Ambos Mundos Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Ambos Mundos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos  

Calle Obispo No. 153 esq. a Mercaderes. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"There are better options"
Posted by: Craig on Oct 19, 2014
see all reviews

Ambos Mundos Reviews
Ambos Mundos Pictures and Information
Ambos Mundos Old Havana Cuba

#9
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.7

Based on 23 reviews

Ambos Mundos Information


Ernest Hemingway had many reasons for saying that Hotel Ambos Mundos was a good spot for writing. Some of his works were written here such as the novel Green Hills of Africa (1935). The room where the Nobel Literature Prizewinner stayed in the 1930s has been preserved today as a small museum that possesses several of his belongings.

Ambos Mundos official website
http://www.hotelambosmundos-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Ambos Mundos Reviews

Ambos Mundos Review: 3.7 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  7
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 23

"Romantic Alternative to Varadero AI's"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jason Brooke  on Apr 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2005
6724 people found this review helpful

After an all day, and rather circuitous, journey from northern New England, where snow still covered the ground, we (wife, self, and daughters, aged 12 and 7) found ourselves looking down from the balcony of our fourth floor room onto the vibrant street scenes below, at the coner of Obisbo and Mercadores Strees in the heart of romantic Habana Vieja. Salsa music wafted on tropical air from the nearby Plaza de Armas and, even though it was midnight, there were many people strolling about the streets below. We were fascinated; we watched, hypnotically, for more than an hour, 'til travel fatigue overcame us. Next morning, before setting out on a tour of the city, we ejoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast at the open-air rooftop restaurant. Before heading down to Santiago de Cuba, we enjoyed two more nights at the Ambos Mundos, plus another two nights before departing Cuba. The staff was OUTSTANDING, personable, solicitious, often even anticipating our needs. The lobby piano bar, just off the street, is a nice place to relax and have a snack. The rooftop, open air restaurant was a particular favorite for breakfasts. Although the hotel lacks a swimming pool, who needs it, with so much to see and do in Habana! Like Hemingway did in the 1930's and 1940's (his room #501 is preserved as a mini-museum), we hope to return again and again to the Ambos Mundos, and would recommend it to anyone who treasures romance and individuality.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great location"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  rrrr  on Apr 15, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Antigua and Barbuda
Visited on: Apr, 2005
5726 people found this review helpful

The accomodation's basic, but the roof terrace bar's pleasant and the staff unbelievably friendly and helpful above and beyond the call of duty. Fantastic location right in the centre of old Havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Clean and convenient"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  lola ca  on May 6, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005
4386 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Ambos Mundos for a week in April 2005. It was very clean, the staff friendly and helpful, almost all spoke english, and it was a pleasant experience. It was a little noisy due to the construction of a building next door, and the music from the street went on until well after midnight, but overall it is an excellent hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Closing of a wonderful summer in Cuba"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andrés  on Aug 3, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Aug, 2008
5621 people found this review helpful

Was the end of our holidays of the 2006's summer in CUba, we spent 5 weeks living wonderfully with our cubans friends, and with our son that is living and studying in this wonderful isle. At the end my wife thought that we must spent our last night in a hotel in Havana, and we select Ambos Mundos, because we are in love with Old Havana. It was a good selection, in all senses, it was a brief stay but we have wonderful memories. We recommend it absolutly

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful place"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  codrut  on Jan 5, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ROMANIA
Visited on: Jan, 2009
5494 people found this review helpful

We stay in Ambos for one week at the beginning of October. Is a very good place to stay, especially the terrace is a wonderful place in the morning but also in the afternoon. The Hotel can be considered at 3+ stars in Europe, I understood was completely refurbished in 2006. One recommendation, go to the meal early in morning other way there is no open breakfast. Very good place to stay, in case you want to be close to the old Havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"El mejor"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ross & Dorothy  on Feb 24, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2009
3128 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the hotel in February 2009 at the end of a great holiday in Havana. Everything about the hotel and its staff was perfect. Especially the rooftop bar/restaurant and the music of Los Tainos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I lived and learned its history"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  yaritza de quesada  on Aug 25, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2009
2413 people found this review helpful

I wish all the best to all the staff at this hotel, they are really nice and cook for and attend guests in the very best way. Bye to Yary from Miami, I loved your balcony, from where I looked out over all of Havana. Every time I come to Cuba I come here to visit my familly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ambos Mundos"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Ethel Barford  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 1998
1830 people found this review helpful

I recently stayed at the Ambos Mundos Hotel with 3 friends (all female and all over 60)It was a perfect choice for sight -seeing as everything was within walking distance. The hotel itself was slightly past its best but certainly adequate for our needs. Breakfast on the sun terrace was the best part of our stay. There were a few problems but not enough to spoil our holiday. The shower leaked and the floor of the bathroom was permanently wet. Clean towels were in short supply, so I would suggest you take your own. Also, toilet rolls seemed to be rationed. Apart from these problems we had a very enjoyable stay and absolutely loved Havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice experience"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Chiara Cutaia  on Mar 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
246 people found this review helpful

I spent in havana for 3 days in the Ambos Mundos hotel. It was really nice. We were in the room 303, small but enough for us. I liked so much the reception. It was wide and rich of music all the time. We spent lot of time sitting there drinking mohitos and listening to the piano.
In the upper part of the hotel there is a nice terrace where you can have breakfast. It's "continental" breakfast , not suitable for italian people but you can see all the city around.
You are in the center of Old Havana a good position to walk around.

Room Number:
303

Arrival:
05.03.11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Toilet nightmare"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jairam Kamala Ramakrishnan  on Jul 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
333 people found this review helpful

Nice reputed hotel, but such a shame that they do not check the room facilities before issuing to a new guest. The room I had did not have a telephone (but funnily enough had telephone call information card!). The toilet flush did not work. Fortunately or unfortunately I detected this only in the morning and thankfully only after emptying my bladder and not bowel! I had to wait for about half an hour for someone to fix the toilet flush and in the meantime, I was disappointed that the receptionist did not even offer the use of an alternate toilet facility in the meantime. The television remote batteries were dead. To top it all, the lift attender demanded a bigger tip than the one offered!!

However the location of the hotel is nice and decoration tasteful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube