Cayo Levisa Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Cayo Levisa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Levisa  

Palma Rubia, La Palma, Pinar del Río, Cuba
(Cayo Levisa Maps)

"Deserves more"
Posted by: Gordon on Nov 2, 2014
see all reviews

Cayo Levisa Reviews
Cayo Levisa Pictures and Information
Cayo Levisa Cayo Levisa Cuba

#1
of 1 Hotels in Cayo Levisa

User rating 4.1

Based on 36 reviews

Cayo Levisa Information


Hotel Cayo Levisa is located on and named after Cayo Levisa, a small paradise island off the north coast of the Pinar del Rio Province. Individual bungalows, with spacious but rather plain rooms are built in two rows parallel to the shore and strategically positioned so they all get an ocean view. Hotel Cayo Levisa is an excellent choice for scuba dive enthusiasts.



Please note: Due to existing regulations, access of Cuban nationals to this resort is not permitted.

Cayo Levisa official website
http://www.hotelcayolevisa-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cayo Levisa Reviews

Cayo Levisa Review: 4.1 of 5 36 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  10
Average
  10
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (23)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (6)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 36

"Deserves more"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gordon  on Nov 2, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
8 people found this review helpful

When me and my friend asked the travel agent where can we find some nice hotel in Cuba, he suggested that we should stay at Cayo Levisa. We planned to stay only for a couple of days. Just as we arrived, we saw that the hotel is settled right on the beach and we were very enthusiastic about this hotel. On first sight, it looks amazing. The employees were very polite. They offered us a meal and they took us to our room. The hotel room was fantastic. I thought that I could never ask for more. There were two separate beds with very nice mattresses so you can relax at any time. What’s more important the room was clean. That goes for the bathroom too. The very important thing is that there is an air conditioner which is working properly. Anytime you want to cool the room you can do it in only a couple of minutes. There was no telephone or TV in the room, but there is a telephone you can use in this hotel. Also, there is a special TV room where you can watch TV if you like. But that wasn’t our intention, so we didn’t spend a lot of time in the TV room. The balcony had an amazing view over the sea. But that’s not everything. This hotel has scuba diving and diving school. We couldn’t resist so we tried both of them. The bar and the restaurant were simply fantastic. The restaurant offer nice food menu with different international cuisine, and if you like you can spend some time in the bar. One thing is for sure, Cubans have the best rum in the world, so we couldn’t resist and we tried it and it was amazing. I have to mention that the hotel has massage center and money exchange office. But something was not right. When I tried to wash my hands, I saw that the water is not clean at all. The same thing goes for the shower. You can’t take a shower with that water. It was nasty and it started to smell awful. Everything around this hotel was perfect, but it seems that thing with the bathroom destroyed the momentum. I don’t think that I will visit this hotel again soon, or even recommend to any of my friends.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Schöner ruhiger Strand"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Philippe  on Jul 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) CHILE
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
188 people found this review helpful

Sehr schöner Strand mit glasklarem Wasser. Es ist sehr ruhig, also wirklich erholsam. Von den Freizeitangeboten her sehr schlicht. Gutes Essen, Languste und div. anderes muss zusätzlich bezahlt werden.
Für einen kurzen Badeaufenhtalt (3-4 Tage) sehr zu empfehlen.

Room Number:
27

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bungalows comfortable but above all a very pleasant island!"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Istinen  on May 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Visited on: May, 2012 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
221 people found this review helpful

Our short stay on Cayo Levisa turned out very nice. The home and landscape were worthy of the name. This is not necessarily bother to stay for weeks, unless you are fond of sunbathing only. Backpackers will enjoy the comfort of bungalows, well equipped and well located. Efforts have been made ​​not to damage amenities too, but for how long?

Arrival:
Reaching Cayo Levisa by boat.
Good support on arrival. Keys can quickly and a welcome drink is offered.

Rooms:
The rooms inside are small bungalows, giving virtually all on the beach.
The beds were ok, the bathroom also.

Restaurants and Bars:
Traditional food for Cuba, but fairly well stocked buffet and comfort of the "all included" significant.(Warning: drinks are not part of the formula "all inclusive")

Cocktails are generally very good but some bartenders are better than others ...

The service is friendly and well organized.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach very well maintained (cleaned daily when there are algae).
White sand and blue water...Nothing else to add.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not much else to do other than bask in the sun but enjoy!
You can rent pedal boats, catamarans, or go to the reef to the snorking. (reservations required)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonder experience except 1st room was not as reserved."

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rosser Edwards  on Apr 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
233 people found this review helpful

I think the WEBsite should give more information of how to get to Las Palmas and the times for the Ferry. I really had to search to find this information. We should also be able to email direct to the resort office which we ciould not find on Website.

We also reserved 2 Ocean Front cabins, but when we arrive they gave us one cabin on the beach and the other room was in a two story building not on the beach-in fact you couldn't see the beach. These rooms should be called motel type room and discounted.

We got moved the next and our stay was wonderful, but we felt mislead. We paid 275 Euros per room to be on the Beach in a cabin.

Food was great and the snorkel trip was really nice. People were very nice. I would come back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful place"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melanie Everett  on Mar 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
226 people found this review helpful

The island is lovely, small and not a lot to do other than swim and lie on the beach. our cabana was great, front line and at the end so very quiet.staff not very friendly - a surprise after all the happy friendly people we had met travelling round cuba.no complaints about the food, plenty of fruit and salads and fish cooked freshly for you.Good cocktails too!(you have to pay for drinks)A great place to relax for a day or two.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beau séjour"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  nicolas savary  on Feb 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
211 people found this review helpful

Hotel super et cocktails excellents

Room Number:
1

Arrival:
sympa, le bateau est revenu nous chercher parce que nous l'avions raté pour un problème de bus

Rooms:
grande et bien

Restaurants and Bars:
bon et cocktails super

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Du calme et de la gentillesse"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pierre-François BRES  on Feb 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
237 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
14

Arrival:
Vous arrivez sur l'île par un bateau qui ressemble à un bac et qui vous met dans l'ambiance. A l'approche la mangrove déborde sur l'eau et vous vous demandez où est la plage et comment on peut séjourner là dedans.
le paysage et l'ambiance changent complètement de l'autre côté de l'île face à l'océan avec une plage magnifique

Rooms:
Notre bungalow est immense, meublé en bois précieux et très confortable avec une belle salle de bains et une douche 2 places immense.
A noter douche externe pour se nettoyer du sable et hamac sur une grande terrasse abritée

Restaurants and Bars:
Très sympa, plus ambiance cantine que resto de luxe. un buffet très copieux mais repetitif et nourriture souvent fade. Préférez le grill
Chanteurs tous les soirs et chaque fois qu'un cuistôt passe il pousse la chanson
Les cubains se marrent tout le temps !

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Plage de sable blanc, presque vide, on paresse au calme sur des transats d'autant que la mer n'est pas si chaude que cela

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great experience"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fannie Guilbeault  on Jan 26, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
229 people found this review helpful

Staff were great, food was good -the only itch was the smell of sewage...

Room Number:
23

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Relax."

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joern  on Jan 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
222 people found this review helpful

Hotel Cayo Levisa, not luxury, but calm and friendly. Stayed there for 14 days. We have been to Cuba many times sins 2004, and have witnessed some changes in Cuba. Some places are not authentic Cuba anymore, but this is. Nature and beach is so unspoiled as possible when there are a hotel there. Maybe there should be more shadow on the beach ( have you started building new ones, Orlando?), for us white Europeans, but there is sunbeds and space enough for everyone.
Rooms of different types, we had a room in second floor, and it was great, fairly clean, hot water and pressure enough. Bed OK, but best sleep with open windows instead of AC. We had extra mosquito net with us, and that was the best solution for us.
Service was good, but some different in the two weeks we stayed there. The staff lives on the island the week they works. They changes staff once a week. The first staff was overwhelming friendly, and gave excellent service. I always found hot water in the restaurant for a cup of tea in the morning. Even before opening the restaurant. The second shift came through after some days. OK, opening time is opening time, but the first shift spoiled me. The quiet morning outside the restaurant overlooking the beach was heaven. Black tee, book and cigar and the relaxing day has started.
Food was ok, sometimes even tasty. I always found something to eat, and unhappily I did not lose weight. Always fried eggs or tasty omelette for breakfast. Meat or fish for lunch and dinner, friendly cooks made food and jokes every day. I even think they sometimes baked bread early in the morning. Good cakes.
The staff did make a great Christmas and New Year's celebration for us at the beach. With great food and music.
Drinks ok, but can be strong.
Inhabitant: Hootio, a real Cuban animal from before civilisation. They are really beautiful.
Price: Worth it.
Things to do: Sun tanning, swimming, reading, snorkelling, diving, walking about three kilometres of white beaches, fishing from the beach, with one word, relaxing.
Negatives: Generator sound in parts of the area. Water when it has been turned off fore for parts of night. Rusty pipes.
Do I recommend others to go there? No, stay away. I want this paradise for myself.
We will absolutely go back.

Room Number:
36

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely, lonely place"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dario  on Jan 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
225 people found this review helpful

Really nice place to spend one or two nights. Not longer.
Beautiful beach and cabins by the sea. Perfect for couples (without children).
Rooms OK. Food average (for Cuba).
If you are not lucky with the weather there is nothing to do there as all activities are beach-sea related.

Arrival:
We arrived at night in the 6:00 p.m. boat.
Most of the people at Cayo Levisa are not lodged, so they return to Cuba in this evening boat and they arrive to the cayo in the morning one. Anyhow the cayo is never crowded as there is plenty of space at the long beach.

Rooms:
Everything fine. Clean and properly arranged.

Restaurants and Bars:
Same scarce food. Average quality.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is just wonderful. Luckily there is no pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I just tried the snorkeling one. Very good. There were other activities like salsa or Spanish lessons, but nobody attended them. This is a place to enjoy the beach and the sea. Forget about anything else.

Other Comments:
Don´t bring children. They get bored and they are annoying for the other guests. This is a place for relax.
Ambient Music should also be banned.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube