Cayo Levisa Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Cayo Levisa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Levisa  

Palma Rubia, La Palma, Pinar del Río, Cuba
(Cayo Levisa Maps)

"Deserves more"
Posted by: Gordon on Nov 2, 2014
see all reviews

Cayo Levisa Reviews
Cayo Levisa Pictures and Information
Cayo Levisa Cayo Levisa Cuba

#1
of 1 Hotels in Cayo Levisa

User rating 4.1

Based on 36 reviews

Cayo Levisa Information


Hotel Cayo Levisa is located on and named after Cayo Levisa, a small paradise island off the north coast of the Pinar del Rio Province. Individual bungalows, with spacious but rather plain rooms are built in two rows parallel to the shore and strategically positioned so they all get an ocean view. Hotel Cayo Levisa is an excellent choice for scuba dive enthusiasts.



Please note: Due to existing regulations, access of Cuban nationals to this resort is not permitted.

Cayo Levisa official website
http://www.hotelcayolevisa-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Cayo Levisa Reviews

Cayo Levisa Review: 4.1 of 5 36 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  10
Average
  10
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (23)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (6)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 36

"unpleasant stay"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Camiel Pas  on Mar 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
210 people found this review helpful

* we confirmed to the staff that we had a delay of one day due to a transportation problem. there only comment was you don't get your money back! when we actually arrived the next day at 11.00 our room was not ready and we had to wait till 15.00 They charged us extra for the lunch that day and maded us leave our table after just 20 minutes for other quests. After a few more realy nasty and intimadating experiences we leaved at wednesday four days before our all inclusive vacation on Cayo actually would and.For all we would say Cayo is a beautifull place but the office staff we meet where terrible.The contarst wich the rest of our positve experience in Cuba where enormous.

Room Number:
1

Restaurants and Bars:
the food is beyond question

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach is ok but there are no snorkeling possibilities direct from Gayo. If you want to dive or snorkel you have to be participating in not fully satisfying boattrip

Other Comments:
The staff has only one goal and that is to fill there pockets wich money

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cayo Levisa could be so great- needs work"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brian Phillips  on Dec 27, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
151 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
40

Arrival:
took morning ferry over at 10am - unable to check in earlier than 3pm although another Spanish -speaking family was checked in early and the hotel manager was less than friendly and welcoming!
we also had to pay for our lunch even though we were leaving on our last day before lunch at 9am
not a good start.

Rooms:
room had nice balcony and view - beds comfortable - hot water plentiful -cleaning was perfunctory and supplies meager eg toilet roll, bath mat provided second day, shampoo not replaced

Restaurants and Bars:
Contrary to our understanding of all- inclusive, only meals at buffet restaurant were included and no drinks, even non-alcoholic drinks(except at breakfast). beach restaurant geared to day trippers - food would have to be paid for if residents ate there -but beach bar staff friendly - house band great - buffet food was very mediocre - same soups, vegs and fruits every day - the chefs were fun and friendly at the grill - enjoyed the omelettes, fresh fish , pasta dishes and roasts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Cayo Levisa has a lovely beach setting - very quiet -small resort although new accomodations being built - good for swimming - grounds lacked variety of flora.
beach towels had to be rented - i have never been to a resort where this was the case!
The beach could benefit from some regular clean- up of debris and a path cleared to the other side of the island where the sunset cruise goes also.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Posted activities did not always happen eg dance night All the boating activities required further payment, so rentals of boats even pedal boats were not included and the equipment was rarely used. Staff spent alot of time sitting around and many could benefit from some customer service training.

Other Comments:
Cayo Levisa could be such a good experience but somehow its beautiful natural setting is not enough to make up for the lacklustre services and poor attitudes of many of the staff

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Really nice"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  CARINE  on Apr 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
228 people found this review helpful

Very clean and well furnished Bedrooms.
Beautiful View from the terrasses.
Clean beach with seats for everybody.
Nice and funny hotel crew.
Negative point: the Buffet is very simple.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cayo Levisa - A stunning beach location with friendly helpful staff but the cabanas were a bit disappointing"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cole Stephen  on Jan 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
321 people found this review helpful

A classic tropical island, palm fringed dazzling white sand beach washed by an improbably blue sea. About 300 metres offshore you can see the waves breaking on the coral reef.The setting for this hotel is hard to beat.
We stayed in one of the newer duplex cabanas, one on the ground floor, comprising a bedroom, toilet/bathroom and a very small veranda Sadly the construction left a lot to be desired. The walls were made of thin plywood, so you could hear everything that was said/going on above and at the side of you.Also the finishes - tiles and paintwork, were sad.
The dining area both inside and outside was adequate but with great views along the beach and out to sea.
We were treated to a special BBQ and buffet on Christmas Eve. All the tables were set up in an area fringed by small fires and the tables nicely decorated. The food was excellent with a choice of turkey, pork, beef, fish and all the normal trimmings of rice, yucca, plantain.There was lots of local fruit available as desert.A trio of wandering singers serenaded the guests with beautiful Cuban songs. Afterwards there was a full on salsa session with the staff leading the way.
Activities at the resort include sailing, diving, walking, learning salsa or just chillin.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. And the chefs could do mean salsa (the dance not the sauce)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Très bel hôtel, site magnifique, chambres très confortables"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jean-Marie GERARD  on Nov 17, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
157 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
32 & 33

Arrival:
Very good. Welcoming drink and rooms quiet ready. Desk staff speak french

Rooms:
Very nice, large size, very clean, very good equipments.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bad cooking.
Unbearable odor of kitchen in the all lobby

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
wonderfull

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very dynamic staff for the animation. Teatcher of salsa very good

Other Comments:
We recommand this hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good experience but could have been even better "

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jerome de Mouy  on Oct 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
157 people found this review helpful

Hi

The context : We (my wife and I) stayed 3 full days in october. Get lucky with a sunny weather.
The positive points : the beach, the sea (caribbean blue), the room (at least the room number 25) and the staff kindness.
could have been better : the food, a bar on the beach, more activities planned...

We spent 3 nights but I think 2 nights is enough. There is nothing to do on the island except swimming in a hot sea...

Room Number:
25

Room Block:
sea view

Arrival:
by boat the 11th of october. Sunny weather.

Rooms:
nice : clean, sea view and everything was working (TV, air conditioning, ...)

Restaurants and Bars:
Definitely not why you are coming to Cayo Levisa...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
wonderful, white sands, hot water...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nothing to do except bathing, sunbathing, reading,...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"un angolo di paradiso"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. simona  on May 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: May, 2010
414 people found this review helpful

Abbiamo soggiornato una settimana sull' isola a dicembre 2009. Consiglio vivamente la vacanza a chi cerca pace, natura e semplicità. Ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo. Camere spaziose e pulite, cucina semplice. Il personale è cordialissimo. Ottimo il diving center.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Could be better"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul Hunter  on Oct 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
157 people found this review helpful

The settling is lovely but during our week stay it rained almost all the tome. Not letting this colour the review. There were a number of improvement that could be made. In summery..
1) The first room we were given was not cleaned.
2) The cleaner did not visit on a couple of days
3) The water leaked in our room and the dinning room
4) The food was dull (as per norm in Cuba)
5) The beach had a fair amount of litter
6) Water was 3 CUC a bottle - rather expensive.
7) Hard to reach.

On the plus side:
1) Staff were friendly (is a bit slow)
2) I hear that the diving is good (I never went due to rain)
3) Nice setting
4) The journey was an adventure and Vinirles (spelling?) country side was fascinating

Room Number:
7

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great location, hotel could be better"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rudy Van Daele  on Jun 12, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
218 people found this review helpful

Your stay begins at Palma Rubia port, the boat takes you in 30 minutes to paradise. The island is a real beauty.
At check-in we found out that there were no cabana's available, this was a great disappointment. Although the rooms were fine, a cabana was better.
There were several activities listed on the board at the bar, unfortunately they would only take place if there were enough people. So, no snorkling.
Dinner and breakfast were ok.
The location is perfect and with a few investments, this place could really become interesting. I would go back, but only for a day trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great beach - medium food"

Cayo Levisa
User Rating:  Cayo Levisa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vera Ucakar  on Mar 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) AUSTRIA
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

Cayo levisa has a great beach. It is relatively privat as there are not so much rooms. However the food is only from medium quality.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube