Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

VH Victoria Resort and Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 6, 2011

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort

4.9 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 10, 2010

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

4.1 based on 35 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 6, 2014

Allegro Puerto Plata

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed May 25, 2014

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada  

Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata

"Three star? Not even close!"
Posted by: K on Mar 20, 2011
see all reviews

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Reviews
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Pictures and Information
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#4
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 3.3

Based on 28 reviews

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Information


The Playa Naco Golf & Tennis Resort is located right on the golden sand beach of Playa Dorada.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Reviews

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.3 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  9
Average
  8
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 9 of 28

"Three star? Not even close!"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  K  on Mar 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
803 people found this review helpful

This hotel has seen better days. Tired rooms, phones did not work. Buffet food was the same every day, got sick for three days, furniture in the room was falling apart, constant trips to the front desk to recode the room card. Front desk is not very co operative. They will tell you anything. Too many students working there. Very few workers spoke English. Very understaffed.
The grounds are kept nice and the effort put into the beach party was well done but not worth coming back for.
The animation team has business cards that ask you to write a good review for them on trip advisor. We had to carry our own luggage to the front because the bellman did not show up.
Towels were pick up shortly after 8am and you didn't get any until late afternoon.

Room Block:
1700

Arrival:
ok

Rooms:
cleaned daily but no towels during the day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Waiter on the beach would go out on the beach to serve people while you waited at the bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds are nice. Beach chairs need replacing badly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
only a couple of shows worth watching. No live music. We heard they fired the band. A guest entertained a few nights. Thank God He was good, they should hire him.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"worst resort i have had the misfortune of staying at"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  stuart  on Sep 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
866 people found this review helpful

i have read some of your reviews for this place.all i can say that these reviewers must be from another planet.other than the beach and pool this place was the worst.i have traveled all over the world and this was by far the most horrible experience my wife have ever had.how you can rate this place 3 stars is beyond me.

Arrival:
we had to carry our own luggage into the lobby.no bellman in sight.

Rooms:
large room with out dated furniture.every light bulb was 15 watts.
you try shaving in that light.requested more light 3 times,it fell
on deaf ears.shower head was terrible.

Restaurants and Bars:
i think this was the first time on vacation i lost weight.the food was the
worst i have ever experienced in an all inclusive. no variety, the same thing
every day.the so called speciality restaurants were a joke.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
grounds were well kept.beach was nice,but the activity center was
always closed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
activities were nil to none.

Other Comments:
the white wine at the bars was poured from a plastic gallon jug.not all
the bars even had white wine & it tasted like gasoline.I tried to switch
to vodka,but no tomato or cranberry juice existed in the entire place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Basicly a fine old resort in need of repair"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Mar 1, 2009  >  22 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
235 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 17 - Feb 24
arrival and check in was handled professionally by compident staff with the tour company reps in attendence received the rooms I had requested by email as my wife had been to this resort 7 yrs ago

Rooms
the rooms were clean and cleaned every day but the rooms are tired and in bad need of simple scheduled maintenance plumbing is breaking down and leaking with toilets running all the time hot water depends on which room your in towels facecloths bathmatts are few and far between staff work hard but seem to have little to work with there are three renovated buildings which appear to be getting all the attention

Restaurants and Bars
not enough bars always a line up if it wasn'tout of a frozen despenser or tap beer forget it buffet had repetive items yet of good quality the resort needs at least one more bar the four lacart restaurants are ok but nothing is out standing they are as the rest of the resort making do

Beach/Pools/Grounds
poor had very little use all week at some point the swimup bar has been removed beach is wide and out standing the resorts best feature long sandy with light surf grounds are green with established folage not as lush or colorful as our last 3 trips to mexico realy missed the wild life thats not on the resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
been here in the Dominican 4 previously so his trip was beach and relax but the plaza is so convient go go often good deals to be had

Other Comments
basicly a fine old resort in need of repair and a motivated staff we have always like this resort and are dissapointed the new owners are so slow in bringing it up to it glory days

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Basicly a fine old resort in need of repair"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Dec 1, 2009  >  22 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
212 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 17 - Feb 24
arrival and check in was handled professionally by compident staff with the tour company reps in attendence received the rooms I had requested by email as my wife had been to this resort 7 yrs ago

Rooms
the rooms were clean and cleaned every day but the rooms are tired and in bad need of simple scheduled maintenance plumbing is breaking down and leaking with toilets running all the time hot water depends on which room your in towels facecloths bathmatts are few and far between staff work hard but seem to have little to work with there are three renovated buildings which appear to be getting all the attention

Restaurants and Bars
not enough bars always a line up if it wasn'tout of a frozen despenser or tap beer forget it buffet had repetive items yet of good quality the resort needs at least one more bar the four lacart restaurants are ok but nothing is out standing they are as the rest of the resort making do

Beach/Pools/Grounds
poor had very little use all week at some point the swimup bar has been removed beach is wide and out standing the resorts best feature long sandy with light surf grounds are green with established folage not as lush or colorful as our last 3 trips to mexico realy missed the wild life thats not on the resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
been here in the Dominican 4 previously so his trip was beach and relax but the plaza is so convient go go often good deals to be had

Other Comments
basicly a fine old resort in need of repair and a motivated staff we have always like this resort and are dissapointed the new owners are so slow in bringing it up to it glory days

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Good and The Bad but Never Again"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Iska  on Jan 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
882 people found this review helpful

This old lady of a hotel certainly has seen better days. But the basics are great. Unmatched beach views, spacious grounds, apartment/rooms in villa like setting. Food is good, given the all-inclusive nature (you can never have first rate on an all inclusive), employees are friendly, the choreography is first-rate for the shows and the hotel singer is professional (I would buy a CD if either the woman or man singer had one).
Yet I will never come back nor will I recommend it to others. Why? That beach scene is marred by loudspeakers on the beach during the day with a wanna-be DJ who screams into a hyped up loudspeaker various "announcements". Rap music and merengue music assaults the ears constantly -- and the pool gives little refuge. When we walked up the beach we found no other beach having loudspeakers on the beach. One of the women in our group (we were a family group of six adults) askedd that it be turned down. For a few minutes it was then it was hyped up when the DJ screamed out a commentary on a volleyball game a few guests were playing. The rest of the time with few on the beach the "annimators" played their own rap style music. At times I felt that this was an entertainment center FOR the annimators and not the guests. The sound boomed away into our rooms that were two buildings away. So sadly I say NEVER AGAIN. The rooms could be renovated, the wine upgraded but I fear that the noise is a Dominican/Celuisma trademark. On the other hand, I think there are other hotels on the Playa Dorada -- maybe not quite with the same beach front -- who are more guest friendly in the this area that should be looked at. The DR is great -- I do not want to discourage anyone from visiting it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great personnel"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rosa  on Mar 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
836 people found this review helpful

To start, the check in was super fast and easy. We were taken to a room and immediately I did not like the place. I asked the bell boy if they had another room which he immediately went to the front desk and got another room. The rooms are ran down and have none or very little upkeep. I was told that they have remodeled some of the rooms. I found this out on my check out day. The food was almost the same everyday and there were no shows.Being Dominican birth, living in America and having travel all over the world I know what a good place is,I can say that when they think that you are a native, the better treatment stops there .There's very little night entertaiment. I'll say it's more for the older crowd. The personnel is super nice. Like with the other reviews, you get what you paid for.
I must also add that I emailed the hotel weeks prior to check in in order to upgrade my room even if I had to pay additional. They answer me saying that they'll let me know and never responded after that.

Room Number:
2101

Arrival:
Fast and easy check in

Rooms:
Ran down, very little upkeep

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurant where you make reservations very little attention and service. The buffet had better service but the food was almost the same everyday. I stayed from Sunday to Thursday, never had the typical night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach chairs should be changed, they are old and ran down. The grounds need better care

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were boring and hardly anyone participated, they should have a program upon check in of where and when things are.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Celuisma Resort Playa Dorado. "

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tim  on Apr 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
833 people found this review helpful

We had an alright experience here. Nothing great..

Rooms:
The room's are terrible! Bugs crawling around, its dark, no lights, broken tap, broken shower, broken bathroom door, T.V doesn't work, phone didn't work. The room stunk. It was dirty. Hardly any of the staff spoke english. We complained and no one did anything. They told us that we could switch rooms in 4 days. Then we switched to the 'new' building. It was better. Some things were broken again but they were quick to fix it.

Restaurants and Bars:
At the buffet the food was very limited and almost the same everyday. Be prepared for lots of pasta, fries, chicken & bread. At breakfast time I recommend the omlet bar & the smoothies. They're good.

The drinks are ok. Watered down & again - limited selection.

The bar by the beach is pretty good. Pizza's tasty. But watch out for the meat - can be undercooked & you'll get sick.

Restaurants are decent. A little run down like the whole resort , but ok. The service is great!



Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is full of seaweed and garbage. If you want nice sand and good water you'll need to walk a minute or two to the other resorts. They have a good beach. But there are nice beds to relax on, tons of beach chairs and shade which is good.

Be careful of the pool. It says its 4 feet, but its not. It's slanted. Some of its 3 feet, some of its 5. Its uneven. The depth changes unexpectedly and there is no life guard on duty.

Tennis Courts are good.



Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a good range of activites. Ring toss, darts, aerobics, stretching etc.

The excursions are good. Ocean World is excellent. I would recommend it. You'll enjoy it. It will be an exprerience you'll never forget! You can either book with Edwin or walk to the Plaza and bargain with them. Its supposedly cheaper at the Plaza but we got a better deal with Edwin at the resort.

The entertainment team is good. Black Chicken ( Sexy Man ) & Scooby Doo are great!


Other Comments:
Jhenny is good @ the front desk.

P.S - take small bills. You'll need them. And its hard to get change there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good food, staff, pool, room...Excellent beach"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fred  on Feb 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
831 people found this review helpful

Our family has travelled many places and the comment I use here is "I would come back again!!"
We had a newer room...2 Kids had lots of choice to eat.
The staff try and try to please...
The beach is one of the best in this area.

What more do you want?!?

Room Number:
1231

Room Block:
12

Arrival:
Plane was delayed in Toronto but check in was great!!

Rooms:
Clean, well kept...

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
GREAT!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will return there no doubt"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gary  on Mar 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
250 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 26 - Mar. 08
Arrival went well and on time. Our first room was totally unaceptable.Dirty, black mould on walls. We refused to unpack. We were acommodated quickly by Ramon,the mgr. on duty ,and transferred to a newly renovated suite.

Rooms
Aside from the original room ,the new room was clean, modern,bright and cool with the a/c. Ask for second key card. The electricity goes off if not inserted into switch.

Restaurants and Bars
Tried the alacarte but preferred the buffet. The beach buffet had great afternoon snacks and pizza.

Beach/Pools/Groundsv Immaculate .Pool clean but cold.The grounds are very well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Always something to do. The activities crew are wonderful.The Jeep tour to the mountain was a waste of money. Note: book locally in R.D. it`s cheaper than with your travel agent and you can barter on the price.

Other Comments
I found it easier and more economical to deal in pesos, rather than US dollars. The rate of exchange varies and the shops at the resort are very expensive compared to town. . We will return there no doubt.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent value for the price"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Muriel  on Apr 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
847 people found this review helpful

We found the grounds very well kept,our room clean and quiet 99% of the time, and the gentleman who raked the beach did a great job, but the water while we were there was very dirty, with lots of "grass" or sea-plants floating freely around our feet and legs, and shoulders when we tried to swim.This was disappointing, especially if one is accustomed to the pristine waters of Tobago as I was.The food was wonderful, and the Animation team fabulous, the beer Perfect, the waiters friendly and accomodating. But I got to the point I wanted to scream at the endless barrage of vendors who never gave us a moment's peace when we were on the beach. We tried walking... just about hopeless, as even more vendors came running from the kiosks and flea markets. We couldn't read, or nap in the sun: couldn't even ignore them. It was so annoying.I firmly believe Celuisma should at the very least limit their time for torturing tourists... perhaps allow 1 hour in the a.m., another in the afternoon, and if that's not possible, give the paying customer a little sign to plant firmly in the sand beside their beach chair, saying "NO VENDORS PLEASE", in Spanish.I would do this myself if ever I returned. It really did spoil many a planned siesta for us. There wasn't even a variety of goods: each seller had exactly the same jewellery or paintings as 10 others before and after him. My other complaint is the $20.00 US calling card I bought at the gift shop did not work, and believe me many people on staff tried to help me get a call through to Canada. Complete waste of time. So I finally had to call home, "Collect". Imagine my shock when the bill rolled in, $48.00 for a 6 minute call! Major shell-shock!

Your Arrival:
Fine... no hitches.

Rooms:
Clean and quiet, but no special "Towel Art" as in Cuba . Only time we even had a flower or a flower PETAL, was the very first day. Boo-hoo!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was lovely, but a little too public for me... right outside the cafeteria.Grounds very nice, but water at beach very dirty.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Animation TEam were amazing; endless energy and made everyone feel welcome and important. So full of fun despite their really long hours and low pay.Talented dancers and entertainers.

Other Comments:
The Managers beach party was great: only off-site entertainers we saw all week, and they were gorgeous girls in gorgeous costumes. Drinks were beautiful and delicious.Was nice to be acknowledged by all the various managers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube