Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Dominican Republic Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Cofresi Hotels with Similar Ranking

Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa

2.6 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 4, 2014

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)  

Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata

"i will surely come back"
Posted by: tyson on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Reviews
Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic

#1
of 7 Hotels in Playa Cofresi

User rating 3.1

Based on 25 reviews

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Information


The Be Live Grand Ambar is a beautiful beach resort located on the beautiful Cofresi Beach where "everything feels right".

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Reviews

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.1 of 5 25 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  10
Average
  3
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (20)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 25

"i will surely come back"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  tyson  on Jul 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
3 people found this review helpful

This is one of the best resorts or hotel I have been to since coming to DR for vacations. I visited DR this time with my 2 friends and we had an amazing time at this resort. The bar staff Manuel and Juan was great and other staff around was all amazing. Check in at this resort didnít take much time, it was pretty standard and after that we headed straight to our rooms and it was amazing. The rooms were large enough and had the necessary amenities; the rooms were clean with great views. Hot water supply was great and no issues with that. We had a fabulous holiday in this hotel and we already planned coming back here for our Christmas holiday. One problem though I found out only on the first night we arrived was that the air condition wasnít working but it was immediately fixed and our happy holiday continued. The way we were greeted when we arrived was what got us and made us realize we were in the right place. We visited in the May 2014 and then stayed for 10 days, the weather was great and the staff was great. The rooms were comfortable and clean with comfortable beds. The sushi bar was amazing and the beach was great, very beautiful. This place comes highly recommended to everybody looking to have a great time during their trip to DR. I and my friends will surely be coming back here for our next vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Resort - not quite a 4 1/2 star though"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leah  on Mar 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
532 people found this review helpful

Like many others, I read alot of reviews and was skeptical about going to this resort. Most of what people said turned out to be somewhat true but it wasn't as bad as I thought. My hubby & I went with another couple plus we met a group of others there and we have a great time. The most important thing to us was that we didn't get sick from the food and NONE of us did so we were happy with that.

Room Number:
30221

Room Block:
302

Arrival:
We arrived at 11:30am but I room wasn't ready until 3pm so we had to leave our luggage up front and wait 3 1/2 hours! That wasn't too impressive but hey, what do you do? We had some drinks in the lobby and hung out.......we didn't want to move too far from our luggage. It worked out fine.

Rooms:
Our room was fine. It was big, nice balcony, king size bed. Air conditioning worked well, ceiling fan was helpful. We had a cockroach in our room one night, but that could happen anywhere I guess. Our friends had no bug issues at all.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Pearl buffet was good. Lots to choose from, pasta bar, something for everyone! The Costa Blanca buffet next door was a little better...more of a selection for sure. The shuttle can take you over and back if you wish...or you can walk along the beach to get there. Sunday's dinner kind of ticked me off. There are NO restaurants open on Sunday (The Pearl or Costa Blanca) so you have no choice to make your way to the "party" in a field somewhere to eat. The set up is beautiful but chaos! There must have been thousands of people there all trying to eat at once. The food was absolutely amazing though! HUGE selection and very well put together! There are shuttles to take you but with hundreds of people trying to go at once...it was not enjoyable. Not sure what the purpose is of closing the other buffets but I guess that's what they do EVERY Sunday. Must be clean up day!

Drinks - beer is good, rum & coke is OK.....but that's it! All other drinks are nothing but sugar! Seriously, SUGAR. Pina colada, banana mama, coco loco...way too sweet. They don't make mohito's and its hard to get a mimosa out of them! Their wine is horrible, it was grape juice - end of story! Being a wine lover, that put a damper on my vacation. I ended up purchasing 3 bottles of wine there throughout the week!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We have NO complaints about the pools/beaches. Gorgeous! Plenty of chairs/loungers for everyone.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We've been to other 4 1/2 stars and this one lacked activities in our eyes. Could be because it was sooooo big and we just weren't in the right place at the right time. Who knows?

Other Comments:
This resort is HUGE and I strongly suggest you do not go here if you have mobility issues. There is ALOT of walking, alot of stairs and it can get quite hot so it's not fun!

As for the maid service...it was NOT good. I always understood that in any hotel everything is cleaned and replenished every day. Not the case in this hotel. The only thing they did every day was made our bed. The towels weren't touched, water wasn't replaced, any used toiletries were not replaced. If you asked (and gave a sweet tip!) they would give you a couple of new bath towels and a litre of water, that's it (no new hand towels, no faceclothes). Not impressive at all! Plus, I don't think they even CLEANED the washroom...............good thing I brought lysol wipes! lol

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome time!"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ronalea  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Party | With Group
534 people found this review helpful

After reading a lot of the reviews on this site I was scared to even go on my trip. BUT after we got to the resort my out look was my own and I could see that this place was going to be awesome. We went as a group of 17 and we were checked in and in our rooms within 30 minutes. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our rooms were clean and large, and we had hot water and pressure in the shower. The beach and pools were clean, never a problem getting a seat at the beach or pools. If you are a beer drinker they have one beer called Presidente and it is a very good beer, compairs to bud light. We went to Ocean World and it was worth every cent. The "white shirts" talked to us the first day, they are very friendly and when you told them no you were not interested in a time share they didnt bother us again for the rest of the week. We were not hounded on the beach by people selling anything.
We went down with an open mind and had a blast. Also we are not time share holders and didnt feel like we got treated any different than the people that were.

Room Number:
13

Room Block:
205

Arrival:
We arrived at the airport, were taken to the resort by bus, we made 2 stops at other resorts to drop off people on the way which took no time at all. Checked in and was in our room in 30 min aas a group of 17.

Rooms:
Our room was clean, large and had a deck. We watched the geicos out side of our room in the mornings. Very cute but they never came up on the deck and we were on the main floor.

Restaurants and Bars:
The cheers bar where everyone knows your name, was a nice bar fast service and beer on tap.
We tried the Indian, Italian, and Asian. My husband is VERY picky and really liked them all. The buffet was good with lots of choices. But was nice to mix it up and try the restaurants. We did not have a problem getting into the A la cartes even as a group of 17.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This resort has several pools and there was always lots of room to swim drink and relax. The resort does have a few stairs but nothing you cant handle with 2 working legs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The night shows at the resort were worth going to, they were very entertaining.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible and filfy dirty..Do not go there"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  laura  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
532 people found this review helpful

I travelled there with a friend of mine. From the outside the resort is beautiful but once inside its a different story. We requested two beds in our room and got ONE double bed..ok we can live with that..we noticed what seemed to be sand in our room but when the sand started MOVING onto our clothes..we then realized it was a pile of eggs...not sand. These eggs were so small..they looked like grains of sand. We asked to be moved and NO ONE would help us. They did send someone up to spray but told us the resort was full and we couldn't be moved. There was three holes in the wall and honestly it looked like someone had put buckets of sand in the corners. There were eggs on our dresser and night tables. We insisted on being moved and this time no one spoke english...so they said. We packed up our things and went and stayed in a friends room that we had just met. They felt sorry for us and were nice enough to offer their room. I have travelled to many resorts and this one is discusting. I have returned home and threw a lot of my stuff out. No one ever told us what the bug or eggs were. Its so gross..NEVER EVER GO THERE..I wish someone would have warned us before we left.!!

Room Block:
300's

Rooms:
Our room was infested with some sort of bug and a million eggs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Ok..food undercooked and cold but could hardly eat after our bug experience.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful grounds and pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Well organized activities off the resort.

Other Comments:
PLEASE think twice if you plan to go there. The holiday was very resonabily priced but now I see why!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Resort"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Natalia  on Feb 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
511 people found this review helpful

Reading all of the bad reviews made me really worried. The resort was beautiful and very clean. We got to stay in the regular rooms (no extra pay or upgrades). Our room was big; unfortunately I could not get the clerk to give us one with a king size bed, but it didn't matter that much. The room was very clean. Old yes, but clean. Hot water was there almost all the time, sometimes you just had to run the hot water for a few minutes before it would warm up.

The food was not tasty. It was all right for first few days and then you just couldn't eat it anymore. But everyone is innovative. Some girls learned how to make paninis and were enjoying those for lunch. Costa Blanca is much better buffet than Pearl. The a la carte dinners ended up somewhat tasting the same as buffet. We got three reservations upon arrival: the first one was outside and got canceled because of the rain. The second was the Dominican Restaurant which was ok, it pretty much tasted like the buffet food, but very good desert. The third was the Indian restaurant, which was just not Indian food. It was not spicy, it was plain and it was really not that good at all with the exception of the delicious lentil soup for an appetizer.

The wine does taste like soap. The beer was good, just a cheap lager. Most of the drinks were overly sweet and made with frozen mixes. We found one bar by the beach that actually occasionally used real fruit in the blended drinks.

The pools were great, and the shows were awesome! Overall, it was a very clean resort and I was very happy. It rained 4 days out if 7 and I did get very sick. Could have been a stomach bug I brought with me or food poisoning. Either way, bring lots of drugs, as you will need them as everyone gets sick at some point.

Oh bracelets...it did not bother us or friends we made there. We had full access to booze, pools and the ocean, and who cares about extra things?? :)) Have fun!

Room Number:
12

Room Block:
304

Arrival:
It was disorganized but fairly quick. They gave us wrong room at first, but we caught it still at the desk. I asked about upgrades and was told that everything was sold out (found out later this was not true). We got taken to our rooms and got help with our luggage.

Rooms:
Old but very clean! Our made was fantastic, they washed floors everyday if you asked for the room to be made.

Restaurants and Bars:
As mentioned before they were ok.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean, people always clean and scrub there. Gorgeous resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on excursion to Puerto Plata. It was great, got to see different things, went to museums.
Trip to Paradise Island got cancelled twice due to rain and we never ended up going.

We got to see a show by the pool on our last night. It was great! Also Gala was fantastic!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasntly surprised"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  wendy  on Feb 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
543 people found this review helpful

We had a great time. i read the reviews and i was getting worried. we stayed in 305 series of rooms . it was huge and clean. no bugs immaculate. we had hot running water for showers. i agree that the house wine was terrible. i am a house wine person. its smelled like perfume and was not drinkable. the all inclusive drinks were fine. the staff are always willing to serve you always happy. food was ok as anywhere in the dominican. we were given 3 a la carts on check in. we had 6 in total went to lobby around 10 am no line up made our choices they slip reservation under door of your room between 3 and 5 pm. no problem. we got what we were promised. i must admit the indian food had the best service and butter chicken amazing. brazilian restaurant was great as was the italian . the entertainment crew were the best tony montana too funny bon jovi was a great water aerobics instructor. you must see the michael jackson tribute the dance shows were very entertaining. top notch. blacky the entertainment guy is so good at his job we loved watching him boy can he move that thing. the men in the white shirts want to sell you v i p time shares just be firm tell them no they will respect your decision. all in all great vacation we met lots of people just hanging around the beach and cheers bar. you must go to the tropical resort to there all day buffet it was a 5 star in my books great food its so close you have to go check it out you can use that resort the grand amber bracelet gets you in. ask other guests whats available check the info boards all the time the front staff doesnt give out all the extra tidbits. take the good with the bad. weed it out for yourself its not so bad . go to front lobby and take free shuttle to the tropical resort to the case blanca buffet or walk along the beach for 2 mins. go to minimart souveniers very cheap t shirts for 6 to 10 dollars child to adult its worth the walk enjoy your vacation have fun we did beautiful spot lots of stairs good exercise

Room Number:
30524

Room Block:
305

Arrival:
jan 29th check in was fast we arrived at 8 30pm no waiting

Rooms:
clean spacious

Restaurants and Bars:
service great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
lots of pools beach clean never had to wait for a chair

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots to do very entertaining

Other Comments:
entertainment staff wonderful maids do a great job bartenders always happy to serve you

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Having a great time here"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Grace  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
520 people found this review helpful

Checking in took 5 minutes, we were in a van and taken to our rooms. There are 7 restaurants that "ordinary people" can eat at.
The time share guys have not even talked to us, if you don't go to them they don't bother you. Beach is clean, a little seaweed close to shore the water is warm and nice ways to play in. We prefer to each at the La Blanca restaurant, more variety. When we arrived in our "package" we had already booked 3 alcarte restaurants, that you could change if you wanted to.
Quite a few bars scattered around. We had no problem being served at any of them. We have been here 4 days and have eaten lunch at a different place everyday, had an alacarte last night with steak at the beach it was good.
We are going to the welcome beach party tonight, understand they are serving lobster.
I did find that things are not really pushed at you, you have to look on the boards to find out what to do today. There are shows every night either at the collisium or the theatre, they are worth checking out.
We went to the disco the first night, as we arrived at 11pm, it was the only bar open by the time we checked in, afterwards the only food we could find was salads, hotdogs or hamburgers.
Our rooms have been cleaned every day and water restocked, you have to go to the lobby if you want the beer and booze replaced.

Room Number:
513

Room Block:
206

Arrival:
Jan 21, 2012

Rooms:
We are in the older section and the rooms are fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
Casa Blanca is great, the alacarte are great. Lunch is fine but nothing special. Service is great at any of the bars, lots of booze in the drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean, a little dark sand, water is warm. Some seaweed near the shore, but cleaned from the beach every morning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ocean World is right next door. Will be going in a couple of days.

Other Comments:
No many kids here, but they seem to have kids programs.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had to leave..this resort was terrible."

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
450 people found this review helpful

We have been to the Dominican Republic at least 12 times. This was our first time here and our last. We actually had to leave after 4 days.
The salesman are very pushy, and in your face constantly. Al Acartes are imposssible to get. They go to the VIPs first, we were lucky to get one thanks to our Rep. But told we were intitled to 8 for 2 wks.
Food is sparse with limited selection, and usually cold. Very under staffed and the front desk do nothing to help you. Then they send you to guest service where you line up to get the same response as the front desk..we'll send someone to fix it. No blankets in our room. only 1 sheet. A/C didn't work. Water is very hard to get but they sell it at the store in the lobby.
Lots of stairs (tons) only 2 bars open..one at the beach and one at the upper pool. Lobby's chairs are broken, you'll sink right through.
Safe keys are hard to get because there is a shortage for some reason.
No coffee maker in the rooms. Phones in rooms have no listings on them. you can only dial 0 and it goes to voice mail.
I would not reccommend this resort to anyone. Please save your money and go else where.

Room Number:
7232 i think cant remember

Arrival:
Jan 3 2012 and was to stay for 2 wks. But left after 4 days.

Rooms:
Standard rooms are very small. Beds are hard and had a big lump in the middle. No blankets, and if you ask they say ok. But we ended up doing the time share spill in trade for a blanket.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants are hard to get into unless your a VIP. only 2 bars open Beach and upper pool. Other bars are only for VIPs

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is nice and pools are well kept. But take a travel mug, cups are tiny and its hard to get service. Because its usually crowded.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Trips are reasonably priced. But if they dont get enough people it gets cancelled.

Other Comments:
The resort was full to capasity. Lots of College and universaty students. They party all night and run around yelling and screaming, Security cant seem to contol or do anything with them. They just stand and watch.
There is a bad smell of septic through out the resort, but we did have a lot of rain.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Please do not go to this or any Lifestyle Resorts"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Beverly  on Jan 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
492 people found this review helpful

First lets start by saying the service was non-existent.You would call the front desk for example water, they would say Ok, but forget it you never got it, ever.You can't dring the water in the DR, so you would think they would replentish your room each day as is stated by Nolitours.We were a group of 29 family members who were on vacation as a family for the first time.If you were in the 400 block they were updated and clean rooms.If you were in the older rooms there was no hot water, smells of sewer, and cockroaches.Now you would think that by expaining to this the front desk and then a manager we would get some satifsfaction, well think again, no action taken and the manager just rolling his eyes.If you were a VIP customer things were different and you got alacarte restraunt service, not for the little people who were not VIP, non for a whole wk., non in our group got any alacartes. Talk about discrimination.The buffet was non-existant, you would go for something to eat and pans would be empty, no desserts, honestly same thing everynight.I have stayed at many resorts over my years and have always been able to find something to eat, really, not here.And unless you went over to the other hotel on gala night, you didn't eat, they closed all reteraunts in our hotel.We went down the road for pizza, all our group said it was the best meal they had had all week.Even our Noli tours rep. said do not bother with the alacartes you will not get in.Just a quick note for seniors or disabled, there are alot of stair here to climb, be for warned.Really, there is not service at this hotel, food was disgusting, please do not waste your hard earned money here.

Room Number:
42214

Room Block:
400

Arrival:
Jan. 3, 2012 @ noon for one wk.In looking at the notitours brochure, we were to have seperate check-in, OMG, It took us hours.Never got our rooms till 5-6pm.They just gave out rooms, never mind if you needed double beds, as I did with 3 people staying in my room, I got a king size bed.While my cousin who was with his wife and wanted a king size bed got 2 double beds. lol really not funny by that is what happeneed. And never mind trying to switch.Anytine you wanted anything at the front desk you had to line up for at least 1/2 hour.

Rooms:
As I said before, if you were in the 400 ok,ut if not, sewer smells, no hot water, cockroaches.Did not refill fridges, even with water.2 days never go my room cleaned.

Restaurants and Bars:
Not sure where or what all this It Zone was all about with the bars and happy hour, not sure what the It Zone was all about,no one told us anything about it, not even at Nolitours orientation.Restaurants for us, it was just the buffet and it was disgusting, really.Couldn't get into the 3 alacarte restaurants Nolitours said we could get.Oh ya, they were full of VIP customers.If you wanted to take the shuttle you could eat at the other hotel next door.Keep in mind that line up were long, and who wants to waste vacation time standing in lines.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice, pool area not to clean, no one to clean up, no chairs, no garbage cans.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ocean world, do the encounter with the dolphins, it is better than the swim and cheaper.Didn't do anything on the resort, didn't see to much happening, did see exercising in the pool 1 day.

Other Comments:
Travelled many times to the D.R., never had issues like this in my life.Please do not waste your money here, and I do not think Nolitours should be endourcing this Lifestyles hotel or any Lifestyle Resort.If Nolitours has any kind of reputation they would be reimburing the client they endoused this resort to.I have read many other reviews since our return and we as a group of 29 are not the only ones with this oppinion.Before we left the resort we had other customers saying they wish it was them going home instead of us.They had only been there for 2 day, I felt so sorry for them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible.... terrible"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lachapelle  on Jan 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
493 people found this review helpful

Service was outragious.... no service, only for VIP. What's that.... People should be equal,when it comes to service. If you pay for an upgrade, you get better accomodations. But service should apply to everyone and reservation for restaurants should be first come, firts serve. Not, only VIP. If, so this should be explained before hand to the vacationner's . My son was restricted from restaurants, booze and he had to get upset in order to have a functional roomsafe. He was tired of being threated differently. This was a frustrating vacation and very disappointed. Please take this review seriously! Giving the inferior service that he received, he would not recommend this hotel!

Rooms:
Roomsafe broken! It was just Ok!

Restaurants and Bars:
Terrible services

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
It was OK!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
He enjoyed the activities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube