The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

4.0 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2014

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata

2.6 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club  

Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata

"amazing experience"
Posted by: amos on Jul 8, 2014
see all reviews

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Reviews
The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Pictures and Information
The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#9
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 4.6

Based on 5 reviews

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Information


This attractively designed hotel, across the road from the beach, combines affordability with great service and a long list of inclusions. Enjoy your wedding ceremony by the sea shore or by our beautiful gardens within a totally Caribbean romantic feel.


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Reviews

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Review: 4.6 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"amazing experience"

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club
User Rating:  The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  amos  on Jul 8, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
43 people found this review helpful

I had an amazing experience as everyone working in this hotel was extremely helpful and nice to the guests including me when I visited in March 2014 and I hope to come back here again to share in this amazing experience again. The staff was helpful as they helped me genuinely with all my needs and all that concerns me throughout my stay. For the fun loving people looking for a hotel to stay in, this is the place as they offer night club service every night of the week including other entertainment activities that will make you never bored throughout your stay at least I was never bored for the 6 days I stayed in. I canít complain about anything here because from the customer service to the rooms were all top notch and I had a stress free holiday unlike most hotels I have visited in DR where either the hot water supply was lacking or the air condition was not working, everything was okay. The location is perfect as it is close to most things and the receptionist Loyda was amazing. When I arrived, check in didnít take time, it was standard like every other hotel and then I was shown to my room. The room was clean and well equipped, it was large and tidy and everything was in perfect working condition. The food was great, they had variety to choose from and they were all delicious at least the ones I tasted. I will be back again, hope to see you soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Again, it is basic, but clean- amazing staff- great food- nice beach and that is the life!"

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club
User Rating:  The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
814 people found this review helpful

This was visit #5 for me, 2003-2005-2007-2008-2009.

This year I went with a friend and 3 young teenagers (14-14-15). They had a room separate from us, thank you! The kids had a blast; it was the second visit for my son!

Upon arrival, we got an upgrade (balcony and mini-fridge)- the boys got an extra bed in the room.

I would say everything is the same as last year minus a few minor changes:

The main bar is closing at midnight- Disco goes on 11:00PM- 2:00 AM for dance and drinks- Bars re-open at 10:00 AM---- That is very fair!

Pool is open until 7:00 PM (pool bar is done at 6:00PM- so you can sip your last club soda!) and it re-opens at 8:00 AM (pool bar at 10:00 AM)

The buffet (selection) was bit smaller but just as delicious as last year, with a theme every night. The Oriental restaurant is no longer- It is now a Dominican restaurant- Much better food!!

The Italian ŗ la carte is like a 5 Stars!

Again, it is basic, but clean- amazing staff- great food- nice beach and that is the life!

I am going back next year- if not sooner- that should answer the question!

My e-mail is on the March 2008 review!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely time at Puerto Plata Village and would go back."

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club
User Rating:  The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul and Kathie  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
808 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 12 - 19
Arrival was great. We originally were suppose to go to Luperon but due to the bridge being washed out we were sent here to Puerto Plata Village. On the up side it wasn't snowing here and it is warm. We brought our son with us (24)and he had a blast with the people he met.

Rooms
Our room was very nice, really clean, had a balcony and a hairdryer. What more could you want. We did get an "up-grade" from what we had booked at the other resort, and enjoyed that.

We went to our room one night only to find that there was some water that had leaked from the room above, we phoned the loby and someone was there in about 5 mins, had it fixed and all cleaned up for us in about 20 mins saying that they would come back tomorrow and properly fix it. We never had any other problems. It was very nice to have things looked a quickly and pleasantly.

Restaurants and Bars
We thought that the food was fabulous. The buffet certainly had a great selection to choose from. There was always chicken, beef, pork, fish, pasta and salads and fruit. If you didn't like any of these food groups, well something is wrong somewhere. For those of you who say the food is bland, use some salt and pepper.
The a- la - carts were incredible and we had no problem to make reservations. We had a choice of Dominican, Italian and Mexican. As long as you got up in the morning you had no trouble making the reservations. In the 7 days that we were there, we only ate at the buffet at night once, and that was delicious.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The grounds were kept immaculate. There were always cheerful people trimming, sweeping or washing up. The pool was well looked after and always seemed to be clean.
Even though this resort is not on the beach, there is a shuttle that takes you to the beach every 10 mins, or you can walk as it isn't very far. The beach was beautiful and was raked daily. The beach also had the resort bar and lunch counter for our convience.
There were locals that tried to get you to buy their wares but all you had to do was smile and say no thankyou and they wouldn't bother you.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We did do a Catamaran tour that sailed up to Luperon, stopping to snorkel and lunch on a quaint beach before pulling into Luperon Harbour where you met a bus to take you back through the countyside. Had a great time doing this. The captain and his crew were great fun and made the trip enjoyable. We also went horseback riding for 3 hours through villages and amazing countryside, stopping a a local "bar" for a drink and a break. Eventhough my behind was a bit sore after, this was a very enjoyable trip to take.

Other Comments:
Although our vacation started out well planned, doing research on the resort we would be staying at etc. You know the saying... the best laid plans... Changing resorts a the last minuet ended up being a great vacation. Our son had a great time with the other young people there, we had a fabulous time and greatly enjoyed ourselves. I am sure the other resort we were suppose to go to was good as well, but we did have a lovely time at Puerto Plata Village and would go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"More Than Met Our Expectations"

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club
User Rating:  The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Jan 25, 2012  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
484 people found this review helpful

It's a three star property and it does that very well. The food and service were beyond anything you might expect. They served Presidente beer and the liquors served were all local. The mix was bottled pop and not fountain mix. Our room was clean and comfortable. We felt safe and had no issues with electronic 'toys' left out on the charger. The restaurants and bars were clean and service was very good. The resort facilities are 'older' but they seem to be on top of the maintenance. We had a very enjoyable two weeks there and would return without hesitation. The resort is very good value for the money and I'm surprised the place isn't full.

Full review and photos at http://www.worldisround.com/articles/369976/index.html

Room Number:
045

Arrival:
Quick and efficient. Staff seemed proficient in English, German and French.

Rooms:
A little dated but everything worked (or was quickly dealt with when a problem was reported). Clean, comfortable' Linens and towels were changed frequently.

Restaurants and Bars:
One buffet restaurant, one snack bar, one beach club, three specialty restaurants (Italian, Dominican and Mexican). The specialty restaurants were open one at a time, about three or four days per week. Dress code in effect; reservations required but easy to get. Pool bar, pool swim up bar, lobby bar, beach club, limited bar in the buffet restaurant. The food was exceptionally good for this star level. We were very pleased.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were clean, well groomed and maintained. There were a few storms while we were there and a fair bit of seaweed was stirred up on the beach. This was quickly raked and collected when it finally washed ashore. Mother nature was a little slower and the wash ashore part took a few days. There are two pools (main and children's pool). These seemed pretty clean and were a pleasant blue colour. There were a few leaves that got blown in and escaped the 'daily' cleaning.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did Ocean World (Sea Lion Encounter) and it was better than expected. The facility seems first rate and all the animals seemed healthy and well cared for. There was no problem passing the day here.

Other Comments:
I had no major issues with the exception of internet access. The wifi only covered the lobby and pool bar areas. It wasn't very reliable, and it was expensive, but they tell me the system is going to be replaced with a resort wide wifi system and be included in the room rate. Yay!

Photos: http://www.bobfromcanada.com

Videos: http://www.bobfromcanada.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beyond Our Expectations (Again)"

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club
User Rating:  The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Feb 20, 2013  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
236 people found this review helpful

OK, how do you rate a 3 star property? We got what we paid for (and more) and had a very pleasant experience. Hence, 5 star rating .... Now, if I had booked and paid for 5 star ......

It's now a two and a half star property and it does that very well. Food and service were beyond expectations. They served Presidente beer on tap and the liquors served were all local. The wine served with dinner was not bad at all. Some days they had Brugal rum and other days Normandy. They don't use fountain mix and all mix was bottled pop. They do have diet Coke (called Coke Light there). Our room was clean and comfortable. Rightly or wrongly, we felt safe and had no issues with electronic 'toys' left out on the charger. The restaurants and bars were clean and service was very good. The resort facilities are 'older' but well maintained. We had a very enjoyable two weeks there and would return again without hesitation. The resort is very good value for the money and I'm surprised the place isn't full.

Room Number:
1214

Room Block:
1200

Arrival:
We arrived at the beginning of a Dominican holiday weekend and the check in desk was packed. Not only that, we had an early flight and our room wasn't ready yet. They got us banded and off to the bar and lunch. When we returned a few hours later, all was ready and we got our room keys, towel cards and remote for the TV. Desk staff seemed proficient in English, German and French.

Rooms:
This year we had a superior room, not a suite. I was a little disappointed because I'd requested the same room as last year, a suite, but that was just a request. However, the room grew on me and after a few days I liked it. A little dated but everything worked. Clean and comfortable. Linens and towels were changed frequently (daily would be my best guess) but there was a period of time between removing the used ones and replacing them with clean ones. One had to plan around this. Unlike last year, washcloths were not provided. Maybe you only get them with a suite.

Restaurants and Bars:
One buffet restaurant, one snack bar, one beach club, four specialty restaurants (Italian, Dominican, Creole and Mexican). The specialty restaurants were open one at a time, about three or four days per week. Dress code in effect; reservations required but easy to get. Pool bar, pool swim up bar, lobby bar (not open much), beach club, limited bar in the buffet restaurant. The food was exceptionally good for this star level. I had no complaints.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were clean, well groomed and maintained. There were a few storms the second week we were there and a fair bit of seaweed got stirred up on the beach. This was quickly raked and collected when it finally washed ashore. There are two pools (main and children's pool). These seemed pretty clean and were a pleasant blue colour. The 'daily' cleaning appeared to be done early mornings and late afternoons.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't do any this year. Well, we got together with friends who winter over in the city and did a few day trips up to Costambar.

Other Comments:
Internet access is free this year. However, the wifi only covers the lobby and pool bar areas. There is some leakage to a few of the guest rooms but I wouldn't count on it.

Photos: http://www.bobfromcanada.com

Videos: http://www.bobfromcanada.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube