought the entertainment staff was amazing and so friendly, we loved mini me!! We were really impressed with the shows and found it to be our nightly highpoint. The entertaiment staff work all day and until midnight to treat you well, they were awesome!

We went on the Puerto Plata Runners Safari Adventure tour which was really fun. There were many stops and lots to see and do. We went on a 15 minute horseback ride although the horses dont look the healthiest. Then stopped at a beach to boogeyboard. Bring some money as there are different stops to buy things. And it is a bumpy ride

We went to Oceanworld and had a really awesome time, at first i thought i wouldnt like it but so much to do and see, plus we got a 2 for 1 dolphin encounter

We went horseback riding one afternoon with Rancho Lorilar, canadian run and amazing. The horses are in healthy condition and the operators were so nice. Thanks Val!

Other Comments:
We loved this resort and would definitely recommend it. If we were ever to return to Puerto Plata we definitely would consider staying there again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube