BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > BlueBay Villas Doradas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

3.9 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 9, 2013

Barcelo Puerto Plata

2.6 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

BlueBay Villas Doradas  

Playa Dorada 538, Puerto Plata. Dominican Republic.

"Huge Waste of Money"
Posted by: Mark  on Jul 27, 2014
see all reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews
BlueBay Villas Doradas Pictures and Information
BlueBay Villas Doradas Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#3
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 4.1

Based on 28 reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Information


The hotel BlueBay Villas Doradas in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.1 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  16
Average
  2
Poor
  3
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"I do not feel this resort came close to our expectations"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jill  on Apr 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
256 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 19 - April 2
Only a 15 minute bus ride from the airport and a quick check-in. Arrived at 10 am but room wasn't available until 3:30. We had prepared a beach bag of stuff, so it wasn't a problem.

Rooms
The room was spartan, but more than adequate and the bathroom was large and nicely done. The constant smell of sewage off our balcony rendered it useless.

Restaurants and Bars
We found the mixed alcohol drinks to be inconsistent from one bar to the other. The wine was definitely watered down, as were the fruit drinks at the breakfast buffet. The food at the main buffet was very attractively presented, BUT it was very bland. Anything containing beef was inedible, it was so tough. The Steakhouse a la carte was fabulous. The beef was tender and tasty. The Oriental and Seafood a la carte had a great atmosphere and service, but the food was only so-so. We can only compare this place with other resorts we have visited over the past 14 years. We found it lacking.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
There are 3 lovely pools surrounded by some of the nicest landscaping I have seen. The beach area is a bit small, but adequate for a resort of this size. It is raked daily and we used it a lot. However, the entire resort has a serious lack of chairs and loungers. Three days of our 14, we were unable to find seating at any of the 3 pools or the beach! This is unacceptable. The Guest Relations person shrugged her shoulders and said there were more loungers due to arrive in 2-3 weeks! This is a serious problem that a lot of guests were complaining about. Also, the beach vendors and time-share staff were relentless. You would be saying "no, gracias" every 5 minutes, every day. Tiresome.

Other Comments
Sadly, I do not feel this resort came close to our expectations. It has fabulous curb appeal, but there were too many issues for us to recommend this resort. If good food, and comfortable relaxation are important to you, don't go. This place does not compare to other 4* resorts we have visited.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Huge Waste of Money"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mark  on Jul 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
15 people found this review helpful

This was our first visit to the Dominican. We have always gone to “adults only” resorts in Cuba and thought we would try this resort for a change. What a huge mistake.

Room Number:
2201

Room Block:
2000

Arrival:
The service is terrible. The front desk staff is so disorganised and slow. Our room wouldn’t be ready until the next day so they were putting us in a VIP room for the night she told us. Like they were doing us a favor. Come back tomorrow at noon and we will move you to your assigned room. We were taken to the room and when we stepped inside my wife and I looked at one another. This room was about the same as a “standard” room at a Cuban 4 star. I started getting worried because if they considered this a VIP room what would we be getting tomorrow?? (we had the WestJet Gold package) And it took three hours of running back and forth to the front desk to get the safe to work. (they don’t answer their phone)

Rooms:
We had initially asked for a quiet room but instead were given a room in block 2 beside the stage area. Maybe it was because we walked out of their “Timeshare” presentation earlier in the day. Requests placed through WestJet and emails to Bluebay were ignored. This room was by far, the worst we have ever had at any resort. It reminded me of the barracks rooms when I was in the service. The room didn’t have any drawers or shelves for clothing so we pretty much lived out of our suitcases. The balcony faced the service road for the resort next door and their entertainment area. The tour busses and delivery trucks start rumbling in at around 5am every day. This was the noisiest room we have ever stayed in. I went back to the front desk and asked to move but was told they were full and couldn’t move us until the next Tuesday. It took all afternoon to get a working safe again. After bringing this to their attention multiple times it took yelling in the crowded lobby and a threat to change resorts before it was looked after. The sink wouldn’t drain and the faucet could be pulled right off. The shower sprayed all over the place and there was no place to sit except the edge of the bed. This was no more than a Two Star room.

Restaurants and Bars:
On a positive note, the food at the buffet was really good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Unless you were seated around people wearing black wrist bands (timeshare) then you were lucky to even get noticed. Also, the fried chicken at the beach bar was excellent. The bars were ok. Never had a problem getting a drink but the lobby bar is a pay bar. First time I have ever seen that at an A.I.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort, at first glance looks very nice and well taken care of, but a closer look will tell you it’s slowly falling apart. The loungers around the pool, what few there were, had to be checked out closely before you used them as many were broken. The pool decks needed cleaning most days. All of the tables and chairs around the entertainment/pool area are the cheap plastic ones like you would have at home on your deck.
We noticed the same with the loungers at the beach. We only went once but couldn’t find a seat in the shade. WestJet’s brochure stated that there was a private beach area for their Gold customers which turned out to be false.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment team tries really hard but most of it was pretty lame at best. The sound system was distorted most of the time. I don’t mind loud but can’t stand distortion.

Other Comments:
I really believe that the constant pestering from the CircleOne staff, and the apathetic performance of the reception staff have really let the resort down. We reported a few problems and nothing was ever done. There was never an apology or a smile just a lot of shoulder shrugging. We would never return to the Blue Bay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a bad time."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  John from Halifax, N.S.  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
330 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 12-26
April 12 well they were supose to great us with a cocktail and didn't recieve that very rude employees when we arrived.

Rooms:
I had 2 other people staying in the room with me and the room was small and smelled like pee and we requested a new room and didn't recieve this.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet food was not that good. The food was burnt and the service sucked. We ate mostly at the beach bar. The beach bar was alright but the bar tenders were tring to flirt my friend all the time became annoying. One night we went to the beach bar at 3am and all the staff was a sleep and it was supose to be 24 hour bar so we had to wake them up. Unexpectable i was a little mad.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well the grounds were well kept and pools where clean so it seemed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were ok after 11pm it sucked no disco or anything we did the disco tour and man it was awful all the locals were asking for money for drinks and to each girl 5 dominican guys were on them. We did the cable cars and rum factory which was awesome.

Other Comments:
We had a bad time the 3 of and we had another group come down our second week 25 more people. they arrived in on sunday at 10pm at the hotel and they were tired from there flight. On the monday we all got together laughed a carried on had a few drinks. Danced around the pool and were told to keep the noise down at 2pm in the afternoon. They said people were complaing about the noise. So we went around the pool and asked all the people and they said no you guys are very entertaining and we enjoy your company. I think they were made cause we took the attention away from the entertainers. If you think you are going to have fun at this resort well your in for a surprise its more like a resort for 50 yr old plus. One our last day I had $150.00 stolen from my locked up safe that was locked. And others had purses with just make up and stuff stolen sweaters and sneakers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mission accomplished"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  R  on Apr 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
549 people found this review helpful

I travelled solo to Bluebay. this was a 2 week vacation for me I was looking to unplug, enjoy some sun, rum and golf. I had never been to the Dominican Republic before (Cuba and Mexico though)so I did some research and read lots of reviews before booking.
I chose this resort because it was smaller, 240 rooms... great in my mind, you get to know some of the people at the resort,,,,, not only the staff (FANTASTIC) but the other guests. I found some good friends(went on a couple of excursions) and golf partners. as for the staff they were great. Being solo and most often eating alone, the staff was always accomodating and friendly (yes a tip does go a long way too!. Aracieles (spelling?!?) at the buffet was an absolute sweetheart to me. Rodolfo

Room Number:
6201

Room Block:
6000

Arrival:
my west jet flight was seriously delayed because of weather, oh well. I arrived 4 hours after I was supposed to. the front desk was efficient, they got me a quiet room, I had made a request for a room in the 6000 - 8000 block before leaving as I read these are the quieter rooms. I had a fruit plate waiting for me in my room (thank you) and my minifridge was full. the bell man took my bags (inlcuding golf clubs) to my room.

Rooms:
the reviews I read said the room was basic but comfy (I don't spend much time in my room), the bed was firm, the pillows could be plusher; However I was able to sleep quite well

The Housekeeping staff is great, my room was always clean, fresh clean towels every day, my A/C always worked, my water bottle was replaced regularly... I give an A+ to the housekeeping staff.

I travelled solo, so I did not have trouble with a lack of closet space, although I could see that it would be limited for 2 people. I had lots of space for my luggage and golf clubs. the windows open so you can get some of that sweet caribbean air.

the room does not have a bath tub, but the shower was more than adequate. I never had a lack of hot water.... sometimes the shower was too hot. REMEMBER you only drink the bottled water... use it to brush your teeth too!

this room does not have a balcony, however as I said before I didn't spend much time in my room.

Here is my complaint about the rooms.... they need better sound insulation... I could hear the stairwell and even other rooms.

Restaurants and Bars:
the food is great, there is a good variety of dishes at the buffet, and I do recommend the almost daily special roast. the roast pork was great. ( I am an Alberta boy so I never comment on any beef that isn't from my uncle's farm!)
very good breads
Great desserts! (ICE CREAM!)
the a la carte's are fine.... I am not a sea food eater but I enjoyed the mahi mahi at the seafood restaurant. the service was great as well.
Teppan is Teppan,
(see comment above about steak house)

I have read the reviews and some peoples complaints about the cocktails... Take an insulated mug as at the swim up bar there are only plastic cups.. also maybe you should tip your bartender... I tipped and I got great cocktails made in my insulated mug... good rum drinks (yes get the Brugal rum), my beer was only empty when I wanted it to be empty....

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach is brown sand, not white. it is kept clean, great swimming beach, shallow at the front but gets deep enough to swim quickly, nice water, you are on the atlantic so it is not crystal clear all the time, and you do get surf! Yes there are lots of Beach Vendors, but a polite no thank you works just fine! ... Take your sandals as the beach sand does get quite hot on the bottom of your feet!!!

the main pool with swim up bar is shallow, no diving!!!... Moises and Juan at the swim up bar were great, they kept me well supplied with beverages and more than a few laughs!.... I really appreciated the Beer break during the pool volleyball game in the deeper pool.... Gracias !!

the grounds were magnificent... they were very well maintained and clean. full marks to the grounds crew...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
paradise island - great snorkeling trip. a little disappointed that you spend 2 hours on the bus to get there, but the snorkeling and mangrove tour is great! ( I didn't get to see a manatee as the weather was kicking up a storm as we left.
if you are a golfer, get to playa grande.... fantastic golf course! great views (yes it is pricey)

the activity staff at the resort is fantastic.... be as active as you want!... I joined several activities... silly games.. volleyball.. beach games, and the staff are truly great... friendly, let you be lazy when you want, and will find you when you want to join in.

should you truly need a hockey fix... Hemingway's is a short walk away in the shopping mall, they have all the hockey games

Other Comments:
My impression of Dominican Republic... a little faster pace than I want, every one seems to want to sell you something. yes the time share salesmen and the beach vendors are always around, but as I said a polite no thank you was enough. Keep your wits about you..

As I said initially I wanted to "unplug", I did not take my phone or laptop, so I will not comment on the internet or wifi services available.

My mission was to 'unplug". I got sun on the beach, I drank rum at the swim up bar, I enjoyed the shows with a few more beverages, I ate well ( i have no complaints about the food) I swam and snorkeled, I got a few rounds of golf in.
This resort is a nice small friendly place, the room is basic, but clean and comfy, the grounds are immaculate, the beach is great, the staff is truly fantastic. I got what I wanted out of this vacation!

Mission accomplished

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A mediocre 3.5 star at best."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Katherine from Halifax, N.S.  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
299 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 12 - April 19, 2009:
We booked via GoTravelDirect and had a good flight down; a short 20 minute trip to the resort from the airport; fresh drinks awaiting, and a quick check in. I was not pleased about having to pay an extra $220 Cdn. on the way down and $36 US on the way back for luggage overage, but what can you do? That was no fault of GoTravel or Blue Bay Villas. Our travel rep from GoTravelDirect, Megan, was very sweet and helpful. Especially on our way back. We were scheduled to leave on Sunday at 9:15 pm and we found out early that morning that our flight was delayed due to mechanical failure on the plane. We were told we would be shuttled over to another resort down the road (a 5 minute walk). That wasn't so bad as it turned out to be an extra 18 hours in the Dominican, and although the second hotel was sadly lacking, it was a very nice beach and we ended up getting a two level apartment for four of us as two of the girls were staying on for an extra week.

Rooms::
My room # was 6104 and it was just across from the main lobby on the back side so it was quiet in terms of location. My friends stayed in 7108, 7111 and 7112. None of our party of six women (45 to 50) were impressed with the rooms. They were adequate. At first they put my friends in the series 5XXX rooms just across from the main lobby in the back. But within 5 minutes we quickly realized the rooms were overlooking some sort of a sewage system and by evening, they had their rooms changed to the 7XXX series. I stayed by myself in room #6104, and again, nothing special. The bed linen had a stain on it; the curtains were hanging off the runner and looked dirty. The room was incredibly noisy in terms of I could hear the guy and his wife next door watching TV every night; and I could hear him snoring. In fact, the walls were so thin, I could even hear some of their conversation, talking about the villas there that the high pressure sales guys tried to sell. Other than that, everything in the room worked, the overhead fan, air conditioning, iron and no problem with the hot water. Room cleaned very nice every day with pretty flowers, etc. One thing all the rooms lacked were shelves and dressers with drawers. In fact, I left my clothes in my suitcase for the whole week! Fresh beach towels were supplied and old wet beach towels were picked up daily. No problem with my key to the room not working.

Restaurants and Bars::
The only restaurant we went to was the seafood near the beach and none of us really liked our meal that much. The service was great, the staff very friendly, but the fish didn't taste like fish. It was too fishy for us. I couldn't even eat the muscles and the salmon was awful. Otherwise, nice atmosphere and beautiful setting but the food was not good. We were very happy to go to the buffet everyday; including the beach restaurant which had a VERY nice supply of food if you didn't feel like walking up to the main buffet.

However, I would have to say the best part of my trip at this resort was the buffet food. I was not disappointed. Always fresh, a wide variety every day, overall, very pleased. Staff very friendly at accommodating a table of six and were very efficient with the water, wine or drinks, etc.

The bar staff were great, very friendly. I always asked for mucho Brugal rum & diet coke and they were pleased to accommodate! The bartender at the beach bar was very friendly and always happy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The beach was beautiful, cleaned everyday and VERY long. You could walk for hours in either direction from the resort. I went for a walk four out of the seven days and got some of the nicest pics and videos of the whole trip. The sunrises and sunsets were just incredible. There are A LOT of vendors on the beach that can drive you nuts if you let them but if you just say 'no gracious' once, they will go away. They may come back again later, but just keep saying 'no gracious'! Not a lot of beach chairs and we discovered we had to get up by 7 am and grab our chairs for the day. You can't just put a towel over your chair and take off for an unlimited amount of time either as there is someone on the look out and after an hour they may come and take your chair. We never had any problem though and we had six chairs altogether every day in the same spot.

The water was beautiful and we went swimming everyday. Never had any problem with too much seaweed or murky water at all. The waves were just the right size (very small) and safe to swim in and not a lot of rock underfoot.

The pools were always kept clean. The main pool by the main restaurant and lobby entrance was a good size and plenty big enough for us. There was also a swim up bar here. We preferred to lay at the beach everyday and lounge at the pool later in the day.

The grounds were kept very nice and constantly cleaning or repainting something or other.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
This was our third year to this area so me and my friends were familiar with things. We went into Sosua a couple of times and had no problem getting a cab in and back. Do remember to barter with the cab driver. We didn't go on any tours otherwise as we were content to lay on the beach all day.

There was a plaza about 5 minutes down the road and we went there a couple of times and made a few purchases.

Other Comments::
It was unfortunate that I was unable to get a room next to all my friends as I was a single supplement. Even though we wrote to the general manager and another friend of mine five months in advance, it still didn't do us any good. When I finally did ask to be moved next to my friends three days into the vacation, they put me in a room that smelled so bad, we almost got sick just standing in it for 5 minutes. The rooms all smelled very musty, it was disgusting.

The staff, however, were ALL very friendly and accommodating. Enrique, Carlos, Ramone and a few other select people were great. Glad to help us anytime with our bags or whatever.

We enjoyed the availability of two wireless laptops to check email back home which were located in the front lobby. There is a 15 minute maximum which was perfect and kept people from hogging the computer.

The night life at the resort was VERY cheesy although the staff did the best they could. We could only bring ourselves to go to one or two shows and after that we knew better. The beach party was no better, again, although staff did their best. It had a different atmosphere too being outside on the beach and all so was refreshing.

Overall the resort was sparse and I found lacking in a more of the finer touches but we had a GREAT time, again, despite the less than stellar rooms.

I would not recommend this hotel but if you are looking for something on the cheap and are prepared to go to a mediocre 3.5 star AT BEST, then this is the place for you.

I would be happy to respond to any inquiries. Please feel free to drop me a line anytime!
Thank you.

kathrine@ns.sympatico.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort does cater to adults only"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl from Ontario  on Nov 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
661 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
This is a small compact resort Rooms were keep very clean (our made loved bleach) The staff always poke to you in a very friendly manner and went out of their way to serve you

Rooms:
The rooms are small but efficient

Restaurants and Bars:
The 3 a la carte are very good - small but never cramped - service is top notch and food is very good - even the wine is good - the buffet had a good variety - we loved the smooties at breakfast. The service at all the pools was good - I loved the non smoking pool area

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is nice but could use more loungers

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't do any activities or tours

Other Comments:
This resort does cater to adults only - it is evident in the seating arrangements - 2 to a table - you are not forced to sit with someone else

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were very happy and satisfied with the resort, food, entertainment, service, etc."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer from Ottawa, ON  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
640 people found this review helpful

Arrival March 2008:
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Before going, we read a lot of reviews, some of which were negative, but the majority were very positive. We were very happy and satisfied with the resort, food, entertainment, service, etc.

Rooms:
Small, but for the time you stay there, it has everything you need. You can be upgraded to a suite for a cost.

Restaurants and Bars:
3 restaurants - Seafood, Chinese and Grill. All were very good. The buffet always had fresh food and a great variety.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
2 pools, one with an in pool swim up bar. The grounds were extremely clean, workers were tidying up every morning. the beach is a short walk over a bridge. It can be a bit dirty after a storm, but they cleaned it up quickly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We visited a nearby town. Fun, but don't think I would do it again.

Other Comments:
I was wondering why this resort was not mentioned before.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No complaints."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie from Ottawa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
233 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Mar 1 to 8
All went well on arrival... our bus waiting ... short ride to the resort

Rooms
we originally had a regular room but upon request we were upgraded to a suite and it was extremely roomy and had a few chairs which was nice... the other rooms had no room for chairs... blow dryer and iron and ironing board in room... stocked bar fridge, for first load it is free if you get additional top up they charge you 10.00... so don't drink the stuff there, there is always a bar open.. the rooms are cleaned daily... we had no complaints...

Restaurants and Bars
we ate in all three a-la-carte and they were all fabulous... the food at the regular restaurant was really good too... no complaints there either

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Although it rained 4 days while we were there the staff kept the grounds and pools extremely neat and tidy. They were always sweeping and cleaning around the pool area and walkways to the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There is much to do at the resort and are anxious for you to try what they are up to... you know all the crazy games... also darts, bowling and that type of stuff.. there is a guy in the lobby that you can book any tour with... we did not book with him... the guy (Cookie) on the beach that they tell you not to use is usually about 20-25 cheaper.. we rented a driver and took our own tour... went to Puerto Plata, Sosua beach and a local school... that was a humbling experience... although we brought with us pencils, paper, crayons, candy and the like we all left feeling we needed to do something more...it was a Haitian camp and was extremely poor... We got the address of the school and we will try to sponsor some of the children sho had no uniforms to go to school... I did not like that...

Other Comments
while you are there be sure to visit the disco ... only a few minutes walk from the resort...Coco Bungo... that is an experience in itself ...lots of locals dancing .... fun to watch and participate in... if you go be sure to tell Enrique I say Hi....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really enjoyed our stay!!! Blue bay"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Raquel  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
257 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 24 - 31:
Flew in with Sunwing. Loved their service. Flight was on time. We quickly boarded the bus and were taken to our respective hotels. Check-in was smooth, with a refreshing cocktail. They proceeded to a group check-in, while siting in the lobby with a cool towel. Great! They asked for 5 volunteer rooms to move to the Victorias Resort next door as they had flooding issues from the previous day (It down poured the day before... Actually, they had to close the airport for a few hours). They offered compensation and it was all very well done.
The staff was very informative, very professional and our luggage arrived at our room 2 minutes after we went to it!

Rooms::
Rooms need some touch-ups. Nothing major. There are some damp spots along the ceiling, walls and curtains but hey, the humidity level is above 80% all year round!. They were very spacious. Bathroom was large with shampoo, conditionner,body wash, shoe shine, shower cap and sewing kit. TV had lots of channels. Mini bar was restocked with water everyday. The water is free. The beers and sodas are free the first time around only. In room safe for 15$ a week. 2 chairs with table. hair dryer, iron & board. The beds are VERY hard. That's the 1 thing I didn't like. The beach towels were in our room and changed everyday. Turn down service was wonderful, every evening. VERY clean.

Restaurants and Bars::
Honestly, they were all very good. Main buffet: They seat you, so no need to look for clean tables and cuttlery. You glass is refilled often and the service was excellent. it's very pretty. Breakfast: egg station, breads, meats, fruit, fresh smoothies. Lunch: pasta station, sandwich station, salads, desserts, etc. Dinner: different theme every night. Lots of choices. Truly enjoyed them. I saw the Chef and staff constantly mpnitoring the food, temperature, etc, etc. All 3 Ã la carte were very good. Seafood: Mahi Mahi- Grill: Chateaubriand- Asian: Curry chicken with fried ice cream. Excellent choices. No problems getting reservations. Would recommend all three. 4 bars. great service. We always tipped our wonderful bartenders. Ask for Brugal and you shall receive. They local brand is Normandy and that well, is just alright.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
We stayed mostly at the beach. There were definitely not enough chairs or shade. We had to play the towel game. Unfortunately. However, it is well groomed and the beach bar and grill are right there. The water is not crystal clear as it is also mixed with some fresh water from the mountains that are right in Playa Dorada's backyard. beautiful!!!! It's a nice walk to the left and there are great spots for swimming as well as a flea market at the end of the beach. Vendors are doing their jobs. A simple no, gracias is enough. 2 main pools seem to have alot of activities but we're not pool people. We did go to the spa pool one afternoon to relax and boy, did we ever. great relaxing atmosphere! grouns are very pretty. Extremely well-kept. We did a couples aromatherapy 50 minute massage. It was fantastic :-) Prices were reasonable. $126.00 for the both of us.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did the Freestyle Catamaran and the Outback Jungle Safari . Well worth every penny. Informative, fun and would recommend both.

Also, for the partyers... There is Coco Bongo, a 2 minute walk from the hotel. it was happening after midnight and lots of fun! But mostly R&B, dance, etc... There was also a club called Spice and that was mostly Salsa, merengue and Bachata. Nice! it was not very full but we had a blast, with service for ourselves, and the DJ honoring pretty much any request we had! Drinks were approx. 4$ each, plus tip. Scotch was a little pricier. Like 7$. There are a few other clubs, mostly rock in and around the complex. We bought some of our souvenirs at the Plaza. Yes it was more expensive but we did not have to pay a cab to get downtown... There were our savings! 8$ for a bottle of rum and 3.50$ for coffee. 2$ for a magnet.

Other Comments::
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is very attentive to details. The GM, the Chef and everyone was around, asking guest about their stay, monitoring service, etc. The service was wonderful. Would we go back? Yes we would! But for the moment, we are not ready to start returning to the same hotels yet. We will, eventually though! Their repeat customer business is incredible! the majority of guests we ran into were repeat customers! So they are definitely doing something right!
racquelschubert@yahoo.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We enjoyed ourselves at Bluebay"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sean  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
257 people found this review helpful

14 of us (from 25 to 55 years old) went to the Blue Bay PP from Jan 18 - Jan 25. Overall we had a good time. Here is a summary of our vacation. We all noted that it is more like a Good 3.5 star but would be a fair 4 star at best. No major problem..but a bunch of small situations.

Flight: SkyService - OK

Arrival: We were very late getting in due to delays at the airport. Had no food for us. No reception and minimal to no information on arrival.

Meals: Overall we found the food good - quite acceptable. The buffet was good and the head chef was often seen on the floor taking care of the presentation and quality. We all agreed that the buffet overall was good. We took in two of the three a la cartes (Beef and Sea Food). We enjoyed them both very much and the service was excellent. We did not try the Chinese.

Rooms: Acceptable rooms with some good features and some weaknesses. No chairs or dressers but a large closet with a safe for $15/US per week. The bathroom was very nice. Water pressure varied from good to fair. We had a huge rain storm while we were there and several of our rooms leaked. The quality of cleaning varied: some of us received very good service and some fair only even though we all left tips and gifts everyday but it didn't seem to matter.

Excursions: We only did a catamaran due to the weather...we all loved it, even those that felt a bit of motion sickness. Booked from Cookie on the beach (no problems). However, the food was not up to our expectations..most of us didn't even try it.

Beach: The beach was nice and safe for walking, running, etc. There are many venders on the beach that keep asking you to buy. Look these are locals trying to make a living. We had no problems with them. Bought some of their stuff the first day and the rest of the time they left us alone..other then to say "Hi".

Entertainment: OK...A few really enjoyed the entertainment and some felt it was just OK. We all agreed that the CREW try really hard to make your time fun...but could use more professional guidance, especially for a 4 star resort. After 11pm there is no on site entertainment. The resort basically shuts down. (Bar remains open)

Staff: The staff overall is friendly and respectful. Watch out for the time share saleman in White. They will take up a whole morning / afternoon of your time...for a free t-shirt and cap. That being said one of our brothers went and indicated it was informatiive and a good deal if you are interested in such an opportunity, he wasn't and they respected that.

Overall Summary: The 14 of us had a great family vacation and we spent a lot of quality time with each other. We enjoyed ourselves very much and liked the DR people. We all agreed that there was more good about the resort then bad but this is not quite yet a four star resort. It was a good deal for the price we paid but we were glad we didn't spend more.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube