Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

VH Victoria Resort and Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 6, 2011

Victoria Golf & Beach Resort

4.9 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 10, 2010

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

4.1 based on 35 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 6, 2014

Allegro Puerto Plata

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed May 25, 2014

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada  

Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata

"Three star? Not even close!"
Posted by: K on Mar 20, 2011
see all reviews

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Reviews
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Pictures and Information
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#4
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 3.3

Based on 28 reviews

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Information


The Playa Naco Golf & Tennis Resort is located right on the golden sand beach of Playa Dorada.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Reviews

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.3 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  9
Average
  8
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
11 - 20 of 28

"GREAT NO PROBLEMS-WOULD DEFINTELY RETURN"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy  on Apr 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
315 people found this review helpful

We were a group of 12, 6 teenagers and 6 adults, and we had a great time, no one was sick, as you always worry will happen especially as we took our sons(13 and 17) and they had never been before. We all had a great time and would defintely return. I had read in previous reviews that if you had a problem go see Ramone or Julio(front end managers), that was true and they were very helpful,also speak very good english. Julio who we dealt with the most called me the lawyer(as I am the mouthy one of the group).Staff were all good with the teenagers and would carry on with them and joke around, my oldest son is tall(6feet and quite skinny) so they nicknamed him spaghetto and they all called him that. We booked excursions(dune buggies, cable cars and ocean world)thru the resort with Edwin however don't do that, as the dune buggies were $100.00 more than at the plaza, so I went back and told him if he didn't give us some money back that we would not do Ocean World(we hadn't paid for that yet)he did take $80.00 off the price of Ocean World. Watch out for him.

Your Arrival:
Arrived on March 29,2010 at 11:30am, there were 12 of us travelling together, 6 adults and 6 teenagers, check in was quick and easy. I asked for a two bedroom suite for my husband and I and our two teenaged sons(13 and 17). They gave us all suites which was fine until we saw them. They awere serving fruit punch to us during the process which was nice.

Rooms:
Our suites were located in building 14 which was right next to the beach(they did have beautiful views) however the rooms were totally unacceptable, they were old and very musty smelling(we think that the room had been closed up and hadn't been used as they were opening the windows for us)Julio (a front end manager) and Art(the bell hop-who was a sweetie) took us there and I immediately told them the we would not staying in those rooms, as I was the spokesperson for the group, probably because I am the mouthy one and also because I have been to the Puerto Plata area six times. Julio told me that he would see what he could do, we left our bags there and went for lunch at the buffet and then to the beach. Later I got to see Ramone(the front end manager who was on duty) they asked me to go into his office to see him, I was not sure what to expect, he was either going to give me another room or ask me to leave, he graciously gave us other rooms in building 11-great choice, newly renovated, spacious rooms, with fridges and hairdryers, lots of hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at the buffet daily, no lack of food, food was good , not a big selection of food but none of us ever went hungry. Waitresses got to know us and would have our tables set up and waiting for us, especially Modesta and Benedicto, remember there were 12 of us. We ate at the Caribbean Grill one evening which was good, we also nibbled daily at the beach grill, the teenagers especially liked that. My only disappointment was that there was no ice cream at the buffet(you could buy it at the little store in the lobby), always in the past the buffets always had ice cream. Bars were good, we even got our drinks delivered to us on the beach, bartenders are amazing, they have excellent memories.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful, waves were quite forceful and could knock you down very easily, as they did to us a few times, be careful if travelling with little ones.Beach vendors were there daily but did not bother us, we got to know them all and would get them drinks and snacks(which we were not suppose to do but you can,do not hand them to them, just sit them down and they will pick them up.)Pool was nice however most days we were at the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
If you are planning on doing any excursions, book them at the Plaza which is a 5 minute walk away, cheaper and they will barter more. We did the dune buggies, cable cars and ocean world. Take lots of cash as we thought that we could book those on a credit card but we couldn't, they wanted cash so I had to take a cash advance. There is shopping near by at the plaza however there is a big Orange Flea Market at the end of the beach(which is a 10 minute walk) with a greater selection of things with better prices. Barter with them, whatever price they give you, you can get if for half or less.

Other Comments:
We had a great time and would not hestitate to return, remember it is not a 5 star, we were not looking for a 5 star, we wanted a decent resort with a decent price and we got it.I had read all the reviews and most were good. Buildings 11 and 18(that one is right on the beach) are the newly renovated ones and Julio told me that those are the buildings everyone wants. Maids were wonderful and rooms were made up quickly, remember to tip them they work very hard. If interested you can email me at dtbcveinot@ns.sympatico.ca for more information.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"wonderful vacation"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  J.  on Mar 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
312 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a week at the Celuisma Tropical and it was wonderful. The place was really nice, lots of updates on the rooms. Ours was huge, with a kitchen, living room, 2 tvs and a balcony looking at the ocean. The only concern was the bathroom was reeeally old but they are continuing to fix up the rooms. The food was very good. The chicken and fr fries at the beach daily were great. The large buffet always had plenty to choose from and the a la carte restaurants were great. The food isn't on the same scale as a 5 star in Mexico but if you can't find something you like you are waaay too fussy. The people were very nice but the time share people are a huge pain. Every day either walking the beach or at our hotel they bugged you. I'd like to see something done about that, that's my only complaint. Hope to go again next year.

Your Arrival:
Early arrival, quick check in.

Rooms:
Big and clean

Restaurants and Bars:
very good. Somewhat limited in the mix selection.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean and beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Games area near the pool, volleyball daily at the beach, aerobic at the beach.

Other Comments:
Very good time expecially for the price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"teriffic value"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ross  on Mar 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
326 people found this review helpful

Spent two weeks at this resort from march 1 to March 15 and had a wonderful time and we are already making plans to return next year. had no issues at all the first room we were assigned was a third floor suite with an upstairs bedroom, which was not convenient as my wife has a bad hip. I went to the fron desk and spoke with jhonney and he moved us to a beach front ground floor suite no problem.Beach was fabulous, food was excellent, animation staff tried very hard to engage everyone. I would rate this resort as a 3.5 for sure. in my opinion it is a diamond in the rough. we will be going back and would recommend it.

Your Arrival:
we flew from Fredericton on Canjet.Flight was as expected. we arrived late at night arround 12.30 am so there was no one at airport. got the bus and arrived at resort shortly after 1am. check in was naturally smooth at that hour.

Rooms:
As stated the first room we were given was not convenient for us so the next morning we got moved to a ground floor suite facing the beach with a beautiful view.This room in bld 14 definitely had some upgrades and was very nice. 11 days into our stay we were told that the boiler in the building was broken and we would have to move. They moved us to building 18 which was brand new or it seemed so, it was great, even had wi fi access in the room. there were at least 2 buildings that were not in service and had been gutted and were being renovated. it appeared to me that all rooms would be updated in the very near future.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet food in my opinion was excellent. we did try all the a la cartes, but choose to stick with the buffet.The best a la carte was the Komoda resturant at the beach especially the night they had the beach party it was really nice.They do reservations one day in advance and did not seem any problem to get reservations.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach simple as good as it gets
Pool clean and refreshing
grounds constantly being cleaned.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Animation team worked very hard during the day to engage people in the activities and the shows at night were very well done. Special mention for Joan(Juan), Junior aka Scobby Doo and Roselyn all of whom were just crazy.

Other Comments:
This resort is a wonderful vacation destination for the value. If you want 5 star service then go to a 5 star resort. We travel for the Sun, sand and food and in that order and this resort did not disapoint.We will be going back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Really enjoyed ourselves!!!"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  patricia  on Mar 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
252 people found this review helpful

We decided to surprise our friends who went for two weeks and we were there for their last week. We are from Edmonton but we decided to leave from Montreal and visit some family on our way back.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was easy and quick. I bet you that it was only about 10 minutes to get through customs. Got a few cervasa's and got on the bus. We were the only ones going to our hotel out of about 20 people. When we got to out hotel it was only a couple of minutes and we were at our room. We were in one of the old buildings. We thought that we would deal with our room later as it was very old and alot of things didn't work. We went and had something to eat and then went to surprise our friends. They were happy to see us and we had a great time with them.

Rooms:
Like I said before the room wasn't the greatest. We don't spend much time in the room so we thought that it would be ok. So we went to bed. Got up in the morning and went to put stuff in our safe.....it was broken...that is ok because we had our friends there and they said that we could put stuff in there safe. Then I picked up the phone to phone my friends and there was no cords attached. We went to the front desk and they gave us the cords to fix it. That was ok because we fixed it. Then I took a shower and my husband got in right after me and then there was no water. He was covered in soap. I had a small bottle of water and he had to rinse off his face with it. We went to the front desk and we aren't the kind of people who complain but that was all we could take. They were really nice about it and within 2 hours we were put in a beautiful room in one of the redone buildings.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restauarants were very good. We have been in Puerta Plata a few times and Punta Cana a couple of times,cuba about 4 times and puerta villarta once. Almost every where we have been the food hasn't been very good (except in P.V. where the food was delicious!!!!) but I was surprised at how good the food was and all of the choices. The bars are good too.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach/pools/grounds were all good. It was very nice walking along the beach!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went for walks to the shopping center a few times. It was very close and the prices are very good. We also went on the outback safari. We went on my birthday and I had a great time. It was really informative and alot of fun!!!!I would go on that trip again!!!!!!!

Other Comments:
This was a nice hotel and the price was great. We got it for 600 dollars each with everything in. That is including taxes and insurance. We just couldn't pass it up. We would go back!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very nice resort for your money"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  sandra  on Feb 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
310 people found this review helpful

The hotel was great..food good always a varied selection

Your Arrival:
Arrival went without a hitch though by the time we got to the hotel we were both worried ... the rep for our company warned NOT to go anywhere by yourself, not to trust any Dominican etc. We have always enjoyed the freedom of being able to wander a get a feel of the country we have been in and always have felt safe and comfortable. Not so here.. only due to all the dire warnings!

Rooms:
Our room was in building 12 and it was very clean and modern, our hot water briefly did not work but as soon as the desk was notified they fixed it. Great cleaning staff! This was the first country we had been in where nothing was stolen! Kudos to your staff!

Restaurants and Bars:
We only tried a few lacartes. Loved the kokomo Grill at the beach, very good service and awesome food. Also went to the Carribean however was not quite as pleased. The buffet was great always a great variety of food!Service was very good at all places we went.Again kodos to the staff!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The first week we were here we spent most of it at the beach.. which was cleaned every day all day by a wonderfully friendly older gentleman! He stood out among all the other people working at the beach! However, don't know if it was due to rains or what but the water ended up very weedy and trying to swim through it to get to cleaner water proved to be more than what I wanted to do on a daily basis. We found if you ventured further down the beach there are breakers aand a bay and the water there is very clean!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were pleasantly surprised that we enjoyed much of the entertainment as we had always found it cheesy at other resorts and seldom watched it. Here... different story! The crew were amazing! I do not know how they do it for so many hours 6 days a week and manage to keep upbeat and the smile on their faces! Scooby Doo is very good at what he does and did not pick a few tourist to be buddies with he mixed with everyone there, Junior was also a good entertainer, a new hire Scrappy Doo kept us entertained with his stories! We fely at home here and not as a outsider the whole crew did there very best to include everyone! Way to go guys! I would mention more names but did not get them all. We went up to the cable car but unfortunetly it rained up there that day and the whole tour were soaked! Pueto PLata was very nice wished we had seen more of it, the Fort is very interesting. Sosou also was nice but got tired of being hammered by all the hut owners that we MUST come into their store. The outback safari was by far the best the guide was very very good and we all had a lot of fun. Our jeep had a wide range of ages but all clicked well and had an amazing time.

Other Comments:
Please beware of the limes!!!! My husband came home with what looked like a caustic burn on his legs and arm! It was shaped like a palm frond. Here he was seen by family doctor, e.r. doc, infectious diseases doc and no one had any idea what this was until they sent him to a dermatologist who immediately said he had lime disease!! No not the Lyme disease from ticks but LIME disease! Apparently limes change from the intense direct sunlight and if the juice comes into contact with the skin and sun it causes this rash/burn. It is called phytophotodermatitis!! It may leave a scar and also take sometime to heal but other than that is not harmfull! Too funny! LIME disease!! Those darn cuba libre's!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is very relaxed and comfortable.."

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy and Rocky  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
276 people found this review helpful

Arrival
traveled can-jet OUT OF Fredericton...delayed due to weather. other than that it was great. the return was right on time and comfortable. rooms were ready upon check in every one recieved everything quickly. staff were friendly and professional. everything worked! no complaints

Rooms
newely renovated building we all recieved great rooms air conditioning, and hot water were always available..nice and quiet..keep very clean. grerat view from our balcony of the ocean..and ships on the horizon at night. BEAUTIFUL

Restaurants and Bars
tried cocomo's at the beach, and the carribian grill.. usually used the night buffett..good variety and lots to eat! the beach grill was always great for lunch with lots of favorites to choose from. always quick service at the bars, and quite frequently we were served right at our chairs during the early afternoon on the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
the beach is the best on the strip very clean..look for bobby and tip him well he takes care of this 6 days a week, and starts at 3am. never used the pool as i am a beach girl, the grounds are well keep, always work beind done and clean up is a daily event with leaves etc...falling from the trees. lots of beauty all around

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
i get tired of the entertainment..as it seems to be the same..however having said this they work very hard to include everyone. and to keep things fresh and new! jr., antonio, and the paparrzi are great fun!

Other Comments
we have been going to this resort for 10 years and this year we noticed more of the changes that the new owners have been talking about! this resort is very relaxed and comfortable..just what we like when we go away..no stress, no worries, no high formalities! just relaxation and fun...see you all in 2010.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Basicly a fine old resort in need of repair"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Dec 1, 2009  >  22 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
209 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 17 - Feb 24
arrival and check in was handled professionally by compident staff with the tour company reps in attendence received the rooms I had requested by email as my wife had been to this resort 7 yrs ago

Rooms
the rooms were clean and cleaned every day but the rooms are tired and in bad need of simple scheduled maintenance plumbing is breaking down and leaking with toilets running all the time hot water depends on which room your in towels facecloths bathmatts are few and far between staff work hard but seem to have little to work with there are three renovated buildings which appear to be getting all the attention

Restaurants and Bars
not enough bars always a line up if it wasn'tout of a frozen despenser or tap beer forget it buffet had repetive items yet of good quality the resort needs at least one more bar the four lacart restaurants are ok but nothing is out standing they are as the rest of the resort making do

Beach/Pools/Grounds
poor had very little use all week at some point the swimup bar has been removed beach is wide and out standing the resorts best feature long sandy with light surf grounds are green with established folage not as lush or colorful as our last 3 trips to mexico realy missed the wild life thats not on the resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
been here in the Dominican 4 previously so his trip was beach and relax but the plaza is so convient go go often good deals to be had

Other Comments
basicly a fine old resort in need of repair and a motivated staff we have always like this resort and are dissapointed the new owners are so slow in bringing it up to it glory days

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is a really good hotel to go to"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christine  on May 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
225 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February/April 2009
I stayed at this resort Febuary 2009 for two weeks, and again in April 2009. This is my 7th time to this resort.

Rooms:
We had fantastic rooms both visits this year. We were in two newly renovated rooms. New tile, bathrooms, furniture, lots of hot water. My second visit this year we were put in a two bedroom, two bathroom newly renovated suite. It was fantastic. In February they had remodelled two buildings, when I returned five weeks later, they were working on two more. I think by winter next year all buildings will be renovated and I am sure that this spot will cost more to go to.

Restaurants and Bars:
We have always found plenty to eat at this hotel. They always have salads (which are washed in purified water), fresh breads, chicken, beef, pork, goat, seafood, turkey etc..More than what is in my freezer. The food is sometime not prepared the way I am used to, but if I dont care for it I just don't eat it. I have never gone hungry. I do love the pizza at the beach. In February it was really busy at the hotel but in April it was much, much quieter. The breakfasts are always great with a great selection. All the times I have stayed at this hotel, while there I have never heard of anyone having food poisonning. There were cases of diarhea from over drinking combined with the sun. Remember that coconut based drinks are a natural laxative. So do beware. The timeshare people do stand outside the diningroom, but they DO NOT hound you. Just look at them and say no thank you and you are good to go. The same with the beach vendors, if you politely say not thanks they will not hound you. I have met some great people who work the beach.I have learned a lot about the Dominican from them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is fantastic at this hotel. They have extended the width of the beach over the past few years and it is fantastic. It is always clean and you can walk for miles.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities team is fantastic there. They are friendly and fun. If you do not want to participate, kindly tell them no and they are off. In the past I have gone on the jeep safari, dune buggies (a blast), gone on the cable car (this is a must, the view is fantastic), did the rum factory and the Bravissimo show at Oceanworld. That is a wonderful Vegas show a great way to spend the evening. The staff are very friendly and very accomodating. If you have any problems see Ramone and Julio they are the managers who both speak very good english and will help you with any of your concerns.

Other Comments:
This is a really good hotel to go to. Some reviews have been unfair I think. You have to remember this is a third world country and not to go with such high hopes. I have been to 3*to 5* hotels and I enjoy this hotel and especially the location. There is plenty to do around there. If you are looking for 5*food, and 5* hotel room, do go to a 5*hotel. Do not be afraid to go to this hotel, it is not the bad you read. I have never had a cockroach in my room (not that it could not happen, it is the Caribbean),however this does not mean that the hotel is dirty or run down. This hotel is very, very clean. Some of the older rooms do smell musty but just bring a glade oil fan. It is very clean. Go to this hotel and the Dominican with an open mind and you will have a wonderful time, you will love the Dominican and its people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall this was a great vacation"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff and Susan  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2009
230 people found this review helpful

My wife and I and 11 other family members stayed at the Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada for 2 weeks from March 24th/25th thru April 7th/8th, 5 members from Toronto, ON and 8 members from Ottawa, ON. Everyone flew with Sunwing, bought through Sell-Off Vacations (thanks Edith for all your help). My wife and I paid 2714.00 taxes in for 2 people and for 2 weeks. Our entry tax of 10.00/person was not include neither was the 20.00/person departure tax, we were informed immediately of this during booking.

Arrival
The flight down was great, free champagne hot towel service prior to takeoff, free in flight headsets and movie, a hot meal wine inc. and non-alcoholic drinks. Also there was a duty free service available as well. Wee arrived on time and got through customs and luggage collection very quickly. A Sunwing rep immediately directed us to the bus but not before my wife and I grabbed a couple of Presidente’s while waiting for the last few travelers.

The ride to the Playa Dorada complex was about 20 minutes from the airport and there was only one other drop off before dropping 12 of us off at our hotel. Check in was a breeze and thanks Ramon (manager) for helping my family members during their check in.

Room
We were located in building 21, room number 2143 on the 3rd floor. The room had a balcony and fridge, a working television and A/C unit. This room has not been renovated and we received an actual key instead of the entry cards. No complaints at all with the room, everything worked from day 1 and continued 14 more.

Grounds
The grounds are beautiful and always being maintained. Hotel is laid out very well, even though there are 412 rooms you never get the feeling of a lot of people at the resort.

Beach
The beach is the best, arguably the best stretch located within the Playa Dorada complex. Kudos to Bobbie for cleaning up the beach every morning after all of us tourists and then trying in vain to keep the beach area all clean through out the day. There are 4 day beds available only the last week we were there did we notice the dreaded “reservers”. There are so many loungers available but the shaded areas fill up fast.

Pool
The pool is nice, water was nice and cool. The pool is divided into basically three areas, swimming and basketball and volley ball. There is also kiddie’s pool. A lot of loungers and seats available but shade is at a premium.

Dining
There are 4 ala cartes restaurants and one buffet available for dining.

The buffet served a very good breakfast including eggs on the grill including ommlettes made to order sausages, ham, and bacon every other day, pancakes, French toast, fried pineapple or bananas, hard boiled eggs. There are yogurts, cold cereals and lots of different fruits and breads.

The buffet also served lunch with some type meat on the grill (beef, pork or fish) also a beef, pork and/or fish dish with hot veggies and pasta, lots of salad fixings and fruits and bread, they also have a panini machine, great sandwiches.
The beach grill also served lunch, pretty much the same fair each day, fries, hamburgers and hot dogs, chicken and fish and rice. There were also salads and fruits available.

Dinner was done by theme each night some nights in the buffet or other nights on the beach, every night had again some meat on the grill and great mixture of meats, veggies, salads, soups, fruits and breads.

The ala cartes are booked through the Guest Services desk in the lobby, rule of thumb is book for the next day and book all the ones you want to do but we checked at noon one day and booked same day. The 4 are Italian, Tex-Mex, Beach Grill and Caribbean Grill.

We did the Caribbean Grill which was done up very well, nice setting, a/c. Dinner is served in courses, drinks/wine, salad and soup, main course and then deserts and coffee, nice change.

Bars
There are 2 bars, one at the pool and one at the beach, full bar service is available at the buffet and a la cartes when they are open. We never did figure out the opening or closing times at the pool but never before 9am and they seemed to close when the last person left, these hours worked for us. Beach hours were 9am to 5pm and the waiters busted their tails all day long getting drink orders all over the beach area, great jobs guys.

Activities
Activities are plentiful both at the pool and beach, the animation staff were great, they always asked if we wanted to be involved but never pressured if we didn’t want to be involved. There is a kids club, 4 tennis courts, a onsite spa and one worn mini putt course but still fun. At the pool is a games room with 2 pool tables one token = 40 pesos per game (tokens available at the convenience store) 2 foose ball tables and ping pong, this equipment is available at Guest Services.

Excursions:
As a group we did a lot off resort some people did dune buggies and had a blast (bring clothes just for that, impossible to get them clean) other including my wife and I did zip-lining and this was a great trip, about 40 minutes along the road to Santiago. The tour guide, Franklin was very friendly and communicated perfectly with everyone on the tour. Safety, Safety, Safety were the words of the day doing this, very easy to do even for the younger to older. We will do this tour again. These excursions were purchased through Nelson on the beach, at a better price then through our tour rep and the mall. Thanks Nelson.

10 of us went up the mountain on the cable car rented 2 taxis 35.00 US each and spent about 3 hours on the mountain, what a great photo op.
We also grabbed a gua-gua at the main gates and went into Puerto Plata, 25 pesos per person, some checked out the fort and we all checked out the new super store La Siena a cross between a grocery store and a Wal Mart, a great place to get liqueur, very cheap. We checked out Parque Central and had a few beers on the Malecon, good day and very inexpensive. My wife and I grabbed a gua-gua and went into Sosua 50 pesos per person each way and had a blast checking out all the huts along the beach, very beautiful water and we had lunch at Rocky’s overall a great inexpensive day.

Staff
The staff at the resort was great, very attentive and quick to do something for you, this was a huge improvement from previous years. The staff in the buffet refilled your drinks or were always taking a drink order, cleaned your plates quickly yet they never rushed you. The staff at the beach and pool areas was again excellent, always getting you a drink where you lying or sitting, we felt a little spoiled.

Departing was all done on time got through check in very fast and our flight left on time, we had a brief stop over in Punta Cana to pick up some more people and then back to Ottawa, to everyone’s surprised we arrived 1 hour and 15 minutes before our scheduled return time, a pleasant surprise,

Overall this was a great vacation, the hotel is the oldest hotel in the Playa Dorada complex and Celuisma are doing renovations to bring it up to date. This hotel is the only 31/2 star on the beach as well, the rest are 4 and 5 star, a very good bang for your buck. This was our 4th visit and we will be back for trip 5 for sure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was a nice resort I would probably go again"

Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Suzanne & Paul  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
235 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We arrived and was greeted by our friends who were there a week before us.. Our rooms were not ready so we put our stuff in their room, Staff was very nice.

Rooms
OUr room was nice. It did smell a little musty,but i really didnt care.. Our bathroom did leak a lot but as soon as we called front desk it was fixed..Thank you.

Restaurants and Bars
I Liked the food a lot, Tried the A la cart but prefered the buffet..Loved the breakfast , my eggs were cooked to perfection.:)

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was beautiful and I have to thank Bobby for the wonderful job he does.Give than man a raise.He is a sweetheart..Always smiling and saying hello.The pool was nice, wich there would of been more people participating in the activities..

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Went to Ocean World ,, loved it.. Didnt care for the " buggy ride" They tell you its a tour of Ocean Wolrd but ends up being a time Share Meeting for their hotel....%$*& Maria :* I loved the entertainers,, Jr and Scooby were great ..They all were great but really liked them two..

Other Comments
It was a nice resort I would probably go again.The only thing I despised where those men standing outside the buffet area trying to sell you time shares..Everyday!!!!! For god sakes NO MEANS NO !!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube