Conde de Villanueva Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Conde de Villanueva reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Ambos Mundos

3.7 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

Conde de Villanueva  

Calle Mercaderes No 202, Esq. a Lamparilla.La Habana Vieja, Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"Not serious"
Posted by: JEAN MARIE DECOURCHELLE on Mar 24, 2012
see all reviews

Conde de Villanueva Reviews
Conde de Villanueva Pictures and Information
Conde de Villanueva Old Havana Cuba

#18
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.9

Based on 10 reviews

Conde de Villanueva Information


Soberness and intimacy set the scene for this hotel's room located in the once mansion belonging to Claudio Martínez de Pinillos, Count of Villanueva. He was a famous person of the 19th century who had a big influence on the island's economic and social flourishing. We owe the early presence of the railroad to the Count of Villanueva as well as the construction of Fernando VII aqueduct in around 1831 as well as representative city monuments.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Conde de Villanueva Reviews

Conde de Villanueva Review: 3.9 of 5 10 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 10

"Not serious"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  JEAN MARIE DECOURCHELLE  on Mar 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
173 people found this review helpful

After having reserved and payed a dooble room since more than 1 month, and having confirmed at his own desk in La havane, and put my luggage 5 days before in this hotel, the day of entrance, I had no more rooms and was transfered to an other hotel (San Felipe 5*) of the group.
Yes the San Felipe has 5* but it's noisy (noise of a powerfull AC in the "patio").
In conclusion: bad organisation

Room Number:
no room attributed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful hotel in the right place"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paolo Ragazzi  on Aug 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
211 people found this review helpful

The hotel was really nice, the personnel was friendly and the room was big and clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was ok, but I would have liked to have a little more fruit since it's so delicious in Cuba!

Compared to other hotels in the Habana it worths its price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good location, very bad service"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Raoul Goretti  on Aug 23, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
208 people found this review helpful

Very good position to visit Old and Central Havana
Beatifull historical bulding, but maintenance should be improved to confirm 4 stars rating.
There was a hole in the roof of bathroom, from which the water fell in drops on or heads: the report of breakdownt to people of reception hasn't produced any effect.
Half door of the shower was missing
The safe-deposit box inside the room was blocked: the report of problem to people of reception hasn't produced any effect.
The staff of hotel was not friendly, available and polite

Room Number:
7

Arrival:
very slow check-in: 2 hours before getting the room

Rooms:
There was a hole in the roof of bathroom, from which the water fell in drops on or heads: the report of breakdownt to people of reception hasn't produced any effect (pictures available).
Half door of the shower was missing (picture available)

Restaurants and Bars:
staff not friendly
very slow breakfast (about 1 hour),
limited selection and quality of food for breakfast (water or juices not included for breakfast)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel experience fairly average but understandable because of massive shortages in Cuba"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Thomas Jones  on Jun 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
360 people found this review helpful

Cuba was great fun. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to everywhere any tourist could wish to visit in Havana. The air conditioning was a very welcome relief after a day's sightseeing as was the lovely hot water. There was usually something interesting going on in the street outside which added to the ambience. Quiet at night because it is in a pedestrian only zone.

Service, as in most communist countries, was indifferent. After all the staff get paid whether they give good service or bad! Best people we met were taxi drivers and waiters in restaurants. They get tips so are warm and friendly.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in Cuban culture but is not expecting usual Asian or European luxury.

Room Number:
1 - Excellent position

Room Block:
Boutique hotel

Arrival:
Difficult because we were unaware that the area was pedestrian only. We had to drag our lugguage over Plaza San Fransisco and then find it for ourselves. Advisable to pay for an airport transfer.

Rooms:
Large and airy. Good air conditioning and plenty of hot water. Comfortable, but not luxurious, beds. Safe in room was welcome for passports etc.

Restaurants and Bars:
Can't say as we usually went next door where they spoke better English and were more friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Cool central courtyard with tame peacock, various birds in cages and a family of chickens to clean up after breakfast!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Central Havana activities all cultural. Interesting but difficult if you are in any way disabled. Many stairs and no offers of lifts etc.

Other Comments:
I would go to Havana again whenever I could. We only had five days. I think most people, in order to see the country properly need at least 2 or 3 weeks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Charming place in a thriving central location"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on May 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
364 people found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful holiday travelling around in Cuba. In Havana we were lucky enough to get two rooms in the bear Conde de Villanueva. The double room was massive, and the triple had wonderfully high ceilings. Lots of comments on Trip Advisor relate to the lack of windows in this room -- but there are two big doors out to the internal courtyard, and this is quite Cuban and a way to keep the room dark and cool. The ceiling was 30 ft high at the very least. Rooms are on the first floor, arranged around a veranda with the plants from the ground floor rising up through the middle. Bathrooms were standard so certainly not what you'd expect from a similar hotel elsewhere in the world... but for Cuba totally acceptable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good hotel very well located"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  julie Carbo  on Apr 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
240 people found this review helpful

The hotel rooms are not cheap nt it is a very nice hotel and very well located. Very quiet and relaxing.
There are a lot of birds in the inside court and a peacock as well. They sing all day long but I love that noise and find it well relaxing. Hotel is heaven for cigar lovers, with they own torcedor and a cigar shop that is amazing. I recommend you try they own homemade cigars that are amazingly good. Too bad we can buy them only there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Wonderfull Experience"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Mar 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
416 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We booked through the Cuban Travel Service in Toronto. Absolutely no problem. Checkin was fast. We even had a message waiting for us when we arrived.

Rooms:
Beautiful. High ceilings, antique fine furniture was in perfect condition.

Restaurants and Bars:
We wanted to try some other Havana restaurants but couldn't. We ate there the first night and decided that it couldn't get any better than that. There was not one part of any meal that wasn't great. To top it off, the staff were real pros. Excellent sevice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The courtyard was amazing. A little oasis in the middle of Havana. Beautifull plants, flowers and even a peacock wandering around. By the way it loved fresh salad and even stole some butter from my wifes side plate.

Other Comments:
With a total of nine rooms, this is a small intimate hotel that offers a wonderfull change from the American style hotel where bigger is better. To experience Havana from this hotel was a pleasure and a priviledge.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Le meilleur pour amateur !"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Trépos Guillaume  on Aug 16, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Aug, 2009
555 people found this review helpful

Certainement le meilleur hôtel de La Havane pour qui ne veut pas se retrouver dans un immense complexe hôtelier impersonnel, ici on se sent comme à la maison et l'amateur de cigare est toujours satisfait. Mention spéciale au meilleur personnel de tout Cuba !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"helemaal top dikke 10"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Natasja Glijn  on May 14, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2008
912 people found this review helpful

Goedendag, Mocht u naar Havana gaan met vakabtie om een mooie tour te maken door cuba moet u beslist dit hotel huren dit is echt het mooiste hotel die ik gezien heb. De kamers zijn in oude stijl gebleven en dat geeft een heerlijk warm cubaans gevoel. Je vind hier geen luxe in de moderne stijl maar helemaal top. En je zit midden in Cuba dus echt heel centraal De kamers zijn mooi en zeer groot het ontbijt is heerlijk en het personeel is zeer vriendelijk Kan hier ook heerlijk lunche en dineren. Mocht ik weer terug gaan naar Cuba (en dat ga ik zeker) ga ik in dit hotel ik heb echt niets gehad in dit hotel wat mij tegen viel echt helemaal geweldig Met vriendelijke Groet Natasja

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Conde de Villanueva is a wonderful Hotel"

Conde de Villanueva
User Rating:  Conde de Villanueva Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  arden ellison  on Nov 16, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2005
2450 people found this review helpful

I stayed for a short time too short. The room was wonderful as was the court yard, restaurant. Staff very helpful and polite. My sisterinlaw Marty and I would love to go back.

Arden Ellison

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube