Stanza Mare Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Los Corales

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 26, 2014

Stanza Mare  

Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"home away from home"
Posted by: zoe on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Stanza Mare Reviews
Stanza Mare Pictures and Information
Stanza Mare Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#21
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.8

Based on 5 reviews

Stanza Mare Information


Located in Punta Cana, one of the most visited Caribbean destinations, Stanza Mare brings the privacy and comfort of a summer home, with the services of your favorite hotel.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Stanza Mare Reviews

Stanza Mare Review: 3.8 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  2
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 5 of 5

"home away from home"

Stanza Mare
User Rating:  Stanza Mare Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  zoe  on Jul 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
28 people found this review helpful

This is a very nice condo with and amazing location, I had one of the best holidays of my adult life here. I and my friend came here to have a nice time and that is what we got, the place is beautiful. The hospitality and attention to the needs of the guests at this place makes it one of the best customer services I have ever encountered. The tour service guy Vincent was so nice to us and other guests; he made our stay a nice one. The warm beach and the large pool made my stay even better and I am thankful to Linda and Vincent for a nice vacation. We rented a one bedroom and it was great, the unit was spacious and had everything. We had the pool view from the balcony and the beach was not even far from where we are lodged. The beach guy Jose was very effective in taking care of everything about the beach especially moving around lounge chairs to accommodate us, he was a sport. We stayed at this condo for about 7 days in April of 2014 and I have to say, for a place priced at this rate, they offer pretty amazing deal. It is not expensive and the staff is courteous, caring, respectful and professional. We asked Vincent and Linda anything we werenít clear on and they answered us with so much joy in their hearts, we felt at home and very comfortable. We will be back again and I recommend this place to anyone looking to have a great time in a well organized and relaxed environment.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best value for the location and money. My home away from home."

Stanza Mare
User Rating:  Stanza Mare Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Apr 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
464 people found this review helpful

My husband and I have vacationed in DR for 30 years or more. We began at all-inclusive resorts, in all areas of the Dominican Republic. We discovered the Bavaro area ten years ago and decided that this was paradise. Five years ago we rented a condo at Stanza Mare and the same Winter became owners. We do not rent but spend our winters here. We have not regretted making this decision. Through the years we learned many things: the standards here are lower than North America or Europe; there is no punctuality in DR; the right of way on the road belongs to Dominicans; there are many rules but they are frequently broken by everyone, and nothing is as it seems; you may be charged a different rate for the same product or service and it may depend on who you are; the people here have a different laid back attitude, tomorrow is another day, time has no meaning; service in restaurants, retail stores, grocery stores is not what you are used to back in the USA, Canada or Europe (you may or may not get exactly what you order on your pizza, you may find a mistake on your receipt, you may wait an hour for your meal). You may wait in line a long time before you are noticed or served; local people do not know what a line is and they usually get priority; never try to return a product, in most cases you will never get your money back: if you are lucky you will be able to exchange for the same value. You may feel harrassed by vendors on the beach who are trying to make a living. There are many, may other cultural or ethical things that may bother you. Be advised, because this may not be the place for you.
We have noticed a significant increase in the number of tourists and the construction of shopping malls, grocery stores, hardware, and in the last year, one can actually find toasters, corkscrews, decent priced imported wine, sour cream, and imported beef.
After five months at Stanza Mare this year, I am sorry our time is almost over. It has never been boring, each day an adventure and experience. Our family calls Stanza Mare our second home. In the future I look forward to many more people to meet, more sun to absorb, salt air to breath, glorious sunrises to see, more walking or running on the endless sandy beach with the waves keeping pace, more sunsets and rising moons: a place to recharge from the fast paced life in the well organized, pressed for time, materialistic world back home.

Room Block:
G Building

Arrival:
December 2011.

Rooms:
I believe this area is still the best place to vacation for the money. As a renter you will have different issues you need to deal with. If you want perfection with your accommodation, your may pay more. If you are willing to put up with some inconveniences you may pay less. You may not find your rental unit up to your standards, and you may or may not get compensation from your property manager or owner. You need to be prepared for this not just at Stanza Mare but all resorts or rental units in this area. It is your choice whether you choose to put up with the little inconveniences because Stanza Mare has one of the best locations, access and view to the beach. There is no consistency to the condition of each rental unit because this is dependent on each individual owner. Do your research on-line or make contact with the owner, or property manager.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I have noticed through the years improvements towards better infrastructures and services. Staza Mare is my preferred destination here at Bavaro beach for its safety, good water, walking distance to entertainment, bars, variety of restaurants, grocery stores, gym, and a Catholic Church. Also there is public transportation to shopping malls. You will also be in close proximity to other public beaches, Santo Domingo, Higuay and cities along the south east coast and the airport.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Many tours available.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"IT'S NOT ALL PARADISE"

Stanza Mare
User Rating:  Stanza Mare Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Apr 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
510 people found this review helpful

Just came back from several months at Stanza Mare. Have to say, this was the most disappointing of our several years there & we wonít be back next year. There is so much upheaval & bad feelings, all the long term renters say theyíre ready to go home. Most of us have been going there at least 3 years & have spent a fair amount of money there. Yes, our main complaints are about bad units, missing items & poor treatment from the main property managers Vincente & Linda.
If youíre planning to go there, or youíre an owner who hasnít been around for awhile, here is what you need to know.
Yes, there has been a change in the complex management,(not the same as the property managers), but with the way things were going, there could be another change before too long.
Many of the long term renters (2-6months) are not returning to Stanza Mare next year. They will go to another close by complex called Playa Turquesa. They are sick of having poorly maintained units & dealing with Vincente who is rude to most of them & thinks he is the one to enforce all the rules. The problem is, he picks & chooses the ones he wants to enforce. He was more concerned about 2 women who had small dogs they walked on the grass next to the pool area or carried them across the pool area to go to another building! Both of them cleaned up after their own dogs & the ones that came in off the beach. However, it was ok for people to have glasses & bottles of beer right next to the pool, drinking from them while standing in the pool, & children to swim without a parent in sight. Those also happen to be posted rules. One owner brings a bird with them & often brings it around the pool. We all know what birds do. The thing starts squawking around 8 or 9 in the morning & is just annoying! There are a couple other people with dogs. They leave them on the balcony or tied up outside & they bark continuously. No one from management will do anything about that & ďthe other rule enforcerĒ doesnít find those things important enough to address. One family had a little boy who sat nude on the restaurant tables & stood at the edge of the pool & peed. It was ďOne of those small but miserable rentersÖ.Ē who pointed out to the parents it was inappropriate.
The beach is beautiful but the aggravation & rental rates, for what you get, isnít worth it. On many of the 2 bedroom units, the prices have risen by $500 a month each of the past 2 years. Believe me, they arenít worth an extra $1000 a month. If youíre looking for something different than an all inclusive, this is fine for the short term. I definitely donít recommend it long term. And remember, itís not so cheap, especially if you add in food, which is not inexpensive here, water, & in some most cases, electric.

Rooms:
Yes, there are a handful of units that are very nice & pretty well supplied, but they are few & far between. Most of us did share dishes, frying pans, etc when needed. Many of us had limited cooking supplies & many of us brought with us things we knew we would need. Most of the furniture is old, dirty & uncomfortable. The bathroom ceiling in my unit leaked & I spoke to my management & the one in charge of the one above me to no avail. Iím sure by the time summer is over, it will be full of mold. Lots of the units have mold or mildew in the drapes, pictures, etc. Several of the units had rats inside & a couple others had cockroaches.
Itís fine if youíre there a week or 2, but if you plan to stay longer, your kitchen supplies can be very inadequate. Some units do not have ovens & often you donít find that out until you arrive. Many have very poor lighting, some ceiling fans donít work, & some people have arrived to find they have no sheets or towels for several nights. Lucky for them, most of the long term people loaned them items they needed until they got theirs. Most of the short term renters are usually treated nicely, but the long term renters are pretty much ignored. Itís our feeling they prefer the short term rentals, since most of them donít know what to expect & donít necessarily come back. That makes it much easier for the owners & managers. If you have a problem with your unit & want the actual owner to know whatís going on, forget it. There is no way to get to the owner. I think all owners should send a survey to their tenants, asking about their stay.
Also, verify the pictures & the furniture shown are actually your unit, some of them are not the actual unit you are renting. Ask for an inventory list before you go, many donít even have a decent frying pan. If youíre staying any length of time, be prepared to buy things, especially for the kitchen.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
In Feb, there were never enough chairs at the pool or the beach. If you didnít get up at 6am you were out of luck until later in the day. Some people took chairs in both places, Leaving some chairs empty most of the day.
Even tho Stanza Mare is only 6 years old, the pool is in need of huge repairs, the bottom is coming apart & the tiles around the edge are coming loose, so make sure they arenít repairing it when you go there. The childrenís pool is a complete disaster. There are also chunks of sidewalk broken, even around the pool. They did get new chairs, with pads, around the pool, but they get wet from the swimmers & the weather & donít dry. If you flip the pads up, youíll see the beginnings of mold & mildew. This was pointed out by ďone of those small but miserable renters who sit around the pool all dayÖĒ, by the way. Some of the coverings are also coming apart. One day they took some off & washed them, then put them back soaking wet. Many of the beach chairs are in poor condition with cracks, etc. They have no pads & are hard plastic, so bring a raft or some other type pad to sit on. Another aggravating issue is the party boats. There are around 5 or 6 parked off the beach here. They run tours everyday, at least 3 times a day. The music is very loud & can be heard all the way into the complex. Sometimes itís so bad, people have to leave the beach because they canít stand it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The internet was pulled without notice & caused many tenants to have to spend $50 a month for their own USB internet connections. If you own an Ipad youíre out of luck, unless you buy a mifi for about $100 then pay the additional monthly charge of $50. Yes, you can walk to the store or the bakery, & ďmostĒ of the time you can connect there. Most of the contracts said they provided wifi.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Has great potential....But"

Stanza Mare
User Rating:  Stanza Mare Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judy  on Feb 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
524 people found this review helpful

This property has great potential,but the unit we were in was rundown.

Room Number:
201

Room Block:
L

Arrival:
Checkin was pleasant and quick

Rooms:
Booked a 1 bedroom unit but was given a 3 bedroom unit.Bed in master bedroom was so worn that I had to place a cushion from the sofa under it to keep myself from rolling off. Removing the cushion from the sofa showed that it had not been cleaned in a very long time, there was hair,dirt,crumbs. The Master bedroom and living room patio doors did not lock, and the roll shutters on these two doors were ripped out ot the casing. All other windows locked and had role shutters. The front door was out of alignment and there was at least an inch of space between the floor and the door frame. There was daily cleaning staff, but dish soap/towel would have been nice to wipe up after yourself. If the upkeep on this unit had been maintained, I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Restaurants and Bars:
did not use

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was clean, nice smooth white sand.
Did not use Pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a supermarket about 2 blocks away, also a bakery and bar.
Took a 20 minute walk (no sidewalks) to get to the Hard Rock Cafe located in a new shopping center.

Other Comments:
Thus was a 2 night stay, If it had been for any longer length of time, I would have insisted on a different unit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Annual Golf Trip"

Stanza Mare
User Rating:  Stanza Mare Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Oct 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
773 people found this review helpful

We stayed at a private condo in a project called Stanza Mare. I found this condo project through the Golf Reservation Center. This place is awesome. It is right on the ocean, close to several restaurants, bars and -- the reason we came to the DR -- golf courses. We had 12 people and used 4 apartments. We had breakfast every morning. We had a maid in each condo (awesome) for serving drinks. We had options for dinner including Italian, Tai, various American restaurants (Hard Rock Cafe / Tony Romas) -- what was interesting is the food is really good.

We were in Punta Cana for 7 days and had 4 rounds of golf in our package. We 1. played Punta Espada (AWESOME), Iberostate, Roco Ki, La Cana.
Punta Espada -- Just play it. If you play golf you will love this course. Plus they had a deal that included food and drinks.

2. Roco Ki -- Difficult, take a lot of balls. There are narrow fairways and it is very difficult. Number 17 and 18 are really cool golf holes.

3. Iberostate -- Awesome -- Drinks are included which was a lot of fun for our group.

4. La Cana -- It looked like they were fixing the golf course when we played. The course is a challenge to play so definately consider it but ask if it is under construction.

The beach at Stanza Mare is huge. I found a link to it through google earth.

Good luck with your golf trip ours was a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube