Florida Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Florida reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Florida  

Calle Obispo esq. a Cuba. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"Not a good experience"
Posted by: Patrick Muldowney  on Apr 19, 2012
see all reviews

Florida Reviews
Florida Pictures and Information
Florida Old Havana Cuba

#13
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.2

Based on 19 reviews

Florida Information


Stories of illustrious families, like that of the Counts of San Ignacio and Casa More, and of opulent businessmen enshroud the building that Hotel Florida now occupies, inaugurated in 1885. Adapted to the tastes of the American and European markets, it became one of the most renowned hotels in Cuba's capital. This building that served as a hotel until 1952 also housed Havana's British Club in the 1930s.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Florida Reviews

Florida Review: 3.2 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  9
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (4)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
With Group
11 - 19 of 19

"Hotel Florida"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Noni Murphy  on Jun 24, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
140 people found this review helpful

Beautiful building. Excellent staff. Great salsa disco bar. Clean room with huge shower. Very helpful tour desk.

Room Number:
3

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Florida - Beautiful Hotel - Mediocre Service"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Keith McDonald  on Apr 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
152 people found this review helpful

The Hotel Florida is a beautiful colonial hotel conveniently located on the Calle Obispo in Havana Vieja. We had booked 2 rooms for our family vacation as a treat during our stay in Havana (approximately CUC 180 per room per night). The rooms were spacious and clean. Unfortunately, the service at the hotel did not reflect the standards one might expect of a hotel of this stature.

The front desk staff varied from indifferent to snotty (attitude). We had reconfirmed our rooms several days in advance (pre-paid) and a very helpful person arranged the specific room requirements for us. When we arrived for check in, it was as if these arrangements had not been made.

On our final day, we needed to catch an early taxi (730) for travel arrangements. Breakfast was served from 7 am, but when we arrived, none of the food was set up and we had to wait. I went to the front desk to check out, but was told that I could not check out until all of the luggage was removed from the room - the maid needed to check the room when it was empty. The breakfast was still not totally set up by 730, so we went with a few pieces of bread and fruit (not what we paid for). The front desk clerk told me that the breakfast should have been ready, and to write my complaint in the "book" - we clearly did not have time to do that, thus this review. We were also charged for items from the mini bar that we did not use, but because of the time crunch, we did not have an opportunity to dispute.

Overall, a wonderful old hotel with service levels that do not reflect the quality of the hotel or the price charged for the rooms.

Room Number:
-

Room Block:
-

Arrival:
-

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great charm"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ricky  on Apr 9, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Jamaica
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
154 people found this review helpful

I have visited though not stayed at the Florida several times. Its a beautiful little hotel, colonial architecture with a welcoming lobby. Great staff at the internet cafe. Great little club where you can watch authentic Cuban lounge lizards preen their feathers (lizards with feathers you ask?) and make their middle-aged tourstas shine as they salsa up a storm. Never stayed in the rooms - but for location and charm this place is hard to beat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"fama immeritata"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. robycal  on Mar 17, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Mar, 2010
374 people found this review helpful

non mi spiego come possa essere così famoso in italia questo hotel. la posizione in calle obispo lo rende rumorosissimo, le camere non hanno vetri alle finestre pertanto è come avere le auto nelle orecchie - e nei polmoni. colazione con un servizio negativo, nella media cubana, ma i prezzi non sono nella media cubana! sconsiglio, preferite altri hotel coloniali, ce ne sono di bellissimi

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Food"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ana  on May 26, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: May, 2009
1729 people found this review helpful

A few weeks ago, I ate at this Hotel and it was really charming. I’m not sure what the rooms are like, but I can say that the service in the restaurant was excellent and very reasonable prices. The mojitos are the best I have tried in Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Hotel"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  masnada christophe  on Jan 25, 2008  >  10 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Jan, 2008
1560 people found this review helpful

Great hotel, good location on Obispo Street in the heart of Old Havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"GENIAL"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Isabel  on Sep 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Sep, 2006
2714 people found this review helpful

The hotel with most enchantment that I know, elegant without being arrogant, cosy and very romantic. The ideal situation. The restaurant is very well. The personnel very well also. You beat: The conditioned air cannot be regulated and you have to request rooms with light, but they put to you in the rooms that they give to a skylight. If you go with your couple request a double bed, and you will see what a pretty room you get.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A little expensive but very nice"

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  vaduva eugenio  on May 3, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: May, 2005
3510 people found this review helpful

Lovely large rooms with beamed ceilings and big bathrooms, simple elegant furniture. Charming inner courtyard. The location is great, right on the busy Calle Obispo. Breakfast was disappointing. Overall the hotel is a little expensive. Our room was unavailable when we arrived which seems to be a recurring problem in Cuba..... We checked out several other hotels while in Habana and would also reccommend Raquel, Santa Isabel, Ambos Mundos (slightly scruffier but fun), Telegrafo and Sevilla if you want a pool. Don't reccommend Nacional or Parque Central. Much better to stay in old or central Havana if you are on a short stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best....."

Florida
User Rating:  Florida Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs Kim Murray  on Apr 10, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2005
5263 people found this review helpful

The best hotel that I stayed at on my three visits to Havana during my Cuban adventure. Extremely friendly,polite and helpful staff.I was upgraded to a corner suite room on arrival, well three rooms actually all with balcony!.The hotel exudes colonial charm and sits on one of the main pedestrian throughfares,Obispo, in Old Havana. It really makes you feel part of your surroundings...you can smell the history! Believe me if you can forego the use of a swimming pool then you will not do better than to book yourself into this hotel. For your information the other hotels I stayed at were the Raquel and the Parque Central which were both good hotels in their own right but were always runners up to the Florida when it came to service and all round charm and appeal.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube