Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Dominican Republic Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Cofresi Hotels with Similar Ranking

Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa

2.7 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 6, 2014

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)  

Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata

"i will surely come back"
Posted by: tyson on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Reviews
Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic

#1
of 7 Hotels in Playa Cofresi

User rating 3.1

Based on 25 reviews

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Information


The Be Live Grand Ambar is a beautiful beach resort located on the beautiful Cofresi Beach where "everything feels right".

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Reviews

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.1 of 5 25 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  10
Average
  3
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (20)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 25

"The worst resort ever"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Berrouard  on Jan 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
359 people found this review helpful

A Beautiful place but it ends there. This resorts sucks. We paid for an Ocean View and we got a Pool view with Palm trees between which we could barely see the ocean. Food was disgusting and cold. Broken fridge...The bath has a leak which cause a huge flood on the floor. We were unable to get an A La Carte Restaurant even if we were at the reception early in the morning in order to get a place....every morning, the office opened at 9.00 and Restaurants were full at the same time (Probably reserved for the members). By the way Lifestyle focus on Members and on the ones becoming members by purchasing a Time to time travelling package which starts at 8k up to 185K. If you don't buy, you will be treated like shit and like a person on welfare...they will even tell you that you are a Welfare which they did to us by not purchasing their membership. During our stay we have been harassed at least 3 to 4 times a day by their time sharing representatives...a real nightmare. 1/2 of the resort has a awful smell of septic tank which made a lot of people sick...the smell was also in many bedrooms (many people said. Almost everyday we were running to the service people in order to get our bottle of water, pops and beers which we supposed to be included in our package. Wine was raspberry juice with alcohol.

Room Number:
41213

Room Block:
41

Arrival:
Very deceived with our OceanView Bedroom....it was a Poolview

Rooms:
Broken Fridge, Bath has a leak. Room were not well cleaned even with tips.

Restaurants and Bars:
Which Restaurants....they were full with members and nothing for the others....Bars were ok..friendly service and nice people.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
OK...many pools.

Other Comments:
Never go there unless you are a member or you like to be treated like shit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Please do not go to this or any Lifestyle Resorts"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Beverly  on Jan 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
1078 people found this review helpful

First lets start by saying the service was non-existent.You would call the front desk for example water, they would say Ok, but forget it you never got it, ever.You can't dring the water in the DR, so you would think they would replentish your room each day as is stated by Nolitours.We were a group of 29 family members who were on vacation as a family for the first time.If you were in the 400 block they were updated and clean rooms.If you were in the older rooms there was no hot water, smells of sewer, and cockroaches.Now you would think that by expaining to this the front desk and then a manager we would get some satifsfaction, well think again, no action taken and the manager just rolling his eyes.If you were a VIP customer things were different and you got alacarte restraunt service, not for the little people who were not VIP, non for a whole wk., non in our group got any alacartes. Talk about discrimination.The buffet was non-existant, you would go for something to eat and pans would be empty, no desserts, honestly same thing everynight.I have stayed at many resorts over my years and have always been able to find something to eat, really, not here.And unless you went over to the other hotel on gala night, you didn't eat, they closed all reteraunts in our hotel.We went down the road for pizza, all our group said it was the best meal they had had all week.Even our Noli tours rep. said do not bother with the alacartes you will not get in.Just a quick note for seniors or disabled, there are alot of stair here to climb, be for warned.Really, there is not service at this hotel, food was disgusting, please do not waste your hard earned money here.

Room Number:
42214

Room Block:
400

Arrival:
Jan. 3, 2012 @ noon for one wk.In looking at the notitours brochure, we were to have seperate check-in, OMG, It took us hours.Never got our rooms till 5-6pm.They just gave out rooms, never mind if you needed double beds, as I did with 3 people staying in my room, I got a king size bed.While my cousin who was with his wife and wanted a king size bed got 2 double beds. lol really not funny by that is what happeneed. And never mind trying to switch.Anytine you wanted anything at the front desk you had to line up for at least 1/2 hour.

Rooms:
As I said before, if you were in the 400 ok,ut if not, sewer smells, no hot water, cockroaches.Did not refill fridges, even with water.2 days never go my room cleaned.

Restaurants and Bars:
Not sure where or what all this It Zone was all about with the bars and happy hour, not sure what the It Zone was all about,no one told us anything about it, not even at Nolitours orientation.Restaurants for us, it was just the buffet and it was disgusting, really.Couldn't get into the 3 alacarte restaurants Nolitours said we could get.Oh ya, they were full of VIP customers.If you wanted to take the shuttle you could eat at the other hotel next door.Keep in mind that line up were long, and who wants to waste vacation time standing in lines.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice, pool area not to clean, no one to clean up, no chairs, no garbage cans.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ocean world, do the encounter with the dolphins, it is better than the swim and cheaper.Didn't do anything on the resort, didn't see to much happening, did see exercising in the pool 1 day.

Other Comments:
Travelled many times to the D.R., never had issues like this in my life.Please do not waste your money here, and I do not think Nolitours should be endourcing this Lifestyles hotel or any Lifestyle Resort.If Nolitours has any kind of reputation they would be reimburing the client they endoused this resort to.I have read many other reviews since our return and we as a group of 29 are not the only ones with this oppinion.Before we left the resort we had other customers saying they wish it was them going home instead of us.They had only been there for 2 day, I felt so sorry for them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  DAVID  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
372 people found this review helpful

Beware has changed name to to corfessi palm beach and is now owned by lifestyles worst trip ever lousy food lousy service took us 9 hours for a room and 3 different ones either eas bedbug invested or musty smelling watch out for lifestyle personell trying to sell i call it time shares but its not what they make of it i will not recomend this company and resort to anyone includeing my worst enmy other partys had problems includeing a broken toilet for 3 days.

Arrival:
TERRIBLE FRONT DESK SERVICE

Rooms:
BEDBUGS BROKEN TOILETS

Restaurants and Bars:
TERRIBLE FOOD

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
OK

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
OK

Other Comments:
LOSY PLACE TO GO

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had to leave..this resort was terrible."

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1048 people found this review helpful

We have been to the Dominican Republic at least 12 times. This was our first time here and our last. We actually had to leave after 4 days.
The salesman are very pushy, and in your face constantly. Al Acartes are imposssible to get. They go to the VIPs first, we were lucky to get one thanks to our Rep. But told we were intitled to 8 for 2 wks.
Food is sparse with limited selection, and usually cold. Very under staffed and the front desk do nothing to help you. Then they send you to guest service where you line up to get the same response as the front desk..we'll send someone to fix it. No blankets in our room. only 1 sheet. A/C didn't work. Water is very hard to get but they sell it at the store in the lobby.
Lots of stairs (tons) only 2 bars open..one at the beach and one at the upper pool. Lobby's chairs are broken, you'll sink right through.
Safe keys are hard to get because there is a shortage for some reason.
No coffee maker in the rooms. Phones in rooms have no listings on them. you can only dial 0 and it goes to voice mail.
I would not reccommend this resort to anyone. Please save your money and go else where.

Room Number:
7232 i think cant remember

Arrival:
Jan 3 2012 and was to stay for 2 wks. But left after 4 days.

Rooms:
Standard rooms are very small. Beds are hard and had a big lump in the middle. No blankets, and if you ask they say ok. But we ended up doing the time share spill in trade for a blanket.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants are hard to get into unless your a VIP. only 2 bars open Beach and upper pool. Other bars are only for VIPs

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is nice and pools are well kept. But take a travel mug, cups are tiny and its hard to get service. Because its usually crowded.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Trips are reasonably priced. But if they dont get enough people it gets cancelled.

Other Comments:
The resort was full to capasity. Lots of College and universaty students. They party all night and run around yelling and screaming, Security cant seem to contol or do anything with them. They just stand and watch.
There is a bad smell of septic through out the resort, but we did have a lot of rain.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible and filfy dirty..Do not go there"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  laura  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
1129 people found this review helpful

I travelled there with a friend of mine. From the outside the resort is beautiful but once inside its a different story. We requested two beds in our room and got ONE double bed..ok we can live with that..we noticed what seemed to be sand in our room but when the sand started MOVING onto our clothes..we then realized it was a pile of eggs...not sand. These eggs were so small..they looked like grains of sand. We asked to be moved and NO ONE would help us. They did send someone up to spray but told us the resort was full and we couldn't be moved. There was three holes in the wall and honestly it looked like someone had put buckets of sand in the corners. There were eggs on our dresser and night tables. We insisted on being moved and this time no one spoke english...so they said. We packed up our things and went and stayed in a friends room that we had just met. They felt sorry for us and were nice enough to offer their room. I have travelled to many resorts and this one is discusting. I have returned home and threw a lot of my stuff out. No one ever told us what the bug or eggs were. Its so gross..NEVER EVER GO THERE..I wish someone would have warned us before we left.!!

Room Block:
300's

Rooms:
Our room was infested with some sort of bug and a million eggs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Ok..food undercooked and cold but could hardly eat after our bug experience.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful grounds and pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Well organized activities off the resort.

Other Comments:
PLEASE think twice if you plan to go there. The holiday was very resonabily priced but now I see why!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I expect better quality when paying a fare share for my stay."

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 1, 2009  >  20 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
751 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We were picked up and delivered to teh resort without any problems. Checked in and all ok till now.

Rooms
Was given room 30623 which had 2 double beds.... Not for me as we were told we get a King bed so on to 30913 and it was fine except for the fly's and bugs in the bathroom all week.

Restaurants and Bars
Mexican, good food.......slow service give it a 5 out of 10.
Itilian, good food, good service....give it a 9 out of 10 self serve.....bad food, bad service, 2 out of 10 We agreed that a total score of 4 is good for the food at this resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach.... not big, not white sand, lots of waves... just like New Jersey IMO.
Pools.... nice, clean, just what I expected.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Horseback riding with Joyce the horse lady........ excellent and Alex is a great guide.

Other Comments
I enjoyed the time there, the guys were relentless about seeing the timeshares they had to sell. I did not go. People were frendly and did anything they could for you. Our maid took care of us all week and did a good job. We decided on the flight home that we would not go back there again. Food just did not float our boat. I expect better quality when paying a fare share for my stay. JJ

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very simple"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Katrhyn  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
793 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
The rooms were very simple. The mini bar did not include any beer, we got 1 coke and 3 waters per day

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet was open for Breakfast and dinner only. The beach grill was open for lunch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful. The chairs were showing much wear and tear.v
Other Comments:
You could see by looking around, that the resort needed an overhaul. This is not our first trip to the D.R. so we know what to expect, however, there were many indicators that this resort was not doing so well.

Since we were looking at the vacation club membership, while there we google it, and found that there was a big lawsuit going on, after arriving home on Friday 18th, we found out on Saturday the 19th, that the resort was closed.
www.sunvillageshareholders.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible.... terrible"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lachapelle  on Jan 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
1094 people found this review helpful

Service was outragious.... no service, only for VIP. What's that.... People should be equal,when it comes to service. If you pay for an upgrade, you get better accomodations. But service should apply to everyone and reservation for restaurants should be first come, firts serve. Not, only VIP. If, so this should be explained before hand to the vacationner's . My son was restricted from restaurants, booze and he had to get upset in order to have a functional roomsafe. He was tired of being threated differently. This was a frustrating vacation and very disappointed. Please take this review seriously! Giving the inferior service that he received, he would not recommend this hotel!

Rooms:
Roomsafe broken! It was just Ok!

Restaurants and Bars:
Terrible services

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
It was OK!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
He enjoyed the activities

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on Jan 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1029 people found this review helpful

Stay away! The food was awful at the buffets and if you are not a VIP you don't have a hope in hell of getting into one of the a la carte restaurants that are usually half empty in case a VIP decides to attend. The place is over run with aggressive and often rude salesmen trying to sell you what amounts to a time-share but they call it a VIP membership. We spent our entire vacation trying to dodge them because they are everywhere. They are more focused on selling the memberships than customer service. If you are not a VIP, they treat you like a second class citizen. They ran out of food and booze, the fridge was never restocked. The grounds are exhaustive so you have to take shuttles and wait in line forever to get anywhere while the VIP's run around in their golf carts. The place did smell like a sewer at several locations. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Stay away!!!

Room Block:
41

Arrival:
Check in process was brutal. Over 200 people waited SIX hours to get rooms. We ended up being given keys to a room that was still occupied!!

Rooms:
OK

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets are disgusting and don't restock so people were acting like savages. Locals show up and push to front of line etc. Unless your a VIP, forget the a la cartes. They also try to sell you daily VIP memberships for $65 per day to allow access to all VIP services.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds/pools were well kept except for that sewer situation. Beach was ok.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
OK

Other Comments:
Brutal. Worst holiday ever and I would not recommend this place to anyone. I am recommending anyone who stayed there should write in to the tour operator so that they know what is going on down there and adjust their rating. Definitey NOT a 4.5*!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort "

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  pam  on Jan 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
396 people found this review helpful

Beautiful place, lots of levels and pools. Lots of stairs(but that's good for excerise) They had shuttles- but we hardly used them. Nice beach to go for a morning walk. Enjoyed playing in the waves. Close to Ocean world- walking distance. Walk up the beach and then head down the road, you can walk to the casio and marina. Buy your liquor at a store on the road 2 minutes away. $8.00 us for 750ml bottle of rum. Room 20624 overlooked a pool, no ocean view, but having the pool right there was nice. Our room was close to a pool table, you could hear the pool balls alot. We went next door to the tropical for lunch and dinner buffet. Breakfast was great at the buffet at our resort, lots of bacon. The buffet at the beach/pool was brutal. Never ate there. Always walked next door. They had full roasted chickens everyday.

We were able to get into the Blue Lagoon & indochein- chinese A la carte restaurants. We were not able to get into the other A la carte restaurants, even though I was ninth in line at the reseervation line up in the morning. Most reservations go to the VIP's first. (Did not like this)

The crab cakes and shrimp at the blue lagoon were excellent!
The staff was very friendly
The New Years Party was the best Ever - lots of lobster and every kind of food imaginable. The service was amazing. The entertainment was fab- Right on -A 70's band played. And then New hip music played after midnight.
The fireworks show was great! Did not like the very loud commercial they played for the "LIFESTYLE" timeshare thing going on. Lots of time share guys around the resort. - Just politely say no thank-you and they go away.

Excursions- Take the tram up the hill! - it was great

Room Number:
20624

Room Block:
206

Arrival:
dec 29th 2011

Rooms:
Little problems with tv, phone... nothing too major. The neighbor couldn't get there door opened a few times.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bar service was great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Loved the hamock in the pool.
Lots of security around and staff the clean the pool area.
Very clean resort!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Could have more activities.. no bingo

Other Comments:
Dance shows at night - good, but not the best I've seen.
Get there early, the spots fill up fast.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube