Florida Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Florida reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 35 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 2, 2012

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Florida  

Calle Obispo esq. a Cuba. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"Not a good experience"
Posted by: Patrick Muldowney  on Apr 19, 2012
see all reviews

Florida Reviews
Florida Pictures and Information
Florida Old Havana Cuba

#13
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.2

Based on 19 reviews

Florida Information


Stories of illustrious families, like that of the Counts of San Ignacio and Casa More, and of opulent businessmen enshroud the building that Hotel Florida now occupies, inaugurated in 1885. Adapted to the tastes of the American and European markets, it became one of the most renowned hotels in Cuba's capital. This building that served as a hotel until 1952 also housed Havana's British Club in the 1930s.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Florida Reviews

Florida Review: 3.2 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  9
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (4)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 19

"Mouse droppings on the bed"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angela  on Oct 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
182 people found this review helpful

Stayed Saturday night at the hotel Florida in rooms 109 & 110. Room 110 had no toilet seat in the bathroom and 109 had mouse droppings in the bathroom and in the bedroom, on the bed cover, the bedside tables and the floor. I was very disappointed having stayed there 4 days previously in really nice rooms (21 & 24), but price was the same on both occasions- be careful which rooms you are allocated.

Room Number:
109/110

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disapointing; not worth the money"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  foulhoux  on Jan 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
145 people found this review helpful

The hotel is very well located, and the building itself is nice. But the rooms are incredibly noisy with the night club at ground floor. They are in poor shape as well. Bad smell of moist in first room and no window; ceiling parts falling in the bathroom from second one. So for 190 cuc a night, we were expecting much more when we can find very nice and cosy casa at 30 cuc !
The peersonel of the hotel is not very handsome either and waiting insistently for tip eve when the service has not been rendered.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Angry and deception"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  guy Boisserolles  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
161 people found this review helpful

We can't make the experience to stay in hotel Florida because when we arrive on the 23 st of february the team of the hotel informed us about the impossibility to receive us in this establishment because there was no available room(chamber). We had nevertheless made a reservation one month earlier. We were accommodated in the hotel ambos mundo which we had not chosen, in a room(chamber) in the rudimentary comfort, noisy and whose air conditioning did not walk(work) (79 ° far).
We shall not choose any more the Florida hotel which is not rather reliable in our opinion.
Cordially
Valérie Boisserolles

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Razoavel"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janete Cristina Zazyki  on Jan 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | Solo
142 people found this review helpful

Qdo cheguei as 02:00hs da manhã, me enviaram para outro hotel com a desculpa que havia infiltração em TODAS os quartos, mas que na manhã seguinte estaria consertado?! Na manhã seguinte, apesar do hotel para onde fui ter telefonado mais de uma vez para o Hotel Florida, não enviaram taxi para me buscar, tive que vir a pé com um empregado do hotel onde pernoite, puxando malas pela rua.
Qdo cheguei me colocaram num quarto que o cofre não funcionava, então me mudaram para outro, onde não havia água quente no banho, então me mudaram para o terceiro quarto que ficava ao lado da rua barulhenta. Então perdi muito tempo com este troca-troca de quarto. No segundo quarto, até calcinha e cueca sujas atrás dos móveis encontrei. Nos dois primeiros quartos nem tampa no vaso sanitário havia.
Há uns canarios australianos numa gaiola no hall do hotel que enloquecem qualquer um pela manhã de tanto que gritam!
O café da manhã era pobre, as frutas que haviam sempre estava ressecadas, pois deixavam as bandeijas prontas dentro da geladeira.
O atendimento do staff sempre deixava a desejar, pois eles não se comprometiam no atendimento, sempre repassando para outro funcionario.
De ponto positivo é a localização bem central.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a good experience"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patrick Muldowney  on Apr 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
140 people found this review helpful

On arrival after a long flight , I was very disappointed to be offered a single room without a window , as the hotel was fully booked , it seem first come first served , even though I had booked months previous,
myself and a family from Switzerland , were offered rooms in another hotel , having to carry and drag our bags to
another hotel four blocks away , and again was offered a room without a window , so I declined and rang the hotel Florida
and told the only option I was offered , was I could upgrade to a suite room with the extra cost of 30 cuban dollars ,
and when a single room is available with a window I could change , 2 days later I got a single room with a window ,
I found the room No 3 , extremely noisy , because it was just above the pedestrian street , with constant flow of
people from early morning to late at night , and during the day ,what seemed like a gym was above my room ,
it didn't help either that a piano bar on the ground floor has loud music playing till it closes at 1am, I stayed at the Hotel
Florida on my previous visit a few years ago and really enjoyed my stay ,but I found the staff extremely unfriendly
rude and no body smiled or showed any interest , unlike my previous stay , so the attitude of staff has really changed towards their guest , The only friendly staff member was the chamber maid ,she said hello and smiled,
The breakfast has improved but still could do better quality selection of cooked food , and variation ,
Its a beautiful building and location , but the noise is just to much and the unfriendliness of it staff , I wouldn't recommend it to my friends of family and wish I had moved to another hotel ,

Room Number:
No 3

Arrival:
only room available was a single room without a window , or move to another hotel 4 blocks away , careless attitude

Rooms:
Nice single decorated room , but extremely noisy

Restaurants and Bars:
wasn't impressed with the standard of breakfast , so never tried the restaurant

Other Comments:
please smile and make your guest welcomed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"fama immeritata"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. robycal  on Mar 17, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Mar, 2010
373 people found this review helpful

non mi spiego come possa essere così famoso in italia questo hotel. la posizione in calle obispo lo rende rumorosissimo, le camere non hanno vetri alle finestre pertanto è come avere le auto nelle orecchie - e nei polmoni. colazione con un servizio negativo, nella media cubana, ma i prezzi non sono nella media cubana! sconsiglio, preferite altri hotel coloniali, ce ne sono di bellissimi

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Florida - Beautiful Hotel - Mediocre Service"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keith McDonald  on Apr 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
150 people found this review helpful

The Hotel Florida is a beautiful colonial hotel conveniently located on the Calle Obispo in Havana Vieja. We had booked 2 rooms for our family vacation as a treat during our stay in Havana (approximately CUC 180 per room per night). The rooms were spacious and clean. Unfortunately, the service at the hotel did not reflect the standards one might expect of a hotel of this stature.

The front desk staff varied from indifferent to snotty (attitude). We had reconfirmed our rooms several days in advance (pre-paid) and a very helpful person arranged the specific room requirements for us. When we arrived for check in, it was as if these arrangements had not been made.

On our final day, we needed to catch an early taxi (730) for travel arrangements. Breakfast was served from 7 am, but when we arrived, none of the food was set up and we had to wait. I went to the front desk to check out, but was told that I could not check out until all of the luggage was removed from the room - the maid needed to check the room when it was empty. The breakfast was still not totally set up by 730, so we went with a few pieces of bread and fruit (not what we paid for). The front desk clerk told me that the breakfast should have been ready, and to write my complaint in the "book" - we clearly did not have time to do that, thus this review. We were also charged for items from the mini bar that we did not use, but because of the time crunch, we did not have an opportunity to dispute.

Overall, a wonderful old hotel with service levels that do not reflect the quality of the hotel or the price charged for the rooms.

Room Number:
-

Room Block:
-

Arrival:
-

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Find"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  jason henthorne  on Oct 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
185 people found this review helpful

Really enjoyed the Hotel Florida in Havana. Great staff and premium location. Will certainly stay there again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Florida"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Noni Murphy  on Jun 24, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
137 people found this review helpful

Beautiful building. Excellent staff. Great salsa disco bar. Clean room with huge shower. Very helpful tour desk.

Room Number:
3

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great location with colonial flair."

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Reto Davatz  on Sep 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
186 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
115

Arrival:
friendly and efficient

Rooms:
clean, cool and well located

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast could be better, bar not so well equipped!(no Daiquiri possible!)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube