Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Dominican Republic Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Cofresi Hotels with Similar Ranking

Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa

2.7 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 6, 2014

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)  

Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata

"i will surely come back"
Posted by: tyson on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Reviews
Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic

#1
of 7 Hotels in Playa Cofresi

User rating 3.1

Based on 25 reviews

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Information


The Be Live Grand Ambar is a beautiful beach resort located on the beautiful Cofresi Beach where "everything feels right".

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Reviews

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.1 of 5 25 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  10
Average
  3
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (20)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 20 of 25

"Horrible"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on Jan 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1029 people found this review helpful

Stay away! The food was awful at the buffets and if you are not a VIP you don't have a hope in hell of getting into one of the a la carte restaurants that are usually half empty in case a VIP decides to attend. The place is over run with aggressive and often rude salesmen trying to sell you what amounts to a time-share but they call it a VIP membership. We spent our entire vacation trying to dodge them because they are everywhere. They are more focused on selling the memberships than customer service. If you are not a VIP, they treat you like a second class citizen. They ran out of food and booze, the fridge was never restocked. The grounds are exhaustive so you have to take shuttles and wait in line forever to get anywhere while the VIP's run around in their golf carts. The place did smell like a sewer at several locations. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Stay away!!!

Room Block:
41

Arrival:
Check in process was brutal. Over 200 people waited SIX hours to get rooms. We ended up being given keys to a room that was still occupied!!

Rooms:
OK

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets are disgusting and don't restock so people were acting like savages. Locals show up and push to front of line etc. Unless your a VIP, forget the a la cartes. They also try to sell you daily VIP memberships for $65 per day to allow access to all VIP services.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds/pools were well kept except for that sewer situation. Beach was ok.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
OK

Other Comments:
Brutal. Worst holiday ever and I would not recommend this place to anyone. I am recommending anyone who stayed there should write in to the tour operator so that they know what is going on down there and adjust their rating. Definitey NOT a 4.5*!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort "

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  pam  on Jan 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
396 people found this review helpful

Beautiful place, lots of levels and pools. Lots of stairs(but that's good for excerise) They had shuttles- but we hardly used them. Nice beach to go for a morning walk. Enjoyed playing in the waves. Close to Ocean world- walking distance. Walk up the beach and then head down the road, you can walk to the casio and marina. Buy your liquor at a store on the road 2 minutes away. $8.00 us for 750ml bottle of rum. Room 20624 overlooked a pool, no ocean view, but having the pool right there was nice. Our room was close to a pool table, you could hear the pool balls alot. We went next door to the tropical for lunch and dinner buffet. Breakfast was great at the buffet at our resort, lots of bacon. The buffet at the beach/pool was brutal. Never ate there. Always walked next door. They had full roasted chickens everyday.

We were able to get into the Blue Lagoon & indochein- chinese A la carte restaurants. We were not able to get into the other A la carte restaurants, even though I was ninth in line at the reseervation line up in the morning. Most reservations go to the VIP's first. (Did not like this)

The crab cakes and shrimp at the blue lagoon were excellent!
The staff was very friendly
The New Years Party was the best Ever - lots of lobster and every kind of food imaginable. The service was amazing. The entertainment was fab- Right on -A 70's band played. And then New hip music played after midnight.
The fireworks show was great! Did not like the very loud commercial they played for the "LIFESTYLE" timeshare thing going on. Lots of time share guys around the resort. - Just politely say no thank-you and they go away.

Excursions- Take the tram up the hill! - it was great

Room Number:
20624

Room Block:
206

Arrival:
dec 29th 2011

Rooms:
Little problems with tv, phone... nothing too major. The neighbor couldn't get there door opened a few times.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bar service was great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Loved the hamock in the pool.
Lots of security around and staff the clean the pool area.
Very clean resort!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Could have more activities.. no bingo

Other Comments:
Dance shows at night - good, but not the best I've seen.
Get there early, the spots fill up fast.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The worst resort ever"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Berrouard  on Jan 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
359 people found this review helpful

A Beautiful place but it ends there. This resorts sucks. We paid for an Ocean View and we got a Pool view with Palm trees between which we could barely see the ocean. Food was disgusting and cold. Broken fridge...The bath has a leak which cause a huge flood on the floor. We were unable to get an A La Carte Restaurant even if we were at the reception early in the morning in order to get a place....every morning, the office opened at 9.00 and Restaurants were full at the same time (Probably reserved for the members). By the way Lifestyle focus on Members and on the ones becoming members by purchasing a Time to time travelling package which starts at 8k up to 185K. If you don't buy, you will be treated like shit and like a person on welfare...they will even tell you that you are a Welfare which they did to us by not purchasing their membership. During our stay we have been harassed at least 3 to 4 times a day by their time sharing representatives...a real nightmare. 1/2 of the resort has a awful smell of septic tank which made a lot of people sick...the smell was also in many bedrooms (many people said. Almost everyday we were running to the service people in order to get our bottle of water, pops and beers which we supposed to be included in our package. Wine was raspberry juice with alcohol.

Room Number:
41213

Room Block:
41

Arrival:
Very deceived with our OceanView Bedroom....it was a Poolview

Rooms:
Broken Fridge, Bath has a leak. Room were not well cleaned even with tips.

Restaurants and Bars:
Which Restaurants....they were full with members and nothing for the others....Bars were ok..friendly service and nice people.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
OK...many pools.

Other Comments:
Never go there unless you are a member or you like to be treated like shit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 4 star resort"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  khan  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
368 people found this review helpful

Just returned.
Customer service sucks. Exactly same issues what David said. I know at least 8 to 10 other customers where trying to change their rooms as well. I would avoid this resort next time. Booked via Nolitours.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  DAVID  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
372 people found this review helpful

Beware has changed name to to corfessi palm beach and is now owned by lifestyles worst trip ever lousy food lousy service took us 9 hours for a room and 3 different ones either eas bedbug invested or musty smelling watch out for lifestyle personell trying to sell i call it time shares but its not what they make of it i will not recomend this company and resort to anyone includeing my worst enmy other partys had problems includeing a broken toilet for 3 days.

Arrival:
TERRIBLE FRONT DESK SERVICE

Rooms:
BEDBUGS BROKEN TOILETS

Restaurants and Bars:
TERRIBLE FOOD

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
OK

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
OK

Other Comments:
LOSY PLACE TO GO

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely hotel, lots of pools, nice rooms, great view"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Anne  on May 12, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
655 people found this review helpful

We arrived on a Monday- uneventful flight- by AIRTRANSAT- landed in Puerto Plata, and easily found our way to the bus, and awaiting mini trailer which carries your luggage to your hotel
we arrived around 11 am and within 1 hour we had our room, a Jr. suite poolside, facing ocean/beach and pool

our room had a few issues on the first day- toilet ran 24/7 jacuzzi didn't have a plug so we couldn't use it,.. and patio doors would not lock

We reported all this to reception who sent someone to check things out
by end of day 1 we moved to a different block- next door
our toilet was fine, our jacuzzi held water, our patio door locked, but our maid never never once did anything above and beyond general bed making, and towels.

The bed wasn't comfortable either, but we didnt complain

The food made us sick, and the whole week we all had problems with Diarreah

By the weekend the resort had 1200 locals arrive as new residents to the rort, and they hogged the pool, brs, and food at buffet,
one Sunday morning we had no food for breakfast! none... not even scraps....
my husband is diabetic... and needed regular meals, and protein.

he headed for the snack bar....
where he was met with a local women who took the food off his plate and on to hers!
he gave up and he went to get a siet coke at the pool side bar, he was pushed aside almost into the pool by locals...
by now he & most of the otehr Canadians were irrate, and had some tales of their own to share

the most diffcult part was all the walking, the hills, stairs, huge huge resort....
and we were sore, and tired, out of breath before even getting to a resteraunt, to eat...

the staff was friendly
we loved DANNY and MELVIN & CEASAR
HOLA guys you are the BEST
but we needed to have a change, after spending $$$$ on this vacation you want it to be a positive experience
we spoke to asst manager, who was so kind, and helpful he arranged for us to be transferred to the Be Live Marien (owened by same hotel chain )
where we would not have the hills and stairs to all the buffets, or pools...


Room Number:
42101

Arrival:
fast, access to our room
pleasant staff

Rooms:
clean
but too big, and empty
was expecting more furniture ... more room from family to come visit & sit and chat

Restaurants and Bars:
tasty food
but we all got sick...
and still are sick over 2 weeks later

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
lovley, exotic, lavish
pools

but when locals arrive you cant hardly see space for you to go in the pool
not enjoyable
at all

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nightly shows
good team

Other Comments:
for young and in shape ppl who dont mind walking, climbing all day long every day just to swim or eat, or change clothes

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r54tc9hIyKg&feature=share http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9xhQlRLUz0&feature=share

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Merveilleux voyage"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Liette  on May 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
645 people found this review helpful

Ce resort est merveilleux. Il est construit dans la montagne, ce qui lui donne un beau cachet. Par contre, il y a beaucoup de marche à monter, différents niveaux.

Les fins de semaine, il y a des Républicains qui réserve dans ce resort.

Arrival:
25 avril 2011 au 9 mai 2011.

La réception a été avec un large sourire, vite et professionnelle.

Quand on demande ou besoin de quelques choses, dans au moins 10 min à 30 min on le reçoit. Excellent service.

Rooms:
Belle grande chambre (section neuve), près de la plage et très, très propre.

Restaurants and Bars:
3 restaurants (Brésilien, Mexicain et Asian), beaux, excellents et très bons.

2 buffets - aussi très bons l'un que l'autre. On peut aussi commandé à la carte.

Plusieurs bars - excellent service aussi

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
7 belles piscines.

Belle plage: Eau très chaude, sable brun et l'eau non turquoise. Jamais de problème pour avoir des chaises pour s'installer sur cette belle plage.

L'environnement est très beau.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activités tous les jours. Animateurs excellents, gentils et respectueux.

Other Comments:
Le personnel: souriant, heureux, très serviable, respectueux, etc

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fun In The Sun! Be Live Grand Ambar"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Apr 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
518 people found this review helpful

The Be Live Grand Ambar Hotel in Puerto Plata was amazing. The beach has dark sand, but still beautiful. Its relaxing, yet upbeat when you want it to be. Activities and games are going on everyday. Theatre was the best time of the evening. Belgis(Chris Rock), Marchello(Tooty Fruity), and Tony....look for them. They are the Entertainment stuff. Who are the people that run the activities and games within the resort. They run around in orange uniforms. they made our trip. They're all hilarious and make you smile and laugh all the time. The food, was better then I expected. My mom says its the best of all the resorts she has been at. They're are alot of stairs. I didnt mind though. If your going with someone who has mobility trouble i would suggested a different resort. Seeing how this resort is build on a hill. Which i thought made it beautiful and unique. All in all...my friend and family loved it and we are alraedy planning a trip back. :D

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went Waterfall Jumping. It was awesome. Glad i did it. We met some nice people and the falls were beautiful. You need to be somewhat in good shape. You have to climb up 3k worth of hill.:D It wasnt to hard.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great spot to rejuvenate"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
527 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed out recent trip and would recommend this resort to anyone.
We took our laptop and had adequate internet coverage from the lobby area.
3 tiers from hotel down to the ocean, lots of walking up and down stairs, which we really liked.
Families and children were present as well as couples.
I will return with my husband next time.

Room Number:
30214

Arrival:
Fri Mar 11 to Mar 18

Rooms:
simple, clean and well kept.
bottle water. pop and local beer provided in fridge at no extra cost

Restaurants and Bars:
only used the buffet and we were both pleased with the food, the service and the variety.
we did not get sick ever

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
many pools, excellent, clean and well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
staff recruited any interested people in beach volleyball, pool aerobics, step classes outside under the trees on beach, drinking games, water polo.
not pushy, just encouraging
entertainment was low quality but amusing

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a great time"

Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis)
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Ambar (formerly Oasis) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  kim  on Mar 13, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
569 people found this review helpful

Just got home this morning after spending 7 wonderful days in the warm rays of the sun. The food was amazing, always something good being served. The Brazilian a la carte was GREAT ! The other two a la carts left something to be desired. The buffet was one of the best, Compared to the other vacations resorts that I have been to. The staff was wonderful, and helped in any way they could. Out of the 7 pools 5 had swim up bars yet only one was working, although all the pools where well kept and were nicely spaced out. The beach was a little disappointing as the waves where always large and turned the dirt up for about the first 15 to 20 feet then there was seaweed and rocks. I was a little dissapointed that I could not snorkel on the resort due to the waves being to large and rough. Our room was a Jr and it was a lovely large room with a large balcony. Our toilet seat was a little loose and the air conditioner leaked, yet it kept the room cool and we never fell into the toilet so I guess all was good. The water pressure was not strong but you could shower and shave so who cares. The mini bar was always stocked well and the room was well taken care of and cleaned by the maides. The T.V was a nice flat screen but had bad reception. There where just to many stairs for our taste and if there were no stairs then tere where hills. Even so,we had wonderful weather, awesome food and met great people We made some new friends and the shows where wonderful. We enjoyed watching the children as well as the adult shows. The drinks where good as well. I enjoyed the Famosas most of all. The over all experience was 5 star rating with just a few kinks to work out. The men selling the VIP packages could be annoying but once you made it clear you where not interested they left you alone, with the exception of the man who greated us every morning with a smile and any time he saw us walking around would offer us a ride in his cart if empty. We saw him at least 3 or 4 times everyday and always he made sure to acknowledge us. Would be happy to go back anytime if not for the stairs.

Room Number:
300124

Room Block:
300

Arrival:
04/03/2011 11:30 p.m.

Rooms:
one Jr room

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube