Ambos Mundos Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Ambos Mundos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O┬┤Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos  

Calle Obispo No. 153 esq. a Mercaderes. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"There are better options"
Posted by: Craig on Oct 19, 2014
see all reviews

Ambos Mundos Reviews
Ambos Mundos Pictures and Information
Ambos Mundos Old Havana Cuba

#9
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.7

Based on 23 reviews

Ambos Mundos Information


Ernest Hemingway had many reasons for saying that Hotel Ambos Mundos was a good spot for writing. Some of his works were written here such as the novel Green Hills of Africa (1935). The room where the Nobel Literature Prizewinner stayed in the 1930s has been preserved today as a small museum that possesses several of his belongings.

Ambos Mundos official website
http://www.hotelambosmundos-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Ambos Mundos Reviews

Ambos Mundos Review: 3.7 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  7
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (15)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
21 - 23 of 23

"Clean and convenient"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  lola ca  on May 6, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005
4386 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Ambos Mundos for a week in April 2005. It was very clean, the staff friendly and helpful, almost all spoke english, and it was a pleasant experience. It was a little noisy due to the construction of a building next door, and the music from the street went on until well after midnight, but overall it is an excellent hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great location"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  rrrr  on Apr 15, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Antigua and Barbuda
Visited on: Apr, 2005
5726 people found this review helpful

The accomodation's basic, but the roof terrace bar's pleasant and the staff unbelievably friendly and helpful above and beyond the call of duty. Fantastic location right in the centre of old Havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Romantic Alternative to Varadero AI's"

Ambos Mundos
User Rating:  Ambos Mundos Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jason Brooke  on Apr 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2005
6724 people found this review helpful

After an all day, and rather circuitous, journey from northern New England, where snow still covered the ground, we (wife, self, and daughters, aged 12 and 7) found ourselves looking down from the balcony of our fourth floor room onto the vibrant street scenes below, at the coner of Obisbo and Mercadores Strees in the heart of romantic Habana Vieja. Salsa music wafted on tropical air from the nearby Plaza de Armas and, even though it was midnight, there were many people strolling about the streets below. We were fascinated; we watched, hypnotically, for more than an hour, 'til travel fatigue overcame us. Next morning, before setting out on a tour of the city, we ejoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast at the open-air rooftop restaurant. Before heading down to Santiago de Cuba, we enjoyed two more nights at the Ambos Mundos, plus another two nights before departing Cuba. The staff was OUTSTANDING, personable, solicitious, often even anticipating our needs. The lobby piano bar, just off the street, is a nice place to relax and have a snack. The rooftop, open air restaurant was a particular favorite for breakfasts. Although the hotel lacks a swimming pool, who needs it, with so much to see and do in Habana! Like Hemingway did in the 1930's and 1940's (his room #501 is preserved as a mini-museum), we hope to return again and again to the Ambos Mundos, and would recommend it to anyone who treasures romance and individuality.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube