Tryp Habana Libre Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Tryp Habana Libre reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Vedado Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Cohiba

4.8 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2014

Nacional de Cuba

4.6 based on 60 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 25, 2012

Tryp Habana Libre  

Calle L esq 23, Vedado, Ciudad Habana. Cuba.
(Vedado maps)

"Hotel depends still on Fidel's stay in 1958."
Posted by: A.J.C. Voorting  on May 13, 2012
see all reviews

Tryp Habana Libre Reviews
Tryp Habana Libre Pictures and Information
Tryp Habana Libre Vedado Cuba

#8
of 12 Hotels in Vedado

User rating 3.0

Based on 6 reviews

Tryp Habana Libre Information


Located in the heart of Vedado, the hotel is surrounded by the hustle and bustle of one of Havana's liveliest neighborhoods. Most rooms offer stunning views of the city.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Tryp Habana Libre Reviews

Tryp Habana Libre Review: 3.0 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  1
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"A good Tryp"

Tryp Habana Libre
User Rating:  Tryp Habana Libre Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andy Beard  on Apr 5, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2006
2783 people found this review helpful

I have stayed at this hotel for the past two years and despite some of the negative reviews I have seen on the web, personally i have no complaint. I found the majority of the staff to be friendly and helpful, the food was above average and the choice at breakfast was overwhelming.

It must be understood Cuba has suffered terribly over the years, primarily from the restrictions on imports posed by the US embargo, and yet there seems to be an attitude to make the best of what they have, this is typified at this hotel - yes, I agree its not a five star of typical western standards in terms of decor and furnishings but its certainly five star in terms of hospitality.

Thankyou for a wonderful stay and i look forward to coming again in September.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"General evaluation of the hotel"

Tryp Habana Libre
User Rating:  Tryp Habana Libre Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Niurys quevedo  on Sep 19, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2007
3645 people found this review helpful

The hotel has a lot of confort, and security for the kids... I went there three years ago and it was the best... the rooms very clean; and the room service was also excellent.

Niurys "

This review has been submited originally in spanish. Our editorial team have translated it to english, to offer better service to our clients."

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Expensive for the experience; great breakfast, but hotel has seen better days"

Tryp Habana Libre
User Rating:  Tryp Habana Libre Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Theresa Kiefer  on Jul 10, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
294 people found this review helpful

We stayed here for two nights; the bookends of our trip, June 13th and 27th. We booked online with www.cubaism.com and got the best price after considerable research; about $100 CAD/night for bed and breakfast. We booked this landmark hotel for the location, access to bank, stores and to be able to say we'd been there. We stayed on the 12th and 15th floors respectively and they gave us ocean views even though we hadn't paid for them. They weren't busy and were clearly doing renovations to the main floor and Polynesian restaurant (which was closed). The 24-hr restaurant had no mixed drinks except Cuba Libras. There was no lobby bar at the time we stayed there, except for a smoky room near the elevators that didn't serve food. The hallways smelled mouldy and the air conditioning barely worked in our rooms. The showers had very little water pressure and the beds were well worn, as were all the furnishings. We weren't given the minibar key (or asked if we wanted it) and our keys didn't work on the safe. We were so tired after the international flight on our arrival and the domestic flight from Santiago on the last night that we didn't investigate these issues, but it seemed a lapse in basic service for such a highly rated hotel. On the plus side, the rooms were both quite spacious, the towels were generous, there was a separate vanity area from the main bathroom, and the views of the Malecon were stunning. The best thing about this hotel was the sumptuous hot buffet breakfast with everything from smoked salmon to 4 kinds of fresh juice. The only disappointment was that there was none of that famous Cuban coffee being served - just a machine that dispensed cafe Americano or cafe Cubano. Of the six hotels we stayed at in a little more than two weeks, this was the most expensive, and the one we were expecting the most from, so it was a disappointment not to have better service and to find things so worn.

Arrival:
Was relatively prompt both times, but the second time it was after midnight and the receptionist did have some trouble with our voucher. It worked out OK, but neither time did they ask us if we wanted access to the minibar or the safe. They wouldn't let us check out the second time until they had checked the minibar, even though we didn't have the key to it, and the elevators were so slow that it delayed our checkout by half an hour to check.

Rooms:
Worn

Restaurants and Bars:
Mostly closed. Breakfast buffet was the best feature, except for the lack of decent coffee.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
NA

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
NA

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We found the hotel to be extremely run down - had to cut out trip short"

Tryp Habana Libre
User Rating:  Tryp Habana Libre Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ziad Shaath  on Jan 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SAUDI ARABIA
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
211 people found this review helpful

Even though Hotel Tryp Habana is rated as a 5 star hotel, it was not even close to being 5 star. Very run down, old furniture, has not been renovated, bathrooms are really really old.

We spent 3 nights and then left and cut our trip short.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"OK hotel, too high a price for decent quality level"

Tryp Habana Libre
User Rating:  Tryp Habana Libre Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michiel Buitelaar  on Mar 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
198 people found this review helpful

I stayed here for three nights. It is generally OK but high-priced. For that I got: a big room, a nice swimming pool, shops and other stuff nearby, and several bars and restaurants inside. The cafetaria is good. Staff is not very much on the ball, and half of them barely speak English. They mean well but are not really eager. The reception gets clogged now and then, which is excruciating. Renting a car cost me 2.5 hours. Still, service levels are roughly in line with Cuban standards. The hotel is some 3-4 kms from the old city, and very close to the sea. The view is nice.

Room Number:
1120

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel depends still on Fidel's stay in 1958."

Tryp Habana Libre
User Rating:  Tryp Habana Libre Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  A.J.C. Voorting  on May 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
183 people found this review helpful

Huge lobby, But very hectic when many arrive at once. 6 Elevators but hard to get one down. Better to get one up to 25 and then down. Average waiting time 10mins. Breakfast is good, lot of choice. Rooms are spacious but AC is not always working. If working leaking water from ceiling in washroom. Shower had not always hot water. Beds are good and clean but rooms are not clean. Bad maintenance. Infront of room 709 leaking from ceiling, wet floor and bad smell in hallway, walls are falling apart.
Car rental pick up and drop off is good here. Hotel is not far from Habana Viega. Nice view over sea and city.

Room Number:
822/830/831/709/706/705

Arrival:
Friendly and helpfull personel at reception.

Rooms:
Rooms are spacious but need lot of maintenance. Beds are good and clean. But rooms can need an extra vacuumclean. AC not always working and leaking in washroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast is good with lot of choice.

Other Comments:
I stayed here 3 days with friends. But if I didn't booked and payed it before I traveled to Cuba I changed to another hotel or a casa particulares. Tried to explain it to the personel but nothing happened. Was there only to sleep n breakfast.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube