BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > BlueBay Villas Doradas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

3.9 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 9, 2013

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata

2.6 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada

1.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2010

BlueBay Villas Doradas  

Playa Dorada 538, Puerto Plata. Dominican Republic.

"Huge Waste of Money"
Posted by: Mark  on Jul 27, 2014
see all reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews
BlueBay Villas Doradas Pictures and Information
BlueBay Villas Doradas Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#3
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 4.1

Based on 28 reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Information


The hotel BlueBay Villas Doradas in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones makes it a favourite among golfers.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BlueBay Villas Doradas Reviews

BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.1 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  16
Average
  2
Poor
  3
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Family and Kids
Solo
11 - 20 of 28

"A very good place to spend a week."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Jun 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
976 people found this review helpful

General Perception
Blue Bay Villas Doradas resort is a very good place to spend a week. It is a smaller more boutique type resort than we normally go to, however this actually permitted us to have a more enjoyable time due to the higher level of service than we often get in bigger resorts.

Your Arrival:
Flight
We flew Canjet, which generally was fine. The "snack" was just that and the seats do not allow for much wiggle room. We booked through Nolitours and expected to fly Air Transat, which has more room in the cabin. Fortunately, it was not a really long flight.
Check-in
One of the benefits of a smaller resort and travelling off-season, is highly personal service. We were the only ones checking in at approx 10 PM on this Thursday evening. So we were seated in the lobby and the check-in package was provided and explained to us in a matter of minutes.
We were given a chilled face cloth and drink while we completed what little paperwork there was and the gentleman checking us in asked us if we were hungry. I indicated I would like something and he immediately set about hurrying us over to the buffet before it closed at 10 PM. He arranged a table and told us to take our time and he would watch our luggage until we were done, then have us taken to our room.
When we got to our room the porter explained how to use all the facilities, including the in-room safe. When he left I began to try to program the safe, with no luck and after about 5 minutes I decided to go to the Front Desk to see what was wrong. As I exited the room, he was coming back with a new Safe Key Card. He had seen something about the particular model of Safe in our room that made him think my card was wrong. He was correct, one try and I had it working. I was pretty impressed by the whole check-in process and the staff I dealt with on day one.
My only negative comment was that we had asked our travel agent for a second floor room and we ended up in a ground floor room during a time when I estimate the resort was maybe at half capacity.

Rooms:
Room
Frankly, the room was suitable, however unimpressive. It was certainly clean and did not have any smells, critters or major defects. As others have said there is not very much room for storing your "stuff". The closet had 15 hangers, 2 small shelves and 3 small draws built into it.
The bathroom is really kind of tiny and the door opens into it which blocks the shower, so moving around in it could be a challenge. However, everything worked and there was reasonable water pressure and hot water.
There is a desk, which I think is probably not a good "fit" for a resort and in one end is a cupboard which contains a Bar-fridge. A piece of furniture with additional storage space on the right side might be a better idea. The space and fridge are mis-matched, which often means moving the fridge slightly to open and close it. There is a further mis-match between the Fridge and purified water bottle, which results in the fridge door popping open and leaking out cool air and working too hard. It also fills with condensated water from the humidity in the air. Not a great thing for a resort that has cards in the room indicating a desire to be an environmentally friendly operation.
The air conditioning seemed to work just fine and even though while we were there it was very warm and humid, the room was always comfortable within a reasonable period of time (the air conditioner does not run while you are out of the room if you remove your key card from the controller near the door). We had a room (3105) very near the pool. And we did not experience any significant noise issues at anytime during our week.
In summary the room was not up to a Canadian 5 Star standard, however it was more than adequate as a place to call home during a week of holidays or even a couple of weeks for those who stay longer.
Room Cleaning
Our room was cleaned daily, although some aspects were hit and miss. Firstly I have to say that the room was kept very clean throughout our stay. No problem there.
However on a couple occasions, face clothes were removed and not replaced or hand towels were removed and not replaced. Next day they would be back. Also we had evening turn-down service and beach towel replacement a couple evenings and not others.
We also found it funny that our room lady took the empty water bottle and this did not trigger a replacement being brought. I went to the Front Desk and asked for more water and a very pleasant lady showed up at our door in less than 10 minutes with our replacement, so it was no big deal, just funny that the connection between being out of water and replacing it was not made.

Restaurants and Bars:
Meals
Food is a very personal thing and we thought that the food at the buffet was great. The buffet was smaller (number of selections at any given time) than at some of the other resorts we have been at, however that reflects the smaller size of the resort. There were items that we selected that we probably would not go for again, but that was more because we found things we liked better. All in all, I would rate the food in the top 3 of any all inclusive resort that we have been to. The Omelet and Pasta station were my personal favourite.
I was quite impressed that during our stay we saw most of the senior management team have numerous meals at the buffet. This is a great way to ensure a consistent level of quality.
We went to the Jade Garden (Oriental Fusion) and El Pescador (Seafood). At the Jade Garden one entre did not quite hit the mark, while the other one was great. At the El Pescador we both had better than great meals and the staff were superb. We were treated like royalty, it was a 5 star experience.
In previous reviews I have seen negative comments about the birds that fly into the buffet (mostly in the morning) and steal food. Guess what, if the restaurant has a completely open side, birds will fly in. I watched all week and not once did I see any kind of droppings. I actually enjoyed the entertainment of watching the birds try to position themselves for any scraps that they could get. One tip don't fill you plate and then leave it unattended while you get something else. Think of this as being at a week long picnic.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach
We have been to the Dominican Republic 7 times, to 6 different resorts and all in all this is the best beach we have been to. It is reasonably deep from front to back and because of the Playa Dorada compound, if you like walking, you can walk for a couple miles. It is relatively flat and calm. There is a rock/coral structure that is about 25 feet wide mid-way across the beach in the water about 5 - 10 feet out, that hides in the surf to watch out for, but other than that it has a nice sand bottom.
Yes it does have junk float up everyday, however that is not the resort's fault and regrettable you will get that anywhere in the Caribbean. Mostly plastic bottles and bags that float in from off shore. As well as some plastic drink glasses that get blown off the beach into the water. There is a team who works everyday to clean the stuff that floats up onto the beach in the entire Playa Dorada compound. They do a pretty good job keeping the beach clean. It would be really great if tourists could be taught that a beach is not their ash tray and these thoughtless people would not leave cigarette butts in the sand.
Once again I would like to remind travelers to take an insulated mug with a lid. Buy a decent one and your drink will stay cold longer, you won't get sand in your drink and you will save on garbage in paradise. I once estimated that each traveler with a insulated mug saves about 70 plastic glasses per week.
There was about a 16 thatched shade areas, which worked during our week, however when the resort is at full capacity it could be a challenge finding shade. And we read a report about a lack of loungers. While we were there you could see, by the shades of blue on the chairs that they recently got a lot more. I am guessing that they recently doubled the number of loungers on the beach. They also have a few "beach beds", you have to be up pretty early to get them during the day. We actually liked to go and watch the ocean at night and used them for that.
Just up the beach from the resort (to the left when looking at the ocean), in front of the Gran Ventana is some really good snorkeling, right off the beach. It is a short walk just around the end of the point and you're there.
Pools
There are two main pools. They are small and shallow, approx 3 feet. So in really hot weather, like we had, they get pretty warm. There are as many loungers as will reasonably fit around the pool and there are a decent number of umbrella's.
General Grounds
In general the resort is well maintained and we found everything to be nearby when needed. The walk to the beach is pleasant and they have done a good job building a bridge over a wet lands area. I think it is terrific that they chose to protect this area from development.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment
The house band was my personal favourite. The animation team put on a couple evenings of basic resort shows which were ok, they work hard. There was not much happening during the day, they did have some activities that I saw, however with about only 50% occupancy (my estimate) it was a challenge for them to get things going

Time Share and Souvenir Sales:
The VIP Club Sales guys will tell you that they are not offering a time share, however they will try to entice you to listen to their offer. It is a multiple step process and can quickly consume a couple hours. If you are not interested, a pleasant no thank you seems to work. It also seemed that after you darken from a couple days in the sun they didn't ask you as often. Probably went on to fresh meat, fair skin beware. The souvenir people on the beach came around everyday and again a pleasant "no thank you" or "maybe tomorrow" and they were on their way.

Staff in General:
When you look at an operation like this one, I think you can tell a lot about how it works by watching the leadership. On Tuesday evening they have a "Managers Cocktail Party" and I would highly recommend attending. The General Manager of the resort, Oscar Lora, is a very impressive man, who during his address to us said that he was proud and honoured to have the team of employees he had at Blue Bay and I believe he was very sincere in that statement. His front-line management team was made up of what I thought was a great mix of experienced (older) and younger managers who represented both off island and Dominican Republic citizens. I commend him for giving locals the opportunity for advancement. I suspect one of the benefits of smaller resorts is that if the management team cares to, they can get to know the names and stories of all of their employee's, my perception is that this management team operates this way.
We found all of the staff that we met to be above average in their approach to us and the general happiness they presented to their guests. Everything we requested was done and always with a smile and pleasant attitude. We were welcomed "home" a number of times during our stay, which I thought was a nice approach. I believe that this team provided the best customer service we have received at any all inclusive resort we have been to and is only so slightly behind the service we experienced on Cruise Ships.

Summary:
I would definitely recommend this resort to friends looking for a nice small resort experience. Based on the service, beach and snorkeling alone, I would consider it again for my own holiday plans.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fun little resort."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mel & Bob  on Mar 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
1012 people found this review helpful

This was a great holiday. It was small enough to be friendly and big enough keep busy if you choose. The beach was beautiful. The Seafood, Grill and/or 24 hour bar and snack bar is at the beach. It's a great spot day or night.
The pool area has lots going on with a bar on dry land and a swim up. The swim up bar has a great bartender, worth the swim for sure.

Shopping: There is a 'tourist' mall if you leave from the main entrance to the right. You can get basic needs, exchange money plus there.
If you walk down the beach (go left) 30 minute walk (give or take) you'll find the Orange Market. It's a bunch of little shops individual owned. You can barter there, it's pretty much required.

Your Arrival:
We were offered drink upon arriving. And sat with a representative to discuss some of what the hotel offers, where to get things done and who to talk to for what.

Rooms:
We has heard that there were some rooms with no balcony we we got one. We had discuss whether to move and decide to try it for a day first. It was very large room with huge windows so we asked for 2 patio chairs, open our huge windows and made our own balcony. It actually worked very well and we wouldn't change a thing.

We were in building 7 which is far from the nightly entertainment and on the way to the beach. Good position.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars were great, friendly, creative and fun. Food was fantastic with lots of choices. Made to order omelets for breakfast and made to order pasta during lunch and dinner, we all loved that.

El Dorado restaurant (Grill)- short menu but great food. French Onion Soup is really just onion soup but the salad/salmon appetizer were over the top.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pet peeve: Chair saving I've never seen it so bad. I've got a picture of one towel saving 3 chairs. I complained to Guest Services and their response was the standard nod and smile.
We meet a couple who in the morning saved their 2 chairs while they were out on a morning excursion away from the hotel, they claimed their chairs at 2:pm in the afternoon. There is an easy fix for this but it's up to the hotel.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We toke 3 excursions.

1. Dune Buggy-Great time! With one regretful stink puddle, not sure why we went past what looked to be a dump. We were on the big cars which proved to be more comfortable for the big guys. We purchased the video, it's well done. I'd do it again.

2. Puerta Plata-Cool. I like seeing the culture of an area. You will find some begging, persistent sales people and some scary driving (lane lines are only a suggestion and 4 can fit on a motorbike) lol

3. Outback Safari-This can be a bumpy ride so those with motion sickness can sit in the front, they are very obliging. I appreciate that the company sponsors some schools in the area but I didn't feel it was necessary to interrupt their class.
It was a bit to long but we enjoyed the tour, the boogie boarding was fantastic: note where a tight one piece.

Other Comments:
Bonus: We were on vacation during part of the 2010 Olympic and were able to watch the hockey games. The hotels were promoting Mister Rock (a bitlike Hard Rock). There was also Hemingway's. But we had friend who knew of another:The Roadway. It looks like a country bar, they had probably the most screens. The games were on American channels (regrettable) but it was 99% Canadians in the bar. It was a total patriotic high and a great time. Full house inside and out and some people on the walkway watch in the windows (they got served out there as well).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Little Resort at the right price"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  The Lanes  on Feb 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
606 people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our two weeks at this hotel. We have traveled south for two weeks every year since 1991 and have been to the Dominican quite a few times.

Your Arrival:
We were welcomed at the front desk with a cold drink and a cool towel.
Check in was easy and quite refreshing.

Rooms:
Our first room was a bit off the beaten path, but that is quite common with most hotels unless you book a specific room or type of view. We requested a room change and the front desk was very accomodating, even letting us view a couple rooms before switching. We chose a room in block #3 facing the pool which was nice but a bit loud until after the evening show around 11pm.If you like to retire early we suggest a room in block #7 or #8 near the spa area.
The rooms in general are quite clean however the bathrooms are very tiny in the basic rooms ( one person at a time )I'm over 6'. We were never short of hot water or water pressure during our stay.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food here can be summed up with one word Delicious! We are not fussy eaters and the food at this buffet was a treat. Never had a problem filling our plates with tasty meals and some of the best deserts. The smoothies in the morning are a nice touch. The staff are always ready with a friendly hello and a quick smile. We visited all 3 ala carts and were pleased with our meals at every one. I was surprised at how few guests left even a small tip after dinner even though I know it's not required.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool with the swim up bar was always a beehive of activty with the entertainment staff mostly focused in this area. There was the normal lack of shadey spots as well as chairs. Lots of people played the get up early and put a towel and a book on a chair game. Not uncommon to see people up at 6:30 claiming a favorite spot then returning to bed. I give credit to the lad who was working the beach chairs as he was always eager to find you a chair and he established a 1 hour rule. If a chair sat empty with only a towel on it for too long he would remove the towel to free up the seat and deal with the owner when they finally showed up.
The grounds are very well kept, everyone working very hard at it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment staff do a fine job around the pool area but they are rarely seen at the beach. The vendors are always at the beach area yet they are friendly and respond quite well to a simple no thanks. The hotel could use some new sporting equipment ie. Volleyball. If you like to play beach
V-ball then bring a ball and start a game on your own.

Other Comments:
All in all we had a great vacation and would reccomend this resort to friends looking to visit a decent resort at a fair price. We plan a return trip to Blue Bay Villas.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best 2 weeks vacation ever"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel  on Jan 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
636 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Uneventfull; flew Canjet from Halifax. Left late but arrived early due to a nice tailwind. Check-in was very quick has we were the only two that got off the bus at this resort.

Rooms:
Room 3110 at the back of building #3. First floor room with terrace equipped with a table an 2 chairs. Room itself was huge with a king bed, sitting area and closet. Only down side is the fact that there were no drawers. A small dresser would be a nice addition; the room is certainly big enough. Good size bathroom with walk-in shower. Amenities included 2 tooth brushes with toothpaste, 2 shavers and shaving cream, sewing kit, shoshine and the usual soap, body gel and shampoo. You also receive your beach towels in your room every night when they do the turn down service all you have to do is leave the one you use during the day on the floor.(no card system).

Restaurants and Bars:
There is one buffet restaurant and 3 a la carte (Oriental, Steakhouse & Sea food). Our favorite was the Oriental but this certainly a matter of personal taste as we certainly met people that either preferred the Steakhouse or the Seafood. The buffet has a good selection and everybody should be able to find something to their liking. Every night there is a different themeand when you are done they have a cart set up at the entrance/exit of the buffet where you can get a specialty coffee (spanish, irish etc...). Franklin the restaurant and bar manager is certaiiinly a man that works very hard; he is always there to great you with a smile and help with service; it seems that he never sleeps. There are also 4 bars including the spa bar, swimup bar and the beach bar which is open 24/7. The other bars technically open at 10:00 however they were always open before. A special thank you to Roghe (swimup bar) and Alejandra (pool bar & smoothie bar) as well as Pablo at the beach bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is nice with dark sand as is the case in the Puerto Plata region. A couple of Bali beds on the beach and enough loungers for everyboday if you are on the beach before 10:00 am. Some people were complaining that the beachfront was not very wide but personnally I certainly feel that it was wide enough for the size of the resort and you never felt crowded. There also 3 pools: the small and very quiet spa pool (non-smoking area), the activity pool and the leisure pool where the swimup bar is located. All the area are kept extremely clean and it seems that the staff is always cleaning or painting something. The pool deck was washed every morning with soap and water and the rest of the grounds are very well manicure. It is to be noted that there is a swamp area that you need to cross on a bridge to get from the resort to the beach. We recommend bug spray for early in the morning and for after the sun goes down; those mosquitoes can be deadly. To end this section on a happy note you do get butler service at both the pools and the beach which was unexpected.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not do any activity outside the resort however my wife participated in almost everything the animation team known has the CREW and led by Lorenzo had to offer including water aerobics, horsehoe, darts, bingo, cooking lessons and even paintings. Thank you to Rambo, Rhianna, Angie, Karina & James Bond for making our stay one of the most enjoyable.

Other Comments:
While we were there we also had the pleasure to attend the weekly cocktail party where M Oscar Lora (hotel manager) invites the hotel guests and where he introduces his senior staff. We had the chance to have a little chat with Oscar and he is a very interesting man to talk to and very easy man to approach. We definitely highly recommend this resort. For the price we paid we were pleasantly surprised with the level of service and the frills that were included. We certainly paid a lot more for a lot less in the past. I am ready to answer any questions.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort does cater to adults only"

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl from Ontario  on Nov 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
666 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
This is a small compact resort Rooms were keep very clean (our made loved bleach) The staff always poke to you in a very friendly manner and went out of their way to serve you

Rooms:
The rooms are small but efficient

Restaurants and Bars:
The 3 a la carte are very good - small but never cramped - service is top notch and food is very good - even the wine is good - the buffet had a good variety - we loved the smooties at breakfast. The service at all the pools was good - I loved the non smoking pool area

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is nice but could use more loungers

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't do any activities or tours

Other Comments:
This resort does cater to adults only - it is evident in the seating arrangements - 2 to a table - you are not forced to sit with someone else

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were very happy and satisfied with the resort, food, entertainment, service, etc."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer from Ottawa, ON  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
647 people found this review helpful

Arrival March 2008:
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Before going, we read a lot of reviews, some of which were negative, but the majority were very positive. We were very happy and satisfied with the resort, food, entertainment, service, etc.

Rooms:
Small, but for the time you stay there, it has everything you need. You can be upgraded to a suite for a cost.

Restaurants and Bars:
3 restaurants - Seafood, Chinese and Grill. All were very good. The buffet always had fresh food and a great variety.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
2 pools, one with an in pool swim up bar. The grounds were extremely clean, workers were tidying up every morning. the beach is a short walk over a bridge. It can be a bit dirty after a storm, but they cleaned it up quickly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We visited a nearby town. Fun, but don't think I would do it again.

Other Comments:
I was wondering why this resort was not mentioned before.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were quite impressed and are planning a return visit to this 'zen' like resort."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Wendy from Ottawa  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2009
331 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 8 to 15
A quick drive in a large air conditioned bus and then we were guided into the lobby for a cool cocktail and cold cloth. All of the public areas have about 3 story high ceilings and a there is a 'zen' like atmosphere in the lobby with it's high canvass 'walls' and huge morroccan lamps.

Rooms:
Our rooms (2) were located just beside the large pool with the swim-up bar. We were on the ground level and across the hall from one another. One of the rooms had 2 queen sized beds and a small bathroom and the other room had a king sized bed and a huge bathroom. Both rooms were kept very clean and on random days had lovely animals crafted out of our refreshed towels. Each evening the jumbo sized beach towels were also replaced. Even though there was only one small dresser, there were plenty of hangers to hang clothes.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went to each of the restaurants once and found the Oriental one the best. I had chosen it as the one that I wanted to go to on my birthday and my friends secretly told the staff and had ordered me a cake. It ended up being my favourite from the buffet and it even had Happy Birthday and my name on it. It has been my experience that chicken, pork and fish are done well in the carribean but that they have a hard time with beef. This was true of this resort also but they did marvelous hamburgers at the beach bar. Speaking of the beach, it is a substantial building on the beach with a seafood restaurant on one side of the bar, and the grill restaurant on the other. During the day (actually 24 hours) the 24 hour snacks are hamburgers, hotdogs, pizza, chicken wings, and nachos. The restroom facilities at the beach are in a separate building and are marble lined. In the evening during the restauant hours, the paper towels are replaced with rolled hand towels. The buffet was great. For breakfast they had a fruit smoothie bar each morning and also several jugs of fresh juice on the bar behind. You had to make sure that you got a glass of juice before the ice cubes melted and watered it down. For lunch there was always a pasta area where you could pick what you wanted for your choice of pasta. For both lunch and dinner there was a low fat selection that appeared repetative, but I didn't sample much from it - I was on holiday! At dinner they had a spanish coffee 'cart' at 1900 and we developed a habit of picking one up at the beginning of each evening meal!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were immaculate and the pools well taken care of. One of the nights they had floating candles on the main pool. Cupid (cute employee with a huge diaper) handed out red paper hearts on Valentines Day, 2 lovely ladies in Vegas style dancer outfits posed for pictures, and at the beach a vampy nurse was collecting names for activities.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did go on the tour of the city which for the most part was a washout because of a rainstorm. There is a small mall a short walk away and it wasn't until the bus ride back to the airport that we realized that we could have walked an equally short walk in the other direction to a fairly large casino.

Other Comments:
We were quite impressed and are planning a 2 week return visit to this 'zen' like resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A brilliant holiday."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Mark from Kilmarnock, Scotland  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2009
453 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 26 - June 9
We were greeted off our bus at reception by a welcoming committee of dancing girls and hotel staff. We were then led through to the outdoor entertainment area/theatre where we were seated and provided with a welcome drink and a cold towel to cool down our necks and foreheads. A member of staff then gave a 5 min presentation on the complex before bus boys led us to our rooms.

Rooms:
Ideal. 2 large king size beds, fridge with a couple of beers, sprite, coke and large container of water. TV with plenty of english speaking channels. Bathroom was perfectly functional, only slight gripe was issues with water temperature in the shower sometimes.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent. I could have survived at the buffet alone, however visited the steak place twice, fish twice and oriental three times. The bar service was excellent, never more than a minute would you wait for a drink. The 24 hour beach bar was handy and did get visited late on a few times during our stay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach fantastic. Lovely clean sand, although I now understand the beach's are public in the Dom Rep. That said, the guys that looked after the sun loungers were also straight to you if you arrived and there were no spare beds. They would ask where you wanted yours and pull a couple out. Pools, I was only in the hotel pools twice and both times purely to cool down. I found it too hot during the day in the hotel areas so spent my time mainly on the beach where the breeze kept me at the right temperature. Grounds - excellent again. Constantly being tended to, though the workmen were never in your way. Grass constantly being cut, gardens tended too, pool area re-grouted at night. Sunbeds during the day were like gold dust, especially by the quiet pool. Not a major issue for me due to my preference of being on the beach however on the last day we wanted to make the most of our last few hours in the sun were by the quiet pool by 6.45 am and there were already towels out. Over the next hour we watched people come from their rooms to lay towels and head back to bed. Not on in my opinion, and the hotel should have done more to enforce their own rules which stated that beds could not be kept if not in use. The lake with the family of ducks which sounded like cows was great. Made my wife's day if she spotted the ducklings on our way to and from the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
One of the big highlights of this holiday was an Entertainment team that were actually good and made you want to get involved, something I have NEVER done on any previous holiday. Firstly I should say, a quick "no thanks" was all it took if something was happening that you were not interested in but within the first week I had been a judge on a Sushi making contest, a competitor in the darts tournament, hoopla tournament and cocktail making contest. Rambo, Eddie Murphy, James Bond, Teddy and Lorenzo really are a fantastic team and work so hard to ensure the guests had a great time.

Tour wise, we went on the Catamaran trip aboard Freestyle 2. An excellent day of snorkelling, sunning and rum drinking. Also we went to Paradise Island. While I enjoyed the day (a special mention to our rep Willis who was great) I found 2.5 hours on the island a wee bit too long especially as there is no toilet. The speedboats were fun, lunch tasty and the bus journey interesting. Seeing various parts of any country always interests me. The stop to see the cigars being made was great and resulted in me buying a nice pack of vanilla flavoured Don Alejandro to bring home.

Other Comments:
A brilliant holiday. My wife and I now have a rum addiction, a couple of great new friends (hey Chris and Victoria!!), I have a wee taste for cigars ;-) and 2 weeks of memories that we will never forget. I spent my honeymoon in Mexico last year and thought I would never enjoy another holiday as much as that.... I was wrong!! Roll on October and a return to the Blue Bay!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a bad time."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  John from Halifax, N.S.  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
336 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 12-26
April 12 well they were supose to great us with a cocktail and didn't recieve that very rude employees when we arrived.

Rooms:
I had 2 other people staying in the room with me and the room was small and smelled like pee and we requested a new room and didn't recieve this.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet food was not that good. The food was burnt and the service sucked. We ate mostly at the beach bar. The beach bar was alright but the bar tenders were tring to flirt my friend all the time became annoying. One night we went to the beach bar at 3am and all the staff was a sleep and it was supose to be 24 hour bar so we had to wake them up. Unexpectable i was a little mad.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well the grounds were well kept and pools where clean so it seemed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were ok after 11pm it sucked no disco or anything we did the disco tour and man it was awful all the locals were asking for money for drinks and to each girl 5 dominican guys were on them. We did the cable cars and rum factory which was awesome.

Other Comments:
We had a bad time the 3 of and we had another group come down our second week 25 more people. they arrived in on sunday at 10pm at the hotel and they were tired from there flight. On the monday we all got together laughed a carried on had a few drinks. Danced around the pool and were told to keep the noise down at 2pm in the afternoon. They said people were complaing about the noise. So we went around the pool and asked all the people and they said no you guys are very entertaining and we enjoy your company. I think they were made cause we took the attention away from the entertainers. If you think you are going to have fun at this resort well your in for a surprise its more like a resort for 50 yr old plus. One our last day I had $150.00 stolen from my locked up safe that was locked. And others had purses with just make up and stuff stolen sweaters and sneakers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A mediocre 3.5 star at best."

BlueBay Villas Doradas
User Rating:  BlueBay Villas Doradas Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Katherine from Halifax, N.S.  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
305 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 12 - April 19, 2009:
We booked via GoTravelDirect and had a good flight down; a short 20 minute trip to the resort from the airport; fresh drinks awaiting, and a quick check in. I was not pleased about having to pay an extra $220 Cdn. on the way down and $36 US on the way back for luggage overage, but what can you do? That was no fault of GoTravel or Blue Bay Villas. Our travel rep from GoTravelDirect, Megan, was very sweet and helpful. Especially on our way back. We were scheduled to leave on Sunday at 9:15 pm and we found out early that morning that our flight was delayed due to mechanical failure on the plane. We were told we would be shuttled over to another resort down the road (a 5 minute walk). That wasn't so bad as it turned out to be an extra 18 hours in the Dominican, and although the second hotel was sadly lacking, it was a very nice beach and we ended up getting a two level apartment for four of us as two of the girls were staying on for an extra week.

Rooms::
My room # was 6104 and it was just across from the main lobby on the back side so it was quiet in terms of location. My friends stayed in 7108, 7111 and 7112. None of our party of six women (45 to 50) were impressed with the rooms. They were adequate. At first they put my friends in the series 5XXX rooms just across from the main lobby in the back. But within 5 minutes we quickly realized the rooms were overlooking some sort of a sewage system and by evening, they had their rooms changed to the 7XXX series. I stayed by myself in room #6104, and again, nothing special. The bed linen had a stain on it; the curtains were hanging off the runner and looked dirty. The room was incredibly noisy in terms of I could hear the guy and his wife next door watching TV every night; and I could hear him snoring. In fact, the walls were so thin, I could even hear some of their conversation, talking about the villas there that the high pressure sales guys tried to sell. Other than that, everything in the room worked, the overhead fan, air conditioning, iron and no problem with the hot water. Room cleaned very nice every day with pretty flowers, etc. One thing all the rooms lacked were shelves and dressers with drawers. In fact, I left my clothes in my suitcase for the whole week! Fresh beach towels were supplied and old wet beach towels were picked up daily. No problem with my key to the room not working.

Restaurants and Bars::
The only restaurant we went to was the seafood near the beach and none of us really liked our meal that much. The service was great, the staff very friendly, but the fish didn't taste like fish. It was too fishy for us. I couldn't even eat the muscles and the salmon was awful. Otherwise, nice atmosphere and beautiful setting but the food was not good. We were very happy to go to the buffet everyday; including the beach restaurant which had a VERY nice supply of food if you didn't feel like walking up to the main buffet.

However, I would have to say the best part of my trip at this resort was the buffet food. I was not disappointed. Always fresh, a wide variety every day, overall, very pleased. Staff very friendly at accommodating a table of six and were very efficient with the water, wine or drinks, etc.

The bar staff were great, very friendly. I always asked for mucho Brugal rum & diet coke and they were pleased to accommodate! The bartender at the beach bar was very friendly and always happy.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The beach was beautiful, cleaned everyday and VERY long. You could walk for hours in either direction from the resort. I went for a walk four out of the seven days and got some of the nicest pics and videos of the whole trip. The sunrises and sunsets were just incredible. There are A LOT of vendors on the beach that can drive you nuts if you let them but if you just say 'no gracious' once, they will go away. They may come back again later, but just keep saying 'no gracious'! Not a lot of beach chairs and we discovered we had to get up by 7 am and grab our chairs for the day. You can't just put a towel over your chair and take off for an unlimited amount of time either as there is someone on the look out and after an hour they may come and take your chair. We never had any problem though and we had six chairs altogether every day in the same spot.

The water was beautiful and we went swimming everyday. Never had any problem with too much seaweed or murky water at all. The waves were just the right size (very small) and safe to swim in and not a lot of rock underfoot.

The pools were always kept clean. The main pool by the main restaurant and lobby entrance was a good size and plenty big enough for us. There was also a swim up bar here. We preferred to lay at the beach everyday and lounge at the pool later in the day.

The grounds were kept very nice and constantly cleaning or repainting something or other.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
This was our third year to this area so me and my friends were familiar with things. We went into Sosua a couple of times and had no problem getting a cab in and back. Do remember to barter with the cab driver. We didn't go on any tours otherwise as we were content to lay on the beach all day.

There was a plaza about 5 minutes down the road and we went there a couple of times and made a few purchases.

Other Comments::
It was unfortunate that I was unable to get a room next to all my friends as I was a single supplement. Even though we wrote to the general manager and another friend of mine five months in advance, it still didn't do us any good. When I finally did ask to be moved next to my friends three days into the vacation, they put me in a room that smelled so bad, we almost got sick just standing in it for 5 minutes. The rooms all smelled very musty, it was disgusting.

The staff, however, were ALL very friendly and accommodating. Enrique, Carlos, Ramone and a few other select people were great. Glad to help us anytime with our bags or whatever.

We enjoyed the availability of two wireless laptops to check email back home which were located in the front lobby. There is a 15 minute maximum which was perfect and kept people from hogging the computer.

The night life at the resort was VERY cheesy although the staff did the best they could. We could only bring ourselves to go to one or two shows and after that we knew better. The beach party was no better, again, although staff did their best. It had a different atmosphere too being outside on the beach and all so was refreshing.

Overall the resort was sparse and I found lacking in a more of the finer touches but we had a GREAT time, again, despite the less than stellar rooms.

I would not recommend this hotel but if you are looking for something on the cheap and are prepared to go to a mediocre 3.5 star AT BEST, then this is the place for you.

I would be happy to respond to any inquiries. Please feel free to drop me a line anytime!
Thank you.

kathrine@ns.sympatico.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube