BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > BlueBay Villas Doradas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

3.9 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 9, 2013

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata

2.6 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

BlueBay Villas Doradas  

Playa Dorada 538, Puerto Plata. Dominican Republic.

"Huge Waste of Money"
Posted by: Mark  on Jul 27, 2014
see all reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews
BlueBay Villas Doradas Pictures and Information
BlueBay Villas Doradas Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#3
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 4.1

Based on 28 reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Information


The hotel BlueBay Villas Doradas in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.1 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  16
Average
  2
Poor
  3
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"Huge Waste of Money"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mark  on Jul 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
38 people found this review helpful

This was our first visit to the Dominican. We have always gone to “adults only” resorts in Cuba and thought we would try this resort for a change. What a huge mistake.

Room Number:
2201

Room Block:
2000

Arrival:
The service is terrible. The front desk staff is so disorganised and slow. Our room wouldn’t be ready until the next day so they were putting us in a VIP room for the night she told us. Like they were doing us a favor. Come back tomorrow at noon and we will move you to your assigned room. We were taken to the room and when we stepped inside my wife and I looked at one another. This room was about the same as a “standard” room at a Cuban 4 star. I started getting worried because if they considered this a VIP room what would we be getting tomorrow?? (we had the WestJet Gold package) And it took three hours of running back and forth to the front desk to get the safe to work. (they don’t answer their phone)

Rooms:
We had initially asked for a quiet room but instead were given a room in block 2 beside the stage area. Maybe it was because we walked out of their “Timeshare” presentation earlier in the day. Requests placed through WestJet and emails to Bluebay were ignored. This room was by far, the worst we have ever had at any resort. It reminded me of the barracks rooms when I was in the service. The room didn’t have any drawers or shelves for clothing so we pretty much lived out of our suitcases. The balcony faced the service road for the resort next door and their entertainment area. The tour busses and delivery trucks start rumbling in at around 5am every day. This was the noisiest room we have ever stayed in. I went back to the front desk and asked to move but was told they were full and couldn’t move us until the next Tuesday. It took all afternoon to get a working safe again. After bringing this to their attention multiple times it took yelling in the crowded lobby and a threat to change resorts before it was looked after. The sink wouldn’t drain and the faucet could be pulled right off. The shower sprayed all over the place and there was no place to sit except the edge of the bed. This was no more than a Two Star room.

Restaurants and Bars:
On a positive note, the food at the buffet was really good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Unless you were seated around people wearing black wrist bands (timeshare) then you were lucky to even get noticed. Also, the fried chicken at the beach bar was excellent. The bars were ok. Never had a problem getting a drink but the lobby bar is a pay bar. First time I have ever seen that at an A.I.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort, at first glance looks very nice and well taken care of, but a closer look will tell you it’s slowly falling apart. The loungers around the pool, what few there were, had to be checked out closely before you used them as many were broken. The pool decks needed cleaning most days. All of the tables and chairs around the entertainment/pool area are the cheap plastic ones like you would have at home on your deck.
We noticed the same with the loungers at the beach. We only went once but couldn’t find a seat in the shade. WestJet’s brochure stated that there was a private beach area for their Gold customers which turned out to be false.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment team tries really hard but most of it was pretty lame at best. The sound system was distorted most of the time. I don’t mind loud but can’t stand distortion.

Other Comments:
I really believe that the constant pestering from the CircleOne staff, and the apathetic performance of the reception staff have really let the resort down. We reported a few problems and nothing was ever done. There was never an apology or a smile just a lot of shoulder shrugging. We would never return to the Blue Bay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"i will be back!"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  derick  on Jun 13, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
55 people found this review helpful

This is basically an adult only hotel so no kids allowed but I traveled single though so it wasn’t an issue. It is one of the most amazing and professional hotel I have been to in DR in all my travels to this country both on business trips and vacation. I will definitely return here without thinking twice as I had an amazing time here during my vacation. I was really pleased with the entertainment crew or staff as they were fun to be around, they made me laugh. They have a diverse food selection although they seem to repeat food which wasn’t a problem for me as long as it was tasty. The staff was extremely friendly, cheerful and courteous; you could tell that they wanted you there, no form of rudeness even if you need their attention every minute of the day. When I arrived, I was greeted with drinks and check in didn’t take time as my key was given to me almost immediately. My room had a balcony with great view and you should ask for rooms with balcony when you visit, I think its better. The rooms are very clean and cleaned out every day with fresh towels everyday as well. Let me take a second to say shout out to the entertainment crew which includes dj Luiz, George, Yayi, James and others, you guys rock and made my stay an amazing one, I am grateful for that and will definitely be back here for more of the Bluebay experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mission accomplished"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  R  on Apr 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
572 people found this review helpful

I travelled solo to Bluebay. this was a 2 week vacation for me I was looking to unplug, enjoy some sun, rum and golf. I had never been to the Dominican Republic before (Cuba and Mexico though)so I did some research and read lots of reviews before booking.
I chose this resort because it was smaller, 240 rooms... great in my mind, you get to know some of the people at the resort,,,,, not only the staff (FANTASTIC) but the other guests. I found some good friends(went on a couple of excursions) and golf partners. as for the staff they were great. Being solo and most often eating alone, the staff was always accomodating and friendly (yes a tip does go a long way too!. Aracieles (spelling?!?) at the buffet was an absolute sweetheart to me. Rodolfo

Room Number:
6201

Room Block:
6000

Arrival:
my west jet flight was seriously delayed because of weather, oh well. I arrived 4 hours after I was supposed to. the front desk was efficient, they got me a quiet room, I had made a request for a room in the 6000 - 8000 block before leaving as I read these are the quieter rooms. I had a fruit plate waiting for me in my room (thank you) and my minifridge was full. the bell man took my bags (inlcuding golf clubs) to my room.

Rooms:
the reviews I read said the room was basic but comfy (I don't spend much time in my room), the bed was firm, the pillows could be plusher; However I was able to sleep quite well

The Housekeeping staff is great, my room was always clean, fresh clean towels every day, my A/C always worked, my water bottle was replaced regularly... I give an A+ to the housekeeping staff.

I travelled solo, so I did not have trouble with a lack of closet space, although I could see that it would be limited for 2 people. I had lots of space for my luggage and golf clubs. the windows open so you can get some of that sweet caribbean air.

the room does not have a bath tub, but the shower was more than adequate. I never had a lack of hot water.... sometimes the shower was too hot. REMEMBER you only drink the bottled water... use it to brush your teeth too!

this room does not have a balcony, however as I said before I didn't spend much time in my room.

Here is my complaint about the rooms.... they need better sound insulation... I could hear the stairwell and even other rooms.

Restaurants and Bars:
the food is great, there is a good variety of dishes at the buffet, and I do recommend the almost daily special roast. the roast pork was great. ( I am an Alberta boy so I never comment on any beef that isn't from my uncle's farm!)
very good breads
Great desserts! (ICE CREAM!)
the a la carte's are fine.... I am not a sea food eater but I enjoyed the mahi mahi at the seafood restaurant. the service was great as well.
Teppan is Teppan,
(see comment above about steak house)

I have read the reviews and some peoples complaints about the cocktails... Take an insulated mug as at the swim up bar there are only plastic cups.. also maybe you should tip your bartender... I tipped and I got great cocktails made in my insulated mug... good rum drinks (yes get the Brugal rum), my beer was only empty when I wanted it to be empty....

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach is brown sand, not white. it is kept clean, great swimming beach, shallow at the front but gets deep enough to swim quickly, nice water, you are on the atlantic so it is not crystal clear all the time, and you do get surf! Yes there are lots of Beach Vendors, but a polite no thank you works just fine! ... Take your sandals as the beach sand does get quite hot on the bottom of your feet!!!

the main pool with swim up bar is shallow, no diving!!!... Moises and Juan at the swim up bar were great, they kept me well supplied with beverages and more than a few laughs!.... I really appreciated the Beer break during the pool volleyball game in the deeper pool.... Gracias !!

the grounds were magnificent... they were very well maintained and clean. full marks to the grounds crew...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
paradise island - great snorkeling trip. a little disappointed that you spend 2 hours on the bus to get there, but the snorkeling and mangrove tour is great! ( I didn't get to see a manatee as the weather was kicking up a storm as we left.
if you are a golfer, get to playa grande.... fantastic golf course! great views (yes it is pricey)

the activity staff at the resort is fantastic.... be as active as you want!... I joined several activities... silly games.. volleyball.. beach games, and the staff are truly great... friendly, let you be lazy when you want, and will find you when you want to join in.

should you truly need a hockey fix... Hemingway's is a short walk away in the shopping mall, they have all the hockey games

Other Comments:
My impression of Dominican Republic... a little faster pace than I want, every one seems to want to sell you something. yes the time share salesmen and the beach vendors are always around, but as I said a polite no thank you was enough. Keep your wits about you..

As I said initially I wanted to "unplug", I did not take my phone or laptop, so I will not comment on the internet or wifi services available.

My mission was to 'unplug". I got sun on the beach, I drank rum at the swim up bar, I enjoyed the shows with a few more beverages, I ate well ( i have no complaints about the food) I swam and snorkeled, I got a few rounds of golf in.
This resort is a nice small friendly place, the room is basic, but clean and comfy, the grounds are immaculate, the beach is great, the staff is truly fantastic. I got what I wanted out of this vacation!

Mission accomplished

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Get Away"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nikki  on Mar 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
568 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd time going to Blue Bay Villa, each time we have found the staff to be very pleasant. The food was incredible. The best beach around.
I highly recommend Blue Bay Villa to everyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Highly recommended!"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen Caughey  on Jan 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
569 people found this review helpful

7 girlfriends - left husbands at home!!! amazing time!

Room Number:
1203

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
beautiful lobby! offered us a drink and checkin was very organized/relaxed

Rooms:
Rooms okay in size; friends had the junior suite - bit larger with sitting area - but we liked the terrace. Rooms could really use more storage space - shelves/or dresser with drawers.
Airconditioning problems with 2 out of 3 of our rooms. We had to move to different room after 2 days of no air.

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet restaurant nice; good selection of food. Could use more tables for 2 people as waiting line was bit long some days and tables not full. Good salad bar!
Chinese restaurant - amazing!!
Sea food - not bad!
grill restaurant - not my favourite; but okay
wish we could have eaten in restaurants more often - you are only allowed 1 trip to each per trip

would be nice if they had outside bar to sit at.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach nice; very accomodating finding chairs
pools - nice/liked the idea of 3 pools -not all the activities were in 1; so not so crowded
grounds- nicely kept!
could use new lounge chairs by pools - getting bit run down

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
on resort - good; activity staff so nice and funny!! enjoyed alot of the activities (even bingo on our rainy day)
off resort - went to Sesousa for day! it was okay; hotel arranged taxi driver - very nice; stayed with us and suggested restaurant. Mall - very handy next door!
jogging- went jogging out of resort - very safe!

Other Comments:
amazing time! staff very friendly/helpful - except front desk! they could have been bit more friendly. Got the idea they had no idea what we were saying; or actually maybe they did and didn't care! but we didn't have to visit them much, so all okay!

walkway to beach - pretty but stagnant water smell not too nice! they need to work on this!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent value for money, would definitely consider visiting again!"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  charles  on Dec 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
627 people found this review helpful

Excellent service overall, clean well kept hotel grounds, large choice of foods at buffet bar, entertainment staff excelled,
only problem, rooms basic and the stench of the stagnant stream and mosiquitos was a little annoying
but the staff more than make up for it, always smiling and bending backwards to meet your needs. they really are genuine and sincere.

Room Number:
208

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
reception was a bit dis jointed, but

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very enjoyable"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  peter ashworth  on Dec 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
668 people found this review helpful

This was my first time ever travelling south so i was not sure what to expect,however the resort was very comfortable,very beautiful.I had no regrets whatsoever about choosing blue bay villas,my room was not at all fancy,but it had what was needed to make me comfortable,,i didn't really spend much time in the room.The staff there were all very helpful courteous and pleasant.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sensational Time at BlueBay"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvia  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
880 people found this review helpful

This recent visit to BlueBay, an adult only resort, was a delightful holiday as usual with the attentive staff taking care of our every need to ensure we had a super time. Our thanks to all of you.

Room Number:
5112

Room Block:
Building #5

Arrival:
We were not part of a group so we had personal check-in. We were provided with a cold facecloth and cocktail to sip while filling in the necessary forms. We were then taken to our room overlooking the spa.

Rooms:
We enjoyed our very quiet room overlooking the spa area and kept spotlessly clean by either Maria or Corila. Thank you ladies. Our room is one of the original Junior Suites and has a comfortable seating area with two arm chairs and a coffee table. The bathroom was very compact with a walk-in shower.

All rooms at BlueBay are equipped with a TV, clock radio, iron and ironing board, telephone, blow dryer, mini fridge and coffee maker. Coffee and tea are replenished each day. The fridge starts out with water (replenished as needed) a coke, sprite and 2 beers. The soft drinks and beer can be replaced for an extra charge of $10 per day.

Restaurants and Bars:
In the buffet we enjoyed the high quality meals served every day. There was always something delicious that appealed to our taste buds. Every evening there was a different theme. Lining up for meals could have been a drag but we had an arrangement with another couple to share a table. If more guests did this it would reduce wait times. It’s amazing how the serving staff members maintain their good humour and smiles considering they fly around the dining room trying to keep up with the guests’ demands, clearing tables and resetting them.

The specialty restaurants provide the atmosphere for a romantic dinner for two or celebratory mea with friendsl. We dined at all three twice each during our two week stay. The Chateaubriand was exceptionally good at Las Garzas; the beef was very tender. At Jardin de Jade the Peking Duck served as an appetizer and then main (extra cost) was a real treat. The feature dessert at Jardin de Jade is deep fried ice cream which is to die for. The Lobster Bisque and Calamari (appetizers) were devine as was the Seafood Stew at El Pescador. On each menu there are the all inclusive meals and those which come with an extra charge. Sometimes you just have to splurge and have lobster, duck or a top of the line steak. Desserts at Las Garzas and El Pescador include vanilla or chocolate cake, flan, ice cream, chocolate mousse, etc. On tap are the house wines, beer and liqueurs; to order a premium bottle of wine just ask your server for the list. The wines are very reasonably priced.

Food and beverages are available at the resort 24/7 whether in the restaurants, beach bar or room service. Book the a la carte restaurants at the Guest Services Desk. Ines, Doralize or Andreas will cheerfully make reservations on your behalf. If you are celebrating a special event, a personalized cake can be ordered at the same time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
When we wanted some lively activity we joined in the fun at the main pool area. There are 2 large pools. Most of our time was spent at the spa pool area where we swam, read and visited with people from Canada, the US, Britain, Sweden and Germany. Moises, Jose or Angelo kept the supplies of our beverage of choice flowing depending upon the time of day.

On rainy days, when there is a high turnover of guests and for the Tuesday Cocktail Party a bar is set up in the lobby.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The newly built Activity/Wellness Centre just can be found over the bridge behind the VIP section of the beach. Building this permanent structure was a stroke of genius as it is multipurpose and provides a space for language lessons, sport activities such as yoga, pilates etc. and later in the day houses a popular tea room (4:30 till 6) where you can sip your tea of choice, munch on cookies and chat with other guests. Heading up the physical activities (yoga, pilates, etc.) is an instructor provided by a company called NRG2GO whose president is Sarah Terrion. The talented and energetic instructors are assigned to BlueBay for 1 or 2 weeks at a time.

Every Tuesday evening before dinner we attended the Managers Cocktail Party. A local band plays followed by the introduction of all the managers working at BlueBay. All managers, including general manager, Oscar Lora and his assistant, Jose Vaquer, make themselves available to the guests. The valued efforts of all staff members is saluted as well. Following this event is the Taste of the World dinner in the dining room. Featured are oysters served by the fisherman who caught them earlier that day. What a treat!

Wednesday evenings Oscar Lora hosts the Manager’s Cocktail Party to which are invited repeat guests, members of the Vacation Club and guests celebrating a special event. While sipping bubbly and munching on delicious canapes, guests mingle and chat. There is a welcome by Oscar, followed by a draw for a couples’ massage and then entertainment.

On this holiday we did not take any excursions. However, one can book trips in the lobby of the resort right beside the Guest Services’ Desk.

Videos: http://tripwow.tripadvisor.com/tripwow/ta-0103-5648-928e?ln

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Vacation !! "

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Feb 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
877 people found this review helpful

This was one of our best vacation that we have had. The beach was great very clean. The food was great (buffet only)we had la a carte but pleased with what we had from the buffet. The villa was great real a/c no dampness. The bar fridge stocked daily !! The resort it self was well kept,friendly. Would not think twice about returning. The rating would be a 4.5. The only small thing that I would like to see is. Some sort of water fountains put in,so there is continually water moving under the bridge going to the beach.

Room Number:
33

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time wonderful people"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  J.  on Nov 7, 2010  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
885 people found this review helpful

This resort was fully renovated in 2006.

Arrival:
Arrived late in evening about 20 minutes from the airport, Check in was in the lobby, first with cool towels, fruit drink and quick explanation, packages were ready applied luggage tag and went to room, less than 10 minutes and backs arrived. Was shown facilities in room, he made sure that all was working in the room.

Rooms:
Good size, comfortable bed and electronic safe, extra cost, but worth it. The room was kept neat and tidy each day. We were on the first floor, outside our room were two chairs and a small table.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate in the buffet restaurant, thee was a wide selection each day. They varied the menu each day, there was always something for everyone. There was always plenty of food with more brought out all the time.
Service was excellent, they always made sure your coffee, wine or water was filled.
The snack bar/restaurant at the beach was open 24 hours for drinks and food. At dinner it became the steak house resuaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were kept clean, beach was good typical for the north coast, there were always plenty of loungers brought to where you wished by staff.
There were many beach vendors but a polite no and they would leave.
There are two large pools always kept clean with lots of loungers around them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not go off the resort there was always enough to do.Entertainment was a different show each night.

Other Comments:
They do sell time share at the resort, there were many salesmen always trying to have you go to their presentation.
Once a week they have a managers party where all the management team are introduced.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube