Villa Herradura Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Villa Herradura reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mar del Sur

3.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Dos Mares

3.1 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 9, 2012

Pullman

2.8 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Oasis

2.5 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Villa Herradura  

Ave. de la Playa e/ 35 y 36. Varadero. Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"Get what you pay for"
Posted by: Mark Keleher  on Apr 8, 2012
see all reviews

Villa Herradura Reviews
Villa Herradura Pictures and Information
Villa Herradura Varadero Cuba

#29
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.0

Based on 18 reviews

Villa Herradura Information


Budget hotel, in the heart of Varadero town. Basic accommodation right on top of the beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villa Herradura Reviews

Villa Herradura Review: 3.0 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  2
Average
  7
Poor
  3
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 18

"Ecelent"

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. gabriel suarez  on Jan 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) BOLIVIA
Visited on: Jan, 1998
520 people found this review helpful

The Hotel Herradura was great, really good service from the staff. An affordable and comfortable hotel with top service, I recommend this hotel to everyone who is thinking of going to Varadero

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hidden jewel for budget travel"

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shelley Clements  on Nov 22, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2005
1604 people found this review helpful

We have been to Cuba 3 times and this was our best experience. We decided not to stay at a 4 or 5 star as we had not been happy with the hotels in cuba, food etc. We decided to stay at Herradura and find our own restaurants, etc, and had the best trip. The staff were excellent. Our maid was very friendly, we made sure we left a tip for her each day and the day before we left I went to our room after she had left and there was the most beautiful huge long stem rose in a vase waiting for us in our room.

We look forward to going back to this hotel this winter. Remember it is not the Hilton but if you are budget minded it is fantastic!!

Cheers

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unforgettable holidays"

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Torbjoern Anvik  on Apr 21, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Apr, 2007
2279 people found this review helpful

The nice holidays that I spent at Herradura hotel are unforgettable, with the group of workers like the bartenders David, Dimitri, that be the way are very good in billiard although they lost against me, the group of the restaurant is very good to name some of them Tomás, Juanita, etc.

At the reception the best treat came from the beautiful ladies and from the chief + the mister from public relations very kind.... the animation staff I must say that Tito and Elba Rosa were the best I have met, very kind in everything, nice and above all quite sincere in their work, it's a pitty that they are not there anymore. But although I'll come back to this wonderful hotel.

Thanks

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely hotel !"

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean-Raoul Fournier  on Dec 19, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2008
484 people found this review helpful

I will simply say that in my humble opinion this Hotel Herradura is one of the best in Varadero ! The closest to the sea ! Very clean ! People there are very friendly ! Rooms have a view on the sea, well, almost all of them. An ideal place to relax and blend with the green sea ! I do recommend this hotel ! Jean-Raoul

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"well worth it!"

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mss. Nicole  on Nov 29, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
449 people found this review helpful

Loved the hotel! Good people. Cheap beer. gave tons of tips because everything was pretty cheap. The go out of there way to please you. The beach was nice. View was amazing and captivating. Was scared because we arived there at night and it looked a little run down but once you see cuba you understand you have way way more than the locals do and it was so cheap. Saw the really nice hotels but I sure wouldn't want to pay $100 per night for them. Keep in mind everthing is a little run down in the area. Loved this hotel because it was cheap fun and relaxing. Was also close to everyhting. VERY SAFE for single women.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasant enough"

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Schuda Alice  on Feb 24, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
139 people found this review helpful

Great location with balconies overlooking beach. Friendly staff. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet and restaurant. Whole place is a bit worn in places but pleasant enough if you aren't looking for luxury.

Room Number:
311

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very eager activities director who offered lots of options.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not the best hotel but good enough for the price"

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Abhay Shah  on Mar 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
145 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for a week. I was very nervous beforehand about staying after the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. But you get what you pay for. The room was clean. We were bitten by mosquitos on first night and found a cockroach in the bathroom the next day. But that is the nature of Cuba. The location is excellent, it is easy to meet other people there and the bar is a good area for social gatherings. Staff were friendly for the most part. It's a shame that more work isn't put into renovating the hotel as it has huge potential.

Room Number:
564

Arrival:
My wife was arriving before me but the booking was under my name. It was difficult to get through to the hotel by telephone and when we eventually did, they said that my wife could not check in without me. I complained to the booking agent, who resolved the situation immediately. Check in was straightforward but you have to pay 2 CUC's per day to use the room safe.

Rooms:
A bit on the small side but was good enough for the price. Room was cleaned every day and bed sheets changed daily. It's a shame the bathroom window didn't close correctly to stop mosquitos entering.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bar was a fun place to congregrate and is open 24 hours! The bar staff are helpful with tips for good Paladar's. The breakfast buffet was ok. I didn't have lunch or dinner at the hotel but heard it was ok.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach almost comes into the hotel couldn't be a better location! Sunbeds are free. No pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tour operator is located inside the hotel.

Other Comments:
The hotel is in an excellent location, on the beach and in downtown. With some minor renovation it has real potential.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I will definitely return to that 2 star hotel which should be a 3 and enjoyed my stay."

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane G. Lanctot  on Mar 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
137 people found this review helpful

This was my first visit to Herradura Hotel. All other times I have been to Arenas Doradas, a 4 star hotel, with lots of staff and people who ask and talk to you all the time. Herradura is a 2 star hotel with breakfast included and the staff was courteous, like a small family, and you could really feel you are on vacation. I will not go back to an all inclusive because I don't eat 3 meals a day and at Herradura, I found it was really nice to be close to Varadero and try different places to eat. The room was clean and I had an ocean view, very quiet which made my vacation wonderful. The meals at lunch and dinner are around $3. to $5. and the fish was extremely good at the hotel, as well as the chicken. They are currently working on renovating some of the rooms, but the lobby is cozy and everything is accessible. They even have a shop near the hotel if you need to buy munchies and not very expensive. I would definitely recommend this hotel for people who are watching their budgets. It is worth the money.

Room Number:
155

Arrival:
I arrived January 30 and left February 26 because I decided to stay another week, which made it a total of 1 month at Herradura.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurant and bar are very clean and the staff is very courteous.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful but there is not swimming pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are activities all day at the resort and some shows at night.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Varadero Beach Experience on a Budget"

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leslie Papp  on Mar 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
152 people found this review helpful

We spent 3 months in Cuba - flying into Varadero in December 2010 and flying out in March 2011. On our arrival in Cuba, we spent 5 days at the Herradura and 5 more before we flew out. The hotel was perfect for our requirements. It is a budget hotel and the accommodations are basic but very clean. A buffet breakfast is included in the price and one would be hard pressed to find better value in the area. It fronts on to an excellent beach and is in walking distance to stores and restaurants. We found the staff to be very friendly and many of them recognized us and greeted us warmly on our return in March. Although it isn't the 'Ritz', we would highly recommend Hotel Herradura to anyone looking for an inexpensive time in the fun and sun of Cuba.
Leslie & Chris

Room Number:
631

Arrival:
We booked on line for both stays and everything went very smoothly. We arrived at noon and were ushered to our room immediately - even though check-in was listed as 3 PM.

Rooms:
Very clean. The maid service on both of our stays was excellent.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very nice. Staff are very friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The hotel fronts on to an awesome beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Stores, banks, bus, restaurants are all within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No toilet seat or flush button!"

Villa Herradura
User Rating:  Villa Herradura Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda Laycock  on Apr 8, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
274 people found this review helpful

I stayed here during my bday and was extremely disappointed that our toilet not only did not have a toilet seat but was missing the flush button. It was rigged up with rusted wire to flush but was not overly successful. Though I booked a room for 2 (a couple) we were given 2 single beds. This was really dissapointing. The staff seem to think of the simplest requests as asking the world if them and nothing gets done in a hurry if at all. However they do supply a great breakfast that I can't complain about. We also had previously booked an extra night here before we flew outgoing the next day and we were given a much larger room with functioning everything, this would have been nice on my birthday!!!! The location is perfect, right on the beach, wouldn't stay here again though. Avoid room 321.

Room Number:
321 & 522

Restaurants and Bars:
Decent buffet breakfast included, dinner offered is cheap but not overly tasty, outdoor bar does tasty chicken and rice for very cheap prices!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube