Be Live Hamaca Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Boca Chica Hotels with Similar Ranking

Angel Gabriel

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 18, 2011

Don Juan Beach Resort

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 5, 2010

Be Live Hamaca  

Calle Duarte, Esq. Caracol, 1, Boca Chica

"nice animation team"
Posted by: lucy on Jun 9, 2014
see all reviews

Be Live Hamaca Reviews
Be Live Hamaca Pictures and Information
Be Live Hamaca Boca Chica Dominican Republic

#1
of 15 Hotels in Boca Chica

User rating 2.6

Based on 41 reviews

Be Live Hamaca Information


The Be Live Hamaca reigns as one of the Caribbeanís crowned jewels. This 24-hour, all-inclusive resort rests serenely on the Bay of Boca Chica, enjoying the sheltered privacy of a white sandy beach protected by a natural reef.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Hamaca Reviews

Be Live Hamaca Review: 2.6 of 5 41 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  9
Average
  6
Poor
  11
Terrible
  12
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (30)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (4)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
11 - 20 of 41

"2011 vacation"

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Weitny  on Oct 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
827 people found this review helpful

I went to this place thinking that it was like the resorts in punta cana. I went from downtown to the Ghetto. The price that they offer is reasonable and that's understood but to find a roach and ripped curtains and no working air condition is beyond unacceptable. I don't mind the fact that the service and hygiene of this hotel didn't top the ones in punta cana but that is very important because you are practically living there for a short time and if you are traveling with kids is very hard to have to face this kind of situation. I would never visit this place I realize that what's cheap sometimes isn't worth it I would rather pay a couple of dollars and feel confortable or better than home. I could find roaches in my house but I don't expect it in a place that is for business. In that place you will find all the Ghetto people from New York it seems to be for a specific crowd. I like Punta Cana because it had a little of everything you would find maybe 1 ghetto group but not everyone in the Resort that's why I think they put their prices to target a specific crowd. Most of the people in punta Cana are working middle class people who arrange vacation.

Room Number:
410

Arrival:
No problems since we came way past the time of booking.

Rooms:
Room No Air conditioner, roach in bathroom, broken ceilings, ripped curtains,
The resort as a whole needs maintenance to

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was okay but the waiters only spoke spanish not too fluent in English. I didn't mind since I spoke spanish but it must be frustrating for someone who doesn't speak the language to communicate.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools okay.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Need to have better activities

Other Comments:
Never Again will I go for cheap.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mildew City"

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Myriam  on Oct 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
660 people found this review helpful

I never write reviews, this is my first time ever. Several in our group had to change rooms. We finally realized that everyroom smelled like meldew/mold. It seems that in most cases if the room is not occupied the AC is shut off and since it is so humit there mildew starts forming. They keep the AC's off to save electricity and turn it on when the room gets occupied. I personally was taken to several rooms so that I could select which one I wanted, but they all had that musty mildew odor, that I finally had to sleep with for three nights. I never get headaches and had them while I stayed there because the odor was noticeable.My mother took pictures of mold in the vents and bathroom. It is probaly growing in the vents and you can see the black mold dots in the ceiling.

Room Number:
017

Arrival:
We arrived on a Friday,we spend more time in check-in with changing rooms than we did enjoying the hotel. We were all very tired on that Friday.

Rooms:
The rooms were good not like in america. The floors needed mopping. but after I met room service and requested extra towels and a working phone and gave them tips I got excellent service and white towels every day. I think the staff is not well paid, give them a couple american dollars and watch how service takes a step up.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Restaurant, bars and food were very good.The service was very good especially that I tip well and they paid attention to me everytime I entered the restaurant. I had no problems there at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good and I did see people cleaning. Noise dosen't bother me. I don't care how much noise people make while they are having a good time.

Other Comments:
My daughters Wedding at the Ocean Front Boca Marina Restaurant was beautiful and very elegant. We were all very happy with her wedding.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good value for money. Great service!"

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rhonda  on Apr 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
856 people found this review helpful

We travelled with Sunwing so we flew into Punta Cana and then transported by van to the resort. Itís a rough ride and takes about 3 hours; if youíre subject to motion sickness, I would recommend taking Gravol ahead of time. Some people complain about the beaches in this area, but this is a more rugged part of the country, so if youíre looking for the idyllic beaches that you see on postcards, go to Punta Cana instead. This area has lots to offer -it's just different.

Arrival:
We arrived at the resort around noon and check-in was very slow. They had several staff members behind the desk but only one person was checking guests in. Luckily, you only have to check in once! Otherwise, the reception desk was very helpful and very quick to respond to requests. Check-out was a breeze.

Rooms:
Let me start by saying this is a 4-star resort by Caribbean standards, not North American or European standards, so guests need to be realistic about what that means with respect to cleanliness and styling.

We had a gardenview room looking out over the main pool. All the rooms have balconies. Our room had 2 double beds (although you can request a king instead) and they were comfortable with good pillows. The TV is small, sure, but who goes on a vacation to watch TV? Other than the Spanish channels, there were several English news channels and a few others offered in English (like Discovery). There was a mini fridge stocked with two beers and two bottles of Coke/Sprite and one or two bottles of water near the sink. There was also a small walk-in closet with hangers, shelves, suitcase stand, safety deposit box ($3/day with manual key) and an ironing board.

As for the bathroom, the toilet and shower are behind a lockable door and the sink is external. There is plenty of counter space beside the sink along with several drawers. There were always two bath towels and one hand towel. We later switched rooms and there we received two hand towels and also two face cloths. It was a little inconsistent but we had what we needed. We had no issues with water temperature or pressure. You have to brush your teeth with bottled water, sure, but that's not unique to this resort or this area.

On the down side, our curtains didnít quite close all the way, we had to ask for a bottle opener because the one attached to the mini fridge was broken, and we had to change rooms because we found a baby mouse in our room one day (which they were very quick to rectify after asking if we were sure it wasnít Mickey). We had a new room allocated in a matter of minutes and a bellboy arrived immediately after to move our luggage.

Restaurants and Bars:
The resort has a main buffet and several a la carte restaurants. When we went, only two a la carte restaurants were open any given night. Reservations are made same-day starting at 8am and the bookings would fill up by 10am.

The food at the main buffet was really good and much better than youíd expect for a 4-star resort. The service was also excellent. In my opinion, the buffet was better than the restaurants. We tried the Mexican and Mediterranean restaurants and then kept returning to the buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very small at this resort and you will not find beautiful white sand and breezy palm trees hanging out over the ocean here. The beach towel shack is open from 8am to 6pm and you donít need to leave a deposit for the towels, which is nice. Due to the location of the resort, you see the city skyline if you look down the coastline. There is an area with hanging lounge beds and raised lounge beds when you first step onto the beach, but these are off limits Ė they belong to the restaurant nearby. There is a restaurant with burgers and hot dogs at the beach along with a bar. Thereís also a pool at the beach, but we never used it. The oceanview rooms are literally right on the beach.

Thereís a pool at the beach but the main pool with swim-up bar is surrounded by gardenview rooms on the other side of the resort. There are plenty of lounge chairs and the pool was very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are a large number of excursions available through the resort. We went on two: Santo Domingo tour and Saona Island day trip.

Santo Domingo tour: Weíd heard great things about this tour and knowing the city has great history, we expected a great tour. Unfortunately, our trip didnít go so well. Our tour guide (David) read off notes for the majority of the trip, said everything in four languages even though our entire tour group was English and didnít crack a single joke the entire trip. He appeared bored and disinterested, so the entire groupís energy was pretty low. The tour covered Cave of Three Eyes, Colonial Zone, and multiple gift shops (where they leave you for 20 to 40 minutes, depending on the gift shop). There are all sorts of really interesting places we would rather have gone. We had street vendors with us the entire day, even walking the tour with us, which becomes incredibly annoying. The tour cost $35 per person. You could hire a taxi to just drive you and a few friends to the places youíre interested in for less.

Saona Island: The tour (again with David) starts with a two hour drive to La Romana. Multiple tour buses arrived at the same time at the launch site to take speedboats out to the island. It took over an hour for our group to get into boats, standing in the sun, with nowhere to sit in the shade while waiting. The vendors were relentless. They stop the speedboats to go swimming in the ocean, which we found a little awkward to get on/off gracefully. When we got to Saona Island, it was pretty, but again no Punta Cana. They served lunch, which was great, and left us there for 3 hours. There were only tourists on the island, and the vendors were hawking their goods endlessly. Iím not sure why the tourist boards would encourage this, as it was really irritating to most guests who were trying to relax. They were selling jewelry, massages, cigars, coconuts, coconut oil, beach hats, you name it, and even if I pretended to be sleeping, they tapped me on the shoulder to show me their wares. A relative did this same trip a few years ago, and the vendors were not allowed on the beach; Iím not sure why itís changed. We took a catamaran back, and they loaded more people on the boat than there were seats which was rather uncomfortable for a long ride. We were asked to tip the speedboat driver, the catamaran driver, the bus driver, the tour guide. The excursion cost $75 per person.

Other Comments:
This resort is much smaller than others weíve been to. Depending on what youíre looking for, this may be a pro or con. You can easily walk the entire resort in about 10 minutes and itís wheelchair friendly. The landscapers do a good job keeping the grass and walks clean, but there isnít much for flowers or other coloured foliage. The resort is also located pretty much within the town, so itís easy to go shopping or go to restaurants outside the resort without needing a taxi.

Communicating is very easy at the resort. Most information is available in Spanish, English, French and German. The servers all switched to English for us (even though we tried to speak Spanish, lol) and we regularly heard French and German spoken as well. They do an excellent job trying to accommodate their guests this way. Iím not sure why other reviewers found a language barrier, as even the bellboys used English. I found this resort exceptional in this manner; if youíre travelling to a Spanish-speaking country, Iíd expect Spanish. If visitors arrive in my country, I donít switch to the visitorsí language, so well done to the resort on this one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was great! Nothing like the reviews read!!!!"

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lupe  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
787 people found this review helpful

We stayed 5 nites at the Be Live Hamaca. The service was great, the employees were wonderful! Yes, the standard rooms are old and could use some updating but they were clean. We never saw any bugs like the reviews say. The electricity never went out, you have to insert the key in a box near the door for the electricity to work this conserves energy!!!!! Several people have complained about the electricity being out never had that problem. We rode the public transportation to Santo Domingo nobody bothered us as a matter of fact the locals were very helpful. Yes we were warned not to wear expensive jewelry but that goes for any where you go. A taxi wanted to charge us $70 us dollars for 3 hrs to take us to Santo Domingo shopping we rode the bus for about $1.60 each way! You have to take the trip to Saona Island and book it with Kathy at the Hamaca $75 dollars all day it is well worth it. Make sure you request Isidro as your tour guide he was wonderful. Have no complaints about the people they were very helpful, respectful and courteous.

Room Number:
215

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would not advise staying here "

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Mar 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
747 people found this review helpful

Unless you are willing to put up with a lot of inconvenience and much lower standards than we are used to in North America I would not advise you stay at this resort. We took the advise of someone on Tripadvisor who said (you get what you pay for) and to stay in the Ocean front Deluxe room with balcony. It only made a slight difference in that we had white towels instead of the grey looking towels others complained of. This resort may have been 4 star in its day but it has not been kept up. There seems to be no maintenance department whatsoever. The staff are not trained properly and so standards of cleanliness are not anywhere close to what we are used to. The pictures I have posted show this. The shower head hose was completely black, the door handles have not been cleaned in what looks like years, the floors have a rim of filth around the baseboards of about 2 inches that is built up caked on dirt that needs a good scrub, the sinks donít drain, the sink plugs donít work, the sliding patio doors donít lock. Everyone we spoke to had similar unacceptable concerns. One couple paid for a large suite for their adult family and found the mirrors cracked, the chairs broken. Another couple were on the ground floor with a broken patio door and so could not leave the room (for security reasons) until it was rectified, which took 24 hours.
We never saw anyone spraying the grounds for mosquitoes, other guests that I spoke to with rooms in the townhouse type buildings complained of lots of mosquitoes in their rooms and there was a lovely breeding ground for mosquitoes right under the buffet restaurant where there was a large visible pool of stagnant water that smelled fowl if you sat in the wrong place. This is a malarious area of the Dominican.

Room Number:
215

Room Block:
Main hotel on the beach

Rooms:
Here is a list of things missing or inadequate in the room when we arrived:
-no face cloths,
-no clock (although there isnít much point to the clocks as the generator shuts off the power at least a dozen times a day and you can guarantee that any clocks they do have donít have batteries)
-one glass only to drink out of
-no extra towels; you get two towels for two people. I guess women donít wash their hair!
-the safe does not have a lock on it unless you pay $3.00 per day regardless of what your contract or the website says about providing it free and then it is a key lock so basically the hotel has access anyways.
-no iron despite having an ironing board
-daily stocking of water and minibar items were sporadic and I had to remind the maid several times to restock (the minibar consists of 2 bottles of beer and 2 bottles of pop)
-the pillows were the lumpy, cheap foam chunk type
-no dťcor whatsoever; no rugs, no pictures, vases, ornaments anywhere in any of the rooms. Donít believe any pictures of lovely rooms with bright paintings, flowers and bedding. Bare walls with light fixtures and a mirror and bare floors.
-and worst of all, the room smelled strongly of mold. We managed to minimize this over the course of the stay by covering all the drains and plugs with moist toilet paper and leaving the fan on in the bathroom (which meant using one of the room cards to keep the electricity on in the room) and minimizing the air conditioning (likely the air conditioner has not been serviced or cleaned in years and is part of the musty, moldy smell)

Restaurants and Bars:
Every day you have to line up by 9 at the absolute latest to get a reservation at the a la carte restaurants (donít believe the orientation pamphlet which is out of date and which says you donít need reservations) otherwise you eat in the buffet restaurant which means you wonít get a cup of coffee unless you are lucky in the morning, unlikely to have a complete setting, unlikely to find a bowl, glass or your own coffee cup which regularly ran out after the first half hour of serving of opening and will have to line up for hot custom made entrees such as eggs in the morning, pasta at lunch or fried fish at suppertime. We found that it was difficult to eat together as it depended on what each of you wanted to eat and how long that took to obtain, which is why most people try to get a reservation to the more relaxing a la carte restaurants.
The food in the Gourmet restaurant, which served Dominican food, was great. The others were fine but don't expect north american dessert quality. There is no chocolate the way we know it there. Only cocoa powder.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment consisted of a group of about 10 dancers who were strong and very fit and who were great hip hop dancers but who did not have a lot of training. The timing was regularly way off, they mostly looked like they were struggling to keep up with the choreography and the routines were mostly very similar just with different costumes. The ďcomedyĒ sketches were incomprehensible, clownish and mostly awful. Audience members walked out regularly. But if you want to see giggling bare asses, there is a lot of it.

Other Comments:
Staff:
Apart from these annoyances, none of the staff were able to speak fluent English, including Sunwing representatives, management, and tour guides. Most of the waiters could speak some basic Pidgeon English which broke down if you wanted anything other than one word requests. We had a medical emergency while at dinner and the staff were unable to both recognize our concerns or respond to them in any helpful way despite grabbing their arm and saying simply: ďget juice now!!!Ē It was actually frightening how poorly trained they were. Aside from language, most of the waiters and guest services employees were surly and rude. We felt that most of them resented and were annoyed by regular customer requests, needs or concerns. Perhaps they were burnt out by the level of dissatisfaction that came their way. Another time we came later in the sitting and when we asked for the 3rd time for coffee the staff pointed to the rope which had since been put across the entrance and basically said they were closed so wouldnít serve any more and were quite annoyed when a Spanish speaking tour guide operator chastised them for such a poor attitude.
Having said all that, there were some staff that stood out, were genuinely helpful, friendly and warm. The ones I came across worked in the a la carte restaurants, specifically the Mediterranean restaurant which was the hardest to get into. Ask for ďEsmailĒ (phonetic spelling) Aquino or the manager whose name I canít remember. They had beautiful smiles and the manager has dimples in his cheeks when he smiles and is quite tall. He also worked in the buffet and whenever I saw him he would come and shake my hand and ask how I was enjoying my stay. ( I am a middle aged women so he was NOT flirting, in case you were thinking that).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not the Greatest Experience- would not recommend it as a vacation choice!"

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tim From Winnipeg  on Mar 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
767 people found this review helpful

This was our first all-inclusive warm vacation. We were not very impressed, considering this area is supposed to be the best vacation spot in the Dominican.

The 3 1/2 hour trip from the airport to the resort or back is terrible. The roads are deadly small for a tour bus to navigate, and there are those stupid motorcycles everywhere, cutting off the bus or taking up the whole road (a very narrow road).

There are people trying to sell you stuff everywhere you go at the resort.

If you need to get a room change, good luck with that! I wasn't impressed that my wife and I had to sleep in separate beds for the whole week.

I would definitely not go back there!

Room Number:
1103

Arrival:
We had to endure a 3 1/2 hour bus ride from Punta Cana airport to the resort, as Sunwing doesn't land in Santo Domingo, which is @ 25 min. away. This included an "unscheduled" stop for beer for the passengers- which would cost you $5.00 a bottle if you wanted one, as well as a stop for potty/smoke break.

We arrived at 10:30 p.m. and were driven to our room with our luggage. We were able to check in immediately.

Rooms:
We had a "Garden View" room on the main floor. When we got into our room, we discovered there were only two double beds, and not a queen sized bed which we had expected. I phoned and asked to change rooms. They said they couldn't do anything for us that night because it was too late. I went the next morning and asked to be changed. We got a run-around, and were not able to change all week. So we ended up sleeping in separate beds.

There is a balcony area with one chair, so we were not able to sit out together. The sliding door was "secured" shut with a flimsy chain, attached to the door with drywall screws. Anyone that wanted to get in would have no problem.

The room was definitely dated. The tap water is not drinkable anywhere on the resort- only to be used for showering. They supply a bottle of water daily which you need to use to brush your teeth or make coffee.

One night the cold water stopped working, which meant no showering or toilet flushing. It was off for the day, but came back on by supper time.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet food was ok- not great. Breakfast wasn't the best, although the omelet bar was very good, and there was some good sliced fruit like pineapple or melon. The scrambled eggs were deadly looking. The coffee was usually cold, if anyone would come around to pour you some. The toaster was terrible- might need five rounds to get it right.

The a la carte restaurants were good for the most part- the best being the Gourmet with Dominican cuisine.

The Mango snack bar was pretty good.

The bars were usually under staffed. I'm not really a drinker, but you could wait for a long time to get anything on the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was nice, but hard to get a lounger at times. It was sort of clean, but people often left their drink cups on the beach in the sand, requiring a staff to go around and pick up after them.

The pools were nice, if not deep.

Towel service at the beach/pool area wasn't very good- if you didn't get fresh towels first thing in the morning, you might be out of luck.

The beach got very noisy at times- felt sorry for the people in the beach-front hotel rooms!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities aren't what I would consider to be an "attraction" at this resort.

The daily activity is posted on bulletin boards around the resort. These usually included an all-Spanish show of some sort or a loud beach party with lots of drunk dancers (no thanks!)

There were excursions to be had, but were unreliable as to whether they'd happen on time or at all. Sunwing take note!

The snorkeling excursion to Catalina Island is a must- beautiful island and lots of interesting things to see. We stopped by a cigar factory which produces high-priced cigars for the whole world. Very interesting.

The Santo Domingo tour is interesting. The Cave with Three Eyes is very neat, with 4 underground lakes (the "eyes").

The "horseback riding" excursion- from what I heard- is awful. Apparently they tried to set some young guys up with some poor 15 yr. old girls for sex. They of course emphatically refused.

The horses are so malnourished, you could count their ribs from across the street. We saw some in Santo Domingo- what a sad sight!

I did a scuba lesson in the pool, then did a sea dive for $75. That was very cool!

Other Comments:
The walk from your "Garden View" room to the beach is very long, and can be a pain if you forgot something in your room. The service is poor overall. Definitely a language barrier problem. If you're looking for a five star experience, look elsewhere. This is maybe a two star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"New Owners//Be Live// Should be "Be Dive""

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  george  on Mar 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
613 people found this review helpful

Well, just let me tell you a bit about this resort. My wife and I have been going to this resort every year for the past 9 years(except for last year) but returned again this year. What a shock!!! Also I need to to let you know that we are Vacation Club Members and this is our home resort. We loved this resort,the staff,beautiful beach the food was great and a very nice selection of foods. This sadly is not the case anymore.

Room Number:
240 and 234

Room Block:
Main Building

Arrival:
Arrival was great:No problems

Rooms:
Being Vacation Club members we have a jr suite. Once we got into the room we notice that the rooms weren't all that clean. The air wasn't working very well as well as the TV, coffee maker or the phone. The sheers that were hanging on the windows were torn and pinned to the rods (room 234). We had traveled all day and were very tried and thought that we could get all these issues taken care of in the morning. Well @ 3am in the morning the Disco shuts down and the guest then head out to the bar on the beach,which was under our window. The guests were allowed to holler,clap and shout,this went on until 6am.
Needless to say first thing I did in the morning was request a better room.
The second room they gave us was much nicer (room 240) everything worked but still not as clean as we have seen in the past years. The noise at night after the disco seem to be just as loud and still every night. One night(5am) I went to the front desk to complain and ask if they could quite them down a bit. I watched for them to tell them to quite down some and they never did. My wife then call the desk and complained again!! Staff then came to our room and said that these people have rights to party all night long, then told us to keep it down.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants and Bars were so short handed that most nights the waiter never came around, not even to find out what we wanted to drink including water. the food selection was very poor compared to years before. The bars were the same less than half the staff they had in years past. This in return made the waiters and bartenders so busy that they seemed to be angery and not every friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
My wife and I were shocked at how dirty this beautiful beach has become. In past years they had workers cleaning and raking the beach all day. Now we have only seen 1 worker cleaning the beach only for a few hours a day. Remember that this was our 9th time at this resort so we know how it was before,very clean. This time when we were there a little gril cut her foot on glass in the sand. We were pulling out butter knifes bottle caps and picking up glass from the sand. Never was this beach so dirty. The ground at one time had water fountains only to be replaced with dirt.

Other Comments:
Well to finsh off My wife and I are very sad to see a very nice resort go down hill. We were to spend 14 days at this resort that we so loved in the past, but cut our trip short and re-book our flight home so we could get some relaxation. We will not go back to this resort. The sad part was nobody even cared that we were leaving and didn't care about our concerns.

Then again there weren' any staff around they layed them all off.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful resort with great staff & excellent value"

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Todd  on Jan 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
553 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from spending our honeymoon here and we couldn't be happier! I must admit, after she booked this place I read some really terrible things and I became very concerned about going here..... All of that vanished upon checking in. What a wonderful place !
Over all, we had a great time at a wonderful resort and for the value Be Live Hamaca would be hard to beat.

Room Number:
415

Arrival:
The staff were very friendly, check-in was all of five minutes - not the "ordeal" I read about. ( I would highly recommend getting the in-room safe for three bucks a day for some peace of mind. )

Rooms:
After we checked in, we were taken up to our room and we were very pleased. The bathroom was quite large with two sinks, a jetted tub, huge shower and private toilet. There was a flat screen tv with enough english channels that we never had a hard time finding something to watch when we were winding down at the end of the day. A mini fridge with a few bottles of beer and pop that was replenished each day as well as large bottled water and coffee fixings were also in the room. On our first night, there was a fruit basket in the room and the next day we came back from lunch to a nicely made up room and a bottle of rum on the dresser ! The maid service was very good - if we ever needed anything, we had it quickly. Nice fresh towels every day, and every second day we pulled off the sheets, put them on the floor at the foot of the bed and had fresh sheets on the bed. We also left a few bucks on the bed and a little gift such as nail polish each day as a thank you to the girls that made up the room.
I read a lot of bad things about the rooms, but ours was very nice. Maybe it was because we paid a little extra for a superior ocean view room, but trust me it was WORTH it ! If you are gonna spend the money on a trip like this, do it right.... The only "bad" things I would say about the room is that my wife didn't care for the bed too much, it was a bit too firm for her liking. I on the other hand had no issues with it. And the shower had low water pressure, so it took a bit for the hot water to kick in. We just ran the shower for five minutes before we hopped in....

Restaurants and Bars:
The resort itself is very large. The main building is on the beach and over in this area there are 4 bars,( lobby, beach, pool and piano bar) 4 restaurants (2 a la cartes, the snackbar and 1 thats not part of the all inclusive) , 2 pools, the disco, gift shops, and the spa. Across the street is the theatre where they have shows each night (a listing of what's on is posted each day), the buffet restaurant and another a la carte restaurant, another pool with a swim up bar, tennis, mini golf, and kids area. There was also a building that housed pool tables, but they were under repair while we were there.
The buffet restaurant was very large and in the middle was an area where the cooks would be doing omlettes for breakfast, and fish, chicken, beef and/or pork for lunch and dinner. There was a large variety of things to pick from, some better than others but I'm not an adventerous eater so I stuck with things I knew. Over all, the food was quite tasty. Servers came to the table to pour water (from bottled, so it's ok to drink) and ask if you'd like any other drinks. Once again, we'd leave a couple of bucks as a tip each time.... The a la carte restaurants were very nice. We went to the Mexican and the Mediterranian a couple of time and were pleased with each.( Didn't make it to the Dominican though.) You just need to make a reservation in the morning for your preferred time slot and there is a dress code.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were very well kept, we always found that there were people cleaning, grooming the beach, maintaining the trees and such as well as touching up paint and small repairs. Everyone we encountered were friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed Jose, the swimup bartender and Billy Joel, our local Sunwing rep. I would highly suggest you book side trips through your tour operator as it made things very simple. They were also quite reasonably priced and well worth it. Go on the Saona Island catamaran trip - stunningly beautiful !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is what you make it"

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Jan 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
512 people found this review helpful

I have stayed at the Hamaca for the last 9 years and seen it through 4 owners both good and bad. What alot of people seem to forget it is a third world country and we are guests. They don't speak a lot of english well I don't speak a lot of spanish but I get around. Food is from their culture and they do try to make some of our type meals but it is always fun seeing what it comes out as. Friendly employees are always there and I have never met any rude employees yet. People that don't like your rooms well DON"T be CHEAP and then cry. Everyone has a choice on the room they want you just need to pay as any other resort. Ocean view rooms are nice and most have been remodled over the years but are not what you get in the bargin trips. The garden side is older and athough most have been remodeled some are in need of work and they will change you with no charge. A lot of people don't read what they are paying for and then cry foul. Beach is cleaned every morning and through out the day.
Boca Chica is a fun town. During the day anyone is welcome to walk around shop and then walk the beach. Do people try to sell you stuff.. YES they need money as well and their job but a No thank you will work. At night the hookers do come out and if your a single man they will approach you but if with your spouse not problem. The town streets are blocked off at night and music and bars are wild. It is all inclusive but reality is a small tip goes a long way.I am talking a $ for the maid or your server for a good job and you vacation will be just that much better. Next time you meet someone from a different country in your back yard remember you need to change to please them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never again"

Be Live Hamaca
User Rating:  Be Live Hamaca Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ivo  on Jan 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
500 people found this review helpful

I have no words to describe how bad this 4 star hotel is . Don't give them your $ unless you want to have 1 star room when you pay for 4* ...and stomach problems

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube