BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > BlueBay Villas Doradas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

4.0 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2014

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata

2.6 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

BlueBay Villas Doradas  

Playa Dorada 538, Puerto Plata. Dominican Republic.

"Huge Waste of Money"
Posted by: Mark  on Jul 27, 2014
see all reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews
BlueBay Villas Doradas Pictures and Information
BlueBay Villas Doradas Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#3
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 4.1

Based on 28 reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Information


The hotel BlueBay Villas Doradas in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones makes it a favourite among golfers.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.1 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  16
Average
  2
Poor
  3
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"We enjoyed ourselves at Bluebay"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sean  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
267 people found this review helpful

14 of us (from 25 to 55 years old) went to the Blue Bay PP from Jan 18 - Jan 25. Overall we had a good time. Here is a summary of our vacation. We all noted that it is more like a Good 3.5 star but would be a fair 4 star at best. No major problem..but a bunch of small situations.

Flight: SkyService - OK

Arrival: We were very late getting in due to delays at the airport. Had no food for us. No reception and minimal to no information on arrival.

Meals: Overall we found the food good - quite acceptable. The buffet was good and the head chef was often seen on the floor taking care of the presentation and quality. We all agreed that the buffet overall was good. We took in two of the three a la cartes (Beef and Sea Food). We enjoyed them both very much and the service was excellent. We did not try the Chinese.

Rooms: Acceptable rooms with some good features and some weaknesses. No chairs or dressers but a large closet with a safe for $15/US per week. The bathroom was very nice. Water pressure varied from good to fair. We had a huge rain storm while we were there and several of our rooms leaked. The quality of cleaning varied: some of us received very good service and some fair only even though we all left tips and gifts everyday but it didn't seem to matter.

Excursions: We only did a catamaran due to the weather...we all loved it, even those that felt a bit of motion sickness. Booked from Cookie on the beach (no problems). However, the food was not up to our expectations..most of us didn't even try it.

Beach: The beach was nice and safe for walking, running, etc. There are many venders on the beach that keep asking you to buy. Look these are locals trying to make a living. We had no problems with them. Bought some of their stuff the first day and the rest of the time they left us alone..other then to say "Hi".

Entertainment: OK...A few really enjoyed the entertainment and some felt it was just OK. We all agreed that the CREW try really hard to make your time fun...but could use more professional guidance, especially for a 4 star resort. After 11pm there is no on site entertainment. The resort basically shuts down. (Bar remains open)

Staff: The staff overall is friendly and respectful. Watch out for the time share saleman in White. They will take up a whole morning / afternoon of your time...for a free t-shirt and cap. That being said one of our brothers went and indicated it was informatiive and a good deal if you are interested in such an opportunity, he wasn't and they respected that.

Overall Summary: The 14 of us had a great family vacation and we spent a lot of quality time with each other. We enjoyed ourselves very much and liked the DR people. We all agreed that there was more good about the resort then bad but this is not quite yet a four star resort. It was a good deal for the price we paid but we were glad we didn't spend more.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""Adult only" was very important to us."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Chris "Captain2002" & Nenita fro Oakville, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
286 people found this review helpful

My wife and I (53-59) stayed at Blue Bay January 13-27th., 2009. We booked our vacation last summer for a very good price through Sunwing. We booked early because 'adult only' was very important to us due to last year's debacle. Our flight was delayed a little due to de-icing, but not a big problem. We paid the extra money to pre book our seats in Elite class and was it was well worth it, with extra 10 KG per person, lots of leg room and express check in both in Toronto and Puerto Plata.

Check in. Very efficient and fast, we were approached by a staff member with a tray with a Canadian flag on it, two warm towels and a glass of ice tea. 5 minutes later we were in our room (#7112). Within 10 minutes of being at Blue Bay my wife's first comment was " this place is civilized"

Room. Very spacious and to our surprise a sitting area with 2 very comfy chairs for reading or watching TV. King size bed, dresser, 20" TV, huge closet with room safe ($30.00 for 2 weeks) and 3 drawers below. The closet had 4 doors and a light in it which turned off when the doors were closed. Marble and tiled bathroom with hair dryer. Never had an issue with water temperature or pressure, and we did shower at different times. Our room was one minute from the main buffet and pools, and also the quiet bar and pool, 2 minutes to the beach. Beach towels were in our room when we arrived and were changed every day or second day. Housekeepers were efficient and did a good job.

Food. Excellent, plenty of variety in the buffet for all 3 meals. There was an egg station at breakfast, along with a smoothie station. Lunch and dinner the pasta bar will make to any dish you like. A different theme every night for dinner, roast beef, pork, fish, turkey, you name it and was very good. We ate 3 times each at the El Pescadores (fish) & the El Dorado (steak) al a carte restaurants. The Mahi Mahi and grouper were excellent and the Argentinean steak and Chateaubriand for 2 were so tender you could cut them with your fork. We ordered medium rare and that is what we got. The best appetizers for us were the shrimp and avocado salad, breaded calamari and shrimp and grouper lasagna. Service was wonderful and they had a name tag on our table--nice touch. The snack bar at the beach was great for burgers, sausages, chicken, pizza and fries. How some people say they could not find anything to eat, blows me away. My wife does say that she would like to see an alternative to the hot cereal (oatmeal) offered at breakfast and that is the traditional Caribbean cornmeal.

Bars. There are 4, swim up, pool/entertainment, quiet and beach. Like most other resorts (Riu's) the main brand of liquor is Normandy, which well how can I say it nicely-- not top or middle shelf (a euphemism for awful), but with a smile and a por favor, you can always get Brugal(3 grades) & Russian Vodka. That is what I did and all was good.

Grounds. Well kept and maintained. Statues and romantic dinner set up were really a nice touch.

Tours. We have been going to the DR since 1989, so we have done them all previously.

Entertainment. We watched two shows, the Cirque du Soleil, and the water ballet. Both were good and worth the time. At our age we did not participate in any games, and after the first day of saying No Gracias, they left us alone and concentrated on the younger set. The animation team do work a long and hard day, and are always smiling and laughing. I got tired just watching them.

Pools. There are 3, the 3' deep swim up, the 4' sports activity pool and the 4' quiet pool (very small) All were clean and well maintained. A wee bit chilly for the first 30 seconds but great after that.

Beach. Clean and well maintained from what we could see, as we spent our time at the pools.

Staff. Very helpful, from Sr. Oscar Lora the G.M. to the groundskeepers. Many a time we saw management helping out in the restaurants, cleaning and setting tables for more guests to use. Sr. Lora has his finger on the pulse of this resort and it carries over to the staff.

Overall. All my comments so far have been very positive, however, we all know that no one resort is perfect. Here are my thoughts to enhance the positive:

More shade around the pool areas along with small tables to put your drinks, book, or camera down.
Umbrellas for every room, believe me we did need them. Perhaps candles in the buffet for dinner. We were asked to fill out a questionnaire while sitting at the back of the buffet restaurant one night and could not read it from lack of lighting.
A proper lounge or lobby bar would be a good addition, since the only bar open after 11:00 PM is the beach bar so there really is no alternative. At other resorts, we used to enjoy a drink or 3 relaxing in a nice lounge bar with friends after the entertainment is over. Housekeeping should clean the room at the same time every day, so guests can plan around that. Now having said that, would we go back? A big YES for the first time. we have never gone back to any resort we've been but are planning a return visit to Blue Bay in 2010.

Any questions contact PM me - Captain2002

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Heavenly Holiday at BlueBay"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvia from Ottawa, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
267 people found this review helpful

Heavenly Holiday at BlueBay

My husband and I just returned from our 4th 2 week holiday at BlueBay and again had a fabulous vacation. Our stay was from January 15 until February 1. While at the resort we met many former guests, some with whom we were acquainted.

Since we were at BlueBay last February we noted many positive changes:

The majority of staff remain at the resort and a great number of them show personal growth. They are more confident and have learned to speak more English, French and probably German. All staff are committed to providing guests with a good experience while on holiday.

The food is varied and of excellent quality in the buffet and three specialty restaurants. BlueBay has earned the Cristal Award of Excellence for 2008. A detailed description of the Cristal food safety risk management program can be found on the following website which is worthwhile reading:

http://www.checksafetyfirst.com/en/standards.php

The General Manager, Manager of Food Services, the head chef and others are constantly surveying the food stations ensuring that high standards are being maintained.

Our room was cleaned well every day; towels were changed twice a day. Durng the first week of our holiday our room was cleaned at irregular hours. At the beginning of the second week we were asked when we would prefer to have the room attended to and we requested before noon. From then on that's when it was done. There was a problem with water pressure for a period of time but this was due to a system failure in Puerto Plata and not the fault of the resort. Any small problems with plumbing etc were dealt with immediately. Later in the day we received a call to ask if the problem had been resolved. The lumpy pillows have been replaced with ones which are very comfortable. The new towels, inlcuding the beach towels, are thicker and fluffier.

The spa area is now a smoke free zone. Yea!

Thanks to the gardeners and maintence staff the grounds are beautifully kept. During the heavy rains staff members worked non stop to keep the walkways and public areas clear of water. However, it was impossible to keep up with the demands of that job.

I can't comment too much about most of the entertainment as my husband and I prefer to walk in the evening and visit with other guests rather than join in on the fun, However, we did enjoy the water ballet, circus and magic show. They are all not to be missed.

When we went to the beach it was nicely groomed and we always managed to find a lounger or a place to perch. However, we're not beach people and only went very early in the morning to walk or late in the afternoon to watch the waves. Beach staff will remove personal belongings from loungers if they're left for too long so beware of reserving places and disappearing for several hours. There are signs indicating this rule.

Room for improvement::
The resort could use a few more umbrellas around the pool areas. It was often difficult to find some shade.

Perhaps the next time the pathways are painted a non-slip paint can be used. The paths are extremely slippery when wet. That being said, Crocs are fabulous when it rains. They may not look elegant but they sure help keep a person upright.

Summary::
BlueBay is a fantastic, reasonably priced resort with staff dedicated to providing excellent friendly service. Guests can be assured of having a fine vacation and meeting wonderful people from Europe, Britain, Canada and the US. We certainly did.

If you would like any additional information do not hesitate to send me a personal message.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was a great resort !!!"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Helen  on Mar 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
242 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 8 to Feb 16
Fanatastic greeeting, we were welcomed to the hotel by lovly hostesses that handed out refreshing cool towels to refresh ourselves. then we were given our packages, with our keys and hotel info and a drink then invited to have lunch while our rooms were readied.

Rooms
Very clean, I had a large kingsize bed, with a beautiful swan towel to welcome me. the bathroom was amazing, nice towels and lots of hotwater any time of the day. Oh and every evening our fresh beach towels were brought to our room. No running trying to get your card ar trying to get fresh towel early in the morning

Restaurants and Bars
3 al a cartes, the Chinese was our favorite, the seafood was good and the brazillin not so brazilin beef chewey as anything, Great service everwhere. the buffet restaurant was excellent. I would have been happy there any night. there was always something good no it was not like at home but if I wanted canadian cooking I would have stayed in Canada. Hey your on an island of a poor country the quality is not what we get at home. 3 great bars and we tried them all it was fun to sit in the pool watching people havein a drink in the cool water. 2 different sluchie drinks to choose from hurray. Rum rum and more rum. Yumm

Beach/Pools/Grounds
beautiful, It rained the first 3 days so we stayed mostly by the pool area as we could run to our room or lobby or the entertainment are to hang out. Lots of places to get out of the sun both beach and pool. there was not as many flowers out but I think it the time of year and all the rain they had.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We did a tour of the city it rained so we mostly went from shopping area to shopping area also saw the rum factory and sampled more rum. the fort would have been nicer in the sunshine and we could not go up the cable car due to the rain. The activities were limited due to the rain. Only 3 in the activities planning they were pretty lame most of the time. really the only negative of the trip. the magician was amazing. I have been to lots of resorts and found this to be the poorest activities.

Other Comments
This year I left thinking I should have done 2 weeks. I could do 2 weeks here no problem. Usually I am quite ready to go. this was a great resort if you go to relax and have fun. No where will have the food of home so go with an open mind try different things and have fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No complaints."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie from Ottawa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
241 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Mar 1 to 8
All went well on arrival... our bus waiting ... short ride to the resort

Rooms
we originally had a regular room but upon request we were upgraded to a suite and it was extremely roomy and had a few chairs which was nice... the other rooms had no room for chairs... blow dryer and iron and ironing board in room... stocked bar fridge, for first load it is free if you get additional top up they charge you 10.00... so don't drink the stuff there, there is always a bar open.. the rooms are cleaned daily... we had no complaints...

Restaurants and Bars
we ate in all three a-la-carte and they were all fabulous... the food at the regular restaurant was really good too... no complaints there either

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Although it rained 4 days while we were there the staff kept the grounds and pools extremely neat and tidy. They were always sweeping and cleaning around the pool area and walkways to the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There is much to do at the resort and are anxious for you to try what they are up to... you know all the crazy games... also darts, bowling and that type of stuff.. there is a guy in the lobby that you can book any tour with... we did not book with him... the guy (Cookie) on the beach that they tell you not to use is usually about 20-25 cheaper.. we rented a driver and took our own tour... went to Puerto Plata, Sosua beach and a local school... that was a humbling experience... although we brought with us pencils, paper, crayons, candy and the like we all left feeling we needed to do something more...it was a Haitian camp and was extremely poor... We got the address of the school and we will try to sponsor some of the children sho had no uniforms to go to school... I did not like that...

Other Comments
while you are there be sure to visit the disco ... only a few minutes walk from the resort...Coco Bungo... that is an experience in itself ...lots of locals dancing .... fun to watch and participate in... if you go be sure to tell Enrique I say Hi....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really enjoyed our stay!!! Blue bay"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Raquel  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
268 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 24 - 31:
Flew in with Sunwing. Loved their service. Flight was on time. We quickly boarded the bus and were taken to our respective hotels. Check-in was smooth, with a refreshing cocktail. They proceeded to a group check-in, while siting in the lobby with a cool towel. Great! They asked for 5 volunteer rooms to move to the Victorias Resort next door as they had flooding issues from the previous day (It down poured the day before... Actually, they had to close the airport for a few hours). They offered compensation and it was all very well done.
The staff was very informative, very professional and our luggage arrived at our room 2 minutes after we went to it!

Rooms::
Rooms need some touch-ups. Nothing major. There are some damp spots along the ceiling, walls and curtains but hey, the humidity level is above 80% all year round!. They were very spacious. Bathroom was large with shampoo, conditionner,body wash, shoe shine, shower cap and sewing kit. TV had lots of channels. Mini bar was restocked with water everyday. The water is free. The beers and sodas are free the first time around only. In room safe for 15$ a week. 2 chairs with table. hair dryer, iron & board. The beds are VERY hard. That's the 1 thing I didn't like. The beach towels were in our room and changed everyday. Turn down service was wonderful, every evening. VERY clean.

Restaurants and Bars::
Honestly, they were all very good. Main buffet: They seat you, so no need to look for clean tables and cuttlery. You glass is refilled often and the service was excellent. it's very pretty. Breakfast: egg station, breads, meats, fruit, fresh smoothies. Lunch: pasta station, sandwich station, salads, desserts, etc. Dinner: different theme every night. Lots of choices. Truly enjoyed them. I saw the Chef and staff constantly mpnitoring the food, temperature, etc, etc. All 3 la carte were very good. Seafood: Mahi Mahi- Grill: Chateaubriand- Asian: Curry chicken with fried ice cream. Excellent choices. No problems getting reservations. Would recommend all three. 4 bars. great service. We always tipped our wonderful bartenders. Ask for Brugal and you shall receive. They local brand is Normandy and that well, is just alright.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
We stayed mostly at the beach. There were definitely not enough chairs or shade. We had to play the towel game. Unfortunately. However, it is well groomed and the beach bar and grill are right there. The water is not crystal clear as it is also mixed with some fresh water from the mountains that are right in Playa Dorada's backyard. beautiful!!!! It's a nice walk to the left and there are great spots for swimming as well as a flea market at the end of the beach. Vendors are doing their jobs. A simple no, gracias is enough. 2 main pools seem to have alot of activities but we're not pool people. We did go to the spa pool one afternoon to relax and boy, did we ever. great relaxing atmosphere! grouns are very pretty. Extremely well-kept. We did a couples aromatherapy 50 minute massage. It was fantastic :-) Prices were reasonable. $126.00 for the both of us.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did the Freestyle Catamaran and the Outback Jungle Safari . Well worth every penny. Informative, fun and would recommend both.

Also, for the partyers... There is Coco Bongo, a 2 minute walk from the hotel. it was happening after midnight and lots of fun! But mostly R&B, dance, etc... There was also a club called Spice and that was mostly Salsa, merengue and Bachata. Nice! it was not very full but we had a blast, with service for ourselves, and the DJ honoring pretty much any request we had! Drinks were approx. 4$ each, plus tip. Scotch was a little pricier. Like 7$. There are a few other clubs, mostly rock in and around the complex. We bought some of our souvenirs at the Plaza. Yes it was more expensive but we did not have to pay a cab to get downtown... There were our savings! 8$ for a bottle of rum and 3.50$ for coffee. 2$ for a magnet.

Other Comments::
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is very attentive to details. The GM, the Chef and everyone was around, asking guest about their stay, monitoring service, etc. The service was wonderful. Would we go back? Yes we would! But for the moment, we are not ready to start returning to the same hotels yet. We will, eventually though! Their repeat customer business is incredible! the majority of guests we ran into were repeat customers! So they are definitely doing something right!
racquelschubert@yahoo.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I do not feel this resort came close to our expectations"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jill  on Apr 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
267 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 19 - April 2
Only a 15 minute bus ride from the airport and a quick check-in. Arrived at 10 am but room wasn't available until 3:30. We had prepared a beach bag of stuff, so it wasn't a problem.

Rooms
The room was spartan, but more than adequate and the bathroom was large and nicely done. The constant smell of sewage off our balcony rendered it useless.

Restaurants and Bars
We found the mixed alcohol drinks to be inconsistent from one bar to the other. The wine was definitely watered down, as were the fruit drinks at the breakfast buffet. The food at the main buffet was very attractively presented, BUT it was very bland. Anything containing beef was inedible, it was so tough. The Steakhouse a la carte was fabulous. The beef was tender and tasty. The Oriental and Seafood a la carte had a great atmosphere and service, but the food was only so-so. We can only compare this place with other resorts we have visited over the past 14 years. We found it lacking.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
There are 3 lovely pools surrounded by some of the nicest landscaping I have seen. The beach area is a bit small, but adequate for a resort of this size. It is raked daily and we used it a lot. However, the entire resort has a serious lack of chairs and loungers. Three days of our 14, we were unable to find seating at any of the 3 pools or the beach! This is unacceptable. The Guest Relations person shrugged her shoulders and said there were more loungers due to arrive in 2-3 weeks! This is a serious problem that a lot of guests were complaining about. Also, the beach vendors and time-share staff were relentless. You would be saying "no, gracias" every 5 minutes, every day. Tiresome.

Other Comments
Sadly, I do not feel this resort came close to our expectations. It has fabulous curb appeal, but there were too many issues for us to recommend this resort. If good food, and comfortable relaxation are important to you, don't go. This place does not compare to other 4* resorts we have visited.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a bad time."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  John from Halifax, N.S.  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
340 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 12-26
April 12 well they were supose to great us with a cocktail and didn't recieve that very rude employees when we arrived.

Rooms:
I had 2 other people staying in the room with me and the room was small and smelled like pee and we requested a new room and didn't recieve this.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet food was not that good. The food was burnt and the service sucked. We ate mostly at the beach bar. The beach bar was alright but the bar tenders were tring to flirt my friend all the time became annoying. One night we went to the beach bar at 3am and all the staff was a sleep and it was supose to be 24 hour bar so we had to wake them up. Unexpectable i was a little mad.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well the grounds were well kept and pools where clean so it seemed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were ok after 11pm it sucked no disco or anything we did the disco tour and man it was awful all the locals were asking for money for drinks and to each girl 5 dominican guys were on them. We did the cable cars and rum factory which was awesome.

Other Comments:
We had a bad time the 3 of and we had another group come down our second week 25 more people. they arrived in on sunday at 10pm at the hotel and they were tired from there flight. On the monday we all got together laughed a carried on had a few drinks. Danced around the pool and were told to keep the noise down at 2pm in the afternoon. They said people were complaing about the noise. So we went around the pool and asked all the people and they said no you guys are very entertaining and we enjoy your company. I think they were made cause we took the attention away from the entertainers. If you think you are going to have fun at this resort well your in for a surprise its more like a resort for 50 yr old plus. One our last day I had $150.00 stolen from my locked up safe that was locked. And others had purses with just make up and stuff stolen sweaters and sneakers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A mediocre 3.5 star at best."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Katherine from Halifax, N.S.  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
309 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 12 - April 19, 2009:
We booked via GoTravelDirect and had a good flight down; a short 20 minute trip to the resort from the airport; fresh drinks awaiting, and a quick check in. I was not pleased about having to pay an extra $220 Cdn. on the way down and $36 US on the way back for luggage overage, but what can you do? That was no fault of GoTravel or Blue Bay Villas. Our travel rep from GoTravelDirect, Megan, was very sweet and helpful. Especially on our way back. We were scheduled to leave on Sunday at 9:15 pm and we found out early that morning that our flight was delayed due to mechanical failure on the plane. We were told we would be shuttled over to another resort down the road (a 5 minute walk). That wasn't so bad as it turned out to be an extra 18 hours in the Dominican, and although the second hotel was sadly lacking, it was a very nice beach and we ended up getting a two level apartment for four of us as two of the girls were staying on for an extra week.

Rooms::
My room # was 6104 and it was just across from the main lobby on the back side so it was quiet in terms of location. My friends stayed in 7108, 7111 and 7112. None of our party of six women (45 to 50) were impressed with the rooms. They were adequate. At first they put my friends in the series 5XXX rooms just across from the main lobby in the back. But within 5 minutes we quickly realized the rooms were overlooking some sort of a sewage system and by evening, they had their rooms changed to the 7XXX series. I stayed by myself in room #6104, and again, nothing special. The bed linen had a stain on it; the curtains were hanging off the runner and looked dirty. The room was incredibly noisy in terms of I could hear the guy and his wife next door watching TV every night; and I could hear him snoring. In fact, the walls were so thin, I could even hear some of their conversation, talking about the villas there that the high pressure sales guys tried to sell. Other than that, everything in the room worked, the overhead fan, air conditioning, iron and no problem with the hot water. Room cleaned very nice every day with pretty flowers, etc. One thing all the rooms lacked were shelves and dressers with drawers. In fact, I left my clothes in my suitcase for the whole week! Fresh beach towels were supplied and old wet beach towels were picked up daily. No problem with my key to the room not working.

Restaurants and Bars::
The only restaurant we went to was the seafood near the beach and none of us really liked our meal that much. The service was great, the staff very friendly, but the fish didn't taste like fish. It was too fishy for us. I couldn't even eat the muscles and the salmon was awful. Otherwise, nice atmosphere and beautiful setting but the food was not good. We were very happy to go to the buffet everyday; including the beach restaurant which had a VERY nice supply of food if you didn't feel like walking up to the main buffet.

However, I would have to say the best part of my trip at this resort was the buffet food. I was not disappointed. Always fresh, a wide variety every day, overall, very pleased. Staff very friendly at accommodating a table of six and were very efficient with the water, wine or drinks, etc.

The bar staff were great, very friendly. I always asked for mucho Brugal rum & diet coke and they were pleased to accommodate! The bartender at the beach bar was very friendly and always happy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The beach was beautiful, cleaned everyday and VERY long. You could walk for hours in either direction from the resort. I went for a walk four out of the seven days and got some of the nicest pics and videos of the whole trip. The sunrises and sunsets were just incredible. There are A LOT of vendors on the beach that can drive you nuts if you let them but if you just say 'no gracious' once, they will go away. They may come back again later, but just keep saying 'no gracious'! Not a lot of beach chairs and we discovered we had to get up by 7 am and grab our chairs for the day. You can't just put a towel over your chair and take off for an unlimited amount of time either as there is someone on the look out and after an hour they may come and take your chair. We never had any problem though and we had six chairs altogether every day in the same spot.

The water was beautiful and we went swimming everyday. Never had any problem with too much seaweed or murky water at all. The waves were just the right size (very small) and safe to swim in and not a lot of rock underfoot.

The pools were always kept clean. The main pool by the main restaurant and lobby entrance was a good size and plenty big enough for us. There was also a swim up bar here. We preferred to lay at the beach everyday and lounge at the pool later in the day.

The grounds were kept very nice and constantly cleaning or repainting something or other.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
This was our third year to this area so me and my friends were familiar with things. We went into Sosua a couple of times and had no problem getting a cab in and back. Do remember to barter with the cab driver. We didn't go on any tours otherwise as we were content to lay on the beach all day.

There was a plaza about 5 minutes down the road and we went there a couple of times and made a few purchases.

Other Comments::
It was unfortunate that I was unable to get a room next to all my friends as I was a single supplement. Even though we wrote to the general manager and another friend of mine five months in advance, it still didn't do us any good. When I finally did ask to be moved next to my friends three days into the vacation, they put me in a room that smelled so bad, we almost got sick just standing in it for 5 minutes. The rooms all smelled very musty, it was disgusting.

The staff, however, were ALL very friendly and accommodating. Enrique, Carlos, Ramone and a few other select people were great. Glad to help us anytime with our bags or whatever.

We enjoyed the availability of two wireless laptops to check email back home which were located in the front lobby. There is a 15 minute maximum which was perfect and kept people from hogging the computer.

The night life at the resort was VERY cheesy although the staff did the best they could. We could only bring ourselves to go to one or two shows and after that we knew better. The beach party was no better, again, although staff did their best. It had a different atmosphere too being outside on the beach and all so was refreshing.

Overall the resort was sparse and I found lacking in a more of the finer touches but we had a GREAT time, again, despite the less than stellar rooms.

I would not recommend this hotel but if you are looking for something on the cheap and are prepared to go to a mediocre 3.5 star AT BEST, then this is the place for you.

I would be happy to respond to any inquiries. Please feel free to drop me a line anytime!
Thank you.

kathrine@ns.sympatico.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was best value for money by far."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2009
255 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 20 April - May 04
Photos on arrival collected our cases then we were off on the coach to our hotel which took about 30 minutes with 3 stops on the way.A cocktail and 15 minute briefing on arrival at the hotel. Nice and relaxed.They didn't have our room allocation but 5 minutes later all sorted.

Rooms:
Basic but functional. We did move room but purely because i requested a balcony as i am a smoker and dont like to smoke in the room.Arrived on the Monday, requested a move on the tuesday and got moved on the wednesday. Nothing was too much trouble.Reception and bell boys fantastic

Restaurants and Bars:
Good choice of bars with many cocktails.If you wanted them stronger you just asked for mucho and they willingly obliged without having to tip.We tried all the a la cartes and thoroughly enjoyed all of them.The young lady who seemed to be the maitre d at 2 of the a la cartes was fantastic and treated you all as a good friend from the minute she met you.Food we found more than adequate at the buffet.Always plenty of choice. Majority of the waiters were excellent and humourous.Customer service at this hotel is the managers no 1 priority and it shows. Best staff ever.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Everything was spotless.They spent more than an hour cleaning each room which is why they sometimes dont get to some rooms till the afternoon,but i would rather have a clean room than worry about a maid being in our room at 5 o clock. Just go to the bar and have another couple of drinks!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good fun games etc every day,they did not hassle you if you did not want to join in. All crew worked extremely hard all day.We went on the catamaran tour arranged by Thomas cook and would definately recommend but please tip these guys as they are fantastic and on our boat the day we went not many people tipped which i thought was a real shame as they go out of their way to make your day memorable.Also did Ocean world, again highly recommended.Will do both trips again when we return.

Other Comments:
We have been to many all inclusives in both the caribbean and Europe and some 5 star and overall this was best value for money by far. Am looking to return in September even though it will be another 10 hour flight! The staff are a real credit to Oscar Lora the manager.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube