Dos Mares Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Dos Mares reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mar del Sur

3.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Villa Herradura

3.0 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 8, 2012

Pullman

2.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Oasis

2.5 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Dos Mares  

Calle 53 y 1ra. Avenida, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"Varadero hideout"
Posted by: Andreas Bouloubassis  on Apr 9, 2012
see all reviews

Dos Mares Reviews
Dos Mares Pictures and Information
Dos Mares Varadero Cuba

#43
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.1

Based on 9 reviews

Dos Mares Information


Beyond its sober elegance coming from its mudéjar roots, established by the half arcs and the red roof tiles in the cover, the Hotel is distinguished by its privacy, simple elegance and mainly for the guarantee to receive a personal attention from its workers along with a sight of an impressive landscape of white sands and turquoise sea.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Dos Mares Reviews

Dos Mares Review: 3.1 of 5 9 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  2
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (8)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 9

"Very pleasant stay"

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrea Helbig  on Mar 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
282 people found this review helpful

The DOS MARES is a nice little hotel, just 3 mins to walk to the beach, very clean, very friendly staff, wonderful beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"met expectations"

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anne Bird  on Sep 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
202 people found this review helpful

We have stayed here now on 3 occasions for a couple of days each. we looked at a number of rooms before we chose one which was on the 3rd floor and a long walk up but a better room. Breakfast has improved since last year. Coffee is better in the bar than the restaurant.
This is a basic hotel and one should have no expectations beyond that. no internet access for example which was a problem when we wanted to change our next reservation in Havana. Local etecsa was also very unhelpful and let us get soaked in pouring rain rather than let us use the internet 10 minutes before their closing time.
Water temp is unpredictable. Chamber maids are helpful and work hard. We will probably stay again because we spend most time on the beach not indoors.

Other Comments:
Varadero is very limited if you are not staying in resort. This year they have allowed Casas for the first time, but nothing looked appealing to us. We prefer Guadalavaca.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"You get what you payed for"

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maja De Belder  on Oct 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
178 people found this review helpful

Dos mares in Varadero is on the outside quite beautiful opposed to al the ugly communist style resorts. The inside is clean, so are the rooms, but dont expect luxury. You get what you payed for. A clean room. I do recommend to get the upgrade for 10cuc for the bigger rooms, the standard ones are quite cramped. And the view is better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Simple room "

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  yenhui chu  on Jan 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) TAIWAN
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
148 people found this review helpful

The room is very simple but that's what you get for the cheap price.
There is no hot warter in the shower and when I was waiting in reception. I also heard others customers said that they don't have any water geting out in the shower, at least I got cold water.
The poor side I faced was the service.
I was checking in around 930pm. I show the reservation email I got from cuba travel network. However, the reception told me there is no reservation for me. Then, I decided to pay in cash. The old lady said that she can not deal this issue and she can't give me a room unless I paid.
I request a notice and a receipt for the money I just paid but she refused to do so. She said the person who work the next morning should take care of this, checking with the reservation centre and writing a receipt.
I heard people compaint about the attitude of the service in Cuba before and they really give me bad impression on it. She just don't want to take responsiblity. She just want less trouble from her and not thinking from the customer's side. She didn't write down a note to the peson on morning shift.
When I went to the reception next morning, I have to explain all story again. Finally, I got my money back.

Room Number:
201

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very pleasant"

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lonneke Schellekens  on Feb 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
146 people found this review helpful

It was my first time in Cuba and I had no expectations at all. I loved the hotel a lot, very beautiful building, nice terrace, cheap drinks, clean rooms, hot water, and just a few steps away from a really lovely beach where pina colada's were served. I visited also the all inclusive beaches and I was really glad I didn't stay there.. so many people! The hotel is situated really well in the centre. And when I arrived in Dos Mares again a few weeks later, everybody still recognized me so the hotel felt also really familiar. And after staying in casa's this hotel also felt very luxuruory with towels, big rooms and airco!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dos Mares Varedero Disappointing"

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rien De Belser  on Feb 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
145 people found this review helpful

Room was very small, and smelled unfresh.
Bathroom was very small and very uncomfortable.Almost no water.
We stayed only one night, did not want to ruin our vacation by staying longer.
Booked something else instead. Pitty of the money we threw away on booking with Dos Mares. We were very disapointed!

Room Number:
115

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This budget hotel was more than adequate."

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  gail cryer  on Feb 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
166 people found this review helpful

We stayed for only 2 nights as we were traveling around cuba and not spending time at the beach and found this hotel more than adequate. Nothing fancy but fine and for the price I would gladly stay there again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cheap and Simple"

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leah Tussman  on Mar 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
143 people found this review helpful

While I was able to book the room online, when arrived at the hotel there was no record of my reservation. Luckily, I had a printed confirmation and it was no problem. The room was nothing special- very spartan and dark but since I was only there one night, it was fine. There is no transportation from the airport but I managed to ask one of the tour buses to drop me off for $10CUC. The breakfast is fine, nothing special but the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We needed no stairs,for this was a problem for my wife"

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Randall  on Apr 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
134 people found this review helpful

The hotel was rustic a little more that I expected,but clean,The maid service was very good ,as well as the cafe and the staff were help full as well.We found the location very good,right in the middle of the action,and very close to the beach.You can walk to a lot of places from there or take the boubble decker bus on and off all day for 5 cup.No need for any alarm clocks as the mornning roster will take care of that. We needed no stairs,for this was a problem for my wife,I need to comfirm this next time.

Room Number:
101

Room Block:
level 1

Arrival:
March 26-April 2-2012

Rooms:
ok

Restaurants and Bars:
Good value for the money

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach close by.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Varadero hideout"

Dos Mares
User Rating:  Dos Mares Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andreas Bouloubassis  on Apr 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
158 people found this review helpful

If You have to stay at Varadero at all because You arrive there by plane and can´t travel on right away, the "Dos Mares" is one of the charming places in the tourist spot Varadero. Friendly and helpful staff, a cosy and clean little hideout in the center of destination that´s - unfortunately - becoming filled with huge resorts and hotels.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube