Ambos Mundos Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Ambos Mundos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos  

Calle Obispo No. 153 esq. a Mercaderes. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"There are better options"
Posted by: Craig on Oct 19, 2014
see all reviews

Ambos Mundos Reviews
Ambos Mundos Pictures and Information
Ambos Mundos Old Havana Cuba

#9
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.7

Based on 23 reviews

Ambos Mundos Information


Ernest Hemingway had many reasons for saying that Hotel Ambos Mundos was a good spot for writing. Some of his works were written here such as the novel Green Hills of Africa (1935). The room where the Nobel Literature Prizewinner stayed in the 1930s has been preserved today as a small museum that possesses several of his belongings.

Ambos Mundos official website
http://www.hotelambosmundos-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Ambos Mundos Reviews

Ambos Mundos Review: 3.7 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  7
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 23

"There are better options"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Craig  on Oct 19, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
0 people found this review helpful

Well, it is hard to say whether this hotel is not worth at all for the price or it is just that type of place that needs a bit of popularity so it can become one of the well known hotels with high reputation. I decided to visit Cuba with my family so we can spend some more family time during this busy hard working day’s that we had back here in Canada. So Cuba was a really nice place to visit for this kind of purpose that me and my family had.
Anyhow, this hotel has many positive things that are really worth it, but still there are some simple things that make you so mad at the same time. The hygiene standards are high, that can be seen right away from the look of the lobby and the restaurant. Of course the rooms are very nice and clean too. For me the hygiene is very important because of the food and the rooms, especially when I'm traveling with my kids so from that perspective I can say that this hotel fulfills that standard completely. The meals at the restaurant are great too because you have great meal no matter if you choose a typical Cuban dish or something else and at the same time you can enjoy in the great view.
But during the time that we spend at this hotel we had to face some minor, but not completely not important issues. For example, one of the days there was no water for like 5 or 6 hours. We didn’t get any explanation why that happened in the first place. Some of the furniture is old and makes funny sounds when you decide to use it. So that kind of stuff is something that makes you doubt your decision whether to stay at this place or leave it.
If you decide to visit this city I would recommend you to see if there are some better options available, and only if there is not, then decide to use this hotel because it has normal price and great location.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not the best choice"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  stacey  on Aug 20, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
7 people found this review helpful

This is not my first or best choice but it is a good place to visit while in Havana to have some nice mojitos. It is a shame that such a beautiful hotel with potentials in such a central location could be so under maintained. I think there is a renovation process going on there because of all the hammering and construction going on it was so noisy. It is a good thing that it is undergoing renovation but those major things that are supposed to have been updated in rooms for guests are not even present. An example is the air condition that was in my room, yes there was one but it was non functional at the time I was at this hotel and considering the weather, that was almost intolerable for me. Now the Pros: the staff here is much nicer than some I have met in bigger hotels and the roof top restaurant offers very nice meal options. Eating breakfast or any other meal from that roof top, it is wonderful; imagine taking is a nice meal from such a lovely view. The rooms are small and a bit dark and gloomy if you may. It was as if the floors of the rooms and hotel haven’t been washed in a while. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone because the value is low even though the price is reasonable. The hallways and the grounds require cleaning and update, it is moist and smells funny.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disastrous stay - would not recommend"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rachel Adkins  on Nov 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
127 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
535

Arrival:
On arrival (being transferred by and from another hotel) we were grudgingly greeted by reception staff who were obviously not pleased to see us.

Rooms:
One room (521) was by the elevator and stairs, the other (535) had the ceiling falling down onto the beds in white flakes. 535 did not appear to have been cleaned (or used) recently - the beds were not aired and the bedlinen damp.

Both were extremely noisy – especially late at night when tables and chairs with metal legs were scraped across the 6th floor restaurant and then early in the morning when this was repeated. Noise from the elevator and stairs continued until late at night. All of us had disturbed sleep during our stay. Neither room had bedside lamps.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast: on the 2nd morning we discovered why the coffee the previous day had been weak – when they ran out instead of making a fresh lot, they poured hot water into the container, which filtered through already used coffee grounds! Staff stood around watching tv during breakfast time, while guests made do with whatever had not run out on the breakfast buffet. Things were not replenished.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Super hotel, tres bien situe. Sur la route d' Hemingway"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chantal Pannatier-Rey  on Apr 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
154 people found this review helpful

Bonjour, je recommande à tous cet hôtel, extrêmement bien situé sur la rue Obispo, la grande rue piétonne de Havanna. Personnel charmant, chambre propre, douche ok. Personne jouant du piano dans le hall. Petit-dej servi sur le toit avec tout ce qu'il faut et pourtant je suis difficile. Seul hic, le prix élevé.

Room Number:
538

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
20h

Rooms:
ok

Restaurants and Bars:
ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No pools

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good location"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  peter l doessing  on Mar 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
188 people found this review helpful

Exellent location in center of Havana. Rooms ok but not more. Breakfast standard very low and service in the restaurant really slow.
Service in rest of the hotel exellent and the atmosphere in the hotel gives 4 stars

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laurie Alder  on Feb 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

Lovely old colonial building tastefully restored. Very disappointed on arrival to get a room with no window (there are several), but this was very quickly fixed with good intervention from the hotel management and Cuba TRavel Network, ending up with a great room with balcony view right next door to Hemingway's room. Friendly staff.

Room Number:
515

Arrival:
Friendly reception. Good welcome cocktail.

Rooms:
Basic but ok.

Restaurants and Bars:
Fantastic rooftop restaurant for fully loaded breakfast, but the coffee was far too weak and cold (American) for my European taste !

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
N/A

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
N/A

Other Comments:
Good location right in centre of old Havana

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Noisy, smelly, dirty, no hot water, no pressure (shower)"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fannie Guilbeault  on Jan 26, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
189 people found this review helpful

The room was dark and it smelt humidity. There was no hot water (the water was luckewarm) and it took 10 minutes for the shower to come on (with little water pressure). My pillow case was ripped.
The worse hotel experience in a long time...

Room Number:
408

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Historik and pitoresk experience"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Poul  on Nov 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
236 people found this review helpful

Acvtually we stayed at ambos Mundos for 3 nights while adventuring Habana.
A nice place to stay. Friendly staff, fine rooms, good food and a very central place with a lot of life just outside the door!

Room Number:
505

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel with a lot of 'character' but very old, dirty and not worth the high price"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bernard Kleijn  on Nov 18, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

Compared to European standards, this hotel was a big bummer. We are experienced travellers and would not return for the amount of Euros we've had to pay.

Yes, it has a great roof terrace with good views over Havanna; unlucky enough, the roofs of Havanna do not get the same attention as some of the gables/facades do, so what you are actually looking at is not that interesting.
We found the room very basic with water coming up through the floor in the room and in the bathroom. Worst of all was the terribly dirty room. We found loads of black hairs and where they don't look, they don't clean. I ended up doing the bathroom floor myself using our towels. This place should not cost more than € 40 a room a night in high season.

Room Number:
304

Arrival:
Reception + staff in good order

Rooms:
Small, dark, humid and (worst) dirty

Restaurants and Bars:
Ground level bar is good, as is the roof terrace. Just not good enough to allow for the high price.

Other Comments:
We booked this one for 3 days in order to have something available upon our arrival. Next time Cuba - if at all - we will be staying with Casas Particulares only. Most bang for your buck, safe and you are able to come closer to the Cuban culture that you want to get to know.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ambos Mundos Havana"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel Walding  on Oct 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
242 people found this review helpful

Well it's a lovely old hotel like many in Havana, and famous for being where Ernest Hemingway stayed back in the 30's. You can go visit his old room up on the 5th floor.
I stayed in the 'junior suite' immediately below Hemingway's room. Not great value at ~$200/night and it smelt a bit musty. I guess the price puts many people off. Great views from the three balconies of the room though (it's a strange L shape). I swear there is a ghost upstairs in Hemingaw's room though! Could hear chairs being moved around at night and what sounded like someone tapping a pencil. Who you gonna call???
All in all, a lovely hotel and if you have the spare $ it's worth staying in for the novelty. Great location too.

Room Number:
406

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube