Florida Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Florida reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Florida  

Calle Obispo esq. a Cuba. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"Not a good experience"
Posted by: Patrick Muldowney  on Apr 19, 2012
see all reviews

Florida Reviews
Florida Pictures and Information
Florida Old Havana Cuba

#13
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.2

Based on 19 reviews

Florida Information


Stories of illustrious families, like that of the Counts of San Ignacio and Casa More, and of opulent businessmen enshroud the building that Hotel Florida now occupies, inaugurated in 1885. Adapted to the tastes of the American and European markets, it became one of the most renowned hotels in Cuba's capital. This building that served as a hotel until 1952 also housed Havana's British Club in the 1930s.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Florida Reviews

Florida Review: 3.2 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  9
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (4)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 19

"Not a good experience"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patrick Muldowney  on Apr 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
147 people found this review helpful

On arrival after a long flight , I was very disappointed to be offered a single room without a window , as the hotel was fully booked , it seem first come first served , even though I had booked months previous,
myself and a family from Switzerland , were offered rooms in another hotel , having to carry and drag our bags to
another hotel four blocks away , and again was offered a room without a window , so I declined and rang the hotel Florida
and told the only option I was offered , was I could upgrade to a suite room with the extra cost of 30 cuban dollars ,
and when a single room is available with a window I could change , 2 days later I got a single room with a window ,
I found the room No 3 , extremely noisy , because it was just above the pedestrian street , with constant flow of
people from early morning to late at night , and during the day ,what seemed like a gym was above my room ,
it didn't help either that a piano bar on the ground floor has loud music playing till it closes at 1am, I stayed at the Hotel
Florida on my previous visit a few years ago and really enjoyed my stay ,but I found the staff extremely unfriendly
rude and no body smiled or showed any interest , unlike my previous stay , so the attitude of staff has really changed towards their guest , The only friendly staff member was the chamber maid ,she said hello and smiled,
The breakfast has improved but still could do better quality selection of cooked food , and variation ,
Its a beautiful building and location , but the noise is just to much and the unfriendliness of it staff , I wouldn't recommend it to my friends of family and wish I had moved to another hotel ,

Room Number:
No 3

Arrival:
only room available was a single room without a window , or move to another hotel 4 blocks away , careless attitude

Rooms:
Nice single decorated room , but extremely noisy

Restaurants and Bars:
wasn't impressed with the standard of breakfast , so never tried the restaurant

Other Comments:
please smile and make your guest welcomed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rupert  on Mar 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
154 people found this review helpful

Room 101 wasn't very nice with no windows or hot water, but was moved to very nice room overlooking street.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Angry and deception"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  guy Boisserolles  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
165 people found this review helpful

We can't make the experience to stay in hotel Florida because when we arrive on the 23 st of february the team of the hotel informed us about the impossibility to receive us in this establishment because there was no available room(chamber). We had nevertheless made a reservation one month earlier. We were accommodated in the hotel ambos mundo which we had not chosen, in a room(chamber) in the rudimentary comfort, noisy and whose air conditioning did not walk(work) (79 ° far).
We shall not choose any more the Florida hotel which is not rather reliable in our opinion.
Cordially
Valérie Boisserolles

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Building, Extremely Convenient, Noisy Location"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  neilthompson888@gmail.com  on Feb 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
141 people found this review helpful

A beautiful old "palacio" tastefully renovated. Rooms well equipped if slightly "old world", with massively high ceilings and marble floors.

Hotel is located on the pedestrian street Calle Obisbo on a busy corner, so lots of late night pedestrian traffic and music from passing bicitaxis and nearby residences.

Stayed in a second floor junior suite with separate living/sitting room and windows/balconies on two sides. Room was huge. Hot water was a little temperamental but helpful front desk staff were able to resolve it.

All of Havana Vieja sights within easy walk, along with plenty of restaurants and bars with great music.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disapointing; not worth the money"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  foulhoux  on Jan 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
150 people found this review helpful

The hotel is very well located, and the building itself is nice. But the rooms are incredibly noisy with the night club at ground floor. They are in poor shape as well. Bad smell of moist in first room and no window; ceiling parts falling in the bathroom from second one. So for 190 cuc a night, we were expecting much more when we can find very nice and cosy casa at 30 cuc !
The peersonel of the hotel is not very handsome either and waiting insistently for tip eve when the service has not been rendered.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Razoavel"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janete Cristina Zazyki  on Jan 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | Solo
149 people found this review helpful

Qdo cheguei as 02:00hs da manhã, me enviaram para outro hotel com a desculpa que havia infiltração em TODAS os quartos, mas que na manhã seguinte estaria consertado?! Na manhã seguinte, apesar do hotel para onde fui ter telefonado mais de uma vez para o Hotel Florida, não enviaram taxi para me buscar, tive que vir a pé com um empregado do hotel onde pernoite, puxando malas pela rua.
Qdo cheguei me colocaram num quarto que o cofre não funcionava, então me mudaram para outro, onde não havia água quente no banho, então me mudaram para o terceiro quarto que ficava ao lado da rua barulhenta. Então perdi muito tempo com este troca-troca de quarto. No segundo quarto, até calcinha e cueca sujas atrás dos móveis encontrei. Nos dois primeiros quartos nem tampa no vaso sanitário havia.
Há uns canarios australianos numa gaiola no hall do hotel que enloquecem qualquer um pela manhã de tanto que gritam!
O café da manhã era pobre, as frutas que haviam sempre estava ressecadas, pois deixavam as bandeijas prontas dentro da geladeira.
O atendimento do staff sempre deixava a desejar, pois eles não se comprometiam no atendimento, sempre repassando para outro funcionario.
De ponto positivo é a localização bem central.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A nice hotel on a busy walking street."

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Thomas Graham  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Trinidad and Tobago
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
202 people found this review helpful

The Hotel's location in Old Havana is great. Calle Obispo is one of the busier streets with just foot traffic, foreign exchange (very close to the hotel), quite a few stores, an arts and crafts area, several restaurants and bars.

Check in was quite easy with the computer printout of the reservations. The reception staff was very pleasant even at 1 am.

The room was quite comfortable and quaint. It maintains the charm of the building.

The hotel staff was overall good - a mix of okay and very good service.

The breakfast is not extensive and so after a couple mornings you will get tired of the menu. Great for a weekend but longer then that think about eating out for breakfast.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mouse droppings on the bed"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angela  on Oct 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
187 people found this review helpful

Stayed Saturday night at the hotel Florida in rooms 109 & 110. Room 110 had no toilet seat in the bathroom and 109 had mouse droppings in the bathroom and in the bedroom, on the bed cover, the bedside tables and the floor. I was very disappointed having stayed there 4 days previously in really nice rooms (21 & 24), but price was the same on both occasions- be careful which rooms you are allocated.

Room Number:
109/110

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Find"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  jason henthorne  on Oct 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
191 people found this review helpful

Really enjoyed the Hotel Florida in Havana. Great staff and premium location. Will certainly stay there again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great location with colonial flair."

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reto Davatz  on Sep 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
189 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
115

Arrival:
friendly and efficient

Rooms:
clean, cool and well located

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast could be better, bar not so well equipped!(no Daiquiri possible!)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube