Be Live Grand Marien Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Marien reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 5, 2013

Be Live Grand Marien  

Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata.

"large hotel"
Posted by: gideon on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Marien Reviews
Be Live Grand Marien Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Marien Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#5
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 4.0

Based on 26 reviews

Be Live Grand Marien Information


Just outside the seaside gingerbread town of Puerto Plata, Be Live Grand Marien extends along the beautiful Costa Dorada Beach and provides easy access to/from the international airport of Puerto Plata.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Marien Reviews

Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5 26 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  14
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
With Group
21 - 26 of 26

"Oasis section of beach is quite nice compared to some resorts down the beach."

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori ~ New Brunswick, Canada  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
221 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 9 - 16
We arrived around 2AM ,3 hours late with Canjet out of Fredericton NB. No real explanation, but our flight was pretty uneventful. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by very friendly front desk staff and check in went very smoothly. Our suitcases were tagged and the porter brought them to our rooms.

Rooms
We had rooms in Building 8, which is one of three new buildings. We had a king size bed, flat panel TV and a beautiful balcony. The rooms were very spacious and the bathroom had a whirlpool tub as well as plenty of hot water for showering. We had plenty of towels and always had two faceclothes,shampoo, lotion,body wash,sewing kit and shower cap replenished everyday. There was a mini bar which included 1 Coke,1 Sprite,2 bottles of beer and 1 liter bottle of water. These were stocked every day we were there.There are other items in the mini bar like chips, choclate bars, juices etc.,but there is an additional charge for those.There was a coffee maker, coffee,sugar and whitener as well. There was also an iron, small ironing board,umbrella and hair dryer provided.There is a charge for your room safe, but it is well worth the piece of mind.It costs about $3 a day.

Restaurants and Bars
There is the main buffet restaurant,breakfast has a good amount of options to choose from,everything from continental to full breakfast.Dinner at the buffet varied from day to day,but always could find something to eat. We always ate lunch at Mangos Beach Grill,they served pizza,fries, chicken,fish nachos with cheese sauce,hot dogs,hamburgers etc.There is 3 ala cartes , we ate at 2,the Seafood and the Santa Fe both were good. Tried to get into the Italian twice,but no room.Since you don't make reservations,you have to go early to get a spot. Very limited selection of international drinks,so if you have a favorite, you might want to take one from Tax and Duty Free for your room. Premium brand drinks like Kahlua,Baileys, Drambuie etc are $5.US an ounce.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Oasis section of beach is actually quite nice compared to some resorts down the beach. The week we were there,it was very windy making some pretty good waves.The pool was beautiful and large,but really needs a swim up bar. The pool is quite sheltered so it can get rather hot and there is not alot of shelter. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained.

Other Comments:
The only complaint I have about the hotel would be the harassment everyday leaving breakfast from the Vacation Club. It's like they lay in wait until you leave breakfast and swoop in to get you to "talk to their people" for just a minute of your time.We have been to other resorts where we have been approached but it is usually only in your first couple of days and these guys tried all week.Even one day we were coming back from a walk up the beach they tried to give us a tour of the hotel until they found out we were staying there. If you walk down the beach there is a market,it's interesting just to go down and barter with the vendors. There will be guys on the beach that try to get you to go to the market across the foot bridge,just say "no thanks" and keep going to the Orange Market.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I must say it was a really good time"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tina ~ St Johns, Newfoundland  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
220 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 19 to Feb 27
We stayed at the GOM from feb 19 to feb 26. I must say it was a really good time and only have a few complaints. The weather was awesome and we spent half of our day by the pool; the other half on the beach ( which was a little windy at times)

Flight/check in
We arrived at the hotel at about 5 am on the 20th after a rough and bumpy airride from St . Johns, Newfoundland. The transport from airport to hotel was very quick....luggage and en route in about 20 minutes.....but be prepared there are no road rules and they drive crazy...so if you make it there in one piece your laughin'

Rooms
we arrived at the resort our bags were tagged and we recieved a room in the 8 building (the new one). The room was nice and we recieved a complimentary fruit basket and a letter from the manager because this was our 2nd time there. that was a nice perk. our friends also got a room right next door: it was their 1st time. We had fresh towels everyday except later on 1 day like 4pm. Facecloths are hard to come by on our last day we had to use a hand towel..lol. We left a $1 for the maid everyday and recieved towel art and flowers in return. On our 6th day the shower curtain went missing and i called down to the front desk and they sent a maid up with 2 shower caps...lol.. that was funny...But we got it all straightened out eventually.

Restaurants and Bars
Great! The bars had fairly quick service and if you like your drinks strong no worries here. the food was great! Some wait at the Restaurants but that was to be expected. Just get there early and no problem. If you plan on eating at 8 pm you may be in for a longer wait.

Pool/Beach
Nice and relaxing. Alot of loungers although if you want one with a hut you have to reserve it early...even though there is a sign forbidding it, everyone does it. The pool and the decks were always clean. The beach was pretty clean as well....no seashells around though...when we went 2 years ago they were everywhere, now it was hard to find any....i guess between the locals selling them and the tourists bringing them home.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the peurto plata runners tour. It was a bumpy ride with beautiful countryside. It was a prettty good experience; except at the school house. We had supplies for the teacher(paper,pencils,crayons) which we give to her and she distributes later. So we also had candy, hair buckles etc for the kids and were told we could give them this ourselves. Well we were mobbed more or less as you can imagine...too many children and not enough candy results in turning your back and them beating each other up...not nice and not pleasant, i just wish i had or realized. Many if that to was given to the teacher it would have been better. We were on the bus with french people and it seemed that our guide spoke about everything in french. We know little and it seemed that we didnt quite get everything there was out of the tour. Usually the tours bus are seperate for different languages. Dont ride those poor horses, i wish i didnt. I think they are worked too hard with no drink.

Entertainment:
So you think you can dance!!!! they are very talented dancers but it seemed that is all they did. It wasnt much variety....just the same moves over and over again with an extra kick here or an extra shake there....prevoiously when we visited the Chocolate Friends (not the same staff now) did theme shows like Grease, The Lion King etc....there was more of a storyline to it...During these shows it was hard to even stay awake... The disco well like i said i was too tired after the show... overall it was a quiet night for us especially after our early rise every am.

Service:
The service was good. the only complaint I have here would be the VACATION CLUB. oh my...I mean 2 years ago when we visited they were a nuisance but kind enough. This time they were scary. I literally used to go other routes to avoid them. On one occasion they were verbally abusive; one guy was cursing on us when we walked by and politely said "No, Grasias" . I think that is a problem with the resort and should be fixed or eliminated all together. They are too pushy and I could only imagine how they could take advantage of someone once thay get then to go to the vacation club office. I don't imagine you'd be leaving there without signing your life away.

Overall the trip was great! the resort beautiful and worth every penny. the only complaints being with the vacation club, the shows and the french speaking tour guide...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing trip"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
215 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 23 - 30
we travelled with Airtransat, flight was good we were on time. Because we arrived around noon our rooms were not ready,but we got our braelets so we could at least eat and drink.

Rooms:
Our rooms were large very clean, lots of room to hang your clothes. Bathroom with shower and jacuzzi tub.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was amazing, buffet had so many choices, large bread station,pasta station,fruit and salad station. Breakfast had an egg and omolette station. Italian reataraunt was wonderful service was great. only thing its hard for seeting a large group. Mexican Grill was good a nice change. Mangos snack bar was great open all the time burgers, hot dogs, pizza, nachos, that sort of thing. This hotel has the best chocolate cake.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is large with lots of lounges and trees for shade, water was great. Pool is beautiful and huge lots of lounges and ubrellas for shade.. The water was warmer than any of the other 5 or 6 hotels in Playa Dorada i have stayed at.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
always activities going on at the resort, pool games, spanish lessons, lots of goofy silly games to join in.The staff work really hard especially Coffee and Shaggy. Thay also have pro. photographers Wilson and John they are amazing really great fun guys and the pics they take are sooo good.
Off the resort we did the Quads that was fun but very dirty, went go-karting and did the catamaran, great tour but make sure you have your sea sick pills or whatnot you will need them. Half the people were sick.

Other Comments:
Amazing trip. Went as a group of 10 ages 14- 50 everyone loved it. We plan on going back again next year. Only thing we would change is if you could make reservations for the al la carte restaraunts, especially with a group .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 4 star"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy ~ Nova Scotia  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
220 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 2nd - approx 1 am

Rooms
Upon waking up on February 2nd - approx 1 inch of water was on the bathroom floor - leaking from the ceiling in the bathroom through the light fixture and fan. Was not addressed that day after several calls to service. Later in the week when it rained again, the leak reappeared and after a day and a half (including the electricity flickering) we were finally moved to a different room.

Restaurants and Bars
OK - service was quite below other resorts. Most breakfast and lunch meals we were finished the meal before getting water / coffee. Constantly out of juice, glasses and simply appeared to have insufficient staff on hand for the number of guests.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is small, no bar on beach, really felt bugged by individuals wanting to sell everything. Only one large pool, no swim up bar - difficult to get a lounge chair - again appeared insufficient for the number of guests.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
No - due to the 4 1/2 days of rain - both tours were cancelled.

Other Comments
Staff pushing time shares was very annoying - every day.
Overall a 2 star compared to other resorts we've been to in the Dominican.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vacations at Grand Oasis Marien"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Delores, Nova Scotia  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
214 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April, 2008
Via Westjet, Great flight, Transportation to and from hotel went smoothly, A few tips to the workers in the bus and those that handled the luggage were appreciated by all Check-in all quick & went well. Room ready

Rooms:
clean, no mater how much we tipped no special treatment was given, no bed swans etc. We had a ground floor our view was a building under construction with armed guards watching the area with rifles not exactly what we wanted but I did enjoy the ground floor and it was located very close to the beach.Please remember they lock up your fridge the day before your departure to take a count of what you used, A little annoying but I guess necessary for them, it would be nicer if that stuff for sale wasn't in the same fridge because it is way overpriced anyway so be careful.

Restaurants and Bars:
Same as most resorts, Italian was very good, We canadians like our beef and lobster our way but to date they never mastered it. Chicken and pork good. Fruits safe never got sick from the food, My husband really has a problem with the smell of the oils used with the cooking process. We loved the disco bar, The bartender was wonderful and made great Brandy Alexanders.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good, not as clear as one would want it but around the resort the beach is clean. Do not go pass the signs on the left that are there for your safety (your travel rep should tell you. Lots of trees and loungers, you don't have to get up at 6 am to get a shaded area, I found this great. We swam daily, The weather incrediable, only rained minutes then out came the sun. Very few bugs but bring bug spray for it only takes a few mosquitoes to torment you.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We Loved the cable car ride to the top of the mountain with the huge statue of Jesus overlooking Puerta Plata, Amazing. We had some sort of a guide that worked for tips only, the taxi driver put us in touch with him. He was very good. The car ride to and from was unbelievable,no rules to the road, the largest vehicle on the road has the right of way. All I can say is, it was an experience and very memorial. All you need is luck and a good sense of humour. The entertainment was OK, Staff friendly and funny.

Other Comments:
You need to learn to say "no" really quick to time shares sellers and don't bye the tours,cigars or liquor offered from individuals at the beach (your travel rep should also tell you this) a simple "no not interested" is sufficient. unfortunately the are there daily so it get's a little annoying but relax, your on vacation. Those little carts on the beach selling things like belts, ear rings, etc are fine but barter and remember they always ask for double what it is worth. Have a great time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great relaxing time"

Be Live Grand Marien
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Marien Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jo-Ann  on Jan 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
249 people found this review helpful

Drinks no shortage of alcohol very strong. And watch the young ones it was a good thing I have an honest 15 year old. They kept mixing her alcohol drinks when she would ask for a drink. She would come back to the table and say this is for you, they put alcohol in it .

All in all it was a good time, I did not have to cook or clean and had some quality family time.

Would we go back yes but we like to try new places. If we got a good price we would go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube