Coral Costa Caribe Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Juan Dolio > Juan Dolio Hotel Index > Coral Costa Caribe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Juan Dolio Hotels with Similar Ranking

Playa Real Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 12, 2011

Barcelo Capella Beach

2.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Coral Costa Caribe  

Calle Principal, Juan Dolio

"Dont Go-----Stay away"
Posted by: Lisa  on Mar 21, 2014
see all reviews

Coral Costa Caribe Reviews
Coral Costa Caribe Pictures and Information
Coral Costa Caribe Juan Dolio Dominican Republic

#1
of 16 Hotels in Juan Dolio

User rating 2.5

Based on 22 reviews

Coral Costa Caribe Information


The Coral Costa Caribe Hotel is a delightful modern hotel set in a secluded area; its beautifully landscaped grounds are bordered by the gorgeous sandy beaches of the Caribbean coastline. Coral Costa Caribe, is a wonderful option if you’re looking forward to celebrating an event or simply taking a well deserved vacation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Coral Costa Caribe Reviews

Coral Costa Caribe Review: 2.5 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  4
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (13)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 22

"Don't be fooled by the pictures"

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Christy from Tillsonburg, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
240 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan. 2008
Check in was extremely slow: we were not able to get into our room until later than we were told.

Rooms:
Disgusting! Stains and holes on bedding, holes in wall, when people above us took a shower water ran into our bathroom, toilets do not flush (staff was extremely slow to fix it, and left a huge mess for us to clean up afterwards). Floors were rarely clean even after giving generous tips to maid. Everyone we talked to had the same problems. Walls are paper-thin: we got to listen to our neighbours fight all week (and yell at the front desk about their broken toilet). They wouldn't move us to a different room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is horrible. Thank god for the omelet guy at breakfast. It took me 2 weeks to feel better when I got home.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We went over New Years and the beach was mostly closed off for 3 days for the celebration.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hookers at the casino are very persistent.

Other Comments:
Don't be fooled by the pictures; they were probably taken 15 years ago (the same time that it was rated a 4 star resort). This is NOT a 4 star resort.
Toilets at hotel are all bad. (It's customary to not flush your toilet paper.) We got some money back after writing a letter of complaint to Sunwing. I DO NOT recommend this resort no matter what kind of deal you think you are getting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place was beyond mad."

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Josee from Toronto  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
306 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 7-14, 2008:
I should have sent this review a very long time ago, however I was hesitant. I always feel as though people complain and are not satisfied with what they get, but I have travelled quite a bit and this place was beyond mad. I treat the locals with respect at all times and I never feel as though I expect the world of them, I have kept in contact with bartenders that I have met at different islands, but trust me at this resort, it definitely was not the case.

The check in was fine, I got in line; my husband retrieved the luggage and golf clubs. We were taken to our room by a porter.

Rooms::
The room was ok if mold around the tub doesn't bother you. We did go a few days where we had no water to shower. We had just completed an ATV tour, we were covered in mud and we needed to shower. I got in, had water with little pressure, shampooed my hair and low and behold the water cuts out. So off we went to the ocean shower to wash up. WHAT A JOKE! Please keep in mind that this only happened when they allowed the locals to come in the resort and the place was busting at the seams. We also had a few days with no AC, but we managed and it was fine.

Restaurants and Bars::
The food was good, no complaints there. We always wandered to the snack bar at 4am and he always made us fresh fries and pizza. The guys there were great. The bar service was very poor (except the bar in the lobby. The one guy there his name escapes me was FABULOUS!) The dominican restaurant was our favorite and the service was great.

This is a resort that allows locals to spend there weekends there. Come Friday night, anything that remotely looked like good service was gone. As the locals speak their language and they were served the rest of us were not. The line ups at the restaurants and buffets were INSANE. It was like being in a completely different world. I am used to going to resorts where the bartenders pour sambuca on the bar and light it on fire. In Venezuela the bar closed early so the bartender would fill our water bottles with liquor. Well at this resort, if they feel as though they do not want to serve you, they don't. You can be standing there for 15 minutes and its like you are non existant.

The service at the sports bar was pathetic. I was cut off ... YES CUT OFF! I like to drink tequila and it was not provided to me, but anyone else aound me who wanted it, no problem. If my husband ordered my drinks, I was served. It was ridiculous. One night, they told us they were out of tequila, therefore my husband went to the front desk and demanded we be served. After about 20 minutes of them telling us they were out of booze, my husband told them we were at an all inclusive with 6 bars (they wanted us to go to the casino and BUY IT!!!!) and they should make the effort, they did. We were sitting in the front lobby and they brought us a 40oz bottle of tequila (this was on day 6). Needless to say, we had a good night!

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The pools and beach were suitable. No complaints.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We ate at an italian restaurant in Juan Dolio. It was very expensive (70$ US) for my husband and I and trust me it was nothing to write home about. Don,t do it, it's not worth the expense, cause the food at the resort is not bad at all. The golf was well worth it. Our caddy was fabulous, knowledgeable and it was the first time in my golfing years that I pared most holes (he really was that good at directing me even with the language barrier!) We tipped him well!

Other Comments::
My husband was offered prostitutes on a daily basis "Hey amigo. You want a girl" ARE YOU KIDDING ME???? The young girls did not look older than 14 years old were lined up at the door of the resort!!!!!

We were sold this resort as a HILTON!!!! Mr. Hilton would be embarrassed to have his name attached to this place given the situation it is currently in.

So as a final note, would I go back? ABSOLUTELY NOT! If you don't drink tequila, it may be a nice place for you. The weather was great, the food was good, the room just OK but some of the employees PATHETIC!

joseebarrette@msn.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food made this trip a huge disappointment."

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Jan 1, 2009  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
254 people found this review helpful

First I'm not high maintenance nor do I have overly high expectations but good service consideration of culture and good manners go along way... which most staff have there

We got back yesterday from CCC in Juan Dolio the 4 star beachfront resort with 1.5 star FOOD... weather was beautiful, the beach was not overly crowded and cleaner than Veradero a very pretty place with a great location... the garbage they called FOOD they served us was consistantly tasteless and just not palate friendly...if this place was as diligent about its culinary choices and whats being served as they are about its appearance it would truly be a 4 star resort and well worth the $$ and trip returning+++ however this was just the worst food we've experienced on our 4th trip to the D.R they keep it looking good always cleaning tidying and washing things the entrance into the facility and most dining areas are clean the trip but the food made this a huge disappointment...chicken livers and onions for breakfast next to mashed Banana ad Black beans are you kidding me??

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DON'T GO"

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carol from Montreal  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
352 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 2-9
After feeling we had been misled by GoTravel by reserving a 4* wildcard in "La Romana", then being driven out 1 1/2 hrs away from "La Romana" airport into Juan Dolio....we thought well, we'll take a go at it...even though it wasn't what we expected....the only thing that worked well was the check-in on the bus.

Rooms:
Absolutely disgusting...after first being loaded into an elevator that the doors didn't even close and really rusty, we were led down a maze of hallways that some didn't even have any lighting (kinda of freaked me out!), to opening our door of a room that was pretty sparse, dirty, and had a moldy bathroom. We thought we'd make the best of it, but things started to go wrong and went worse. No water at all (toilet empty)....moldy tiles and dirty bathtub....air conditioner that leaked in the room and on the balcony (unusable), bed bugs (itched to death at night), TV that didn't work (despite 3 different visits from staff)...To be honest, we go for south for the beaches not the rooms, but this was unacceptable for a 4*.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was 1.5*, decorations around the salad bar were dirty carrots and moldy cauliflower. Didn't feel the refrigeration on the salads was sufficient as they were usually warm (MMMmmmm warm lettuce!)...and the few choices on the hot buffet were not really edible. Few meat choices....didn't even want to venture there. We went to the Dominican restaurant one night and I ordered Boca Chica fish, and what they served was a batter coated fish, deep fried, slopped on a plate (head and all). I ate that while watching the waiter seat a local prostitute to a table to wait for her date.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Wouldn't go near the pool and there was algea all around the sides, and the water was cloudy, and full of sticks and dirty bottom. Beach was decent, but the vendors became a real pain, I disagree with a previous review that said they leave you alone if you say no...well we were bothered at least every 5 minutes (by the same guy!)....Apparently it is illegal to sell wares on the beach on this island...but you could see that the beach guards (yes some with guns) were being paid off. Then of course the prostitutes....it was the only show in the evening to watch, before all the outdoor bars closed at 11:00.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't hear or see anything but a game of horseshoes that was being played in a spot on the beach where a teenager just vomited (I'm serious).

Other Comments::
After spending our 1st night we approached our tour rep and told her we wanted out....so we only had to spend 1 more night before arrangements could be made for a transfer to another hotel in "La Romana"....that's a whole other review in itself as we didn't feel that our comments or feedback were being taken seriously. It is the first 4* hotel in D.R. in the 7 other times we've been there that was so bad "to the extreme" When you would go in the lobby, there were guests constantly requesting change of room, or a repair etc, it didn't make sense to us. So all in all DON'T GO, there are so many other hotels that go for the same price, even 3.5* would be better!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoy the warmth and beauty of the Caribbean and don't fret the little things."

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian and Leisa from Renfrew, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
492 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 9-16
Arrival was good. All information, including card keys, towel cards and bracelet was provided on the bus, as well as map of the grounds, where room was etc. Very easy and convenient.

Rooms
Room was standard room on second floor. Basic, but clean and everything worked well. Beds were comfortable. No complaints.

Restaurants and Bars
Buffet served everything that you would eat at home. Beef, chicken, pork etc. fish, pasta, rice,potatoes done different ways including french fries, various fruits and veggies, and many types of desserts. Ate very well and had no complaints at all. Bars all staffed and service was good and friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was very nice. Sandy bottom and clean of excessive weeds etc. Pools were well maintained and full of swimmers, so they must have been good.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Took the tour to Santo Domingo. Reasonably priced and very informative. Stopped at a Dominican restaurant named El Conuco and had a traditional meal with music and dancers-absolutely great! Many other excursions offered. Animation staff always had people doing some kind of activity.

Other Comments
First and foremost let me state that these type of all inclusive resorts are not luxury resorts. People get hung up on the star ratings ignorant of the fact that all that they mean is that they receive stars for many factors and that they meet certain criteria. If you want the Ritz, spend your millions and go to a luxury resort, otherwise accept the fact that by travel standards and Dominican standards this is a 4 star resort. We had a wonderful vacation at this resort. The staff was always helpful and friendly. Remember, kindness begets kindness. I saw people demand and order like the staff were personal servants. Not a way to get kindness in return. We were always treated well, and have many good memories of the staff all over the resort. Oh and by the way. Quit complaining about peddlers on the beach. They are all over the island , at every resort trying to make a buck. If you don't want to buy from them, then all you have to say is "no gracias"! They will move on- get over it.

My advice, just go and enjoy the warmth and beauty of the Caribbean and don't fret the little things. If something pops up, just inform the front desk and it will be taken care of. Some people expect too much. Take it easy and just count your blessings that you can be in such a beautiful country, not missing winter back home. Have a pina colada and soak up some rays and relax.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food was okay but not great."

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Louise-Andrée from Montréal  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
502 people found this review helpful

Group
We were a group of 7 friends and we stayed there for one week.

Arrival/Check-out
Check-in (and check-out) went very well. The very nice check-in people spoke French (that surprised me!), English and of course Spanish.

Hotel
Very nice and clean. Very big complex. Very nice curb appeal.

Rooms
Previous reviews were unrealistic. This is a hotel in a very humid third-world country. Some complaints were ridiculous about quality of rooms, etc. If you want Marriot quality like in the States or Canada, go and stay there. The rooms were clean, simple and had no bugs, no problems with locking the patio or front doors (as was reported in earlier reviews). No mini-fridge as reported in the publicity, however, just ask for one and they'll deliver it. We had some mildew in the bathroom over the tub and around the fan (yuck!).

Bring your shampoo and personal hygiene items. The shampoo was terrible and no conditioner was available. I have an unruly lion's mane, so I need the good stuff!

Restaurants and Bars
One buffet restaurant and three à-la-carte restaurants (Italian, Mexican and Dominican). We ate quite well at all three à-la-carte restaurants. I L-O-V-E-D the Mexican. What I liked very much at this hotel was that you did not have to wait in line in the morning to reserve in advance your seats in the à-la-carte restaurants. First arrived first served. Also, in the evening, even though there was a dress code at the à-la-carte restaurants, it was not really enforced, except if you wear gym clothes, then you'll get turned away.

There are plenty of bars for everyone around the grounds. For the price of the hotel , I was impressed that the drinks were not watered down and, with tips, almost no juice at all! (lol)

Food
This is where the glitch was for me. The food was okay but not great. There was not enough variety, same four condiments/salads at lunch and dinner at the buffet restaurant every day, very limited choice in hot foods, very repetitious, I am not a meat stew eater with thick greasy sauce (there were a lot of stews) [this is why it is not a 4* for me]. However, at the grill of the main buffet restaurant (where they cook the eggs in the morning), there was great fish (if you like fish) and sometimes okay meat (way way too cooked for me; even if you asked rare or medium-rare, they still didn't get it right). The pasta bar was great: two to three choices of sauces for the pasta. I'm a picky eater, but I did not go hungry. I did manage to find something to eat. Warning: Everything is very salty. Taste before adding salt!

The food was the main complaint in my group and seemed to be the general consensus with those with whom we spoke. I don't drink wine, however, my companions told me that the house wine was "disgusting" (quote-unquote).

By the way, the WATER on the hotel site is ABSOLUTELY SAFE; not the one in the rooms though, as is very well explained in the bathrooms... they do provide you with 1 to 2 bottles each day in the rooms. The vegetables, salads, etc. are washed with filtered water. I usually get a little sick on any trip and I did not get sick here... Over the past few years, the management of these types of hotels put a lot of effort into making their premises safe for the tourists. I cannot complain about that. Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beautiful grounds, well maintained, no bugs. Nice beach, it is kept clean of algea in front of the hotel, however, it gets messy when leaving the general area of the hotel until the next hotel. Long beaches to walk on. Beautiful picture spots. The water is not cristal clear like in Cuba or not as turquoise but it was okay. The pools are fine, one for activities and two for relaxing. I did not use the pool(s), I was there for the beach, the ocean and the palm trees.

Bugs
Like I said, not even a bug in the room. Very few on the beach. I am painfully allergic to the sandfly's bite, however, there were none there. I saw a few critters here and there in the evening, they don't bother you if you don't bother them.

Activities on and off the Resort
Plenty of organized activities on the grounds... We played volleyball and baseball. There were aerobics classes both in and outside the water at different times in the day, yoga, etc. There were also various group games organized on the beach.

Tours:
My friends took the Catamaran and snorkeling tour to Samala (I think) Island and said it was not worth the price they paid but said it was okay. I took the dune-buggy tour which takes you into the local sugarcane plantations and small villages for several hours. Sadly, in my opinion, it is not a real dune-buggy and more like a go-kart with big wheels. It was a fun and VERY BUMPY ride, even with the odd vehicle. Bring swimming goggles to cover your eyes, as the sunglasses they provide you DO NOT protect adequately from the dust emanating from the dune-buggy in from of you!

Evening shows:
Some were good, some were bad... it's a matter of personal taste. Disco: We went there in the hopes to dance the Merengue, Salsa, Bachata... but there was only the pop/dance/hip hop music that the teens seem to enjoy so much... nothing for us 40-year-olds! The DJ was kind enough, upon request, to give us a few latin songs, but it did not last very long.

Shopping
There is a small street separating the hotel grounds in two and there are plenty of gift shops. The prices are great. I was impressed with the quality of the jewelry and the T-shirts. Worth it. Note: You WILL be harassed by vendors on the beach. If you're not interested, just say no thank you and they go away. However, they sell nice things, and if you're interested, do bargain. It's fun.

Service
Service was terrible, even with tipping. There is one speed and it is "very slow". I understand we're on vacation but there's a limit. I am not complaining about attitude, they work hard, however, the clearing away of tables at the buffet was inadequate and slow... there were bizarre mix-ups at the Italian restaurant... whether at breakfast, lunch or dinner, we would run out of certain items and their reaction time was inadequate or sometimes nonexistent (in my opinion).

Baby/Kids Club
I did not notice if here is one, I don't think so; I did not see activities with kids.

Overall impression
I do recommend this hotel if you're not a picky eater. I do not recommend it for a two-week stay because of the food. It is a nice and clean hotel, very well-kept grounds, clean rooms, clean beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I got what I went for....sun, sand, fun."

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue from Cornwall, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
348 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 26 - February 2
We had pre-registration and were given our room keys, towel cards, resort map, etc. on the bus from the airport. When we arrived at the resort a bellhop was ready to help us take our luggage to our room.

Rooms:
The rooms were modest, but clean and comfortable. I didn't go to the Dominican to stay in my room! There wasn't a fridge in the room as described. But one was delivered shortly after I requested it.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was wonderful. Yes, there were black beans, mashed bananas and chicken livers at breakfast. But you are not forced to eat them!!!! There were also, French toast, pancakes, eggs and omelets cooked to your liking, meats, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt , pastries and bread. There was always plenty of variety at the dinner buffet. Every night had a different theme, i.e. BBQ, Asian, Spanish, etc.

One night dinner was served on the beach. Of course people complained about getting sand in their food. I didn't see any sand in MY food! If you went hungry, then it was your own fault.
Sant Fe Grill, the Mexican A la Carte restaurant was fantastic. The Mahi-mahi cooked in coconut milk and tequila was amazing!!
Mangos, the snack bar served good pizza and had a good variety at lunchtime. There was always plenty if great rum-based drinks at all the bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful . Someone was always cleaning. There were plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas.Yes, there were vendors (as there are at most every resort I have been to) but if you told them you were not interested, they left you alone. However, you could get some great deals after bartering.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Gran-Safari. It was not the greatest tour I have been on. But the highlight of the trip was lathering up with mud and showering it off under a waterfall. Wonderful. The nightly entertainment at the resort did not start until around 10 p.m. Of the 3 shows I saw , one was a fun night with audience participation . The other 2 were very well done with great dancers.
There were aerobics in and out of the pool. Aqua Gym was great fun!
We went to In Sense Spa for a Lava Shell Massage. It was one of the best massages I have ever had. The Spa was immaculate and the masseuse was polite and friendly. The prices were very reasonable.
There is a little strip mall down the road from the resort where you can get some great souvenirs...coffee, rum, wind chimes, t-shirts, etc.

Other Comments:
After reading some of the other comments, I wasn't sure that I had stayed at the same resort!!!
I found the staff very friendly and happy to serve. I guess if you treat people right...you get treated right!! The grounds were well manicured and there were people constantly cleaning up glasses, etc that the guests left laying around.
All in all I got what I went for....sun, sand, fun. Not to mention some great rum drinks!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our room was definitely not a 4 star room. "

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Tamara from London, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
460 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 3 - 10:
We arrived at approximately 6:00 a.m. There were only two representatives working at the check-in counter which was not surprising at that hour. The representatives had very little english which did make checking in a little difficult. The one serving us took us outside and sort of pointed to where our room was. Luckily, they do not allow you to take your own luggage so we waited and followed our bags to our room.

Rooms:
Our room was definitely not a 4 star room. When we arrived, the air conditioning was not on and the room was extremely hot and humid. The bell hop turned it on and some lights. It was a bit of a shock due to it's condition, it was fairly clean but very old looking. We were on the first floor and anyone could have easily climbed onto our balcony. Thankfully the balcony door did lock at both ends. The curtain, however, did not come all the way across. There were no washcloths or handtowels in the room. In our room, the bathroom was divided - the toilet and tub in one area with a door and the sink on the other side of the door. There was only a small ceiling light in the toilet area and this made for very dark showers. We did not have a problem with hot water, but there was no water pressure. There was a sign on the lid of the toilet not to flush toilet paper but to put it in a waste basket beside the toilet. This was something we had not run into before, and I must confess we did not always follow this request, because the thought of not flushing the paper after a bowel movement wasn't something we could do. The low water pressure caused you to have to flush two or three times to clear the waste. The lady who cleaned our room was very pleasant but did not speak any english at all, so we had difficulty getting the linens we needed. She also made beds differently than usual. Many times, we would find the sheets on sideways and nothing covering the mattress at our feet. The resort seems to have a shortage of bathroom linens because many days we were not supplied with any washcloths or two towels. One day we didn't get a bath mat. We travelled with four other family members and they encountered the same problems in their rooms. On the positive side, we saw only one bug in our room and it was sprayed while we were there. Other problems we encountered: there was no refrigerator and when we enquired at the front desk, we were advised that we would only get one if one of us had a medical condition that required keeping medication cool. There were light fixtures in our room with no bulbs which made it very dim. Our television set did not work. We talked with the front desk about these problems two times with no results, so finally mentioned them to the representative of our Travel Company. We then got one light fixed, a refrigerator and a new television which did not work much better and had no hand control. The other thing we found annoying was the safe. It was probably 50 years old or older and you had to pay $24.00 to get the lock and key for it. So all in all, we found the room just passable but not what we expected in a four star resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was very limited in choices. We ate breakfast there every morning. The omelettes or eggs were an everyday staple. No one went hungry but it was not what we expected of a four star resort. We tried lunch there one day, but there really was nothing we found palatable and, therefore, got in the habit of eating hot dogs and pizza at Mangoes (on the beach) everyday. The three specialty restaurants were great. We ate at all three (Mexican, Italian and Dominican) and enjoyed the food very much.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was very clean and the water clear. We took advantage of the one hour a day free snorkeling equipment and found fish and sea urchins to watch everytime. There was a shortage of umbrellas and unless you lined up at 7:00 a.m. and fought the crowd you would not get one. There was an older man who worked the beach all day cleaning up garbage left behind by inconsiderate tourists. He would find you a lounge chair and drag it to where you wanted it and if he found a small table to hold you water or drinks he would also bring you one of them. We tipped him $1.00 and he tried really hard to make sure we had enough chairs for our group and two days even managed to get us an umbrella. The beach vendors are the same as other resorts I have been on. If you show no interest, they leave, but there are lots of them, so be prepared for some interruptions. If you purchase anything from one of them, I think they pass on the information and lots more will come to see you. The prices for the articles they were selling was cheaper than those same items sold on the beach in Punta Cana. We made friends with a few of them and they came just to visit us and gave us small gifts our last day there. I have no problem with vendors, this is how they make their meager living and anyone who travels to these resorts should be ready to be approached. A polite no is all they really need to hear.

Pools:
There are three of them. The main one is the newest and has a swimup bar. It has a beautiful waterfall feature and behind this is the jacuzzi. The pool was always clean and fallen leaves, glasses left by inconsiderate guests and any other debris were frequently removed. The jacuzzi was quite large and clean but too warm for my liking. There is a second pool a short distance away with a small bridge over it and another waterfall feature. It also has two small islands with palm trees and other vegetation decorating it- this pool is older than the main pool and has some cracks starting around the edges. There is a third pool across the road from the main lobby. There was no-one else there either of the two times we visited it. It was clean but very old and crumbly at the edges. Nice though to have a private pool and lounges.

The grounds were nothing special. There were some flowering bushes, and everything appeared well maintained. Not the breath taking beauty I have experienced at other resorts though.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on a snorkeling tour offered by the hotel. They took us about 20 minutes down the beach and landed the boat. There was a coral reef only a brief swim out and the number of fish and sea creatures we saw was great for only $20.00 US per person. We swam for over an hour and the guide did not rush us to return to the boat. He did swim out with us at first to show us the best spots and brought a couple of baby star fish to the surface for us to see and hold.

Two members of our party went on a horseback riding tour through a couple of small towns and along the beach and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Other Comments:
You know what you are getting when you enter the front lobby. Although the flooring and ceiling are beautiful, the walls need some repair. The only seating is wicker couches, with yellowed cushions and were not very comfortable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't believe everything you read, this place is wonderful"

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Caitlyn  on Nov 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
655 people found this review helpful

I have been to Coral Costa Caribe 3 times now. I have nothing bad to say at all about this resort, the people are wonderful, the food is wonderful, the resort itself is wonderful. I never had a bad experience in my combined 21 days there, which I think is saying a lot.

All three times I've traveled with my family who are part of the Vacation Club. I couldn't say enough about the company. They've been perfect. We've gone to other resorts, but I have to say, Costa Caribe is the best place to be a Vacation Club member.

Also remember, if you want everything to be perfect, you should have stayed home and done it yourself.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Decent resort in the beautiful Dominican Republic"

Coral Costa Caribe
User Rating:  Coral Costa Caribe Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leigh1984  on Jan 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
526 people found this review helpful

Just returned from my first Dominican vacation. Had a great time! We have traveled to Cuba and Mexico numerous times but I must say Dominican Republic was amazing!

Your Arrival:
Rooms are hit and miss at this resort. If little issues in hotel rooms stress you out this resort may not be for you. We had issues with water pressure and temperature, as well as a temperamental toilet (this did not bother us as we do not travel for the hotel rooms). Safes are NOT INCLUDED and are a must!!! You have to pay $3.50 per night for use of the safe. Rooms are generally clean, but they were not the selling feature of this resort.

Rooms:
Rooms are hit and miss at this resort. If little issues in hotel rooms stress you out this resort may not be for you. We had issues with water pressure and temperature, as well as a temperamental toilet (this did not bother us as we do not travel for the hotel rooms). Safes are NOT INCLUDED and are a must!!! You have to pay $3.50 per night for use of the safe. Rooms are generally clean, but they were not the selling feature of this resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food here was great! The best food I have encountered at a resort yet! You do not have to book at the a la cartes, just show up (and be prepared to wait a little). When traveling in Cuba I usually experience some minor stomach issues, but had no problems on this trip. Great selection of food and 24 hour availability! Great bars and drinks. Very good bartenders and service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is very nice. There is a buoyed swimming area and a reef that is great for snorkeling (you get 1 hour free snorkel usage per person per day). The beaches are kept clean and there are lots of chairs and shade or sun areas available. There are vendors that are on the beach, but it is well controlled by resort security and they are very polite and friendly. There are 3 pools at this resort which are clean and beautiful. The pool beside the Mexican restaurant is a quiet oasis during the day as many people hang out at the 2 pools closest to the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows at this resort leave a bit to be desired however, there are pool tables, foosball tables, and a disco to keep you entertained in the evening. We always found something to do and had fun. We did not go on any excursions but many people did and enjoyed themselves.

Other Comments:
One of the days we left our safe key in the room by mistake. When we returned to our room that evening $40 was missing from our safe. The maid was the only person who could have done this as our room was not broken in to. We reported this to the hotel staff and our travel representative just to let them know what had happened. It was our mistake for leaving the key in the room, but beware of maids with sticky fingers. This issue (as we expected) was not resolved in any way, but we learned a good lesson. Overall this was a good resort. The staff are so wonderful and friendly! The service is very good and the food is great. If you are not too picky about your room and minor inconveniences you will have a good time at this resort. I would likely not return to this resort, but LOVED the Dominican and will return in the near future.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube