Casa Granda Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Casa Granda reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Santiago de Cuba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Brisas Sierra Mar & Los Galeones

3.8 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 30, 2014

Casa Granda  

Heredia No. 201entre San Pedro y San Félix, Santiago de Cuba
(Santiago de Cuba Maps)

"perfect location"
Posted by: denna on Jun 3, 2014
see all reviews

Casa Granda Reviews
Casa Granda Pictures and Information
Casa Granda Santiago de Cuba Cuba

#5
of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba

User rating 3.7

Based on 6 reviews

Casa Granda Information



Hotel Casa Granda (1914) is located right in the heart of the most Caribbean city of Cuba, Santiago de Cuba. Its lovely eclectic façade make it one of the most attractive buildings in the area. Casa Granda allows you to enjoy breathtaking views of the city and surroundings from the handsome roof garden restaurant. Hotel Casa Granda is perfectly located for those who like to experience the famous carnival of Santiago de Cuba.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Casa Granda Reviews

Casa Granda Review: 3.7 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (3)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"perfect location"

Casa Granda
User Rating:  Casa Granda Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  denna  on Jun 3, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
13 people found this review helpful

This is an old yet beautiful hotel that has been around for a while and still offers one of the best services to their guests. Having a drink in the rooftop bar was one of the things or activity I looked forward to during my stay here in April 2014. From the rooftop, you will get a panoramic view of the city, it is so beautiful and when you look next door, you will also get a fantastic view of the cathedral. I spent 6 days in this hotel and the rooms were great. I loved the fact that the room was spacious and the bed was also comfortable as it was soft. My room had a great view of the streets which I loved as I could also see the park from my room window. The location of this hotel is just perfect; I mean it is situated on the cathedral square. You will enjoy music throughout the day as a Trova house is located just few blocks away from the hotel. I stayed on the first floor and the verandah here has a great view, breakfast was great, there was nothing special but the portion was enough. I loved the welcoming cocktail given to me and once I learned of the bra on the ground floor with nice terrace, it made my stay even more fun. The staff was great here, the rooms are clean and spacious, the location is perfect, meals were okay and the price was reasonable. I will definitely come back here again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cuba"

Casa Granda
User Rating:  Casa Granda Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  colette caminel  on Feb 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Business | Solo
188 people found this review helpful

Other Comments:
très bon hôtel, accueil charmant, chambre parfaite, petit déjeuner inclus tardif pas avant 7 h même pour un café, ascenseur en réfection et chambre en étage

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Every year more expensive"

Casa Granda
User Rating:  Casa Granda Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bucanero  on Nov 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
207 people found this review helpful

I've been here before and liked the ambient and hotel. Last month I stayed here again for a couple of days. The rooftop terrace and lobby bar at the first level are places worth visiting.
The hotel itself was disappointing considering the price to be paid. The elevator was (once again) the whole week out of order. With our room on the fourth floor this was rather a disappointment. But technology can suddenly let you down. The breakfast however was a disenchantment: one slice of toast, one slice of cheese and bacon and an egg. With a cup of coffee. That's it.

Regarding the price: 112 CUC/night/room, including breakfast, you'll find better and cheaper in the neighborhood. Look at the other hotels listed on tripadvisor. You can also book in advance on the internet and get cheaper prices. So I have paid only 52 €/room the first few days. At his price the hotel in fact becomes a bargain. But on site I have paid 140 CUC for the same 2 adults and one child for a (standard) room with two standard beds (for the three of us). From being rather enthousiastic on this hotel two years ago, I feel now rather dissilusioned.
If you like the noises of the city, take a front room at the fourth level. You need more quiescence? Consider the romantic room 415. Or one of the others that give out at the center court. But to my overall opinion the rooms are in need for renovation and the breakfast has te be upgraded

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice but..."

Casa Granda
User Rating:  Casa Granda Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gino  on Apr 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

Right in the center of town in between the cathedral and the old city hall. A great jumping off point to see the town or the countryside. The best thing about Santiago - music everywhere. In the square, in the clubs, at the bar - truly fantastic. The rooftop of the Casa Granda has the best view and the best pina colatas we found. The front desk staff were extremely nice - asking to help or how we slept or how we liked our room - and helpful whether exchanging money or finding out how to purchase a card to access the internet. The tour organizer was also great - helpful, informative.
But there are 'cons'. It's an old hotel. The staff at the main bar can be indifferent. The elevator hasn't worked for three months and four-five flights of stairs can tax these old legs. The breakfast is marginal at best.
Would I have wanted to stay anywhere else in Santiago? - no. Enjoy it for what it is but be aware of what you're getting into.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic location"

Casa Granda
User Rating:  Casa Granda Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Penney  on Aug 19, 2008  >  4 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2008
1491 people found this review helpful

The location, overlooking the square and harbour were amazing. Everything is in easy reach - shopping, dining, dancing. Breakfast on the roof as the sun rises and a mojito as it sets - that's what holidays are about. 'Our Man in Havana' knew a good thing, especially if your room overlooks the courtyard (unless the cubans are doing well in the Olympics - they do like to celebrate success)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A beautiful hotel"

Casa Granda
User Rating:  Casa Granda Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jackie Cornwall  on Sep 4, 2006  >  2 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Sep, 2006
2728 people found this review helpful

One of my favourite hotels anywhere; it has the wow factor big time.

A first -floor terrace where you can watch the goings-on in the Parque Cespedes over a Moquito, fantastic views of the Sierra Maestra and a lovely rooftop terrace for breakfast; friendly service and real atmosphere all make for an iconic hotel right in the middle of Santiago.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube