Armadores de Santander Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Armadores de Santander reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Armadores de Santander  

Calle Luz No. 4 esq. a San Pedro. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"Nice and clean but the employees are rude"
Posted by: Daniel on Oct 19, 2014
see all reviews

Armadores de Santander Reviews
Armadores de Santander Pictures and Information
Armadores de Santander Old Havana Cuba

#16
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.1

Based on 13 reviews

Armadores de Santander Information


The Armadores de Santander occupies three buildings from different eras and styles that were subjected to a renovation process to adapt them to their new purpose. Currently differentiated by the colors of their façades, these buildings make up the whole hotel. Here, different hallmarks and original features are given their proper place, like the Carrara marble staircase, the main dome with its paintings, several walls in rooms and the bar and lobby's interior columns.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Armadores de Santander Reviews

Armadores de Santander Review: 3.1 of 5 13 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  5
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (11)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 13

"Nice and clean but the employees are rude"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel  on Oct 19, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
0 people found this review helpful

Well, it is kind of ungrateful to say that this hotel is bad. But it will huge mistake to say that is deserves to be one of the best hotels in the area because, clearly it is not. It might seem nice and friendly place that can provide excellent services, but unfortunately it fails in that idea. And it fails a lot, to be honest. Probably I'm not the first one to say that had issues with the hotel’s infrastructure or to be precise with the electricity or water. Me and my wife were both disappointed with what we saw there.
At first when we entered hotel all the things seemed so nice. It was clean and well organized so we decided to stay at this hotel during our vacation. But the first night there we couldn’t miss the fact that there was no 220W power source in our room. So how should we charge our phones and laptop? When we ask the people who work there the answer was more than surprising for us- only in the lobby! The next day after the breakfast we left the hotel and find another one that had twice better conditions for the same price.
All in all the hotel looks nice and the price is great, but the electrical and water installation is in poor condition and that is causing a lot of problems. The positive side is that the food is nice and it is served really fast after you order it. Huge bravo for the people who were working in the kitchen because the food was fresh and well prepared. The location of the hotel is also nice because there are stores for whatever you need, located really close.
So my recommendation is to check for another hotel in the area that could have better conditions than this one. You should list it on the last place on your list of hotels to visit in this city. My rating is three because the location and the service is nice, but the infrastructure is awful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"an aboslutely amazing place for me"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  marcy  on Sep 2, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
5 people found this review helpful

It was absolutely amazing place for me and I will come back here again. The hotel was very clean, it was tidy and the management made sure that it remained that way throughout my stay at this hotel. It is not far from the main old Havana areas where you can go explore, see places, museums, restaurants and all of that so basically, it is a tourist area. They have a rooftop bar where you can go and relax while having drinks; the view from there is beautiful especially at night. I heard some of the guests complaining about their air condition but that was the only downside because mine worked well, in fact everything in my room worked. The food was great but I can’t say much about the portions, a little bit on the small side but it was very delicious. Yes the hotel is a little bit worn out but that is not the issue, every other thing is great. The amazing thing about this place is that the staff looked professional and not just that, they acted professionally, looked decent and very nice. They smiled whenever they tried to talk to me and that was very pleasing. The bar man called Aldo makes the best Mojito I have taken in Cuba, it was such a nice experience for me. The hotel itself, the staff and the entire environment was very pleasing to me and I highly recommend this place to anybody coming to Havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Armadores de Santander disappointing!"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Luca  on Apr 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Business | With friend
133 people found this review helpful

The hotel is definitively overprized for the quality of the rooms and the service offer. The roof in the toilet was almost coming down and the shower was completely rust. The rooms do not have the 220 electricity capability; it is only available at the reception. The toilets at the reception were unbelievably dirty and there were so many people doing nothing. Even the beds were uncomfortable. The breakfast was also really poor badly prepared with no attention to the details as hotel 4 stars should be. I had by far a better service in the various casa particulars, I was so disappointed to see a so expensive hotel with a such poor quality!

Room Number:
104

Room Block:
na

Arrival:
fair - not really welcoming!

Rooms:
poor

Restaurants and Bars:
Poor

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
NA

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
NA

Other Comments:
I would not return in this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasant well situated base for sightseeing in Havana Vieja"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anna Knight  on Apr 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
146 people found this review helpful

We stayed for three nights in April in Armadores de Santander and were very satisfied with the experience. It has a pleasant situation on the harbour on the outskirts of the sightseeing district of Havana Vieja, a short walk from the Plaza Vieja in one direction and the Feria Artisanal in the other. The hotel architecture seems a little austere compared with some of the plant-filled-patio colonial buildings in the heart of the district, but it is airy, smart and clean with good bathrooms and we had a balcony overlooking the harbour. It is also a lot quieter in its position than most others.. It is a historical building, connected with the shipping trade with the Spanish in past centuries. The staff were very efficient and helpful (having travelled around for nearly two weeks we took advantage of the excellent laundry service!) and the breakfasts were very good apart from the coffee, which was awful... But there is a great coffee place on Plaza Vieja so we would start the day's sightseeing with a coffee there! The hotel bar did great cocktails and sandwiches, but we didn't try the restaurant. Just around the corner is the bar Dos Hermanos which was frequented by Hemingway (of course) and gets a mention in most guides. Music there most nights and a genuine Habanera atmosphere.

Room Number:
117

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is so much to see and do in Havana. The hotel is best placed to explore Havana Vieja all of which is easily accessible on foot; but Vedado, the Plaza de la Revolucion etc are easy to reach by taxi. We found that we would have a sightseeing aim for the day and end up getting diverted into little fascinating sights and episodes that we wouldn't have known about - this is the joy of just wandering around Havana. We saw a superb art exhibition at the Gran Teatro on the way to visit the Museo de la Revolucion, had a tour of the Armeria after seeing a memorial service outside it, and could sit and watch the children in their Easter holiday structured activities in Plaza Vieja for ages!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Good Value in Old Havana"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John Adam  on Apr 5, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
153 people found this review helpful

There are hotels nearby with much more ambience and this hotel even lacks anything more than a breakfast dining room, but for the money it is a best buy! The rooms with a view are great and the staff is very good about upgrading the room, if there is space, at no extra charge. The bar is attractive and is fun to take a break in any time of the day or night.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Staff!"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Richard MacLennan  on Apr 4, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
144 people found this review helpful

All of the staff at the Armadores de Santander were very friendly and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. A great choice for a stay in Hanvana. Room was clean and comfortable and breakfast (included) was good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never happened"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Graham Sage  on Mar 7, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
144 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately we didn't get to stay in this hotel as when we arrived there was a problem with the air conditioning and they had no room for us. Instead they wanted to send us to a hotel in Miramar but we were not happy about that as we were taking the early bus to Trinidad next morning. The reception staff were not exactly helpful or friendly it was very much a case of what can we do its not our problem. Also we had a beer while we were waiting to get sorted and my husband paid for them. Three times the barman came looking for payment again. They eventually found us a room in a hotel round the corner in the square which I think was a much better place so we ended up happy!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lots of technical problems"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Boris  on Feb 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
153 people found this review helpful

* electricity failed the first day -> needed to move to another hotel in the night
* water failed the second day from early mornign till afternoon
* very friendly personal
* nice rooms
* location in Havanna was reasonable, but not nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nostalgic building at the harbor"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  sander van ginkel  on Nov 21, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
152 people found this review helpful

The rooms can do with some refurbishment especially as there are cheaper hotels with better standards. Good views over the harbor if you have a room with a balcony. Staff very friendly

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice building, bad customer service"

Armadores de Santander
User Rating:  Armadores de Santander Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARIA MANGANARI  on Apr 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GREECE
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
247 people found this review helpful

I arrived in Havana on the 14th of april, late at night after a very long journey. Although I had made my reservation by internet a long time ago, the receptionist informed me that I had to stay at the hotel Nacional for the first 3 nights and then come back to the hotel Santander for the rest of my holiday, because there was no room left.The hotel Santander did not pay the taxi for me to go to the new hotel, although it was not my fault I had to transfer. Turning back to Santander, I informed the receptionist I would have to go to Trinidad for a couple of nights and I would like to know if I had the possibility to go to a hotel there, always making part to the same company, so as not to lose the money I had already paid.NOBODY could give me an answer!!!!! As a result, I got to Trinidad still leaving my luggage at room in Havana but before leaving I informed the receptionist that there was water droping from the roof in the bathroom, something nobody had fixed till I got back on the 20th.

Room Number:
105

Arrival:
officially 14, but virtually on the 17th

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube