Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

VH Victoria Resort and Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 6, 2011

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort

4.9 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 10, 2010

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

4.1 based on 35 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 6, 2014

Allegro Puerto Plata

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed May 25, 2014

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada  

Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata

"Three star? Not even close!"
Posted by: K on Mar 20, 2011
see all reviews

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Reviews
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Pictures and Information
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#4
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 3.3

Based on 28 reviews

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Information


The Playa Naco Golf & Tennis Resort is located right on the golden sand beach of Playa Dorada.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Reviews

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.3 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  9
Average
  8
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"The hotel and staff were great"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Louise  on Jan 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2009
233 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Good - arrived on a thursday, not travelling with a tour compnay. Sadly - not hotles fault, they had not received our bookin, but we had receipts and vouchers as proof, and they contacted the booking agent within an hour. we were seated in the reception lounge with drinks while we waited. Given a room upgrade from standard to superior. Driven to our room by freindly staff in a golf cart.

Rooms:
We were Block 15 which was on the beach in a garden facing room wth a balcony. We had a suite - with seperate bedroom, bathroom, vanity unit, kitchenette with fridge, dinning area, and lounge area with sofa bed. Freshly painted, altho as with the rest of the hotel everything was a little tired looking. Room was very clean, and we had towel swans & towel art the whole 3 weeks we were there. Beds goods, linen & towles changed daily.
We had window & patio door "locks" or sorts - basically holes drilled thru the frames with removeable metal rods going thru the holes. We paid for a safe - so i dont understand why people had things stolen from their rooms- i guess they were too cheap to pay for the safe deposit of 15USD ? Theft happens everywhere - do what YOU can to minimise the theifs opportunity - put your valuables in the SAFE

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was very fresh - great selection of fresh fruits, salads etc. Speciality restaurants were ok, atmophere was quieter, but food more or less the same as the main restaurant buffet. Staition in the main restaurant at Breakfast for omelettes& eggs, Lunch - burgers, toasties, hotdogs, Evening - pastas and sauces. Each evening as well as the buffet there was a speciality serving - like a carvery, or paella, & on mexican night it was tacos, fajitas etc. Good selection at all meals. Breakfast was fab, with huge selection of fruits, cereals, cooked fooded bacon / sausage, fried bananas/pineapple, loads of bread, muffins & croissants - also cheeses and cold meats(ham, salami) Drinks were always plentiful - plenty of rum and beer - but as the spec says LOCAL DRINKS - dont expect there to always be tonic etc -they never ran out of anything while i was there, but then i didnt expect them to be stocked like a bar from home.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful grounds kept absolutely immaculate by the legions of staff. pool cold in temp - but very clean - pool area furniture plentiful.

Beach - not enough umbrellas, but plenty of shade in the trees - typical holiday where youhad to be up at dawn to get either a cabana or a umbrella. they made 4 new umbrellas while we were there - but still not enough. People travelling with children try to bring your own shade umbrella / wotever as the holiday makers have no concern that your child has no shade! as long as they are ok jack!
Beach sellers were everywhere, but a polite no thank you was enough for them to be on their way. NO NEED TO ABUSE THEM - they are trying to make a living too.
SMOKERS !!! - everywhere - get an fing clue, YOUR CIGARETTE BUTTS DO NOT WALK THEMSELVES to the trash can. I cant believe the disgustingness of people ( if there is such a word) Stubbing cigarettes out in the sand & leaving them there - REVOLTING. should my little girl have to dig around in the remains of your cancer sticks - there are plenty of ashtrays on the beach !

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activites where plentiful - We bougt from the guys at the beach, as you pretty much get the same deal everywhere. We went to ocean world & swam with the dolphins which was amazing. We also took the puerto plata tour - up th emountain ni the cable ccar, to the amber museum and the run factory, and the old fort. GOod trip overall - but also just an excuse for the tour companies to get you to spend more money in the tacky souvenir shops.
we went to paradise island - snorkelling was fabulous as was the drive thru the mountains and plantations to get there- but as for paradise - hhahaaahhahah... its 100 sq mts of sand crammed with 300 people and another excuse for the tour company to try to get money out of you for a ideo of the day and photos etc.
entertainment team at the hotle worked very hard with very little - the shows were good overall - dont expect vegas tho. The fire/ water shows were very good. always stuff to do - games in the pool, activites on the beach, aerobics, dance lessons, spanish lessons etc etc.

Other Comments:
The hotel and staff were great - i dont understand peoples polarized opinions on this place or the amount of complaints - you get what you pay for - if you want 5 star THEN PAY FOR IT. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in backpackers that would make your eyes bleed - and this place while was by no means the best place i have been, but neither was it the worst.

Why complain about not having hot water, or the nosiy air conditioner, or the phone not working . its all stupid small things.. get a grip. This is dominican republic and this hotel is 3 star dominican style. The staff went out of their way to help us, they were polite, and as helpful as could be. The entertainment team worked very hard, and were great fun, trying to give everyone a good time.
If you want hot water - showere before everyone else - we found if we showered at 5 it was ok, but any time after and the hot water was all gone .....

My only complaint was the type of people at staying this hotel - classless; and the fact that there were no NON smoking areas in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great time"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Feb 1, 2009  >  8 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
221 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 9th - 16th
Excellent service from the airport. Sunwing had a bus waiting for us, but a taxi was also available for $20US We took the bus and arrived at our hotel about 20mins later. Check in was a breeze.

Rooms:
Simple clean, freshly painted room. King size bed, patio on ground level, t.v. with remote that worked. Bathroom was clean and well stocked. Hair dryer, soap, etc. We were in building 11. Room 1110. We had lots of hot water, fresh towels and linen daily. We did tip the maid every morning on our way to the beach. About $4.00 a day. We rented a safe in our room for $15US for piece of mind. Our room was central to the main building, buffet and beach.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were very happy with the restaurants and bars. Buffet was fresh everyday. Lots to choose from. The a la carte restaurants were a nice change from the buffet. We had left the resort to travel for the day and arrived late to one of the restaurants for our dinner (the restaurant was closing) and they happily packed us a wonderful dinner to take with us to our room! There was never any shortgage of alcohol while we were there. Bring your own cooler cup from home as the plastic cups are too small.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was fantastic! (We left -30 and arrived in paradise...) Water was perfect temperature and beautiful grey sandy beach. Pool was clean and well maintained. We jumped in once but prefer the beach. Grounds were well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did go to some of the evening entertainment which was fun. Mostly staff from the resort performing skits and dancing, singing, etc. The fire show at the pool was well done.

Other Comments:
We left the resort a few times and met the local people and took local buses and taxis around. Antonio Nuenes was a local we met at the central park in Puerta Plata. He happily showed us around all of his city. He was great! We took a gua gua (local bus) to Monte Cristi and visited the national park. Beautiful beach there. We did rent a car on our last day and made our way to Sousua. Driving can be a bit crazy!

We had a great time in the DR and would certainly return. The people are wonderful. The weather was perfect!

bbrown@mortgagebrokers.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved the hotel and the WHOLE trip!"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Thomas  on Feb 1, 2009  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
214 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 8 to Feb 15
We were checked in within 15 minutes upon arrival. The luggage was looked after by the tour company, the luggage and ourselves were delivered to the rooms by tram in only a few minutes.

Rooms
We had one of the newly renovated buildings. The room was super ultra modern. Beautiful bathroom, hot water ALL the time. Air conditioning was set by us adjusting the thermostat. Cleaned daily. The floors were so clean that your could eat off them. Each unit has a balcony with chairs and tables. Refrigerator in each room with freezer section to keep ice from the bar. The housekeeping staff love hard candy. We were told about this and brought down 5 bags of hard candy. The staff couldn't do enough for you.

Restaurants and Bars
All the alacarte restaurants were open. We were alotted 3 for the week and enjoyed each one. The main buffet dining room was beyond belief. Fresh salads, fresh tropical fruit, fresh desserts, and main courses. Different theme each night. Burgers and hot dogs made to order, both at the buffet or the beach restaurant. The bar served great cold beer. The rest of the shots were watered down. My only complaint was even if you had a double, it was like a single back home. We went on a rum factory tour and the rum purchased there would knock your socks off. The rum at the hotel didn't even create a buzz. All in all the service was great. You tip when you feel the staff were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach had a shortage of umbrellas. Plenty of shade from the palm trees. Whenever I went down there was always chairs available.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The hotel offered daily activities and the staff went out of their way to ensure you had a good time. We took a trip into Peurto Plata and then to Sosua.
The tour was well organized and lunch was great.

Other Comments
A few things to note. Upon arrival you must fill out TWO immigration forms. You must first pay your $10 US entry fee. Then proceed on to two immigration check points. Upon leaving you need to fill out only one form then go through immigration and before boarding your plane, pay the $20 US prior to boarding your flight. Now NO ONE with either the airlines or the tour operator really tell you where and how to do this, you kind of stumble onto as it happens.

People should also note you are going to a foreign country. Their language is Spanish. It's nice if they speak English, but yelling at them is down right rude. We saw this happen so many times, where someone would say, can you believe they don't speak English? Most operations dealing with tourist have a handle on English, but please don't get upset if someone does not speak your language in THEIR county!

The hotels along Dorada Beach are all a gated community. What fear was there when you couldn't even get into the compound unless passing by security? The rooms offered safes and of course anyone with a brain would pay the couple of bucks and get the key and lock for it. Our patio door would not lock upon arrival and our refrigerator did not work. Both were fixed within 10 minutes of our call to the front desk.

We went down there worried because of some of the bad reviews we read here. Anyone going down relax, great fun, good food and good sense of security We loved the hotel and the WHOLE trip!

tabonyi@sympatico.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is very relaxed and comfortable."

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy and Rocky from New Brunswick  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
244 people found this review helpful

Arrival
traveled can-jet OUT OF Fredericton...delayed due to weather. other than that it was great. the return was right on time and comfortable. rooms were ready upon check in every one recieved everything quickly. staff were friendly and professional. everything worked! no complaints

Rooms
newely renovated building we all recieved great rooms air conditioning, and hot water were always available..nice and quiet..keep very clean. grerat view from our balcony of the ocean..and ships on the horizon at night. BEAUTIFUL

Restaurants and Bars
tried cocomo's at the beach, and the carribian grill.. usually used the night buffett..good variety and lots to eat! the beach grill was always great for lunch with lots of favorites to choose from. always quick service at the bars, and quite frequently we were served right at our chairs during the early afternoon on the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
the beach is the best on the strip very clean..look for bobby and tip him well he takes care of this 6 days a week, and starts at 3am. never used the pool as i am a beach girl, the grounds are well keep, always work beind done and clean up is a daily event with leaves etc...falling from the trees. lots of beauty all around

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
i get tired of the entertainment..as it seems to be the same..however having said this they work very hard to include everyone. and to keep things fresh and new! jr., antonio, and the paparrzi are great fun!

Other Comments
we have been going to this resort for 10 years and this year we noticed more of the changes that the new owners have been talking about! this resort is very relaxed and comfortable..just what we like when we go away..no stress, no worries, no high formalities! just relaxation and fun...see you all in 2010.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Basicly a fine old resort in need of repair"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Mar 1, 2009  >  22 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
232 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 17 - Feb 24
arrival and check in was handled professionally by compident staff with the tour company reps in attendence received the rooms I had requested by email as my wife had been to this resort 7 yrs ago

Rooms
the rooms were clean and cleaned every day but the rooms are tired and in bad need of simple scheduled maintenance plumbing is breaking down and leaking with toilets running all the time hot water depends on which room your in towels facecloths bathmatts are few and far between staff work hard but seem to have little to work with there are three renovated buildings which appear to be getting all the attention

Restaurants and Bars
not enough bars always a line up if it wasn'tout of a frozen despenser or tap beer forget it buffet had repetive items yet of good quality the resort needs at least one more bar the four lacart restaurants are ok but nothing is out standing they are as the rest of the resort making do

Beach/Pools/Grounds
poor had very little use all week at some point the swimup bar has been removed beach is wide and out standing the resorts best feature long sandy with light surf grounds are green with established folage not as lush or colorful as our last 3 trips to mexico realy missed the wild life thats not on the resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
been here in the Dominican 4 previously so his trip was beach and relax but the plaza is so convient go go often good deals to be had

Other Comments
basicly a fine old resort in need of repair and a motivated staff we have always like this resort and are dissapointed the new owners are so slow in bringing it up to it glory days

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will return there no doubt"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gary  on Mar 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
246 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 26 - Mar. 08
Arrival went well and on time. Our first room was totally unaceptable.Dirty, black mould on walls. We refused to unpack. We were acommodated quickly by Ramon,the mgr. on duty ,and transferred to a newly renovated suite.

Rooms
Aside from the original room ,the new room was clean, modern,bright and cool with the a/c. Ask for second key card. The electricity goes off if not inserted into switch.

Restaurants and Bars
Tried the alacarte but preferred the buffet. The beach buffet had great afternoon snacks and pizza.

Beach/Pools/Groundsv Immaculate .Pool clean but cold.The grounds are very well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Always something to do. The activities crew are wonderful.The Jeep tour to the mountain was a waste of money. Note: book locally in R.D. it`s cheaper than with your travel agent and you can barter on the price.

Other Comments
I found it easier and more economical to deal in pesos, rather than US dollars. The rate of exchange varies and the shops at the resort are very expensive compared to town. . We will return there no doubt.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Over all resort was okay"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy  on Mar 1, 2009  >  13 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
238 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 28 til March 6
No fault to the resort but our flight was delayed 8 hours for repairs. Once arrived at resort put in unacceptable room, but within an hour moved to upgraded acceptable room. thanks to rep named Gustavo. Other staff, friendly and helpful.

Rooms
First room was awful, doors didn't lock, no knob on adjoining room door. Room was dark, bulbs burnt out. Dirty. If we had to stay in this room we felt as though we would have had to sleep in shifts! And this room was considered a "superior" room. Gustavo with help from the manager of resort put us in an upgraded room that was better. Lots of hot water.( at any time of the day) two large beds, very clean and bright. Lots of towels.

Restaurants and Bars
Only two bars open, not a problem during our week as the resort was not busy at all. Always lots of food at the buffet and much variety. Staff was always friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was totaly awesome, we were able to walk for miles. The beach vendors were there in full force but if you said "no thanks" they didn't bother you.
Grounds were well kept and clean. Didn't try the pool but looked fine.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We walked to the "mall" next door, was great for bargains. We had 3 days of rain so it was nice to be able to go somewhere for something to do.

Other Comments
Please we are asking people not to ride on the horse and buggies! Those poor horses seemed so undernourished and illkept. It was very sad to see the state the animals were in. Hot days they were not even resting in the shade.

Over all resort was okay, yes it is a 3 star! But we are very disappointed with Sunwing!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great resort for the price and I wouldn't hesitate to return"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvie  on Mar 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
233 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 25 to March 4
Travelled via Sunwing. Free meals and they even offered a free glass of champagne and wine. My sister and I along with our 4 kids started our trip at Paraiso Tropical in Caberete. Due to poor quality of the rooms and lack of air conditioning it was suggested that we transfer to Celuisma Tropical Paya Dorada (same chain), we gladly accepted. The following day the transfer was made without a hitch. The welcome at this Hotel was amazing, 2 of the 3 rooms were ready. The only downside is that we were not on the list for the return trip to the Airport on our last day. It was resolved within 15 minutes.

Rooms
We were in block 19 and 20. Good size rooms with 2 double beds, we had no balcony but from what we had been given at the first resort we didn't complain. Rooms are extremely clean, air conditioning a bit noisy but at least the rooms were cool. We locked all our valuables in th esafe so we had nothing stolen. We had plenty of hot water. No bugs whatsoever.

Restaurants and Bars
We tried the four A La Carte Restaurants but preferred the Buffet for its freshness and variety. Yes, it is repetitive but we always found something to eat. The Omelettes were great but nothing compared to the cook that always serves them with a smile. We gave him a big tip. No one in our group was sick and we heard of no one on the resort having food poisoning during our entire stay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Wonderful beach, very clean and plenty of chairs. The sellers can be a nuisance, we just chose to ignore them and the visits became less frequent. The Orange Market is along the Beach, approximately at a 5 minutes walking distance. Great little treasures. The pool is nice and clean but we rarely used it. The water was cold, there are plenty of chairs and tables

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The day trips are very costly so we decided to get our own taxi to Soshua at a cost of 5$ each and then a one hour snorkelling excursion at 15$ each. We didn't feel like being gone all day so this was a great option. The Brugal Rum Factory is at a walkable distance. They offer a free tour

Other Comments
The Entertainment staff is absolutely the best I've seen. They kept our daughters, aged 13, 17, 19 and 20 entertained all week. Thanks go especially to Ratata, Junior, Coco Loco and Paparrazi,the photographer.

A great resort for the price and I wouldn't hesitate to return. Lots of Canadians. We started giving the locals and the resort staff a lesson in Canadian Geography as it is apparent that the Quebecers are telling them that they are from Quebec and not from Canada??? So being French Canadians from Ontario the locals and staff assumed we were from Quebec, how insulting!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall this was a great vacation"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff and Susan  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2009
230 people found this review helpful

My wife and I and 11 other family members stayed at the Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada for 2 weeks from March 24th/25th thru April 7th/8th, 5 members from Toronto, ON and 8 members from Ottawa, ON. Everyone flew with Sunwing, bought through Sell-Off Vacations (thanks Edith for all your help). My wife and I paid 2714.00 taxes in for 2 people and for 2 weeks. Our entry tax of 10.00/person was not include neither was the 20.00/person departure tax, we were informed immediately of this during booking.

Arrival
The flight down was great, free champagne hot towel service prior to takeoff, free in flight headsets and movie, a hot meal wine inc. and non-alcoholic drinks. Also there was a duty free service available as well. Wee arrived on time and got through customs and luggage collection very quickly. A Sunwing rep immediately directed us to the bus but not before my wife and I grabbed a couple of Presidente’s while waiting for the last few travelers.

The ride to the Playa Dorada complex was about 20 minutes from the airport and there was only one other drop off before dropping 12 of us off at our hotel. Check in was a breeze and thanks Ramon (manager) for helping my family members during their check in.

Room
We were located in building 21, room number 2143 on the 3rd floor. The room had a balcony and fridge, a working television and A/C unit. This room has not been renovated and we received an actual key instead of the entry cards. No complaints at all with the room, everything worked from day 1 and continued 14 more.

Grounds
The grounds are beautiful and always being maintained. Hotel is laid out very well, even though there are 412 rooms you never get the feeling of a lot of people at the resort.

Beach
The beach is the best, arguably the best stretch located within the Playa Dorada complex. Kudos to Bobbie for cleaning up the beach every morning after all of us tourists and then trying in vain to keep the beach area all clean through out the day. There are 4 day beds available only the last week we were there did we notice the dreaded “reservers”. There are so many loungers available but the shaded areas fill up fast.

Pool
The pool is nice, water was nice and cool. The pool is divided into basically three areas, swimming and basketball and volley ball. There is also kiddie’s pool. A lot of loungers and seats available but shade is at a premium.

Dining
There are 4 ala cartes restaurants and one buffet available for dining.

The buffet served a very good breakfast including eggs on the grill including ommlettes made to order sausages, ham, and bacon every other day, pancakes, French toast, fried pineapple or bananas, hard boiled eggs. There are yogurts, cold cereals and lots of different fruits and breads.

The buffet also served lunch with some type meat on the grill (beef, pork or fish) also a beef, pork and/or fish dish with hot veggies and pasta, lots of salad fixings and fruits and bread, they also have a panini machine, great sandwiches.
The beach grill also served lunch, pretty much the same fair each day, fries, hamburgers and hot dogs, chicken and fish and rice. There were also salads and fruits available.

Dinner was done by theme each night some nights in the buffet or other nights on the beach, every night had again some meat on the grill and great mixture of meats, veggies, salads, soups, fruits and breads.

The ala cartes are booked through the Guest Services desk in the lobby, rule of thumb is book for the next day and book all the ones you want to do but we checked at noon one day and booked same day. The 4 are Italian, Tex-Mex, Beach Grill and Caribbean Grill.

We did the Caribbean Grill which was done up very well, nice setting, a/c. Dinner is served in courses, drinks/wine, salad and soup, main course and then deserts and coffee, nice change.

Bars
There are 2 bars, one at the pool and one at the beach, full bar service is available at the buffet and a la cartes when they are open. We never did figure out the opening or closing times at the pool but never before 9am and they seemed to close when the last person left, these hours worked for us. Beach hours were 9am to 5pm and the waiters busted their tails all day long getting drink orders all over the beach area, great jobs guys.

Activities
Activities are plentiful both at the pool and beach, the animation staff were great, they always asked if we wanted to be involved but never pressured if we didn’t want to be involved. There is a kids club, 4 tennis courts, a onsite spa and one worn mini putt course but still fun. At the pool is a games room with 2 pool tables one token = 40 pesos per game (tokens available at the convenience store) 2 foose ball tables and ping pong, this equipment is available at Guest Services.

Excursions:
As a group we did a lot off resort some people did dune buggies and had a blast (bring clothes just for that, impossible to get them clean) other including my wife and I did zip-lining and this was a great trip, about 40 minutes along the road to Santiago. The tour guide, Franklin was very friendly and communicated perfectly with everyone on the tour. Safety, Safety, Safety were the words of the day doing this, very easy to do even for the younger to older. We will do this tour again. These excursions were purchased through Nelson on the beach, at a better price then through our tour rep and the mall. Thanks Nelson.

10 of us went up the mountain on the cable car rented 2 taxis 35.00 US each and spent about 3 hours on the mountain, what a great photo op.
We also grabbed a gua-gua at the main gates and went into Puerto Plata, 25 pesos per person, some checked out the fort and we all checked out the new super store La Siena a cross between a grocery store and a Wal Mart, a great place to get liqueur, very cheap. We checked out Parque Central and had a few beers on the Malecon, good day and very inexpensive. My wife and I grabbed a gua-gua and went into Sosua 50 pesos per person each way and had a blast checking out all the huts along the beach, very beautiful water and we had lunch at Rocky’s overall a great inexpensive day.

Staff
The staff at the resort was great, very attentive and quick to do something for you, this was a huge improvement from previous years. The staff in the buffet refilled your drinks or were always taking a drink order, cleaned your plates quickly yet they never rushed you. The staff at the beach and pool areas was again excellent, always getting you a drink where you lying or sitting, we felt a little spoiled.

Departing was all done on time got through check in very fast and our flight left on time, we had a brief stop over in Punta Cana to pick up some more people and then back to Ottawa, to everyone’s surprised we arrived 1 hour and 15 minutes before our scheduled return time, a pleasant surprise,

Overall this was a great vacation, the hotel is the oldest hotel in the Playa Dorada complex and Celuisma are doing renovations to bring it up to date. This hotel is the only 31/2 star on the beach as well, the rest are 4 and 5 star, a very good bang for your buck. This was our 4th visit and we will be back for trip 5 for sure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was a nice resort I would probably go again"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Suzanne & Paul  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
235 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We arrived and was greeted by our friends who were there a week before us.. Our rooms were not ready so we put our stuff in their room, Staff was very nice.

Rooms
OUr room was nice. It did smell a little musty,but i really didnt care.. Our bathroom did leak a lot but as soon as we called front desk it was fixed..Thank you.

Restaurants and Bars
I Liked the food a lot, Tried the A la cart but prefered the buffet..Loved the breakfast , my eggs were cooked to perfection.:)

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was beautiful and I have to thank Bobby for the wonderful job he does.Give than man a raise.He is a sweetheart..Always smiling and saying hello.The pool was nice, wich there would of been more people participating in the activities..

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Went to Ocean World ,, loved it.. Didnt care for the " buggy ride" They tell you its a tour of Ocean Wolrd but ends up being a time Share Meeting for their hotel....%$*& Maria :* I loved the entertainers,, Jr and Scooby were great ..They all were great but really liked them two..

Other Comments
It was a nice resort I would probably go again.The only thing I despised where those men standing outside the buffet area trying to sell you time shares..Everyday!!!!! For god sakes NO MEANS NO !!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube